View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

MainManRam
28/02/2010, 3:40 PM
Passage 2 Springfield 1

All credit to passage today give us a good game- we were not at the races at all today- never even came out of the changing room to be honest. Passage went 1-0 up in the first half and we were chasing from there. They broke late on to make it 2-0. We scored with only a couple of minutes to play but just could not get an equalizer.
We had no complaints with the result Passage were better on the day and best of luck to them for the rest of the competition.
Not a great result for us heading into the big game next week but a timely wake call for us and we need to get our feet back on the ground and re-organize for next week.

LeedsPk
28/02/2010, 5:15 PM
Have to agree TheRock - Pearse were more hungry i felt! We didnt turn up and i felt perhaps some of our players used the pitch as an excuse for poor performances!! I know the keeper for Pearse from Hibs before! He made a big difference to Pearse - knowing you have a solid keeper behind you can make all the difference and give a team confidence!! Pearse were direct and up for the game - makes things interesting again in the Premier A!!

we were beaten 3-2 out there today, greenwood scored in injury time. could have went either way to be honest. that pitch is a joke- ther is a giant hole in the middle if it, u wudnt want to try and pass the ball out ther- it didnt suit us at all

brings us bak down to earth after 2 league wins- still not sure if we are in a tittle race, fighting for promotion or fighting for relegation- the strangest league iv ever been involved in.

shambo and ollie holland got our goals

donaldihno
28/02/2010, 5:38 PM
we were beaten 3-2 out there today, greenwood scored in injury time. could have went either way to be honest. that pitch is a joke- ther is a giant hole in the middle if it, u wudnt want to try and pass the ball out ther- it didnt suit us at all

brings us bak down to earth after 2 league wins- still not sure if we are in a tittle race, fighting for promotion or fighting for relegation- the strangest league iv ever been involved in.

Totally agree with you leeds park,pitch is a joke!!And any of the 9 teams can still finsh in the top2!1 win and your up there and 1 loss your back down!!ballyvolane drew!!any report owl

the owl
28/02/2010, 8:25 PM
Ballyvolane 1 Castleview 1

Cant believe we drew this one. I thought we totally dominated this game and had chance after chance. Were 1 up up for the majority of the game and although Castleview had one or two chances they scored with a deflected goal with about 10 mins left. Bitterly dissappointed today but to be fair to C/view they kept going and got their reward.
Like everyone else, i agree that this league will down to the wire. Everyone dropping points.

the owl
28/02/2010, 8:26 PM
Where is Greenwoods pitch ?

super_mario
28/02/2010, 9:08 PM
Any fixtures up yet?????

LeedsPk
28/02/2010, 10:06 PM
Where is Greenwoods pitch ?

Clashduv- across from lidl in togher, pearse play ther as well. u pass it to a fella's feet and it lands at ther neck.

Horse24
28/02/2010, 10:16 PM
We deserved to be beaten by Pearse yesterday. They came out of the traps like they were on fire! Our first defeat since mid November, and only the second game from about 20 this season, where I feel we didnt turn up. Pitch wasnt the best, but it wasnt the dip in the pitch, as much as the game which finished 20 minutes before us that made it tough.

I was writing this post in my head before Phil Dowd today. In the professional game, they must get technology involved.That would have been to video ref and back before peno was taken. He didnt even book Vidic, but booked Collins 3 mins later for same tackle. How it refers to our game yesterday is the inconsistency and the after game discussion.

During the infamous weekend a few games ago with the one ref and his 20 yellows and 5 reds in 2 games, our guy received his second yellow for kicking the ball away. Yesterday, it was the 6th offence before he took out his yellow. We told him after 3 that it wouldnt stop unless he took out his card, but on it went. (Again, I must point out Pearse were very worthy winners). Our guy is down €25. Thats about 15% of a dole payment.

The second one involves the same ref earlier in the season. He sent off our keeper for "attempted" headbutt, and booked one of the opposition yesterday for kicking out at one of our players.

The third incident yesterday involved a deliberate handball. The ref acknowledged the offence and waved play on correctly as we had the ball. However, he didnt return to book the player. We enquired and were told that you dont have to book a player for deliberate handball. Outside a goal scoring opportunity, it is at the refs discretion. This is not how I understand the rule - does anyone else have information that can clarify it for me?

The two points that I want to bring from it are 1) Inconsistent referring is what drives people crazy. We dont know what is an offence one day and what isnt the next. 2) Martin O Neill will be able to ring the head of the refs in the Premier League tomorrow and get some satisfaction - no medal, but some satisfaction at least. The ref will have his error pointed out to him, which will make him a better ref and therefore improve the game. We have no such pathway. Yes, we can go through our league, but, surely it would work better if there was some pathway directly between the teams and the refs. It can only be better all around - improve the refs, get them more respect.

The inconsistency of decisions within a game frustrates a player, he moans and is down a fiver. Yet next week the ref will make the same error, becuase no-one has pointed it out to him. The assessors cant be everywhere.They are not amateur officials, they are on 40 quid or more for 2 hours work. We pay the money, we should have some say in it.

WE KNOW THE LEAGUE AND THE REFS ARE READING. LETS BE THE PIONEERS.LETS SET A SYSTEM UP THAT ALL THE OTHER LEAGUES IN THE COUNTRY WILL FOLLOW.

Two points for the Prem A boys on this blog:

1) The card said €48 for the ref yesterday - the AUL told me last week it should be €42. What did ye pay this morning, owl?

2) We are 2 points from promotion and two points from relegation..........there will be no early buying of champers for anyone in our division!!!

Horse24
28/02/2010, 10:17 PM
I forgot to ask if anyone has spoken to their club secretary about co-signing our application for a rule change regarding the withdrawal of teams mid season?

junglegym
01/03/2010, 12:19 AM
Coachford 0-1 Grattan
No Report yet Littleman or are you just waiting to size me up.
We were down to 10 men after approx. 25 mins due to 2 yellow cards.And for a team that are finding it hard to score at this stage we'd have probably settled for 0-0. After about 60mins Grattan had two sent to the line, One for a second yellow and the other for kicking the ball at one of our players directly after this incident. Big turnaround in our favour (you'd think), The 9 men of Grattan came at us looking for that winning goal and got it after Figo had a Rory Delap moment which caught out our defence and Keith got a toe poke to lead 1-0.
Grattan as a team at the moment are winning week in week out whereas we'd have probably settled for a draw. Maybe this was the difference.When your in that kind of form it's hard to knock that confidence. After a very hard and physical fought game we were left with nothing. That is very hard to take but we have to keep positive. 8pts from 10 games is certainly not good enough to gain Premier status next year but we have to keep battling. Heres to next week already....
Just saw the fixtures Whopeeeeeee

TheRock
01/03/2010, 1:26 AM

That was the 4th game since saturday morning played on the pitch so even with the obvious hole the middle it was pretty cut up, just like any other pitch would be after 4 games in a short period time.

Thought greenwood deserved it all the same. 5 wins in Feb, who would have thought !?!

TheRock
01/03/2010, 1:37 AM
Correction: 4 wins for Greenwood; Pearce, Castleview, Passage, Leeds.

Radiostar
01/03/2010, 8:00 AM
We deserved to be beaten by Pearse yesterday. They came out of the traps like they were on fire! Our first defeat since mid November, and only the second game from about 20 this season, where I feel we didnt turn up. Pitch wasnt the best, but it wasnt the dip in the pitch, as much as the game which finished 20 minutes before us that made it tough.

I was writing this post in my head before Phil Dowd today. In the professional game, they must get technology involved.That would have been to video ref and back before peno was taken. He didnt even book Vidic, but booked Collins 3 mins later for same tackle. How it refers to our game yesterday is the inconsistency and the after game discussion.

During the infamous weekend a few games ago with the one ref and his 20 yellows and 5 reds in 2 games, our guy received his second yellow for kicking the ball away. Yesterday, it was the 6th offence before he took out his yellow. We told him after 3 that it wouldnt stop unless he took out his card, but on it went. (Again, I must point out Pearse were very worthy winners). Our guy is down €25. Thats about 15% of a dole payment.

The second one involves the same ref earlier in the season. He sent off our keeper for "attempted" headbutt, and booked one of the opposition yesterday for kicking out at one of our players.

The third incident yesterday involved a deliberate handball. The ref acknowledged the offence and waved play on correctly as we had the ball. However, he didnt return to book the player. We enquired and were told that you dont have to book a player for deliberate handball. Outside a goal scoring opportunity, it is at the refs discretion. This is not how I understand the rule - does anyone else have information that can clarify it for me?

The two points that I want to bring from it are 1) Inconsistent referring is what drives people crazy. We dont know what is an offence one day and what isnt the next. 2) Martin O Neill will be able to ring the head of the refs in the Premier League tomorrow and get some satisfaction - no medal, but some satisfaction at least. The ref will have his error pointed out to him, which will make him a better ref and therefore improve the game. We have no such pathway. Yes, we can go through our league, but, surely it would work better if there was some pathway directly between the teams and the refs. It can only be better all around - improve the refs, get them more respect.

The inconsistency of decisions within a game frustrates a player, he moans and is down a fiver. Yet next week the ref will make the same error, becuase no-one has pointed it out to him. The assessors cant be everywhere.They are not amateur officials, they are on 40 quid or more for 2 hours work. We pay the money, we should have some say in it.

WE KNOW THE LEAGUE AND THE REFS ARE READING. LETS BE THE PIONEERS.LETS SET A SYSTEM UP THAT ALL THE OTHER LEAGUES IN THE COUNTRY WILL FOLLOW.

Two points for the Prem A boys on this blog:

1) The card said €48 for the ref yesterday - the AUL told me last week it should be €42. What did ye pay this morning, owl?

2) We are 2 points from promotion and two points from relegation..........there will be no early buying of champers for anyone in our division!!!

Horse it sounds like ye hound the ref to get other guys booked or sent off. The refs are only amatuer and the fact he is on his own in the game makes it harder. All we can ask from a referee be he good or bad, is that he is fair and that any call he has to make should be the same for both teams.
Once this happens nobody can complain.

olachico
01/03/2010, 10:08 AM
[QUOTE=Radiostar;1327320]Horse it sounds like ye hound the ref to get other guys booked or sent off. The refs are only amatuer and the fact he is on his own in the game makes it harder. All we can ask from a referee be he good or bad, is that he is fair and that any call he has to make should be the same for both teams.
Once this happens nobody can complain.[/QUOTE

That is in fact wrong Radiostar - we hound the ref for fairness and consistency!!! We dont want oppostion players booked and sent off for silly things no more than we want our own players sent off or booked!

BigfeetBigsocks
01/03/2010, 11:19 AM

Well your actually wrong on this one, a deliberate handball isn't an automatic yellow card/red card depends on situation.

super_mario
01/03/2010, 11:27 AM
We lost what i described as a relegation 6 pointer yesterday 3-2, i was embarrassed to be involved. We only had 10 men. Our senior team took 2 players off us were meant to have 3 i think. How does that work?? Ridiculous, we could get relegated now, over people flexing their muscles with us. On the field their flying and im delighted for all my buddies i played with last season and this season, and for years before it, but off it, its embarrassing, i was ashamed turning up sunday to a game of that importance with ten men. First time it happened me, wont be happening again

Surely the players who went and played the senior game have a lot to answer for here?? Fair enough its nice to play senior but not half way through a season and when it has huge consequences on the team they played with all season and leave there so called friends fighting to field a team. Disgraceful is the only word that comes to mind

littleman
01/03/2010, 11:49 AM
Hello Junglegym,please excuse me for not posting a match report but Id normally leave it for 3 or 4 days so i can have a good think about what happened durin the game,but ur match report was a refreshingly honest fair view of how it went,an I muct commend you on it.

On the issue with the refs I have some sympathy for Hosre,an he dose put across a good argument,an indeed a good possible solution.But somethings are part an parcel of the game.Pitchs are not all good,some are terrible an we still
have to get on with it,facilities go the same route.Yet the only option we have is to send in a letter to the leagur Secretary an they will try to attend to the matter.Thats about as far as ya can go ,as frustration as it is.

It was my buddy Rob who was originally asked to the Grattan job,he then asked me if I would be interested in me an him doin it 50/50.We agreed an the main thing we wanted to improve was not the football,but the attitudes of the players,towards the refs,themselves an the club.It was easy but in 5 of our 10 league games we didnt get one yellow,not one.Now its not all plain sailing cause we had 2 reds over the weekend but in general we only picked up 1 or 2 in the other 5 games.

A major part of changing the attitude of the players was to explain to them that if they play the way they can, an do the basic things properly then they will decrease the amount of times they will put themselves in the position where they have to conceed a foul an maybe a yellow(thats what it says in the book im readin anyhow) .But all jokes aside it can work an it dose for us.

Horse,or indeed anyone else.Stop an ask yourself if you were to be honest an think about it, the amount of yellows picked up for mouthin an stuipd fouls greatly out weighs the amount of petty ones handed out by refs.The refs may not be perfect,but neither are we.

olachico
01/03/2010, 11:51 AM
When Bella says senior he means their better second division team!! They dont have a team playing senior league!! Its a difficult one really to balance!! Surely thr priority in the club should be the first team but not to the detriment of the second team though

Horse24
01/03/2010, 12:38 PM
Horse it sounds like ye hound the ref to get other guys booked or sent off. The refs are only amatuer and the fact he is on his own in the game makes it harder. All we can ask from a referee be he good or bad, is that he is fair and that any call he has to make should be the same for both teams.
Once this happens nobody can complain.

Radio, I can see how us asking him 6 times may sound like a hounding, but as Oli pointed out, all we are looking for is consistency. As I said we had a guy get his second yellow in a recent game for kicking the ball away. No qualms, but 3 mins later same thing happened to one of their guys on a yellow - nothing.

The first two indcidents yesterday caused no harm really and they shouldnt have been booked, but is it a rule or not? Our guy is down 15% of his dole and he missed a game, whereas others arent down money or missing games.

If they get paid for what they do - are they amateur?

Thanks for the rule clarification Socks - I was unaware of that. Does it strenghten my point for more communication with the refs society? I must clarify that i dont want it to be all one way. Maybe, during discussions with them we can come up with something to deter lines who constantly get involved with the ref?

Littleman, you make a good point regarding the bookings. The fines rule was brought in to deter dissent etc, and I 100% agree with it. So, lets just fine for dissent. Let the other bookings be without fines and carry them for suspensions as normal. Refs make mistakes, but its us who pay for them. I do believe if we protect the refs more, then we will get more refs in. Thats what scares most people.

littleman
01/03/2010, 1:28 PM
Ya see Horse all ur points are good an make perfect sense.But it all starts somewhere an for me the reason we dont have more peolpe interested in becoming refs is that we are all in agreement that the abuse they get is wrong,verbal is bad enough,physcial is unforgiveable.We have to start at the begining,the players an improve their attitudes,if theres improves then id expect the refs would too.U see a fixture for the weekend an then the ref,an its ''oh god not him again'' an i have no doubt in my mind that when a refs sees his fixture he thinks on occasion ''og god not them again'',,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,see my point.

Radiostar
01/03/2010, 3:29 PM
Horse,

My point exactly that once a ref is consistent in his decisions for both teams there would be far less complaining about refs. And in my opinion a ref who can talk to players and managers without handing out yellows usually tend to be the fellas who get less abuse and who teams like having reffing their games.
Don't get me wrong I'm no angel either when it comes to the refs but we have to try and make it easier for them too.

Radiostar
01/03/2010, 5:04 PM
It is but they only had a cup game, this game could end up deciding if 1 team stays in the higher division for next year. They had 14 for their game, one of the players they took off us couldnt even play cause he was cup tied.

Bella somethings might be best to keep within the club!!

LeedsPk
01/03/2010, 6:08 PM
That was the 4th game since saturday morning played on the pitch so even with the obvious hole the middle it was pretty cut up, just like any other pitch would be after 4 games in a short period time.

Thought greenwood deserved it all the same. 5 wins in Feb, who would have thought !?!

Greenwood are a good side, and played very well, not taking away from that and the run that they are on!!! Dont agree wit the fact that 4 games is the reason why the pitch is so bad, im presuming that hill on the pitch wasnt as a result of 4 matches onit. If thats the case our pitch shud b like Patricks hill cause of all the schoolboy games ther each week, let alone us, the 17's and our snr team playin on it. Its Blackstone i feel sorry for they have to play ther 2 wks ina row :)

Horse24
01/03/2010, 9:23 PM
Funny stat Leeds Park - last Saturday was our first ever defeat there I believe.

Greenwood got 12 points in 10 days during the month - 6 from Ballincollig on the Wednesday & two wins in a row - fair play to them.

Bella, what was the discussion on the A's and B's at the beginning of the season in your club?

Owl/Radio, what "rules" do ye have within the club about the A & B team? Apart from the goalie thing last year, ye never seem to have hassle....or is there a hidden message in Radio's message to Bella?????

On the refs thing, we actually have a review of our line's performance as a point on our weekly committee meeting. We are well aware of our need to make life easier for them.

However, the fact that we cant comment on them or offer constructive criticsm is not right. However they can and we have to defend it. The "We can write to the AUL" thing is bull and we all know it. If the ref who is complained doesnt hold it against the team, then maybe his "brothers in arms" will. Would it help a line snapping at a ref when they know they have a forum to air their grievances?

Maybe the solution is to ask head of Refs Brian O Regan and one of his assessors to a delegate meeting every month or two. No team can moan about a ref then if they dont show up at a delegate meeting so it may help the delegate meeting attendance as a bonus!

Stuff like "He roobed us" is crap and wouldnt be welcome.

Points that could have come up since the season began:

- The ref who disrespects the players by calling them to him like a schoolboy.
- The ref who pulls out his cards in the first five mins of a game, putting pressure on himself and the players.
- The ref who communicates his decisions to the lines, therby eliminating any doubts.
- The ref who communicates what added time he is playing.
- The refs who control games without cards - how do they do it?
- The sidelines of teams where refs dread to go.
- How much the hell does a game in Prem A cost?
- Is deliberate handball a definite yellow? (Socks is our hero with that answer)
-Which refs have produced the best performances.....win or lose!!

the owl
01/03/2010, 10:23 PM
Horse, i would have to agree with Radio. i think that is information that should stay within the club. I think every club that has 1,2 or even three teams will have different situations during the year that will require perhaps players to be called to play for either team (within the rules obviously). Even though we may not agree with it every time its usually done in the best interests of the club. I can see Bellas point, especially with the player that was cup tied but sayin that, i have nothing to do with that club and wouldnt like to coment any further about it.

the owl
01/03/2010, 10:33 PM
I see we are not down to play anyone this week. Thought the days of free weekends were gone considering the backlog. Might suit us a bit. have a few players carrying knocks so it will give them an extra bit to recover. Although its old age setting in with some of them !!!!!:)

littleman
01/03/2010, 10:37 PM
Horse.I think its a great idea to get Mr Regan to come along and an accessor as well.To answers questions that we feel need to be answered.But the only way those meetings look to be attended would be if Mr Regan brought Beyonce with him,an a few of the SugerBabes.Cause you an I know the attendence is chite.When I started playing many many moons ago a certain Derry Barrett an Tony Hennessey reffed.Ledgends they were.They would talk ya through the game,tell ya where your goin wrong an make sure you understood they only wanted to help both teams play the game.Players respected them for it too an I know what Im on about too.I was a volitile little chap al la Bellemy an I d snap with player or ref no matter how big he was in a split 2nd if i though the decision was wrong,but thankfully the refs then for the most part would have a calming word and in hindsight I spent a hell of a lot more time playing because of it.Id never have survived nowadays.Ya say boo to a ref now it a yellow or red,a player its a dig an refs an players seem a lot more likely to get physcial.Its gone ridiculous.

.But times are different now Horse.Players an refs have changed.Attitudes are all wrong.Now if the decision dont go your way its rage and rant at the ref,even on small things.Its a lot more likely that me,you an nearly every poster will come on here an say the ref was poor,or worse rather than say so an so on your team let ya down.An then some refs will have the attitude of '' come here boy,who'd ya think your talkin ta,here have that la an if I hear ya once more your gone'' and from then on its just generally a battle between the ref an the 2 sides all based on abuse.The tv plays a massive part too cause it seems to have become accepable to abuse the ref on tv.Lads have grown up watching it week in week out.

Iv done it myself early this season,an it was a wake up call for me.We played Kinsale down in there place and at 2/1 up we were denied a stone wall peno.Us,Kinsale,feck even the seagulls thought it was a peno,the ref didnt give it,an we ended up loosin 4 /2 in the end.Now for a few weeks after all I was listening too was the ref robbed us.The ref cost us nothin,when we didnt get the peno we were still 2/1 up .The ref didnt conceed 3 goals.We did.The ref on the day did what he was supposed to an he reffed the game.We for 75 mins did what we were supposed to an were winning an for 15 we fell to peices.Simple as.I said to myself then I,d not blame a ref again for loosin a game.An I wont, I thought if as a team we cant be honest an take account for what we achive or dont then we will never become a better side.In every game we have lost or drawn this season we had enough chances to win an we didnt take them.Thats the truth.Thankfully I have a very gifted group of players who appriciate what we are trying to do and have played a blinder since the new year began,football an attitude wise and our club is delighted to have players of that ability and respect playing with our club.

.Like I said in 3 of the 5 games this year we didnt even pick up a bookin.The other 2, we got 3 yellows an 2 reds so its not all plain sailing but with a little work it can be done.I must also say for me the refs we have to deal wiht seem to be more open to talk durin the game,for me anyhow.I make it a habit of keeping the ref on my side by not gettin envolved with him by roaring an shouting an I think they appriciate that O'Neill Park is a place where we just want to play the game an enjoy it,and away from home Grattan will just get on with the game when the ref blows.I would actually go on record as sayin that a major part of the reason why we have 5 clean sheets from 5 games this year is that when the ref blows now we switch on defencesivley straight away rather than spended a few seconds whinging.

Im not saying that this way is the best way,but it is they only way I know we can have an effect on the refs performance an we can still win.Id stand behind ya 100% Horse an ya know I would but I just cant see how things will change unless we change the players attitudes first.

olachico
01/03/2010, 10:42 PM
Unsporting behaviour is a cauntionable offence according to the laws of the game!! Deliberately handling the ball in an attempt to stop an opposition attack is unsporting behaviour surely??? I've read the laws of the game at length socks as I did the referees course in the past so can you please tell me where you are basing your opinion on?? The problem is the laws of the game are so vague we cant say either way who is right or wrong - all I ask is for consistency from game to game - how can one ref say something is a foul and a bookable offence and yet the next week it isnt??

The OWL - ye prob have a free weekend because there are now only 9 teams in our league!!

Littleman - just to clarify we didnt come on saying we lost over the Ref - we as a team on Saturday just werent good enough! It wasnt due to the Ref in any way shape or form!! Pearse wanted it more as i already outlined (also see below) and deservedly won - I also dont like the thought of getting an opposition player sent off but sometimes some of the decisions really baffle me

"Have to agree TheRock - Pearse were more hungry i felt! We didnt turn up and i felt perhaps some of our players used the pitch as an excuse for poor performances!! I know the keeper for Pearse from Hibs before! He made a big difference to Pearse - knowing you have a solid keeper behind you can make all the difference and give a team confidence!! Pearse were direct and up for the game - makes things interesting again in the Premier A!! "

padjoe
01/03/2010, 10:48 PM
Funny stat Leeds Park - last Saturday was our first ever defeat there I believe.

Greenwood got 12 points in 10 days during the month - 6 from Ballincollig on the Wednesday & two wins in a row - fair play to them.

Bella, what was the discussion on the A's and B's at the beginning of the season in your club?

Owl/Radio, what "rules" do ye have within the club about the A & B team? Apart from the goalie thing last year, ye never seem to have hassle....or is there a hidden message in Radio's message to Bella?????

On the refs thing, we actually have a review of our line's performance as a point on our weekly committee meeting. We are well aware of our need to make life easier for them.

However, the fact that we cant comment on them or offer constructive criticsm is not right. However they can and we have to defend it. The "We can write to the AUL" thing is bull and we all know it. If the ref who is complained doesnt hold it against the team, then maybe his "brothers in arms" will. Would it help a line snapping at a ref when they know they have a forum to air their grievances?

Maybe the solution is to ask head of Refs Brian O Regan and one of his assessors to a delegate meeting every month or two. No team can moan about a ref then if they dont show up at a delegate meeting so it may help the delegate meeting attendance as a bonus!

Stuff like "He roobed us" is crap and wouldnt be welcome.

Points that could have come up since the season began:

- The ref who disrespects the players by calling them to him like a schoolboy.
- The ref who pulls out his cards in the first five mins of a game, putting pressure on himself and the players.
- The ref who communicates his decisions to the lines, therby eliminating any doubts.
- The ref who communicates what added time he is playing.
- The refs who control games without cards - how do they do it?
- The sidelines of teams where refs dread to go.
- How much the hell does a game in Prem A cost?
- Is deliberate handball a definite yellow? (Socks is our hero with that answer)
-Which refs have produced the best performances.....win or lose!!

Okay first and foremost, i'm a referee but i'm also a player so i appreciate both sides of the coin. i find in most places it is easy enough to referee. players genuinely appreciate that you are there to referee and for the most part make sure the game goes off without hitch.
But there are some places personally, and i won't name, that i know, i'm going to have a difficult time be it because of the side line or the attitude of the players which will come from the influence of coaches.
Likewise there are places where i would've expected by reputation thought i'd be in for a rough time only to have very easy time refereeing and all decisions are accepted without much objection.
i've been challenged by managers for sendings off, penalties and offsides that are so valid. i took up refereeing at 17 and i quit after one season cause some of the intimidation was unfair. i returned this year at 25 and for the most part i'm doing a good job.
i try to let the game flow and keep the whistle out of my mouth but i learned extremely quickly that it only takes one tackle to change a game and as i say turn it into a thriller and onto a knife's edge.
it can be very hard sometimes though cause processing so much in such short space of time and as a lone referee with no assistants its easy to miss stuff going behind your back, you can't call what you can't see. It is the most frustrating thing for me personally when i know there is niggling going on behind your back but there is little you can do.
playing wise i've little complaint with some referees, maybe i'm biased cause i am one.
An early yellow card is sometimes the only way to go to lay down the marker but that leaves you open to cat calls from the sidelines for the remainder of the game.
There is a referee from tipperary, who is part of the school of excellence. he has been brilliant in the Cork AUL. He refereed one of our games and awarded us a 90minute penalty to us, which genuinely could have gone either way.
The scenario was the player appeared to take a dive and the referee explained after he was initially blowing for a free out because of simulation but because there was contact by the defender before the act of simulation, he had no choice in his opinion but to award a penalty.
Last weekend, we'd a foreign referee, possibly polish, and once again he was firm, fair and consistent in his decision making and rather than producing cards at every dissent, he took his time to explain to the players and ensured they appreciated his position.

the ghost
01/03/2010, 11:01 PM
lads could anybody tell me the latest Cork AUL panel?? or training panel??

littleman
01/03/2010, 11:06 PM
Delighted to have the other side of the coin on board Padjoe.

Olli you need to relax,do yoga or sometin.No one said you,ye or Blackstone especially,actually I didnt mention Blackstone at all.It was an open statement put out towards every poster.

Ghost,the Aul panel is anyones guess.Me an you an Olli might even be on it myself an we just dont know yet.;)

Horse24
01/03/2010, 11:14 PM
Owl, Bella may get chewed internally for that post alright, but fair play to him.

Bella, Did the A's from our first division last season stay as the A's?

Im just trying to figure if ye set down rules or just play it by ear.

Padjoe - Im not sure if we will ever see a better opening salvo than that. In my opinion, it strenghtens my point looking for refs/teams to get together. You have told us what a ref is thinking - "humanised" them for want of a better expression. Some people have no idea that refs are from Planet Earth as well.

If both sides get together, it can only be win-win as far as Im concerned...................Im like a dog with a chewtoy now - i dunno how Im gonna let go!!

I also want to point out that I have reffed half an U14 friendly, and it scared the hell outta me - abuse from parents & 14 year olds. I admire each and evry person in black who goes out, but Im just trying to make life easier for everyone

Littleman, it gives me great pleasure as a Pool fan to agree with you and point out that most weeks we watch Man U chase the ref around the pitch!!!..................Okay, I will admit Mascherano spends most games biting the ref - watch him its hilarious. If a free kick is given, he will say something to the ref as he pretends to fix the ball!! All jokes aside, it gives an awful example. However, personal experience has shown that a lot is down to the underage coach as well.

Thats me done for a few days now - Im knackered!!!

Horse24
01/03/2010, 11:16 PM

Olli you need to relax,do yoga or sometin.No one said you,ye or Blackstone especially,actually I didnt mention Blackstone at all.It was an open statement put out towards every poster.

Ghost,the Aul panel is anyones guess.Me an you an Olli might even be on it myself an we just dont know yet.;)

Littleman, I have seen Oli in training...................nuff said!!!

Radiostar
01/03/2010, 11:16 PM
Okay first and foremost, i'm a referee but i'm also a player so i appreciate both sides of the coin. i find in most places it is easy enough to referee. players genuinely appreciate that you are there to referee and for the most part make sure the game goes off without hitch.
But there are some places personally, and i won't name, that i know, i'm going to have a difficult time be it because of the side line or the attitude of the players which will come from the influence of coaches.
Likewise there are places where i would've expected by reputation thought i'd be in for a rough time only to have very easy time refereeing and all decisions are accepted without much objection.
i've been challenged by managers for sendings off, penalties and offsides that are so valid. i took up refereeing at 17 and i quit after one season cause some of the intimidation was unfair. i returned this year at 25 and for the most part i'm doing a good job.
i try to let the game flow and keep the whistle out of my mouth but i learned extremely quickly that it only takes one tackle to change a game and as i say turn it into a thriller and onto a knife's edge.
it can be very hard sometimes though cause processing so much in such short space of time and as a lone referee with no assistants its easy to miss stuff going behind your back, you can't call what you can't see. It is the most frustrating thing for me personally when i know there is niggling going on behind your back but there is little you can do.
playing wise i've little complaint with some referees, maybe i'm biased cause i am one.
An early yellow card is sometimes the only way to go to lay down the marker but that leaves you open to cat calls from the sidelines for the remainder of the game.
There is a referee from tipperary, who is part of the school of excellence. he has been brilliant in the Cork AUL. He refereed one of our games and awarded us a 90minute penalty to us, which genuinely could have gone either way.
The scenario was the player appeared to take a dive and the referee explained after he was initially blowing for a free out because of simulation but because there was contact by the defender before the act of simulation, he had no choice in his opinion but to award a penalty.
Last weekend, we'd a foreign referee, possibly polish, and once again he was firm, fair and consistent in his decision making and rather than producing cards at every dissent, he took his time to explain to the players and ensured they appreciated his position.

Well said Padjoe, its good to get a referees view.

olachico
01/03/2010, 11:25 PM

I've tried the yoga Littleman it does nothing for me!! It may have worked for Roy the Boy but its just not my thing!! Littleman I never said you mentioned Blackstone - where in my post did i say you mentioned us??? Considering it is my club colleague who is mainly posting regarding the referees at the moment i was just clarifying that we didnt lose because of the ref!! So perhaps it is you littleman who needs to relax ;-)

padjoe
01/03/2010, 11:25 PM
just a further point, before each game i do try and talk to each manager. not about the game ahead of us but just about the league, form, concerns and ideas to improve league and anything else in general just to make chit chat. its a better approach than just handing the managers match card and walking out and blowing the whistle. at least with a little conversation, light hearted etc you'll find out fairly quickly what kind of characters you'll deal with in the match and they kind of accept you as a human being as opposed to a ******** with a whistle. after every game i do shake both managers hands, good game or bad because at the end of the day it is just a game. if they have some positive or negative insights to offer i'll listen and take it on board.

the ghost
01/03/2010, 11:26 PM
ha good point littleman, names could be picked out of regans beenie from what ive seen so far!! id say thats why u havent hung up ur boots just yet ha. welcome padjoe good to see a ref posting here and be willing to get seriously quizzed with opinions and questions

olachico
01/03/2010, 11:27 PM
Littleman, I have seen Oli in training...................nuff said!!!

Harsh - i've seen you play this season Horse - nuff said!!!

littleman
01/03/2010, 11:45 PM
Ghost the last time I played for the Oscar Traynor side was way way way back.Actually in the last decade no,it was the last millenium hahahahaha :D1997 if im correct,we lost to the TSDL,I hope thats not a bad omen..:(

Olli leave me alone, Im in the happy zone an ur too serious to deal with.Im only talkin to happy go lucky people:D

olachico
02/03/2010, 12:12 AM
Ghost the last time I played for the Oscar Traynor side was way way way back.Actually in the last decade no,it was the last millenium hahahahaha :D1997 if im correct,we lost to the TSDL,I hope thats not a bad omen..:(

Olli leave me alone, Im in the happy zone an ur too serious to deal with.Im only talkin to happy go lucky people:D

I'm too serious to deal with?? I'm not posting on here anymore - everyone is picking on me - including my club colleague!!

littleman
02/03/2010, 12:20 AM
Olli go onto the Mjc thread,theres a chap from Everton who likes intelectual posting,he thinks im not educated enough I think.:D

Innishvilla
02/03/2010, 7:29 AM
Olli go onto the Mjc thread,theres a chap from Everton who likes intelectual posting,he thinks im not educated enough I think.:D

I was wondering if Evertonian would get a mention after his outrageous post on the MJC forum... I though you managed to keep your emotions in check very well Littleman...

olachico
02/03/2010, 10:05 AM

Littleman I never once have said you were uneducated and I hope you are not implying in some way that I did!!! Seriously littleman you need to relax!! You can borrow my relaxation tapes - "You are on a beach - the waves are lapping on the shore " Or would you prefer Relaxing Whales Sounds??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXOo68SDTdk

Legohead
02/03/2010, 1:07 PM
Sorry for the late reply on the AUL issue. I don’t want to name the player or club because it’s the system i have a problem with not the players or club involved and as a new poster i am very aware that the difference of viewers and posters here is 20 fold. In any case i think a few of ye know who i’m talking about.
I know you do little man because you made a phone call about him to a former manager of his looking for a report before the gratts played them recently. That shows you must have respect for him also. I also thought Jason keegan was playing centre half for the AUL side last year? Isn’t he now with casement and not eligible for the AUL side in which case the centre back pairing must be different this year. Now i do stand to be corrected on this one.

Legohead
02/03/2010, 1:12 PM
As we are on the subject of referee’s...
Park Utd v Village Utd last weekend.
During open play following a mix up in the village defence the ball ended up two feet past the village goal line. A goal for Park Utd, park celebrating and village player taking the ball out of the net to go to the halfway line for a tip off. Ha ha ha both hands outstretched the ref shouts “PLAY ON”, up roar from the park players who insisted that the game wouldn’t continue unless the goal was given.
As village knew it was a goal, in fairness to them they told the ref in order for the game to continue. You’d be thinking that village would be rewarded with a couple of 50/50’s going there way. With about ten minutes left and the score 3all the ball crossed the line on the village side for a throw ball. The village mentor proceeded to raise his hand to show the ref it was a village throw ball but he was quickly over ruled. The village mentor then said “you asked me to do the ******* line and now you won’t listen to me” (an argument i have heard a million times.) The ref then sent him off and it was all a bit heated, as the ref was watching the mentor return to the dressing room he was walking backwards. Then he stepped on the village left backs foot. “ arhh ya ******* ***** watch where your going” roared the village player. John Wayne like the ref drew the red card. Vilage player said/shouted “ your sending me off for you standing on my foot” ref replied “yes” village player then decided to stamp on the the refs foot and says “ ******* hurts doesn’t it”
MATCH ABANDONED!!!!! BUT FAR FROM OVER YOU I WOULD THINK.
I must say it could have been a comedy script. Box office stuff.

Onefootednopace
02/03/2010, 1:54 PM
As we are on the subject of referee’s...
Park Utd v Village Utd last weekend.
During open play following a mix up in the village defence the ball ended up two feet past the village goal line. A goal for Park Utd, park celebrating and village player taking the ball out of the net to go to the halfway line for a tip off. Ha ha ha both hands outstretched the ref shouts “PLAY ON”, up roar from the park players who insisted that the game wouldn’t continue unless the goal was given.
As village knew it was a goal, in fairness to them they told the ref in order for the game to continue. You’d be thinking that village would be rewarded with a couple of 50/50’s going there way. With about ten minutes left and the score 3all the ball crossed the line on the village side for a throw ball. The village mentor proceeded to raise his hand to show the ref it was a village throw ball but he was quickly over ruled. The village mentor then said “you asked me to do the ******* line and now you won’t listen to me” (an argument i have heard a million times.) The ref then sent him off and it was all a bit heated, as the ref was watching the mentor return to the dressing room he was walking backwards. Then he stepped on the village left backs foot. “ arhh ya ******* ***** watch where your going” roared the village player. John Wayne like the ref drew the red card. Vilage player said/shouted “ your sending me off for you standing on my foot” ref replied “yes” village player then decided to stamp on the the refs foot and says “ ******* hurts doesn’t it”
MATCH ABANDONED!!!!! BUT FAR FROM OVER YOU I WOULD THINK.
I must say it could have been a comedy script. Box office stuff.

I was wondering why that game was called up early, I presumed it was for a serious injury but those events sound crazy.

super_mario
02/03/2010, 2:08 PM
Ya heard all about that situation and i must admit i laughed for ages at it, sounds like something off a primary school yard would have loved to have been there haha.

Back to a football note anyway, its another massive game for the Bohs this week a real grudge match against Glen celtic sunday morning at there place. We have had some great games against the Glen the past few years and im sure this one wont be any different, 3 points is a must for us again as we need to take advantage of the games in hand and turn them into points simple as, cant wait for it already....

donaldihno
02/03/2010, 4:10 PM
Sorry for the late reply on the AUL issue. I don’t want to name the player or club because it’s the system i have a problem with not the players or club involved and as a new poster i am very aware that the difference of viewers and posters here is 20 fold. In any case i think a few of ye know who i’m talking about.
I know you do little man because you made a phone call about him to a former manager of his looking for a report before the gratts played them recently. That shows you must have respect for him also. I also thought Jason keegan was playing centre half for the AUL side last year? Isn’t he now with casement and not eligible for the AUL side in which case the centre back pairing must be different this year. Now i do stand to be corrected on this one.
i think jason keggan was left back,with the 2 gratten boys at centre back

littleman
02/03/2010, 5:16 PM
G R A T T A N,,,,,,,,,,,,,,please lads do me one favour an one only ,try to spell it right.........
Grattan.

Littleman would appriciate it greatly.

Legohead,Il put it out there so to save you it being awkword.Everyone knows who I am an I dont have a problem answering to anyone.Mr Conlon is a very good center half,one of the best 5 or 6 in the Aul.I agree totally but I also think Jeremy is a super center half,but he hasnt been selected either.I have in all honesty not been happy with how the team was either selected or finalised this season but in hindsight I was wrong.Its the current managements call on who plays.
I didnt think the team was good enough this season but they have got this far so im just goin to leave them run their course an with a bit of luck they may do well.If they do we all eat humble pie,if they dont then thats when questions will be asked.

Their are id say a couple different selections for each position depending on which club ur from,an id understand it.
Lads wether we agree with it or not,let them at least get behind um for the game.Theirs plenty other read this thread lookin for info on our oscar side.

littleman
02/03/2010, 7:06 PM
Anyone have full draw for quarters??
LUCOZADE SPORT MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Quarter Final Draw

Leeside v Pike Rvs

Villa or Blackcastle v Nenagh AFC

Tramore or Lisselton v Carrick or Regional

Clonmel Town v Clonmel Celtic
Games to take place on Sunday 28th March 2010

In the event of a team being involved in the FAI Senior Cup on the 28th March their quarter final game will take place on the 21/3/10 if possible, otherwise on the 4/4/10

Lads have a look at Evertonians last post on the Mjc thread.Talkin about runnin your own down.:mad: