View Full Version : Darron Gibson
co. down green
01/12/2009, 9:18 PM
Two great goals from Darron tonight, if he gets the games he can be an important player for us in the coming years
01/12/2009, 9:24 PM
i wonder how many gibson bashers will be on here tonight claiming thy always new he had it in him :D was very solid today the secong goal vas very very good if i do say so myself! so his nickname is gibbo?:rolleyes:
01/12/2009, 9:26 PM
He didn't show any ambition to get a third :rolleyes:
Emmet7
01/12/2009, 9:27 PM
Great way for Gibson to silence the critics, pundits and people on this site who were saying he was no good.
If Andy Reid done what Gibson did tonight, we'd never hear the end of it.
Gibson has the talent but is probably unlucky to have to compete against legends like Paul Scholes for a midfield spot.
I think in a few years he will be central to Fergie's midfield however.
01/12/2009, 9:31 PM
hes doing xactly what fletcher and o'shea had to do bide his time and take the chances afforded to him its all he can do, and if he keeps doing it he will get in the team
Predator
01/12/2009, 9:31 PM
...so his nickname is gibbo?:rolleyes:
Gibby in Derry!
dan o d
01/12/2009, 9:32 PM
hes got a great strike and can pick a pass but at the moment hes just not mobile enough
01/12/2009, 9:39 PM
hes got a great strike and can pick a pass but at the moment hes just not mobile enough
he has two fully functioning legs what else do you want him to have??
Yard of Pace
01/12/2009, 10:09 PM
I don't think many of us said we thought he was no good. I just hadn't seen anything of him to impress me much and see a big future for him. In fairness, I don't think many us had unless some of you watch training sessions and United reserve games. Delighted to see this tonight anyhow. Any bit of good news these days is such a tonic.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/dec/01/darron-gibson-manchester-united-tottenham-youth
01/12/2009, 10:25 PM
anyone know where i might beable to watch the goals online?? They sound pretty good.
Razors left peg
01/12/2009, 10:33 PM
anyone know where i might beable to watch the goals online?? They sound pretty good.
http://www.tvgolo.com/football.php?subaction=showfull&id=1259707185&archive=&start_from=&ucat=40&
Junior
01/12/2009, 10:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ7GmKiMna0
Torn-Ado
01/12/2009, 10:36 PM
He can fairly kick the ball hard.
01/12/2009, 10:37 PM
He can fairly kick the ball hard.
are you a dyslexic cavan man?
01/12/2009, 10:43 PM
cheers lads - nice strikes. I wonder if Trappatoni doesnt get as much out of him as he can due to the formation and tactics of the irish team - thats not a criticism by the way. He needs to push on now though at club level and seize the opportunities that Ferguson seems willing to give him. He'd be gone from Old Trafford by now if Ferguson didnt think he could do it.
Torn-Ado
01/12/2009, 10:47 PM
are you a dyslexic cavan man?
Eh, On.
harpskid
02/12/2009, 12:27 AM
Well done Darron - good way to silence yer doubters. Hopefully yer progress continues lad - should be an important part of our plans for 2012 and 2014.
Colbert Report
02/12/2009, 12:35 AM
Two great goals does not make a good player. Fair play to him but I've still yet to see any kind of consistency from him for either Ireland or Manchester United. Now is hardly the time to be declaring him a future Ireland and Manchester United captain. The lad isn't 18.
irishfan86
02/12/2009, 12:38 AM
Two great goals does not make a good player. Fair play to him but I've still yet to see any kind of consistency from him for either Ireland or Manchester United. Now is hardly the time to be declaring him a future Ireland and Manchester United captain. The lad isn't 18.
In fairness how is he to develop any consistency if he's playing one senior match every few weeks?
I'm not saying he's going to be a future Ireland captain or anything like that, but let's reserve judgement until we see him get a run of games before we hype him up or write him off.
Colbert Report
02/12/2009, 1:32 AM
In fairness how is he to develop any consistency if he's playing one senior match every few weeks?
I'm not saying he's going to be a future Ireland captain or anything like that, but let's reserve judgement until we see him get a run of games before we hype him up or write him off.
Simple answer. He needs to go out on loan and play week in and week out.
irishfan86
02/12/2009, 1:40 AM
No arguments here.
02/12/2009, 8:24 AM
cheers lads - nice strikes. I wonder if Trappatoni doesnt get as much out of him as he can due to the formation and tactics of the irish team I think he plays within himself a lot. I only saw bits of the second half but with 2 goals under his belt he looked a lot more assertive and positve, playing more meaningful passes rather than just finding anyone in red. What I saw of him last night confirmed what I thought of him beforehand: really sweet passer and receives the ball well in tight situations.
Junior
02/12/2009, 9:14 AM
2 great strikes and some nice passes throughout the game.
Though has been mentioned on here many times, often throughout the game he would be at walking pace, not necessarily offering himself up for the pass. Needs a bit more dynamism about him - but all in all a good performance, confidence booster, hopefully he gets the start against Wolfsburg in the CL and he will have the Semi Finals in this cup to come as well. Momentum will start to build hopefully.
02/12/2009, 9:33 AM
Not that I could see the game properly, squinting through Bet 365's little window but I thought his positioning and anticipation was good. He is a Trap type CM. Good control of the ball as well.
02/12/2009, 11:13 AM
Should do his confidence a world of good. Man Utd need a goal scoring midfielder more than ever and if he could step up to the plate it might save Fergie a few bob. I was saying on the Man Utd topic in the World forum yesterday it was a big game for him and he duly delivered.
02/12/2009, 11:40 AM
decent write up about Gibson here.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/dec/01/darron-gibson-manchester-united-tottenham-youth
endabob1
02/12/2009, 11:45 AM
Spurs centre midfield was woeful last night, first half particularly Jenas & Palacios were weak, giving posession away, and looked flat, no one closed Gibson down for either strike.
Not sure if that's a testament to Gibson & Andersen or not but I thought Gibson did well, used the ball sensibly and took his chances (apart from his first attempt) well.
Brendan 82
02/12/2009, 12:48 PM
Patience is rewarded at United (see Fletcher & O'Shea). Sure we have been listening to retards write off those players for years; I actually think Fergie was right the other night when he defended his young team. People look to write off players, they think it shows some footballing insight or something I guess.
Junior
02/12/2009, 12:52 PM
decent write up about Gibson here.
Its a glowing report alright but in all honesty it only refers to the 2 great strikes plus the professional foul he committed on the half way line.
Brendan 82
02/12/2009, 12:59 PM
Its a glowing report alright but in all honesty it only refers to the 2 great strikes plus the professional foul he committed on the half way line.
Its a crap article. The same journalist wrote him off last week after the Besiktas game. Usual fickle stuff really. Last week he was a Championship player, now he is the new Scholes.
dr_peepee
02/12/2009, 2:52 PM
I haven't liked him playing for Ireland. I've definately seen him hiding, not wanting the ball. Very clearly in Croker against Cyprus particularly. I've read about him being a nervous guy though. This could be exactly what he needs. Not even the goals to some extent. The playing time in such proximity to each other for united. Getting comfortable in the side.
That plus the next few games for Ireland are most likely going to be away Friendiles also, giving him more "settling" games to bed himself in a green Jersey prior to the competive games for the Euros.
Irish_Praha
02/12/2009, 4:21 PM
From what I saw of the game last night I would agree with a lot of comments on here.
He rarely takes more than two or three steps with the ball and looks like he wants to get rid of it asap but apart from a few ambitious passes that didn't work out he nearly always got rid of it to another UTD player. He's far from the finished article so maybe he become more involved in games as he develops and actually run at the opposition. Pretty handy to have a CMF that has an eye for goal and doesn't give away posession cheaply. He just needs to become a little more involved at times if he wants to become a top-class CMF player.
02/12/2009, 5:33 PM
any comparison to the great Paul Scholes is always a good thing!
Irish_Praha
02/12/2009, 5:47 PM
any comparison to the great Paul Scholes is always a good thing!
I have red hair like Paul Scholes;)
02/12/2009, 6:15 PM
yours is more ginger praha...
In his first team performances for United he has put in some very notable performances (e.g. Hull, Spurs X 2) however a few abject performances as well. I dont think he had performed particularly well for us at any stage but at the same time hasnt had a terrible performance. He was drafted into a weak midfield at a very young age for us.
However, look at his competition at united, an ageing Scholes, an out of favour and poor Carrick and an inconsistent Anderson. Giggs and Fletcher are the only two united midfielders that are performing well at present, so there is certainly scope for him to impress and make the breakthrough, he needs to do so within the next 12 - 18 months.
05/12/2009, 1:17 PM
Starts today away at West Ham along with Scholes and Anderson in a three man midfield.
Reality Bites
05/12/2009, 2:04 PM
Starts today away at West Ham along with Scholes and Anderson in a three man midfield.
Great news, now we can truly judge him
Buller
05/12/2009, 2:16 PM
Great news, now we can truly judge him
*sets up hd recorder with Sky's 48 different camera angles*
I've done my part, over to you Darren....
05/12/2009, 2:52 PM
Having a bit of a shocker so far but he's likely to last the game as Carrick has already come on and had to go in centre back. His touch has been poor and his shooting terrible. Looks very nervous overall. Hopefully he'll improve in the second half. United 1-0 up through Scholes just before half time.
Splurge
05/12/2009, 2:56 PM
hasnt been that bad, few wayward shots and passes, great pass to almost put Rooney in, he reminds me of Fletcher at that age.
05/12/2009, 3:05 PM
Maybe I'm being harsh in saying he's having a shocker but his touch has been poor and its cost him the opportunity to make things happen a couple of times. He was much better against Spurs for example. But as you say Fletcher at his age was quite similar and he's really improved a lot in the last two years or so so hopefully there's more to come from Gibson.
05/12/2009, 3:11 PM
He's not doing too bad it's just West Ham are closing his shots down very quick.
dan o d
05/12/2009, 3:15 PM
hes playin in a more advanced role today ahead of scholes and anderson
Splurge
05/12/2009, 3:19 PM
great move, amazing goal
EastTerracer
05/12/2009, 3:20 PM
Just scored a scorcher again!
Closed Account 2
05/12/2009, 3:20 PM
hopefully he can make this a permanent position in the team. he has a lot of promise and talent, all that's missing is regular playing time, week in week out.
what a belter of a goal! He enjoyed it too :D
dan o d
05/12/2009, 3:22 PM
f*cks sake ive switched over to soccer saturday twice while ive been watchin the united game , and both times ive missed the goals. was it a very good goal?
Splurge
05/12/2009, 3:24 PM
f*cks sake ive switched over to soccer saturday twice while ive been watchin the united game , and both times ive missed the goals. was it a very good goal?
nice play by giggs on the left, moved infield, squared it to Gibson who hit it first time hard into the top from 25 yards, keeper had no chance