View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

the owl
15/03/2010, 8:36 PM
:DAh Leeds pk, i have to say i did have a little laugh when i read your post. First of all well done to Leeds, 3 points in the bag. I know i shouldnt really bother but i will indulge you with a reply. Ill make it easy for you and put it in points so you will under stand a MATURE and FACTUAL reply.
1. The offside calls ; If you were watching the same game as i was then you will agree that we recieved the same if not more "dodgy" offside calls in the first half. if it wasnt for them we would have been, how did you put it, "comfortable". Isnt that why we have referees ?
2. The 5 players ; J. O Shea, D. Keohane, J. Magner, Colm Mc Manaman, N. Guiton. As far as i can see these are actual Ballyvolane 1st team players that missing. Not one of them a GAA player. A bit silly to say the least as you obviously have no idea who plays for Ballyvolane at the moment.
3. Peter Nugent ; This silly, petty, and immature comment made me laugh the most. My 12 yer old nephew would have made more sense. This is a forum where mature adults debate and post opinions on actual events. you might bear that in mind for you next match report.
4. Your keeper was man of the match in my opinion and probably yours too. Brilliant display, in fact the best i have seen in a long time. That in its itself tells its own story.
Il stick to the sour grapes if you dont mind. After all we did lose to our close neighbours.

olachico
15/03/2010, 8:57 PM
I was at the Leeds V Ballyvolane game!! I think ye should settle it by mud wrestling!!! I cant vouch for the Ballyvolane offsides in the second half as I was watching the match from up by the dressing room half and on that side and some of the Leeds offsides were bad bad calls as I was virtually looking straight across the line at most of them!! Both sides hit the post towards the end so it could have went either way . I did think Leeds shaded it in the second half - thought Ballyvolane would push on after taking the lead!

the owl
15/03/2010, 9:43 PM
Ola, dont know about the mud wrestling mate !!!.....but cheers for your mature and honest view.

Horse24
15/03/2010, 9:45 PM
Haha its like 1st March and all the nicities gone out the window.
Thats our new rule, you have to be polite only upto end FEB!!

Leeside/Grattan
Ballyvolane/Leeds
Bstone/Kanturk

BRING IT ON!!!

thebooboys
15/03/2010, 9:57 PM
shud it not be leeside/grattan/kinsale/possibly wilton in the premier bout horse?????

thebooboys
15/03/2010, 9:58 PM
As for Premier A, just judging from the table, anyones to take.

olachico
15/03/2010, 10:04 PM
shud it not be leeside/grattan/kinsale/possibly wilton in the premier bout horse?????

You missed the point Boo - He meant Leeside arguing with Grattan , Blackstone arguing with kanturk , and Ballyvolane and leeds at it too - not who would win the respective leagues ;-)

thebooboys
15/03/2010, 10:13 PM
Gotcha, No1 really wants to see me and "an fear bheag" argue anymore though do they.............

olachico
15/03/2010, 10:17 PM
Gotcha, No1 really wants to see me and "an fear bheag" argue anymore though do they.............

Football is about opinions Boo - if yours differs to someone elses then so be it . Once you are nice about it ;-)

littleman
15/03/2010, 10:23 PM
Oli,theres only love up in O'Neill Park.We're spreading the good word of the beautiful game across the Prem.Everybody has love for the Gratts.

olachico
15/03/2010, 10:34 PM
I'll have to take your word for that Littleman - I havent seen Grattan A play for years!!

littleman
15/03/2010, 10:37 PM
Boo I dont argue with you,who the hell do I think I am.You are always right in everything you post.You enlighten us all with your terrific insights into how super ye are compared to the rest of us.An in fairness all you do is point out the obvious.You an yours have come on leaps an bounds this season an who are we or any Prem side to deny ye whats rightfully yers.I'll have a word with Bog an tell him to cop himself on an not to be challanging year in year out,an us Gratts we should remember our place in the whole scheme of things,cant have trumped up little norries running around trying to win things.Tis not on.

Hope ya enjoy all the success that comin your way.Best of luck an take pity on the rest of us when we meet.

Well arnt we all lucky HOOPERLOOPER aint on here anymore.Then fun would start.

olachico
15/03/2010, 10:40 PM
Okay littleman I read it the first time!!! Its unfair to edit your post after i replied to it Littleman!!!!

super_mario
15/03/2010, 11:48 PM
Boo I dont argue with you,who the hell do I think I am.You are always right in everything you post.You enlighten us all with your terrific insights into how super ye are compared to the rest of us.An in fairness all you do is point out the obvious.You an yours have come on leaps an bounds this season an who are we or any Prem side to deny ye whats rightfully yers.I'll have a word with Bog an tell him to cop himself on an not to be challanging year in year out,an us Gratts we should remember our place in the whole scheme of things,cant have trumped up little norries running around trying to win things.Tis not on.

Hope ya enjoy all the success that comin your way.Best of luck an take pity on the rest of us when we meet.

Well arnt we all lucky HOOPERLOOPER aint on here anymore.Then fun would start.

You dont half talk some crap littleman, you argue every single point on here and being honest lad you'd want to grow up a bit. Theres no reason for that petty comment when he was clearly joking. You absolutely love arguing and always have to much to say. Take a chill pill if he wants to talk up leeside thats his choice as it is his club, You do the same with the "Gratts" and we all listen to it.

olachico
16/03/2010, 12:57 AM
:love2: Why cant we all get along ??? :D

littleman
16/03/2010, 6:19 AM
''All we are saying is give peace a chance''

Mario,do you honestly think that was a serious comment I posted,Boo knows I was only havin a laugh.I was tryin ta be a bit lighthearted.I dont come on here ta argue,I come on here to appriciate good banter about football.When was the last time I came on here an ran somebody else's club down.There hasnt been a single negative remark about Leeside on this thread all season.Not from a Gratt anyway.

pass&move
16/03/2010, 7:07 AM
Mossie Linnane

Lads,
Anyone know if this is happening this year?

Cheers

No Decision made yet, the committee are trying to get rid of the massive back log of games, a decision wiil be made in the near future.

pass&move
16/03/2010, 7:40 AM
Pld W D L GF GA Pts
Kinsale 12 9 2 1 33 12 29
Grattan Ut 12 9 1 2 25 9 28
Leeside 7 4 3 0 17 6 15
Blarney St 11 4 1 6 14 19 13
Coachford 12 3 2 7 15 22 11
Glenthorn 11 3 2 6 10 26 11
Wilton Utd 6 3 1 2 13 8 10
Park Utd 7 3 1 3 15 11 10
Village Utd 9 2 1 6 9 20 7
Knockavilla 11 1 2 8 11 29 5

It's getting interesting,

junglegym
16/03/2010, 9:46 AM
As Barry said last night it is probably between Kinsale, Grattan, Leeside and possibly Wilton for the 1st place but unfortunately its the other business side we find ourselves in. And its looking like the other 5/6 teams could get sucked in there.

We have two massive games in the next 4 days.
Village away last Sat. was very dissapointing especially after beating Kinsale the week before. We had a change of 5 different personnel for the Village game and felt we should have still been strong enough to get the right result But again we failed to put on our scoring boots and we got what we deserved.
Knockavilla tommorow away is a massive six pointer and we cant afford to be kind to them. This team are a lot stronger than their league position suggests.

On the Mossie Linnane situation lads. Again to the powers that be who may be reading these posts.
Play the cup off as a knockout competition. after all its only between 19 teams.

bogwarrior
16/03/2010, 10:00 AM
Unbelievably tight at the top! The beauty of it is, is that every team has it in their own hands. If Kinsale win their remaining games, they'll be champs, the same goes for Grattan and the same with Leeside! Definitely the best finish in years. I have to say Grattan have done very well to haul themselves back into it. After the draw in leeside i thought they were gone. But 6 wins later and they have to now be favourites as much as it pains me to say! Clean sheets and scoring goals. With so many games for leeside to play it will be tough on them. It has happened to us so many times over the last few years and it has cost us trophies. Especially last year. The one difference is that Leeside have 3 junior teams performing well so they will more than likely have plenty to step into the fold if needed. Tough one to call! May the best team win!

Blarney st tomorrow in CIT. What's the pitch like out there lads? Big and flat i'd say? Conducive to sexy football?

beezerblackpool
16/03/2010, 10:15 AM
Innish,we played Casement three times,won 4-3,won 3-2 and unfortunately sunday lost 2-1 in the quarters of the saxone,probably our worst performance all year,they could have won by more to be honest we just never showed up.there alot like us in the fact on there day they can be very good but im sure they have there bad days aswel,they,ve a few quick fellas up front.there pitch is like yers is big and lovely surface so no worries there.would fancy ye to beat them on yer current form.its central for us in the city challenge quarters tomorrow,hopefully its one of our better days anyway best of luck.

thebooboys
16/03/2010, 10:50 AM
Just for the record i do talk ourselves up...... but why not after getting to the latter stages of FAI, Munster Junior and AOH?????? Never though hav i engaged in the sensationalism as "an fear bheag" has suggested with "the prem being righfully ours"..... Speaking of sensational commentary though a certain individual well known in cork soccer is quoting a prominent individual on this site as saying that "LEESIDE have too much to do"........ Any takers??????? Suppose time will tell if true or not. I agree with BOG that our backlog of fixtures could hinder us in the league but lads thats the price of progression in other competitions.

pass&move
16/03/2010, 10:51 AM
Blarney st tomorrow in CIT. What's the pitch like out there lads? Big and flat i'd say? Conducive to sexy football?

Hey bogman, who else have ye left to play? H & A.

We have
Kinsale (H)
Leeside (H)
Coachford (H)
Village (H) tomorrow
Wilton (H) Sat
Park (A)

the owl
16/03/2010, 11:41 AM
Bog, i heard during the week that CITs pitch is in a bad way, full of sand. Dont know how true that is cause i havent seen it myself.
Boo, i dont suppose ye have a huge injury crisis ahead of tomorrow ???:)

Radiostar
16/03/2010, 2:32 PM
Leeds Pk

I was also watching this game, a draw would have been a fair result and yes ye did dominate possession in the second half but as far as scoring opportunities went Ballyvolane had all the best chances in the second half and in fairness to Owl regarding the keeper, the man couldn't move and that was the only reason ye got the winning goal, and you know that!

LeedsPk
16/03/2010, 4:25 PM
PS if ur keeper is injured then take him off

Radiostar
16/03/2010, 4:38 PM
Just once you have acknowledged that ye got the goal because of an injured keeper! Whether he was substituted or not had nothing to do with me!!
Your message was deleted because of "text speak" which is not allowed on this site by the powers that be.

Onefootednopace
16/03/2010, 4:41 PM
Hi Blackpool beezer or anyone else who was at Saxone cup game v Casement. Innishvilla travel to Casement Park on St. Patrick's day - just wondering what Casement are like - hard to judge them based on only having played 3 league games. That normally means some really good cup runs but I can only see them having done well in the Saxone Cup - anyone know why they've so few league games played - pretty much 9/10 games less than the rest of the division...

Innishvilla, we played Casement a few weeks back in the Saxone cup. They beat us 2-1at our place, the 2 lads up front were a handful. Seemed to be a well organised side when not in possesion, we found it hard to break them down.
Match report from Barry Peelo might help http://killowenfc.blog.com/2010/02/22/200210-saxone-cup-1st-round-match-report-amp-photos/

LeedsPk
16/03/2010, 4:48 PM
Just once you have acknowledged that ye got the goal because of an injured keeper! Whether he was substituted or not had nothing to do with me!!
Your message was deleted because of "text speak" which is not allowed on this site by the powers that be.

who conny??? haha

all jokes aside i still yer 1st team will go up and wish ye all the best in your cup match tomorrow, i think its tomorrow.

Its not often we beat ye so when we do then we might as well enjoy it, i dangled the bate and the owl took a bite

marty
16/03/2010, 5:58 PM
Anyone have any idea on cup final dates,pref the County and St Michaels??

Legohead
16/03/2010, 8:22 PM
[/QUOTE]Blarney st tomorrow in CIT. What's the pitch like out there lads? Big and flat i'd say? Conducive to sexy football?[/QUOTE]

Bog me man, i fancy Blarney St. to take at least a point tomorrow. One of my reporters on the ground is talking about unrest by the seaside. Apparently Mister Jones can't keep everyone happy hence a fourth player withdrawing from the squad, leaving the squad a little light,13/14/15 I’m hearing. Now i admit this is hearsay so I’ll take your word if you have conflicting views (but i will fire my reporter).
If so it could be backing up someone’s post about leeside having too many "outsiders". It's interesting the Bandon squad seem to be concurrently increasing in numbers.
Anyway i think Blarney St will be tough to beat tomorrow.

Legohead
17/03/2010, 6:10 AM
My crystal ball told me that there will be less than 22 finish the Grattan/Village game today. A couple of scores to settle here i think..................

littleman
17/03/2010, 8:27 AM
Hey lego,maybe tis mystic meg we sshould start callin ya hahaha.

In fairness if your ''reporters'' have enev a small bit of truth attached to what they have tild ya it makes interesting reading all right.But its a bit hard to belive.Blarney St are a good side an are due a win but Kinsale today an Leeside (especially at home)the weekend are about as hard as it gets in this league.Id be happy with any result that the St may get though.

On our game havin a bit of niggle I can understand it but it wont happen today.To much at stake ,I cant speak for Village though.

littleman
17/03/2010, 12:30 PM
The Gratts 2 Village 1,no sendin offs
The Street 1 Kinsale 3

Lego throw the crystal balls away an sack ur reporter.

thebooboys
17/03/2010, 12:52 PM
Ballyvolane 1 - Leeside A 2. Got the win,difficult to play anything on that pitch especially when the wind is up. Comfortable apart from the last 10 minutes i thought but got there in the end,will await owls report. I know we often moan about refs etc but this guy was SHOCKING. Booked more guys for silly little things (mouthing) than anything else, he was the same when i watched douglas beat kinsale in AOH(at least 7 yellows that day for backchat), inconsistent and ignorant out

Leeside B 0 - 1 UCC - Massive, unexpected defeat for the B's.................. Dunno what to make of that one

Would like to say congrats to our neighbours and many ex Leesiders KNOCKRAHA on winning 2nd Division title this morning, Well done lads,no trophy present i heard which was a shame.

donaldihno
17/03/2010, 1:00 PM
Macroom 1 Kanturk 0

Very tight game,very few chances!!first one to score was always goin to win this one,it came about 15minutes left.
very dissapointing,draw was the fairest result
Gotta move on to leeds saturday,who are goin well,another tough one!!

TheRock
17/03/2010, 3:13 PM
Premier A

Greemount 0 - 2 Greenwood

shetland
17/03/2010, 3:43 PM
booboy i took in two games this morning blackstone v leeds ,for a half hour and then your game v ballyvolane.saw all of second half, and yee created nothing. ballyvolane fully deserved something from it.they hit bar 3 times.a pile driver from their number 9 hit the bar and went down on the line and when they pulled 0ne back two minutes later should have equalised.how could you say ye were comfortable.do agree with you v referee though.

thebooboys
17/03/2010, 4:10 PM
In fairness now shetland i saw the full 98 minutes, yes 8 minutes overtime........ dunno where the man in the middle got that from........ Anyway, my comment about comfortable was in the context of 90 minutes. Even the ballyvolane lads wil admit that they didnt have any chances of note til late on and then they got the goal. Then it was a shaky last ten minutes granted. As for hitting the bar 3 times are you sure you arent confusing it with the other game you were at??????? Ballyvolane hit the bar, once, a cracker from way out, bounced on the line and scraped clear. Anyway, all said and done we got thro so delighted either way

scaffa7
17/03/2010, 5:10 PM
Ballyvolane 0-2 Bohs 1/4 finals St Michaels .........horrible pitch and horrible conditions up their, wind was very strong but we played well in the first half and got 2 handy goals against the wind.
Infairness to the ballyvolane boys they made a game out of it in the 2nd half but our defense was well up for it and held out well and we now look forward to a semi final.
So its onwards and upwards and its back to the league on saturday and top of the table clash against Donoughmore on saturday.

shetland
17/03/2010, 6:04 PM
In fairness now shetland i saw the full 98 minutes, yes 8 minutes overtime........ dunno where the man in the middle got that from........ Anyway, my comment about comfortable was in the context of 90 minutes. Even the ballyvolane lads wil admit that they didnt have any chances of note til late on and then they got the goal. Then it was a shaky last ten minutes granted. As for hitting the bar 3 times are you sure you arent confusing it with the other game you were at??????? Ballyvolane hit the bar, once, a cracker from way out, bounced on the line and scraped clear. Anyway, all said and done we got thro so delighted either way
what about when keepers kick out came back off the bar and was unluky to be put away;did you miss that. as you said its yee are through and must be favorites to win it out now,.good luck.

Radiostar
17/03/2010, 8:15 PM
Ballyvolane 0-2 Bohs 1/4 finals St Michaels .........horrible pitch and horrible conditions up their, wind was very strong but we played well in the first half and got 2 handy goals against the wind.
Infairness to the ballyvolane boys they made a game out of it in the 2nd half but our defense was well up for it and held out well and we now look forward to a semi final.
So its onwards and upwards and its back to the league on saturday and top of the table clash against Donoughmore on saturday.

Scaffa,

Ya I thought it was a srappy enough game, the wind definately didn't help, I thought ye had the better first half and us the second but we didn't do ourselves any favours with both goals other than that I don't remember either keeper being tested at all.
Better news today that Donoughmore lost to our neighbours Glen Celtic, delighted with that personally. Hope anyone wins the league except that bunch! (No doubt the report from them will be that they were robbed as usual)

the owl
17/03/2010, 8:30 PM
Ballyolane 1 Leeside 2

First half completely dominated by Leeside. Had the bulk of the possesion, played some very good football considering the conditions and were good value for their 2-0 half time lead. To be fair it could have been worse and i couldnt see it getting any better in the second half. Gettings and Leesides center half mopped up everything.
The 2nd half more or less started the same, Leeside soaking up the Ballyvolanes few attemps at trying to break them down. It was only after about 75 minutes we eventally came to life a bit. J. Corcoran had a superb attempt rattle the underside of the cross bar and after we scored with about 6 mins left we had a great opportunity to level things but unbelievably our center forward headed off the cross bar from 3 yards after their keeper fumbled. So although we had very few chances i think our depleted side put up a good show in the 2nd half as i dont remember our keeper having to make a save. We had 2 youths playing today and both handled themselves very well against for me the best team in Cork at the moment.
At half time i was thinking the worse, but at full time i have to say i was dissappointed that we didnt bring it to extra time.
I agree Boo that ye had majority of possesion and outlplayed us for most parts, it cold have gone pear shapped for ye if we had equalised.
The ref today i too felt was a bit OT with the yellow cards and spoke to both sets of players like we were kids.
Well done to Leeside and i wish them all the best in the semi.

littleman
17/03/2010, 10:37 PM
Gratts 2 Village 1

A terrible game to be honest played in less than favourable conditions.Village were full of hard work an effort in the first 20 but just lacked any end product.It wasnt that we didnt play more so that Village made it very difficult for anything to be played.4/5/1 an like the Leeside game its very hard to get on top when a team is goin all out to stop ya scorin happy to conceed fouls at will, an bascially lookin for a point.Village in fairness battled all through the game,but when a team is on the run we are the luck tends to go your way an we got 3 points the hard way today.We had to just tough it out.

Though Village were full of hard work it counts for nothin if ya dont create an they didnt an we did. I dont care what anyone says but you cannot conceed 6 corners an 6 frees in your own half in the first 30 mins an then be surprised when ya go 1 down to a set peice,an especially against a side who are so strong in the air,we got 2 goals from set peices against Blarney St just Saturday so it wasnt as if Village didnt expect it.Ya have to do your homework on the opposition an try to find out where their strong or weak an theirs none of that in their game,an it shows.

Figo should have scored just before he finished neatly in the 6 yrd box with 35 gone. Gouldie got taken down in the 2nd half by the keeper for a peno,a bit harsh maybe but considering some of the man handlin he was falling victim too in their 18 yrd box during the game I think it was a bit of rough justice.

Village went route one time an time again an it paid off , Lotty scored an absaloutle belter,an I mean a belter with 3 mins left but we saw the game out. In the game in general you can look at it 2 ways
,either they put us on the back foot or we defended very very well an attacked at will.I suppose it depends on which side of the pitch you were on.

We are a very good defensive team,back to front everybody dose their job an the bench plays a massive part.At this stage of the proceedings its not how ya win its just winning is all that matters.

I can understand Village maybe feeling a bit hard done by but all the hard work in the world,means nothing if you dont create.An huffin an puffin against the best defensive side in the league wont get ya anywhere.All in all poor game but where the 3 points go is all that counts.

Games are won or lost in the 18 yrd box.We did it at both ends,defensively an attackin wise.We did both,not all the the time they way we would have liked but none the less done.All the hard graft in the world means nothin if ya dont do the basics in these areas.

Plus points were the character of the team.3 points job done.

Minus.we never really read the game well enough an made an already tough job a lot harder at times.

Legohead
18/03/2010, 7:58 AM
Gratts 2 Village 1

Lotty scored an absaloutle belter,an I mean a belter with 3 mins left but we saw the game out. .

Glad you mentioned that Little Man. i got the Match report from a village friend and he spoke about Lotty's goal in the same high regard.
the 1st thing that came to my head was , if luis figo got that goal we'll be reading alot about on here today from your post.
so fair play for mentioning it.I played with lotty for a number of years and to me is one of the best players i have ever played with. i don't mean to sound condisending about this but he is absoultly wasted at village as he would be one of the first names on any team sheet in the league.
i think you might agree little man cause i know you have seen a good bit of him.

thebooboys
18/03/2010, 9:53 AM
Appreciate the fair assessment OWL, as we all know they're few and far between on this thread.....Yes Shetland i forgot all about that kick out hitting the bar. Frankly,it says it all about the conditions up there with the wind etc when a goalie can hit the oppostion crossbar with a kick out. Disaster.

Shilts
18/03/2010, 10:07 AM
We played Blarney Street yesterday morning out in CIT. A straightforward win to be honest. We were 3 nil up after 30 mins and they were down to 10 men at that stage. We saw the game out and were never in much trouble. That is not what I want to talk about.

Kickoff was set for 11.00. The game eventually kicked off 30 mins late. And very nearly wasn't played at all.
Blarney Street turned up with an identical kit to ourselves (All blue) and brought no change kit.

If you read down to the end of every fixture list posted, the home team MUST bring a spare kit. Luckily, Blarney Street were able to borrow a white kit from CIT around 11.15 and still kicked off with identical blue socks to ourselves. (Anyone who thinks that this is ok please go back to a GAA forum as you know nothing about soccer).

If Kinsale had stood their ground - which I think that they were entitled to do if the game kicked off more than 15 minutes late, how would Grattan, Wilton or Leeside have felt with a walkover being granted to Kinsale at this stage of the season???

If you want to play in the premier then act like a premier team and get your act together.
I personally think Blarney Street should be fined for their messing about.
This type of carry on should not be tolerated in any division. Would this happen in the MSL?
I'm just glad we won as this rant would have sounded like a severe dose of sour grapes if we had dropped points.

Excellent performance in the middle by Finbarr Murphy. In my opinion, the best ref we've had this season. :ball:

littleman
18/03/2010, 11:02 AM
Lego I think Lotty is a smashin player,just for me an I dont know if its either who hes playin with or where hes playin but he just seems to lack interest as a result.Some goal though,an ur right if Figo had got it I would be rantin about it.

Hello Shilts,I was told what happened up in the Anglers by one of the Street players an I have to admit I got a giggle out of it.Tis a strange one alright but I cant see anything coming of it,but the man in the middle must have been happy with things to let it go ahead.Personally speaking we have an assistant sec whos always spot on with the gear to avoid any such clash'es,it only takes a minute to check the secretarys book.

littleman
18/03/2010, 11:27 AM
Cheer up Bella theres always the weekend ta look forward too.

Shilts
18/03/2010, 11:38 AM
They were haunted that they were able to get jerseys from CIT. Otherwise it would have been a walkover situation.
If I heard that Grattan, Leeside or Wilton had got a walkover with 6 games to go I'd go mental.
Blarney Street are a good bunch and yesterday might have been just a one off - but how come not having 2 sets of kit for a home game?
And how come not knowing what colour Kinsale are? Its not like we change our kit every year like some teams do :D