View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

boshea
31/07/2009, 5:05 PM
We've done it for the last two years and it's been very beneficial in my opinion. Training is varied and tough but you know you're doing the right stuff. If you have fellas who are qualified to do it inside the club then great, if not i'd try and get someone in who knows what they are doing to prepare your team properly. Perhaps give you a blue print for the season.

Well, you've pretty much summed up my thoughts on the matter......I'm involved with a club I played with last year doing pretty much that, but was thinking of maybe broadening the horizons a bit and pimping myself out to some other teams.......time to get my marketing hat on and start planning for next season!

Horse24
31/07/2009, 5:05 PM
Thanks Inish.

On the physical side of things, we brought in a specialist more than once, but he was a soccer guy too, so had the ball involved. It was a big success.

My own personal opinion is that the days of running 10 laps are gone. With max 4 hours a week training in most cases, i think most physical work should include the ball in some shape or form.

boshea
31/07/2009, 5:14 PM
My own personal opinion is that the days of running 10 laps are gone. With max 4 hours a week training in most cases, i think most physical work should include the ball in some shape or form.

I agree 100% about the days of running endless laps. Can't say I agree on the physical work being done with the ball though.....there's just no way you can get the same intensity as you would without the ball!

What proportion of time do you think should be allocated to physical training and football drills etc......would players be happy with a 50:50 mix, or would they be happy to have 1 night physical work and 1 night ball work?

bluey
31/07/2009, 5:59 PM
ya your prob right there horse, wont be 12 team league. would be extremley long season if was the case. leeside b team refused the opportunity of going up there. why?? not to sure to be honest.

DCross06
31/07/2009, 7:46 PM
think we did last year, but anyway has to be silverheights. Village back in the premier, lots of teams looking forward to that one.

I've never seen so many German Sheppards in one place.

Seeing as we have a Dillons Cross member on board now, thats nearly as bad....
Theyve started to round up them german sheppards on buggys and mini motor bikes now. Doin doughnuts on the pitches and stuff, I might be a bit biased but I think there are worse pitches, always hated playing in Clashduv Rd, Greenmounts pitch I think. Anyone have any news on the league tables yet?

thebooboys
31/07/2009, 9:14 PM
Hey, Littleman. Is it true that you tried out for Leeside when you were in your prime and could not make it.:D Thought you were a one man club.

31/07/2009, 9:36 PM
Cheers - cant imagine it being a 12 team league to be honest but we will have to wait and see!!

Thought you were glenthorn, jesus hard to keep up with you oloachio??

Last night we received a call asking if we would like to play Premier A next season. We decided to accept the offer. The board, managers & players are all very excited at the prospect.

I dont think the AUL intend to have a 12 team division, so some of those offered before us must have turned it down.

My mother summed it up best on the phone: " I heard ye are in the Premiership"...........................Bring it on!!

Who you with horse. They better put us into div 1, our squad this year after the split last year is all sorted, we'll win that div 1 if were in it like.

31/07/2009, 9:39 PM
Hey, Littleman. Is it true that you tried out for Leeside when you were in your prime and could not make it.:D Thought you were a one man club.

Seriously get over yourself lad, never once have i heard littleman say he a 1 man club. Your doing your club no good lad

olachico
31/07/2009, 9:57 PM
Blackstones manager from last year unfortunately decided to move on. He took us to new levels, gave us a taste of new heights. We wish him well.

Our new management team is:

Vincent Forde(ex Castleview)

Kieran Tagney (ex Hibs & Glenthorn)

We are delighted with our new team, two experienced guys who seem interested in the both club and team.

Littleman, no matter what position you have, there are many conversations that you can join in without effecting whatever position it is you have.

A bit of light reading for you bella !! Do pay attention in class please or i'll have to send you to the principals office!!! :p

olachico
31/07/2009, 10:03 PM
Thought you were glenthorn, jesus hard to keep up with you oloachio??

Who you with horse. They better put us into div 1, our squad this year after the split last year is all sorted, we'll win that div 1 if were in it like.

Horse is with Blackstone as well !! Come on Bella tune in!!! Haha - not sure if ye'll be asked to go up - maybe they just wont relegate people from the first divisions!

olachico
31/07/2009, 10:06 PM
Theyve started to round up them german sheppards on buggys and mini motor bikes now. Doin doughnuts on the pitches and stuff, I might be a bit biased but I think there are worse pitches, always hated playing in Clashduv Rd, Greenmounts pitch I think. Anyone have any news on the league tables yet?

Silverheights and Clashduv road were the two that came up on here Dcross

thebooboys
01/08/2009, 12:31 AM
Seriously get over yourself lad, never once have i heard littleman say he a 1 man club. Your doing your club no good lad
Here bella i never asked for your opinion on the mater. I was just enquiring on the matter.

olachico
01/08/2009, 6:27 AM
Here bella i never asked for your opinion on the mater. I was just enquiring on the matter.

Well people on here are giving you their opinion so can you let whatever gripe you have with littleman go because its getting boring!!!

01/08/2009, 9:34 AM
A bit of light reading for you bella !! Do pay attention in class please or i'll have to send you to the principals office!!! :p

Ah come on, he should have put olachio next to it tbf like, i hardly know your real name like.:D

Horse is with Blackstone as well !! Come on Bella tune in!!! Haha - not sure if ye'll be asked to go up - maybe they just wont relegate people from the first divisions!

Well if they keep the teams in the 1st div we'll be ok cause we had a team there last year.:ball:

Its a forum, expect my opinion!

el nino coro
01/08/2009, 9:48 AM

the big child went missing for a week thinking of something to say and this is all he could squander up:confused:

ballsac7
01/08/2009, 10:00 AM
the big child went missing for a week thinking of something to say and this is all he could squander up:confused:
Spot on - Booboo is a good choice of username cause at the moment he's posting like a baby who has spat the dummy.;)

olachico
01/08/2009, 10:29 AM
I heard a rumour that i was going to Blackstone!!!! Can you confirm or deny this Horse??????? LOL !

This one kind of answers both your questions so - had to go back as far as the first page for this one !!!!

thebooboys
01/08/2009, 12:38 PM

your right there bella that he never said he a one man club on this forum, but littleman is know outside forum and he is a 1 man club so get yourself bella doyle and head back to the cobbles on fair city

01/08/2009, 4:14 PM
Thought you were a one man club.

and he is a 1 man club

Ill say no more, your answering your own questions now and all

pass&move
01/08/2009, 4:18 PM
Ill say no more, your answering your own questions now and all

have to agree with ypu there Balla, that last post my booboo was so confusing

olachico
01/08/2009, 5:56 PM
Lads lets just stick to football matters - we wouldnt want the 12th man stepping in and closing the thread !! So if a certain person wants to behave inappropriately then let him just dont respond!!

littleman
01/08/2009, 6:09 PM
Look lads I have no intention of even explaining myself to Boo , im well aware all he is doin is having a swipe at me , Leeside are a decent honest club an knowone on this thread has ever said anything bad about them, but like with every club it has its bad apples. We have a great thread here an we shouldnt loose it cause of the likes of him.

littleman
01/08/2009, 7:32 PM
Well gents we were due to play Dungarvan today but the weather put pay to it so we just had a light training session instead. The lads were really lookin forward to a game but the weather isnt helpin. The joys. Hopefully we can geta rearranged game durin the week.

el nino coro
02/08/2009, 1:41 AM
booboys out 12th man any others want this moron out?
please reply lads
were all friends at the end of the day
sick of this **** goin on

Billynomates
02/08/2009, 7:13 AM
booboys out 12th man any others want this moron out?
please reply lads
were all friends at the end of the day
sick of this **** goin on

I second that

02/08/2009, 2:51 PM
I don't like closing threads,it's a last resort.

booboys- I suggest you stop being personal on the thread and keep your posts about football or stay away from the thread.

ballsac7
03/08/2009, 11:17 AM
Doesn't look like the Pool will be sending any big names - the Liverpool XI played Notts County the other night..........

Liverpool XI: Hansen, Darby (C), Irwin, Ayala (Threlfall 60), Mavinga, Palsson, Pacheco (Simon 60), Eccleston (Saric 60), Nemeth (Crowther 33), Weijl, Bruna (Kacaniklic 60)
Subs: Mendy, Bouzanis

No superstars in there but for Dunmanway all the hard work is done and fair play to them for securing such a lucrative game.............:ball:

Innishvilla
04/08/2009, 3:08 PM
Doesn't look like the Pool will be sending any big names - the Liverpool XI played Notts County the other night..........

Liverpool XI: Hansen, Darby (C), Irwin, Ayala (Threlfall 60), Mavinga, Palsson, Pacheco (Simon 60), Eccleston (Saric 60), Nemeth (Crowther 33), Weijl, Bruna (Kacaniklic 60)
Subs: Mendy, Bouzanis

No superstars in there but for Dunmanway all the hard work is done and fair play to them for securing such a lucrative game.............:ball:

Yeah I must say fair play to Dunmanway Town for getting the game they should earn some great money from it. The thing for them to do is be very careful how they spend said money. It will be interesting to see what they do or try to do with it...
I can speak from the Innishvilla experience that buying and developing your own grounds is a seriously expensive undertaking. We'll be paying off our debt for the foreseeable future.

pacman
04/08/2009, 4:02 PM
When is the Liverpool v Dunmanway game actually on?

littleman
04/08/2009, 6:23 PM
This was on Billys site...............

" The list below shows all Clubs that have sent in their Application Forms.
On the basis of this, the Management Committee will now proceed and construct the league into the various sections "

" Premier Sections:
Ballincollig, Ballyvolane A, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Coachford A, Grattan United A, Greenwood A, Kanturk, Kinsale A, Leeds A, Leeside A, Leeside B, Macroom A, Park United A, Pearse Celtic. "

Thats only 5 of the clubs that should be in the Prem this season,,,,,,,,,,,,,,wheres Wilton,Blarney St,Knockavilla,Village,Glenthorn.

Horse24
04/08/2009, 10:14 PM
By my calculations, add in Greenmount to the five on your list and the 15 teams on billys site gives you 21 teams for 20 spots.

Wilton - admin delay?
Greenmount - dunno
Blarney St - things very quiet on this site - is the pfizer move off?
Knockavilla - admin delay?
Village - admin delay?
Glenthorn - quiet on the Hill?

We played Leeview tonight and won 2-1 in our first game back. Did ok, clearly a bit rusty. Leeview were a good side, some nice players.

Any other pre-season results for no more than entertainment value? Probably not many given the lovely weather.

bogwarrior
04/08/2009, 10:55 PM
Beaten 2-0 by college corinthians tonight. Poor result but only pre season still. People away on holidays and stuff.

Surely most of the absent teams above is just an admin delay? The one worrying one is Blarney st tho.. any news on what's happening there?

littleman
05/08/2009, 12:05 AM
Bog were College Corinthians decent,we are due to play them next Saturday week.Did ye play in your place or was it in Garryduff.

kingcorner
05/08/2009, 7:14 AM
Our B team have been promoted to Premier A by the AUL. Not everyone is happy about the decision but they just have to get on with it i suppose. season drawing ever closer

Innishvilla
05/08/2009, 8:17 AM
This was on Billys site...............

On the basis of this, the Management Committee will now proceed and construct the league into the various sections "

" Premier Sections:
Ballincollig, Ballyvolane A, Blackstone Rovers, Castleview, Coachford A, Grattan United A, Greenwood A, Kanturk, Kinsale A, Leeds A, Leeside A, Leeside B, Macroom A, Park United A, Pearse Celtic. "

Thats only 5 of the clubs that should be in the Prem this season,,,,,,,,,,,,,,wheres Wilton,Blarney St,Knockavilla,Village,Glenthorn.

I know we've all had our words/issues with how the AUL does some things, but lets spare a thought for them. They are currently trying to get the leagues sorted and by my estimations the following clubs have not submitted their applications who were there last year:

Wilton
Glenthorn
Blarney St
Ballypheane - I know
Villa - both gone, but just making a point
Knockavilla
Village
Greenmount
Shandon
UCC
Lee Rangers
Bohemiens
Glenthorn B
Casement Celtic - gone now I think based on posts on this site, but down as affiliated
Albert Rovers
Mallow United
Central Rovers
Churchvilla
Passage
Wilton B
Afton Villa
Richmond B
UCC B
Parkview Celtic (even though they're asking for teams who'd like to share their pitch on billy's webpage)
Casement Celtic
Kanturk B

By my rough count that is 26 teams either not entering or haven't sent in their forms, how exactly are the AUL supposed to sort that mess out??? Also I may have missed or accidentally added one or two the wrong way, it's early in the morning.
I do see Leeside have a third team this year & Carrigtowhill have added a second team as well fair play to both...

bogwarrior
05/08/2009, 12:52 PM
Bog were College Corinthians decent,we are due to play them next Saturday week.Did ye play in your place or was it in Garryduff.

Not a bad team at all. They will like to play it out from the back. Some nice players and will try and play football. Quite young. I'd expect ye to beat them if you had a full strength squad to choose from.

pass&move
05/08/2009, 1:28 PM
Hey bogman, heard from a guy in Bandon that ye've taken half their seniors ,any truth?

Innishvilla
05/08/2009, 2:15 PM
Hey bogman, heard from a guy in Bandon that ye've taken half their seniors ,any truth?

Even if it is true (is it bogwarrior?) What does taking half a team that finished 2nd from bottom of the MSL Senior division 2 do for you??? Only just saw their finishing position now that's pretty shocking for a town of Bandon's size isn't it...

DCross06
05/08/2009, 3:36 PM
[QUOTE=littleman;1205554]This was on Billys site...............

" Premier Sections:

How did blackstone and Leeside B get promoted?

Innishvilla
05/08/2009, 3:48 PM
[QUOTE=littleman;1205554]This was on Billys site...............

" Premier Sections:

How did blackstone and Leeside B get promoted?

you must have missed it in the earlier discussions, both clubs were offered premier division football by AUL to help make numbers following loss of Villa and Ballypheane... Greenmount Rangers should also be there despite finishing runners-up in AUL 1.

DCross06
05/08/2009, 4:15 PM
[QUOTE=DCross06;1206171]

you must have missed it in the earlier discussions, both clubs were offered premier division football by AUL to help make numbers following loss of Villa and Ballypheane... Greenmount Rangers should also be there despite finishing runners-up in AUL 1.
was away for a few days, I was just wondering cause we finished in the relegation zone last year and there were rumours that we wouldnt be relegated because of the teams dropping out. How do they decide which teams to ask? Surely they should ave had a playoff or something in the interest of fairness.

littleman
05/08/2009, 6:27 PM
We were in the same position as yourselves a good few seasons back Dcross,we finished 2nd from bottom but 2 sides folded pre season the next season an we though we had a case to be left in the Prem,we even appealed it to the MFA,but we lost out.If I remember the way it was worded it went

"The Aul reserve the right to strenghten the various leagues as they see fit,which only applies to replacing teams who have folded.Teams that get relegated fair an square must abide by the usual rule."

All the teams who have been approached to come up will have either looked at it as a great oppertuinity or maybe not asin Kingscorner.Blackstone have taken advantage of the oppertuinity,King hope it works out for ye an great news about the 3rd side.

Southsider
05/08/2009, 7:12 PM
I know we've all had our words/issues with how the AUL does some things, but lets spare a thought for them. They are currently trying to get the leagues sorted and by my estimations the following clubs have not submitted their applications who were there last year:

Wilton
Glenthorn
Blarney St
Ballypheane - I know
Villa - both gone, but just making a point
Knockavilla
Village
Greenmount
Shandon
UCC
Lee Rangers
Bohemiens
Glenthorn B
Casement Celtic - gone now I think based on posts on this site, but down as affiliated
Albert Rovers
Mallow United
Central Rovers
Churchvilla
Passage
Wilton B
Afton Villa
Richmond B
UCC B
Parkview Celtic (even though they're asking for teams who'd like to share their pitch on billy's webpage)
Casement Celtic
Kanturk B

By my rough count that is 26 teams either not entering or haven't sent in their forms, how exactly are the AUL supposed to sort that mess out??? Also I may have missed or accidentally added one or two the wrong way, it's early in the morning.
I do see Leeside have a third team this year & Carrigtowhill have added a second team as well fair play to both...
The 2nd Casement team are gone but we will have a team in AUL 2 for the coming season

Horse24
05/08/2009, 9:59 PM
Wilton - admin delay?
Greenmount - dunno
Village - admin delay?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.

DC, That question crossed our minds too about the non relegation, but, I thought the answer would be as littleman said, no-one folded in Prem A, so no rules changed in that division.

You would think you would be happy for us oul friends(foes) at Blackstone!!!

Whats this I here about a splinter club from Dillons?

I dont want to contact Blarney Street directly. Anyone know anything? Are they playing friendlies?

littleman
05/08/2009, 10:20 PM
They were due to play Castleview but like the rest of us the weather put that one to bed.Hav'nt heard much else.Vincey an Danny are at the helm for the season an they have plenty of experience between them so the Street will be fine.Lets just take it for granted the delay is due to admin too.

Innishvilla
06/08/2009, 8:03 AM
Wilton - admin delay?
Greenmount - dunno
Village - admin delay?

Village & Glenthorn played so admin delays. Wilton in the tournmament with us, so admin. Only room for 2 from 3.

I think Innishvilla are due to play Knockavilla in a pre-season friendly so I guess admin delay. Greenmount will be in Prem A not Premier.

But by my maths (never the best) it looks like 11 teams in Prem A
1 Ballincollig
2 Ballyvolane
3 Blackstone R.
4 Castleview
5 Greenwood
6 Kanturk
7 Leeds
8 Leeside (B)
9 Macroom
10 Pearse Celtic
and waiting on 11 Greenmount...

Now I think about it I'd say there are a lot of 1st division clubs not sorry to see the back of Clashduv Park!!!

Parkboy
06/08/2009, 2:25 PM
A lot of activity in Mitchelstown at the moment.Had a cracking 7-a-side astroturf tournament over the weekend as part of the Music Festival.
Really came back to earth on Tuesday evening as we had our first physical training of the new season.
An hour and a half of soccer training with no football in sight.
Our A team have a few pre-season friendlies lined up over the next 2 weeks,while the B team have 3 friendles in the next 9 days.
2 lads from the B's have moved to the A's this year,while 8 new faces showed up for the B's on Tuesday night.
All training has been done in our new 2nd pitch while some unbelievable work has been done to our main and schoolboys pitches.Really probably one of the best grounds in the AUL at the moment..Havent seen Grattans yet though.

Innishvilla
06/08/2009, 3:03 PM
The 2nd Casement team are gone but we will have a team in AUL 2 for the coming season

Ok thanks for that, I had misread your earlier post I thought your Senior squad from last year were going to play MSL Junior but they are playing AUL 2 this season.

Brings me back to the question I posed earlier regarding teams with an MSL Senior Side and an AUL Junior side why not MSL Junior? Again not just aimed at you southsider just wondering why it is?

junglegym
06/08/2009, 3:42 PM
All training has been done in our new 2nd pitch while some unbelievable work has been done to our main and schoolboys pitches.Really probably one of the best grounds in the AUL at the moment..Havent seen Grattans yet though.

We're always on about poor pitches in our league so for a change I have to compliment ye Parkboy, Its a fantastic set up in Mitchelstown.
There now and Kinsale are top class, Mind you , We have continued to improve things in The Glebe this year so there will be no excuses for poor results this season. ;)

casilles
06/08/2009, 3:55 PM
Lads i see we are generating a bit of discussion on weather we Blarney st are playin this year, the answer is yes. Pfizers is confirmed too and playin a friendly tonight down there. On the manager front a few have been interested and we are taking our time to make sure we make the right appointment, names and so will not be dicussed on the forum which im sure ye all understand. danny q is takin training for the last 2 weeks and we are moving along nicely first game tonight so the lads are lookin forward to it. thank you all :cool: