View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
kingcorner
18/07/2009, 3:58 PM
Southsider
It looks like Derek Delay will be staying at Leeside this season. That's the talk going around anyway. Shame to see Keegan go though.
pacman
18/07/2009, 6:54 PM
Alright lads I'm back,great to see so many new names on here.Just found out that some of the Liverpool coaches will be giving Grattan a training session on Tuesday evening up at O'Neil Park.
They could really do with it..........
seriously though, credit to littleman and the grattan commitee for pulling this off if true
rebelhead
18/07/2009, 9:04 PM
fair duce littleman if ye got a liverpool coach in,on another note just wondering lads at the aul meeting was there any new rules put in place for the new season ahead,does the rule for the yellow cards still stand the same as last year,as the country in resession its a bit unfair to be paying that much on yellow cards????????
DCross06
19/07/2009, 2:25 AM
Alright lads anyone know when the leagues will be released. I've heard they're dropping a third division and with the 2 teams from last seasons premier that folded, its not gonna be straight forward. there is a few clubs out there who dont know what league there\in next season
littleman
19/07/2009, 11:37 AM
I'd thought it would be better to fill ye all in on the Liverpool thing because to be honest when I heard it myself I was a bit taken aback.But its 100% certain.
Liverpool are hosting 3 day acadamey this week along with the game against Dunmanway.Our club sponsor has very good contacts/friends who are apart of the coaching set up and he was able to swing it that one of Liverpools actual coach's calls up on Tuesday night for an hour to put the lads through their paces.Its as simple an honest as that.Its a fantasctic once in a life time opertuinity for the lads and great bonus to us in preseason.The Liverpool lads amoungst our squad were naturally delighted,but the Utd and Gunners heads said they were goin to ware their own kits as a protest.:)
Cork is a small place and its more who ya know than what ya know.We hope to have a few more guest coaching sessions for the lads in preseason an it all helps in gettin them fit an focused on what goals we set this season for ourselves.As I'v said Corks a small place an we trained Tue,Thur and yesterday an we have had plenty of so called viewers havin a peek from their cars outside parked up.Saturday training was a surprise to the lads if I'm honest but they turned up an were put through a good hard session,but they enjoyed it and appriciated it.Theirs plenty of experienced ex pros out their who are quite willin to give ya an hour of their time or a few tips if you just pluck up the courage to ask them,an we have.
Just to clear things up Jason Keegan was invited to train with us but as yet he hasnt taken up the invite.From what I'm told he's giving Casement a go so an thats fair enough.
Derek Delea was also invited but I spoke to him an he in fairness was honest enough to say he wants to try MSL after givin so much service to Leeside an I can totally understand it.Derek is a nice bloke an a super player an I hope it works out for him with his new club an dont be surprised when ye do find out what club it is.;)
Pac,I had a bit of a giggle at your last post.I hear yer back Tue night,if it ends up bein not quite what your expectin we start at 7 on Thursday an be early;)
On the player front our shoppin to date has gone very well but we still have a few things we'd like if ye follow me so we'r not finished yet.
An just to let ye know our B side trains Monday and Wednesday,A team trains Tue and Thur,7 sharp,encase anyones interested.
So lads I' leave ye at that an I hope I'v cleard up a few things an if anyone has a question or want to know if somebodys up in O'Neill Park just ask,but do be prepared for an answer.
ballsac7
19/07/2009, 2:57 PM
I'd thought it would be better to fill ye all in on the Liverpool thing because to be honest when I heard it myself I was a bit taken aback.But its 100% certain.
Liverpool are hosting 3 day acadamey this week along with the game against Dunmanway.Our club sponsor has very good contacts/friends who are apart of the coaching set up and he was able to swing it that one of Liverpools actual coach's calls up on Tuesday night for an hour to put the lads through their paces.Its as simple an honest as that.Its a fantasctic once in a life time opertuinity for the lads and great bonus to us in preseason.The Liverpool lads amoungst our squad were naturally delighted,but the Utd and Gunners heads said they were goin to ware their own kits as a protest.:)
Cork is a small place and its more who ya know than what ya know.We hope to have a few more guest coaching sessions for the lads in preseason an it all helps in gettin them fit an focused on what goals we set this season for ourselves.As I'v said Corks a small place an we trained Tue,Thur and yesterday an we have had plenty of so called viewers havin a peek from their cars outside parked up.Saturday training was a surprise to the lads if I'm honest but they turned up an were put through a good hard session,but they enjoyed it and appriciated it.Theirs plenty of experienced ex pros out their who are quite willin to give ya an hour of their time or a few tips if you just pluck up the courage to ask them,an we have.
Just to clear things up Jason Keegan was invited to train with us but as yet he hasnt taken up the invite.From what I'm told he's giving Casement a go so an thats fair enough.
Derek Delea was also invited but I spoke to him an he in fairness was honest enough to say he wants to try MSL after givin so much service to Leeside an I can totally understand it.Derek is a nice bloke an a super player an I hope it works out for him with his new club an dont be surprised when ye do find out what club it is.;)
Pac,I had a bit of a giggle at your last post.I hear yer back Tue night,if it ends up bein not quite what your expectin we start at 7 on Thursday an be early;)
On the player front our shoppin to date has gone very well but we still have a few things we'd like if ye follow me so we'r not finished yet.
An just to let ye know our B side trains Monday and Wednesday,A team trains Tue and Thur,7 sharp,encase anyones interested.
So lads I' leave ye at that an I hope I'v cleard up a few things an if anyone has a question or want to know if somebodys up in O'Neill Park just ask,but do be prepared for an answer.
Sounds like Grattan really have their house in order. Its a pity that the best of the AUL/MSL can't pit their wits against each other. The sooner that deal between the AUL/MSL is scrapped the better. Leeside & Kinsale should be allowed move as well, Grangevale are putting a fine side together as well.
thebooboys
19/07/2009, 3:23 PM
Littleman why would delea go up to grattan. Leeside are classed as a bigger club. He prob laughed at ya. He is going training with douglas this week. no player is irreaplaceable anyway.
pacman
19/07/2009, 6:39 PM
Thats a great bonus for all the lads, to get that type of experience with a Liverpool coach.
Lets just hope he doesnt start that zonal defence from corners that Mr Benitez is so fond of....
olachico
19/07/2009, 10:47 PM
Littleman why would delea go up to grattan. Leeside are classed as a bigger club. He prob laughed at ya. He is going training with douglas this week. no player is irreaplaceable anyway.
thebooboys - we dont want to end up like the limerick pages now do we!!!
thebooboys
20/07/2009, 12:24 AM
Olachico there is nothing wrong with saying the truth.:D
pacman
20/07/2009, 8:16 AM
Settle down booboy, I doubt Derek laughed at them. Grattan have won the league twice in the last three years and rumour has it they're gearing up for a good crack off it this year.
Think Derek would have more respect than that.....
ballsac7
20/07/2009, 9:53 AM
I certainly wouldn't consider Leeside a bigger club - maybe a few years back. Judging by the comments on this thread it looks like they are going into a bit of a rebuilding period so doubt whether they'll be involved in the shake up this year.
littleman
20/07/2009, 4:12 PM
Now now lads,thebooboy is quite entitled to his opinion.Wether anyone takes it seriously or not is another thing.
Southsider
20/07/2009, 5:02 PM
fair duce littleman if ye got a liverpool coach in,on another note just wondering lads at the aul meeting was there any new rules put in place for the new season ahead,does the rule for the yellow cards still stand the same as last year,as the country in resession its a bit unfair to be paying that much on yellow cards????????
only one change and that its a fiver right through to the 5th so you pay 25euro after 5 yellows instead of last years 5,5,5,10,20 which was outrageous. Still 1 match ban after 5 yellows and they dont need to inform you so after the 5th yellow your automatic one match ban. Its out of the AULs hands these are FAI rules........or so they say anyway ;)
your at it again booboys, how bad like:) must say lads he is bringing some bit of craic to it, if you want to take any notice or not. not so long since ye won the munster junior cup down there really was it? think kinsale could struggle next year afer loosing varian and talk is derek mc carthy is training with douglas hall tue night along with a leeside player!?? has anyone else left down kinsale or anyone brought in. soutsider your money is on grattan so, maybe but have they got in a few players since last year. i believe they have lost 1 or 2 of there better players so could be hard for them to win it were no great shakes last year to be honest, change of managment but they can only do so much i suppose. good coup in getting liverpool coaches for training session but dont think that is going to attract players. keegan moving to casement so suprised with that after hearing andrew not coaching when he supposed to be there this year
olachico
21/07/2009, 2:45 AM
So can the other new guys tell us their clubs please?
DCross06
21/07/2009, 2:00 PM
So can the other new guys tell us their clubs please?
Dillons Cross. I know yere all fans of the Silverheights pitch. I've been checking in for the last year, to keep up to date with the league, and decided its about time to register, who would have thought there is so much scandal and rumours . We'll miss Billy Lyons this year
Horse24
21/07/2009, 9:19 PM
I just typed a big long message and my connection dropped!!!!
I cant remember it now!!!
21/07/2009, 9:34 PM
ha yeah our loss horse!!!
This minty fella is he managin in the aul or msl??
Horse24
22/07/2009, 12:09 PM
Casement MSL Seniors Bella.
rebelhead
22/07/2009, 12:38 PM
well
littleman how did the session go with the liverpool coach????????,any new techniques learned??????,it must have been a great buzz up in o neill park,
passed it the other day dressing rooms looks well,any chance of a few photos to have look at the inside of them????????
thebooboys
22/07/2009, 4:13 PM
hey,littleman you were up to more tappin last night were ya. I was talkin to alec at training last night. There is no hope for ya there. He didnt even return your phone call, we had a good laugh at it. His exact words were 'why would i bother going up their'. You must be under presure to get players in. Three declines you have from past and present LEESIDE players now. Their must be trouble in paradise.:D
bogwarrior
22/07/2009, 4:16 PM
The words dirty linen and public come to mind when reading the last booboys message. Someone hav a chat with this kid before he spits out the dummy altogether.
el nino coro
22/07/2009, 4:32 PM
to be honest with all of ye lads i reckon the booboys is jealous of other happenings going on around the place and he maybe stressed about leesides team next term
22/07/2009, 4:32 PM
Casement MSL Seniors Bella.
cheers bud
hey,littleman you were up to more tappin last night were ya. I was talkin to alec at training last night. There is no hope for ya there. He didnt even return your phone call, we had a good laugh at it. His exact words were 'why would i bother going up their'. You must be under presure to get players in. Three declines you have from past and present LEESIDE players now. Their must be trouble in paradise.:D
give over lad will ya hes doing his job "tapping up" get over yourself boy. We'll see if ye'll be having a good laugh after ye're game with them!!Seriously lad you wont fit in here with that **** at all.
On the subject of signings we signed this fella duggan i think his name is, his brother used play for cork city years ago aswell dont know much more bout him, the o'rourkes rate him highly so exciting enough i must say. Any bother know the lad im on about??
thebooboys
22/07/2009, 4:51 PM
el nino coro i dont have to be stressed or jealous. Littleman is the one who is jealous with the array of talent down at LEESIDE park.
Also Bella our club LEESIDE dont behave in the manner of other clubs in the recruitmeant of players.
22/07/2009, 5:06 PM
el nino coro i dont have to be stressed or jealous. Littleman is the one who is jealous with the array of talent down at LEESIDE park.
Also Bella our club LEESIDE dont behave in the manner of other clubs in the recruitmeant of players.
oh right from the outside looking in id far prefer to be with grattan rather than a aging leeside team lad. last 2 or 3 years whos more successful, get a grip of yourself lad, array of talent OMG!!!
thebooboys
22/07/2009, 5:48 PM
in the last 3 or 4 years the success down at leeside is second 2 none. mjc has anyone else won that in last 10 years, 2 AOH back to back that is, really now i think you would like that record bella boy. the o rourkes managed us to 1 of those aoh. average age of the team is 24 / 25. who you involved with yourself el nino???
22/07/2009, 6:02 PM
in the last 3 or 4 years the success down at leeside is second 2 none. mjc has anyone else won that in last 10 years, 2 AOH back to back that is, really now i think you would like that record bella boy. the o rourkes managed us to 1 of those aoh. average age of the team is 24 / 25. who you involved with yourself el nino???
fair play but how many leagues, the leagues are the ones you want, and imo the league tsble at the end of the season shows who is the best team in the league?? Grattan won it twice recently if im correct in saying it
el nino coro
22/07/2009, 6:22 PM
grattan i thought now you would have guessed that after my last post,id imagine grattan will be favourites or there abouts with leeside not even in top 4 of the bettinghttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon7.gif
kingcorner
22/07/2009, 7:09 PM
I go away for a couple of days and look what booboys has done to my beloved club. he is bringing shame to the leeside name.
Horse24
22/07/2009, 9:50 PM
In fairness to boo, he might just think its that kinda site like the ones ye mention from time to time. He is only winding us up!
Boo, the kinda way we do it on this forum is that you use the site to get others honest opinions on teams you are gonna play or opinions on your own games. Everyone learns something without giving away any "family" secrets.
Outside that, we give and get opinions on other bits and bobs involving our own clubs or football in general.
A perfect example is the recent discussion on Blarney Streets ground move. We all gave opinion, some for some against. They took it as honest opinion and no-one fell out over it. Best of luck to them.
We have a laugh and a wind up, like us and Kinsale about players on both sides that other teams love to hate, but all in good fun.
We are all volunteers who want the best for our club.
If I remember correctly, this forum was full of praise for Leeside when they won the MJC. Your club had the man of the match and the winning goalscorer in the Oscar Traynor, good clubmen, great facilities - no need to lower yourself to abuse, boo.
Stay on and enjoy.
thebooboys
22/07/2009, 10:05 PM
Cheers HORSE ill try to tone it down a bit. Im just trying to spice things up for the start of the season.
thebooboys
22/07/2009, 10:07 PM
KINGCORNER you will be unmasked soon enough
bluey
22/07/2009, 11:46 PM
kingcorner your the representitive to listen to so from leeside seeing that the boo!! is all over the place.:confused: agree with some of your views at the same time boo boo;) you a first team player or a committee memeber kingcorner have a chat with him i say if you have ideas who he is. fairly harsh el nino putting leeside out of the top 4 betting, they would have to be in it to be quiet honest along with wilton,grattan and kinsale. olachio i am with no club at moment just find site intresting and know a good few from around the clubs. littleman i say boo is a fella who is up for the answers all right as he said himself 'tryin to spice things up'
olachico
23/07/2009, 6:44 AM
Just wondering what chance the Cork Aul Oscar Traynor team will have of retaining their title next season if the manager and half the squad are gone! Possibly even more than half the squad if what i'm hearing is correct - quite a lot of clubs going through a transition phase - and yes booboy i include leeside in that no matter what you say as it always takes time to bed in new players - it would be a pity if their wasn't a good showing in next year by our representative league
bogwarrior
23/07/2009, 9:43 AM
What is the first name of the Duggan lad?
McCarthy is goin no where anyway lads. He's kinsale thru and thru and cant see him leaving at the moment. Few new faces down training with us at the moment with Varian the only loss. Training has been excellent so far. Great buzz around the place with great drills organised by the coaches. All positive for the season ahead.
Did Delea train with everton during the week? What about Paul O'Mahony and Shane O'Neill?! Any news on that front? Were they up with grattan too?!:p
23/07/2009, 4:02 PM
anybody entering the wgh tournament??
23/07/2009, 4:11 PM
KINGCORNER you will be unmasked soon enough
I think things get hot enough around here without your kind offer to spice things up booboys,and people are entitled to keep their identity to themselves (if they choose)without you or anybody else revealing it here.
That's the way it is around here:)
littleman
23/07/2009, 9:43 PM
Right lads I think things have got a bit out of hand if the 12th Man has had to get involved.
I'm no saint an I apoligise for the way that last post went out :o so lets all try at least to get back to the positives on this thread an not leave the tone slip.
The football , all things Aul , pre season an how all our clubs are all doin on an off the pitch thats whats made this a great thread from day one.
Innishvilla
24/07/2009, 7:56 AM
Well back to AUL matters. Interesting comment at the end of the announcement of date for season start:
The season will commence on W\E 22-23 August with 2 x weeks of night matches.
Any team whose home pitch is not available at the start of the season must procure a pitch OR arrange to play their home games on their opponent's pitch.
Now hopefully it'll get back to just AUL discussions. If I wanted to read people b*tching at each other I'd just go have a read of one of the Limerick pages. I'm fully for everyone has a right to their own opinion but you must also respect the others opinion too.
thebooboys
24/07/2009, 12:08 PM
Did anyone here that mintys casement revolution is over before it even began.
el nino coro
24/07/2009, 12:49 PM
why is he on his way to leeside?:D
olachico
24/07/2009, 1:20 PM
Any team whose home pitch is not available at the start of the season must procure a pitch OR arrange to play their home games on their opponent's pitch.
The AUL had a few problems with this last year so i can understand them enforcing this rule! Games called off at the start of the year etc!!
Casement_Fella
24/07/2009, 1:41 PM
Did anyone here that mintys casement revolution is over before it even began.
Rumours going around is that Niall Harrington, the junior manager, was asked to bring his junior side up as the MSL senior team. To be honest we finished last season with a strong team and with the new signings recently made the commitee think we would have a very good senior side. So minty out, niall in. A lot to ask of a young manager but we're pretty confident he will step up to the plate!!!!!
littleman
24/07/2009, 3:03 PM
What if the best players in your club wanted to stick together, say because they are buddies, the A team manager could force them to play with the first team, but they may walk. Minty may thought that if the B players had had no interest in doin whats best for the club then he may not want to be envolved with something like that.
thebooboys
24/07/2009, 3:05 PM
Hey el nino coro where good down here for a coach. ye should get on to him he will bring ye up some well needed players.:D
Casement_Fella
24/07/2009, 3:27 PM
Littleman, it's not that they do not want to do whats best for the club. The junior team took on lot of ballyphehane celtic players when they folded. The junior team was stronger than the senior team last season. Niall put in a lot of hard work with these players and got a nice squad together. The commitee aproached him and asked him to do whats best for the club and go senior. I don't think Minty had much of a choice to be honest.
olachico
24/07/2009, 4:20 PM
Littleman, it's not that they do not want to do whats best for the club. The junior team took on lot of ballyphehane celtic players when they folded. The junior team was stronger than the senior team last season. Niall put in a lot of hard work with these players and got a nice squad together. The commitee aproached him and asked him to do whats best for the club and go senior. I don't think Minty had much of a choice to be honest.
I for one would be curious to know why this didnt happen BEFORE Minty was appointed??
littleman
24/07/2009, 6:10 PM
Fair point Casement but remember all we have to go on here is either what we have heard ourselves or what we have read.
I remember last season it did stand out that certain players were after going to your Aul side.
Players that everybody would have thought would have wanted to play at a higher level so we cant be blamed for thinking its a bit strange.All the same as long as they stay with your club its a good thing an how its all handled should be your own buisness.Your manager sounds like he has the respect of the players,junior or senior an thats all he can ask for.Best of luck.
Rebel sorry for the delay in gettin back to your question about the Liverpool coach'es up in our place.There were actually 3 of them that turned up.They had sent us over a couple of DVD'S of how they do their club pre season an we have bein trying to go along those lines but adapting it to suit a non pro side.They gave us pointers on what we need to be doing in pre season and then they spoke to the large group of players there an had a question an answer session about how their first pre season team training is done.Very impressive it was too.All in all it was a great experience for the lads.