View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24
Pass pass pass
25/08/2023, 11:31 PM
The cross comes down to money plain and simple.
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 10:30 AM
Money is a factor but the absaloute main reason is its just a normal pitch.
Playing so many finals was never going to be sustainable at the end of a season when LOI is now the main use of the grounds and the FAI are investing money and the MFA are under pressure to support the FAI.
Playing out the Cross is more about the occasion than the actual pitch.
I could name multiple grounds who's actual pitch MSL or AUL is as good or better.
But , dressing rooms out in the Cross are a class apart from the normal concrete block grey away dressing rooms we have all used.
I don't think we will see the same amount of finals played out the Cross , that's a fact . There is an obligation that the MFA facilite the playing of local finals as best they can , but that again will now have to be done in tandem with the FAI so the various associations will get 4 or 5 dates an they can use those for what ever finals they chose.
So people should value what opertuinity they have when and if they are lucky to get it.
Jd2793
26/08/2023, 10:45 AM
Money is a factor but the absaloute main reason is its just a normal pitch.
Playing so many finals was never going to be sustainable at the end of a season when LOI is now the main use of the grounds and the FAI are investing money and the MFA are under pressure to support the FAI.
Playing out the Cross is more about the occasion than the actual pitch.
I could name multiple grounds who's actual pitch MSL or AUL is as good or better.
But , dressing rooms out in the Cross are a class apart from the normal concrete block grey away dressing rooms we have all used.
I don't think we will see the same amount of finals played out the Cross , that's a fact . There is an obligation that the MFA facilite the playing of local finals as best they can , but that again will now have to be done in tandem with the FAI so the various associations will get 4 or 5 dates an they can use those for what ever finals they chose.
So people should value what opertuinity they have when and if they are lucky to get it.
go on then? mardyke when its not rugby season and probably corinthians and blarney too. what pitch in the AUL are at that standard? most ive seen are desperate tbh
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 11:03 AM
I expected this reaction .
Coachfords pitch is on a par with anything the MSL has to offer surface wise. I'm just talking about the surface.
I'd put Corinthians as the best surface iv personally played on, Blarney can be superb. Midelton an Mary's.
With all due respect , the AUL is where local football starts,,,,,,all MSL clubs started as AUL clubs an pushed on.
Fair dues to them.
But you should never forget where you came from.
Play it out
26/08/2023, 11:51 AM
Coachford's pitch can be terrible and the surroundings losing balls is annoying.
Mayfield United is a good city option be it grass or astro and no reason why they can't hire elsewhere. Seems like Ramblers is a good alternative for the stadium or Mardyke with the stand. Banteer have a stand too.
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 12:12 PM
That's a laughable statement saying Coachfords pitch can be terrible.
I remember the old Glebe ,,,that was brutal,,,,there current pitch is an absaloute pleasure to play on.
Kicking a ball over the Shed an the ditch in Coachford is the same thing. Balls gone.
Where do the balls go in MSL pitches when they get hoofed an there's as much hoofing in the MSL as there is in the Aul an Buisness League.
Play it out
26/08/2023, 12:29 PM
I guess you haven't been there of late. It's the side of the pitch is the problem.
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 1:42 PM
There isn't a pitch in Cork where ya hoof the ball that ya don't get it back. Please tell me where its easy to get a ball back.
I'm speaking strictly about the pitch an Coachfords place is quality, City Wanderers is quality . Your quoting ditches ffs
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 1:48 PM
The side of the pitch is problem through out football an it's not all about ditches.
Play it out
26/08/2023, 3:23 PM
Unless they've sorted it for today then their last game tree were overhanging the pitch, I don't think that's too impressive. Maybe it is fixed for this weekend. Not a chance could you have a cup final there with parking as well.
Let's see what they are made of now this year, best of luck to their new management, players and committee members.
Chips and beans
26/08/2023, 3:30 PM
Kelvin greaney unbelievable for castleview juniors again away to Greenwood ???
Another big 3 points.
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 4:00 PM
There's a time coming where there will be more cups than teams in the Aul at this rate.
The only way you will get to be out the Cross is at a disciplinary meeting or the bus for a City game .
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 5:12 PM
Big call out to Village , wrote off pre season . Top of the league today.
Also the View , 2 great wins on the bounce.
Big call out to Village , wrote off pre season . Top of the league today.
Also the View , 2 great wins on the bounce.
Knocka good win at a tuff Waterloo
Fear play to village
Going to be an interesting season
Jason Bourne
26/08/2023, 10:34 PM
In fairness every game is tough when your desperate for a win.
Village an the View have proven talk is cheap , let's hope it keeps the respective divisions competitive as a result.
All the rest can do is play catch up .
Ballwasthere
27/08/2023, 12:18 PM
In fairness every game is tough when your desperate for a win.
Village an the View have proven talk is cheap , let's hope it keeps the respective divisions competitive as a result.
All the rest can do is play catch up .
I was one of the fellas knocking village in preseason, I’ll hold my hand up and am happy to admit I was wrong, Leonard Dunlea has them very fit in fairness to him, Castleview looking strong also, that premier A is the strongest it’s been in years
Just back from Grangevale-Glenthorn, Fabulous game with end to end action, Glenthorn could feel hard done by not to get a draw but Billy Tabb up front is a different level, terrorised the two centre halves all game with two worldies to his name, the premier looks to be very strong and competitive, despite what plenty of naysayers say in regards to the AULs lack of quality, the top 3 divisions have some great sides
latte2012
28/08/2023, 8:37 AM
I’ve heard there’s been some decent football being played in all divisions in the first couple of games. Long may it continue. Some big one sided score lines so far too.
Jason Bourne
28/08/2023, 8:43 AM
Saying any player is in a different class is a subjective statement.
Bit like saying Coachford are a bad team because they were hockeyed 5 nil by a team that would hockey most sides 10 nil. Coachford are a good side,Villa different class.
Grange are prepared an organised.
Take Billy out of it an their done as a unit. He got 2 great goals but did little else. But as Roy says 'that's his job"
Glenthorn hopefully will battle through.
Eric the King
28/08/2023, 9:21 AM
Saying take Billy out of Grange Vale is like saying take the equivalent out of Cathedral or Springfield for example and those teams are then finished. The guy who scores the majority of a teams goals is always a loss.
Broadway Joe
28/08/2023, 11:59 AM
Grangevale a one man team?
Far from it...very fit hard working side and a lot of hard work and effort put in for a number of years in the background.
Their social media probably a bit over the top but they all work hard for each other and train 2/3 nights a week.
Keeper top quality and some very good players throughout the team.
Is it fair to say take John Corcoran outta Cathedral that they are done as a unit? Not at all.
The the desmond fella outta Watergrasshiil and they are done as a unit? Not at all.
Majority of top teams will have a major goalscorer.
Sounds a bit like sour grapes to me!
Broadway Joe
28/08/2023, 12:00 PM
Fair play to village and Leonard..great start for them.
Written off by many but they have had a great start!
Jason Bourne
28/08/2023, 12:10 PM
Hence the word "subjective" touché
latte2012
28/08/2023, 1:32 PM
When a player is scoring 20 goals a season I think it’s fair to say objectively that he is different class ? in fairness to grangevale it seems like they are a well run club from top to bottom.
Jason Bourne
28/08/2023, 2:50 PM
I agree that Grangevale are a well run club. With really good people.
But 20 goals a season in the AUL is not exactly career defining considering the standard week to week in any division.
Average Baller
28/08/2023, 9:29 PM
Shandon, Bweeng & Boher the early pacesetters in Divs 1, 2 & 3. Impressive results from them all. Rylane losing 7-1 last week and winning 10-1 this week is some turnaround. Is GAA a factor there?
SteveSilvermint
29/08/2023, 8:07 PM
Big win tonight for cathedral just about deserved it 2 good side’s early in season both will get stronger .
Pass pass pass
29/08/2023, 8:39 PM
Fully agree with what you say silvermint cathedral were the better side for me just and deserved to win it. great finish for the winner aswell.
SteveSilvermint
29/08/2023, 9:01 PM
Nice size crowd great to see
latte2012
30/08/2023, 9:25 AM
Anyone know why grattan b haven’t played a league game yet?
Jason Bourne
30/08/2023, 1:23 PM
I think they were supposed to play last Thursday but it was cancelled due to Tony Fitzs funeral.
Not sure if they were down to play last weekend but on Billy's website there playing Boscos away this Sunday.
Jason Bourne
30/08/2023, 1:25 PM
Was there any particular reason last nights game was played in Mayfield Community Astro.
Are either side using that pitch this season.
Ballwasthere
30/08/2023, 2:04 PM
Was there any particular reason last nights game was played in Mayfield Community Astro.
Are either side using that pitch this season.
cathedral have been using it for home games since last season I think, most of the games I’ve seen them play have been there
Fully agree with what you say silvermint cathedral were the better side for me just and deserved to win it. great finish for the winner aswell.
What game where ye watching ffs
Gunnerozil81
30/08/2023, 4:15 PM
What way did coachford line out the other day ? Are theybdown a few bodies this season, and a few B lads gone up ?
AULboy
30/08/2023, 4:22 PM
What game where ye watching ffs
Ah come off it. Ye were chasing the game from the start Cathedrals CB played an absolute stormer Chris was limping 15 mins into the game and ye wouldn’t even sub him off Cathedral had a gear or two more than knocka last night
latte2012
30/08/2023, 4:49 PM
Long season ahead don't get your knickers in a twist
Mad knocka losing to a team that got beaten by a team that lost to a pub team only a couple of weeks ago.
Jason Bourne
30/08/2023, 5:20 PM
Loose comments lads.
Pressure must be mounting an it has only started.
SteveSilvermint
30/08/2023, 5:51 PM
Knocka fine side and cathedral are on a par with them early days both will improve center back with cathedral is off the scale good he’s top class and a leader you factor in heaphy to that starting 11 very very strong.. manager call last nite turned the game .. positional and sub
Dr. football
30/08/2023, 6:05 PM
What way did coachford line out the other day ? Are theybdown a few bodies this season, and a few B lads gone up ?
Line up is on FAI connect app. Everyone is using it but AUL
fruice
30/08/2023, 8:04 PM
That’s not true Grangvale are using it I presume it Must be the clubs input the data to connect for the lineups
Dr. football
30/08/2023, 8:29 PM
That’s not true Grangvale are using it I presume it Must be the clubs input the data to connect for the lineups
It is true, only one team are using it the AUL are not.
Think the app is great, get away with nothing anymore with it !
Will be harder to keep fellas happy if they see they are not on the list of 18 players though!
Ah come off it. Ye were chasing the game from the start Cathedrals CB played an absolute stormer Chris was limping 15 mins into the game and ye wouldn’t even sub him off Cathedral had a gear or two more than knocka last night
The center back was the only player on the pitch for cathedral ffs and the hole city is saying it knocka hadn't players true injury and fellas not released by other clubs that's was y chris wasn't subbed there taken there losses well shook hands other teams and didn't storm of but it will come good for them I can see the where very very unlucky and that all it is it's football at the end off the day anything can happen but the best is yet to come
SteveSilvermint
30/08/2023, 8:39 PM
It don’t say much for knocka with your comment that they couldn’t beat 1 man ha ha ..cathedral are a fine side and will get better but Cristy d ..criss .. Mossi and rob Healy wer very good all fine players .. this will be a very hard league title to win
fruice
30/08/2023, 9:07 PM
It is true, only one team are using it the AUL are not.
Think the app is great, get away with nothing anymore with it !
Will be harder to keep fellas happy if they see they are not on the list of 18 players though!
Surely it’s the club responsibility for inputting the data not the leagues.
Pass pass pass
30/08/2023, 10:14 PM
Line up is on FAI connect app. Everyone is using it but AUL
How come grangevale are using it for every game? Surely the aul should be forcing clubs to use it. It’s going to be wholesale next season so might aswell start now.
Lads just so clubs are aware if a player is not active on the FAI connect app he can not play he’s illegal I know knocka had four players Tue night that waiting to be confirmed and Aul made it clear they couldn’t play so be careful
fruice
31/08/2023, 12:31 PM
That’s not 100% true once the player goes on the system they are active they then have to jump through about 5 steps and need to be confirmed on Connect before they can play.
That’s assuming they are a new registration to Connect there is less steps if you had been on the FAI Net system previously and transferred 1st day to the connect system.
The Connect system is brilliant but it’s an awful lot slower than previous systems to get a player 100% ready to play.
The FAI are slow in processing players but the volume of players being put on it must be huge
That’s not 100% true once the player goes on the system they are active they then have to jump through about 5 steps and need to be confirmed on Connect before they can play.
That’s assuming they are a new registration to Connect there is less steps if you had been on the FAI Net system previously and transferred 1st day to the connect system.
The Connect system is brilliant but it’s an awful lot slower than previous systems to get a player 100% ready to play.
The FAI are slow in processing players but the volume of players being put on it must be huge
Your actually right there fruice around 5 steps but a player being submitted our released by another don't mean the can play the need to be confirmed to play I think that's the last step really
fruice
31/08/2023, 12:50 PM
Your right once they are confirmed they are good but in order for this to happen they must be confirmed by both the FAI and the league the AUL in our instance.
JaketheSnake
31/08/2023, 1:17 PM
The center back was the only player on the pitch for cathedral ffs and the hole city is saying it knocka hadn't players true injury and fellas not released by other clubs that's was y chris wasn't subbed there taken there losses well shook hands other teams and didn't storm of but it will come good for them I can see the where very very unlucky and that all it is it's football at the end off the day anything can happen but the best is yet to come
The result suggests that Cathedral have more than one player! Boohoo Knocka had a few injuries and players missing . Every team has to deal with injuries and fellas missing due to work. Can't see Knocka winning anything the manager is a total bluffer