View Full Version : Darron Gibson
Oh yeah he was the complete fall-guy, an easy target. Interesting how things have turned now - the more clued in fans would have Green over Whelan in a heartbeat.
Christ...that sort of choice is like "death or exile"... :D
07/06/2013, 3:00 PM
Christ...that sort of choice is like "death or exile"... :D
Hobson or Green?
07/06/2013, 3:00 PM
I didn't actually realise the Cyprus game was so long ago, but my general impression of Gibson is that he doesn't impose himself for Ireland. But, like I said, he doesn't exactly go out of his way to appear in a green shirt.
No, of course Whelan wouldn't have been as effective as Hoolahan as Hoolahan is better at football, but I think it's stupidly simplistic to credit him alone with setting the tempo. McCarthy was just as impressive beside him and I thought Robbie helped link the play up a lot better too. There was an overall shift in mentality from the 11 men on the pitch and Hoolahan was only a cog in the machine.
And I'll have to respectfully disagree about Andy Reid. He is and was a limited player with a lovely left foot, more Matty Taylor than David Beckham.
Irwin3
07/06/2013, 3:04 PM
Matty Taylor would've been a 100 cap player for us.
DeLorean
07/06/2013, 3:13 PM
I'm convinced that Whelan is past his sell-by date
05/08
07/06/2013, 3:19 PM
Matty Taylor would've been a 100 cap player for us.
We dodged a bullet there then.
Bungle
07/06/2013, 3:29 PM
Gibson is a very good premiership player. Undoubtedly, he would add to us greatly and I would love him back in the fold. I hope he lives on his promise with Ireland and in time becomes a very good international.
However, his behaviour has been shocking and I can't blame Trap on this one. Yes, he should have seen gametime at the Euros, but so should about 6-7 other lads. Gibson's behaviour is a disgrace and if I was a new manager replacing Trap, I'd meet him face-to-face and tell him that while I would want him part of the team, if he behaved like that in the future, I wouldn't cap him. I get the impression Gibbo is quite a precious individual.
CraftyToePoke
07/06/2013, 3:46 PM
Yes, he should have seen gametime at the Euros, but so should about 6-7 other lads.
Was it the Euros, or was it the post Euros friendly when James McCarthy got the nod to start next to Whelan that proved the tipping point though?
I could be wrong there.
Closed Account 2
07/06/2013, 3:47 PM
In 2011/12 I would have had Keith Fahey ahead of Gibson as the reserve midfielder. Andrews and Whelan were the established central midfielders and the onus was on other players to displace them. When Fahey played for us in tense away games (Yerevan, Zlina) he generally did well playing solidly, scoring some important goals and setting up chances. Sadly he had injuries and personal problems and his career has dimmed (to the point where he now has no club), but prior to Euro 2012 (Fahey got injured at the last minute) I would say Gibson was behind him as well as the incumbents.
07/06/2013, 4:11 PM
Was it the Euros, or was it the post Euros friendly when James McCarthy got the nod to start next to Whelan that proved the tipping point though?
I could be wrong there.
Gibson was injured for the Serbia game, or perhaps was already starting his exile.
CraftyToePoke
07/06/2013, 4:29 PM
Gibson was injured for the Serbia game, or perhaps was already starting his exile.
Well, looking back you'd wonder now. I think the latter being spun maybe. Cant recall the exact sequence of events, he was called to the original squad or not ?
07/06/2013, 4:32 PM
Well, looking back you'd wonder now. I think the latter being spun maybe. Cant recall the exact sequence of events, he was called to the original squad or not ?
He was and then withdrew, though it was a full week before the game and he played for Everton three days later: http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/2012/08/11/injured-gibson-out
Hoolahan was called up but also picked up an injury.
CraftyToePoke
07/06/2013, 4:34 PM
He was and then withdrew, though it was a full week before the game and he played for Everton three days later.
Do you know if he joined up with the squad at all?
07/06/2013, 4:39 PM
No, they didn't meet up until the 12th and Gibson withdrew on the 10th.
Irwin3
10/06/2013, 2:53 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gv2mNplbjds
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 12:34 AM
The, er, 'latest'.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=220738424748126&set=gm.464635673633928&type=1&theater
Sullivinho
20/08/2013, 2:12 AM
"This content is currently unavailable"
I presume 'this content' is Gibson's Facebook username (it's spelled 'discontent', Darron) and that's an international status update?
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 2:35 AM
Ah, you have to be a member of this group to view?
http://www.facebook.com/groups/202956613135170/?bookmark_t=group
Sullivinho
20/08/2013, 3:06 AM
As Junior might say: "Just someone post the fcuking pic. ta."
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 8:31 AM
I would do if someone explained how...but the picture's (news clipping) taken from a subscription site.
20/08/2013, 9:29 AM
type out the text and post it here?
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 9:38 AM
If you could cut and paste I would, but no way I'm typing the whole thing out.
You'll just have to join (or apply to) that group...
20/08/2013, 9:47 AM
Can you give a summary?
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 9:49 AM
Will do later, will try to C & P. From the Sun.Times if anyone can access.....
20/08/2013, 9:49 AM
If you could cut and paste I would, but no way I'm typing the whole thing out.
You'll just have to join (or apply to) that group...
If it's a picture on facebook, right click on it and hit Copy Image Location or something similiar. Unless you're using IE.
The least you could do is either A) tell us the gist of the story B) tell us the name of the Facebook group?
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 9:57 AM
There's a link to the group JD, 'Republic of Ireland'...
Sh*t, that works...
Thanks.
http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/551059_220738424748126_1843255056_n.jpg
Eminence Grise
20/08/2013, 10:34 AM
Dear Trap,
Phones are wonderful gadgets - as well as playing Angry Birds, and texting, you can actually talk to somebody using one. Try it sometime: you might be surprised at the results.
Yours despairingly,
EG
PS, I'm sure that nice Manuela would be willing to help on a conference call. Or you could send him an email, or a strongly worded letter. Poke him, follow him on twitter ... anything at all.
IsMiseSean
20/08/2013, 12:26 PM
Dear Darron,
Cop on and stop being so precious...
Regards,
Sean
ArdeeBhoy
20/08/2013, 10:36 PM
They're as bad as each other, in my book...
Irwin3
12/09/2013, 11:45 AM
After having a look at Gibson's tweet from yesterday (not the most dignified perhaps, but I can understand the relief he must have felt), I came upon this one from one @phillyrussell (https://twitter.com/phillyrussell):
@Ciaran_O (https://twitter.com/Ciaran_O) @D_gibson4 (https://twitter.com/D_gibson4) d story of that hotel incident after the Italy game should really be public knowledge to Irish footy fans. #fullof**** (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23fullof****&src=hash)
Anyone know what he's referring to?
DannyInvincible
12/09/2013, 11:52 AM
Did Trap humiliate Gibson in front of the squad by calling him fat or something, or was that after the Spain game?
Irwin3
12/09/2013, 12:12 PM
Yeah, I'd only heard about a confrontation after the Spain game. This guy mentions after the Italy game but then doesn't state what the actual incident was. Curious.
NeverFeltBetter
12/09/2013, 1:16 PM
It was well know that Gibson was annoyed seeing Paul Green sent on ahead of him anyway.
Gibson's had a mixed record with Ireland. I do think Trap treated him poorly (if allegations that he questioned his weight in front of the team are true, thats just moronic behavior from a manager) but Gibson hardly made himself sympathetic after the Euros.
If he wants back in under a new manager, great. But his attitude would need changing.
SwanVsDalton
12/09/2013, 1:30 PM
If the manager had disparaged Gibson's weight in front of the team (not saying he didn't), I'd have thought the loyalty of the players at the Euros and the FAI to Trap would've been severely tested. Plus it would be an open secret in the press.
As it is, it appears the players who Trap liked, loved him back - and those who were out in the cold didn't. No surprise. Meanwhile Delaney said yesterday the FAI never had any concerns about fall-outs, or major incidents of this kind, but wanted Trap to better his visibility and communications.
Also the media (Malone, O'Raghaillaigh, McDonnell et al) have largely reported the Gibson spat with, if anything, no sympathy to Darron.
Doesn't add up to much to me. If words were said (every possibility) their meaning and context were likely didn't warrant the outrage provoked in the player.
Whenever Gibson comes up it's always worth underlining - just two years ago he was the kind of selection held up as an example of Trap being a muppet. Would he be at Everton without the caps and encouragement of the Italian? Debatable.
Yard of Pace
12/09/2013, 1:40 PM
I always like to mention that Gibson subsequently acknowledged in a Sunday Times interview that Trap was probably right with his comments about moving away from Man U and to go somewhere like Stoke. I was impressed by that.
NeverFeltBetter
12/09/2013, 1:42 PM
Well, it wasn't like that was some stunning piece of insight. A player like Gibson would always have struggled to make a permanent first team place in the United set-up. Its like Cleverly's role there right now.
Yard of Pace
12/09/2013, 2:14 PM
Well, it wasn't like that was some stunning piece of insight. A player like Gibson would always have struggled to make a permanent first team place in the United set-up. Its like Cleverly's role there right now.
The point I was making was that he threw a strop when Trap suggested he move and then he subsequently admitted he was wrong. Which shows me, anyway, that he has some sort of maturity, at least.
DeLorean
12/09/2013, 2:31 PM
After having a look at Gibson's tweet from yesterday (not the most dignified perhaps, but I can understand the relief he must have felt)
He should have felt that relief every time he was called up to the squad. His tweet suggests to me he hasn't matured too much during his exile.
That said, he is obviously more comfortable on the ball than the likes of Whelan and Green so presumably he would be a useful addition. What if we get Roy Keane as manager though, surely he'll hurt Darron's feelings at some stage or another!
Irwin3
12/09/2013, 2:51 PM
He should have felt that relief every time he was called up to the squad. His tweet suggests to me he hasn't matured too much during his exile.
That said, he is obviously more comfortable on the ball than the likes of Whelan and Green so presumably he would be a useful addition. What if we get Roy Keane as manager though, surely he'll hurt Darron's feelings at some stage or another!
Still playing that same old tune.
Btw, Keane's always been very complimentary to Gibson on the few occasions his name has come up.
DeLorean
12/09/2013, 2:58 PM
They do have a bit in common I guess
Irwin3
12/09/2013, 3:12 PM
They do have a bit in common I guess
True.
- Both played for Man Utd
- Both played for Ireland
- Both good cm players
- Both PL winners
- Both 'outstanding' in a CL semi-final
12/09/2013, 3:57 PM
Gibson does look a bit fa. .... on the heavy side, for a CM.
DannyInvincible
12/09/2013, 4:29 PM
Well, it wasn't like that was some stunning piece of insight.
Aye, but our Darron's a thran b*stard.
He might have a bit of respect for odds-on favourite Martin O'Neill; O'Neill being a Derry and former St. Columb's College man. Gibson is a former St. Columb's boy himself, of course.
13/09/2013, 4:30 PM
Gibson does look a bit fa. .... on the heavy side, for a CM.
According the internet he is 90kg, that's 14 stones 2 lbs it also says 6 foot so that puts him into the obese category
That is a lot of weight to be lugging around a football pitch.
You would not want him and the former Andy Reid sitting on the same side of a plane
13/09/2013, 4:36 PM
14 stone does not put him in the obese category, and even if it did BMI is a fairly useless statistic for athletes.
13/09/2013, 9:44 PM
My BMI makes me a fraction off obese. Some of you know me and whatever else you might call me, I suspect you wouldn't say fat.
jinxy lilywhite
13/09/2013, 10:09 PM
doesn't muscle weigh more than fat. most fitness experts say that the bmi is a load of shyte
NeverFeltBetter
13/09/2013, 10:29 PM
I always roll my eyes when someone mentions a player being "fat". Rooney, Ronaldo the first, Denis Behan, whoever.
13/09/2013, 11:19 PM
Gibson isn't fat, he just looks a bit on the heavy side. I thought that was pretty obvious.
Heavy as in body builder heavy.
14/09/2013, 2:56 AM
14 stone does not put him in the obese category, and even if it did BMI is a fairly useless statistic for athletes.
Yea my mistake I meant to say overweight, still seems a fair bit of weight for a midfielder, no wonder he likes taking shots form distance, less running to do.