View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
pacman
14/11/2009, 6:57 PM
Our cup game is off tomrrow with donoughmore, do we lose home advantage??
I'm afraid so bella......
pacman
14/11/2009, 6:58 PM
Kinsale 4-2 Grattan. Big win for Kinsale, two losses now for Grattan against two fellow challengers.......
Any report Bog, Littleman?
junglegym
15/11/2009, 4:19 PM
Aoh. cup (1st round) Result
Coachford B 4 - 1 Watergrasshill A
Munster Junior Cup
Big win for Ballyvolane against The Street.
Good win aswell for Macroom ( One more to be out of town )
Prem. League :
Will be very close this year , Every team well capable of beating each other . Big 3pts for Kinsale this week , No doubt Derek Mc must have been on form
Not forgetting you Innish.
Good result away from home.
DCross06
15/11/2009, 6:33 PM
Dillons X 5-5 Greenwood, we won 4-3 on penalties, crazy game, we were losing 4-2 at half time got it back to four all then conceded from a penalty in injury time but managed to score an equaliser almost straight away. We gave away some sloppy goals, most of us had a few too many last night I'd say. We're away to Boscos next week in the next round, theres a bit of history there so should be an interesting one.
shetland
15/11/2009, 6:42 PM
i see glenvale came a cropper v richmond. first defeat..huge win for ballyvolane v blarney street any reports.
timmypav
15/11/2009, 7:21 PM
i see glenvale came a cropper v richmond. first defeat..huge win for ballyvolane v blarney street any reports.I was at the Glenvale game. They were very comfortable for the first half hour. They went 1 up and had the majority of the ball. 2 mistakes by the sweeper and they were 2-1 down at half time. 2nd half was a strange one. Nobody wanted to take control of the game and it got sloppy. In fact Richmond had more of the chances as Glenvale were pushing on for the equalizer. Richmond went 3-1 up in the last few minutes. Glenvale played the better football but Richmond just took their chances when they came, on a very fast surface.
the owl
15/11/2009, 8:15 PM
Good win for us today against Blarney St. not a bad game considering the conditions. Both teams missing influential players but i think we deserved the win. Went 2 up and they scored with about 15 mins to go but it was sealed with a penalty with bout 5 mins left on the clock. Martin cronin scored a great goal from outside the box, and Mark mahony (center back)also scored.......Oscar Traynor candidates ?? Both had great games.
Innishvilla
16/11/2009, 10:27 AM
Aoh. cup (1st round) Result
Coachford B 4 - 1 Watergrasshill A
Munster Junior Cup
Big win for Ballyvolane against The Street.
Good win aswell for Macroom ( One more to be out of town )
Prem. League :
Will be very close this year , Every team well capable of beating each other . Big 3pts for Kinsale this week , No doubt Derek Mc must have been on form
Not forgetting you Innish.
Good result away from home.
Great win for Coachford B, Watergrasshill should be fairly strong this time of year with no GAA...
Big win in premier for Kinsale, be nice to hear from either the seasiders or wee man on the game.
Spoken to the lads after Ard-na-Laoi game happy with win could have been a few more but good to get another win under belts in league...
Shilts
16/11/2009, 11:31 AM
Great battle at the Fort last saturday.
Grattan were really up for this one after losing their last 3 games(?).
Grattan started well and went ahead after about 15 mins with a well worked goal and took this lead to the break.
Kinsale came out strong after the break and equalised early with a good strike from Vincent Hurley. Grattan went back in front after a mistake in the Kinsale defence and soon after had a big shout for a pen (free outside the box given). Couldn't see from my position but it did look very close.
Kinsale turned around and scored 3 without reply soon after to win out handy in the end. Derek McCarthy got another 2 to add to his haul and Vincent Hurley finished with 2 also. Good win for Kinsale who go top (but can be caught be those with games in hand). Grattan must be low on confidence at the moment with a run of losses. They didnt play that badly and will be back again to winning ways soon enough, hopefully against the other contenders and not us though!!!
Would be interested to hear the weemans take on the game
Parkboy
16/11/2009, 4:49 PM
Rathcoole 3-2 Park Utd
What can only be described as a disaster.2-0 up with 17 minutes to go and we lose 3-2.
Played very well in the first half and went in 1-0 up.Got the second 10 minutes into the second half.Rathcoole threw everything at us after this and they pulled one back after poor marking.We started to panic after this and all we were doing was hoofing the ball back in to their half.They equalised with 5 to go when shot from outside the box took a wicked deflection off our centre half.Then with time virtually up their striker took a shot from 20 yards that hit the roof of the net..Unless we get 3 points against Rylane next Sunday we might as well kiss goodbye our chances of the league.
Not sure what his name is but the ref we had yesterday was probably one of the best we've had in recent years.Let play go when he had to and would have a word in a players ear instead of flashing a card.Fair play.
Horse24
16/11/2009, 9:58 PM
Prem:
Alberto Pulimeno - Wilton - Goalkeeper (2)
Ian Fitzgibbon - Park Utd - Goalkeper
Alex Nodwell - Leeside - Right Back
BArry Goggin - Leeside - Left Back
Paul Lynch - Grattan - Centre Half
Johnny Mc Carthy - Grattan - Centre Half
Jeremy O Donovan - Kinsale - Centre Half
Brian O Sullivan - Leeside - Centre Half
Ciaran Lucey - Coachford - Centre Half
Red Boots - Grattan - Left Wing Back
Colman Cody - Leeside - Centre Mid
Stephen Hackett - Village Utd - Midfield
Trevor Hallisey - Grattan - Left Wing
Howie Coakley - Village Utd - Striker
Rob Walsh - Knockavilla - Striker
Ricky Gettings - Leeside - Striker
Derek Mc Carthy - Kinsale - Striker
Prem A:
Mr Tynan - Greenmount Rangers - Right Full
Mark O Mahony - Ballyvolane - Centre Half
Martin Cronin - Ballyvolane - ???????????
Michael Bullman - Blackstone Rovers - Centre Midfield (2)
Roy Kenny - Castleview - Centre Midfield
Anon (Number 8) - Macroom - Right Wing
Ivan Skillington - Blackstone Rovers - Striker
AUL 1:
Gary Ahern - Grangevale - Goalkeeper
AUL 1A:
JJ Lynch - Dillons X - Goalkeeper
Mike Barrett - Park Utd - Centre Half
Pa O Connell - Mayfield - Centre Forward
AUL 2:
Joe Ryan - Casement - Right Back
Victor Mylod - Glenvale - Midfield
Brian Lawless - Blackpool - Striker
Anto Mehigan - Hibs - Striker
AUL 2A:
Steven Denehan - Springfield A - Left Back
mkbucks
17/11/2009, 10:24 AM
[QUOTE=Horse24;1274679]
Prem:
Prem A:
AUL 1A:
AUL 2:
I've seen these lads above play also this season,
Howie Coakley - Village Utd - Striker This guy is a real talent when he puts his mind to it.
Rob Walsh - Knockavilla - Striker powerful forward
Victor Mylod - Glenvale - Midfield very creative and an eye for goal
Stephen Hackett - Village Utd - Midfield solid player and v-commited, also a centre half
DCross06
18/11/2009, 3:10 PM
[QUOTE=Horse24;1274679]
Prem:
Prem A:
AUL 1A:
AUL 2:
I've seen these lads above play also this season,
Howie Coakley - Village Utd - Striker This guy is a real talent when he puts his mind to it.
Rob Walsh - Knockavilla - Striker powerful forward
Victor Mylod - Glenvale - Midfield very creative and an eye for goal
Stephen Hackett - Village Utd - Midfield solid player and v-commited, also a centre half
From what I've heard hes after joining Mayfield Seniors, not 100% sure but I heard it somewhere.
littleman
18/11/2009, 6:38 PM
Hello Shilts/Bog.Wanted to take a few days before postin so I could get my thoughts together on the game.Its very frustrating to think at 2/1 we had a stone wall peno denied an then to conceed the way we did in such a small space of time makes it all the more frustrating.
I felt we started very well an defended very well also taking into account that ye were the home side an we knew ye would come at us.We just seem to have a little bit more than ye in every position an I thought to lead at half time was deserved.I dont think ye or anyone to be honest watching the game would have thought that we would make the mistakes we made in the 2nd half.I will give ye full credit for taking advantage of those mistakes,but its different from say, carving out opertuinity after opertuinity against us.We coped well with what ever came at us,but as a team you need to concentrate for 90 plus to win a game,an we didnt.We made one change early in the 2nd half Gerry Kelleher,and I thought he was just un playable,actually reminded me of Varian to be honest.He seemed to take the game to ye on his own an made one,missed a sitter and had the peno denied.
The goals we conceeded,1st from a throw,2 an 3 from corners an 4 from our corner, I thought by our own standards were very very poor goals to conceed.But we will have to learn from it an carry on.Maybe at the end of the season we can look an say that game thought us a harsh lesson an we pushed on from it.
From our point of view what I will take from the game is I thought we scored 2 excellent goals an created many goal scoring chances,yet we lost concentration at vital times an were punished by a sharp side.I have to keep things in context looking at where we were last season compared to now.Like I said we were a poor refereeing decision away from being 3/1 up and pushing on so I have to look for the positives as well as being a little bit frustrated.But bar our mistakes I dont remember ye actually carving out any real goal scoring opertuinitys,so Id like to think if we can improve our concentration we will continue to score ,just not conceed.Ye ended up with the 3 points.How ,was down to us an what we didnt do right rather than ye doing anything well ,an we have to take that.
Ps we just wanted to say that we thought the pitch was a dream to play on,well done to your club.Best grass surface we have ever played on.
Innishvilla
19/11/2009, 12:43 PM
I'm finding it very hard to be interested in football today... I think I'll have to change my signature...
Looking out I guess there will not be any matches played this weekend??? except maybe a few on the all-weather...
shetland
19/11/2009, 6:01 PM
if the au l have any sense they should call off all games this wkend.it would save all the phone calls to reffs and secretaries.this has been the worst weather ever.
Gaz123
19/11/2009, 8:39 PM
its not looking good for the weekend is it guys???
Are the rumours true that the aul are thinking of playing this weekends fixtures as water polo ???:D:D:D
junglegym
20/11/2009, 9:02 AM
Kingcorner,
Any update on our game tommorow, Can we plan around another weekend without a game.. :ball::ball:
If any pitch has a chance its probably yours :)
kingcorner
20/11/2009, 2:00 PM
Kingcorner,
Any update on our game tommorow, Can we plan around another weekend without a game.. :ball::ball:
If any pitch has a chance its probably yours :)
Hello Junglegym it's been a while, have fallen slightly out of love for the game after wednesday to be honest.
As for the weekend, the match will be going ahead as of today so unless it starts raining during the night it will be on. Pitch has taken the rain better then previous years was down there yesterday for a look around and it seems fine.
A bit of rain will help the teams play nice spanish like football!!
pacman
20/11/2009, 2:25 PM
Hello Junglegym it's been a while, have fallen slightly out of love for the game after wednesday to be honest.
As for the weekend, the match will be going ahead as of today so unless it starts raining during the night it will be on. Pitch has taken the rain better then previous years was down there yesterday for a look around and it seems fine.
A bit of rain will help the teams play nice spanish like football!!
Weather is meant to be brutal overnight and in the morning unfortunately.
kingcorner
20/11/2009, 2:58 PM
It's like the apocalypse!
We have missed so many weekends already and winter has only begun : (
Horse24
20/11/2009, 8:51 PM
Horrified over Wednesday, but replay would open some can of worms. UEFA caused themselves big trouble with the Eduardo ban and this would be worse.
Learn from it and get video review. The amount of money involved in the game makes it seem really ridiculous that human error is involved. By the time the kissing and hugging after a goal, the video would be reviewed.
It would be clearer than rugby - the only one ever I remember that telly couldnt solve was GArcia's goal V Chelsea in the CL semi...........every other decision is solved in review. As a Pool fan, I know it was over the line!!!!!!!
My weather websites say rain from 3am to about midday. Our pitch was solid at 3pm today.
Doug89
20/11/2009, 8:59 PM
Hi lads,
Just back from Douglas Hall where the Hall (MSL) beat Kinsale 1-0 in FAI. 1st half was even enough, Kinsale were on top in 2nd but the Hall scored from a free kick in 90th min (great strike to be fair)
Doug89
20/11/2009, 9:42 PM
Douglas 1st team or the junior team??
Their 2nd team, they play in MJL Prem Div
mkbucks
21/11/2009, 8:29 AM
the only one ever i remember that telly couldnt solve was garcia's goal v chelsea in the cl semi...........every other decision is solved in review. As a pool fan, i know it was over the line!!!!!!!
get over it!!
olachico
21/11/2009, 10:20 AM
Blackstone v Ballincollig OFF - the burst of rain overnight and this morning killed it!! Dont think there is any chance of it being transferred to the Regional Park :eek:
Doug89
21/11/2009, 11:25 AM
and they beat kinsale as in the team that finished second last year?
Yeah, it was a good game, the Hall lost 6 of the team that won the MJL Prem league for the last 2 yrs but have brought in some very decent youths, they are quite strong again in fairness, reckon Kinsale will be disappointed though...
littleman
21/11/2009, 11:26 AM
The Gratts V Leeds in the Aoh is on at 4:30 on Mayfields All Weather.
littleman
23/11/2009, 5:18 PM
I know it was a quiet weekend football wise,but surley someone has somethin ta post.:confused:
Radiostar
23/11/2009, 8:06 PM
I know it was a quiet weekend football wise,but surley someone has somethin ta post.:confused:
Quiet is right! Ye played on the all weather at the weekend, Is it just me or does anybody else think the game loses something when not on grass. I'm not a fan of games being played on these pitches.
Horse24
23/11/2009, 10:06 PM
I think all weather is the way to go. The last fortnight has proven that. It will improve skills as well, because the best grass pitches should be flat anyway.
To see Munster club GAA finals played in torrential rain and bad underfoot conditions takes from the two teams playing to see who is best. The team who adapts best to the crap conditions wins, not the best team.
I saw the AUL managers post on Billys/Barrys blog - I believe it was Ballyvolane players who were rang?
Thats crap isnt - what poisonous XXXX would do that? What do you can from it? If it was to cheese the manager off, what about the guys who turned up incorrectly - who gets the worse of it - they do............stupid, just plain stupid.
WHy do so many people fall out with AUL managers over the years - it sems to be worse than at club level. Is it because these guys have been the "best" in their teams all the years up?
Kanturk again for us this week - Bally lads, any tips?
littleman
24/11/2009, 4:16 AM
The all weather pitchs seem to divided people all right.For us its a no brainer,the better surface suits the way we play.Normally that is.The ball moves quicker an that suits us even better.Some sides we play have a tendencey to how do i put this ,leave the grass grow a bit before our games just so it makes it harder to ping the ball about.For me its a great surface to play quick flowing football,an the full size pitch allows ya to move the ball about knowing ya have plenty of space.From what iv seen an heard maybe sides who prefer a more physcial approach or even a side that has maybe older or unfit players,well i could understand there reservations about playin on it.
On the Aul managers rant,i heard Saturday Horse that it was a 3rd division player who received a call from a private number.Either way its not on.Aul managers will always divide the masses.Historically they select the majority of there players from 2 or 3 clubs an rarely look down the divisions.More often than not as well they are or have been recently envolved with clubs an can be a bit biased towards the players they know an trust,but thats their right an it may be a correct way of lookin at things if it works for them.
Clubs an moreso players over the last 10 or so years have lost the sense of value that was always attached to the honour of being selected for the Aul representitive side.In Dublin for instance a player would jump at the chance to represent his league and be deemed the best of the best to be selected,no so in the Cork Aul anymore I feel. But its not just down to the clubs an players.The Aul approach the whole thing wrong,its run cheaply.
You dont have to spend a fortune,just run it well.Its the little things that give players confidence an pride.Tracksuits,best of gear,refreshments after games an training, a simple thing like a match ball for each player during training an even more importantly training thats organaised an as close to how the pros would do it is what ya need to be aiming for. But unfortunatley for us its,a bag with 3 balls in it an a chicken supper if your lucky out in the Ardmanning,tis what we have come to expect even though it pains me to admit it.
Nobody is surprised when the unexpected or the unbeliveable happens in the Aul anymore,par for the course some may say an thats a sorry state of affairs if we are very honest with ourselves.
Radiostar
24/11/2009, 6:38 AM
I saw the AUL managers post on Billys/Barrys blog - I believe it was Ballyvolane players who were rang?
Thats crap isnt - what poisonous XXXX would do that? What do you can from it? If it was to cheese the manager off, what about the guys who turned up incorrectly - who gets the worse of it - they do............stupid, just plain stupid.
Kanturk again for us this week - Bally lads, any tips?[/QUOTE]
Horse as far as I'm aware it had nothing to do with any Ballyvolane player. As for Kanturk you would have to ask the other fellas as I'm involved in Div 1a.
the owl
24/11/2009, 9:54 PM
aright lads. What happened with the aul manager ??....was training last night and nothing was mentioned so as far as i know Ballyv were not involved.
Have Millstreet in the aoh at the weekend...if it goes ahead. any info ?
mkbucks
25/11/2009, 7:43 AM
Anyone know when transfer window opens?
littleman
25/11/2009, 11:35 AM
The transfer windows open the first day of December an closes the last day of January.
Innishvilla
27/11/2009, 11:56 AM
Ok Mkbucks,
as is pretty standard fare for AUL looks like we should be meeting again this weekend, i suppose at least there was a week or 2 gap... Haven't been down to Jake O'Donoghue Park recently so can say how well it has taken the rain, but I would guess that it should be playable as long as there is not too much rain between now and then...
A good few interesting AUL 2 games this weekend - Ard-na-Laoi v Lakewood could almost be a relegation decider already!!! Blackpool v Hibs is 2nd v 3rd (I know hibs have alot of games in hand) but will Glenvale's game go ahead in regional park, it was under about 3ft of water this time last week???
beezerblackpool
27/11/2009, 5:50 PM
How's it going Innish few interesting games alright,ye playing at all?have ye played Hibs yet.there three from three i tink,if we don't win sunday the league is over for us basically!
Lads anyone have an update of Div 1A or a link to it??
olachico
28/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Lads anyone have an update of Div 1A or a link to it??
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=tZQXTR8pUpUsu5xHZNqH4Sg&output=html
there you go marty!!
shetland
28/11/2009, 4:20 PM
aoh game between ballyvolane and milstreet goes ahead in morning,heard from one of their lads today.
pacman
28/11/2009, 4:39 PM
any results from todays games????
olachico
28/11/2009, 5:04 PM
Blackstone 0 -0 kanturk wasnt at it - stuck in work!! Was speaking to the other manager - he was pleased with the performance against an unbeaten Kanturk!
He was a little disappointed we didnt win - Horse was at the game i'm sure he'll expand on that
Cheers for the link Olachico, great win as well today for Springers they seem to be on a roll since last season!
Horse24
28/11/2009, 10:09 PM
wasnt at it - stuck in work!! Was speaking to the other manager - he was pleased with the performance against an unbeaten Kanturk! He was a little disappointed we didnt win - Horse was at the game i'm sure he'll expand on that
Monard wasnt in bad nick at all for the game. Even sort of game where we rode our luck on some occassions, but could have knicked it at the other end. The Kanturk keeper was good, the sweeper was solid, and the AUL guy upfront didnt get much on a day when defences won. We had a few chances and there was a really good shout for a penalty at either end within a minute. One of those where once the ref didnt give us our one, then he was never gonna give them one. Great save by our keeper at the very end - would have been heartbreaking if I had to come on here with another hard luck story.
AUL Meeting on Weds - many going?
shetland
29/11/2009, 1:10 PM
ballyvolane 6 milstreet 3 ao h cup match result.
littleman
29/11/2009, 4:21 PM
Blarney St 0 Leeside 6
Knocavilla 0 Kinsale 3,
Good results for the leaders,especially against sides I thought may cause an upset.
Having a look around the results,Wilton looked to win a tight one,an Ballyvolane are rollin along,another heavy defeat handed out,fair dues to them they seem to have pulled a crack side together.
Saw the draw for us in the Aoh,Village up in our place next week,an Coachford an Glenthorn draw each other again,so
premier sides will be in for the 3rd round,an 2 wont. Im lookin forward to
the match reports from all concerned.Transfer window is opened Tuesday,any interestin rumors goin around.
Radiostar
29/11/2009, 10:38 PM
Blarney St 0 Leeside 6
Knocavilla 0 Kinsale 3,
Good results for the leaders,especially against sides I thought may cause an upset.
Having a look around the results,Wilton looked to win a tight one,an Ballyvolane are rollin along,another heavy defeat handed out,fair dues to them they seem to have pulled a crack side together.
Saw the draw for us in the Aoh,Village up in our place next week,an Coachford an Glenthorn draw each other again,so
premier sides will be in for the 3rd round,an 2 wont. Im lookin forward to
the match reports from all concerned.Transfer window is opened Tuesday,any interestin rumors goin around.
Littleman where did you see the AOH cup draw?
junglegym
29/11/2009, 10:55 PM
Littleman where did you see the AOH cup draw?
More than likely Littleman is going by next weeks fixture list.
Big games for both Grattan and Coachford next week. Big local Derby in the Northside , Fancy a home win though.
When any team is looking towards a cup draw, all they want is a home draw, So we're happy with that. I see they have given referee duties to one of our best. Fancy a home win here also ;)
Innishvilla
30/11/2009, 8:29 AM
How's it going Innish few interesting games alright,ye playing at all?have ye played Hibs yet.there three from three i tink,if we don't win sunday the league is over for us basically!
Alright beezer... There were some interesting games unfortunately only one survived. Looks like Lakewood are for the drop unless thay can turn it around after Christmas!!! Big win for Ard-na-Laoi, if they'd lost it would have been close between the two.
We played Hibs in our first home game of the season. They beat us 3:1 but it was a game that was closer than the scoreline suggested. They took their chances very well, sharp up front. We created chances but didn't convert. The feeling was that Hibs are a really good side but the team to beat is the all conquering Glenvale.