View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60]

Parkboy
02/06/2010, 9:53 PM
Biggest weekend of the clubs history coming up.First up is our A team in the Mossie Linnane Final against Leeside at 12.Unfortunately for all our supporters they will have to wait a couple of more hours until our B Team play Killumney in the County Cup Final.Dont ask me why there is such a gap in times but thats the AUL for ya.
Been a great year for the club so far.Our U11,U12 and U15 teams have all brought back league titles so hopefully this time next week we will have 2 more trophies in the cabinet.
Both teams will go in as underdogs next Monday but who knows on the day.Leeside have seen there season come down to this for Silverware but we know what needs to be done.
Killumney have won out what looked like a very hard league to win but looking at the AOH final whoever wants it most will win.
Here's hoping for two cups in Mitchelstown Monday night

pacman
03/06/2010, 8:20 AM
Hey guys,I just want to congratulate Kinsale on winning the league,there a great club thats well organised and have lots of good people doing a lot of hard work behind the scenes.If they beat ourselves and Leeside in our own backyards,they deserve it.I was at the match last Friday night and to be honest, I thought it was quite scrappy but I thought Kinsale overall just about shaded it,they seem to have wanted it more.
I could'nt help but notice that booboys has been fairly quiet over the last few weeks,it's a pity for Leeside he had'nt kept quite all season instead of coming on here talking rubbish saying he's going to win this/that etc... and turning the whole of the AUL against himself and his club.It's very hard to win anything in any league in the AUL, so by insulting everyone else,all he ended up doing was giving opposeing clubs more 'ammo' to beat them.Well,I for one believe he got what he deserved,as the old saying goes,'if you talk the talk,you better walk the walk'...I'd like to hear what the Leeside lads here on the forum have to say about him??..I can guarantee this,if he was playing with us,he would have been thrown out of the club by now!!

In fairness to Boo I think it was fairly obvious he was just trying to wind people up and have a bit of a laugh. I dont think he took it that serious and i dont we should either.

Innishvilla
03/06/2010, 8:48 AM
In fairness to Boo I think it was fairly obvious he was just trying to wind people up and have a bit of a laugh. I dont think he took it that serious and i dont we should either.

Maybe so, but it was totally out with the tone of this discussion forum - hence not very welcome. If you look back posters did react enough that there were warnings of the topic being closed...

I wouldn't say that from it I became anti Leeside though, I'd still like the club to end the season with something so all the best to them in the Mossie final

Horse24
03/06/2010, 12:00 PM
On the Refs discussion, I understand what you are saying about respect must be given......but given respect is never as good as earned respect. The point Im making about the ref with the disrespectful attitude to the players is not the fact that he does it - its the fact that he did it to us in October and it was on this forum again in March. Why? No mechanism for passing constructive criticism to the society. I have seen him in games when he hasnt done it, and he is a good ref.

The overall point is that, at the moment, its an us V them scenario, and it shouldnt be. Maybe a club delegation need to go to the refs meeting and hear their side of it? I believe that if we work together we can make life easier for them.....and therefore cheaper for us.

The Fines system has to go in this current economic climate - might have been a good idea back then but Ireland 2007 is a planet we will never see again and not remotely near Ireland 2010. Taking money from club coffers when less and less coming into club coffers - I cant see the sense of it. Has to be a better way.

On our friend Boo, I agree most of his stuff was jovial, even if one or two bits went a tad too far!

I dont think it made me dislike Leeside, though the arrogance didnt endear his club to many with comments like "development squad". I hope they win the Mossie (Park, ye can have the County!!) and I think they deserve Team of the Year.

Innishvilla
04/06/2010, 9:42 AM
Best of luck to all 3/4 teams this weekend in the end of season matches... Would be nice to see park take a title from one of the two games but I'd guess they'd have to be underdogs for both matches.
Killumney have been very strong all season - Won AUL 1, got out of town in Munster Junior beating Grattan, Castleview and Macroom on route, Got to the last cork round of the FAI, beating us & Knockavilla on route... Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...

sharpshooter
04/06/2010, 10:48 AM
Best of luck to all 3/4 teams this weekend in the end of season matches... Would be nice to see park take a title from one of the two games but I'd guess they'd have to be underdogs for both matches.
Killumney have been very strong all season - Won AUL 1, got out of town in Munster Junior beating Grattan, Castleview and Macroom on route, Got to the last cork round of the FAI, beating us & Knockavilla on route... Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...

:confused:i dunno about that innish what about us(macroom)we won premier a semi final of the aoh,1/4 finals of the mossie linnane,last round of cork in the muster junior,our second team won their league team of the month for april,1/4 finals of the presadents cup pushed champions kinsale all the way in the 3rd round of the aoh cup losing 3-2,dont think any club has had both teams win their leagues this year correct me if im wrong i think we should be well up their....:D

Innishvilla
04/06/2010, 12:33 PM
:confused:i dunno about that innish what about us(macroom)we won premier a semi final of the aoh,1/4 finals of the mossie linnane,last round of cork in the muster junior,our second team won their league team of the month for april,1/4 finals of the presadents cup pushed champions kinsale all the way in the 3rd round of the aoh cup losing 3-2,dont think any club has had both teams win their leagues this year correct me if im wrong i think we should be well up their....:D

Yes holden you can be right up there - but each of Macroom's two teams would have to be separate entries - a wonderful season for each team and for the club as a whole, may apologies on not putting ye on my two nominations.

But I would still stand behind Killumney if they take the County Cup - combined with league titles and out of cork for Munster - I would call that the equivalent of 3 wins/titles (roughly).
Lets be honest about two weeks ago it looked like we'd just be handing it to Leeside...

(One other thing though on the 1/4 final of Presidents & 1/4 final of Mossie - am I right in thinking that a lot of times that is just winning one match)

padjoe
04/06/2010, 1:43 PM
Won their semi final 8:0 over Carrigtwohill United over two legs (and beat us again in 1/4 finals) - I'll be honest I'd put it between them and Springers for team of the season - winning the County Cup would give it to them for me...[/QUOTE]

To be fair, carrig were woefully poor in the second leg of the semi final. turned up with the bare 11 and after one early effort which hit the bar. Killumney ran the show against a team who played with no heart and no pride. carrig keeper had a horror show as well. failed to come for second goal and was beaten long range from his own kick out. even the sixth goal in the second leg came froma defensive mix up. the game was blown up early too. the carrig team from first leg was barely recognisable to second leg. killumney are the best attacking side i've seen this year though

timmypav
04/06/2010, 8:33 PM
Well lads, i must say that it has been a good year for Junior football in Cork. As well as being involved with Glen Celtic i have managed to get around to a lot of games in the other sections. And i thought the standard of football was impressive.

We ended up 7th in a very close league and could have easily been caught in the relegation battle only that we won our last game. I expected Bohs to win it but i think all of the Cup runs they had did not help them at all and they needed something from their last game to clinch it.

Was very surprised to see Ballyvolane going down as they took 4 points from us and i thought that they were a fairly good team. If they keep that squad they should come straight back up.

And finally lads i am thinking about trying my hand at becoming a Referee next season (mad or what?) so if i do make the grade and meet any of ye in a game i hope ye all will take it easy on me. Cheers:ball:

overthehill
07/06/2010, 6:42 PM
well done Timmypav and best of luck

overthehill
07/06/2010, 6:53 PM
New to this guys but have been in AUL football for over 30yrs and have been reading the posts all season. From my view the league tables do not lie at the end of the season. Dont go blaming bad luck or referees in the last game or two for being relegated or not going up. Game 1 or game 5 or game 10 are all just as important. To those who won leagues and gained promotion - congratulations you would all have worked damn hard. To those who are going down - refocus, keep the players that will give it a lash again, get rid of the moaners, the fancy dans, and those who go missing when the hard graft is required. Silly season now starts on the transfer front- roll on August and we get going again!

Innishvilla
07/06/2010, 8:46 PM
Well done Killumney on their impressive win - Hard luck to the two Park sides todaym but I'm glad Leeside didn't end season empty handed...

pacman
08/06/2010, 9:43 AM
Ya, happy that Leeside won also although tough for Park on both counts.

Anyone know if they had their full team out for it? ANyone at it?

padjoe
08/06/2010, 11:17 AM
leeside had very few regulars from what i could see. they had three of their C squad playing including a 16 year old goalkeeper, who plays on the wing on the forementioned team. he's a class keeper to be fair though. Ian Barrett started on the bench, while Colman Coady didnt even tog out. It was a mixture of squads. The second goal was a brilliant finish, thought Park could've done better for the first goal but I guess the greasy ball and surface made it hard for the keeper to get a solid hand to the ball.

pacman
08/06/2010, 1:11 PM
leeside had very few regulars from what i could see. they had three of their C squad playing including a 16 year old goalkeeper, who plays on the wing on the forementioned team. he's a class keeper to be fair though. Ian Barrett started on the bench, while Colman Coady didnt even tog out. It was a mixture of squads. The second goal was a brilliant finish, thought Park could've done better for the first goal but I guess the greasy ball and surface made it hard for the keeper to get a solid hand to the ball.

Cheers Padjoe, thats good going so in fairness.

overthehill
08/06/2010, 2:56 PM
Ya Innish,
Leeside deserved something out of the season but must still be gutted to lose the league and AOH. Saw Kilumney demolish Park last evening. Kilumney were very strong this season having picked up some good players from the fallout at Ballincollig, couple of ex senior league guys incl. Park did well to reach the final but Kilumney looked like a premier A side as they will be next yr. They will surprise a few up there too. Congratulations to them!

Shilts
08/06/2010, 3:09 PM
Congratulations Leeside and unlucky Park
To go all season in local competitions and lose only 1 game over 90 mins is some achievement for Leeside.
We look forward to doing battle again next season :ball:

overthehill
09/06/2010, 4:00 PM
Not a lot new from the AUL AGM last night. Former ref Denis Crowley has joined the commitee. Nobody wants to be fixtures secretary so could be fun next yr again. Tony Fitz nominated for vice-pres of the F.A.I so congratulations to him. Proposal from Premier teams to start the season with Mossy Linnane Cup and well deserved praise for Barry Peelo for his coverage.

olachico
09/06/2010, 4:49 PM
Disappointing turn out again at the AUL AGM last night - had to attend as our secretary was unable to! Why dont clubs attend the delegate meetings?? I never understand that!

fruice
09/06/2010, 8:51 PM
i suppose for some clubs its a long way to cork at 8 o clock on a winters night( still should be a good turn out for AGM) they trialed an idea a few years back of having separte ones away from the city i taught it worked well. i know alot of the clubs are from the city but they should look at having around 25% of them outside the city i think it would work well

Horse24
10/06/2010, 11:57 AM
i suppose for some clubs its a long way to cork at 8 o clock on a winters night( still should be a good turn out for AGM) they trialed an idea a few years back of having separte ones away from the city i taught it worked well. i know alot of the clubs are from the city but they should look at having around 25% of them outside the city i think it would work well

Fruice, I believe one club who were actually hosting one of the regional meetings didnt show for it!!

overthehill
10/06/2010, 3:42 PM
Joke alright Horse. Maybe the AUL should fine clubs that miss 2 or more meetings.

fruice
10/06/2010, 4:43 PM
you know i cant remember its going back probaly 5 years i just assumed they were there. but i suppose that says it all it would only cause to much hassle if you had to attend a certin percentage of meetings. i know a couple of years back the aul had ashot of match balls at the meeting and were going to do a draw for them there was so little clubs there that most of them ended up geting one

nononsense
10/06/2010, 10:35 PM
Why have delegate meetings at all? Do they serve a purpose? The Tipperary Southern League, which is ran very efficiently, never has a delegate meeting. Who wants to travel to a meeting in the depths of winter and listen to everybodys problems?

olachico
10/06/2010, 11:11 PM
Why have delegate meetings at all? Do they serve a purpose? The Tipperary Southern League, which is ran very efficiently, never has a delegate meeting. Who wants to travel to a meeting in the depths of winter and listen to everybodys problems?

Nononsense while i can see your point i feel delegate meetings give clubs a chance to air their views! And its not always problems people are talking about ;-)

Horse24
11/06/2010, 4:33 PM
Using that logic.............why have a parliament at all in any country?
Who wants to listen to everyones problems - why are you reading other peoples issues on the site then?

Eh, maybe to try and offer help with other peoples problems!!!

Nononsense may not be an appropriate name!

Oli came up with an idea - lets say 8 delegate meetings in a season. City teams must make six, county teams must make 4. Any less and fines.

Another idea is restrict the Team of the Month to teams who show up. Its an hour a month lads.

I missed the AGM due to work in Dublin, but, over the years many good things have come up in the meetings and many questions have been answered. We had a delegate there though.

nononsense
11/06/2010, 5:51 PM
Using that logic.............why have a parliament at all in any country?
Who wants to listen to everyones problems - why are you reading other peoples issues on the site then?

Eh, maybe to try and offer help with other peoples problems!!!

Nononsense may not be an appropriate name!

Oli came up with an idea - lets say 8 delegate meetings in a season. City teams must make six, county teams must make 4. Any less and fines.

Another idea is restrict the Team of the Month to teams who show up. Its an hour a month lads.

I missed the AGM due to work in Dublin, but, over the years many good things have come up in the meetings and many questions have been answered. We had a delegate there though.

Fair enough. Good talk shop. Keep them going.

Horse24
12/06/2010, 7:39 PM
Hey nononsense.

Felt I was a bit harsh on ya, on reflection.

Well taken - well responded

sharpshooter
14/06/2010, 5:49 PM
its really depressing without a game or training will the start of july every come fast so we can all get back into it again....site is fairly depressing now...

shetland
14/06/2010, 9:10 PM
any potential transfer news doing the rounds.heard two interesting ones over the weekend,alberto pulmanero going to blarney seniors and shane o neill to avondale senors. huge losses to wilton if its true.

sharpshooter
14/06/2010, 11:51 PM
big blow for wilton if it is true...

the ghost
20/06/2010, 5:01 PM
i could see the wilton keeper going to Blarney as they struggled with keepers in the last year or two and he aint bad to be fair to him but i dunno whould o Neill be up to senior league never mind a top team like Avondale!!

Horse24
23/06/2010, 8:04 AM
As you talk about keepers - its been some horrible World Cup for keepers. Seems like a goal causing error in every game.

Littleman, 2010/2011 thread starts end of June............call it Littlemans thread like the Leeside lads suggested!!!

Ballincollig to put a team in AUL first division having pulled out early from Prem A last year - good to see.

Grattan not to start a Youths team?

Rumours of 2 of next years Prem A and one of last years folding unfounded!

Any advice on non ODON insurance?

sharpshooter
23/06/2010, 4:45 PM
talking about keepers we have a new one coming in this year very good and tall bout 6ft3/4 played with him before so a good boost.and another striker..hopefully add another one or two and we be flying it...

the ghost
26/06/2010, 2:51 AM
holden id say it would be wise to keep the head down and dont be alerting teams on yer squad news!! schoolboy error boy!!!

olachico
26/06/2010, 10:58 AM
holden id say it would be wise to keep the head down and dont be alerting teams on yer squad news!! schoolboy error boy!!!

Would have to disagree with you there - its not as if he named them! Or even if he did its unlikely most of us on here would know a lot of people from Macroom or people that played in the West Cork League either if thats where you played with the keeper before Holden

serpico
26/06/2010, 1:52 PM
any new signings down there bluey?or yereselves littleman.

sharpshooter
26/06/2010, 1:59 PM
wouldnt bother me one bit ghost its not like if any team is gonna take them,spot on olachico he moved to senior league after that so he would be a great signing...what about yourselves how ye looking this year.prem a will be tougher this year id say...

casilles
28/06/2010, 3:40 AM
well lads its been too long!!! i see there is a lot of new members which is great to see, the more the merrier and plenty from other clubs. season is finished but i believe its only starting! any rumours doin the rounds? players managers?

overthehill
28/06/2010, 6:12 PM
heard in carrigtohill that the ballyvolane manager is coming down to take over, i cant believe it would be mellerik as he is Ballyvolane through. so is it the b team guy whos side was relegated last year? anyone hear?

scaffa7
28/06/2010, 6:58 PM
litteman pass your pitch every couple of days and them bloody horses are destroying the ground i helped 2 of yer guys a few weeks ago to put the bar up to stop the horses gettin in and 2 days later horses back on the field shame really cant ye do anything about it ??

olachico
29/06/2010, 6:18 PM
heard in carrigtohill that the ballyvolane manager is coming down to take over, i cant believe it would be mellerik as he is Ballyvolane through. so is it the b team guy whos side was relegated last year? anyone hear?

I heard off Leedspk that it is Radiostar off here - the Ballyvolane B manager who has taken over Carrigtwohill

shetland
29/06/2010, 10:29 PM
any other management changes doing the rounds,heard damien byrne new manager of leeds.top keeper as well.

Crosshaven AFC
30/06/2010, 1:16 PM
Crosshaven AFC - Return to Training Wed 7th July @ 7PM

http://beecher.biz/w/d/10.php?bannerid=16&campaignid=2&zoneid=17&source={obfs:}&loc=1&referer=http%3A%2F%2Ffoot.ie%2Fthreads%2F24591-Munster-Senior-League%3Fp%3D1371772%23post1371772&cb=25086df4bd

Crosshaven AFC MSL Senior 2nd are returning to training Wed 7th July at 7pm. All last years panel will be contacted in advance or if you would like a shot at senior football please pm this post or go to www.crosshavenafc.com (http://www.crosshavenafc.com/) Come down & see if you like the set-up, training etc. No pressure. Players are welcome to turn up in Camden on the night.
The team will be managed by Buzz O'Connell and coached by Cork Citys Greg O'Halloran and Uefa B coach Anthony Cronin.

olachico
01/07/2010, 8:04 PM
Crosshaven AFC - Return to Training Wed 7th July @ 7PM

http://beecher.biz/w/d/10.php?bannerid=16&campaignid=2&zoneid=17&source={obfs:}&loc=1&referer=http%3A%2F%2Ffoot.ie%2Fthreads%2F24591-Munster-Senior-League%3Fp%3D1371772%23post1371772&cb=25086df4bd

Crosshaven AFC MSL Senior 2nd are returning to training Wed 7th July at 7pm. All last years panel will be contacted in advance or if you would like a shot at senior football please pm this post or go to www.crosshavenafc.com (http://www.crosshavenafc.com/) Come down & see if you like the set-up, training etc. No pressure. Players are welcome to turn up in Camden on the night.
The team will be managed by Buzz O'Connell and coached by Cork Citys Greg O'Halloran and Uefa B coach Anthony Cronin.

Some neck in fairness coming onto the Cork AUL thread advertising ye're training sessions !!

ballsac7
01/07/2010, 10:35 PM
Some neck in fairness coming onto the Cork AUL thread advertising ye're training sessions !!

Ya balls of steel there but I suppose they are trying to target players from the AUL who might like to jump to MSL. Crosshaven have a decent set up and had a good team last year. I know a few lads from Douglas who played there last year and enjoyed it. Good website too.

sharpshooter
03/07/2010, 9:29 AM
macroom afc return to pre season training july 8th 7:30 in the town park new players more than welcome...

olachico
04/07/2010, 9:04 PM
Who is going to do the honours and set up a new thread for 2010/2011??