View Full Version : Darron Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68

SwanVsDalton
18/11/2011, 12:30 PM
Cleverley's injured until at least Christmas so Gibson might get some game time.

Bayern Munchies
18/11/2011, 12:36 PM
Cleverley's injured until at least Christmas so Gibson might get some game time.

I hope not :p

AlaskaFox
18/11/2011, 1:00 PM
I hope not :p

You do realise this is an Ireland forum, not a Man Utd forum. 99% of us couldn't care less how Man Utd do, we just want the Irish lads to play.

18/11/2011, 2:01 PM
I watched the game last night and as the most senior player in the United team, with the experience of playing in a champions league semi final you would have expected him to stand out like a sore thumb at this level, but he didn't he wasn't even Uniteds best midfielder with Petrucci who hasn't even featured for united in any sort of game easily out shinning him and Morrison too.

I will cry if Trap brings him to the Euro's, It's bad enough having to see him at club level but at international level too it's depressing. I still don't see what trap see's in him or how he is still at United I really don't. He has the odd world class strike in him but even then it;'s about every 2 out of 10 strikes are like that. He's slow and can only pass the ball well when he's under no sort of pressure.

It was his first game of football in over 6 months.
In a nutshell.

I'm also amused to recall exactly the same criticisms being levelled at Frank Lampard at Gibson's age. One can hope!

Bayern Munchies
18/11/2011, 2:53 PM
You do realise this is an Ireland forum, not a Man Utd forum. 99% of us couldn't care less how Man Utd do, we just want the Irish lads to play.

And you do realise that I'd rather seeso,ebody who can play a bit of ball in the Irish squad ahead of Gibson like McCarthy and Meyler even Clifford instead of Darron. If he doesn't play for united then hopefully he won't get in the squad and a better player will get in there ahead of him.

AlaskaFox
18/11/2011, 3:45 PM
If he plays for Man Utd, and plays well, then he deserves to be in the squad, regardless of who is impressing on loan at Yeovil.

18/11/2011, 4:39 PM
Gibson really needs to get games under his belt and make an impression. Possible loan move in January?

Bayern Munchies
18/11/2011, 4:53 PM
If he plays for Man Utd, and plays well, then he deserves to be in the squad, regardless of who is impressing on loan at Yeovil.

That's a big if, I can't see him getting his chances with the first team even with the lack of quality in United's midfield simply because whenever he has got a chance in the team he's failed to take it the majority of the time.

18/11/2011, 5:18 PM
I think we were crying out for him at home to Slovakia and Armenia. Andrews & Whelan did well against Estonia but they are a few notches below the standard they'll be facing soon.

Bayern Munchies
18/11/2011, 5:24 PM
Fun pointless fact...Lionel Messi has more senior goals then Darron Gibson has appernces despite been the same age...

I'd love for him to prove me wrong obviously as I support both teams he plays for, but i just never see him doing enough to be at a decent enough level to make it at either side...he's not a step up from whelan or Andrews and should IMO be behind the likes of James McCarthy and Meyler in the squad like i said. IIRC he also struggled at a loan spell at Wolves a few years back when they were in the championship? and i think that's just about his level tbh. You take away the odd screamer and he doesn't have much to his game at all.

18/11/2011, 5:32 PM
I think Gibson will get a few games for United over the Christmas period, not just because he's a useful player but because Ferguson will want him fresh in other managers' mind once the window opens. There will be a few PL clubs interested in a fully fit Gibson, perhaps even Everton if they're forced to sell Rodwell.

It's a straight shoot between Gibson and McCarthy for the spare midfield spot in the final 23 (injuries notwithstanding). Like Stutts said, he (and McCarthy too) offers something a bit different which we will probably need at the Euros as we face better teams and may be forced to chase games. I think the fact that Gibson has played in a midfield 4 for United, whereas McCarthy only really has experience in a 5 for both Wigan and the underage sides, will win it for him.

liamoo11
18/11/2011, 9:14 PM
And you do realise that I'd rather seeso,ebody who can play a bit of ball in the Irish squad ahead of Gibson like McCarthy and Meyler even Clifford instead of Darron. If he doesn't play for united then hopefully he won't get in the squad and a better player will get in there ahead of him.

How often have you seen players like Meyler play?How do you know he is better than Gibson?How was Gibson good enough to sign for utd and be there young player of the year and play 60 odd games for utd. You have no idea if Meyler is better than gibson how could you he has played less than 20 games for sunderland a side with minimal media analysis compared to utd. Give Gibson a break and stop with the mindless criticism and comparisons

back of the net
19/11/2011, 2:04 AM
If he doesn't play for united then hopefully he won't get in the squad

Words fail me after reading that

Jaysus
19/11/2011, 4:01 AM
If Gibson doesn't get any first team football between now and the end of the season he shouldn't be on the plane, simple. If he does gets a loan move, it's a head to head with McCarthy, who will most likely have played regularly for Wigan.

19/11/2011, 5:09 AM
where has this Gibson fan club come from all of a sudden? He's so average its incredible (like all our midfielders to be honest). Ive never seen a player actively avoid receiving the football the way Gibson does by moving to areas he cannot receive a pass. Schoolboy stuff. Ferguson realises it, he tried to get rid of him in the summer. If he doesnt at least get into the united matchday 16 regularly between now and May then he shouldnt be brought to Polkraine. Simple as that. Same goes for McCarthy.

Bayern Munchies
19/11/2011, 9:56 AM
Indeed i didn't know darron had so many family members on foot. Like you said he actually hides behind players so he doesn't have to receive the ball at times and that just isn't good enough for a midfielder especially for a midfielder who's going to be playing international football and at a club at United. The way people are reacting to what I said you'd swear I said drop Dunne for Duffy or someone who is vitally important to this Irish set up for somebody inexperienced.

When in fact all I said was that I'd rather see Mccarthy get in the team ahead of him because at least McCarthy has a bright enough future in the game and offers us something diffrent to the likes of Whelan and Andrews in that he's got real quality on the ball. What does Gibson offer that the other two boys don't? Nothing, he scores the odd screamer out of about 10 attempts and he wastes so much possession when he gets the ball because a lot of the time he just takes a wild shot and with Ireland it's not like we dominate enough poession for him to do that.

Obviously I want to see irish players doing well, and I'd hope that Gibson would prove me wrong but the lad is 24 now and he still doesn't even have 100 senior apperences which at his age is pretty shocking. As for the poster who said he won the young player of the year one year at united, so did Oliver Gill and Sylvan Ebanks Blake if you were Irish would you have them anywhere near the Irish set up?

19/11/2011, 10:49 AM
The only thing people were criticising here was your favouring United over Ireland remark. I don't think he's as bad as he is made out to be by some. The disappointing thing about Gibson, in my opinion, is that he has not progressed in 2 years or so. When he started getting his chance in the United team he played the percentages well but seemed happy for the senior players to make all the running and play the telling passes. He's no longer the new kid on the block but still seems happy to delegate responsibility to his teammates.

That said - and this is what I was saying on the early pages of this thread - I think he is the best player we have at receiving the ball in difficult situations and protecting it. Someone on another thread posted some stats about backpasses and how UK & Irish teams had the highest % of backpasses as total passes in a game, betraying a lack of willingness of midfielders to show for the ball from defenders and shield it, something Keane excelled at. Gibson does this well, and has an effortless ability to bring others into play with simple passes.

However what frustrates me with Gibson is his lack of willingness to take responsibility, to demand the ball and to try and set the tempo. I actually think he can do it and would learn how to do it better if he was a bigger fish in a smaller pond. He needs to mature and maybe he needs someone like Moyes to get the best out of him. Expectations are lower at Everton and maybe he'd develop better there, rather than somewhere where the benchmark standard is to be among Europe's best.

Irwin3
19/11/2011, 10:54 AM
Indeed i didn't know darron had so many family members on foot. Like you said he actually hides behind players so he doesn't have to receive the ball at times and that just isn't good enough for a midfielder especially for a midfielder who's going to be playing international football and at a club at United. The way people are reacting to what I said you'd swear I said drop Dunne for Duffy or someone who is vitally important to this Irish set up for somebody inexperienced.

When in fact all I said was that I'd rather see Mccarthy get in the team ahead of him because at least McCarthy has a bright enough future in the game and offers us something diffrent to the likes of Whelan and Andrews in that he's got real quality on the ball. What does Gibson offer that the other two boys don't? Nothing, he scores the odd screamer out of about 10 attempts and he wastes so much possession when he gets the ball because a lot of the time he just takes a wild shot and with Ireland it's not like we dominate enough poession for him to do that.

Obviously I want to see irish players doing well, and I'd hope that Gibson would prove me wrong but the lad is 24 now and he still doesn't even have 100 senior apperences which at his age is pretty shocking. As for the poster who said he won the young player of the year one year at united, so did Oliver Gill and Sylvan Ebanks Blake if you were Irish would you have them anywhere near the Irish set up?

You have a clear anti-Gibson agenda. We get it. You don't like him but why are you making rubbish up. Last season Gibson had the third best possession retention for United after Scholes and Carrick. He started 14 games and made 6 sub appearances from which he got 4 assists and 2 goals. I'll think you'll find that's a pretty good rate for an irregularly used squad player. His career record for Utd is 35(23) appearances and 10 goals. This is a better strikerate than just about all of their midfielders and equates to a goal every 337 minutes that he has played for them.

Also he has 115 senior club appearances. His last game for Utd was against Schalke in May. Maybe you need a rewatch to see some of the positive things he can do?

19/11/2011, 10:57 AM
Are you his brother or something? Only a family member can say anything constructive about Gibson.

Irwin3
19/11/2011, 11:00 AM
Just stating some facts. Some of the things he stated were pure BS and anything but constructive.

19/11/2011, 11:02 AM
Just joking, referring to BM's remark earlier. I'm "qualified positive" about Gibson.

Bayern Munchies
19/11/2011, 11:07 AM
Just to clear something up, Ireland comes before united for me, always has and always will. My comment could have been made out to make it look the other way but what I meant by it was that if he doesn't get game time at United players who IMO should and could get in the squad ahead of him for Ireland which is better for Ireland.

I've also got nothing against Gibson, I just don't rate him as a player and the fact that he had the chance to go to Sunderland and really push on in his career when he's at the age where he should be getting first team football but didn't go because the money wasn't good enough. He's a big time charlie without ever doing anything to deserve him thinking that. Someone brought up his goals, yeah he's bound to score a few when he's taking 5 shots a game at least...There was one game against West Ham he took two shots from close to the half way line...TWO...when they weren't even on really and he could have easily have picked out a team mate.

Irwin3
19/11/2011, 11:08 AM
Over my head. The second and third paragraphs of that post stood out more to me. Darron does have a large family, right?

Irwin3
19/11/2011, 11:18 AM
Just to clear something up, Ireland comes before united for me, always has and always will. My comment could have been made out to make it look the other way but what I meant by it was that if he doesn't get game time at United players who IMO should and could get in the squad ahead of him for Ireland which is better for Ireland.

I've also got nothing against Gibson, I just don't rate him as a player and the fact that he had the chance to go to Sunderland and really push on in his career when he's at the age where he should be getting first team football but didn't go because the money wasn't good enough. He's a big time charlie without ever doing anything to deserve him thinking that. Someone brought up his goals, yeah he's bound to score a few when he's taking 5 shots a game at least...There was one game against West Ham he took two shots from close to the half way line...TWO...when they weren't even on really and he could have easily have picked out a team mate.

Lord help me. You're still making stuff up. I remember that game well and I think it was one of his better ones. He played in a midfield two with Carrick and he actually had to show for the ball alot and get involved. It was the game that he had his highest amount of passes in (67/79) and was one of Utd's better away performances of the season barring Vidic and Evra hitting the self destruct button. He had 4 shots in that game. The 2 furthest out were in the 25-30 yard range. One of these was a freekick. The other 2 were just outside the box and just inside the box (should have scored).

Maybe your memory is bad or are you just seeing what you want to see?

19/11/2011, 11:57 AM
There was one game against West Ham he took two shots from close to the half way line...TWO...when they weren't even on really and he could have easily have picked out a team mate.
Are you talking about the game in Upton Park last season?
Here's the guardian chalkboard - http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/chalkboards/create - summary of his shots in that game
https://sites.google.com/site/tetsujin1979/Home/gibsonVSWestHam-Shots.jpg
So one from inside the penalty area, and three from midway between the halfway line and the penalty area, two of which were blocked

Incidentally, his passes in that game were as follows
https://sites.google.com/site/tetsujin1979/Home/gibsonVSWestHam-Passes.jpg
Seems the majority were short, successful and in the opponents half, or around the centre circle

19/11/2011, 2:16 PM
Incidentally, his passes in that game were as follows
https://sites.google.com/site/tetsujin1979/Home/gibsonVSWestHam-Passes.jpg
Seems the majority were short, successful and in the opponents half, or around the centre circle

no, no, no, these were his shots, the first one was his passes.......

Bayern Munchies
19/11/2011, 2:39 PM
Sorry for critiscing Darron, I'm sure he will go on and lead us to Euro glory ...Hail King Gibson, savior of Irish football

19/11/2011, 3:43 PM
Sorry for critiscing Darron, I'm sure he will go on and lead us to Euro glory ...Hail King Gibson, savior of Irish footballWe're all aware of Gibson's deficiencies, but the things you criticised him for didn't actually happen, and you got called on it.

19/11/2011, 5:28 PM
Well said Tets. Grow up Munchie.

liamoo11
19/11/2011, 7:53 PM
Sorry for critiscing Darron, I'm sure he will go on and lead us to Euro glory ...Hail King Gibson, savior of Irish football

Posters like you will be on here in a few years saying how hopeless Meyler/Clifford/Brady/McCarthy/Hendrick are when they turn out to be excellent footballers but not a cross between Pele and xavi. Go back to playing pro evolution with barcelona where every pass can go to messi s feet cause thats what football really is all about!

SwanVsDalton
19/11/2011, 11:29 PM
I've never seen someone make such a hash of criticising Darron Gibson. I mean it isn't that hard...

Most people are fairly disappointed in his lack of progress and lack of impact in games but Stutts said it well - he's displayed some skills in his game our others midfielders don't have. He plays quick, accurate ball when he's in the mood and can open the game up very well, bringing other players into the game. He's one of the few players in our midfield who first instinct is not to pass the ball backwards. He also does look for the ball, often dropping deep (far more than Whelan or Andrews) to receive it from Given or the centre backs, although I'd agree he could more visible further up the pitch. But that could be equally said of our other centre mid's.

It's not his lack of ability that's the problem, but his lack of consistency. Not so uncommon with young players although I'd agree with anyone who'd suggest Gibson is running out of time. He's needs to pull his finger out, get a move and take responsibility. I'd hope the lack of football at Utd and the prospect of missing out on the Euros will give him the kick he needs.

Olé Olé
20/11/2011, 12:08 AM
I remember watching United v Schalke in the Champions League thinking why can't Gibson be like this every week: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjWuNErpcM8&feature=related

U (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjWuNErpcM8&feature=related)nfortunately he didn't push on as I would have liked and it wasn't his watershed moment. But something has to give and the point about the Euro's giving him a kick up the arse is a valid point and I hope it materializes.

Also, when it comes down to it I think Trap will take Gibson to the Euro's ahead of McCarthy. Even if it's only championship games Gibson gets under his belt between now and then, he offers Trap something closer to his template than McCarthy does and Trap's selection of Gibson during his tenure reflects as much.

Christ though it's a bit sad to think he's 24. I remember a screamer he scored in an under 19 game for Ireland in Turner's Cross and the way he bossed the game. Stokes and Billy Clarke looked sharp up front and Johnny Hayes looked menacing on the wing that day too.

20/11/2011, 3:09 AM
where has this Gibson fan club come from all of a sudden? He's so average its incredible (like all our midfielders to be honest). Ive never seen a player actively avoid receiving the football the way Gibson does by moving to areas he cannot receive a pass. Schoolboy stuff. Ferguson realises it, he tried to get rid of him in the summer. If he doesnt at least get into the united matchday 16 regularly between now and May then he shouldnt be brought to Polkraine. Simple as that. Same goes for McCarthy.
Do you watch the Premier League? The vast majority of English-trained midfielders do exactly that - it's what they're told to do. It's a serious defect in his game and he badly needs to fix it but he's hardly the only one.

20/11/2011, 3:16 AM
did I say hes the only one? This is a thread about Gibson FFS. He is guilty of avoiding the pass and he does it more than most in the League. No other Man Utd player is guilty of it as much as Gibson - NONE.
Show me where managers have said they tell their midfielders to avoid the ball please?

20/11/2011, 3:25 AM
You said you'd never seen a player do it to the extent Gibson does!

Don't get me wrong, he has to fix it to be a quality player, but he's better than most. Manchester United midfielders are better than most.

Bayern Munchies
20/11/2011, 12:22 PM
Posters like you will be on here in a few years saying how hopeless Meyler/Clifford/Brady/McCarthy/Hendrick are when they turn out to be excellent footballers but not a cross between Pele and xavi. Go back to playing pro evolution with barcelona where every pass can go to messi s feet cause thats what football really is all about!

Posters like me? This is probably the first post you've seen that I've made? Where did I say I expect him to be the next Xavi and for a matter of fact the reason I don't want him to play is so that the likes of McCarthy and Clifford get a chance so stop talking out of your arse like a good lad.

The reason I critsice him is because he deserves it, he's 24 now and should be really progressing as a player but he's not and he won't progress any further the longer he stays at United, and even if he does move he won't progress much further IMO anyway. He's an average player that doesn't really offer anything. Like I said he should have shone in that game against Wigan reserves during the week but he didn't...I know it was his first game in a few months but it was also the young l;ad beside him in the middle only about 5th game in a year too and he easily outshone him.

He goes hiding and missing far too much in games. Glen Whelan and Andrews offer a lot more and they're hardly world beaters either tbh but you don't see me bashing them because they are always gaurnteed to put in a good shift where as you're not even gaurnteed that with Gibson.

20/11/2011, 12:46 PM
What's obvious to me and probably to a lot of other people is that Gibson is a medium fish in a big pond. He's arguably a victim of his own success.

Had he taken a route to professional football similiar to the likes of kinsella and Holland, he could of arguably had a equally effective career.

That being said, he's still young enough to redeem himself. But for God's sake, he needs to bite the bullet and get out of united into a smaller pond.

liamoo11
20/11/2011, 12:47 PM
Posters like you always want the next big thing and then lose the head when they dont turn out to be worldbeaters. Will Clifford break into chelsea s first team squad like Darron did at Utd? Will a top four side come in and buy Mccarthy or Meyler who you seem so sure are better than Darron? I hope all those things do happen cause I think they are excellent footballers but so is Gibson. Gibson turned down far more money at sunderland than he was on at utd cause he thought he could break through at utd and build on his champleague semi final display from last year. It was a bad decision but at least he showed ambition but hopefully now he accepts he needs to get away. Munchie lets have a hug and be friends u played with robbie brady I played with liam Brady we're peas in a pod!

20/11/2011, 1:01 PM
I played with liam Brady we're peas in a pod!
Liam O'Brien! How ya doing oul shtock.

Bayern Munchies
20/11/2011, 1:06 PM
Posters like you always want the next big thing and then lose the head when they dont turn out to be worldbeaters. Will Clifford break into chelsea s first team squad like Darron did at Utd? Will a top four side come in and buy Mccarthy or Meyler who you seem so sure are better than Darron? I hope all those things do happen cause I think they are excellent footballers but so is Gibson. Gibson turned down far more money at sunderland than he was on at utd cause he thought he could break through at utd and build on his champleague semi final display from last year. It was a bad decision but at least he showed ambition but hopefully now he accepts he needs to get away. Munchie lets have a hug and be friends u played with robbie brady I played with liam Brady we're peas in a pod!

Thing is though been at United or a big club like that doesn't always mean you're a good player, look at liam Miller for example...decent at best(He looked class at Celtic granted) but look where he is now, David Bellion is another example...Paul McShane was also at United ;). If Clifford doesn't make it at Chelsea it doesn't suddenly mean I won't rate him, I rate players on what I've seen of them.

As for the story about turning down more money at Sunderland to have a go at united, I heard the deal broke down because they couldn't match what he wanted in terms of money? He does need to get away from United and play week in week out, , maybe then he will really come on leaps and bounds but klike I said in MY OPINION, even if he does move he won't improve that much...Of course I hope I'm wrong because that would be great for ireland which is the main thing but I just can't see it happening. He really does need to be playing week in week out at his age though.

As for playing with Robbie brady I never actually played with him, just in the same Kennedy Cup tournament :p So you win this round Liamoo...p.s any chance of Liam brady's autograph ;)

21/11/2011, 12:43 AM
As for the story about turning down more money at Sunderland to have a go at united, I heard the deal broke down because they couldn't match what he wanted in terms of money?
Ferguson says Sunderland pulled the plug at the last moment, possibly because he had an injury at the time.

SwanVsDalton
21/11/2011, 12:47 AM
Ferguson says Sunderland pulled the plug at the last moment, possibly because he had an injury at the time.

Indeed he was quite forthright in defending Darron. (http://www.football.co.uk/manchester_united/sir_alex_ferguson_accuses_sunderland_over_darron_g ibson_move_rss1730559.shtml)

Open to argument whether what he's saying's true or whether he's defending the reputation of player he's trying to offload. I think somewhere in the middle's more likely.

Bayern Munchies
22/11/2011, 1:39 PM
Well you'll all be glad to here that my favourite player is back in the Man United provisional squad for the game against Benfica tonight. ;) Hopefully if he gets on he can shut up all you doubters

Irwin3
22/11/2011, 5:47 PM
On the bench tonight Vs. Benfica.

Bayern Munchies
22/11/2011, 5:59 PM
Was just going to say that...Been completely honest I'm disappointed he's made the bench ahead of Morrsion but had he made it onto the bench ahead of Park I'd have been happy. Hopefully he'll show me what he can do tonight if he gets on though and can shut me up...

Irwin3
22/11/2011, 6:02 PM
How would having Morrison on the bench help Ireland?

Bayern Munchies
22/11/2011, 6:11 PM
How would having Morrison on the bench help Ireland?

Don't you know he's Clinton's younger brother bruv, well sick init ;)...Like i said it's personally my opinion becuase I support United too and in the long run Morrison will offer more to United then Gibson will offer to Ireland. Now if it was Robbie Brady in Gibsons position or another young Irish player who I think will have a huge impact in his Ireland carear in the future i'd be ecstatic by the descion for them to be in the squad ahead of Morrison.

Anyway I've already explained all this before. Let's just wait and see if he get's on and how he does if he does get on shall we?

AlaskaFox
22/11/2011, 6:12 PM
Well you'll all be glad to here that my favourite player is back in the Man United provisional squad for the game against Benfica tonight. ;) Hopefully if he gets on he can shut up all you doubters

You're his biggest doubter...

Irwin3
22/11/2011, 6:13 PM
Like someone earlier said, I think you're in the wrong forum.

AlaskaFox
22/11/2011, 6:14 PM
Like someone earlier said, I think you're in the wrong forum.

The LoI avatar really helps.