View Full Version : Darron Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68

Murfinator
01/09/2012, 1:44 PM
Speaking of embarrassments here's what the "best fans in the world" have to say about all this.

http://s18.postimage.org/4ydyktjlj/bestfans.jpg

NeverFeltBetter
01/09/2012, 1:50 PM
Green being put out ahead of him must have been grating, but this is the wrong way to respond to that. He declared for this country, left MUFC to get more play time on Trap's advice, I thought he was a better choice than Andrews or Whelan at times...I guess I also thought he had more commitment to the team based on those things.

"When Darron informed me of his decision to withdraw, I called him to talk things through.
"As we embark upon a brand new campaign, he is very much in my plans and I consider him to be a key player for Ireland for this campaign.
"However, Darron has said that although he doesn't want to let anyone down, he doesn't feel ready to to return to the squad for this fixture after the disappointment of Euro 2012.
"I hope that Darron will take this time to reflect positively on his international career, and return to us in time for the Germany game in October."

Not sure what to make of that from Trap.

johnnyc
01/09/2012, 1:55 PM
*sigh* I was looking forward to seeing if he and McCarthy were going to get the chance to form a decent partnership in the middle. The way I see it, Gibson left Utd to get regular first team football for a very good team - as advised by Trap. This resulted in Gibson sitting on the bench during the Euros, while Whelan had a nightmare tournament and even Paul Green got a run out. Fair enough, we'd all give our right arm to get a cap for our country but while I'm very angry at Gibson for not joining up with the squad, I sadly don't think he's 100% to blame.

Murfinator
01/09/2012, 2:03 PM
left MUFC to get more play time on Trap's advice,

That isn't true, he publicly mocked the idea from Trap when it was suggested to him. He left Man united because he was frozen out by Ferguson and going out drinking with Rooney on st.stephens day was the final straw.

01/09/2012, 2:12 PM
*sigh* I was looking forward to seeing if he and McCarthy were going to get the chance to form a decent partnership in the middle. The way I see it, Gibson left Utd to get regular first team football for a very good team - as advised by Trap. This resulted in Gibson sitting on the bench during the Euros, while Whelan had a nightmare tournament and even Paul Green got a run out. Fair enough, we'd all give our right arm to get a cap for our country but while I'm very angry at Gibson for not joining up with the squad, I sadly don't think he's 100% to blame.
Of course it is 100% his fault. He has been picked in the team ahead of more talented players before so he can hardly complain when the same happens to him, especially when he played in exactly 0 friendlies while Green was winning his place on the bench. Lots of players don't get a fair shake but they still show up when they're called.

01/09/2012, 2:19 PM
Injured himself innocuously. Karma?

Supreme feet
01/09/2012, 2:21 PM
Of course it is 100% his fault. He has been picked in the team ahead of more talented players before

Damn right, Gibson was one of the main beneficiaries of Andy Reid being frozen out. You can bet that if Reid was called up, he'd turn up, regardless of what went on before.

EastTerracer
01/09/2012, 2:22 PM
Injured himself innocuously. Karma?

Yeah, looks like he wouldn't have been available for next week anyway so would have been better off saying nothing. Trap says he hopes Gibson will be back for Germany game so we'll wait and see if he takes advantage of a second chance.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 2:23 PM
Very disappointing lack of commitment displayed by Gibson here. Shocking show of petulance really. From where the over-expectation and automatic sense of entitlement derives, I'm not sure. Not sure when we'll see him in green again if Meyler takes his chance to impress, and he surely will. With things going so well at Everton for him, this campaign was Gibson's chance to gradually try and solidify a first-team international place. Good form for Everton or not, he should know by now that Trap doesn't change things overnight and, as has been stated above, taking a strop because Paul Green was selected before him at the Euros is not the right way to deal with any residing disappointment. The answer is to try harder and give Trap no option but to consider him. If Trap already questioned his commitment and resolve, this will surely leave him in little doubt as to Gibson's mentality. Sorry to see after all the abuse Gibson had to put up with to declare for his country in the first place; I've always reserved sympathy for him for that, similar to how I defend James McCarthy against his doubters, but I'd be naive to defend Gibson here. It also has to be said that Trap was very diplomatic in his comments; surprised he's left the door open for a return at all.

Edit: Fears he's pulled his hamstring just as I was typing that...

Murfinator
01/09/2012, 2:28 PM
Very disappointing lack of commitment displayed by Gibson here. Shocking show of petulance really. Not sure when we'll see him in green again if Meyler takes his chance to impress, and he surely will. With things going so well at Everton for him, this campaign was Gibson's chance to gradually try and solidify a first-team international place. Good form for Everton or not, he should know by now that Trap doesn't change things overnight and, as has been stated above, taking a strop because Paul Green was selected before him at the Euros is not the right way to deal with any residing disappointment. The answer is to try harder and give Trap no option but to consider him. If Trap already questioned his commitment and resolve, this will surely leave him in little doubt as to Gibson's mentality. Sorry to see after all the abuse Gibson had to put up with to declare for his country in the first place; I've always reserved sympathy for him for that, similar to how I defend James McCarthy against his doubters, but I'd be naive to defend Gibson here. It also has to be said that Trap was very diplomatic in his comments; surprised he's left the door open for a return at all.

Edit: Fears he's pulled his hamstring just as I was typing that...

He said the same for Stephen Ireland, never shutting doors etc. Same for Gibson even though he accused him of faking a groin strain years ago and Wilson despite pulling out of virtually everything, he seems to be ready to forgive and forget over and over again. Really makes the Andy Reid situation incredibly strange in hindsight where he seemed to bear a ruthless grudge for a very minor incident.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 2:35 PM
Really makes the Andy Reid situation incredibly strange in hindsight where he seemed to bear a ruthless grudge for a very minor incident.

Andy Reid was unruly and disruptive if memory serves me right, but is it a grudge with him? Was that confirmed? I can't remember. I thought Andy Reid's absence was simply down to the fact that he didn't fit the system. And then there was the weight issue. How's he doing with that now?

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 2:37 PM
Thing is, if Gibson didn't want to be worrying about playing in major championships, he could have just stuck with NI!

01/09/2012, 2:38 PM
He doesn't have a grudge against Reid. He doesn't pick Reid because he's fat, injury-prone and not that good to begin with.

Interesting that Moyes chose to bring on Hibbert instead of Coleman at right back, and now West Brom are getting all the play down that side, and Hibbert's on a yellow.

01/09/2012, 3:33 PM
Everton are looking very flat without Gibson in the centre. No real link between defence and attack, and they can't hoof balls to Fellaini either.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 3:34 PM
He may not be on the pitch any longer, but Gibson's unbeaten Premier League record looks like it may come to an end this afternoon also with Shane Long having put West Brom 1-0 up.

The Fly
01/09/2012, 4:11 PM
Gibson withdraws from Republic squad (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2012/0901/335847-gibson-withdraws-from-republic-squad)

Darron has said that although he doesn’t want to let anyone down, he doesn’t feel ready to to return to the squad for this fixture after the disappointment of Euro 2012.

Pathetic!

Colbert Report
01/09/2012, 5:39 PM
Think about it from the his viewpoint. Why fly all the way out there just to sit on the bench? I don't blame him one bit. He'll be back in the squad for Germany.

01/09/2012, 6:04 PM
Why should anyone not in the starting XI travel then?

I'm pretty happy with the official Trap response though. Hopefully ikt can be resolved soon enough.

IsMiseSean
01/09/2012, 6:09 PM
Why fly all the way out there just to sit on the bench?.

Because he is trying to break into Ireland first team and forge out an international career. Well at least I thought he was........

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 6:12 PM
Think about it from the his viewpoint. Why fly all the way out there just to sit on the bench? I don't blame him one bit. He'll be back in the squad for Germany.

A squad is more than just eleven players.

Colbert Report
01/09/2012, 6:50 PM
He has almost no chance of playing. I don't begrudge the guy not wanting to travel so far to sit on the bench.

01/09/2012, 6:59 PM
With Andrews suspended and Green injured, there was definitely either a starting place or 1st choice sub position to be fought for

01/09/2012, 7:00 PM
He has almost no chance of playing. I don't begrudge the guy not wanting to travel so far to sit on the bench.
And I'm sure he'll be equally philosophical if Trap decides to call up Meyler next time there's an injury crisis in midfield.

Diarmo
01/09/2012, 7:02 PM

That's a shocking attitude to condone for International Football.

DannyInvincible
01/09/2012, 7:03 PM

Why's Meyler travelling?

Colbert Report
01/09/2012, 7:09 PM
Meyler didn't go to Poland and spend the entire time on the bench. Look at it this way, Gibson can spend a week at home with his family and friends or fly nine hours out to the middle of Asia to watch a football match that he can catch on telly just as fine from the comforts of a pub or his living room. Ye all need to keep in mind that football is his job, and not necessarily his passion. Just because we all love football and watch it for fun, doesn't mean he has to. I don't blame him one bit. He was humiliated by the fact that Paul Green was sent on at the Euros instead of him and based on what I have seen, he had every right to be.

tommy_c12000
01/09/2012, 7:20 PM
Def agree with CR for a change. Green coming on in front of him was a disgrace. Pity Trap has driven another player away from the Irish set-up, as Gibbo is looking good so far this season.

dong
01/09/2012, 7:29 PM
Whatever your opinions about Gibson, and for what it's worth I dont rate him that highly as a Premier Division footballer (remember we dont have too many of them) it was wrong to play Green ahead of him at the Euros.
Totally indefensible imo and if he has the hump over it you could hardly blame him.

01/09/2012, 7:33 PM
Whatever your opinions about Gibson, and for what it's worth I dont rate him that highly as a Premier Division footballer (remember we dont have too many of them) it was wrong to play Green ahead of him at the Euros.
Totally indefensible imo and if he has the hump over it you could hardly blame him.
I have the hump over a lot of things too. The difference is that I still act like an adult about it.

youngirish
01/09/2012, 7:56 PM
What an immature child. However it is starting to worry me this seeming lack of interest in playing for Ireland that many of our players have been cultivating over the past few years. This has become especially prevalent during Trapattoni's reign. Surely Trapattoni's methods and management style shouldn't be above criticism when it appears so many of our players have on occasions not been willing to make themselves available for his squads.

01/09/2012, 7:59 PM
Def agree with CR for a change. Green coming on in front of him was a disgrace

reality is green has always played better for us than gibson.
gibson is the only 6 counties player that the north didnt mind "losing" to the republic and that says it all really.

01/09/2012, 8:03 PM
Stephen Kelly had at least as good a claim to have featured in the Euros, having played more friendlies and more qualifying games, but he got 0 minutes. Where is he now? Oh yeah, he's about to join up with the squad like a professional who loves his country.

Predator
01/09/2012, 8:07 PM
reality is green has always played better for us than gibson.Obviously that is a matter of opinion and not "reality". In my opinion, Gibson is much better with the ball than Green is and, I think that it is fair to say, fans don't wince at the mere suggestion of having Gibson in midfield.

Irwin3
01/09/2012, 8:14 PM
Stephen Kelly had at least as good a claim to have featured in the Euros, having played more friendlies and more qualifying games, but he got 0 minutes. Where is he now? Oh yeah, he's about to join up with the squad like a professional who loves his country.

He didn't have Paul Green or any inferior playing coming on for him though. John O'Shea played all 270 minutes. Gibson played in 3 out of the 4 friendlies leading up to the euros and played basically every time when he was fit and available. Rumours around the time of the Spain game were that Gibson confronted Trap and Trap made a reference to Gibson's weight. Highly insulting and unprofessional if true. In a situation like this no-one wins and it's a shame for all concerned really. Gibson - not playing for his country and Trap - falling out with another player. Hopefully it'll be resolved but you just get the impression that it won't. Ah well. We'll always be able to put a squad out.

01/09/2012, 8:19 PM
He didn't have Paul Green or any inferior playing coming on for him though. John O'Shea played all 270 minutes. Gibson played in 3 out of the 4 friendlies leading up to the euros and played basically every time when he was fit and available. Rumours around the time of the Spain game were that Gibson confronted Trap and Trap made a reference to Gibson's weight. Highly insulting and unprofessional if true. In a situation like this no-one wins and it's a shame for all concerned really. Gibson - not playing for his country and Trap - falling out with another player. Hopefully it'll be resolved but you just get the impression that it won't. Ah well. We'll always be able to put a squad out.
People here were screaming for Ward to be withdrawn, while Dunne and O'Shea were woejus. I do also think Gibson should have come on instead of Green but, Jesus, he needs to get over it. He's not so good that he's entitled to feel aggrieved about anything.

01/09/2012, 8:22 PM
Obviously that is a matter of opinion and not "reality". In my opinion, Gibson is much better with the ball than Green is and, I think that it is fair to say, fans don't wince at the mere suggestion of having Gibson in midfield.

all a matter of perception and the fact that gibson played for man utd helped him in this regard. gibson constantly gives the ball away and barely tracks back and thats mainly in friendlies with no pressure on him. i have no doubt that he has ability but lacks hardcore desire

01/09/2012, 8:32 PM
all a matter of perception and the fact that gibson played for man utd helped him in this regard. gibson constantly gives the ball away and barely tracks back and thats mainly in friendlies with no pressure on him. i have no doubt that he has ability but lacks hardcore desire
Actually his passing stats are second only to James McCarthy in terms of our midfield options. I can only find stats for this season, but he's one of the most accurate passers around, and I think his stats for last season were even better.

McCarthy 90%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mccarthy
Gibson 78%: http://www.squawka.com/players/darron-gibson
Hoolahan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/wes-hoolahan
Whelan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/glenn-whelan
Pilkington 74%: http://www.squawka.com/players/anthony-pilkington
Andrews 69%: http://www.squawka.com/players/keith-andrews
McClean 68%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mcclean

edit: actually Meyler is ahead of him on 81% but has had limited game time: http://www.squawka.com/players/david-meyler

01/09/2012, 8:45 PM
Actually his passing stats are second only to James McCarthy in terms of our midfield options. I can only find stats for this season, but he's one of the most accurate passers around, and I think his stats for last season were even better.

McCarthy 90%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mccarthy
Gibson 78%: http://www.squawka.com/players/darron-gibson
Hoolahan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/wes-hoolahan
Whelan 75%: http://www.squawka.com/players/glenn-whelan
Pilkington 74%: http://www.squawka.com/players/anthony-pilkington
Andrews 69%: http://www.squawka.com/players/keith-andrews
McClean 68%: http://www.squawka.com/players/james-mcclean

edit: actually Meyler is ahead of him on 81% but has had limited game time: http://www.squawka.com/players/david-meyler

i meant for Ireland

01/09/2012, 8:59 PM
Maybe he gives the ball away a lot for Ireland because nobody is looking for it.

01/09/2012, 9:17 PM
There's obvious problems in the lines of communication between Trapattoni and the players, and this is just another example of it. Eventually we are going to reach a point and ask the question is the problem with the players or is it with the manager.

01/09/2012, 9:28 PM
gibsons replacement twitter response to being called up...

"So happy to be called into the Irish squad. Biggest moment of my career, like to thank everyone especially my Dad, Mum and Sister!"

delighted to have lads like meyler benefiting from messers like gibson pulling out

01/09/2012, 9:45 PM
There's obvious problems in the lines of communication between Trapattoni and the players, and this is just another example of it. Eventually we are going to reach a point and ask the question is the problem with the players or is it with the manager.
The players. Do you think Gary Waddock would have turned down a call-up after Italia '90? Of course not, he would have been honoured.

01/09/2012, 9:49 PM
a little surprising some people are still blaming Trapattoni for the communication problems after Duff's comments during the week

01/09/2012, 9:58 PM
a little surprising some people are still blaming Trapattoni for the communication problems after Duff's comments during the week

yes. funny we never hear of "communication problems" from players like whelan, andrews, doyle etc etc who we all know would give their right arm to be involved. where theres a will theres a way. unfortunately with some theres obviously little will

Predator
01/09/2012, 10:01 PM
As with most things, there are two sides and the right side to this saga.

I am reticent about blaming Trapattoni, but I can also see how difficulties can emerge in translation. In a relatively short space of time we've had problems between Trap and Kevin Foley, Shane Long and now Darron Gibson.

There is no clarity here at all and we are all left speculating, which rarely helps.

01/09/2012, 10:05 PM
yes. funny we never hear of "communication problems" from players like whelan, andrews, doyle etc etc who we all know would give their right arm to be involved. where theres a will theres a way. unfortunately with some theres obviously little will
Even Long. He was a bit silly with his comments after Serbia, but has he thrown his toys out? Of course not.

Murfinator
01/09/2012, 10:33 PM
gibsons replacement twitter response to being called up...

"So happy to be called into the Irish squad. Biggest moment of my career, like to thank everyone especially my Dad, Mum and Sister!"

delighted to have lads like meyler benefiting from messers like gibson pulling out

It's good to hear, for the players who view playing for Ireland as a chore instead of an honour they shouldn't declare for us in the first place.

amaccann
01/09/2012, 10:42 PM
I hate throwing blame around in these situations, but you really have to ask the question; why is it that this generation of Irish players in particular seem to have problems linking up with the squad? It's all very well trotting out the hackneyed, chest-thumping talk of playing for your country, or players being immature and whatnot, but tbh that's a lazy excuse and just ignores a bigger question - surely I'm not the only one who finds it all a bit bizarre there have been so many incidents like this.

Sure, some of it has turned out to be baseless tattle from journalists, but some of it hasn't and I honestly don't recall another period in Irish football with this constant issue of players' commitment. It doesn't seem to be a problem in other nations' squads, so why Ireland? I don't buy the notion of international football being completely devalued these days, so I can't help but wonder if Trap & his setup is somehow breeding a sense of ... casual indifference in some players; and with the best will in the world, ones patriotism only stretches so far in the face of pretty irrational snubbing.

01/09/2012, 10:46 PM
There are two players who refuse to play for Ireland, one of whom predates Trap. Casual indifference to friendly international fixtures is endemic across the football world. It's nothing to do with Trap.

Irwin3
01/09/2012, 11:44 PM
Moyes' two cents. http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2012/09/01/-gibson-has-ireland-future-

"He's not played recently and travelled to all the games including the Euros. I'm very disappointed he's not been selected and maybe he feels that way too. I think he's spoken with the manager."

But the Everton boss added: "The club always encourages players to play for their international teams. He will play again for Ireland I have no doubt about that."