View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

junglegym
18/08/2009, 3:56 PM
Also...
From what I have heard the Cork AUL have caused the local refs to go on strike (its not a money issue)...so no refs for MSL, AUL or Business League games until this is sorted out.

I also heard about this . Anymore update on the referee situation ? Will the start of the season be put back a week or two. :confused:

shetland
18/08/2009, 4:46 PM
referee desision will be known tonight after a meeting between .referees and .m.f.a, .that will be chaired by the F.A.I.I. HAVE THIS ON VERY good authority.was speaking to the referee involved , and he is being prevented from refereeing in the .A .U.L BY THEIR CHAIRMAN.THEIR DIFFERENCES stem from when the chairman was fixture secretary a few years back.if the cork .a.u.l dont back down there will be no matches this weekend.

timmypav
18/08/2009, 5:44 PM
Lets hope its sorted. Our lads are itching to get started.

corkref
18/08/2009, 8:45 PM
update re refs; following a meeting between MFA and refs where the MFA refused to enter any discussion, the referees have officially withdrawn their services from this Thurs until further notice! Not a good start for any of us!:mad:

olachico
19/08/2009, 2:03 AM
What a balls about the refs strike - why cant we all just get along - Make love not war etc LOL

(Note this was tongue in cheek - i do not wish to make love to any of the referees, AUL committee or the MFA LOL)

Billynomates
19/08/2009, 7:28 AM
Does anyone know which Ref is the one in qusetion? I heard its to do with Aidan O Regan (Raggy)

Innishvilla
19/08/2009, 8:24 AM
on Billy's site the AUL/MSL Youths and U17 league cups are cancelled due to the referee's strike.
Also there is a fairly stern warning against clubs (youth and U17 for now) arranging friendlies...

See below for full text... Looks very ominous that they are looking for people to sign up as referees...

Cork Youth Leagues Fixtures Cancelled:
Due to ISRS Cork branch going on strike by refusing to staff matches the Management Committee of the Cork Youth Leagues have decided to cancel the U17 and Youth League Cup competitions this season, so all published fixtures are cancelled.
No Friendly Games:
The committee are issuing a directive to every team in the league that friendly games must not take place during this strike. Sanctions will be imposed on any team who will be in breach of this directive.
Non Society Referees:
The management committee wish to state that if sufficient referees registered with the FAI who are not members of the Cork Branch of the I.S.R.S. are available that league matches will be arranged, as we are anxious to finish our season before the end of May because of players doing exams.
Beginner’s Course;
We wish to remind anybody interested in taking up a career as a referee that a beginner’s course will take place on Saturday next, if interested contact Brian O’Regan 086-8113959

Shilts
19/08/2009, 9:36 AM
update re refs; following a meeting between MFA and refs where the MFA refused to enter any discussion, the referees have officially withdrawn their services from this Thurs until further notice! Not a good start for any of us!:mad:

First of all I didnt hear this from a ref or a commitee member so take this with a grain of salt...as with all my posts.
The Refs society usually decide which refs are allocated to each league - AUL, MSL etc. However on this occassion the AUL decided they dont want a particular ref (I wont name him as its unimportant, and I might be wrong (again...ooops!)). The refs have said that this is unacceptable - that its up to them to provide qualified refs to each league. This is where the standoff is at the moment.
I have to say from the little I know about this issue, I'm behind the refs. But maybe I dont know the full storey!!!

littleman
19/08/2009, 10:16 AM
Im not meaning to sound like im makin a joke of this but the Aul has,nt done much to raise the standard off refs over the years has it,so where are they comin from on this.

The man in question was a refereeing accessor,his opinion deemed important enough to say wether a ref was up to the grade or not,yet the Aul say hes not good enough to ref in the Aul,who do they think their kiddin.:confused:

Not one club has put in an objection,not one so for me they have no place saying no to this bloke.:mad:

The idea was for the Aul to have its clubs best interests at heart,not its individual commitee member/members interests.:mad:

19/08/2009, 10:20 AM
if thats true you have to back the refs here, if it is the name mentioned above the aul should only be glad to have a ref of his calibure in all fairness he a loi official, and they dont want him in the aul!! madness..

Yoda01
19/08/2009, 10:20 AM
here's my two pence worth. i heard the ref mentioned above want's to be on the aul panel of ref's but the aul doesn't want this ref on their panel as there is always a bit of hassle/trouble during the season with him. he was moved to the msl panel but wasn't happy and wants back in aul panel. the ref's association are saying it's up to them do decide which ref goes where and not the leagues. there was a meeting last night between an fai representative to mediate and he put forward the ref's sign an agreement not to strike and they will work on resolution with the leagues. the ref's rejected this out right and are now on strike!!! that is all.

19/08/2009, 10:21 AM
Im not meaning to sound like im makin a joke of this but the Aul has,nt done much to raise the standard off refs over the years has it,so where are they comin from on this.

The man in question was a refereeing accessor,his opinion deemed important enough to say wether a ref was up to the grade or not,yet the Aul say hes not good enough to ref in the Aul,who do they think their kiddin.:confused:

Not one club has put in an objection,not one so for me they have no place saying no to this bloke.:mad:

The idea was for the Aul to have its clubs best interests at heart,not its individual commitee member/members interests.:mad:

like all petty things these days i have to ask the question is it something personal against the ref??

19/08/2009, 10:27 AM
here's my two pence worth. i heard the ref mentioned above want's to be on the aul panel of ref's but the aul doesn't want this ref on their panel as there is always a bit of hassle/trouble during the season with him. he was moved to the msl panel but wasn't happy and wants back in aul panel. the ref's association are saying it's up to them do decide which ref goes where and not the leagues. there was a meeting last night between an fai representative to mediate and he put forward the ref's sign an agreement not to strike and they will work on resolution with the leagues. the ref's rejected this out right and are now on strike!!! that is all.

its not your your two pents worth so is it:D

timmypav
19/08/2009, 10:28 AM
Just saw this on the Referees site.
The Cork Branch of The Irish Soccer Referee's Society have withdrawn from all Local Leagues in Cork with effect from Thursday August 20th.
No local football (Competitive or Challenge Games) will be staffed by ISRS Cork Members until further notice.

The Committee, ISRS Cork.
Tuesday August 18th 2009.

littleman
19/08/2009, 11:04 AM
Just spoke to an Aul man in the last few mins,its official all games up to an encluding next tuesday are off.

bogwarrior
19/08/2009, 11:29 AM
Who are the AUL committee members?

I've always referred to the infamous AUL but to be honest i dont know who i'm talking about! Does anybody have a full list of names?

Horse24
19/08/2009, 12:15 PM
Its not the Refs V AUL, its Refs V MFA. I think Im with the AUL/MFA on this one, IF the bits and pieces i have heard over the years are true.

IF it is the guy we think it is, then I believe the non-involvement with the AUL suited him too. Is he the chairman this year?

As I write this, we just got the e-mail to say the games are off.

Here is what the MFA sent this morning:#

For the attention of all League Secretary's/Fixture Secretary's I wish to inform all Leagues that the Cork Branch of the I.S.R.S. has informed us that as and from Thursday 20th August 2009 they are on strike and withdrawing from staffing all games in the local leagues. They have taken this decision because of a dispute with the MFA over the switch of two referees between two leagues after the panels had been announced. The FAI invited representatives of both the MFA and the Cork Branch to a meeting on Tuesday 18th August 2009 to discuss the problem and asked both parties to confirm their agreement before the meeting to adhere to the dispute resoloution process which is part of an agreement between the FAI and the Irish Soccer Referees Society. The MFA confirmed their acceptence to adhere to the process and attended the meeting on Tuesday night, however the Cork Branch refused to sign up to the agreement and so no meeting took place. We are presently awaiting contact from the FAI as to where we proceed from here.

shetland
19/08/2009, 12:28 PM
lads its an absolute disgrace whats happened.it can .and has been dressed up in many ways, but this is the bottom line.when league panels were drawn up a few weeks back referee aiden o reagan was placed on .a u/ l list. the chairman of .a .u l due to a dissagreement a few years ago objected and replaced him.mr o regan and quiet rightly so was very angry and refused to move.how dare the .a u l and its chairman object to a ref who has league of ireland experience.top refs should be welcomed with open arms.

19/08/2009, 1:00 PM
lads its an absolute disgrace whats happened.it can .and has been dressed up in many ways, but this is the bottom line.when league panels were drawn up a few weeks back referee aiden o reagan was placed on .a u/ l list. the chairman of .a .u l due to a dissagreement a few years ago objected and replaced him.mr o regan and quiet rightly so was very angry and refused to move.how dare the .a u l and its chairman object to a ref who has league of ireland experience.top refs should be welcomed with open arms.

couldnt agree more

corkref
19/08/2009, 1:27 PM
Lads, just want to clarify a few things. the refs do not have any say in which league, aul,msl,business league, they are assigned to. The referee assessors compile the lists and the refs cannot change the league he's assigned to. A number of refs have resigned over the years because they couldn't change from whichever league they were given. Now we have a situation where the league (aul) wants to decide who can be on their league...totally unacceptable!

ballsac7
19/08/2009, 1:39 PM
couldnt agree more
Big piece on the back of tonights Evening Echo............................

olachico
19/08/2009, 1:41 PM
It was proposed as Part of the AULs 5 year plan to have people from each club sign up as Referees in the past - I for one did the course - however and i pointed this out at an AUL meeting that the "New" Ref is on his own if anything happens in a match as if you wish to remain with your club then for obvious reasons you cant enter the Referees society! Also even though at the time I did the course just as a stand in the leagues (or someone - not sure who?? ) were assigning me games to referree . Thank god my licence to referee has expired!

Also i think there is more to this than meets the eye - people are very quick to jump on the AUL committees back - personally i am waiting til i hear the facts as opposed to whispers - in an arguement people will also put their own spin on things!!

Going off the mail Horse received from the MFA its not clear who switched the refs so until i hear otherwise I'm not going to judge anyone

littleman
19/08/2009, 2:10 PM
Look lads if your going to belive any story you will hear with regards to what has happened with the Refs an the Aul,then SHETLAND hit the nail on its preverbal head 100% in terms of the truth.

The Chairman has a gripe with the Ref,its as plain an simple as that.

marky09
19/08/2009, 3:45 PM
Hi guys ,

Away from the Referee saga , looking to get hooked up with a Junior club in or around the Togher area . Haven't played league football in a couple of years so looking to get back into it before its too late :o

Any half decent clubs around that way ?

Cheers

olachico
19/08/2009, 4:06 PM
Well regardless of what is and isnt the truth i think the threat that sanctions will be brought against any club that plays a friendly is totally unreasonable

shetland
19/08/2009, 4:15 PM
thanks littleman. what i have said is 100 percent true i believe the ref in question apologised to mr o mahony and he refused to accept it.the whole of local football is being held to ransome over this. and i now call on the a.u.l.chairman to back down and accept mr o reagan to the a.u.l.or else resign as chairman. i also believe an .e g.m of the cork a.u .l should be called. its a total disgrace. and also its .a.u.l v referees. the m.f.a are representing a.u.l..

shetland
19/08/2009, 4:21 PM
olachio because the referees have gone on strike the powers that be dont want them refering challenge games and makeing money that why clubs will be punished.

shetland
19/08/2009, 4:34 PM
lads i will now take it a step further .look up munster senior league on this site and this is the full story.a couple of years when ted o mahony was fixture sec he assigned a game to referee aiden o regan .mr o reagan couldt do the game and gave match to alan kelly ,who gave it to another referee.this did not go down very well with ted o mahony.so here is the reason no football this weekend.think clubs should support reffs onthis one.

littleman
19/08/2009, 4:42 PM
2 things lads that might end this one fairly quick.

1. The refs have a meeting Monday night to discuss whats goin on.Though there are some good decent people reffing, not all the refs have their fellow refs plight in mind,they are some who will be none to happy at the loss of earnings they will have to face up to because of a row between 2 grown up men.If it goes to a vote the mass could end up voting with their pockets in mind instead of whats right or wrong.:mad:

2. What ever about our Aul ,the Buisness league and the Youths / underage not playing,the MSL proper is due to start next weekend and I could only imagine how much pressure they will apply if their league fixtures are in fear of being cancelled.:mad:

Heads will roll over this one,cant see it ending up any other way.
:mad:

19/08/2009, 4:44 PM
what if olachios crowd played littlemans crowd and i reffed say, what would happen, like if this goes on long teams are going to have to play friendlies like.

olachico
19/08/2009, 4:46 PM
what if olachios crowd played littlemans crowd and i reffed say, what would happen, like if this goes on long teams are going to have to play friendlies like.

That was going to be my next post Bella :D Do you want to finish my sentences as well??? :p

littleman
19/08/2009, 4:56 PM
I was only thinkin that one meself Bella.Not about playin Ollis crowd,been there done that,mnore along the lines of a friendly.I supposeplayin a game out side of Cork is an option.Secondly if you play your B side its only a training game.

Oh ya an this is the one the Aul should be really really really careful about.All of us are with clubs who depend on weekly script to pay the bills.As is, if our club have 2 games cancelled this weekend.,at 16 players per team an a tenner a head thats 320 euro we are down now,whos going to re emburse us.We as a club along with every other club will be directly out of pocket due to our so called commitee doing whats best for the few instead of the many.

19/08/2009, 5:01 PM
but the other leagues will be up and runnin so they might all be preoccupied. Hopefully it will be sorted soon anyway.

bluey
19/08/2009, 9:31 PM
nail on head allright shetland and littleman, we were told exact same by the ref of our game on sunday. e.g.m. has to be called. every secretary from every club in a.u.l. should be onto them looking for this to happen a.s.a.p

olachico
19/08/2009, 9:59 PM
Too get away from the referees saga for a bit - Ye charge 10 euro for script littleman?? How do ye justify that in this day and age???

Innishvilla
20/08/2009, 9:28 AM
Also to get away from the Referee's dispute.

It is with great sadness, but tinged with a touch of pride/hope that Innishvilla have announced that the name of their new grounds in Knocknacurra will be
Jake O'Donoghue Park
in honour of a young club member killed tragically in a road accident recently. Jake was a member of a very successful underage team that got promoted to Premier division football for this season. He was also a member of the Vally Rovers GAA club and played for Cork in football...

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

littleman
20/08/2009, 9:37 AM
Lovely touch Innish:o

bogwarrior
20/08/2009, 9:40 AM
Jesus lads what is it with us corkonians. Any sight of us not getting our own way and we go on strike straight away!! :p

Joke... i'm 100% behind the referees. Everyone seems in agreement that ted o'mahony is at fault for the dispute. This is an absolute disgrace and just goes to show what shower we have ruling the game in the county. EGM needed immediately with clubs to demand a full explanation for this. If none is given heads have to roll. I for one cannot wait to hear the AUL/MFA's spin on this.

Are the AUL allowed to impose sanctions if we try and organise a friendly?! I heard this on the radio last nite and it riled me to the last. Is there grounding for this type of threat..as in do they have the authority?? Pointless sticking two fingers up to them and getting a friendly together. It will only come back to haunt you when it comes to fixtures and favours etc.. The AUL is an archaic organisation, a club for the boys if you will. Needs a massive over haul. Elected officers each year/two years so clubs can have a say in how it is run? Whoever is at fault here, refs or AUL/MFA have to be held accountable.

Horse24
20/08/2009, 1:29 PM
Gents, we need to be careful here - what if the AUL walk, what do we do then? Refs are paid, AUL is not.
On the EGM, hands up who wants to join the AUL committee if we throw them out?

The refs panel in May has Mr O Regan in the AUL, so if the problem is the moving of refs is after this list,as per MFA statement, then it cant be about him not welcome in AUL can it?

Are we dissing Mr O Regan, when it may not be about him? I dont know.
As I said, he seemed happy in MSL, and MSL seemed happy with him.

The rumour I heard about the incident 5/6 years ago is about expenses or something.

Im trying to stay neutral cos we are goosed without either side.

As someone said, Im getting killed in work, by guys who comparing the Cork people to the French - we strike at every opportunity!!!

VIVA LA REVOLUTION!!

What ever is wrong, lets fix it.

Why are the kids suffering when their league starts next week? im sure neither side would diagree with letting people ref them games while we try and fix this?

timmypav
20/08/2009, 1:48 PM
Also to get away from the Referee's dispute.

It is with great sadness, but tinged with a touch of pride/hope that Innishvilla have announced that the name of their new grounds in Knocknacurra will be
Jake O'Donoghue Park
in honour of a young club member killed tragically in a road accident recently. Jake was a member of a very successful underage team that got promoted to Premier division football for this season. He was also a member of the Vally Rovers GAA club and played for Cork in football...

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam
That is a lovely gesture. It will be lovely for his Family also.

littleman
20/08/2009, 2:50 PM
Personally speaking I dont give to hoots whose wrong so long as they all cop themselves on an leave us get back to playin football,:mad:

Innishvilla
20/08/2009, 2:50 PM
On the EGM, hands up who wants to join the AUL committee if we throw them out?

I have to admit I was thinking the same thing. It is all well and good to give out about how the AUL is run, but there isn't exactly a queue of people looking to take over a voluntary job. Look at how guys run in club AGM's when they are looking for something as simple as officers for a club. I can speak from experience (and limited at that) that any position in a club committee/board is incredibly time consuming and has to be looked upon as a labour of love.

I would also like to clarify, I am not an AUL backer in this row, but neither am I backing the referees simply because I don't know the full background. (I know you lot are all honest as hell on here and I do "believe" everything I read, but sometimes stories can have two sides!!!)

I'd just like to second Littleman's comment above...

shetland
20/08/2009, 4:31 PM
you are indeed right the refs panel in may had aiden o reagan on it and it was changed because of the problem mr ted o mahony has with him.who changed it and why was it done.mr o mahony is in tenereffe and isnt back untill sunday.how any grown man can hold a grudge this long is amazeing.you would think he owned the league.

littleman
20/08/2009, 4:47 PM
Look lads all this talk of revolt is a bit knee jerk in hindsight.I might not like the way this has been handled but the more I read some of the other posts the more I think we should wait till all parties have put their points across an hope they sort it out one way or the other.

Also lads the idea of naming people for what ever reason dosent sit well with me if im bein honest.We are all aware of the various different reports goin round,Belive what you want,I know what I belive but we do not have to mention names.Just my opinion.

Theres far more read this site than post an I,m not lookin to make any enemies out of this.

We have no games till at least after Tuesday,thats for defo.

Theres a refs meeting Monday nite so what we all should do is leave it lie till then an hope the people with the real power sort all this out.

shetland
20/08/2009, 4:59 PM
i appreciate your point littleman .but do you or anyone else think an e.g.m a.u.l .meeting should be called.

Horse24
20/08/2009, 6:36 PM
Good point about us not mentioning names. We do need to be careful.

Does anyone know how to call an EGM?

Where are Paul O Mahony & Derek Delea gone?

Any news on AUL manager?

Horse24
20/08/2009, 7:45 PM
Does anyone know how to call an EGM?

To clarify, im not sure what an EGM will do for us, Im just pointing out the fact that I dont know how to do it - does anyone?

junglegym
20/08/2009, 8:44 PM
Where are Paul O Mahony & Derek Delea gone?

Heard Derek is gone to Avondale , Not too sure 'bout Paul...

littleman
20/08/2009, 10:51 PM
An EGM,no no no no.

It just goes to show how we can all egt caught up it our own little problems when we forget what has happend around us,,,,,,,,,,,,

Innis has told us that their new ground is to be named Jake O'Donoughue Park.That is pure class an a fantastic gesture on behalf of a class club in my mind.

A certain chairman an a certain ref should have a good look at what I'v just posted an cop on,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,tis only a game an we are all lucky to be able to still play it.

RIP Jake O Donoughue ,,,,,,The Gratts.

ballsac7
21/08/2009, 10:07 AM
I honeslty think the whole referee problem will be solved by Monday night - some refs make nice money from doing 2/3 games a weekend and with midweek fixtures currently being played the opportunity is there to make some handy cash tax free. In the current financial climate I doubt whether the referees can afford to leave the situation drag on too long although I must admit I am sympathetic to their situation as I do believe the Chairman should just accept the ref in question. He is one of the better referee's and personal issues should not spoil the enjoyment of soccer for so many teams who put in a lot of effort to get themselves ready for a new season.