View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
littleman
30/04/2010, 9:36 AM
Another good win for Leeside.Doughlas Hall seem to be kicking on as well,great win for them.
Anyone play Castleview lately or Pearse.
sharpshooter
30/04/2010, 10:33 AM
Another good win for Leeside.Doughlas Hall seem to be kicking on as well,great win for them.
Anyone play Castleview lately or Pearse.
littleman we played castleview tuesday nite...
littleman
30/04/2010, 2:17 PM
I havnt seen or heard much of them this season.I know a few lads who played with them at the start of the season but left,I saw Pearse play Leeside up in the mayfield all weather an though they were decent.Just wanted to here anyones opinion on either side,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
sharpshooter
30/04/2010, 2:52 PM
I havnt seen or heard much of them this season.I know a few lads who played with them at the start of the season but left,I saw Pearse play Leeside up in the mayfield all weather an though they were decent.Just wanted to here anyones opinion on either side,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
castleview didnt ave the same 11 as the start of the year when we played them.good fella up front holds up the ball well caused a few problems to be fair.keep the ball wide get in behind them and keep it on the ground coz john sull their center back wins everything in the air...as for pearse lost to them earlyier in the season which we should ave won good side with plenty of pace.not played them again since due to soon tho...
MainManRam
30/04/2010, 8:24 PM
Nice to see the thread get back to some sort of mentality- a few lads getting involved in things I thought they would stay away from. This is one of the best footie threads im involved in so lets keep it that way lads. As one of the lads said got chit chat between clubs from all divisions and a mutual respect for all involved.
Southsider
30/04/2010, 10:14 PM
I saw Pearse play Leeside up in the mayfield all weather an though they were decent.Just wanted to here anyones opinion on either side,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Pearse are a handy side. Better going forward then defending. Gavin Pender in Centre Mid is a good player. The O shea brothers Gary and Ritchie are good players. Ritchie was an Everton Senior for years,Gary played a year or 2 with the Ballyphehane Celtic side of a few years back hes stil only 21. Back line isnt great tho.
thebooboys
30/04/2010, 11:13 PM
thank you for everyone who gave postive texts over the last fw weeks. thanks to all.
bluey
30/04/2010, 11:38 PM
thanks littleman and bog, another good win all right last night. couldn make it again last night but heard from few that they preformed v well and could of had a few more but only for 3-4 magnificant saves from alberto!!( heard city are intrested to sign him when the window opens, anybody else hear that?? )
the owl
01/05/2010, 1:07 AM
Now thats off my chest, lets all say a prayer for my beloved Wednesday who play Palace at the weekend in the most important fixture of the last 10 years !!
super_mario
01/05/2010, 7:56 PM
Bohemians 0-2 Rathcool
Bad result today for us, was a game we absolutely dominated for the best part of 80mins. First half we created chance after chance but just failed to score. After 25mins ball played through there keeper came rushing out misjudged the bounce of the ball and seeing our striker would have the easiest of tap ins he cleared the ball with his hand, should have walked but the ref only gave him a yellow (awful decision)...
Second half was more one sided than the first and time after time we bombarded there goal we had 3 goals disallowed 1 was fair enough but 2 shud have stood, but again failed to capitalise on our posession as we couldn score. Then last 10mins they got a goal from a ball we failed to clear and 5mins later they were awarded a very soft penalty, our keeper made a save and our player rushing back it rebounded off his hand and that was that unfortunately..
Dissapointed is the word but being honest i tho it was one of the best performances from our team all season, totally dominated. But as they say its goals that win games and not posession...
Still in our hands tho so we happy about that
Just one of those very frustrating games where the ball would not go in for us
littleman
01/05/2010, 9:06 PM
Mario coming from some one whos new to this management thing,have a word with the lads an just get um to keep takin it one game at a time,keep focused an ye will win through.The Norries will win one league at least.
littleman
02/05/2010, 8:40 PM
Owl,,,,,,,,,,,chin up.The Wednesday will be back.I have been where you are goin an look at me now,a QPR fan,,,,,richest club in the world,,,,,,,,,,,,it could happen to you too......
Glenvale cost me a small fortune over the weekend,,,,so much for dead certs.
Couldnt make the Leeside game so I sold my season ticket,,,,,,,,,,,the Killer B's had their last league game an its important clubmen support the club,,,,,,,it didnt matter as we lost 3 zip but at least I was there.
Dont know about anyone else but im really lookin forward to the Oscar game Sunday.
the owl
02/05/2010, 11:17 PM
Cheers weeman, Gutted..........
Horse24
03/05/2010, 2:55 PM
Dont know about anyone else but im really lookin forward to the Oscar game Sunday.
Dont think our guys have been training with the Oscar squad since last game. Cant imagine some of them wont make the squad or maybe Im wrong. Are players from other teams training with AUL squad in the last week or two?
littleman
03/05/2010, 3:36 PM
From what Iv heard they are training Wed nite.I dont think theres been anything happening over the last few weeks though.
MainManRam
03/05/2010, 8:17 PM
2A will be close to be decided on Sunday when Waterloo travel to Cobh for what will be a massive game and the photographed star from the away game won't be there because his best buddies stag...........aggggghhhhhhhh. :mad: Fixtures have fallen horribly for me unfortunately. No mid-week game last week meant it was a near certainty that one of the big games would fall on this weekends of all weekends. It is going to be a massive game and I am really peed off about not been there but hopefully the lads will get the result needed to mean that we will have to go on and beat a good Milstreet team in the last game of the season.
First of all with the upmost respect we have to beat Inner City on Thurs night down in Springers which I will be around for and hopefully we can get the win to set us up for 2 massive games
We beat Coachford 6-0 yesterday with 4 goals coming from Shane Brennan who is on top class form- really missed him for those cup games period when we got knocked out of everything. I know people will say its only 2A but if anyone has seen Shane in this form they will agree he will get goals at any level.
Innishvilla
04/05/2010, 8:55 AM
Glenvale cost me a small fortune over the weekend,,,,so much for dead certs.
Sport can be a cruel thing...
Glenvale - after an unbelievable season are one game and one loss away from ending up with nothing. Next Sunday they have the winner takes all final league game with Innishvilla. From an AUL 2 point of view I was cheering for Glenvale at weekend as I always like to see the divisional cups being won by our own section, but now the cheers will be for the black and orange of Innishvilla.
sláinte101
04/05/2010, 9:23 AM
hey mainman....Whats the date for the final game against millstreet?and whats the starting team recently? Will a draw and a win be enough to win the league on goal difference? Although I know six points will be sought after.
Bella thats some going with a chance finishing third if corkbeg game is a draw. How did that come about from the position ye were in not long back?
Innishvilla
04/05/2010, 9:38 AM
hey mainman....Whats the date for the final game against millstreet?and whats the starting team recently? Will a draw and a win be enough to win the league on goal difference? Although I know six points will be sought after.
Bella thats some going with a chance finishing third if corkbeg game is a draw. How did that come about from the position ye were in not long back?
In the AUL no league titles/promotion decided on goal difference - always goes to a play off if two teams are level on points
MainManRam
04/05/2010, 12:33 PM
Murphy's Irish Stout League 2A
PLD W D L GF GA Pts
Waterloo 16 14 0 2 45 20 42
Springfield A 15 13 1 1 52 16 40
Millstreet Cel 15 12 2 1 49 18 38
Thats the story at the top with us playing Inner City Thurs, Waterloo on Sunday. Waterloo then play Milstreet next Wed. And I would think our game with Milstreet will be the following weekend. If we beat Inner on Thurs we will be top with 43. With the 3 of playing each other I am not even going to go into the maths but at least a draw against waterloo at the weekend is a must. If they were then to beat Milstreet in their place we would have 44 and they would finish with 46. Milstreet, assuming they win their other game, will have 41 and will then have to beat us in our place to force a playoff. But that is only 1 scenario. Milstreet might win all their games and win the league at our place :(
Innishvilla
04/05/2010, 1:07 PM
Murphy's Irish Stout League 2A
PLD W D L GF GA Pts
Waterloo 16 14 0 2 45 20 42
Springfield A 15 13 1 1 52 16 40
Millstreet Cel 15 12 2 1 49 18 38
Thats the story at the top with us playing Inner City Thurs, Waterloo on Sunday. Waterloo then play Milstreet next Wed. And I would think our game with Milstreet will be the following weekend. If we beat Inner on Thurs we will be top with 43. With the 3 of playing each other I am not even going to go into the maths but at least a draw against waterloo at the weekend is a must. If they were then to beat Milstreet in their place we would have 44 and they would finish with 46. Milstreet, assuming they win their other game, will have 41 and will then have to beat us in our place to force a playoff. But that is only 1 scenario. Milstreet might win all their games and win the league at our place :(
That looks like a cracking end to the season fair play to all three teams involved, all have a pretty impressive record, three teams with a combined total of four league losses from 46 games... I suppose all the teams are hoping for a draw when the other two meet each other....
Onefootednopace
04/05/2010, 4:43 PM
2A will be close to be decided on Sunday when Waterloo travel to Cobh for what will be a massive game and the photographed star from the away game won't be there because his best buddies stag...........aggggghhhhhhhh. :mad: Fixtures have fallen horribly for me unfortunately. No mid-week game last week meant it was a near certainty that one of the big games would fall on this weekends of all weekends. It is going to be a massive game and I am really peed off about not been there but hopefully the lads will get the result needed to mean that we will have to go on and beat a good Milstreet team in the last game of the season.
First of all with the upmost respect we have to beat Inner City on Thurs night down in Springers which I will be around for and hopefully we can get the win to set us up for 2 massive games
We beat Coachford 6-0 yesterday with 4 goals coming from Shane Brennan who is on top class form- really missed him for those cup games period when we got knocked out of everything. I know people will say its only 2A but if anyone has seen Shane in this form they will agree he will get goals at any level.
Hard luck Main Man, what a game to miss. It's a cracking end to the season in 2A, great to see it going right down to the wire. It's a hard one to call but I've a feeling Springers will just do enough to clinch the title.
scaffa7
04/05/2010, 7:59 PM
Bohs 2-1 Dillons Cross .......Very Very tough game tonight!! Led 1 nil at the break with a superb goal from our striker had a couple of other good chances but could only go in a goal up.
2nd half gave away a soft goal after about 10 mins but infairness he took it well and gave our keeper no chance.Our keeper was tested again a few mins later but pulled off a great save to keep us in it.
After that we pilled on the pressure and scored a header off a great free kick to give us the lead in the last 10 mins.
Dillons came at us in the remaining few mins but we soaked it up and came away with the win which i think we just about deserved.So its back to the top of the league by 3 points!!.......Best of luck to Dillons in the final of the city challenge on Friday night aswell
scaffa7
04/05/2010, 8:06 PM
TUESDAYS RESULTS
Premier League: Village Utd 0 Leeside 3.
Premier A: Greenwood 2 Ballyvolane 2.
League 1: Leeside 3 Carrigtwohill Utd 0; St John Boscos 1 Douglas Hall 1 (game abandoned).
League 1A: Bohemians 2 Dillon’s Cross Ath 1; Park Utd 1 Fairview 1.
League 2: Wilton Utd 4 Lakewood Ath 2.
Well done tonight scaffa looks like ye will take the league in what has been a hard but strange season in the way of results,any idea where I can get an updated league??
scaffa7
04/05/2010, 8:32 PM
Tables in this link Marty dose nt includ tonights results!!
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=tZF712olaxB3AQLLxG2fUhg&output=html
thebooboys
04/05/2010, 9:19 PM
Anyone know why boscoes versus douglas hall was abandoned at 1-1????
the owl
04/05/2010, 9:29 PM
Greenwood 2 Ballyvolane 2
Could have gone either way really but credit to our lads for coming back after being behind twice. Greenwood to be fair played some lovely football on a difficult pitch so we cant really complain. Good game though with chances at both ends, but i think over all we had/missed the better of them. Was looking for three points, got one, but i dont think its over just yet............
Ref i felt made a shocker of a decision towards the end against us but to be honest i wasnt that suprised considering some of his perfomances this season that i have seen.
pacman
04/05/2010, 9:35 PM
Lads,
On Billy's website it says all Leeside need is 4 points from their last three games to win the league.
Is it just me or is this incorrect? If they get 4 points from their next two games and Kinsale beat them in their final game, then Kinsale will win it by a point.
No?
pacman
04/05/2010, 9:35 PM
Anyone know why boscoes versus douglas hall was abandoned at 1-1????
Knowing Boscos it was probably an all in brawl........
timmypav
04/05/2010, 9:57 PM
Hey pac, my sums add up to the same bud. They need 6 points.
thebooboys
04/05/2010, 10:00 PM
4 points if the draw comes versus Kinsale.
pacman
04/05/2010, 10:00 PM
Hey pac, my sums add up to the same bud. They need 6 points.
Or 4 will do them if one of those comes against Kinsale
littleman
04/05/2010, 10:07 PM
Murphy's Irish Stout Premier League
Pld W D L GF GA Pts
Kinsale 17 13 2 2 40 15 41
Leeside 15 11 3 0 38 9 39
Grattan 17 12 1 4 31 13 37
This is the correct league table encluding tonights game for Leeside.Your actually right in what your saying Pacman.4 points isnt enough to win it outright.
Leeside will need to win 2 of their 3 remaining games to put them on 45 pts.Kinsale can only make a possible 44.So thats fairly straight forward.I have to give credit where its due an Leeside have really strung a fantastic run of wins together.Especially for me beating Park home an away an Wilton away one after the other.Massive 9 points.But again they seem to be doing the buisness at both ends of the pitch an thats league winning form.
The bottom of the table looks as interesting.Everyone from Blarney St down can still be caught in the race to avoid the drop.Any four from Glenthorn,Blarney St,Coachford an Knockavilla could loose out.Village are officially relegated as a result of tonites result.No Silverheights next season.
timmypav
04/05/2010, 10:22 PM
Innish, I will probably drive down to your game Sunday. Makings of a cracker............ Lads, I think Innish deserves a bit of credit for the way he has complemented nearly everybodys teams this season and not a lot about his own bunch. Been keeping an eye on them and they are after having some season. Lost first 2 games and 14 wins and a draw since, and i have a feeling will win on Sun to win the league.
beezerblackpool
04/05/2010, 11:40 PM
Good point timmypav,yeah in fairness glenvale looked like they were going to **** the league at one stage,bit cocky if you ask me.innish went about their business quietly and fair play to them.best of luck to both teams Sunday,not forgetting hibs who will force a playoff should this game end in a draw and they win their game.
littleman
04/05/2010, 11:45 PM
Timmy Innish is like the Gran dad of this thread.Everyone likes him cause he never looses the plot.Well done Innish.
Innishvilla
05/05/2010, 8:22 AM
Aahh shucks lads I'm blushing here.
In all fairness it should be a cracker on Sunday - always had good games with Glenvale - we managed to pip them three years ago to runners up spot, they recently lost a play-off with Kilreen for promotion so they've been there abouts consistently for a few years now, and as beezer pointed out I wouldn't be surprized to see a few Hibs guys there hoping for a draw. Great to see AUL 2 & AUL 2A going right down to the wire...
super_mario
05/05/2010, 10:11 AM
Scaffa got it about spot on with his assessment of our game last night. An absolute massive 3 points for us and in fairness i think they were deserved.
Im sure dillons will be waiting to get revenge when we lay them again tuesday night....
Will be a cracking game on sunday inish best of luck to ye the unbeaten run ye went on is deserving to win any league so if ye do win it then nobody cant say ye deserve it..
Best of luck to dillons cross on friday in the city challenge cup final against blackpool celtic..
Good luck to ye to beezer in the same cup lad....
MainManRam
05/05/2010, 12:23 PM
Scaffa got it about spot on with his assessment of our game last night. An absolute massive 3 points for us and in fairness i think they were deserved.
Im sure dillons will be waiting to get revenge when we lay them again tuesday night....
Will be a cracking game on sunday inish best of luck to ye the unbeaten run ye went on is deserving to win any league so if ye do win it then nobody cant say ye deserve it..
Best of luck to dillons cross on friday in the city challenge cup final against blackpool celtic..
Good luck to ye to beezer in the same cup lad....
:D Sounds like a strange past time :D
MainManRam
05/05/2010, 12:32 PM
That looks like a cracking end to the season fair play to all three teams involved, all have a pretty impressive record, three teams with a combined total of four league losses from 46 games... I suppose all the teams are hoping for a draw when the other two meet each other....
Hard luck Main Man, what a game to miss. It's a cracking end to the season in 2A, great to see it going right down to the wire. It's a hard one to call but I've a feeling Springers will just do enough to clinch the title.
Probably Innish but i'd be happy if we beat Inner & Waterloo and then Waterloo beat Milstreet- that way we will be celebrating and won't have to beat Milstreet in the last game.
Yeah fairly gutted One but i'm best man so I can't miss out. It really is nerve racking times all right but hopefully the experience of closing out the 3rd division league last year will stand to us this year and the boys can do a job on Sunday.
But as I said one game at a time and that starts with Inner City tomorrow night- who we will be giving full respect to and try to get that job done first. The waterloo game will mean nothing if we can't get a win tomorrow night.
Onefootednopace
05/05/2010, 12:45 PM
Probably Innish but i'd be happy if we beat Inner & Waterloo and then Waterloo beat Milstreet- that way we will be celebrating and won't have to beat Milstreet in the last game.
Yeah fairly gutted One but i'm best man so I can't miss out. It really is nerve racking times all right but hopefully the experience of closing out the 3rd division league last year will stand to us this year and the boys can do a job on Sunday.
But as I said one game at a time and that starts with Inner City tomorrow night- who we will be giving full respect to and try to get that job done first. The waterloo game will mean nothing if we can't get a win tomorrow night.
I might venture down to Cobh on Sunday morning for a look, should be a cracker.
junglegym
05/05/2010, 1:21 PM
Murphy's Irish Stout Premier League
.The bottom of the table looks as interesting.Everyone from Blarney St down can still be caught in the race to avoid the drop.Any four from Glenthorn,Blarney St,Coachford an Knockavilla could loose out.Village are officially relegated as a result of tonites result.No Silverheights next season.
Blarney Street are safe Littleman :
Remaining fixtures in the Basement battle.
Coachford vs Leeside
Coachford vs Wilton // Knockavilla vs Glenthorn
p w d L gf ga pts
Knockavilla 17 4 4 9 22 36 16
Glenthorn 17 4 3 10 13 40 15
---------------------------------------------
Coachford 16 4 2 10 17 28 14
Village 18 3 4 11 18 41 13 (R)
ANYONE OUT OF 3 TO GO DOWN ::
sharpshooter
05/05/2010, 2:42 PM
fantatic double for the macroom teams well deserved..
scaffa7
05/05/2010, 4:30 PM
Was talking to a Douglas lad today Boo and he said the ref abandanded the game after Boscos manager would nt leave the pitch after been sent off for abusing him.........Douglas will probably be awarded a 3-0 win and 3 points
littleman
05/05/2010, 5:00 PM
thanks junglegym,i wasnt aware of the fixtures to be played.One win should keep ye up.Best of luck
shetland
05/05/2010, 8:39 PM
owl ,is it true that there is a play off between ballyvolane,and kanturk in premier A ,for promotion. met a castleview man tonight who said ballyvolane got the three points from recent match. is this the case,.
Parkboy
05/05/2010, 9:59 PM
Park 3 - 2 Leeside (4-3 on agg)
Fantastic result for us last Saturday.Were 3 nil up inside the first 15 minutes but took our foot off the pedal after that.This encouraged Leeside to come at us and thats exactly what they did.We conceded a soft goal from a set play and then gave away a penalty.3-2 at the break and although both teams had chances,the defending from both teams was outstanding.We now play Kilumney in the final(any info on them lads?)..Just wanted to say well done to Leeside.A fantastic bunch of lads and the majority of them are under 22/23 so im sure its not the last we hear of them.
Our A team finished off their league season with a 2 - 1 win at Knockavilla last Sunday.5th place guaranteed.
the owl
06/05/2010, 1:22 PM
Spot on Shetland. We will play Kanturk in a play off to see who joins Macroom in the top tier. Apparently Castlview had an illegal player or 2 that played against us last week which was spotted so the points were awarded to us. Rightly so.