View Full Version : Darron Gibson
boovidge
23/02/2010, 7:36 PM
nearly scored with a long range effort.
theworm2345
23/02/2010, 7:38 PM
nearly scored with a long range effort.
He's had three decent strikes from range in the past five minutes.
23/02/2010, 7:39 PM
been running around like a headless chicken for the first 30 minutes running away from the ball if anything and loosing it when he gets it..
but just had 3 shots on target bewween 30-35 minutes green making a very good save for one the other two were tame efforts looking more confident now thou
23/02/2010, 8:44 PM
played a part in the 3rd goal hes been ok 6/10 maybe but just not getting into the game enough..
23/02/2010, 8:57 PM
Yeah, he looked a bit lost for the first 20 minutes - it seemed like he was unsure of where to position himself with Scholes in the pocket like that. He looks similarly indecisive when playing with Carrick. Improved after that though - started making some good forward runs and playing decoy to open up space in the middle. Lack of match-fitness told in the last 10 minutes or so, but encouraging performance. With Anderson injured, he may be pushed into service a few more times.
Razors left peg
23/02/2010, 8:58 PM
played a part in the 3rd goal hes been ok 6/10 maybe but just not getting into the game enough..
that could almost be a discription of every game he plays at the moment
23/02/2010, 9:02 PM
heres hoping he starts the cup final and united loose 2-1 with gibson scoring and dunne getting the winner :)
kennedmc
23/02/2010, 9:08 PM
Any chance Ireland could swap Gibson for Jonny Evans?
Razors left peg
23/02/2010, 9:21 PM
Any chance Ireland could swap Gibson for Jonny Evans?
not sure Id want to the way hes been playing in recent weeks :)
ofjames
25/02/2010, 11:19 AM
no hargreaves and now anderson is gone for the rest of the season with a torn crutiate.
it's now or never for darron. next 2 or 3 months will determine his future career at united or lack therof.
there is a serious chance he will start the second leg of the milan tie through neccessity, united usually play with three in midfield in europe but and with carrick suspended and giggs unlikely to be fit that leaves just scholes and fletcher.
here's hoping he has what it takes to establish himself.
Colbert Report
25/02/2010, 7:57 PM
You're right, it is now or never for Gibson. Let's see if he has what it takes to make the grade. If not, he owes it to himself to move to a smaller club this summer.
25/02/2010, 8:59 PM
I think he has at least another season to prove himself yet, but the next 2-3 months could see him make serious inroads.
25/02/2010, 9:02 PM
yep think were all in agreement here.
hope they loose to villa thou but other than that come on darron!! :)
gilberto_eire
25/02/2010, 9:50 PM
Granted i didnt see the first 25 odd minutes, but from what i did see i have to say it was the best i've seen him play yet, and i'd be critical off him.
When ive watched him before, he was never prepared to take the initiative was constantly getting it and just laying it off to the closest man, never prepared to play the ball in, made some nice passes into the strikers last night.
25/02/2010, 11:46 PM
i saw the end of the first half and all of the second and to be honest i was not impressed with him until the 60 min mark when he actually started to find his confidence. Up until then i could have sworn that he was consciously getting himself into positions where he couldnt be passed the ball - no angles, tracking back half-heartedly and just not interested. When he switched on he was very impressive and seemed on the same wavelength as Berbatov threading some balls through to him that in another game might have led to a goal.
dr_peepee
26/02/2010, 9:44 AM
i saw the end of the first half and all of the second and to be honest i was not impressed with him until the 60 min mark when he actually started to find his confidence. Up until then i could have sworn that he was consciously getting himself into positions where he couldnt be passed the ball - no angles, tracking back half-heartedly and just not interested..
Dude. Didn't see the game, but I've definately seen that with him before.
26/02/2010, 8:49 PM
I saw about 10 minutes of that game and yeah it looked as if Gibson was almost with purpose getting into impossible positions so he wouldn't receive the ball.
Other games I have seen his movement off the ball to be very good and intelligent.
26/02/2010, 9:18 PM
he ran way to far forward when they were on the break hes supposed to be the link up man but he was impossible to pass to because of his positioning
ofjames
06/03/2010, 4:10 PM
another start for darron today vs wolves.
come on gibo, make an impact!
has had two decent chances so far - one shot where he might have been having his jersey tugged and another volley into the gound from a Valencia cross. Seems a bit more interested today so far.
Seems a bit more interested today so far.
I think thats a little unfair, hes playing in a five man midfield today and been asked to play a more attack minded role which seems to suit him. The other night he was partnering Andrews in what was largely a defensive CM role.
i was talking about the other times i have seen him for Man Utd. I have a couple of posts a page or so back.
Fair enough. Good game so far. Plenty of Irish lads to keep the interest.
yeah, excellent game. Doyle, Foley and Ward have all been very good so far. Wardy should have scored there though!! How he wasnt in the Irish squad is beyond me, any game ive seen he has acquitted himself very well (except when harshly sent off against Liverpool).
Predator
06/03/2010, 7:35 PM
Didn't see the game, but I see that Gibson was subbed. Was it tactical, injury or performance related?
06/03/2010, 7:38 PM
Didn't see the game, but I see that Gibson was subbed. Was it tactical, injury or performance related?
Was taken off purely because Berbatov is a lazy b0llocks. I've seen trees move more than him and as a result United had no choice but to go 4-4-2 and bring on Mame Biram Diouf.
I thought Gibson played well for the time he was on.
Gibson was ok, no more no less, certainly did as much as the likes of Carrick. United looked average overall without Rooney.
06/03/2010, 10:06 PM
I thought he played OK but it was obvious that he'd be the first player to be sacrificed if United still hadn't scored with an hour to go. He was sort of an extra man in midfield for a lot of the game since the Wolves midfielders weren't exactly bossing things.
The Guardian said this about Gibson:
A second United substitution: Mame Biram Diouf replaces Darron Gibson, so that'll be a switch to 4-4-2. Gibson played one excellent pass to Evra but he is punching hopelessly above his weight playing for Manchester United. He's not the first, and he won't be the last.
Sounds a bit harsh to me since he is still so young and hasn't gotten much football.
Unfortunately to date I feel the piece by the Guardian is right. Bar a few fantastic strikes and the odd decent game (away to Hull last year), Gibson has shown very little for united and even less so for Ireland for me to think he will be a top level player for years to come. I hope im wrong and would hope he will develop something akin to Fletcher who was written off by many.
08/03/2010, 1:01 PM
6 out of 10 performance. Carrick lite performance.
Doyle was quality. Worked like a mad man but needed a bit more help.
DeLorean
08/03/2010, 1:57 PM
Was taken off purely because Berbatov is a lazy b0llocks.
That's just a little bit too easy! Gibson was taken off becuase he was poor and United needed to score. He was no worse than most of the other United players but unfortunately he has far more to prove than them.
08/03/2010, 4:58 PM
6 out of 10 performance. Carrick lite performance.
Doyle was quality. Worked like a mad man but needed a bit more help.
Carrick was Carrick-lite. Gibson was what Carrick is usually like - i.e a bit aimless but with some moments of quality.
yapster
08/03/2010, 7:14 PM
The Guardian said this about Gibson:
Sounds a bit harsh to me since he is still so young and hasn't gotten much football.
Spot on..
EastTerracer
27/03/2010, 6:18 PM
Came on for United today for the last 10 minutes or so and scored with almost his first touch. A good finish with his right foot.
Crosby87
28/03/2010, 12:58 AM
I cant wait to see how good he is when he gets a little older.
seanfhear
28/03/2010, 12:03 PM
Came on for United today for the last 10 minutes or so and scored with almost his first touch. A good finish with his right foot.
Good power from a side foot shot.
I hope he stays at Utd and continues to develope. Fletcher got a lot of stick in his early days at Utd but has developed into a very good player for them.
28/03/2010, 8:09 PM
gibson reminds me of lauren robert.. does feck all but has a hell of a shot
29/03/2010, 12:44 PM
saw the goal last night on Match of the Day 2, what was more interesting to me was that, in the build up to the goal, he was in space and demanding the ball from Nani, which is something he needs to do more as a central midfielder.
04/04/2010, 9:30 PM
Interesting that he was brought on for a vital game with Chelsea. Has he gone up the order?
Junior
04/04/2010, 9:58 PM
Perhaps. Though on 86 minutes it was a big ask for him to influence the outcome..........Scholes and Fletcher were both on bookings so this could have been a factor, though Fergie did choose Gibson ahead of Carrick which has to be taken as a positive from an Irish perspective.
05/04/2010, 1:10 AM
ok, this has been bugging me for a little while, so I'm just going to go out and say it, and then see what people think.
Is Gibson's continued presence in the United squad due to actual talent, or to the circumstances currently surrounding the club?
In the (very recent) past, when Ferguson identified a weakness in the squad - due to a decline in the ability of a player, or the availability of a suitable replacement - he had the money to go out and strengthen the playing staff with the best and brightest available from across the globe. Following the takeover of the Glazers, and the leveraging of debt against the club, the amount of money available for both transfer fees and wages has decreased significantly. Thus, Sir Alex is unable to replace existing squad players with superior players, leading to extended playing careers of personnel who can still perform admirably, but are clearly past their prime (Scholes, Giggs, Neville, etc). Facing this restricted ability in the transfer market, players from the youth teams have been given their chance whereas in years past, it would have been new acquisitions that would be filling these roles. Macheda, De Laet, Gibson, and the Da Silva twins have all had significant spells in the first team in the past two seasons. Up until that debate raged whether or not Wes Brown or John O'Shea was the last player to be promoted from within Old Trafford to the senior team.
So the question remains, is the presence of these players in the Manchester United playing squad due to actual talent, or the circumstance of not being able to buy superior players?b
Kildare Lad
05/04/2010, 1:34 AM
I'm no expert now, but I'd imagine its down to both a bit. Obviously if he was Man Utds number 1 choice centre midfielder I'd imagine they would instantly snap up a replacement for him, as I don't think anyone could argue he is not good enough to be a regular for one of the top top teams in the world. However, Sir Alex Ferguson seems to think he is a suitable back up which would indicate he has at least a bit of ability. United are a big club and Ferguson is arguably the best manager in the world, so I'm sure if he thought Gibson wasn't up to the task he wouldn't throw him on every now and then.
Hopefully he has a future at United, Darren Fletcher was a very late bloomer and he is now one of their most important players, so a similar result and I'd be happy :-P
05/04/2010, 1:44 AM
i think we all know darron has it in him.. he just needs to grow a pair and take hold of games more.. well know what fergie thinks of him by whether hes there or not next year but looks like next season there will be a lot less games for scholes,giggs and Neville so he may hold on to him out of necessity
I think the Sky commentators got it spot on, Darron was brought on with a few mins to go for one reason, his striking ability. He has a great strike on him and with long balls been played into the chelsea box in the dying mins, it may have dropped to him to fire one home, worth a go. Dont think anyone can say Darron was brought on for any other reason really. Next year is a big year for him, with the likes of Giggs and Scholes likely to feature less and less he will need to step up to the mark to stay at the club.
kingdomkerry
07/04/2010, 5:51 PM
Starts in champions league for man utd tonight against bayern
ofjames
07/04/2010, 5:55 PM
gibson and rafael in. rooney with a miraculous recovery.
fergie throws the dice...
go on gibo!!!
Razors left peg
07/04/2010, 6:00 PM
Biggest game of his club career so far, come on Darron
07/04/2010, 6:07 PM
I don't know about this...
07/04/2010, 6:09 PM
This has complicated my viewing aspirations for tonight.