View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60

Onefootednopace
17/05/2010, 7:55 AM
Congratulations to Springfield on winning A.U.L. 2A, hard luck to Millstreet on coming so close. What an end to the season in 2A, drama right down to the last kick of a ball.

blue-and-red
17/05/2010, 9:06 AM
Kanturk 1-1 Ballyvolane AET Ballyvolane won on pens.

Arite lads,just want to say well done to all our lads who,over the season,deserved something for their efforts.
We never do things the easy way and proved it again on Saturday but the job is done now thank god.
Hard luck to Kanturk who made it a scrap to the bitter end in fairness.
Colm Forde got our equaliser and Paul o Keeffe the winning spot kick.

Delighted for our Manager Derek Mellerick who deserves it as much as any of the players.He's Ballyvolane to the core and is grey haired purely because of us!!!!!!!.Also congrats to Mick Lynam his assistant and a controversial linesman !!
Quick mention also for the likes of John o Driscoll(Abroad),James "Shaz" o Shea (Injured),Davey Keogh(Injured),lawrence Buckley(Injured), Dave Hickey,Gavin Moylan and Paddy Cunningham who all played their part in this season.

Heres hoping Glenthorn stay up now.Be nice to have the derby.

Sorry for boring ye,thats it from me.Enjoy the hols lads. CMON the 'laaaaaaaan

Crocked
17/05/2010, 10:53 AM
Hey all, Can i just say first that congratulations are due to Ballyvolane on going up and best of luck in the Premier next Season.

Also can i draw some attention to the Corkery Cup which is going to be held in Leeds Park on the 12th and 13th of June. Its a 7 a side world cup style tournament which we ran with great success last year. Its played on grass, big goals and we will have the best refs from the AUL and MSL. Its a great way to sign off a long season or to bring all the lads from the pub who usually play on different teams to have a run out together. All support would be greatly appreciated! For any more details there is a poster up on CorkAul.com.

Thanks again and see you all at the start of next season!!

sharpshooter
17/05/2010, 1:44 PM
up to you weather u want to respond.to be honest wasnt looking on the line but thats not accepted and if it was brought to our managers attention im sure he would ave been asked to leave...pitch was in very good condition...

goal-achio
17/05/2010, 3:33 PM
was at this game MMR,agree about the spitting incident but in the name of all that is right in this world how in gods name was there tat much extra time added on.....it was a disgrace and to blow the whistle after the springfield goal,how did the referee expect to get any reaction bar the one he got.Nothing against springers ye had a great season congrats on winning the league but as a nuetral driving down to cobh to see a title decider i was disgusted with the way it ended.My condolences to millstreet,they should have called the cops but congrats again to springfield

goal-achio
17/05/2010, 3:34 PM
congrats to ballyvolane,shetland and the rest great way to finish the season.

fruice
17/05/2010, 4:02 PM
just in realation to the millstreet springfield game firstly well done to springfield on going up, secondly the spiting incident should not be seen any where near a soccer field millstreet could find themselfs in a bit of trouble. but on the main talking point the ref as the fer he is in a position of authority and with this comes y he cost responsibilty for his actions, and as a result of his actions he cost millstreet the title i dont think anyone can argue that because if he played the right amount of time springfield would not have scored. this is not trying to take away from springfield this is just highlighting the big problems teams have with refs in the aul. in my view they have to much influnce in the out comes of games as seen above. a good ref should barely be noticed but for the large part this not the case there is too many of them on power trips. there was an aul offical at the game yesterday he should go back to refs assocition and demand an explation over the refs actoins as his actions determined the outcome of a whole league

LeedsPk
17/05/2010, 4:41 PM
I feel after all the commitment put in during a long season, fella's giving up there saturday nights and training twice a week for a whole year, that its an absolute disgrace that your season is decided the way the millstreet lads season was decided on sunday. Im not just saying it cause I have a buddy playing with Millstreet. but congrads to springfield, its unfair on them cause they done nothing wrong, well besides bragging on this a few months back that they were 6/7 goals better than Millstreet. We'll all learn to keep our traps shut here in future, which brings me to my next point:

Congrads to the Ballyvolane lads for there promotion. It was well deserved, going to miss our arguments though, hopefully we'll be back arguing next year, thats me hoping we get promoted not wishing ye to get relegated. haha!!!

Radiostar
17/05/2010, 4:57 PM
Hey Radio, looks like ye are looking for Dillons Cross doing ye a favour now and getting some kind of result against Buttevant. If not, it looks like another play off bud.......................Congrats to your A team on getting in to the Premier.

Timmy,
I always said Dillons Cross were my favourite team!!!:p I just hope they have a go against Buttevant even though the result wont make much differnce to them.

I also would like to congratulate our first team too, a great achievement, it even brought tears to Derek Mellericks eyes, he deserves this for the effort he puts into running our club.

fruice
17/05/2010, 5:00 PM
but bella millstreet can say they got what they didnt deserve .

the ghost
17/05/2010, 5:22 PM
Bella/Mainmanram not having a pop here but a serious question, and i know you'd take getting screwed and getting the rub of the green as part of every season thats how it goes but would ye say ye deserved to win the league after ye admitted Millstreet were robbed and ye were handed the point ye needed to win a league??? personally i dont know could i celebrate a great season that ye had with a finish like that!!

Horse24
17/05/2010, 7:44 PM
Ghost, it isnt Springers fault as everyone has said. It isnt down to one game either. Long spin home for the poor Millstreet lads. Ref should have played another min or two to avoid the hassle. Well done Springers

Holden, All the lads raving about your set-up. Well done. Congrats on winning it and congrats to Ballyvolane. You cant imagine most conversations upto recently were who were going to be runners up to Kanturk! They must be sick.

I will be the first to review the season, and I wil do it without passing it by our manager!!

Well, we received an unexpected promotion to Premier A, so our season was going to be harder from the beginning. New Managers and 4 or 5 new faces led to a slow start. Overall, we are happy to avoid relegation, but, if we were to be harsh on ourselves, we left a lot of points behind us over the year. We suffered most at the withdrawal of Ballincollig.
We exited the MJC, FAI & Mossie with a whimper so we must be disapointed with that.

The AOH quarter finals was a big achievement for the second season running, but we could have reached the semis - strange to think a 4-1 defeat is seen as one that got away!

Overall we achieved our goal and are over the moon with that. We have great reason for optimism we feel, so its onwards and upwards for 2010/2011.

sharpshooter
17/05/2010, 7:52 PM
anyone know whats leading the golden boot???

sharpshooter
17/05/2010, 7:56 PM
coachford 0 leeside 2

bluey
17/05/2010, 9:17 PM
sorry for not posting since saturday, was waiting for the dust to settle!!! totally agree with pacman post. daylight robbery it was last sat in o'neill park. 1st goal we scored in first half disallowed for what nobody knows i think only the man in the middle on the day. grattan awarded peno then early in second half for a challenge that was around 4-5 yards outside the box. justice for the pen when well saved by keeper. then to top it all off, scored a perfect goal with 10 to go but was ruled out for offside which was impossible as the grattan defender was the one who finished the ball into the net which was on the line. Think myself the ref lost run of the game from v early on, gave out bookings which should not of been and made alot of wrong things. wont mention name of ref but all anyone has to do is look at report on echo tonight. game itself for the rest was a battle and leeside did have the better chances throughout the game. grattan kepper made some v good saves and was also impressed with the centre half, dont know name but he was no.2 on the day. anyway rant over. must say was first time up to o'neill park since last year and the dressing room area was very impressive. Coachford 0-2 Leeside tonight. couldn make it 2night as i was looking after our u12 team. from talking 2 the lads. Another decision went against us 2night in the first half, had a penalty which keeper got hand to and pushed it into the side of net, ball went through hole in the net. everyone celebrating and ref said that it was saved and out for a corner. Brilliant!!! anyway got the goals in last 15 min that where needed both from derek delea and another clean sheet. Sets up a fantastic last game of the season v Kinsale. Everyone in club now looking forward to the Cross on friday night

littleman
17/05/2010, 9:47 PM
Holden I'd say its a safe bet it would be someone from the Premier A whos leading the golden boot,not that it seems to matter to anyone anyhow over the last few years.The thing seems to have lost its prestige.Gouldie our main striker has 10 in the league.But Im presuming Scully has more than that.Its been pretty tight in the Prem this season with only a few hammerings doled out.

We played 18 league games an had 10 clean sheets in those 18 games.There were very few games in the Prem where strikers got hatricks,if any .Slim pickins as they say,but teams have been getting stronger especially in defence for the most part.I couldnt tell ya who has scored what for Leeside.Tis more of a team effort from the Leeside lads than any one main scorer.

Well done Bella an Main Man.Great season.To Glenvale too.A bit of silverware for Yelverton.

I was told all about the goal that never was tonight down in Coachford.Interesting decision by the ref,but know doubt we will read all about it shortly from the Leeside contingent.Leeside an Kinsale,I'll make sure to be at that if the Leeside folk will allow me........................................

Bluey,if I thought for one split second anything I had to say on any aspect of our game would be met with an open mind and honesty from certain Leeside posters I'd post,but it wont an I couldnt be bothered.

Iv learned a harsh lesson this season an my punishment for not holding our lead an our heads is having to watch ye an Kinsale play russian roulette for the title.We'v been 1st for most of the season,2nd for a spell an ended up 3rd an had one hand on the tilte an dropped it,with the finishing line in sight.We let slip a league title,someone now has a chance to win one,sqeaky bum time..........may the best team win.

MainManRam
18/05/2010, 7:20 AM
Bella/Mainmanram not having a pop here but a serious question, and i know you'd take getting screwed and getting the rub of the green as part of every season thats how it goes but would ye say ye deserved to win the league after ye admitted Millstreet were robbed and ye were handed the point ye needed to win a league??? personally i dont know could i celebrate a great season that ye had with a finish like that!!

Ghost, it isnt Springers fault as everyone has said. It isnt down to one game either. Long spin home for the poor Millstreet lads. Ref should have played another min or two to avoid the hassle. Well done Springers.

Ghost - Milstreet were robbed due to the amount of extra time the ref played but the ref felt this was justified due to the time wasting carried out by Milstreet throughout the game.Again I am not going to get dragged into a debate here about the time.
Am I happy celebrating a league we won by nothing giving up till the very very end? You better believe I am. As Horse said its not about the one game- we won the league by only losing 1 game all season and scoring over 60 goals along the way. We won the league by going the whole season at home dropping only 2 points. We won the league by saying to ourselves "we are never beat". And yes sometimes to do that you need a little help on the way.
And another thing- no one handed us the league. In the time added on we still had to go and get a goal.
Eddie is the new Alex Ferguson :)

junglegym
18/05/2010, 10:18 AM
Very dissapointing again last night, Did everything we could to keep Leeside out but when you have players like Derek Delea to come off the bench at half time you know your in trouble.
On the goal that never was , what can I say maybe its time to fix the net ;).
After that I really did think it could be our night but again those are the joys.
Best of luck to both Kinsale and Leeside in the deciding game.

Back to our own agenda, Beat Wilton Thurs. week to stay in the league anything else is just not worth thinking about at the moment.

sharpshooter
18/05/2010, 11:07 AM
Holden I'd say its a safe bet it would be someone from the Premier A whos leading the golden boot,not that it seems to matter to anyone anyhow over the last few years.The thing seems to have lost its prestige.Gouldie our main striker has 10 in the league.But Im presuming Scully has more than that.Its been pretty tight in the Prem this season with only a few hammerings doled out.

We played 18 league games an had 10 clean sheets in those 18 games.There were very few games in the Prem where strikers got hatricks,if any .Slim pickins as they say,but teams have been getting stronger especially in defence for the most part.I couldnt tell ya who has scored what for Leeside.Tis more of a team effort from the Leeside lads than any one main scorer.

Well done Bella an Main Man.Great season.To Glenvale too.A bit of silverware for Yelverton.

I was told all about the goal that never was tonight down in Coachford.Interesting decision by the ref,but know doubt we will read all about it shortly from the Leeside contingent.Leeside an Kinsale,I'll make sure to be at that if the Leeside folk will allow me........................................

Bluey,if I thought for one split second anything I had to say on any aspect of our game would be met with an open mind and honesty from certain Leeside posters I'd post,but it wont an I couldnt be bothered.

Iv learned a harsh lesson this season an my punishment for not holding our lead an our heads is having to watch ye an Kinsale play russian roulette for the title.We'v been 1st for most of the season,2nd for a spell an ended up 3rd an had one hand on the tilte an dropped it,with the finishing line in sight.We let slip a league title,someone now has a chance to win one,sqeaky bum time..........may the best team win.
no prob littleman didnt no it has lost its value over the last few years im only playing aul football since last year.just asking coz i think i could ave a shout in it:D....

the ghost
18/05/2010, 12:03 PM
Ya bella ur right in saying yer a good team no doubt!! But just as a neutral its a pity theres a shadow over ye winning the league because of the man in the middle as everyone will admit was a joke. And to be fair to millstreet if ye can admit it was all a farce they deserved to win the league having to get 3 points away to springfeild and been robbed!

the ghost
18/05/2010, 12:34 PM
but Bella/MMR springers can only play until the whistle blows to be fair to ye and ye won by hook or by crook as a manager once said to us!!:D do both teams go up??

Radiostar
18/05/2010, 5:16 PM
Ghost - Milstreet were robbed due to the amount of extra time the ref played but the ref felt this was justified due to the time wasting carried out by Milstreet throughout the game.Again I am not going to get dragged into a debate here about the time.
Am I happy celebrating a league we won by nothing giving up till the very very end? You better believe I am. As Horse said its not about the one game- we won the league by only losing 1 game all season and scoring over 60 goals along the way. We won the league by going the whole season at home dropping only 2 points. We won the league by saying to ourselves "we are never beat". And yes sometimes to do that you need a little help on the way.
And another thing- no one handed us the league. In the time added on we still had to go and get a goal.
Eddie is the new Alex Ferguson :)

MMR I completely agree with you. Well done

bogwarrior
18/05/2010, 7:37 PM
Firstly condolences to all at Bohs. Desperate thing to happen.

Littleman I owe u a drink! Holding leeside to a draw has set up a fantastic finale to a bloody long season! Heard there were a few dodgy decisions by the ref but they've gone against us all and we'll certainly take it.

I'll also think you'll find Kinsale were top of the league for the majority of the season littleman! We were only knocked off when beaten by Glenthorn at the end of March/early April. Still, it's whoevers top at the end that counts. Leeside serious favourites i suppose but we've nothing to lose. Hopefully a big crowd down to watch it. Any idea when it will be on lads?

The Golden boot has been devalued by the AUL themselves by making up the rules as they went along last year. I have very little interest in it since that. I'd say Delea is up there surely..

Finally best of luck to both teams in the AOH final on friday night. Great occasion and enjoy it.

Toebomb 11
18/05/2010, 7:55 PM
Hey Guys,long time viewer,first time poster,I play with Gratten.Firstly,I'd like to congratulate all teams who won their domestic cups/leagues,fair play to ye.I do'nt know much about football outside the Premier(except for Springers who beat us in the FAI!!) so most of my posts will be about prem/prem A...I'd like to congratulate both Leeside and Kinsale on having such great seasons to date,looking forward to the season finale blow in Little Island...after playing both of them recently,I reckon Kinsale just might have that little bit more experience,as they have won the league on numerous occasions in recent years...In saying that,Leeside have been on a hell of a run.Approx 2 mths ago,I thought there was no way they could catch us(kinsale and ourselves) with the amount of games they had to play(I'm open to correction,but I think we were 21 points ahead of them at 1 stage)...but they did,and to be honest about it,they should have beaten us last weekend,they were robbed!!..on a Gratten note,I was bitterly disappointed in which our league campaign came to an end,we were so close but we blew it!!..I thought we got ahead of ourselves a bit and we started to believe in our own hype!(we thought we had it won down the Anglers on many a night:)!)...I hope we hang on to a few of our 'stars' for next yr because if the word on the street is true,a few of them maybe looking at pastures new!!...hopefully,we'll keep everyone and maybe get 1 or 2 in...on a lighter note,looking forward to the 'view game at the wnd,should be a cracking northside derby!!

padjoe
18/05/2010, 9:02 PM
when is the kinsale/leeside game down to be played?

bluey
18/05/2010, 9:16 PM
bog/padjoe from what im hearing it will be either sat/sun week the 29th/30th may.

sharpshooter
19/05/2010, 4:02 PM
welcome toebomb playing with macroom myself so will be coming up against you next year...looking forward to the test...

marty
19/05/2010, 7:09 PM
Can Scaffa or Mario confirm the 1A title decider for this wknd,think I read its down for Sat??

super_mario
19/05/2010, 7:33 PM
Firstly thanks to everyone who posted well wishes to our club, they were very greatly appreciated..

Well done to springers and very unlucky to Millstreet, sounded like a belter of a game down in cobh..

Also Well done to Ballyvolane on reaching the promised land of AUL football

Marty our game has been put back again to Tuesday night in the Fairfield...

scaffa7
19/05/2010, 7:33 PM
Can Scaffa or Mario confirm the 1A title decider for this wknd,think I read its down for Sat??

Hi lads match switched to next Tuesday night 6.45.....And thanks to all the people who posted reguarding the death

sharpshooter
20/05/2010, 12:57 PM
any truth to the story that 3 or 4 kinsale lads moving on after the season is finished????

Toebomb 11
20/05/2010, 4:19 PM
Cheers for the well wishes Holden,how are ye fixed for next season? Will ye lose or gain any players? Is wonka still playing? Haven't heard anything about Kinsale losing any players, what exactly did you hear? I did hear that Leeside have a few new players lined up for next season. I got a text today alright telling me that Kinsale/Leeside game is on Friday week, can anyone confirm this? Anyone travelling to the cross tomorrow night?

sharpshooter
20/05/2010, 8:43 PM
Cheers for the well wishes Holden,how are ye fixed for next season? Will ye lose or gain any players? Is wonka still playing? Haven't heard anything about Kinsale losing any players, what exactly did you hear? I did hear that Leeside have a few new players lined up for next season. I got a text today alright telling me that Kinsale/Leeside game is on Friday week, can anyone confirm this? Anyone travelling to the cross tomorrow night?
no worries,good enough id say wont be losing any players anyway for def but id say we will gain a few players one or two from the 2nd team well able for it and to be honest wasted in the second team and id say hopefully one or two more will come in from where ever the more the merryier,ya wonka is still their does a lot for the club to be fair.this is only my 2nd season with macroom was playing west cork league b4 that should ave made the move years ago...was talking to a fella that knows a few of them he said that they were going playing for their home town next season and one of them said to me when i was with the aul team the start of the year..leeside will never be short of player's top club..

bluey
20/05/2010, 9:12 PM
Correct Toebomb! Leeside v Kinsale is fixed for next friday night at Leeside park.

sharpshooter
21/05/2010, 11:12 AM
best of luck to both leeside and knockavilla tonight in the aoh cup final..

kingcorner
21/05/2010, 12:31 PM
I wont be there myself but good luck to leeside tonight. hope its a good game of ball and lets hope booboys gets on the scorsheet : )

sharpshooter
21/05/2010, 8:54 PM
Knockavilla win aoh cup on pens,congrats to them unlucky to leeside bad way to lose a cup final...

junglegym
21/05/2010, 9:59 PM
Knockavilla 1 - 1 Leeside
Villa win 6-5 on spotters.

Have to congratulate Knockavilla on their win, Some turnaround in their season. Going into tonights game we all probably felt that Leeside would be too strong for them but this group of lads had the belief to win it.
Without doubt the biggest night in their history. So well done again. The pub on the Cross roads will be open for a week straight I'd say.

For all that were at the match, The Streaker was very funny. :D:D

the owl
21/05/2010, 11:26 PM
Welcome toebomb 11, love to know where the nama came from ???...looking forward to seeing ye next year. A big congrats to Knockvilla on their win tonight, well done. Any reports on the game itself ?

scaffa7
22/05/2010, 1:09 PM
Well done Knockavilla brilliant result for the underdogs!

scaffa7
22/05/2010, 5:19 PM
Buttervant beat Dillons Cross 4-1 what situation does that put ye in Radio are ye down are wha ??

Radiostar
23/05/2010, 2:42 PM
Buttervant beat Dillons Cross 4-1 what situation does that put ye in Radio are ye down are wha ??

Scaffa we have a relegation play off with Buttevant after this result.
Best of luck on Tuesday night!

scaffa7
23/05/2010, 8:57 PM
Scaffa we have a relegation play off with Buttevant after this result.
Best of luck on Tuesday night!

Cheers Radio looking forward to it !!........Whats the story wit the venue did ye hear yet??

sharpshooter
23/05/2010, 11:02 PM
Macroom 1 park 2
bad day at the office 2day for our self's we were asleep in the first 20 mins and park went up 2 in that spell and well deserved.got back in to the game with a cracker of a free kick,from then till half time taught we were evenly matched.should ave been 2-2 only for a world class saved from the park keeper turning the ball on to the bar.both teams started to tier towards the end with the heat.but overall i taught park deserved to win the game and best of luck to them in the rest of it...missing a few due to a wedding in spain but still should ave defended better.cant complain about our season up with the big boys next year really looking forward to it.

bluey
24/05/2010, 10:52 PM
Just got this off billy's site- top goalscorer

14 Goals – Keith Holden, Macroom.

13 Goals – Derek McCarthy, Kinsale and Eamon O’Sullivan, Park United.

11 Goals – John Dennehy, Kanturk.

10 Goals – Stephen Goulding, Grattan United, Gary Nolan, Leeds, Ivan Skillington, Blackstone Rovers and Richie Walsh, Wilton United

Holden you where on the ball all right your there abouts, hopefully we will do you a favour now and keep derek mc quiet on friday night and keep the clean sheet.

Friday night what can i say was just not or night. Congats to Knockavilla, they deserved it on the night i think. We just did not show up and i must say we looked v tired out there, but not looking for excuses so well done again to knockavilla. Thats done with now and we look forward 2 friday night and try reach the goal that was set at the start of the season. I say it will def be a development squad!!!! out 2morrow night v greenwood in the mossie.

sharpshooter
25/05/2010, 12:18 AM
bluey i hope ye do fingers crossed and best of luck friday nite i will be at the game should be a cracker and best of luck in the mossie linnane also,im actually a goal down on that ive 15 in the league so do the best ye can it would round of the season nicely...

sharpshooter
25/05/2010, 10:25 AM
no truth about the kinsale lads it was all a wind up sorry bout that lads fella was talking the ****...

super_mario
25/05/2010, 3:52 PM
Bohemians vs Mayfield ( Title Decider) tonight 6:45 at the fairfield

Finally the game is upon us and i cant say im dissapointed the Nerves all week have been something else and i hope we do the job tonight against mayfield and get the point and take the league, we know we wont get nothing easy and i expect a great game...

May the Best Team Win...........

olachico
25/05/2010, 7:19 PM
Good luck to Bohs - should have a result soon :-)

sharpshooter
25/05/2010, 8:06 PM
congrats to bohs on winning the league...