View Full Version : Darron Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68

Crosby87
28/08/2009, 11:01 PM
Wow neat.
I mean honestly, that is exciting, the Man U manager saying he has "improved at a fantastic rate of knots"
Good News. We can all agree on that. Good job, Gibson.

29/08/2009, 12:48 AM
i agree Crosby but he's done this before only to sell the player shortly after. Not saying hes not being genuine just be wary of ANYTHING the red faced scot says...

SuperDave
29/08/2009, 3:40 AM
actually, for whoever said it, the ronaldo fee was not in installments and united got the whole whack of cash all at once

Fergie's Son
29/08/2009, 8:37 PM
He wasn't even on the bench for the debacle at Old Trafford.

Umberside
29/08/2009, 8:52 PM
He wasn't even on the bench for the debacle at Old Trafford.

Not surprising. Why would he be on the bench for every match at a club like Man Utd? Not even Rooney makes the bench every game for United.

Colbert Report
29/08/2009, 9:33 PM
Wayne Rooney has started all four league matches so far for Manchester United. Nobody cares about the Carling Cup so don't bother bringing it up. Meaningful matches are EPL, FA Cup and Champions League only.

August 16 vs. Birmingham: 90 minutes, 1 goal
August 19 at Burnley : 90 minutes
August 22 vs. Wigan: 70 minutes, 2 goals
August 29 vs. Arsenal: 90 minutes, 1 goal

Fergie's Son
31/08/2009, 8:42 PM
Not surprising. Why would he be on the bench for every match at a club like Man Utd? Not even Rooney makes the bench every game for United.

He's usually sat for non-important games. Would have been nice to see Gibson on the bench for a game of magnitude.

Irish_Praha
23/09/2009, 5:42 PM
Anyone know if he's starting tonight in the Carling Cup against Wolves?

23/09/2009, 7:10 PM
he is starting.

Irish_Praha
23/09/2009, 8:02 PM
he is starting.

Good stuff.

irishfan86
23/09/2009, 9:02 PM
The commentator went on and on about him, but I wasn't too convinced.

He didn't stick out as being bad, which is probably impressive since United played the majority of the match with ten men, but the commentator was just a bit OTT with his praise in my opinion.

Manblue
23/09/2009, 9:17 PM
I think he always just seems to do enough without ever grabbing a hold of the game and bossing it, has a good strike off the ball to be fair to him,

irishfan86
23/09/2009, 9:28 PM
I think he always just seems to do enough without ever grabbing a hold of the game and bossing it, has a good strike off the ball to be fair to him,

Yeah, this is what I mean. I'm not sure if he doesn't have that extra gear elite players have, or if he's just lazy...

23/09/2009, 9:30 PM
he seems to be afraid and get the ball and dictate a game if he dosent start soon hel be playing for wolves

Buller
23/09/2009, 11:16 PM
he seems to be afraid and get the ball and dictate a game if he dosent start soon hel be playing for wolves

...if he's lucky! :o

back of the net
02/10/2009, 1:57 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5600591,00.html

"So it is going to be a real headache but it is a good one. Someone like Darron Gibson, who I think is an exceptional young player, is having to bide his time but he will get opportunities I am sure of that as the season goes on."

DeLorean
02/10/2009, 2:16 PM
He must be unreal in training.

back of the net
02/10/2009, 2:20 PM
He must be unreal in training.

LOL - in fairness i was thinking the same thing

balanced view
06/10/2009, 6:08 PM
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5614272,00.html

gibson out too. another 5 more injuries and maybe andy reid might get called up:rolleyes: (http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5614272,00.html)

LFCSixty/Eighty
13/10/2009, 8:46 AM
Just as a matter of interest, who has Trap called up to replace Darren Gibson? He replaced Steven Reid with Martin Rowlands, Caleb Folan with Noel Hunt, I haven't heard if he has replaced anyone for Darren Gibson.

13/10/2009, 9:18 AM
think the squad was already 27 players, and he didn't think Gibson needed to be replaced with Miller, Whelan, Rowlands and Andrews available to him.

Colbert Report
27/10/2009, 7:12 PM
He must still be recovering from his previous "groin problem". Not even on the bench for Manchester United away to Barnsley in the Carling Cup today.

co. down green
27/10/2009, 8:39 PM
He must still be recovering from his previous "groin problem". Not even on the bench for Manchester United away to Barnsley in the Carling Cup today.

Failed a late fitness test

The Fly
24/11/2009, 5:27 PM
Gibson will start for United tomorrow evening in the Champions League game against Besiktas.

Irish_Praha
24/11/2009, 10:01 PM
Gibson will start for United tomorrow evening in the Champions League game against Besiktas.

Good stuff

24/11/2009, 11:34 PM
I'd like to see a comparison between Gibson and Fletcher at the same age.

irishfan86
24/11/2009, 11:53 PM
I'd like to see a comparison between Gibson and Fletcher at the same age.

In fairness I think they're totally different players though.

Fletcher is a real workmanlike player (still talented), while Gibson seems to have all the natural talent in the world but doesn't seem to have the work ethic or mental ability to really stamp his foot down and control a game.

I realize he is still young, and hasn't got a good run of games at central midfield, but those are my thoughts on Gibson so far.

25/11/2009, 8:52 PM
Gibson was tidy enough tonight, looked more of a player than Carrick who replaced him but I don't know if thats saying a lot.

Rustu, our old nemesis from 10 years ago ended up in goals for the Turks.

Irish_Praha
25/11/2009, 8:58 PM
Gibson was tidy enough tonight, looked more of a player than Carrick who replaced him but I don't know if thats saying a lot.

That's 10 years ago now, my God! :eek:

Predator
25/11/2009, 9:16 PM
Dunphy, Giles and Whelan gave Gibby a hard time tonight. He wasn't the worst player on that pitch!

Drumcondra 69er
25/11/2009, 9:16 PM

You're joking me Geysir, he was total gash, vey disappointing performance.

25/11/2009, 9:35 PM
Whatever your opinion, he was a lot less gash than Carrick.

Does Carrick play much for Man U?

25/11/2009, 9:37 PM
I thought he was poor myself. Poor shot-taking (which he's supposed to be good at), and not as tidy with his passing as he could have been at times.

Yard of Pace
25/11/2009, 9:45 PM
Watched Gibson a few times now and I must admit I don't really know what Trap and Fergie see in him. I do think he could be very good when he's older but he's certainly not ready for matches like last week or tonight, from what I've seen. He should really be out on loan.

(Seething he was in the squad for last week and had to be brought on, to be honest, but I don't want to talk about that anymore.)

Predator
25/11/2009, 10:12 PM
The RTÉ panel made the point that he's 22 and should be knocking on the door of a regular first team place by now if he's good enough. They also said he shouldn't be in the Ireland squad. I agree to an extent, but I think he needs to work harder. Sometimes his on-pitch attitude reminds me of Paddy McCourt. The likes of O'Shea is only truly cementing a place at Old Trafford now and Fletcher is coming of age at 25. RE the Ireland squad - there are plenty of people who maybe shouldn't be there and I don't think Gibson's the worst! He's certainly got potential.

He had a couple of woeful shots and gave the ball away, but he did make several good interceptions, some good passes and on one occasion carried the ball from deep inside his own half to the opposition's box. Carrick was equally poor, if not worse and he won't be subject to the criticism that Gibson is.

Another thing to consider is that the team around Gibson was very very poor and perhaps Gibson should have shown a bit of leadership as one of the more senior players (Neville and Vidic excluded). There was terrible movement up front and on the wings and Anderson offered nothing from midfield either. I would want to see him playing regularly before I would condemn him as the RTÉ panel did tonight.

25/11/2009, 10:18 PM
well what age did whelan, the two hunts, lawrence,folan and andrews make their ireland debuts lads?? hes only a spring chicken compared to them?
still wish he looked a bit more bothered when playing thou...
potential is there its up to him wether he becomes a darren fletcher or a liam miller(even thou i'm glad to se things are improving at hibs)

Yard of Pace
25/11/2009, 10:18 PM
Interestingly, in the Guardian's match report, Daniel Taylor, a noted United-watcher, opines that Gibson would be a regular in most other Premiership teams.

He obviously sees something.

25/11/2009, 10:31 PM
I would share the view of Predator except that Carrick was worse.
I don't know if I mentioned that before.

I would only begin to sound like Owls Fan if I went on about the rte panel's ability to be objective. To claim that Trap would ignore his own decades of experience and include Gibson in the squad solely on the word of Ferguson, does take the panel biscuit award of the week.

MeathDrog
25/11/2009, 11:46 PM
He just doesn't have it. Wes Brown syndrome. If he didn't play for United, there would be no chance he would get a call up.

Emmet7
25/11/2009, 11:47 PM
A fringe player at Man Utd is probably the equivalent of being the first name on the team sheet at most other premiership clubs. The starting players at Man Utd are each worth tens of millions of Euro, so it's much more difficult to be knocking on the door of the first 11 at Old Trafford than anywhere else.

Giles is right about the catch 22 situation. He can't get in the team because there are so many good midfielders at Man Utd, and you need experience and gametime to get good.

Players like Carrick built their careers at Spurs, as did Ronaldo in Portugal and a lot of other famous Man Utd players past and present, built their career and reputation at lesser top flight clubs.

I know Gibson was out on loan at Grimsby, but again that's because of the talent at Utd.

He might have been better off joining a lesser premier league club, getting lots of first team action and building his experience and reputation. Being a fringe player at Utd is a thankless task.

Roy Keane is a good example of how to build a career. Join a lesser premier league team, get tons of experience and then move onto a bigger club. Gibson is never going to play 35-40 games a season at Old Trafford as it stands.

26/11/2009, 1:25 AM
A fringe player at Man Utd is probably the equivalent of being the first name on the team sheet at most other premiership clubs.

Its really not though. The majority of them end up in Championship and below.

Now thats still a decent level, but no need to hype the lad up.

ofjames
26/11/2009, 1:27 AM
it was actually antwerp and wolves he was on loan to emmet

i have the same reservations about him but i really hope that fergie is right and he turns out to be a really good player for both united and ireland

i think john o shea is really great by the way! not that that has anything to do with this discussion tho!

Strongbow10
26/11/2009, 1:49 AM
it was actually antwerp and wolves he was on loan to emmet

i have the same reservations about him but i really hope that fergie is right and he turns out to be a really good player for both united and ireland

i think john o shea is really great by the way! not that that has anything to do with this discussion tho!

He got first team football at Wolves but wasn't really impressive, but this was mainly due to Mick playing him in a wide position more often than not. He wasn't bad but he didn't really shine either, but he was playing out of position.

I think its important he moves to another premierleague side on loan who will play him consistently in the middle of midfield. Teams like Burnley, Wigan, Hull, Blackburn or Pompet would be a good move for him until the end of the season imo.

26/11/2009, 8:13 AM
I always get the impression that he is playing well within himself. At times last night when he actually went forward at pace, he looked impressive. Unfortunately he is often too content to just sit and play the ball back to his defenders. In other words I wish he would get stuck in a bit more. Still have hopes for him though.

26/11/2009, 8:53 AM
Agree with Drummerboy. Gibson is a tidy footballer but he too often seems content to link play rather than look for openings and the more risky/positive pass. It has has been said before but it still rings true; he needs to be more assertive on the ball to move his career forward.

26/11/2009, 9:06 AM
The RTÉ panel made the point that he's 22 and should be knocking on the door of a regular first team place by now if he's good enough. They also said he shouldn't be in the Ireland squad. It.

Your case is destroyed once you start quoting "The RTÉ panel". They have an agenda (shock horror :eek:). They started off the discussion by saying Andy Reid should be in the team instead of him and were setting up Gibson for a fall. This is their hobby horse and if and when Reid gets back in, there will be another hobby horse.

Gibson is a reasonable player. WOn't set the world on fire but would probably make most Championship and many lower Premiership sides (i.e. he's an Irish international ;)).

26/11/2009, 9:17 AM
Gibson is a reasonable player. WOn't set the world on fire but would probably make most Championship and many lower Premiership sides (i.e. he's an Irish international ;)).

Well Gary Neville said hes def good enough to play for ireland ..... :rolleyes:

Another cringe TO'D interview. Up there with the Van der Sar one around the time of JOSHs bday last year if any of ye remember that one.

carloz
26/11/2009, 9:49 AM
I really think there is something about him. If he was given an extended run in the team then I am sure he would prove this. He wasn't great last night but being beside Anderson really didn't help him. Anderson was woeful

smasher
26/11/2009, 9:57 AM
One of the 'ugly sisters' reckoned he's good enough for Ireland midfield but will need to work harder to stay in Utd team.

kingdom hoop
26/11/2009, 10:05 AM
Watched him fairly closely last night, thought he was reasonable and better than most have said. 5.7/10. At least he showed glimpses of urgency, but another "reserved" performance interspersed with good attacking passing and the odd misplaced one.