View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
kingcorner
13/08/2009, 7:56 AM
i agree with some of the comments here about pointles friendlies but sometimes it has to be done, the rockmount game will be a different match altogether and its a challenge that every club looks forward to.
with regard to the mayfield game, we were very happy with the performence from all the lads and our centre back got man of the match which was pleasing, the only downside was we missed about 3 or 4 good chances and we cant afford to do that when the season starts.
how are all the preperations going with the rest of ye?
olachico
13/08/2009, 10:52 AM
" Got a new manager called Olachico........................where is he...............off in Spain..............dont remember seeing that in the contract!!!! "
Hey i´m on a scouting excercise!! And I actually have watched a spanish 3rd division side Eldense playing and training - the match against Hercules was bizarre- they substituted the whole team in the second half in one go!
shetland
13/08/2009, 3:05 PM
As a new kid on the block ive been very interested to see latest a u l news.think wilton grattan and kinsale will fight out the premier.and kanturk .ballyvolane possibly castleview for premier a.spoke to a chap from ballyvolane and they have signed 6 new players and a new goalkeeper.colm forde returns after a stint with glenthorn.eric dunlea .from blarney street,paul o callaghan returns so do brendan nyhan laurence buckley and goal keeper dave ellis.mark o mahony up from there b team.think rebelhead is a member of their club.40 years in football is a long time.
13/08/2009, 4:15 PM
we beat midleton 2-1 last night in the barry wall, either playing brooklodge or leeside b i think in the final
olachico
13/08/2009, 6:34 PM
Welcome shetland! Where do your allegiances lie?? I will be watching Knockavilla with interest this year - think they could surprise a few people in the Premier
shetland
13/08/2009, 10:52 PM
no aliegence really just a big au l fan and go to quiet a few games.saw knockavilla a few times last year and they were very well organised.last years manager gone though and lost a player to kinsale.I stand by my 3 teams and think glenthorn might struggle, the seem to have lost a lot of players.anyone think the decision to reduce the ist division to 2 sections was strange.both sections will take some winning.
littleman
14/08/2009, 6:16 AM
For me its a good idea,there has never been enough pressure on the Prem A teams to perform at league level throughout the season.That will change now because the fear of relegation will heighten due to the increase in compition for the promotion spots in the 2 first divisions,you can see the 1 divisions getting stronger an the knockon effect from the eventual promoted teams to Prem A will improve that in time,its a good move for me an the Aul should be commended for it.
Yoda01
14/08/2009, 11:36 AM
As a new kid on the block ive been very interested to see latest a u l news.think wilton grattan and kinsale will fight out the premier.and kanturk .ballyvolane possibly castleview for premier a.spoke to a chap from ballyvolane and they have signed 6 new players and a new goalkeeper.colm forde returns after a stint with glenthorn.eric dunlea .from blarney street,paul o callaghan returns so do brendan nyhan laurence buckley and goal keeper dave ellis.mark o mahony up from there b team.think rebelhead is a member of their club.40 years in football is a long time.
welcome on board shetland. can't see ballyvolane doing much in prem a this year, they still don't have enough quality in the team. the premier a will be a tough division to win aswell this year so will be good competition and experience for who ever goes up to the premier next year.
shetland
14/08/2009, 2:24 PM
yoda you must remember no team has come down from the premier this year and a few were asked to go up.so with village and knockavilla gone premier A not as strong.i will stick with my three, and remember didnt ballyvolane win the mossy linane last year.
i see the first and second round of fixtures up on aul site today. pick of games without a doubt has to be leeside away 2 kinsale. grattan v park will also be a v nice game.
Horse24
14/08/2009, 6:45 PM
Liverpool going for 19 - Blackstone going for 1!!! A tasty double there!!
Can I ask for help in completing my allegiance list - apologies if i insult anyone by not remembering:
Pacman
Jwal
Berba
Yoda
boshea
passandmove
bluey
Will it be 2 down from Prem A now? Jaysus, that sounds like a negative question on the eve of the season doesnt it? Its not, its curiousity. I would actually use the chance to maybe give the 2nd place teams in Div 1 a play-off or something. I just dont fancy one team from any division.
There is a theory that you need at least 10 points from your first 4 games to win a league. Comments?
ballsac7
14/08/2009, 6:58 PM
no aliegence really just a big au l fan and go to quiet a few games.saw knockavilla a few times last year and they were very well organised.last years manager gone though and lost a player to kinsale.I stand by my 3 teams and think glenthorn might struggle, the seem to have lost a lot of players.anyone think the decision to reduce the ist division to 2 sections was strange.both sections will take some winning.
Knockavilla play away to Crosshaven (MSL Senior 2nd) tomorrow, that will be a good guide to how they will do this season. Pat Downey is the new manager. He had a good record with Glencairn & Garryduff (MSL).
pacman
14/08/2009, 8:33 PM
Can I ask for help in completing my allegiance list
There is a theory that you need at least 10 points from your first 4 games to win a league. Comments?
Firstly I'll be for any northside team, so i'll be shouting for ye.
I'll be rooting for littleman's lot too as I know a few of them.
As for 10 points from your first 4 games, I dont think so. From what I hear in the premier a lot of teams have strengthened, so i reckon a lot of teams will taking points off each other. Now if some team do get 10 points from their first 4 games then they will be in a very strong position
littleman
14/08/2009, 9:11 PM
we won 3 leagues on the trot,an we had as far as i remember we had 8,8 an 7 points after 4 games,so bang goes your theory horse.
Some very interestin games next week,lwt the fun begin
shetland
14/08/2009, 10:36 PM
ten points from 12 would be agreat start for any team.
casilles
15/08/2009, 7:47 AM
are the aul having a laugh or what? first two games of the season, thurs at 7 away to coachford then tues away to knockavilla whats that all about? city team havin to travel mid week????:mad: and if you look at the fixtures both us and coachford have no game on the sat wht not play then?
frustrations with the league start again
15/08/2009, 7:51 AM
Knockavilla play away to Crosshaven (MSL Senior 2nd) tomorrow, that will be a good guide to how they will do this season. Pat Downey is the new manager. He had a good record with Glencairn & Garryduff (MSL).
na from what i hear that crosshaven team are very weak, wanderers juniors beat them thursday 3-1
are the aul having a laugh or what? first two games of the season, thurs at 7 away to coachford then tues away to knockavilla whats that all about? city team havin to travel mid week????:mad: and if you look at the fixtures both us and coachford have no game on the sat wht not play then?
Joke alright lad
BigFella 09
15/08/2009, 9:15 AM
hey lads back again for another season,casilles totally agree with your comment,lads in this day an age fellas are lucky to have jobs and i assume most lads would have to take time off work to try an get to these games during the week,in my view i think mid week games should be done away with,who can travel to park,knockavilla,coachford etc and the same for the teams mentioned coming to the city for a 7 pm kick off,i would think most lads finish work around 5,try an get something to eat,relax for a bit an then try to get to the game to do a half decent warm up is crazy,how can you expect lads to perform to their best under these conditions,this is just my view,open to comments.
ballsac7
15/08/2009, 9:27 AM
na from what i hear that crosshaven team are very weak, wanderers juniors beat them thursday 3-1
Joke alright lad
That was Crosshavens Junior Team, Knockvilla are playing their Senior side. Crosshaven were 1-0 up in that game till half time and were comfortable before they brought on 10 subs.
15/08/2009, 3:10 PM
That was Crosshavens Junior Team, Knockvilla are playing their Senior side. Crosshaven were 1-0 up in that game till half time and were comfortable before they brought on 10 subs.
my bad
involved with leeside myself horse. our b team had a good work out today drew 1-1 with ringmahon juniors. alot missing but youths came in and done v well.
15/08/2009, 5:50 PM
involved with leeside myself horse. our b team had a good work out today drew 1-1 with ringmahon juniors. alot missing but youths came in and done v well.
are we playing ye wednesday in the final of the barry wall
bogwarrior
15/08/2009, 6:19 PM
hey lads back again for another season,casilles totally agree with your comment,lads in this day an age fellas are lucky to have jobs and i assume most lads would have to take time off work to try an get to these games during the week,in my view i think mid week games should be done away with,who can travel to park,knockavilla,coachford etc and the same for the teams mentioned coming to the city for a 7 pm kick off,i would think most lads finish work around 5,try an get something to eat,relax for a bit an then try to get to the game to do a half decent warm up is crazy,how can you expect lads to perform to their best under these conditions,this is just my view,open to comments.
I don't think getting rid of midweek games is feasible. Not a hope! We'd be playing twelve months of the year! Not with the fixtures that a successful junior team is expected to fulfill. It's tough but you're penalised for doing well. A small bit of common sense shoud prevail when deciding who should play eachother during the week though. Distances to travel and all that should be taken into consideration.
I think the best team will always win at the end of the season regardless of mid week games and all that. That has been the way for the last number of years in the premier league. (well maybe not last year:p!!)
littleman
15/08/2009, 6:45 PM
Bog,it aint nice to be cranky,Wilton won fair an square,they beat everybody when it counted,enough said.
dont think so bella, didn play anyone in that tournament yet and from what i know we where not asked down to it at all
shetland
16/08/2009, 7:49 AM
1t has always been a problem with early fixtures.it only makes sense to have teams play each other that wont involve much travelling.
olachico
16/08/2009, 11:39 AM
To be honest I cant see the point of having the night matches at the start of the season when the light is beginning to fade - any bit of bad weather and its like playing in the dark!!
timmypav
16/08/2009, 1:24 PM
Hows it going lads. Been reading this forum for the last year so decided to have an input if thats ok with everybody. Involved with Glen Celtic and looking forward to a very tough season in 1a. We have 4 local derbys against Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Dillons Cross and Ballyvolane. And not forgetting Bohs who we always seem to have very close and hard games against.
littleman
16/08/2009, 2:45 PM
Lads this anti mid week game thing,wheres this comin from.We are all playin friendlies mid week for the last 2 weeks to suit ourselves an we are all happy doin that,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the next thing the Aul give ya a fixture an theirs war ??????????
Some one has to play away mid week an some one has to play at home mid week,each year we know its goin to happen so get organised an just get on with it.
Cas I can totally understand ya being frustratated at the fixtures ye got but considering yer were supposed to be playin out of Pfizers even if ye had a home fixture instead of away ones ye would have had some serious travelin to do anyway.
olachico
16/08/2009, 2:57 PM
Lads this anti mid week game thing,wheres this comin from.We are all playin friendlies mid week for the last 2 weeks to suit ourselves an we are all happy doin that,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the next thing the Aul give ya a fixture an theirs war ??????????
Some one has to play away mid week an some one has to play at home mid week,each year we know its goin to happen so get organised an just get on with it.
Cas I can totally understand ya being frustratated at the fixtures ye got but considering yer were supposed to be playin out of Pfizers even if ye had a home fixture instead of away ones ye would have had some serious travelin to do anyway.
I have no problem with night matches whatsoever - however its bright until only 9 ish at the start of the season and only darker its getting - while if its raining (i know its rare in this country ;)) it gets dark even earlier!
Night matches should be played at the end of the season only (just my opinion!)
However I do have a problem when the fixtures are like we had last year
On the same night if i recall
Park Utd v Glenthorn
Leeds V Glanworth
And then we played Leeds away the following Sunday and I think Glanworth played Park
Now littleman try and explain the logic behind that???
Surely it would have been more sense for a leeds v Glenthorn game and then Park V Glanworth game for the evening match and the travelling to be done at the weekend!
We all know its enivitable that some travelling will be required but anybody can see it was ridiculous to travel to Park on a Thursday evening and take the short skip to Leeds on the Sunday!
littleman
16/08/2009, 3:18 PM
Of the 10 sides in the Prem this season,Kinsale,Park,Knockavilla,Coachford are all handy spins,Blarney st,Leeside'Wilton are all tricky trips with the traffic,the Gratts'Village an Glenthorn are the only city teams,so how exacrly would ya do out a fixture list for that withour someone gettin cought to travel far mid week
olachico
16/08/2009, 3:26 PM
Well to be honest i dont think there is an easy answer in all cases as Park are so far away - but the City teams could play the city teams - the southside based teams could play each other midweek - Kinsale v Knockavilla or vice versa . I just think sometimes a little bit more thought could be put in - the fixtures secretaries job is difficult i know but everybody isnt going to be happy i know !! Just as a matter of interest Littleman where was the furthest away Preseason game ye played?
littleman
16/08/2009, 8:09 PM
well we were due to go to dungarvan but the weather called it off the nite before,so we'v had 2 games at home an away game yesterday out in Douglas,so not far at all.We were due to play mid week this week in our last warm up game but becaues of the fixtures we have we have decided to just train instead tue an thur instead.Makes more sense.
Before I forget a big welcome to everbody whos new to the site,great to see so many new clubs come onboard.
Dcross,saw some of yer game today,that dive from the Rockmount lad was halarious,laughed me head off,twas like somethin from little britan,an to make it worse jj saved it,terrific save,then came up with an even better 2nd save an finally see the loose ball belted into the net,heartbreakin stuff
pacman
16/08/2009, 9:05 PM
Well I suppose most teams have had their last pre-season games this weekend. How did they go and how does every one feel about how well they're prepared for the new season.
I hear Glenthorn could be struggling this year, anyone hear anything?
littleman
16/08/2009, 10:45 PM
lool lads someone had to break the news,the refs are on strike till further notice,so ask yor secretary to contactthe refs asc now,rather than later
bogwarrior
17/08/2009, 12:27 AM
Bog,it aint nice to be cranky,Wilton won fair an square,they beat everybody when it counted,enough said.
Thought the smiley face was proof enough that the comment was tongue in cheek. Thanks to Jeremy Kyle for pointing it out though!!
Referees on strike?!?!:eek: What's the reason? Money presumably? All games off so this weekend? Just cork aul referees or what? This is nuts!
olachico
17/08/2009, 6:54 AM
Hows it going lads. Been reading this forum for the last year so decided to have an input if thats ok with everybody. Involved with Glen Celtic and looking forward to a very tough season in 1a. We have 4 local derbys against Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Dillons Cross and Ballyvolane. And not forgetting Bohs who we always seem to have very close and hard games against.
Welcome on board timmypav - the more the merrier!! Ye should do alright this year - some good players in Danny Kiely, Paul Monaher etc and of course not forgetting the ex-Hibs brigade! Shane Hurley is another fine player - he played for me while at Hibs!
olachico
17/08/2009, 6:58 AM
Well I suppose most teams have had their last pre-season games this weekend. How did they go and how does every one feel about how well they're prepared for the new season.
I hear Glenthorn could be struggling this year, anyone hear anything?
Hi pacman - as an ex Glenthorn manager i would have a bit more knowledge of what is going on there! They have lost a good few players however i dont think they were pursued too vigorously - back to basics and going to try and introduce some younger players into the club as far as i know! They had a good underage team there once upon a time and i think they want to get a few of them back into the club!
Shilts
17/08/2009, 10:13 AM
Good to see you backing up the AUL everytime wee man :mad:
However, when Cork City looked like going out of business recently - the top league in the country would have ruled that City's games were null and void.
If the AUL had used a similar rule (when Villa and Ballyphehane dropped out midseason) to the top league in the country then Wilton would not have won the league last year. FACT!
If I thought the league was going to be settled like this regularly then I'd pack it in.
However, Wilton are a great team and a great bunch of lads and the admin hiccups are certainly not down to them.
Also as I've my rant hat on - what about last years Golden Boot?
At the end of the season Derek McCarthy had won the Golden Boot with his goals in the Premier Division (only 17 games available to him due to the teams dropping out).
Then the Premier A went to a 3 way playoff - and a Knockavilla player got a few more goals in these extra games (18 league + 2 playoff) to top Derek's tally. The AUL in their wisdom have awarded the Golden Boot to the Knockavilla player (sorry, I dont know his name).
Derek McCarthy bust his ass for the Cork AUL team last year and this is how he's treated.
(If I was in Derek's position I know what I'd tell them when the Cork AUL team come calling this year!!!)
Once again the award for fairness goes to the Cork AUL.
Should we even bother ringing in the scorers this year?
Is it any wonder the best players want to get away from the AUL?
Derek Varian, Paul O'Mahony, John Paul O'Sullivan and Derek Delea spring to mind as recent emigrants.
Rant over... roll on next saturday...lets hope it's a great season for all the right reasons!!!
Innishvilla
17/08/2009, 10:49 AM
Also as I've my rant hat on - what about last years Golden Boot?
At the end of the season Derek McCarthy had won the Golden Boot with his goals in the Premier Division (only 17 games available to him due to the teams dropping out).
Then the Premier A went to a 3 way playoff - and a Knockavilla player got a few more goals in these extra games (18 league + 2 playoff) to top Derek's tally. The AUL in their wisdom have awarded the Golden Boot to the Knockavilla player (sorry, I dont know his name).
Not sure of the full story, but didn't Knockavilla win the Premier A with no play-off? The play-off was between 3 teams for 2nd place...
olachico
17/08/2009, 11:33 AM
Knockavilla won the league outright! But i can see your point maybe it should be decided on the number of goals divided by the number of games to give a ratio or something!
Also as much as the AUL might have wanted to they cant change the rules midseason - its unusual for 2 teams to pull out but the rule was there at the start - maybe an EGM amongst the premier league clubs would have been a good idea but maybe the AULs hands are tied
But have to totally disagree with you on one point!!! I dont think the players you have listed leave their respective clubs to get away from the AUL
Shilts
17/08/2009, 1:05 PM
Also...
From what I have heard the Cork AUL have caused the local refs to go on strike (its not a money issue)...so no refs for MSL, AUL or Business League games until this is sorted out.
Bravo again AUL :mad:
But am I surprised, not a bit...some of these guys couldn't run a tap! :D
timmypav
17/08/2009, 3:56 PM
Welcome on board timmypav - the more the merrier!! Ye should do alright this year - some good players in Danny Kiely, Paul Monaher etc and of course not forgetting the ex-Hibs brigade! Shane Hurley is another fine player - he played for me while at Hibs!
Yeah, hopefully we should be ok. i dont see anyone running away with it. It should be close enough.
DCross06
17/08/2009, 4:28 PM
well we were due to go to dungarvan but the weather called it off the nite before,so we'v had 2 games at home an away game yesterday out in Douglas,so not far at all.We were due to play mid week this week in our last warm up game but becaues of the fixtures we have we have decided to just train instead tue an thur instead.Makes more sense.
Before I forget a big welcome to everbody whos new to the site,great to see so many new clubs come onboard.
Dcross,saw some of yer game today,that dive from the Rockmount lad was halarious,laughed me head off,twas like somethin from little britan,an to make it worse jj saved it,terrific save,then came up with an even better 2nd save an finally see the loose ball belted into the net,heartbreakin stuff
Ya, its bad enough when a player tries it, worse again when the referee actually falls for it, and then for them to score from it the way they did. If its a sign of things to come from the referees I wouldnt be too optimistic for the season, last Thursday we came from 2 down and were winning 3-2 with bout ten minutes left, they got a goal that was ridiculously off-side and the ref let it stand, when I said it to him he said that he knows it was off-side but he wanted to make a game of it, I know it was only a friendly but hes still getting his mtch fee and youd expect him to do his job, and at 3-2 it was far from being a formality. Just had to get that off my chest.
littleman
17/08/2009, 4:39 PM
Gee's Shilts,who rattled your cage.
Your half right about the refs,its not about the money,theirs a dissagreement between the refs an the MFA,an the refs are'nt backing down.
Shilts we all got points from the Villa,Bally foldin issue.I dont like what happened either but Wilton still won the league fair an square,if Kinsale or anyone else were at a loss because of the way it was handled then they should of appealed it to the MFA ,but nobody did so why drag this thing out.An before someone says what if it happens again,unless someone has a crystal ball an lets the AUL know what club is in trouble,it will probably be handled the same way .
17/08/2009, 4:54 PM
any idea when the dispute with the refas is going to end, are the games going ahead the weekend or what
bogwarrior
17/08/2009, 10:12 PM
Not to be nit picking littleman but I dont call that fair and square! No way boy!! I made a tongue in cheek comment about the best team not winning and you picked up on it and harped on about not being cranky! There's more than one person dragging this out!
It's not sour grapes at all. We knew our position from january on ward and knew what we had to do and didn't do it, end of. Doesn't make the situation right however and if any AUL member is reading this I hope they take our opinions on board and do the right thing next time. Or do they know how to use computers?!!:p (that's a small dig again littleman!!)
Innishvilla
18/08/2009, 7:30 AM
Surely after what happened last season, with 4-5 clubs folding mid-season in various leagues the AUL committee have discussed how it should be dealt with if it happens again. I would hope they would follow the FAI structure of expunging a teams results, as what was the case had Cork City gone belly up... I've no problem with what happened last year because it was the rule at the time that results stand and that's fine, but surely they must have looked at it again in the offseason???
Only thing is Littleman, you don't need a crystal ball, just change the rules, if a team then does drop out you deal with it accordingly.
Lets be honest about this lads, it has happened plenty of times in the past but it was always in lower divisions and normally only one club from a division. This time because it was premier there is a much bigger deal made of it...
littleman
18/08/2009, 8:04 AM
Firstly Innish,great post.
Bog maybe we both picked up each others comments wrong,I no more meant any thing serious with my 'jeremey kyle' comment,i just forgot to put a smiley face at the end of it.
Look Bog you may think Im pro Aul but its far from the case.As a person I only concentrate on what I can change rather than getting frustrated at what I cant,an theres nothin I can do to change what the Aul do.
In England over the weekend,Palace an Bristol.We all know its wrong,we all know how to prevent it happening again but the people in charge refuse to change the rules,adding to our frustration.An if Palace lose out on promotion by a point,or indeed get relegated by a point,then so be it according to the FA,rules are rules,no matter how frustrating an even more frustrating when common sense denotes theirs a fair option available.
If I was a Kinsale player Id have lost the plot big time at the way the Aul handled it an especially with the work ye put in on the pitch but Im not an how they handled it played no part in the outcome of our season cause we never showed up at all last season.So again its easy for me to say let it go.
But,if Wilton had of played Villa an Bally in there first 4 games an won those 4 games would it have been fair on them then to have the points deducted because of the 2 clubs folding.Wilton did nothing wrong,they were awarded points for 4 games because 2 sides droped out according to the rules,that left the, 14 games we shouldnt forget.
Wilton won the league,playing by the leagues rules,wether we rate those rules or not .
Ye had the oppertuinity to win the league anyway if ye had got the win against Willton out in the Farm,but that to is history now and we all should accept Wilton are worthy champs.
bogwarrior
18/08/2009, 10:51 AM
Yup, pretty much sums up the way I look upon it too. Worthy champs, both teams had their chances.
But I do hope the AUL have some sort of fair plan in place on how to deal with drop outs this year which will inevitable happen I think. That's all.