View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

kingcorner
18/09/2009, 7:26 AM
I see that Joe chap, you're centre midfielder is back as well playing with your second team. Good player. With the two of them back you should ruffle a few feathers this year. Hopefully not just ours!

Ya Joe Lyons is back aswell playing with the B team this year. He will be travelling between london and cork every few weeks with work so he wont be at every game.

Innishvilla
18/09/2009, 7:29 AM
Premier League
Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath away
Kinsale v Village Utd home
Leeside v Wilton Utd away

Premier A League

Kanturk v Pearse Cel home
Ballyvolane v Leeds home

Munster Junior Cup 1st round:
Macroom v Glenthorn Cel macroom requested free weekend :confused:
Blackstone Rovers v Passage home

On Barry Peelo's notes Macroom were down as available to play on Saturday but not Sunday. I think the game is on the Saturday...

kingcorner
18/09/2009, 7:29 AM
Will this happen when he returns to Leeside?

Who knows what will happen with this situation. I would have taught that with the a team getting 4 points from 6 he wont go straight into the team . It might ruffle a few feathers if he does go straight in there.

junglegym
18/09/2009, 7:55 AM
On Barry Peelo's notes Macroom were down as available to play on Saturday but not Sunday. I think the game is on the Saturday...

Good Spot Innish, My mistake :o

blue-and-red
18/09/2009, 9:12 AM
Ya lads,i suppose theres no hiding that in with Ballyvolane in Premier A,let the abuse begin so.careful though im well able!!!!

Nice to see a few of ye are tipping us to beat the "auld rivals" Leeds this Saturday.
Should be good game,leeds have a solid side.

blue-and-red
18/09/2009, 9:22 AM
welcome blue and red great to have you on board.is the red and blue the colour of your club. that would definately narrow it down.

Yes Shetland,So what are you're predictions for the weekend.
Surely Blarney st wont lose again?

Few tip them to

bogwarrior
18/09/2009, 10:26 AM

Great point. I can see his frustration but Spratt has given Avondale tremendous service over the years hasn't he? Does he have to prove himself?

Interesting to see what happens down in little island at the weekend if the same happens..

bluey
18/09/2009, 11:20 AM
ya bog, joe is back and signed with b team as kingcorner said and will be travelling to and from london every few weeks. when joe is around he will be used with a team cause joe is fantastic player.

bluey
18/09/2009, 11:30 AM
With the derek situation. southsider i heard exact same as yourself. derek had good pre-season with them scoring 5 in 4 i think. willlie bruton other striker who started other day with spratt scored 0 in 4. from what i know what annoyed derek is that he was promised the moon and stars from managment but when came down to big kick off, nothing. ya i thought same as yourself southsider, bad form. avondale loss and our gain at end of day i suppose.
as to what happens in little island saturday. dont know. missing 2 from last weeks team, suspension and holidays. squad of 20 now with derek back so you wouldn know if he starts or not. if not i think derek of all people will have no problem with it after just coming back tuesday.

Yoda01
18/09/2009, 2:43 PM
Ya lads,i suppose theres no hiding that in with Ballyvolane in Premier A,let the abuse begin so.careful though im well able!!!!

Nice to see a few of ye are tipping us to beat the "auld rivals" Leeds this Saturday.
Should be good game,leeds have a solid side.

the ballyvolane fellas are taking over this place recently :D all good though!
welcome again, ye "should" see off leeds this weekend at home blue and red, i see macroom and kanturk as your main rivals although i admit i have not seen all prem a teams play this season.

Southsider
18/09/2009, 3:27 PM
He might not start the first game but you bet your bottom dollar that will be the last time he will be on the bench this year with Leeside.

Southsider
18/09/2009, 3:35 PM
Great point. I can see his frustration but Spratt has given Avondale tremendous service over the years hasn't he? Does he have to prove himself?

Interesting to see what happens down in little island at the weekend if the same happens..
No one here is doubting Sprattys ability hes a top player and from what i hear a top bloke aswell but my own opinon is if a player doesnt train work commitments or not he should not play and as far as i know Spratty made 1 training session the Thursday and started the following Saturday ahead of Delea and another 5 players also. What does everyone else think about this or would you just play your strongest team every week mo matter what ??????

shetland
18/09/2009, 4:42 PM
Yes Shetland,So what are you're predictions for the weekend.
Surely Blarney st wont lose again?

Few tip them to
think yee should beat leeds and maintain yere great start. think yere nearest rivals are playing cup games.actually met one of yere players today and he said the new goalkeeper yee signed plays tomorrow,.dermot o brien. as i said in an earlier thread he is top class ,very commanding and brave,wouldnt like to be in his way when calls for a ball.macroom v glenthorn if its on should be a crcker too. fancy home win here,.

blue-and-red
18/09/2009, 10:33 PM
the ballyvolane fellas are taking over this place recently :D all good though!
welcome again, ye "should" see off leeds this weekend at home blue and red, i see macroom and kanturk as your main rivals although i admit i have not seen all prem a teams play this season.

Ya yoda they both have started well,Some other good teams in the section too though.Time will tell.

So you gonna nail your colours to the mast and tell who you're attatched to?

blue-and-red
18/09/2009, 10:38 PM
Yes Shetland,i'd expect Dermot to start tomorrow,he's looked good in training and should be a huge addition.We have some very good keepers at the club and will make the competition interesting.

Shane Molly Hurley is due back after playing GAA!!!!!
He'll have his work cut out now to get his place back but in fairness hes a good keeper and well capable when he's tuned in.

GAA was a bad choice!!!!!

olachico
18/09/2009, 10:54 PM
No one here is doubting Sprattys ability hes a top player and from what i hear a top bloke aswell but my own opinon is if a player doesnt train work commitments or not he should not play and as far as i know Spratty made 1 training session the Thursday and started the following Saturday ahead of Delea and another 5 players also. What does everyone else think about this or would you just play your strongest team every week mo matter what ??????

Thats like asking for the lotto numbers for the next draw - a tough one for any manager to balance this one - the hope would be that all players would be of equal ability and the ones who are most commited get picked!!

shetland
18/09/2009, 11:44 PM
Yes Shetland,i'd expect Dermot to start tomorrow,he's looked good in training and should be a huge addition.We have some very good keepers at the club and will make the competition interesting.

Shane Molly Hurley is due back after playing GAA!!!!!
He'll have his work cut out now to get his place back but in fairness hes a good keeper and well capable when he's tuned in.

GAA was a bad choice!!!!!
there wouldnt be many keepers around that would displace dermot o brien.take it from me i know.by the way yee ballyvolane fellas are everywhere, blue and red , radio star and the rebelhead, although he has been quiet lately .he said he was a player with yee ,is that yere first or second team. i take it your with the first team and radiostar the second team.

mkbucks
19/09/2009, 8:42 AM
the hope would be that all players would be of equal ability and the ones who are most commited get picked!!

I think your never gonna have players of the same ability but every manager likes different qualities. So its down to him.
If results are on the board at the weekend you can't fault his selections.

Carrigman
19/09/2009, 8:57 AM
this post probably has no relevance to what is on here, just wish to voice my excitement at the joy of been back playing soccer for my home town Carrigaline Utd, after a long absence from the game.
we have a fantastic management team pairing on our team with derek Mccarthy and Dave Manning, who have been training us very hard and doing some fantastic drills aswell, aswell as macker been a great player aswell his attitude is fantastic, they give all players a chance we have now a fantastic squad of roughly 30 players so far, some great players from the GAA club who won intermediate county championship this year aswell
the club is going from strength to strength, a top class astro pitch aswell i have to say and club house is great too, the attitude at the club is fantastic at all levels i am amazed with the effort the trainers and players put in, and the respect shown for one another is great too. great managers all around at the club, just so excited with the prospect of a great season ahead after our 3-0 win last week over a weel organised and great team of central rovers who amass in talent aswell. heres hoping to a great season for a great ever improving club Carrigaline utd..

Southsider
19/09/2009, 9:12 AM
Thats like asking for the lotto numbers for the next draw - a tough one for any manager to balance this one - the hope would be that all players would be of equal ability and the ones who are most commited get picked!!
Olachico,you sort of answered the question without answering it but it sounds like your with me on this one. You train you play and if you dont train you dont play i think its as simple as that:D

blue-and-red
19/09/2009, 11:17 AM
there wouldnt be many keepers around that would displace dermot o brien.take it from me i know.by the way yee ballyvolane fellas are everywhere, blue and red , radio star and the rebelhead, although he has been quiet lately .he said he was a player with yee ,is that yere first or second team. i take it your with the first team and radiostar the second team.

You would be right Shetland,not sure who rebelhead is though.

Well,must dash,its time to get ready for our Leeds clash.
i'll let ye know how it goes.

pass&move
19/09/2009, 11:28 AM
Olachico,you sort of answered the question without answering it but it sounds like your with me on this one. You train you play and if you dont train you dont play i think its as simple as that:D

While I agree with you to a certain extent I also think the manager of any team must be ruthless come match day & pick the best 11 to start.If your best player misses training the week before a game to drop him would leave 10 of the starting 11 down.
This may upset the ones left on the bench but the manager only sees 3 points or the next round of a cup.

& make no mistake people are quick to point the finger at the manager if a win is not got.

pass&move
19/09/2009, 3:41 PM
Grattan 2 - 0 Blarney St, another 3 points

kingcorner
19/09/2009, 4:06 PM
Latest result from Leeside park

Leeside A 2 - 1 Wilton

Should have been around 5 or 6 to be honest. First half Wilton were the better team and lead 1 nil at the break. Second half all Leeside to be fair. Derek started so id say not all will be happy with that one but what can ya do. Enjoy the weekend

olachico
19/09/2009, 5:03 PM
Derek started so id say not all will be happy with that one but what can ya do. Enjoy the weekend

I thought he might :D so maybe Avondale rated Spratt higher - football its all a matter of opinion!!

olachico
19/09/2009, 5:07 PM
Blackstone 3 - 0 Passage in the MJC - always in control of this one - felt we could have scored more!

pacman
19/09/2009, 5:51 PM
Good wins for Grattan and Leeside. 9 points for Grattan, 7 for Leeside.
Good starts and important to have points on the board.
Thats a draw for Wilton against Coachford and now a loss and in both games they have been leading. Worrying from their point of view i suppose.

Any report from the Grattan lads, tough northside derby, surely a few talking points?

shetland
19/09/2009, 6:11 PM
took a trip to ballyvolane park. ballyvolane 5 leeds o .blue and red must have been happy

junglegym
19/09/2009, 6:39 PM
Macroom 3-0 Glenthorn

This one was all over by half time, Macroom 3 nil up at that stage.

Glenthorn were surprisingly very poor ( after a good league result last week ) :confused::confused: Maybe they were missing a few today. But not taking anything away from Macroom , they were very impressive especially in the 1st half .

littleman
19/09/2009, 9:07 PM
Gratts 2 Blarney St 0

No real talkin points to be honest an I dont think anyone who watched the game would say Blarney St we hard done by an if anythin the score flattered them an not us.Lookin at the game our work rate was unbeliveable,the St had no answer to it.Again another opinion would be appriciated.Absaloutley delighted with the result an the attitude of a group of players who seem to be playing as if they have sometin to prove,again awsome display of fitness an ability.

Oh ya,a sendin off for Blarney st,2 nil down a the time,the player should be ashamed of himself for what he did,but in sayin that his team did better withoit him than with.

olachico
19/09/2009, 11:14 PM
this post probably has no relevance to what is on here, just wish to voice my excitement at the joy of been back playing soccer for my home town Carrigaline Utd, after a long absence from the game.
we have a fantastic management team pairing on our team with derek Mccarthy and Dave Manning, who have been training us very hard and doing some fantastic drills aswell, aswell as macker been a great player aswell his attitude is fantastic, they give all players a chance we have now a fantastic squad of roughly 30 players so far, some great players from the GAA club who won intermediate county championship this year aswell
the club is going from strength to strength, a top class astro pitch aswell i have to say and club house is great too, the attitude at the club is fantastic at all levels i am amazed with the effort the trainers and players put in, and the respect shown for one another is great too. great managers all around at the club, just so excited with the prospect of a great season ahead after our 3-0 win last week over a weel organised and great team of central rovers who amass in talent aswell. heres hoping to a great season for a great ever improving club Carrigaline utd..

Welcome on board Carrigman the more the merrier - though on saying that your post did look like an ad for Carrigaline!! Ah Derek McCarthy - a wasted talent - remember him as a great schoolboy player but never really reached his potential after that! 30 players? That wont last long unfortunately but good luck to ye!!

blue-and-red
19/09/2009, 11:17 PM
took a trip to ballyvolane park. ballyvolane 5 leeds o .blue and red must have been happy

Ya Shetland we had a very pleasing win in our local derby beating Leeds 5-0!! They missed maybe 2 players that might have made a bit of difference but we were also short 4 of our starting 11 from last week.
Our new keeper dermot o brien hardly had anything to do and when he did he dealt very well and looks like he's going to have a huge say this year for us.
Only 1 up at half time but upped a gear in 2nd half and the likes of Martin cronin,Colm"power of love"Forde, Shane o Mahony,Niall Guiton and Laurence Buckley ran the show for us when needed.
We were far more physical and fitness showed also.

Leeds have good squad of players and i have huge respect for manager Dave keane who's a good manager and friend of mine,i wish them all the best this season but it was nice to win alright.
Good start but thats about all.Kanturk next week away.Huge challenge.

I want to wish radiostar(Ballyvolane B) the best in the morning away to Glen celtic,just 1 of afew tough derbys they have this season.If anyone can get them back on track its him.

Good result again for Grattan Littleman,yer ones to watch for defo! Nice one.I'll be throwin down me few bob tomorrow!!!!!!!!

Radiostar
20/09/2009, 5:59 PM
I'm delighted with the response today from my team, considering we were missing 5 players today and we should have taken all 3 points but for 3 fine saves from the Glens keeper in the final 15mins.

timmypav
20/09/2009, 6:20 PM
I'm delighted with the response today from my team, considering we were missing 5 players today and we should have taken all 3 points but for 3 fine saves from the Glens keeper in the final 15mins.
We were missing our Keeper and our 2 centre halfs and our defensive midfielder so we are happy with the point we got.

olachico
20/09/2009, 6:27 PM
Lads lads lads - dont ye know its forbidden to say ye were missing players on here!!! Sorry Littleman couldnt resist!!

Radiostar
20/09/2009, 6:42 PM
We were missing our Keeper and our 2 centre halfs and our defensive midfielder so we are happy with the point we got.

Alright timmy,

Wasn't having a go at ye it was just after our defeat last week was delighted today, didn't expect anything easy from yourselves and it turned out that way.

Olachico wasn't using it as an excuse:)

shetland
20/09/2009, 6:48 PM
a very good response after yere result last week radiostar.well done.sounds like it was a cracker of a game.

timmypav
20/09/2009, 6:54 PM
Alright timmy,

Wasn't having a go at ye it was just after our defeat last week was delighted today, didn't expect anything easy from yourselves and it turned out that way.

Olachico wasn't using it as an excuse:)
Radiostar, we knew that the result last week was a once off and we tried to get that across to the players as well. Ye will do fine in this section if ye play anything like ye did today. Well done;)

olachico
20/09/2009, 6:55 PM
On a seperate note i'd just like to say Tom Tully did an excellent job during our game on Saturday in Monard . We slate the refs when we think they do a bad job so its only fair to compliment them when they have a good game!!

Horse24
20/09/2009, 8:25 PM
Is it true Kinsale players will not be putting themselves forward for the AUL panel this season?

Is it true Kinsale will not be putting in match reports this season?

Both in protest at the top goalscorer trophy.

Has the AUL chosen a manager for the Oscar Traynor panel yet?

Gratts/Leeside/Ballyvolane looking good.

Blackstone happy with yesterday - tough game overcome. First out of the hat, could have been first out!!

littleman
20/09/2009, 9:43 PM
Well there seems to be a few things need clearing up according to maybe one or two who seem to have heard stories that arny 100% true.

No 1.

The Aul managers job will be sorted by Monday nite,expect an announcement by latest Wed on the paper.

No 2.

Olachiao,Ballyvolane beat us twice last year,home an away.We lost home an away an we didnt lessen the glory of victory by sayin we were short.I personally played with our first team last season when we won away to Leeside,the manager played on goal an I was the only sub,we won.End of story.Why lesson a great victory by only addin ****e where its not needed.

No 3.

If , an its a big if horse about the Kinsale thing .Bradfield,has gone back to Bandon,Varian is at Everton,Paddy wheres he gone an that leaves us with Scully an Macarthy ,if someone dosnt want to play theres plenty more besides ,I think Bohs mite have a good striker.

Ps, my best wishes on behalf of all Gratts go out to Paddy Byrne an his family,a true gent,a decent man , an Horse he is the main reason players an more so clubs should encourage there players to represent their league.He has always given his all unquestionably to the AUL an its clubs,the Oscar Traynor in Mintys own words was won for him,I hope the Aul dosent lose 2 legends so quickly.

Hope ya get well Paddy,best wishes the Gratts.

olachico
20/09/2009, 10:05 PM
One last time for everyone here - my user name is spelt O L A C H I C O

bluey
20/09/2009, 11:09 PM
good result again on saturday against champions. 7 points from 9. good start but no one is getting ahead of themselves. was not a bad game to watch on saturday. wilton much better team in first half and deserved their lead, being honest could of been 2 down at half time, wilton had shot rattle crossbar. second half great performance, got goal back early and just took overfrom their, could and prob should of scored more than 2. all in all 3 points, job done. yes derek did start (and not using missing players as excuse just letting all kno the facts) missing 2 and 1 starter injured in warm up so that why derek started!
AUL job, heard saturday that the manager of mayfield junior team i think has been offered the job. dont know name but is def involved with mayfield.

littleman
21/09/2009, 10:13 AM
Is it Mayfields Msl juniors or the Aul juniors BLUEY.I know the guy whos running the Msl juniors,he used to play for the Gratts years back an we are due to play their Aul side this Saturday.Be an interesting appointment all the same.

We get 6 to 8 weeks pre season training an 3 or 4 games to get our sides ready for the 1st game of the season.This guy has a game on the 10th/11th of next month away against Kerry.How hes going to get a side together and ready I do not know.:confused:

littleman
21/09/2009, 11:37 AM
The new Aul manager is Niall O'Reagan,ex Knockavilla.

Horse24
21/09/2009, 12:44 PM
Littleman, you better spell Oli-wassaname right or you will be banned from Monard!!!!!

Littleman, I dont see the "we were missing a few" in the same way you do. True, some may use it as an excuse, but, it may give a hint as to whether the right full handled their star winger well, or whether the star winger was missing etc.

Littleman, I hear Mr Byrne is very ill. A nice guy who I worked with for a short spell - always good to Blackstone.

I dont know Mr O Regan, but I wish him well. I think the "team of the year" that we did a few years back would help the AUL manager a lot. Everyone sends in two from their own team and two from the rest of their division. Even if he started at the first game of the seaon 6 or 7 weeks isnt enough. The AUL manager should start mid july like most teams. Lets him see more games, even if they are friendlies. Gives him a chance to look down the leagues. Some gems outside the Prem, who just wanna play ball with their mates.

littleman
21/09/2009, 12:53 PM
Point taken Horse,t'is just sometin I never could take hearin.Everybody has somtin I suppose.

Very good point as well about that team of the week from a few years back.It was a good idea an its well worth lookin at again.

Oh ya,OLACHIAO

mkbucks
21/09/2009, 1:21 PM
Lets him see more games, even if they are friendlies. Gives him a chance to look down the leagues. Some gems outside the Prem, who just wanna play ball with their mates.

Great point Horse. Ive seen some nice players in our league who would defo fit into a premier or MSL side.
I myself have played these levels and i have seen some quality players last season at Kilreen, Grangevale, Glen Celtic, Glenvale. Also think we may have a couple who should at least be looked at but this manager will never have the time to do so.!!

Its a pity really

olachico
21/09/2009, 2:41 PM
Point taken Horse,t'is just sometin I never could take hearin.Everybody has somtin I suppose.

Very good point as well about that team of the week from a few years back.It was a good idea an its well worth lookin at again.

Oh ya,OLACHIAO

Ickleman I will take your point on board !! You dont like hearing there are people missing etc - you wont hear it from me again

To be honest on the subject of the AUL panel this fella will probably have a good idea of who he wants/needs - i'm guessing he wasnt sitting around while the season was on and got to see a few games

Think their should be a few trial games set up though to have a look at a few extra fellas who might not normally fall under the radar

What do you think ICKLEMAN ?? :p:p:p

Innishvilla
21/09/2009, 2:56 PM
It'd be good if there were any Knockavilla guys on here. They could give a clearer impression of the guy.

Could be good though a guy starting with pretty much a blank sheet regarding players. No-one guaranteed their place. Tough act to follow though, we've all seen how tricky every game in Oscar is. After winning it last year they'll be the team to beat this year...