View Full Version : Darron Gibson
Murfinator
13/01/2012, 5:47 PM
I suppose you could play Gibson in a sort of Pirlo-esque deep-lying midfield role with a propensity to make good passes, take set-pieces and late arrivals for goal-scoring opportunities. Arteta played in this role quite a bit but moved to a more advanced and occupied the number 10 shirt. It depends on how Moyes wants to play Fellaini who is quite versatile as the role he plays in the middle. Maybe Cahill's best days are past him.
From Moyes description it sounds like he wants him to play like a Lampard/Cahill deep lying striker sort of midfielder. They've no shortage of passers and tacklers in midfield and are quite good at controlling games, what they lack in abundance is goalscorers and I suppose since Cahill stopped performing that may be the root of the problem. I'd imagine he sees him as the successor to Cahill unless the departure of Rodwell or Felliani is imminent.
French Toasht
13/01/2012, 8:04 PM
I'm not actually as optimistic about this move as everyone else here appears to be. I can't see him being an automatic starter.
Whisper it quietly but I just don't think he's that good.
A statement like that is probably tantemount to treason here, but I think he will find it hard to get a starting position and will end up vying for a position on the bench.
I hope I'm proved wrong and will gladly eat humble pie on this one if it transpires he is a success at Everton but I just can't see it.
Predator
13/01/2012, 8:31 PM
A statement like that is probably tantemount to treason here, but I think he will find it hard to get a starting position and will end up vying for a position on the bench.Everton usually play 5 men in midfield. Consider their recognised central midfielders.
Fellaini (24) - versatile, solid player. Seemed to be preferred as a DM type player.
Rodwell (20) - this kid started as a centre back but has played in midfield in all but one of the games that he has played for Everton. Allegedly attracted interest from United, et al, but I think he is quite overrated and can't see him dropping back into defence.
Cahill (32) - hard working midfielder, plenty of heart, great in the air, but he has been uninspiring for Everton this season. Fears that he's over-the-hill
Ross Barkley (18) - a talented guy, no doubt, but lacks experience.
Leon Osman (30) - skillful, versatile, but seems injury prone.
Defender-cum-Midfielders
Phil Neville (34) - experienced, versatile, not spectacular, better at RB.
Johnny Heitinga (28) - versatile, experienced, solid, prefers playing CB.
I see no reason why Gibson can't challenge these guys for a place. I just hope he's not written off after one game.
13/01/2012, 9:05 PM
I think Gibson will walk into that midfield, even more quickly than he walks around the pitch. He's something different - not Man Utd class but a very good Premier League player. He'll learn how to win the ball better than he would at Stoke too.
the bear
13/01/2012, 10:32 PM
great chance to make a name for himself, congratulations to darron for taking on the challenge, hope it goes well for him and us
gastric
13/01/2012, 10:42 PM
All of the debate on here has been about his attitude and ability. Now in a completely new environment under another good manager, Gibson has the opportunity to silence his critics or to reinforce their opinions. While this is stating the bleeding obvious, it is certainly going to be interesting to watch and I think while there will be hiccups along the way, he will silence his critics in the medium term.
13/01/2012, 11:23 PM
I think it's fitting that user gastric should make the definitive comment on Darron's hunger or lack thereof with a side-reference to hiccups.
SwanVsDalton
14/01/2012, 10:53 AM
Some views from an Everton fan board. Most seem guardedly positive.
I think anybody who signs will boost squad numbers at the very least and with prem experience that's only a good thing at the minute
id say he s average at best but if there is anyone who can turn that into solid form its DM
Great to have a kid like this on the squad. Eager to prove himself at a place where we need to prove something this season.
Calm down everyone he is light years ahead of Neville and can actually pass the ball to his team mates as well. i think this could be a gem of a signing.
And a personal favourite...
My car it is broked.
DARRONGIBSON SUPERFOOT GOAL!
Bayern Munchies
14/01/2012, 1:34 PM
Staring for Everton today. Will be watching the premiership tonight with intrest to see how he gets on, and hopefully shut his doubters like me wrong.
dr_peepee
14/01/2012, 1:56 PM
I'm hoping to see him after a good run of games outside of the glare of being a Utd player or international football were every contribution is torn down and built up to the nth degree..
Murfinator
14/01/2012, 1:56 PM
http://www.realtvsport.com/channel.php
Stream for Everton vs Villa if anyones interested. 7 Irish players involved.
14/01/2012, 2:16 PM
watching it now on vipbox. Involved a lot so far.
Murfinator
14/01/2012, 2:19 PM
He's playing deeper than I expected, very much the area he usually plays in for Ireland. His first involvement was a poor return in a series of short passes that gave away possession and broke down the attacking move. His next was a wonderful Pirlo-esque pass from deep to release Cahill who should have scored but botched it badly.
Carrigaline
14/01/2012, 2:27 PM
Darron Gibson has been very good so far.
Sullivinho
14/01/2012, 2:53 PM
I'm not an ABU or anything of the sort but there's something refreshing about seeing Gibson in a different shirt. Seems to be playing deeper to me too. Not a single rocket from him in that first half either!
Carrigaline
14/01/2012, 2:53 PM
Very solid first half from Gibson. One poor mistake at the start of the game, but he has more than made up for it with a combination of short and long passing, and robbing possession from the opposition a few times. Only criticism is that he looks a little casual at times.
Predator
14/01/2012, 2:56 PM
Only criticism is that he looks a little casual at times.That's not a criticism. Gibson has a swagger.
14/01/2012, 2:56 PM
If anyone has the FourFourTwo stats zone app - http://fourfourtwo.com/statszone/ - can you check his first half performance?
14/01/2012, 3:00 PM
watching it now on vipbox. Involved a lot so far.
He's a lot clearer on the First Row stream.
14/01/2012, 3:41 PM
He's a lot clearer on the First Row stream.
It dropped out. I gave up and watched nfl build up.
Carrigaline
14/01/2012, 3:51 PM
All over. He had a decent enough game, faded a little out of it in the second half, I suspect he might not be 100% match fit.
Predator
14/01/2012, 3:55 PM
Gibson was good today barring an early misplaced pass. Confident on the ball, showed his array with a tremendous pass to Cahill and put in a great number of tackles. I don't want to vaunt him as the messiah, but that is what he is capable of. He will be happy enough with that display I think.
14/01/2012, 3:59 PM
I suppose so, considering he was playing with new mates and no practice.
the bear
14/01/2012, 4:40 PM
Gibson was good today barring an early misplaced pass. Confident on the ball, showed his array with a tremendous pass to Cahill and put in a great number of tackles. I don't want to vaunt him as the messiah, but that is what he is capable of. He will be happy enough with that display I think.
he's not the messiah
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/27526_109849599041244_7792_n.jpg
DannyInvincible
14/01/2012, 5:09 PM
Good to hear he did OK. Great to see him bite the bullet and finally move on. Better move for him than Sunderland? Would have been a shame to have him rot for the remainder of the season in the United reserves rather than fight for a place at Euro 2012.
Came across this earlier:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dzw2CHEIAUY
Pretty funny, although probably NSFW due to language in subtitles.
14/01/2012, 5:19 PM
That's very funny.
I think in hindsight that Sunderland would have been a better move. But during the summer you would not have thought that their season have improved and maybe Gibson played it right at the time.
SwanVsDalton
14/01/2012, 5:26 PM
I think in hindsight that Sunderland would have been a better move. But during the summer you would not have thought that their season have improved and maybe Gibson played it right at the time.
Working with Moyes is as good as working with O'Neill, and although it's nice to be challenged, he's guaranteed more playing time at Everton. Moving to Sunderland at the time would've put him up against Larsson, Vaughan, Gardner and Cattermole. They're coming down with centre mid's. Think it's worked out ok.
Everton fans giving him decent reviews from this forum (http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/40890-Aston-Villa-1-1-Everton-14th-Jan-15-00/page41). Seem pleased to have found someone technically decent who can pick a pass - apparently he tackled and harried well too!
Duffy getting great reviews over there as well. McClean, Duffy and Gibson for Ireland please - legenDerry.
14/01/2012, 5:34 PM
I thought this was a good article in this morning's UK Independent, though I don't recall that many strong tackles.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/everton-put-an-end-to-gibsons-united-anguish-6289420.html
SwanVsDalton
14/01/2012, 5:58 PM
There was no disguising how miserable the dog days of a United career had become for Gibson, the man who so impressed McIlroy that he tried to persuade him to play for his native Northern Ireland, only to see the player slip through his grasp by moving directly from Northern Ireland under-16s to a place in the Republic of Ireland senior squad – a shift made possible by the 1998 Good Friday Agreement.
uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA ARARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJ9wNT21c_s
rebelmusic
14/01/2012, 6:06 PM
Watched the game, host of irish players so here's a wee review
Duffy - Utterly in the Dunne mold and will be his natural replacement. Only negative is hoofing the ball up rather than looking for the pass
Gibson - Comfortable performance but dwindled towards the end due to get tiring. Some really sweet passes. Still needs to run about a bit more though
Clarke - Comfortable aswell. Didnt do a whole lot right but not a whole lot wrong either.
Given - One unreal save. Good solid game, not at fault for the goal
Keane - I think Villa would have won if he started. Beat players on a few occasions and looked really up for it.
Dunne - Same old Dunney, strong and resolute throughout. Played some lovely passes as well
Ireland - Probably the best player on the pitch for the majority of the game. Faded a little at the end. Will be interesting to see if his mindset changes with Keano in the dressing room
SwanVsDalton
14/01/2012, 6:11 PM
As much as it might not be welcomed, Ireland's hitting a rich vein of form at the minute. About time in fairness.
Manblue
14/01/2012, 6:16 PM
Watched the game, host of irish players so here's a wee review
Duffy - Utterly in the Dunne mold and will be his natural replacement. Only negative is hoofing the ball up rather than looking for the pass
Gibson - Comfortable performance but dwindled towards the end due to get tiring. Some really sweet passes. Still needs to r
un about a bit more though
Clarke - Comfortable aswell. Didnt do a whole lot right but not a whole lot wrong either.
Given - One unreal save. Good solid game, not at fault for the goal
Keane - I think Villa would have won if he started
. Beat players on a few occasions and looked really up for it.
Dunne - Same old Dunney, strong and
resolute throughout. Played some lovely passes as well
Ireland - Probably the best player on the pitch for the majority of the game. Faded a little at the end. Will be interesting to see if his mindset changes with Keano in the dressing room
Watched it to and here was my take
Given - two decent saves but distribution especially kick outs were shocking
Dunne, reliable strong, didnt have to much to do but did it well,
Ireland - average first half but showed some class in second half alot of his runs went unseen by teammates
Keane- some decent touches but played to deep for the time he came on in the game
Duffy- impressed by him, did well
Clarke- very average, slowed game down to much, to many touches and poor positionally, natural defender. Did ok left back at end
Gibson- slow lethargic and ineffective, one decent long ball but didn't do enough for me
The Fly
14/01/2012, 7:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJ9wNT21c_s
...I had wondered what happened to Ealing Green.
Sullivinho
14/01/2012, 7:15 PM
Everton fans giving him decent reviews from this forum (http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/40890-Aston-Villa-1-1-Everton-14th-Jan-15-00/page41). Seem pleased to have found someone technically decent who can pick a pass - apparently he tackled and harried well too!
Duffy getting great reviews over there as well. McClean, Duffy and Gibson for Ireland please - legenDerry.
Gibson put in a very good tackle on Ireland and got done for it. I hope a sh!te decision doesn't put him off the concept! I'm genuinely excited about the effect a run of games might have on him. I thought Duffy looked comfortable for a fella making his (first?) league start. Very encouraging as well.
G'wan the Derrymen!
Sullivinho
14/01/2012, 7:20 PM
There was no disguising how miserable the dog days of a United career had become for Gibson, the man who so impressed McIlroy that he tried to persuade him to play for his native Northern Ireland, only to see the player slip through his grasp by moving directly from Northern Ireland under-16s to a place in the Republic of Ireland senior squad – a shift made possible by the 1998 Good Friday Agreement.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AN1mntIDwk
Irwin3
14/01/2012, 8:37 PM
This sentence is even more shocking than the last one.
He went directly from the NI U'16's to our senior squad (via our U'17, U'19, U'21 and B squads)...
CiaranR
14/01/2012, 10:17 PM
Guys, here's an excellent analysis that my buddy Conán put together which looks at all the Irish competitors in the Villa v Everton game. He goes into particular detail on Gibson. Well worth a read:
http://sc1sports.com/villa-vs-everton-irish-analysis/
Sullivinho
14/01/2012, 11:54 PM
Guys, here's an excellent analysis that my buddy Conán put together which looks at all the Irish competitors in the Villa v Everton game. He goes into particular detail on Gibson. Well worth a read
de Bárbárián?
I didn't think he'd misplaced that many passes actually, apart from a couple in the early stages. Still, not a bad outing at all for a fella lacking match fitness and probably his teammates' first names at this stage.
The piece on two-footed tackles there is a good read too, fair play.
CiaranR
15/01/2012, 12:03 AM
de Bárbárián?
I didn't think he'd misplaced that many passes actually, apart from a couple in the early stages. Still, not a bad outing at all for a fella lacking match fitness and probably his teammates' first names at this stage.
The piece on two-footed tackles there is a good read too, fair play.
Cheers!
Well, although he'd only played 2 other senior games this season, before today his pass completion rate was hovering around the 98% mark - even with the lack of match practice. That said, the two games he played were against Crystal Palace and Wigan.
Still, you're right. I'd be surprised if Darron had even trained with the lads!
ArdeeBhoy
15/01/2012, 12:21 AM
You should see what 'Jackie Fullerton' has to say about him, on Facebook...
15/01/2012, 1:43 AM
SVD...
Native?
Working with Moyes is as good as working with O'Neill, and although it's nice to be challenged, he's guaranteed more playing time at Everton. Moving to Sunderland at the time would've put him up against Larsson, Vaughan, Gardner and Cattermole. They're coming down with centre mid's. Think it's worked out ok.
I meant because Bruce was in charge at Sunderland in the summer... Gibbo probably saw no future with Steve at that stage. Sure he could be that perceptive!
SwanVsDalton
15/01/2012, 2:02 AM
The GFA obliterated my critical faculties for the rest of the piece, but yeah it's full of rubbish. That line on going straight from u-16 to seniors is just woeful.
15/01/2012, 2:10 AM
The GFA obliterated my critical faculties for the rest of the piece, but yeah it's full of rubbish. That line on going straight from u-16 to seniors is just woeful.
I still haven't gotten the urge to read the entire piece. It's best for me that way.
ArdeeBhoy
15/01/2012, 2:44 AM
Same old, same old.
back of the net
15/01/2012, 4:26 AM
You should see what 'Jackie Fullerton' has to say about him, on Facebook...
Im presuming your being funny and actually do know that jackie fullerton has no input on that FB page
seanfhear
15/01/2012, 8:41 AM
Decent game from Darron on his debut.
Now to more important matters has Darron had one of those Rooney hair transplants ?
15/01/2012, 9:31 AM
Now to more important matters has Darron had one of those Rooney hair transplants ?
I very much doubt if Darron would allow hair from his backside to be used for the transplant.
seanfhear
15/01/2012, 9:44 AM
I very much doubt if Darron would allow hair from his backside to be used for the transplant.I am not follically challenged myself but being of the observant slant I thought that Darron had some follicles that he had not previously had.
I was'nt aware that Rooney had hair(follicles ?) from the rear end moved uptop.
How hairy was/is Rooneys backside and is he in a position to become a donor ?
15/01/2012, 10:19 AM
Gibson could be one of these players who needs to be looked up to or fades into obscurity, the big fish in the smaller pond could do him the world of good. I watched only the second half of the game,and didn't see him do anything really but ill put that down to fitness, as people seem to be saying he had a good first half, even if MOTD hadn't one piece of play involving him in the hightlights, i hope that its not just a one-off as he makes his appearance and can keep it up.
ArdeeBhoy
15/01/2012, 10:31 AM
Im presuming your being funny and actually do know that jackie fullerton has no input on that FB page
Did anyone say he had?