View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
thebooboys
26/01/2010, 10:10 PM
Good win sat for us could have scored more but also conceded a few. Pearce aren't a bad side. Also delea was left out sat as he had a disagreement with the management. 20 training tonight roll on skibberein sunday.
Radiostar
26/01/2010, 10:10 PM
Very harsh Radio !!!.......thats it, im putting in a request that you be suspended from this site for the forseable future.:).
Still in my prime kid !!!!!..............well kinda......
Your request was reviewed but it was turned down as they felt I was fairly spot on with what I said:p
super_mario
26/01/2010, 10:21 PM
Have Mayfield on Sat in the AOH. Good side i believe, any info lads ?
Mayfield a handy team alright, tho very beatable. If ye are playing them at there place on the all weather (a big advantage in my eyes ) then they will be hard to break down,,
Little chap up front is good and solid at the back and good keeper aswell :):)
the owl
27/01/2010, 9:53 AM
Will appeal that there Radio. Heard your in for manager of the year ??
the owl
27/01/2010, 9:56 AM
Cheers Mario.........so what your really sayin is that their class !!!!!!!!
As far as i know we are playing on the pitch. the all weather is a disaster if your not used to it.
Parkboy
27/01/2010, 11:51 AM
Just to clarify why the game against Coachford was played on our SECOND PITCH is that the ref refused to play the game on our first pitch(the far off one) because he said the fog was too bad and he couldnt see all the corner flags...He then inspected our second pitch which is along side our clubhouse and deemed that pitch was ok as it was on a hill and visibility was better..To be honest lads none of us like playing on that second pitch as our first pitch is a great surface.The first pitch you see as you enter the grounds is only the schoolboys pitch....Hopefully this clarifys any misunderstandings as to why we played on that pitch.
Good performance last Saturday defeating Coachford,another vital 3 points.
Drew 2-2 with Rylane in 1a last Sunday,2-1 up with 2 minutes left and they equalised.Probably the worst performance of our season so far.
Onefootednopace
27/01/2010, 1:44 PM
Question for all, but namely Radiostar?? I heard the lad Corcoran is banging them in for Ballyvolane youths, could you call him up as yere the same club. On the off chance its Ballyphehane hes with with just take the names out of it, is it possible to play players from your youths team??
Bella, this is from the A.U.L. rulebook
http://docs.google.com/View?id=ddtdjkcd_484cnjf2m5j
31 (h)
A registered youth player in the League is eligible to play with all teams in the club but cannot play in the same grade in two (2) different Leagues in the same season.
Radiostar
27/01/2010, 2:10 PM
Question for all, but namely Radiostar?? I heard the lad Corcoran is banging them in for Ballyvolane youths, could you call him up as yere the same club. On the off chance its Ballyphehane hes with with just take the names out of it, is it possible to play players from your youths team??
Ya Bella, he is fine player but I don't think his manager would be too keen to lose him now! But we have enough players in our own squad at the moment anyway.
Radiostar
27/01/2010, 2:11 PM
Will appeal that there Radio. Heard your in for manager of the year ??
At least theres Vegas!
olachico
27/01/2010, 2:41 PM
John Corcoran played for Ballyvolane A against Blackstone a few weeks ago! Know John well - his brother William is playing youths for Ballyvolane as well - another good player
the owl
27/01/2010, 4:34 PM
Radio, i have no reply.
The Guvnor
27/01/2010, 10:02 PM
Ya agree with those comments on the above player, a good player with a bad attitude, causes his team too many problems because of it. If he matures he could play in any aul side.
To be fair radiostar, ye could do with a player of his calibre to bring ye out of yer impending relegation dogfight, all good players have tendancy to lose the head from time to time, espesically if there being targeting from the off.
But Gary has been developing this side of him well this season to be fair with him. he has reach a rich vein of form and is rewarded by being called up to the Cork AUL squad for training. By having a chat with Niall o Regan, he is impressed with gary.
The Guvnor
27/01/2010, 10:11 PM
totally dissagree.,a walking timebomb,he is totally indissaplined and serves a lot of suspensions,grand when things going his way .
Every one is entitled to there own opinion, " a Walking timebomb" I wouldnt think so. Gary one of the most intelligent player i have ever managed and play alongside with. even standing on the line. hes a joy to behold. sometimes he has is moments, only human like the rest of us.
Three booking so far this season, two in one match which was very harsh and was witnessed by a AUL official.
super_mario
27/01/2010, 10:13 PM
Talking bout Cork AUL team. Does the manager watch 1st division games?? We have a class left back playing with us names George kenny, should be in with a shout for a trial run without doubt, few more would be worthy of a look aswell, our right back (willy) is very very good, 2 strikers banging in goals, and keeper is class aswell we have only lost one all season and won every other game, surely he should come and take a look..
Never know might find a star :)
The Guvnor
27/01/2010, 10:13 PM
hey lads down to play waterloo sunday morning in MJC. anyone got any info on them??
Thanks
The Guvnor
27/01/2010, 10:22 PM
Talking bout Cork AUL team. Does the manager watch 1st division games?? We have a class left back playing with us names George kenny, should be in with a shout for a trial run without doubt, few more would be worthy of a look aswell, our right back (willy) is very very good, 2 strikers banging in goals, and keeper is class aswell we have only lost one all season and won every other game, surely he should come and take a look..
Never know might find a star :)
Mario if u contact the AUL and see if they put you on to the AUL Manager. I think he has a crew who follow certain games. Worth a Shout
The Guvnor
27/01/2010, 10:32 PM
Not sure if I have the right fella in this bloke Nolan but Shetland if its the bloke who got sent off against us in the Aoh earlier this season then I agree 100% with ur take on the matter.Thankfully hes someone elses problem.
Littleman, the sending off against ye was very very harsh, totally change the game. one booking for a dive whilst he was clearly tripped and second booking for something which had has all baffled. a shoved from behind and he knocked off the player in front of him.
And yes " he is my problem" A joy to work with, week in week out
Had gary not been sent off, i feel that game would of ended in our favour.
But thats football.
littleman
27/01/2010, 10:33 PM
Sorry Guv,the sending off against us may have neen harsh,but he got himself sent off,not the ref or us ,he managed it all himself cause he lost his head,4 nil down with 20 mins gone i can understand that at least,but the abuse of the ref later with his so called possie,well if thats what u call class ur welcome to it.
Mario,,,,,,,,,,, its anyones guess who or how the current Aul side is chosen,,,,,,,,,my only hope is that it works,,,,,,,,,,,,a bit like a Skoda,its made of 2nd rate parts,looks terrible an you only pick one when their aint sometin else available,,,,but it gets ya their.
Boo,I only asked a simple question,why Derek wasnt startin,,,,,,learn a lesson in tact mate,,,,,,,sayin he was just carryin a knock would have surficed rather than tellin the whole world that the Leeside camp aint as happy as it should be.
littleman
27/01/2010, 10:42 PM
Guv I agree the sendin off ruined the game,but dont make a comment like,if he was on the pitch ye could have maybe turned the game,we were 4 up while he was still on the pitch for Gods sake.
The game turned as you call it when Garry Leahy twisted his ankle just before half time(from a ****e tackle by the way) an came off.Ya we conceeded 2 in the 2nd hald Guv but your keeper must have denied us 3 or 4.
Look that aint the point,u posted a comment about a player an several others replyed that he was a decent player but,loads of pace,loads of ability comes with a lot of risk.
super_mario
27/01/2010, 11:03 PM
Mario,,,,,,,,,,, its anyones guess who or how the current Aul side is chosen,,,,,,,,,my only hope is that it works,,,,,,,,,,,,a bit like a Skoda,its made of 2nd rate parts,looks terrible an you only pick one when their aint sometin else available,,,,but it gets ya their.
Thats a bit offensive to be honest littleman, like saying our team is full of 2nd rate players and will only be picked when they have nobody else to pick????????????????????
Hope i picked this comment up wrong???
littleman
27/01/2010, 11:35 PM
You have Mario,its a frustrated remark so il apoligise for it.I hope with all my might that the Aul beat the Tsdl,I really do.
But if with all respect if you thought we had the best players available on it,,,,, why would you go an put players forward for it.
I will make it clear,I think the current Aul side is made up of the best players available,,,,,,,,,,,not the best players in the league.Look we are all entitled to our opinion,wether wrong or right so please appriciate an respect that. I have been honest enough to speak my mind,
super_mario
27/01/2010, 11:48 PM
i never said best players were in the squad cos there is a few who should never be in that squad in it, and a few not in it that should be in it, been that way from the start, but thats up to the manager to decide.
littleman
28/01/2010, 7:02 AM
fair point.
Radiostar
28/01/2010, 7:57 AM
To be fair radiostar, ye could do with a player of his calibre to bring ye out of yer impending relegation dogfight, all good players have tendancy to lose the head from time to time, espesically if there being targeting from the off.
But Gary has been developing this side of him well this season to be fair with him. he has reach a rich vein of form and is rewarded by being called up to the Cork AUL squad for training. By having a chat with Niall o Regan, he is impressed with gary.
Ya I might just ask him so!!!
olachico
28/01/2010, 10:26 AM
Gary Nolan is 21/22 right?? I have watched him play with Leeds in the 3rd and 2nd division for the last few years - he was wasted at that level - At that level fellas had to kick him to stop him which may have caused him to be complaining to the ref a lot. He is only young so lets give the guy a chance. Maybe he can learn to control that part of his game! On saying that it could just be his personality too - plenty of teams have fellas who like a bit of a moan!
the owl
28/01/2010, 11:52 AM
Concerning the AUL side, i wouldnt be that close to the selection process but can someone tell me am i wrong in sayin that there are no real trials ?....and that the team is picked really on the viewing of a handful of matches ?. Saying that would i be correct in saying that the bulk of the team is selected before any training or viewing commences ??
Onefootednopace
28/01/2010, 12:09 PM
You have Mario,its a frustrated remark so il apoligise for it.I hope with all my might that the Aul beat the Tsdl,I really do.
But if with all respect if you thought we had the best players available on it,,,,, why would you go an put players forward for it.
I will make it clear,I think the current Aul side is made up of the best players available,,,,,,,,,,,not the best players in the league.Look we are all entitled to our opinion,wether wrong or right so please appriciate an respect that. I have been honest enough to speak my mind,
I'm not too familiar with the workings of the A.U.L. Oscar Traynor side, but if it's the case that the so called best players are not being selected, then is this down to the management teams own preferences or are the players in question just not prepared to give the commitment?
Personally, I would be honoured to represent Cork at any sport.
Horse24
28/01/2010, 12:53 PM
Lads,
On the subject of the Leeds chap, it brings up a point that I meant to raise last week. If you look at the stats, there were about a thoushand posts on our thread..............and 100,000 views!!! We all know there are many people out there reading and unwilling/unable/dont fancy posting. I had a situation myself in direct response to a question where I answered a bit OTT. For our own sakes, lets be careful what we say out loud and use private message if you want to add a few insults!!!
On the AUL team, I understand the frustrations of those not on the squads. We have the situation ourselves where our two from last year didnt even get the call for training Day 1. They couldnt have seen them before that. I maybe wrong, but its not like we get thousands at Monard that we wouldnt notice new faces!! You would think that you take everyone from last year as a starting point, plus your own favourites and work from there.
As our friend from Killowen says, any representative honour - club,league,county whatever - should not be under-rated.
Littleman, I dont know if its Grattan or Kinsale or anyone not "offering their services" to the AUL manager, but is it right? Is it similar to these guys who "retire" from international football aged 12?????? We know they will regret it in ten years time.
No way Blackstone could go straight through Prem A and upto Prem..........or could they??????
News on new Blackstone signing(s) when window closes and paperwork done.............(would it be harsh to mention streetscene here!!!)
littleman
28/01/2010, 3:27 PM
Good post Horse.
The thing about posting an mentioning a player/person by name is that the only way we can react to that post is by expressing what ever experience we have of watching or playing against a player/person.Some might see a player/person on a good day,some may not.But by posting your point of veiw an expecting everyone else to appriciate your point of view,you also have to appriciate not everyone may agree with you.
I have always thought that this thread an the people posting on it always kept it football talk but in the last year or so its gone a bit shall we say, Limerick.
Iv by my own admition lost it a few times in posts,we all have if we are honest an in hindsight for all the good reasons i had in posting i ended up regretting posting at all.
With regards to the Aul team I shouldnt have said what I did,I apoligise for the Skoda comment.
Finally with regards to Grattan players being available for selection,the normal/proper proceedure is that the club is contacted an told the player is to attend training where ever.All I will say is our club has not been contacted.All our players are available if an when needed,as they always were.
olachico
28/01/2010, 4:12 PM
Fairplay Horse you put that very well!! As i've said before Big Brother is watching So it seems and quite a few Refs too :-)
DCross06
28/01/2010, 4:40 PM
Fairplay Horse you put that very well!! As i've said before Big Brother is watching So it seems and quite a few Refs too :-)
Wont mention our refs performance last week so,
olachico
28/01/2010, 5:00 PM
Well Cork teams always complain they get robbed on their travels by poor decisions Bella so no harm that it goes a Cork clubs way for once :-)
Onefootednopace
28/01/2010, 5:02 PM
Good post Horse.
The thing about posting an mentioning a player/person by name is that the only way we can react to that post is by expressing what ever experience we have of watching or playing against a player/person.Some might see a player/person on a good day,some may not.But by posting your point of veiw an expecting everyone else to appriciate your point of view,you also have to appriciate not everyone who agrees with you.
I have always thought that this thread an the people posting on it always kept it football talk but in the last year or so its gone a bit shall we say, Limerick.
Iv by my own admition lost it a few times in posts,we all have if we are honest an in hindsight for all the good reasons i had in posting i ended up regretting posting at all.
With regards to the Aul team I shouldnt have said what I did,I apoligise for the Skoda comment.
Finally with regards to Grattan players being available for selection,the normal/proper proceedure is that the club is contacted an told the player is to attend training where ever.All I will say is our club has not been contacted.All our players are available if an when needed,as they always were.
Firstly, as a new poster on this forum I find the Cork A.U.L. thread very informative with any query answered swiftly and accurately. All contributors here seem to use common sense when posting compared to our neighbours north of Charleville. At least here we get an honest assessment on each teams performance and there's no mud slinging or petty feuds.
Secondly, I was just wondering why some of the better players in the league were not on the panel this year and Littleman's reply answers my question. I suppose a manager has his own ideas and we must respect his decision. And seeing as the Cork AUL have qualified from the group stages, we can't complain. It would be great to retain the title.
super_mario
28/01/2010, 9:06 PM
Good old training session tonight i must, was a lot colder than i expected it to be haha
thebooboys
28/01/2010, 10:22 PM
Fierce trouble down in leeside aright where falling apart especially now that they have imposed a drink ban 48 hrs before games, if caught dropped from the squad.:mad:
olachico
28/01/2010, 10:29 PM
Booboys you crack me up - you really do!! So people cant drink at home?? Are they breathalysing people as well???
littleman
28/01/2010, 11:01 PM
Somethings are better kept in house Boo an what you said about Derek an the management was knowbodys buisness but your own clubs.With regards to the drink ban,if ya think it will improve yer displays then why not give it a go.
super_mario
28/01/2010, 11:43 PM
Fierce trouble down in leeside aright where falling apart especially now that they have imposed a drink ban 48 hrs before games, if caught dropped from the squad.:mad:
Seriously that is the daftest thing i heard in a long time, so basically what there saying is you have to give up your social life to play with leeside??
They must remember at the end of the day we are all amateur footballers and and they are taking the fun out of it if they carry on like that, fair enough we all want to win aswell and certain sacrifices have to be made by players like heading home early the night before a match or go out and not drink, or have one 1 or 2 but this 48hrs before a game is just dictating players personal lives and being honest shouldnt be allowed.
Be interesting to see if the players lay down and take this or by the sounds if it(fierce trouble)do the right thing and stand up for themselves...
littleman
28/01/2010, 11:47 PM
No nookie next I presume,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,:D
bogwarrior
29/01/2010, 12:13 AM
Some of us dont have an option when it comes to that littleman!:p
olachico
29/01/2010, 12:28 AM
Bogwarrior - is that Sean lyons that used to be on the B team (ex hibs schoolboy) and also see Alan jeffers is with ye (also ex hibs schoolboy)
PS I THINK BOOBOYS WAS MESSING
littleman
29/01/2010, 12:40 AM
Oli,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,surely he wasnt takin the urine,no pun intended.(or will they be doin that before the game or straight after)
Feck,drugs next,we'd be goosed big time I'd say.
Bog come up to Norrie land an we will get ya sorted,plenty of talent down the Anglers but Boo may be onto something though,I'l have a chat with the lads at training an see what reaction I get,when they get up off the floor,from rollin about laughin.I can see it now,written up in big letters on the dressing room wall.
No sippin , sniffin or dippin by order of the management.
olachico
29/01/2010, 12:44 AM
Oli,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,what if hes not;)
Bog they may be onto something though,I'l have a chat with the lads at training an see what reaction I get.I can see it now,written up in big letters on the dressing room wall.
No sippin an no dippin
Sippin and dippin - so well put LOL :D
the owl
29/01/2010, 8:30 AM
Lads,Lads, i for dont believe a word of Boos posts recently. A 48 hour drink ban, in the AUL ?......my a**e !. As for how he is after drawing a few of ye in with his spoof about trouble in paradise island, quality.:)
What a load of rubbish from the lad from Leeside.
littleman
29/01/2010, 8:46 AM
Owl I cant help myself in sayin this but it was a bit of a 'hoot' all the same.hahahahah
the owl
29/01/2010, 9:11 AM
Littleman, i think everyone deserves an apolagy for that kid.......shocking, just shocking !!!!!!!:)
littleman
29/01/2010, 9:23 AM
I didnt mean to ruffel any feathers,,,,,,,sorry
super_mario
29/01/2010, 10:20 AM
OHHHHHHHHHHH littleman hahaha
8 out of 10 for effort, 2 out of 10 for delivery lol
the owl
29/01/2010, 10:29 AM
Your waisted at Grattan littleman. you should head down to paradise and sort leeside out !!!!!:D
the owl
29/01/2010, 12:21 PM
Interested in your views here lads,
From next week i was goin to scan the weekend results from prem to the 3rd division and including all cups.From this i was goin to pick out the best and worst result of the week (champs;chumps). For example, last week i would have said that Dunbarr's result would have been the one that would have stood out for me (champs), although Springfield did come close !!. The worst for me would have been Casement being hammered at home 8 - 1(chumps). No offence to Casement, its just a bit of craic.
Im sure there will be debates about the results but sure isnt that what forums are for ????
What do people think ?