View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56

latte2012
18/06/2024, 8:10 PM
Congrats to watergrasshill on securing the division 1 title and a double for the season. Nice to see a club that hung in there when it would have been easy to fold getting their rewards.

fruice
18/06/2024, 8:42 PM
Interesting most of the trophies won this season across the AUL have come from clubs with an underage set up.
It’s 10 out 13 or 77% great to see clubs own hard work coming through at adult level.

Another interesting fact is that 9 out of 13 trophies have been won by county based teams 69%
4 by city based teams 31%

But in reality it’s 8 out of 11 73%
And 3 out of 11 27%

As the County and City Cups aren’t played by all teams.

Ballwasthere
18/06/2024, 8:55 PM
Jamie is the only one from the Cow that’s good enough. Especially with the playes after bringing in .
Rest of that cow team are bang average

That is absolute rubbish, Jamie isn’t AUL standard, he’s MsL/intermediate standard at least, Keegan, O Reilly, Hennessy, and Ian McCarthy are all good enough players to get a game with any team in the AUL premier, as their victories in the FAI and MJ cups attest to, let alone village, it’s not La Liga at all, the premier is a poor as it’s been in years, and village didn’t even finish top half last time out. Village or a club close to home I hope they go on to win a lot this year, but some of the talk on here will really turn fellas against them, it’ll be like castleview this season or John Corcoran, there’s other teams and players in the league

Harsh ref
18/06/2024, 8:59 PM
FairPlay to Hill winning double but my god wouldn’t be going mad personally think they took easy way out refusing to go premier u can bet your bottom dollar their gaffer thought it was easy treble to me personally not doing treble is fail even grangevale would of done treble if they were in that league shocking

AverageJoesGym
18/06/2024, 9:02 PM
Thats great news, good to see underage structure coming through junior level again and not just senior. Many clubs are interested in just feeding the senior teams and that's how players drop off and stop playing.

latte2012
18/06/2024, 9:37 PM
Interesting most of the trophies won this season across the AUL have come from clubs with an underage set up.
It’s 10 out 13 or 77% great to see clubs own hard work coming through at adult level.

Another interesting fact is that 9 out of 13 trophies have been won by county based teams 69%
4 by city based teams 31%

But in reality it’s 8 out of 11 73%
And 3 out of 11 27%

As the County and City Cups aren’t played by all teams.
Great post Fruice. Love to see some stats like that on here instead of all of our silly opinions for a change. There’s definitely a lot to be said for putting effort into an underage setup with a long term plan for adult ball. Interesting alright with the country teams being successful this season when a lot of talk is that soccer is dying a death in the countryside.

AULBUSTER
18/06/2024, 9:39 PM
90% of that Village team are bang average, they have some really poor players in that squad .The Cow front three and back line are better than what Village have. Goalkeeping situation is probably around the same. We get it you're a AUL man and don't like Doolans bang average Cow. You ignore most of my message but will reply to the Cow bits.

If Village played the Cow tomorrow Village would beat them easily. Cow are in a novice league. Can’t compare. Villages back four are far better fitter and younger .

Ballwasthere
18/06/2024, 9:54 PM
If Village played the Cow tomorrow Village would beat them easily. Cow are in a novice league. Can’t compare. Villages back four are far better fitter and younger .

Craig Keegan is a better defender than any of the village back four, including Gurta, both gurtas in fact now that the brother has signed. You’d know if you watched him play and not judging him off the fact he plays cbl. Realistically Gurta is the only one who gets into the cow back four, they’re folding in any case so time will tell and if they decide to go to village we will have our answer

Play it out
18/06/2024, 10:02 PM
Murphy, Hennessey and Cotter would all be assets to Premier sides from Cow. Rest if them, not so much anymore. Keeper Scanlon decent too. There's all levels to it and MSL would look down terribly on AUL too. Considering you look down on Cow.

Good going underage by Watergrasshil and Coachford. Any club that can, should go MSL. Imagine AUL in 10 years when an 8 year old now is 18. What will be left of it?

You can see across soccer in Cork that it's the underage clubs are thriving. And it's the southside clubs have invested in coaching and facilities who are thriving. 10-15 years ago Castleview, Leeds & Mayfield were the top dogs underage with kids out playing more too. Now kids play more in coached settings and likes of Carrigaline, Corinthians, Hall, Ringmahon, etc. are flying. They're big clubs with big effort in the past bearing fruit for their communities today and to the future. Its not just facilities, its coaching.They are some machines.

Grattan, Village, Glenthorn and any other one team clubs will rely on their neighbours to produce teams for them and those neighbours are falling behind rest of county. So, a decline in standards will continue and continue.

FAI Pathway plan will then have more challenges for everyone and rural sides with GAA in particular.

fruice
18/06/2024, 10:11 PM
FAI pathway is another interesting discussion some leagues such as mayo are summer soccer and they think it has worked well.

With that being said the Cork AUL voted against summer soccer at their recent AGM.
And weren’t the 1st to do so.

There is an argument for staying and going MSL.

Im of the opinion that while you are heading to better facilities and standards.

It might not be for everyone it’s very hard for a lot of clubs to compete with the Machine of clubs that you have mentioned and can actually lead to problems at adult level.

All the clubs with underage structures in the AUL are competing with MSL Clubs but in the main its against their 2 or 3rd team but you highlight coachford at underage level but they are competing in the lower levels of school boy football competing with 3rd and 4th teams of the big clubs.

So what business have they making the switch at adult levels.

A properly functioning AUL should be a fantastic home for these clubs.

You would hope these clubs will improve their facilities and thus bring up the standards of the clubs in the AUL.

AULBUSTER
18/06/2024, 10:26 PM
Craig Keegan is a better defender than any of the village back four, including Gurta, both gurtas in fact now that the brother has signed. You’d know if you watched him play and not judging him off the fact he plays cbl. Realistically Gurta is the only one who gets into the cow back four, they’re folding in any case so time will tell and if they decide to go to village we will have our answer

Gorta was on the Cork AUL team at 19 . Keegan would never get near a team like that . I played with Keegan and both gortas. The young center half for village will make a fine player too better then Keegan . If the cow had any balls they would have moved to the AUL ages ago . They would have one div 3 and 2 . Nothing after that .

Ballwasthere
18/06/2024, 11:02 PM
Then tell me why they’ve went further than village ever have in the fai cup? Narrowly losing out to a brilliant Westport side? Most AUL teams get absolutely tonked as soon as they leave cork, the cow and coachford are the only ones who had any sort of respectable runs in those cups in recent years, and if you’re talking about Thompson being better than Keegan then I’m finished replying because that’s a mad statement at best, lunacy hahaha

Ballwasthere
18/06/2024, 11:05 PM
Though I do agree they should have went AUL it was there choice, doesn’t take away from the fact they are/were a credit to junior football in cork the last 6/7 years

Ontheball92
19/06/2024, 6:10 AM
Laughable comment to be honest, a team that was last in division 2B two years ago, they had a great year last year and go skip a division. Are we going to see rathcormac skip a division because they won a double? We are all quick to throw the finger and say teams took it easy when they must be the first team I can think of skipping a division in the AUL

Broadway Joe
19/06/2024, 7:36 AM
Laughable comment to be honest, a team that was last in division 2B two years ago, they had a great year last year and go skip a division. Are we going to see rathcormac skip a division because they won a double? We are all quick to throw the finger and say teams took it easy when they must be the first team I can think of skipping a division in the AUL

Can't win either way..skip a division and taking shortcuts.
Don't skip a division and winning easy trophies.
Killumney skipped a division the previous season and folded.
Wgh already skipped 1 league this year..skipping 2 makes a mockery of promotion/relegation and why shouldn't they want to win leagues/trophies along the way to Premier.

They were bottom division 3 a few years back and stuck at it...getting the rewards now and a good underage structure coming through.

The only big question is 3 league games played by april,aul need to have a long look at how that happened.

But congrats to them and looks like they will finish season with 100% record.

AULBUSTER
19/06/2024, 8:03 AM
Then tell me why they’ve went further than village ever have in the fai cup? Narrowly losing out to a brilliant Westport side? Most AUL teams get absolutely tonked as soon as they leave cork, the cow and coachford are the only ones who had any sort of respectable runs in those cups in recent years, and if you’re talking about Thompson being better than Keegan then I’m finished replying because that’s a mad statement at best, lunacy hahaha

Thompson is going to be a fine player for village for the next few years. Never kicked a ball until 19 I was told and is after playing in an AOH final already. He was outstanding in that game probably Villages best player .

AverageJoesGym
19/06/2024, 8:26 AM
Keegan played on Cork MJC teams at around the same age 19/20 I remember watching him v Kerry, Cork Aul & the Defence Forces.But sure must of been a poor team to get on I suppose. I agree Cow should of moved up but why move to satisfy others? Park, Kinsale, Leeside, Wilton, all moved up to senior when people kept saying they should have. Most of them are now struggling in second div senior. Young Centre half for Village you have to be talking about Gurta ya he's a fine player time will tell, you couldn't be talking about the rest of them because they are poor. Conceded 38 goals in just the league, Grattan and Coachford only conceded 11 each now that's two very good strong premier teams. Village we were well beaten by Ash and Jaybazz in pre season friendlies and beaten by UCC CBL in the MJC 4-1. You wanna come down off your Village high horse because there an average bottom half okay Premier team. Don't think Lenny be too happy you turning everyone off Village before pre season even begins

Jd2793
19/06/2024, 10:18 AM
Keegan played on Cork MJC teams at around the same age 19/20 I remember watching him v Kerry, Cork Aul & the Defence Forces.But sure must of been a poor team to get on I suppose. I agree Cow should of moved up but why move to satisfy others? Park, Kinsale, Leeside, Wilton, all moved up to senior when people kept saying they should have. Most of them are now struggling in second div senior. Young Centre half for Village you have to be talking about Gurta ya he's a fine player time will tell, you couldn't be talking about the rest of them because they are poor. Conceded 38 goals in just the league, Grattan and Coachford only conceded 11 each now that's two very good strong premier teams. Village we were well beaten by Ash and Jaybazz in pre season friendlies and beaten by UCC CBL in the MJC 4-1. You wanna come down off your Village high horse because there an average bottom half okay Premier team. Don't think Lenny be too happy you turning everyone off Village before pre season even begins

leeside back in the 1st division for next season + they've good facilities out there now with the astro it'll be a good draw for players out that side. Wilton just short of getting play offs for msl prem + had 2 good cup runs this season. they lack the facilities though. its worked out for a handful of clubs. Park had a decent run of it but their team got older and no players to draw from out there, again theyve a savage set up. MSL problem was letting in too many. the couple ive mentioned worked - jury is still out on the likes of buttevant , kinsale , temple , macroom.

Harsh ref
19/06/2024, 12:04 PM
Buttevant temple wouldn’t compete in the premier A is Aul fact

Play it out
19/06/2024, 12:05 PM
Glenthorn, Knocka, Waterloo and more wouldn't get in to MSL tomorrow, fact.

AverageJoesGym
19/06/2024, 12:07 PM
He's an okay raw player maybe will kick on when he plays with better players. His brother was actually a better player than him can't remember his name when he was up at Village. I was at the AOH final he played okay it was 4-0, could of been 10-0 he played okay his pace got him out of trouble at times.

AverageJoesGym
19/06/2024, 12:11 PM
Leeside bounced back into Div 1 to be fair after lots of changes down there. Wilton do lack the facilities and that pitch seems to be always flooded. I think underage is key for those clubs you mentioned to have a good senior team but lots of kids now aren't even playing at a young age or drop out of the game after youths. The hunger for the game to do well for your club and community and beat your rivals is well gone. Lots of players will just jump ship nowadays from club to club wouldn't a care.

Ballwasthere
19/06/2024, 12:36 PM
Keith was the brothers name, played two years cbl, looked a very good player, played another with village and was outstanding in a poor team, much better than Stephen, agree, buster is putting a target on villages back, Len will likely confront who you are if he finds out your name hahaha

Jd2793
19/06/2024, 12:37 PM
Leeside bounced back into Div 1 to be fair after lots of changes down there. Wilton do lack the facilities and that pitch seems to be always flooded. I think underage is key for those clubs you mentioned to have a good senior team but lots of kids now aren't even playing at a young age or drop out of the game after youths. The hunger for the game to do well for your club and community and beat your rivals is well gone. Lots of players will just jump ship nowadays from club to club wouldn't a care.

cant disagree with any of that

AULBUSTER
19/06/2024, 1:01 PM

What’s the point in destroying teams every week . No challenge for them . Under achievers. Village played 2 games last year I remember them conceding 7 or 8 goals in the two games . They had no team . And the games against ash and Jaybazz Lenny was making 6 subs every 10 mins so you can’t go off that . I’m on no village high horse but if they can bring in the young talent around mayfield why would they sign Keegan . He won’t leave the cow anyway .

I’m from mayfield and I’m watching there games and hearing what’s going on behind the scenes. Lenny will want nothing but hard work from fellas I think the man and his brother are going to bring massive success to that club

AverageJoesGym
19/06/2024, 2:29 PM
What's the point in Coachford and Grattan destroying teams every week? Village and the rest are no challenge to those teams and but with Grattan getting older, Coachford younger fitter will get stronger. They will be steam rolling over teams next year you mark my words. While i agree Cow should of went up into the AUL to play but how you say they under achieved? Nobody from the AUL might take their CBL trophies seriously but they were getting out of Cork nearly every season in both national cups and beaten some good teams along the way, The Glen, Ringmahon, Leeds, Midelton, The Dublin Crowd. So Village had no team so that's the excuse ? It takes two minutes to use Google on the day they were hammered by Grangevale to get the team sheet if you had a brain you would of worked that out for yourself. They were missing Butler a very good Goalkeeper and gurta good centre half that day but the rest of the starting 11 and subs is there squad the whole year. You my friend are clueless, who ever is telling you what's going on behind the scenes should stop. You make no sense on this site just lies and ignorance if you ask me. I've great time for lenny and I know most of the lads but they wanna take that phone from your grasp.

Ballwasthere
19/06/2024, 4:02 PM
What's the point in Coachford and Grattan destroying teams every week? Village and the rest are no challenge to those teams and but with Grattan getting older, Coachford younger fitter will get stronger. They will be steam rolling over teams next year you mark my words. While i agree Cow should have went up into the AUL to play but how you say they under achieved? Nobody from the AUL might take their CBL trophies seriously but they were getting out of Cork nearly every season in both national cups and beaten some good teams along the way, The Glen, Ringmahon, Leeds, Midelton, The Dublin Crowd. So Village had no team so that's the excuse ? It takes two minutes to use Google on the day they were hammered by Grangevale to get the team sheet if you had a brain you would have worked that out for yourself. They were missing Butler a very good Goalkeeper and gurta good centre half that day but the rest of the starting 11 and subs is there squad the whole year. You my friend are clueless, who ever is telling you what's going on behind the scenes should stop. You make no sense on this site just lies and ignorance if you ask me. I've great time for lenny and I know most of the lads but they wanna take that phone from your grasp.
Spot on

Ballwasthere
19/06/2024, 4:06 PM
I do agree however if Jamie Murohy has signed, his goals alone make them a threat to any team on any day, could potentially see a cup for them this year, you add in Dean, experienced player at senior leve, Pa, one of the best players in the last 20 years in the AUL regardless of age, he’s still a brilliant playe, Gorta a disciplined physical hard working fella who most midfielders would hate playing against and the lad Zack who by all accounts is a fine playe, there squad is definitely impressive this season, be interesting to see can Leonard make them gel

Ballwasthere
19/06/2024, 4:07 PM
So come this time next year I’m expecting a coachford league and AOH double lol

Jd2793
19/06/2024, 9:36 PM
I do agree however if Jamie Murohy has signed, his goals alone make them a threat to any team on any day, could potentially see a cup for them this year, you add in Dean, experienced player at senior leve, Pa, one of the best players in the last 20 years in the AUL regardless of age, he’s still a brilliant playe, Gorta a disciplined physical hard working fella who most midfielders would hate playing against and the lad Zack who by all accounts is a fine playe, there squad is definitely impressive this season, be interesting to see can Leonard make them gel

dean o connell is going to aul from midleton?

latte2012
19/06/2024, 9:38 PM
dean o connell is going to aul from midleton?
Yes, village posted that themselves on social media.

Jason Bourne
19/06/2024, 11:06 PM
He walked from Midleton well before they won the league ffs

AverageJoesGym
20/06/2024, 2:44 PM
I heard he didn't see eye to eye with Kevin Murray so decided to leave weeks back. While Dean is a great player and will be a big bonus for Village I'd still have my questions over him. If everything isn't going right for him up there he could walk away quickly. Pa Long and Gurta are loyal hard working players who will grind it out, don't know much about the Zack lad only that he was on many cork schoolboys teams growing up. Congratulations to Watergrasshill on winning the league, fine fit side and shouldn't skip leagues like fellas have asked. They have been in the AUL a very long time battling away and came from 3b now up Premier A fair play. I still remember playing against Johnny Dorgan in 2b about 15 years ago he must of been early 40s but still battled and was a good player.

Dr. football
20/06/2024, 5:07 PM
Some nonsense been posted here, cow are a good CBL team have good players they liked been big fish in a small pond most if not all played MSL at some point but either couldn’t commit or couldn’t be bothered committing to MSL or AUL.

As for villiage been world beaters “next season” give it a rest! The dust has barley settled on this season. What is the difference between Lenny and any other manager pre season? Everyone wants to win the league and the AOH and if that’s not your aim you shouldn’t be a manager. I really hope announcing all these players don’t back fire long time till the season starts! If I was manager I’d be going about signing these guys quietly in case they get a better offer.

Not village bashing or Lenny bashing I have time for both and tbf Lenny did a good job keeping the club going. Hopefully it all works out for them.

As far the Cow will the big question how good would they have been doing every week and not a cup run we will never know so no point even mentioning them in this conversation

fruice
21/06/2024, 10:00 AM
So with the season over what do we know numbers wise?

Grangevale are gone for a few handy medals.
Do we know of anyone else gone?

Two B teams have been advertised.

Which would be plus 1.

But if we were to loose one more it would require a bigger restructuring division 1 and 2 would be short if there wasnt a reshuffle.

You need the top divisions correct and new b teams can only go into the bottom devision.

Average Baller
21/06/2024, 3:56 PM
Who are the new B teams? WGH and who else?

Hacker
21/06/2024, 5:52 PM
Hibs of Carrigaline I think it was mentioned a few pages back

Harsh ref
21/06/2024, 6:41 PM
Wouldn’t like to be playing down in carrigaline that place gone very rough

latte2012
21/06/2024, 6:51 PM
Wouldn’t like to be playing down in carrigaline that place gone very rough
They’re in shanbally not carrigaline, you’ll be grand.

Harsh ref
21/06/2024, 6:59 PM
Thanks for clearing that up latte

Harsh ref
22/06/2024, 9:35 PM
Having quite pint and lads showing me facebook in pub about village my god just tell John c come up poor lad begging ye hahaha

Play it out
22/06/2024, 10:29 PM
Where's the quiet pint?

Ballwasthere
23/06/2024, 7:48 AM
I don’t even know would John be allowed play AUL after last season hahaha

Harsh ref
23/06/2024, 9:50 AM
Blackpool play it out great night got loads of info big changes up in Glenthorn if rumours right delighted for club and Ballwashere don’t think any club that once to progress will sign John he’s a liability

Play it out
23/06/2024, 11:02 AM
I was very nearby, very nearby indeed.

Glenthorn will be delighted after a tough year. UCC will be back to the usual college side. That team seem to be together years. Still, a young team with pace will still pick up results next year but won't be top end.

Jason Bourne
23/06/2024, 11:43 AM
In fairness lads lots of tripe to post .
Endless rumors of super signings.
Lots of talk , all adds to it dosent it.
Sometime the odd lie adds to things just to stirr things up.
New management for Coachford !

Start the season again in November for UCC an Coachford,,,,tis only fair , wouldn't be fair to expect them to play the whole season with the Championship an student onboarding.

Ballwasthere
23/06/2024, 12:47 PM
Yeah was a heard watch for me this year as an ex glenthorn man, they will be better under cooney definitely. He’s a good manager and great bloke, lads will want to play for him.

Fintan Forde getting sick and leaving them without a manager for a large part of the season really hamstringed them so hopefully the club can take a step back in the right direction

Broadway Joe
23/06/2024, 2:04 PM
Yeah was a heard watch for me this year as an ex glenthorn man, they will be better under cooney definitely. He’s a good manager and great bloke, lads will want to play for him.

Fintan Forde getting sick and leaving them without a manager for a large part of the season really hamstringed them so hopefully the club can take a step back in the right direction

Didn't know about fintan forde getting sick,hope he's on the mend.
Some player and some leap on him to win a header.
Saw him still playin onky a few years back cb with John gaffney and both had great games.

latte2012
23/06/2024, 4:20 PM
Blackpool play it out great night got loads of info big changes up in Glenthorn if rumours right delighted for club and Ballwashere don’t think any club that once to progress will sign John he’s a liability
Loads of info and if rumours are true in the same sentence hahaha you couldn’t make it up.

AULBUSTER
23/06/2024, 4:32 PM
Having quite pint and lads showing me facebook in pub about village my god just tell John c come up poor lad begging ye hahaha

I’d give Corcoran a week up there and Lenny would run him .