View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Horse24
06/08/2009, 9:03 PM
Glad to hear it Cas - hope the new manager works out. Danny Q wont see ye wrong anyway.

Leeside B gone to first division again, so add Greenmount to the 9 on Barrys latest list and we will have 10. Add Wilton, Village & Knockavilla to Prem and thats 10.

Won again tonight. 3 strikers scored, so thats never bad.
Good enough start but a few injuries in the two games.

Off to Grattan on Monday, I think they want me to cut the ribbon. Do I have to bring my own scissors, littleman?

littleman
06/08/2009, 9:22 PM
Horse,remember its Knocka,sharp things will get ya aressted.ha ha

Radiostar
07/08/2009, 8:41 AM
Hello! I'm new to the thread, I have played and managed in the Aul all my footballing career, every 2nd year we have the same issues with restructuring the league due to drop outs etc., Its about time the AUL limit the number of teams, this will have 2 reactions 1. Less teams will fold and 2. Less new teams will form, they are both linked and are both a major reason we see restructuring so often. The current league structure is poor and needs a complete overhaul, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd divisions are ok but premier A is a joke, 10 teams each season it loses 5 with another 5 coming in. Premier A is currently the hardest division to get promoted into, again this is wrong. I would suggest that each divisiion should have 12 teams with only (1) premier division, and (2) 1st,2nd and 3rd divisions and if needed due to current numbers and to allow new teams join a single 4th division. Its time we got serious about the league structure and its definetly time we put a structure in that will last. We all know there is only a certain pool of players available so its time to limit the clubs and give all the good existing clubs a chance to survive. I would hope someone who is involved in the AUL is on this thread and takes some of these views onboard.

littleman
07/08/2009, 11:22 PM
welcome on board Radio,,your points are all fair but in fairness to the Aul,its us an our clubs that keep makin thier job hard every year. Our clubs fold,our clubs break the rules,our clubs whinge cause we cant abide by the rules,simple as they are. As hard as it is to admit iv yet as a player,manager or commitee member come across a rule on or off the pitch that i didnt deem unfair,its say my inability as a player,managger or commitee member to keep within the rules has made me gripe at the Aul'if im bein totally honest. The Aul could have any format they want for the divisions but if we cant keep oir clubs afloat,whos really to blame,,,,,,

In reality what can we do,base the divisions on what,finances,facilities,registrations.

The AUL has good an bad points,but even at its worst its the only league in Cork that will allow a club to start,hopefully flourish an develope.

I know that their are a good few clubs encluding my own that have harboured thoughts of going Msl,purley born out of frustration i may add,but lets be realistic a
ll the facilities in the world dont garrentee you'l be accepted.

Park,Leeside an KInsale have superb set ups,yet they were blown out,,,,,dont give much hope to the rest of us dose it.

If we are goin to knock the Aul let us at least admit we {as clubs}have played a big part in creating the chaos that is the Aul,an buy the same token if we are to deem ourselves worthy of a place in the Msl,let it be because we as footballing teams are worthy of it,dont measure it on your facilities,more on your players an teams improving.Have the best facilities,but ,,,,,at least have the players an teams to take advantage of what facilities you provide.

Currently their are plenty of sides inthe Msl that were only recently Aul sides,their facilities have improved,unquestionably,there football standards bar the odd flutter if again we are bein honsest havin amounted to much.better the devil ya know,,,,;,,,,,,,,,,,,

littleman
07/08/2009, 11:31 PM
The Msl is full of ex AUl clubs that have improved their facilities,enough to gain entry to the MSL,,,,,,,,,,,

But its also full of ex AUL clubs that have done nothing at all to improve the standard of football played at those clubs.I name umpteen clubs that the only change in their clubs fortunes a difference in letters,,,,,,,,,,,,AUL to MSL. If my text gets worse afte this lads im sorry,im stuck in a flight terminal an im bored.

rtunes since changing codes is the difference in letters,,,,,,,,,AUL to Mmsml.

Radiostar
08/08/2009, 12:29 AM
Littleman, I dont disagree with what you say at all, and I was not having a go at the AUL, what I was saying is that changes need to be made to help the AUL structure their set up and by being a little more stringent on allowing new clubs join our league you will find that there will be a slowdown in the number of clubs that form play in the league for a 2 or 3 years and then fold again. When this happens you will find that players will suddenly start looking at existing clubs, which will inturn increase the chances of these clubs of surviving first and more importantly start to thrive. When this happens you will see clubs who now believe that they have a long term future start to improve their facilitys and pitches and therefore we will see a more competitve AUL.

Riordan
08/08/2009, 1:50 PM
The sections for this coming season have just been put up on the corkaul.com. No doubt a lot of talking points as to who got sent where.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier League: Blarney St Ath, Coachford, Glenthorn Celtic, Grattan Utd, Kinsale, Knockavilla Celtic, Leeside, Park Utd, Village Utd, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier A: Ballincollig, Ballyvolane, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Greenmount Rangers, Greenwood. Kanturk, Leeds, Macroom, Pearse Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1: Ballintotis, Carrigtwohill Utd, Douglas Hall, Dunbar Celtic, Grangevale, Killumney Utd, Kilreen Celtic, Leeside, Postal Celtic, Richmond, Shandon Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Watergrasshill Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1A: Ballyvolane, Bohemians, Buttevant, Dillon’s Cross Ath, Donoughmore Ath, Fairview, Glen Celtic, Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Park Utd, Passage, Rathcoole Rovers, Rylane Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2: Ard-na-Laoi, Blackpool Celtic, Casement Celtic, City Wanderers, Glenvale, Hibernians, Innishvilla, Kinsale, Lakewood Ath, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2A: Castle Celtic Coachford, Crescent Ath, Glanworth Utd, Hillington, Inter City Cel, Killowen, Millstreet Celtic, Springfield “A”, Waterloo.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2B: Carrigaline Utd, Cathedral Cel, Central Rovers, Churchvilla, Corkbeg, Knocknaheeny Celtic, Knockraha, Leeview Ath, Springfield “B”.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3: Afton Villa, Carrigtwohill Utd, De Courcy Albion, Dunbar Celtic, Greenwood, Hibernians, Leeside, Parkview Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Brooklodge.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A: Ballinhassig, CFC Banteer, Grattan Utd, Los Zarcos, Macroom, Rathcoole Rovers, Strand Utd, Watergrasshill Utd.

littleman
08/08/2009, 5:30 PM
Sorry if I took your points the wrong way,Radio.In fairness on reading it again along with your new post its all postive reading,leaning towards improvment within the league to strenghten the league itself.Good stuff,keep it coming.

08/08/2009, 7:09 PM
jesus horrible league for us this year what a joke of journeys. Our b team dont have it too bad though.

Radiostar
08/08/2009, 8:21 PM
The first divisions both look really tough and with a lot of teams should be a great league in those 2 sections

olachico
08/08/2009, 9:14 PM
Welcome on board radio - just to add my two cents worth - we are a junior league are we not? Lets not compare ourselves to the MSL as we arent going to be making a fair comparison!! Senior clubs are just that - SENIOR - their junior section is nothing to write home about! Just looking at the clubs who over the years have dropped out - many B and C teams for various clubs! What in Gods name can the AUL do about that?? Also as far as i can make out none of the teams who have dropped out are under 5 years old

junglegym
08/08/2009, 10:28 PM
jesus horrible league for us this year what a joke of journeys. Our b team dont have it too bad though.

After seeing the tables now Bella are ye still worth a flutter ? I was thinking of putting a couple of cents on ye this year.
After looking at the league format I still find it hard to believe that the A and B team of Springfield are playing in the same division. :confused: . It's just weird to see but those are the joys.
Then again it might set up a mouth watering Saxone Cup Final. :)

littleman
08/08/2009, 10:57 PM
well ladies the Aul has seemed to have/grown a right pair an in good time.A lot of straight forward calls an a good few weird ones.At least the Prem is sorted,but in sayin that honestly its a bit rocky ,those that have will have the upper hand but thats only my thoughts. Theres a lot of talk at the minute but those who expect to challange are with regards to actual squad strenght,well bein very quiet.Pre seaon is what it is an oppertuinity to try things out in the knowledge that it dosent cost you anything.We are all lookin,some are happy,some arnt.

Horse24
08/08/2009, 11:29 PM
As far as I can make out, Ballyphehane, Villa, Lee Rangers, Glenthorn B, Alberts, Richmond B, Kanturk B gone & Leeside C in.

Good points by Radio - there were rumours of another team joining so I dont know what happened, maybe the AUL were tougher on the entry requirements.

As Olly said, Bally & Villa were older than 5 yrs, but Olly, they were another example of a club doing the run of one set of players (maybe 10 years), well Bally were.....when were Villa formed?

I dont mind the Bs and Cs coming and going. If a club has 30 players to keep happy, why not give them a team? However, the entry requirements should be the same as any other club - facilities etc.

Lee Rangers & Alberts were probably the saddest of all. Lee Rangers were around for 40 something years, while Alberts name came up recently as Cork LOI teams were in the news. A long way to fall, a great pity.

Ollys other point re MSL juniors is a good one. Munster and FAI results show that those teams would flirt somewhere in first division or maybe Prem A for the top ones.

There may be an agreement in place between MSL & AUL, if there wasnt do you think they would have asked Crosshaven to move senior anyway?

On the 3 who didnt go to MSL, maybe Kinsale's great facilities improvement werent concrete enough - I havent had the pleasure of seeing Parks....but their location should have been an advantage ie MUNSTER senior league. I cant imagine why Leeside wouldnt be accepted - again it would spreading its wings for the MSL with no-one else in Little Island.

Southsider
09/08/2009, 9:10 AM
Ok thanks for that, I had misread your earlier post I thought your Senior squad from last year were going to play MSL Junior but they are playing AUL 2 this season.

Brings me back to the question I posed earlier regarding teams with an MSL Senior Side and an AUL Junior side why not MSL Junior? Again not just aimed at you southsider just wondering why it is?
Cant answer that for you Inish. By right our Juniors should be playing Munster Junior and there might even be a rule put in place that ones juniors should play MSL junior instead of AUL but there just aint;)

09/08/2009, 11:05 AM
After seeing the tables now Bella are ye still worth a flutter ? I was thinking of putting a couple of cents on ye this year.
After looking at the league format I still find it hard to believe that the A and B team of Springfield are playing in the same division. :confused: . It's just weird to see but those are the joys.
Then again it might set up a mouth watering Saxone Cup Final. :)

yeah were very confident, we have a savage squad this year in comparison to last year and last years squad would have still been confident!! B team will be very weak though.

olachico
09/08/2009, 11:43 AM
Horse i think Villa were years old as well !! Maybe you could give a more accurate timeline littleman but I think at least 25 years old if not more!

The Bs and Cs are actually what really causes the problems!! When the A team in a club starts to struggle its always the B team which has to go and often they are playing division 1 or 2 which then distorts the league tables for the next season!

And I have been to Park and was highly impressed by the facilities! better than some existing MSL clubs by far but maybe the MSL decided they were too far away???? -the only thing i can see is that the Msl should drop the M - are there any other teams in their league outside of Cork??? Perhaps in the past but not now - they cant call themselves the CSL for fear of being confused with the schoolboys league!! Really i cant see a reason for not letting Park in!!

pacman
09/08/2009, 6:19 PM
Horse i think Villa were years old as well !! Maybe you could give a more accurate timeline littleman but I think at least 25 years old if not more!

The Bs and Cs are actually what really causes the problems!! When the A team in a club starts to struggle its always the B team which has to go and often they are playing division 1 or 2 which then distorts the league tables for the next season!

And I have been to Park and was highly impressed by the facilities! better than some existing MSL clubs by far but maybe the MSL decided they were too far away???? -the only thing i can see is that the Msl should drop the M - are there any other teams in their league outside of Cork??? Perhaps in the past but not now - they cant call themselves the CSL for fear of being confused with the schoolboys league!! Really i cant see a reason for not letting Park in!!
Villa were 26 or 27 years old when they folded.

Have Park expressed an interest in going to MSL?
I'd imagine some teams would rather play premier AUL than go to the MSL second division

Horse24
09/08/2009, 8:23 PM
RANT NUMBER 1:
I have held a suspicion that some of the FAI council are distanced from reality. They have the time to dedicate to midweek meetings etc in Dublin, which gives the impression they do not have money worries. Our rep seems to have his head screwed on, but my opinion of the majority seems to have been given credence, when I learn the fines for yellow cards are now for U17s. Where are the kids gonna get the money?

Get the players themselves to pay:
Most of these kids are in Leaving Cert year and wont have part time jobs. Do part time jobs exist? Dunnes Tescos are laying off.

Get the parents to pay: Unemployment rising each day.

Get the clubs to pay: Screw the clubs in times when sponsors are harder to find. Thats really going to help football development.

Dont get booked:
1) Its a contact sport, a genuine attempted tackle could be half a second late.
2) Refs are inconsistent. No appeal if ref gets it wrong? Tell him he got it wrong and you get another yellow!!!

I think the FAI are trying to cut back the yellows in the same way as the government and the plastic bags, tax them and they will stop. Yellows are part of the game. We have a choice with the bags.

They are going to make the game for those who can afford it - that cant be right.Just driving the kids to the sports where the clubs can afford to pay more for the players. Whats next? A fiver for an Under 9 who takes a foul throw?

RANT No. 2:
I hope this rant is unnecessary and too early. If the refs ask for an increase, I wonder would clubs go "on strike" and not play. It would bring unwanted attention to looking for an increase in a time where most places are cutting wages. If we have a majority, the AUL would have to back us - as they remind us, they work for us. I also feel behaviour toward referees has improved over the last number of years - does anyone else agree with this observation?

What are your opinions?

DCross06
09/08/2009, 8:43 PM
Wilton - admin delay?
Greenmount - dunno
Blarney St - things very quiet on this site - is the pfizer move off?
Knockavilla - admin delay?
Village - admin delay?
Glenthorn - quiet on the Hill?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.

DC, That question crossed our minds too about the non relegation, but, I thought the answer would be as littleman said, no-one folded in Prem A, so no rules changed in that division.

You would think you would be happy for us oul friends(foes) at Blackstone!!!

Whats this I here about a splinter club from Dillons?

I dont want to contact Blarney Street directly. Anyone know anything? Are they playing friendlies?
It was suggested but turns out it was a lot of hot air, a few lads said they wanted to join but couldnt commit to training, theyre handy players who've been around a while and were gonna just play at the weekend and if they wanted, train with the first team. It was never gonna work. Were struggling to find enough players to keep one team going now. Most we had at a match or training so far is 15 and thats with 3 new fellas.

olachico
09/08/2009, 9:38 PM
Villa were 26 or 27 years old when they folded.

Have Park expressed an interest in going to MSL?
I'd imagine some teams would rather play premier AUL than go to the MSL second division

It was suggested earlier by littleman that Park , Kinsale and leeside were blown out when they tried to join the MSL - i was just pointing out that it couldnt have been because Parks facilities were substandard - i have no idea if they were interested or not to be honest!

pacman
09/08/2009, 9:55 PM
RANT NUMBER 1:
I have held a suspicion that some of the FAI council are distanced from reality. They have the time to dedicate to midweek meetings etc in Dublin, which gives the impression they do not have money worries. Our rep seems to have his head screwed on, but my opinion of the majority seems to have been given credence, when I learn the fines for yellow cards are now for U17s. Where are the kids gonna get the money?

Get the players themselves to pay:
Most of these kids are in Leaving Cert year and wont have part time jobs. Do part time jobs exist? Dunnes Tescos are laying off.

Get the parents to pay: Unemployment rising each day.

Get the clubs to pay: Screw the clubs in times when sponsors are harder to find. Thats really going to help football development.

Dont get booked:
1) Its a contact sport, a genuine attempted tackle could be half a second late.
2) Refs are inconsistent. No appeal if ref gets it wrong? Tell him he got it wrong and you get another yellow!!!

I think the FAI are trying to cut back the yellows in the same way as the government and the plastic bags, tax them and they will stop. Yellows are part of the game. We have a choice with the bags.

They are going to make the game for those who can afford it - that cant be right.Just driving the kids to the sports where the clubs can afford to pay more for the players. Whats next? A fiver for an Under 9 who takes a foul throw?

RANT No. 2:
I hope this rant is unnecessary and too early. If the refs ask for an increase, I wonder would clubs go "on strike" and not play. It would bring unwanted attention to looking for an increase in a time where most places are cutting wages. If we have a majority, the AUL would have to back us - as they remind us, they work for us. I also feel behaviour toward referees has improved over the last number of years - does anyone else agree with this observation?

What are your opinions?
The fines for the yellow cards is a joke alright and for the samller clubs its very hard to get the money off a player when he is booked, what you find is that the clubs end up paying most of them instead of the player.

I remember paying 50 euro for membership/insurance at the start of the year, then paying 10 euro a week for tickets becuase I didnt like asking people to buy them, and then paying fines for yellow cards on top of it. It actually turned fellas off even playing especially when they can go out and play the nightowls league hassle free during the week.

In fact I remember last season or the season before two particular players who were trying to join a new club could not get their transfer signed by their current clubs secretary as they owed money in fines. The players attitude was that they incurred those fines whilst doing their best for the club so the club should honour the fines. These two players didnt play for 6 weeks over this.

Surely suspensions should be enough of a detterant for players when incurring yellow cards instead of money.

As for the increase in referees fee's that could get nasty if the clubs went on strike. What if the refs go on stike if the fee's remain the same. Noone wins in this scenario.
Are the fee's going up this year? If so by how much? I personally think they should not be increased but the AUL certainly do not have the clubs in mind, especially the samller clubs.

ballsac7
10/08/2009, 8:28 AM
RANT NUMBER 1:

RANT No. 2:

What are your opinions?

All the MSL teams were informed that referee fees would be staying the same for the coming season so I'd imagine it will be the same for all AUL clubs.

Innishvilla
10/08/2009, 8:28 AM
The sections for this coming season have just been put up on the corkaul.com. No doubt a lot of talking points as to who got sent where.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier League: Blarney St Ath, Coachford, Glenthorn Celtic, Grattan Utd, Kinsale, Knockavilla Celtic, Leeside, Park Utd, Village Utd, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL Premier A: Ballincollig, Ballyvolane, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Greenmount Rangers, Greenwood. Kanturk, Leeds, Macroom, Pearse Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1: Ballintotis, Carrigtwohill Utd, Douglas Hall, Dunbar Celtic, Grangevale, Killumney Utd, Kilreen Celtic, Leeside, Postal Celtic, Richmond, Shandon Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Watergrasshill Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 1A: Ballyvolane, Bohemians, Buttevant, Dillon’s Cross Ath, Donoughmore Ath, Fairview, Glen Celtic, Leeds, Mayfield Utd, Park Utd, Passage, Rathcoole Rovers, Rylane Celtic.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2: Ard-na-Laoi, Blackpool Celtic, Casement Celtic, City Wanderers, Glenvale, Hibernians, Innishvilla, Kinsale, Lakewood Ath, Wilton Utd.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2A: Castle Celtic Coachford, Crescent Ath, Glanworth Utd, Hillington, Inter City Cel, Killowen, Millstreet Celtic, Springfield “A”, Waterloo.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 2B: Carrigaline Utd, Cathedral Cel, Central Rovers, Churchvilla, Corkbeg, Knocknaheeny Celtic, Knockraha, Leeview Ath, Springfield “B”.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3: Afton Villa, Carrigtwohill Utd, De Courcy Albion, Dunbar Celtic, Greenwood, Hibernians, Leeside, Parkview Celtic, St John Boscos, UCC, Brooklodge.

Murphy’s Stout AUL 3A: Ballinhassig, CFC Banteer, Grattan Utd, Los Zarcos, Macroom, Rathcoole Rovers, Strand Utd, Watergrasshill Utd.

Fair play they managed to get the leagues sorted... I wonder how the promotion to and relegation from Premier A will now work?

At first glance Div 1 looks a seriously tough division... Last years St Michael's Cup winners (Carrig) last years County Cup winners (as Innishvilla know all too well Watergrasshill), a Leeside team offered Prem A football, Richmond, Postal and Douglas Hall were all in the mix in the last few weeks of the season for promotion last year, add in promoted Grangevale and relegated Dunbar. It could be a cracking division... With it looking likely that 3 will go down... Now don't get me wrong, I'd say that 1A will be a tough one but it's just I know/have come up against more of the teams in 1.

For Innishvilla this year there are no surprises, Division 2 pretty much picks itself with the only anomaly being the trip to Midleton for the City Wanderers game, but it has been that way for a few years now. The rest is all nice local rivalry... Great to see Ard-na-Laoi back in AUL 2 after a hiatus in 2A and division 3, back in the day when I was running and leaping about the pitch Ard were one of the first teams I came up against...

Horse24
10/08/2009, 12:18 PM
City Wanderers in CIT now.

Refs thing was a "rant" as I said - if MSL have no increase then it has to be the same for AUL.

olachico
10/08/2009, 12:43 PM
Glad to see the refs fees are staying the same - i think we will also see an increase in the number of people taking up refereeing ( extra bit of money in the pocket) with hopefully some ex players taking it up - we can never have enough refs - they are a necessary evil :D

Innishvilla
10/08/2009, 3:36 PM
City Wanderers in CIT now.

Thanks for that info. AUL 2 is a really tightly grouped division area wise then with the furthest trips down to us in Innishvilla and to the seaside to meet Kinsale...
All the rest are grouped in the west side of the city and a few trips to Ballincollig and its surrounds for Lakewood and Ard-na-Laoi, and of course Glenvale in the regional Park...
Oops not forgetting a short hop to Shanbally for Hibs.

Yoda01
10/08/2009, 4:55 PM

how did blackstone get to the premier a? did something happen the team who won there league or something?

anyone have any early predictions for champions/relgation/promtion in the premier and a divisons?

would not fancy being in one of those first divisions lads, they both look like they will be really difficult to get out of, some good division 1 standard teams in them, especially if it's only 1 to go up from each!!!!!

10/08/2009, 5:18 PM
Fair play they managed to get the leagues sorted... I wonder how the promotion to and relegation from Premier A will now work?

At first glance Div 1 looks a seriously tough division... Last years St Michael's Cup winners (Carrig) last years County Cup winners (as Innishvilla know all too well Watergrasshill), a Leeside team offered Prem A football, Richmond, Postal and Douglas Hall were all in the mix in the last few weeks of the season for promotion last year, add in promoted Grangevale and relegated Dunbar. It could be a cracking division... With it looking likely that 3 will go down... Now don't get me wrong, I'd say that 1A will be a tough one but it's just I know/have come up against more of the teams in 1.

For Innishvilla this year there are no surprises, Division 2 pretty much picks itself with the only anomaly being the trip to Midleton for the City Wanderers game, but it has been that way for a few years now. The rest is all nice local rivalry... Great to see Ard-na-Laoi back in AUL 2 after a hiatus in 2A and division 3, back in the day when I was running and leaping about the pitch Ard were one of the first teams I came up against...

We would have been better off in 2 rather than 2a like, it was a joke all the travelling we done last year, same thing now this year its a balls. Evening games are the hardest, few lads had to take a hour off work and stuff for the likes of the half 6 game in castle last year

olachico
10/08/2009, 5:18 PM
Yoda this is how Blackstone got to the premier A

Originally Posted by Horse24 http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1203702#post1203702) Last night we received a call asking if we would like to play Premier A next season. We decided to accept the offer. The board, managers & players are all very excited at the prospect.

I dont think the AUL intend to have a 12 team division, so some of those offered before us must have turned it down.

My mother summed it up best on the phone: " I heard ye are in the Premiership"...........................Bring it on!!

Greenwood won the section of the first division that Blackstone were in - Leeside B came second but didnt want to play Premier A - sorry for the font etc - comp is giving trouble

Yoda01
11/08/2009, 7:57 AM
Yoda this is how Blackstone got to the premier A

Originally Posted by Horse24 http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1203702#post1203702) Last night we received a call asking if we would like to play Premier A next season. We decided to accept the offer. The board, managers & players are all very excited at the prospect.

I dont think the AUL intend to have a 12 team division, so some of those offered before us must have turned it down.

My mother summed it up best on the phone: " I heard ye are in the Premiership"...........................Bring it on!!

Greenwood won the section of the first division that Blackstone were in - Leeside B came second but didnt want to play Premier A - sorry for the font etc - comp is giving trouble

nice one! thats a nice touch out of the blue isn't it? would have been a very difficult league to get out of so me reckons ye were lucky to get that call, make sure ye make the most of it now!

Parkboy
11/08/2009, 11:40 AM
Just in realtion to us going to MSL,we were asked two seasons back did we want to go.After numerous meetings with the commitee and players it was decided to stay in AUL.
If we are not good enough to win any silverware in the AUL then it would be pointless going to MSL.
Our B team played two very good friendlies over the weekend.Played St Kevins of Twomileborris from Tipperary on Friday night.This was there first team and from what i am told in work they would be challenegers for the league most seasons.Great performance with 18 togging out.Finished 1-1.
6 new signings started with 3 coming on.
Played Clonmel Celtic on Sunday morning winning 1-0.21 players togging out.
A team play Ballylanders from Limerick tommorrow evening in their first friendly of the season.
Anyone know who is the Corkman who is after joining Cahir in Tipperary?

pacman
11/08/2009, 12:09 PM
Just in realtion to us going to MSL,we were asked two seasons back did we want to go.After numerous meetings with the commitee and players it was decided to stay in AUL.
If we are not good enough to win any silverware in the AUL then it would be pointless going to MSL.
Our B team played two very good friendlies over the weekend.Played St Kevins of Twomileborris from Tipperary on Friday night.This was there first team and from what i am told in work they would be challenegers for the league most seasons.Great performance with 18 togging out.Finished 1-1.
6 new signings started with 3 coming on.
Played Clonmel Celtic on Sunday morning winning 1-0.21 players togging out.
A team play Ballylanders from Limerick tommorrow evening in their first friendly of the season.
Anyone know who is the Corkman who is after joining Cahir in Tipperary?

Graham Keane ex of Leeside

pacman
12/08/2009, 10:26 AM
Any pre-season friendly results?

How did the Grattan v Blackstone game go?

Horse24
12/08/2009, 12:56 PM
Grattan 4 v 0 Blackstone.

Can you see now why it took me longer than normal to put it up!!!

I wasnt there, but we did ok. We had 11, with one of our keepers playing outfield for a bit and two injured guys having to put on boots. 8 players out injured at the moment, freaky!!

Not making excuses though. Grattan were good by all accounts.

The dressing rooms are very nice the lads said.

Oh yeah.........hometown ref.........easy knowing Littleman got him!!

kingcorner
12/08/2009, 2:48 PM
result from last night

Leeside 9 - 0 Corkbeg

big match against Rockmount on sunday coming up!

12/08/2009, 3:55 PM
Grattan 4 v 0 Blackstone.

Can you see now why it took me longer than normal to put it up!!!

I wasnt there, but we did ok. We had 11, with one of our keepers playing outfield for a bit and two injured guys having to put on boots. 8 players out injured at the moment, freaky!!

Not making excuses though. Grattan were good by all accounts.

The dressing rooms are very nice the lads said.

Oh yeah.........hometown ref.........easy knowing Littleman got him!!

Good to hear bout the dressing rooms, fair play. Good win by the gratts by all acounts.

result from last night

Leeside 9 - 0 Corkbeg

Cant see the point in frindlies like that, rockmount will be far more beneficial to ye.

Were playing in the barry wall tournament tonight vs midleton we think

DCross06
12/08/2009, 4:09 PM
[QUOTE=pacman;1210287]Any pre-season friendly results?

We drew 1-1 with Leeds and beat Glenthorn 3-1 last weekend with 6 "first teamers" missing, they were missing a few as well I'd say. Playing Grattan B tomorrow and Rockmount Juniors Sunday.

12/08/2009, 4:11 PM
Who you with d cross, good preseason so far!!!

pacman
12/08/2009, 4:11 PM
result from last night

Leeside 9 - 0 Corkbeg

Heard ye should have beat Mayfield Seniors last Saturday Kingcorner. I have a good buddy playing with Mayfield and he said ye deserved to beat them.

He was very impressed with ye......

pacman
12/08/2009, 4:13 PM
[QUOTE=pacman;1210287]Any pre-season friendly results?

We drew 1-1 with Leeds and beat Glenthorn 3-1 last weekend with 6 "first teamers" missing, they were missing a few as well I'd say. Playing Grattan B tomorrow and Rockmount Juniors Sunday.
How are things at Dillons Cross, I know a few of ye thought ye would be playing Premier again this year? Are fellas ****ed off or just accept it?

Parkboy
12/08/2009, 4:34 PM
Graham Keane ex of Leeside
Cheers Pacman.We were talking about this over a few pints the other night after a friendly with Twomileborris and the lads there are in the same league as Cahir.They were telling us he had taken a few lads with him.Dont think the Cahir lads are happy about this!

DCross06
12/08/2009, 8:36 PM
Who you with d cross, good preseason so far!!!
DIllons Cross, the performance in our friendlies have been good and the general fitness levels seem to be good for this stage of the season, but we have a small squad so a few injuries would really hamper us. We've lost our best player to Mayfield Seniors and have a squad of only bout 15 when everyones there and fit, could do with a few newcomers, but thats the problem with one team clubs, were relying on word of mouth to sign players. Hopefully we can get back up to premier A this year.

littleman
12/08/2009, 8:37 PM
Horse,,,,the ref,,,,come on man,,,,,,,all jokes aside I think both sets of managers learned things from the game.Blackstone are tough side to play against,physcial yet they have some very good footballers,Jason Forde is with all due respect wasted,hes pure class.We got ecactly the game we needed to get our heads right for the season an fair dues to Blackstone for it,never mind the score,it was a good tough game,fair but tough.

Park,your comments with regards to your club are refreshingly honest an most welcome,makes for a pleasent change to have someone be positive about their club without being obnoctious.

Dcross ,I thought our B side were to play Village Thursday.

Bella good point about miss matched victories.

Kingscorner,best of luck Sunday,give it a good go.

DCross06
12/08/2009, 8:43 PM
[QUOTE=DCross06;1210543]
How are things at Dillons Cross, I know a few of ye thought ye would be playing Premier again this year? Are fellas ****ed off or just accept it?
We were annoyed that it took until last week to find out what league were in but at the end of the day we finished in the bottom 3 so have only ourselves {and a lack of knowledge of the diciplinary proceedures} to blame. Thought we might be involved in a playoff with Leeside B and Blackstone, to stay up. It might do us good to have another season( only one hopefully) in Div 1 and maybe try a few things we couldnt last year

DCross06
12/08/2009, 8:46 PM
Horse,,,,the ref,,,,come on man,,,,,,,all jokes aside I think both sets of managers learned things from the game.Blackstone are tough side to play against,physcial yet they have some very good footballers,Jason Forde is with all due respect wasted,hes pure class.We got ecactly the game we needed to get our heads right for the season an fair dues to Blackstone for it,never mind the score,it was a good tough game,fair but tough.

Park,your comments with regards to your club are refreshingly honest an most welcome,makes for a pleasent change to have someone be positive about their club without being obnoctious.

Dcross ,I thought our B side were to play Village Thursday.

Bella good point about miss matched victories.

Kingscorner,best of luck Sunday,give it a good go.
We play in the same place so we might take a half each, I better find out for definate, thanks for the heads up

pacman
12/08/2009, 8:51 PM

Any new players play in this game littleman?

littleman
12/08/2009, 10:37 PM
Sorry Pac but what we get up to in pre season is our buisness,so no offence.We have a plan in place,an we will stick to it.It would be easy to play games against sides who you know your only going to whip,you get nothing from those games.Being very honest Kingscorner an co could learn a lot more from a tight game'against Rockmount Sunday than a 9 zip win against Corkbeg an Im right in what Im sayin.

The Gratts an Kinsale an even Wilton are having a nice quiet pre season,enough said. Well wait an see what happens.

Horse24
12/08/2009, 11:19 PM
When did A&E become a hundred euro??????? 3 visits already.

Won 2-0 tonight against Bru in final tournament game. Still carrying 6 or 7 knocks, but, some new guys showing well.

Got a new manager called Olachico........................where is he...............off in Spain..............dont remember seeing that in the contract!!!!

Jason Forde back playing tonight after his 5 stitches over the eye. Played well again.

Our strikers are scoring - i hope Im not cursing them by saying i hope to see them on Golden Boot list.

Is the AUL manager advert just policy or genuine?

littleman
13/08/2009, 6:57 AM
Horse I feel your pain with regards to the A an E charges.Shinks bust his head open at training a couple of weeks back an we got stung for the tun as well.We were there for 6 hours an not even a cup of tea,thats value for money ha.

The Aul job is exactly as it says on the paper lads,any interested parties can apply,the postion is their to be filled.