View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10
the owl
21/03/2010, 7:47 PM
Ballyvolane 3 Pearse 1
Good win and 3 points in the bag. Fairly comfortable by all accounts. Missed it myself but i was told we were 3 up at half time and the ref had a good day as well. Colm Forde 1 and a brace from M Cronin.
Kanturk losing, another twist in this crazy league.
littleman
21/03/2010, 7:51 PM
Chin up Bog,too much experience down the seaside to give up the fight.
The Leeside /Blarney St game actually finished 5/1.
Lego one fnal thing.Our pitch,or field or meadow as some have called it is all we have.Its not what we would wish to have but we try to have it as best it can be for the teams who call it home or have to visit.Their isnt a team in the Aul,or the Msl that started on something special,you have to work for what you want an it takes time an a hell of a lot of hard work by commitee menbers an clubmen who for the most part get no thanks for it.So please do me the one favour of NOT passing a snide comment on what clubs have to use as a playin surface.I understand its not the best pitch in the league by a long stretch but a lot of people put in a lot of work on a weekly basis to ensure its as good as we can get it.
blue-and-red
21/03/2010, 7:54 PM
Howdy lads,just pitching in with my result.
Ballyvolane 3-1 Pearse.
league is unbelieveably tight after leeds beating Kanturk yesterday so we badly needed this win.
3 up at half time,comfy enough but id say Pearse will be gutted they didnt score more than 1.
Well done to Paul o Keeffe who slotted in at sweeper today as emergency and was dominant.
Couldnt possibly call this league.
shetland
21/03/2010, 8:15 PM
puts yee right back in the mix blue and red the table will make interesting reading wed night.
pacman
21/03/2010, 8:23 PM
Good wins for Grattan and Leeside, shock result for Kinsale.
I would be interested in how streetcene rates the 3 teams given they have played each of them in their last 3 games.
Streetscene from what you've seen, who do you fancy?
Littleman, what games have ye left this year?
Bog, what games have ye left?
scaffa7
21/03/2010, 8:26 PM
Chin up Bog,too much experience down the seaside to give up the fight.
The Leeside /Blarney St game actually finished 5/1.
Lego one fnal thing.Our pitch,or field or meadow as some have called it is all we have.Its not what we would wish to have but we try to have it as best it can be for the teams who call it home or have to visit.Their isnt a team in the Aul,or the Msl that started on something special,you have to work for what you want an it takes time an a hell of a lot of hard work by commitee menbers an clubmen who for the most part get no thanks for it.So please do me the one favour of NOT passing a snide comment on what clubs have to use as a playin surface.I understand its not the best pitch in the league by a long stretch but a lot of people put in a lot of work on a weekly basis to ensure its as good as we can get it.
Littleman i ve played on yer pitch and their is nothing at all wrong with the ground if your good enough to play ball you can play on anything......grass is even been fertilised by the odd horse an all !!
But infairness their is feck all wrong with that pitch ........
littleman
21/03/2010, 9:07 PM
The history books will just say who has won league or cup,on what or how,dosent really matter Lego because nobody ever remembers or cares
.Success is all that counts.In a field,meadow or the best surface availabe(Kinsales by a mile).Just get ur 3 points.
You seem to base success on how flat a pitch is.Lucky for us Gratts we leave our football do the talkin ,aint it.
littleman
21/03/2010, 9:21 PM
Thanks Scaffa,no pleasin everyone I suppose.
Pac we have to play Coachford in our place Saturday then we will be left with 3 games to play.2 at home against Kinsale an Leeside an 1 away against Park.Thats us done.
Onefootednopace
22/03/2010, 7:57 AM
A.U.L. 2A
Killowen 1 Castle Celtic 4.
Not a good day at the office for us, too many errors and we were punished as a result.
Legohead
22/03/2010, 8:09 AM
The history books will just say who has won league or cup,on what or how,dosent really matter Lego because nobody ever remembers or cares
.Success is all that counts.In a field,meadow or the best surface availabe(Kinsales by a mile).Just get ur 3 points.
You seem to base success on how flat a pitch is.Lucky for us Gratts we leave our football do the talkin ,aint it.
It's strange how you could pick the negatives from a positive report little man. I said I fancy ye for the league and I for one would take a league medal playing on a car park in Saipan. I was mearly posting my views on how I think the league will go.
I would be me more that qualified to comment on fields, playing on one of the worst in the county for a number of years.
donaldihno
22/03/2010, 12:45 PM
Premier A is fairly crazy alright!!
Lost 5-3 to leeds saturday and totally deserved to lose!!Second time playing against gary nolan and lads what a player!!
I think its between 4 teams now!!all out of our hands now!Three away games left now,every team goes through a blip in the season,were goin through ours now!!
johhny g
22/03/2010, 5:12 PM
good win for juniors alright should go a long way to keeping ye up,shame to hear ye are struggling for numbers especially with the amount of games the seniors have left.injuries could ruin promotion push.
olachico
22/03/2010, 7:23 PM
Lads has anyone got any info on Douglas Hall?? Playing them Friday night in the AOH quarter finals!!
littleman
22/03/2010, 7:32 PM
I posted the midweek fixtures lads,the madness is startin.Park are away to Leeside on a tuesday night with a 6:30 kick off.
scaffa7
22/03/2010, 9:51 PM
Lads has anyone got any info on Douglas Hall?? Playing them Friday night in the AOH quarter finals!!
Watched them play against Ballyvolane in the St Michaels cup where they were beaten but id put that down to an off day and the pitch conditions but i know they are a good side,there a young side a lot of there team consists of mostly youth team who came up this year but their a very fast good passing side and their centre forward is a fine player very strong and skillfull 2 handy centre mids and i think well it looked like they play sweeper system and the sweeper loves to push on (very fast).Playing on the astro i gather friday night so they ll be very tough up there i think they ve only lost one game up there too......
olachico
22/03/2010, 10:22 PM
Watched them play against Ballyvolane in the St Michaels cup where they were beaten but id put that down to an off day and the pitch conditions but i know they are a good side,there a young side a lot of there team consists of mostly youth team who came up this year but their a very fast good passing side and their centre forward is a fine player very strong and skillfull 2 handy centre mids and i think well it looked like they play sweeper system and the sweeper loves to push on (very fast).Playing on the astro i gather friday night so they ll be very tough up there i think they ve only lost one game up there too......
Cheers for that Scaffa!! Any other info anyone has will be greatfully received!!
scaffa7
22/03/2010, 10:57 PM
I posted the midweek fixtures lads,the madness is startin.Park are away to Leeside on a tuesday night with a 6:30 kick off.
Cheers littleman madness is right.... bloody Aul at it again playing a semi final this weekend match that tuesday and then again on thursday and will probably have one again sat or sun this is crazy ,4 games in a week is madness!!:mad:
Legohead
23/03/2010, 1:34 AM
The Street 1 Kinsale 3
Lego throw the crystal balls away an sack ur reporter.
I think you wronged my reporter little man the ****er is looking for a raise now.
littleman
23/03/2010, 4:36 AM
Whats his balls sayin for the weekend:crossed: oh all seein one.:D
pacman
23/03/2010, 10:21 AM
Cheers for that Scaffa!! Any other info anyone has will be greatfully received!!
Saw them play up in the astro. They are a fine side, very good ball players with an excellent sweeper.
They like to play a lot of ball at the back, I saw them once, cant remember who against but they lost. The other team just let them have the ball back there and didnt apply any pressure until they reached the half way line. This forced their centre backs to play long balls which more often than not were overhit or mis-hit. This seemed to work a treat, as Douglas Hall are defintely good enough to play around you if you give them space.
If you can make it physical too they didnt seem to like it.
pacman
23/03/2010, 10:24 AM
That will be one of 4 matches in a week for Leeside, dont pretend you dont like that Littleman.......
If a fella takes a small knock he could miss 3 games easily....
DCross06
23/03/2010, 2:25 PM
Cheers littleman madness is right.... bloody Aul at it again playing a semi final this weekend match that tuesday and then again on thursday and will probably have one again sat or sun this is crazy ,4 games in a week is madness!!:mad:
Same here, were playing Bohs in the Semi-Final Sunday, again Tuesday night in the league, the Glen Thursday and another game Sat/Sun. Were struggling with injuries as it is, at least there not doing what they did to us last year yet, they had us away to Kanturk with a 6.30 kick-off.
Onefootednopace
23/03/2010, 2:52 PM
Seniors lost 3-1 away to Millsteet.
Juniors got a massive 3 points home to Corkbeg winning 2-1. Sad to say both teams struggled to field 11. Our last 3 games we had bare 11 and the one before we only had 10. But need to keep struggling until we keep ourselves up and start building for next year.
Bella what's happened with your seniors? Is it Injuries? Emigration? We played Springfield at the start of the season and I must say they are the best footballing team I've seen in AUL 2A.
the ghost
23/03/2010, 3:09 PM
springfield seniors???? are they a senior club??
goal-achio
23/03/2010, 3:29 PM
Hi new to this,i must say i have found this premier a league very interesting this year.
I have seen a number of games as i live in the northside and find leeds a pleasure to watch,they play some great football considering i heard they should be in the 1st div.I thaught ballyvolane would be bankers at the start but it seems the wheel has fallin off their title chase:-(kanturk have done enough now for the title and i must agree with donaldino that gary nolan is a fantastic talent!!As for the drop i think Blackstone are too organised of a team to drop back down and it will be between the two or three down there now.
As for the premier i must say Leeside have been outstanding this year and deserve some silverware.
Onefootednopace
23/03/2010, 3:30 PM
springfield seniors???? are they a senior club??
No..seniors refers to Springfield (A) that are playing in AUL 2A, their second team, Springfield (B) play in AUL 2B.
Sorry for the confusion but just keeping it in line with Bellas original posting.
goal-achio
23/03/2010, 3:32 PM
Hi guys new to this,must agree with donaldinho gary nolan is a talent.Where did leeds get him from?
olachico
23/03/2010, 4:28 PM
Welcome on board goal-achio - this could get confusing ;-)
goal-achio
23/03/2010, 5:24 PM
yes i know how dare you copy my name haha!!
LeedsPk
23/03/2010, 7:10 PM
back from my weeks ban :)
1 win and won loss since my last post, beaten by blackstone, i taut we deserved more from the game but also taut they played well and hunted in packs thru-out, the lad with the cast got a great goal that morning
didnt make the kanturk game but i heard we played well and thanks for ur kind words don, i feel having the points in the bag in this league is a big plus for ye, 3 games in hand does not mean 9 points as everyone is dropping pts- alot of football to b played yet. you say its a 4 horse race Don- which 4?? its stil very tight and all in with a shout but macroom are the big danger
welcome goal-achio ( i like the name), gary played all his schoolboy football wit us, his whole family have been involved in the club for a good 20 yrs, mark his bro plays as well, he was with glenthorn and cobh yths before comin back. he is having a great season and i feel on his day he is as good as anyone who gets mentioned here, still only 21 as well.
bella just lookin ther u were sayin u reckin springfield are 5/6 goals better than millstreet- i cud b wrong but i heard they arent that bad of a side, barry lawlor who has been our best player for the last 5 yrs is gone ther and scoring goals for fun for them ( scored against ye at the weekend) and he says they have a tidy side. as i said i cud b wrong but 5/6 is a big gap to b bragging
Thats 2 of us leeds pk, just back from week ban myself!!!
Littleman is loving it pacman, of course he is! Club just recieved conformation that we are playing Pike on Sunday in the quarter final so thats a massive game on sunday in muster junior and then 2 midweek games. Crazy it is 2 be honest.
Just hope that none of the leeside players who are representing the CORK AUL pick up injuries in those games in such short time!!
MainManRam
23/03/2010, 7:33 PM
Bella what's happened with your seniors? Is it Injuries? Emigration? We played Springfield at the start of the season and I must say they are the best footballing team I've seen in AUL 2A.
As Bella said Onefoot we have lost a few players but we have also lost our way. Its been a tough couple of weeks where we have gone from being talked about in high regard after not losing a game in 15 to being knocked out of 4 cups in 4 weeks and then after a busy saturday night ;) an absolute shocker of a performance down in milstreet on Sunday morning. I don't expect this glut to continue for much longer (maybe the weekend- due to other commitments we may be stuck) and we have spoke about it and we are going to get ourselves back on track and hopefully out of this league.
We still have the players- we just need to get back in the groove
olachico
23/03/2010, 8:04 PM
Thats 2 of us leeds pk, just back from week ban myself!!!
Littleman is loving it pacman, of course he is! Club just recieved conformation that we are playing Pike on Sunday in the quarter final so thats a massive game on sunday in muster junior and then 2 midweek games. Crazy it is 2 be honest.
Just hope that none of the leeside players who are representing the CORK AUL pick up injuries in those games in such short time!!
Surely ye'd rather be in this situation Bluey rather than being out of the cups??
dont get me wrong olachico of course we love being in all these cups, but every year you go up to aul agm all you hear is them going on about how cork teams being well able to win munster and fai trophies, yes cork teams are but when you start getting fixtures 2 days after each other i dont see the aul helping out teams to achieve that. go over to the fai junior forum and you see the ldmc taking the wrap for the pike controversy, heard it was pike fault but they took wrap cause they see pike as their best chance of bringing the fai to limerick. maybe im wrong but i couldnt see aul doing that for any club!!!!!
littleman
23/03/2010, 8:41 PM
Makes ya wonder why ya even try so hard to win things an bring a bit of glory to the league dont it Bluey.Or for that matter why ya put players forward for the Oscar Traynor side.
olachico
23/03/2010, 11:13 PM
Perhaps the scheduling of the longer trip away matches could be looked at but a club can have no complaints about having lots of matches left in my opinion as it means they have been relatively succesful throughout the season!!
littleman
24/03/2010, 12:20 AM
The price of success Oli.
olachico
24/03/2010, 1:48 AM
Will the Mossie Linnane be plyed this year???
littleman
24/03/2010, 3:12 AM
Personally I hope it dose.I would even hazard a guess that it will be a straight knockout competition.Probably run mid week too because its only Park/Wilton an Leeside have a backlog of fixtures.The Prem A is fairly sorted with all the teams in double figures in terms of games played.But I will say this in the past when things were tight with time they have on occassion left it off altogether.
the owl
24/03/2010, 12:28 PM
With the Mossie Linnane, i think they are better leaving it off and just let us hold on to the trophy for another year. Makes perfect sense doesnt it !!
Onefootednopace
24/03/2010, 12:39 PM
As Bella said Onefoot we have lost a few players but we have also lost our way. Its been a tough couple of weeks where we have gone from being talked about in high regard after not losing a game in 15 to being knocked out of 4 cups in 4 weeks and then after a busy saturday night ;) an absolute shocker of a performance down in milstreet on Sunday morning. I don't expect this glut to continue for much longer (maybe the weekend- due to other commitments we may be stuck) and we have spoke about it and we are going to get ourselves back on track and hopefully out of this league.
We still have the players- we just need to get back in the groove
A lot of football to be played yet in A.U.L. 2A, the race for the title will be interesting. From a Killowen point of view we could do with another few points on the board to secure our place in the division. We have 4 games remaining, Millstreet at home and away trips to Springfield, Waterloo and Coachford. Not an easy finish to the season.
goal-achio
24/03/2010, 3:09 PM
Thank you for that leeds pk,what about the chap keith kelleher watched him last year he was nearly as good as nolan what happened him i heard he went to grattan but i havent seen him play the few occasions i saw them?what a waste if he jacked!!!
I was going to ask about the fella lawlor too but read he is gone to millstreet an absolute waste again if you ask me,he was good enough for senior!
Another player i have been impressed with is the tall guy for blackstone up front.Have ye played them yet?
olachico
24/03/2010, 4:25 PM
Thank you for that leeds pk,what about the chap keith kelleher watched him last year he was nearly as good as nolan what happened him i heard he went to grattan but i havent seen him play the few occasions i saw them?what a waste if he jacked!!!
I was going to ask about the fella lawlor too but read he is gone to millstreet an absolute waste again if you ask me,he was good enough for senior!
Another player i have been impressed with is the tall guy for blackstone up front.Have ye played them yet?
You mean Ivan Skillington - he has played for me at Hibs, Glenthorn and now Blackstone - this is his first season playing as a striker - only 21 years of age.
15 or 16 goals for the season between league and cup off the top of my head , i'll have to double check my records
Has Keith Kelleher packed in littleman???
littleman
24/03/2010, 6:31 PM
Oli I prefer to just say Im just very happy with the players currently playing than comment on someone thats not.
olachico
24/03/2010, 9:13 PM
Oli I prefer to just say Im just very happy with the players currently playing than comment on someone thats not.
No bother littleman- i was just curious!!
the ghost
25/03/2010, 1:18 AM
Littleman wouldnt blame you for taken a gamble on Keith kelleher hes a class player! slim chance hell give ya commitment but worth a shot! it sums up hes attitude if hes gonna leave a premier team whos pushing for the league. i see on the echo lately you converted junglegyms former team mate S.Goulding into a striker? what happened there?
Olachico ive seen this lad Skillington play with ye this year very good player big strong and plenty of skill a good target man!! are you his manager/agent aswell taken him where ever you go haha
olachico
25/03/2010, 9:32 AM
Littleman wouldnt blame you for taken a gamble on Keith kelleher hes a class player! slim chance hell give ya commitment but worth a shot! it sums up hes attitude if hes gonna leave a premier team whos pushing for the league. i see on the echo lately you converted junglegyms former team mate S.Goulding into a striker? what happened there?
Olachico ive seen this lad Skillington play with ye this year very good player big strong and plenty of skill a good target man!! are you his manager/agent aswell taken him where ever you go haha
I wasnt having a dig about Keith Kelleher - he played a couple of games for Glenthorn B last year so I know how could he can be! Also Stephen Goulding was with Glenthorn A last year playing as a centre half - a very skillful player if you ask me - so not one bit surprised by his adaptability
You've decribed him well there owl - he got a great free kick against ye in Ballyvolane park. As i said its his first year playing as a striker and he is doing well!! And yes owl you are right - my name is Olachico Kia Joorabchian
the owl
25/03/2010, 9:38 PM
Eh, ola, i dont think that was my post but thanks for reminding me about his free kick against us !!!!!
olachico
25/03/2010, 11:13 PM
the ghost /the owl - i get confused sometimes!!!
junglegym
26/03/2010, 8:06 PM
Huge weekend again in the Premier league. I've spent the last week pondering over the league tables and in my own opinion we need at least 5pts to be safe. A tall order with four games remaining but we're up for it.
Last weeks results would have made some punter extremely rich if they were to be predicted correctly. And it just goes to show every team in this league is capable of beating each other . so we'll have to keep scrapping for those valuable points.
Heard during the week that the Mossie Linnane is going to go ahead which is great news. Not sure of the format but all will be revealed soon.
Best of luck on Sunday to the Leeside boys. Cork vs Limerick , Ye wont be without support on the day so give 'em hell.