View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24
Jason Bourne
11/01/2024, 9:58 PM
Mossie Linnane Cup quarter-final: Grattan v Corkbeg is now re-fixed for the Mayfield United all-weather facility on the above date at 12.00 (noon)
If that's not a statement of intent i dont know what is ,,,,, the Grattan lads are going all out for games ,,,,,,handy few bob for an astro an a ref
Harsh ref
12/01/2024, 4:26 AM
Jesus calm down Jason ye didn’t want to be giving them home advantage my opinion ye should come through this one handy enough yer moving along nicely keep up the good work.
Play it out
12/01/2024, 6:13 AM
Grattan have moved games there for the last few years to be fair to them. It's good to see clubs who want to play.
The Goldfish
12/01/2024, 7:58 AM
The Goldfish,suspended for a month.
scaffa7
12/01/2024, 8:23 AM
Just got that message sent to me no complete lies knocka called game over pitch castleview were happy to play it.
Gunnerozil81
12/01/2024, 8:28 AM
With the dry spell and frost , iv been out on one or two pitches and they seem playable
Cityboy66
12/01/2024, 10:33 AM
Cork Aul updated fixtures, Any fixtures going ahead will be on Astro according to the change of venues.. Pitches can't be that playable if that is the case
latte2012
12/01/2024, 2:59 PM
Grattan have moved games there for the last few years to be fair to them. It's good to see clubs who want to play.
Most teams would use an Astro if there was one available and they were able to pay for it. And Grattan don’t want to have to go down to east cork if they call the game off this weekend.
Harsh ref
12/01/2024, 8:59 PM
Goldfish bigger ban than John Corcoran he was entertainment 12th ?
Played under Daniel’s for a good few seasons very good manager won the lot he did give the man credit where it’s due legend in my eyes
Dr. football
12/01/2024, 9:55 PM
Played under Daniel’s for a good few seasons very good manager won the lot he did give the man credit where it’s due legend in my eyes
Last 3 clubs he was involved with folded 2 didn’t even finish the season out.
Harsh ref
12/01/2024, 10:44 PM
Football that rumour goes around Blarney folded after Covid knocka folded if I’m right Derek told knocka committee Xmas before they won league he couldn’t commit and mangers they inviewed wanted money Derek didn’t take penny off knocka and went back this year cause two of his good friends brought knocka back and asked would he help man has won every league and mossy and Aoh legend my eyes Scaffa.
Play it out
13/01/2024, 7:55 AM
He left Knocka to go to Blarney Street who came back.
Blarney Street folded after cup final bust up in dressing room.
Any word on Blarney Street revival?
Harsh ref
13/01/2024, 12:39 PM
Training session this morning for Grattan battered um moving along nicely
Cityboy66
13/01/2024, 12:57 PM
I would be thinking Corkbeg another team in trouble in the Premier.. Relegation be interesting between Themseves City Wanders and Glenthorn.
Play it out
13/01/2024, 1:08 PM
It really was a training session, too powerful. Real good talent there this morning.
Corkbeg will find it very tough. Of one of those bottom teams can be first time get 2 wins, they'll stay up. I'd back City Wanderers to stay up.
legend23
13/01/2024, 1:45 PM
He left Knocka to go to Blarney Street who came back.
Blarney Street folded after cup final bust up in dressing room.
Any word on Blarney Street revival?
My cousin is trying to get it up and running again, but i think its a big ask the pool of players and interest is der anymore for d younger generation
Play it out
13/01/2024, 1:48 PM
Such a shame how hard it is for one team clubs now. Fair play to all volunteers keeping things going.
Jason Bourne
13/01/2024, 6:18 PM
Grattan were cute today playing the game on Astro. Regional play on Astro as well next week in the FAI.
Lee an Bullman with 2 goals apiece.
Some of the goals today were just great goals , with respect irrelevant of the opposition they were technically hard goals to score so to take those chances were class. Especially Bullmans 2nd, and goal 7 an 8.
In fairness Corkbeg never stopped, there keeper was outstanding. It was just when Grattan clicked then Corkbeg could not keep them out.
Best of luck to both teams as well foe playing ball with a good attitude, didnt see a bad tackle or yellow for what I was there for an the ref had a good game .
Ballwasthere
13/01/2024, 8:50 PM
Grattan I must say look a different beast this year, they’re strong 1-11 with a more than solid bench, Lee is a huge add, takes the pressure off bullman. Think this is the year they get over the hump known as coachford.
Some of their goals today were as good as anything you’ll see at senior level their left winger is unreal with the ball.
corkbeg played decent ball despite the scoreline, O’Regan up front is a decent player, never stops either. out of the 3 in the relegation battle id fancy them to score the most goals so hopefully for them that will lead to them staying up
AULstarboy
14/01/2024, 2:12 PM
Ye all have a go at coachford here for playing a few games but no one is mentioning knocka, played 1 home league game and the rest called off surely the league should tell them get an all weather or forfeit the points. Cathedral called off twice against them Waterloo and this week Castleview. Greenwood are catching up with the view I was speaking with a lad from there they reckon they can catch the view
Harsh ref
14/01/2024, 2:54 PM
Catch the view off his game id say view beat um twice this season already they’ll need few teams in that league to beat view can’t see that happening.
Play it out
14/01/2024, 3:08 PM
It's Castleview's league for sure, they are doing brilliantly, the dog man as you call him is rolling back the years.
Those Barrs lads joining Greenwood really have improved them for a while. Will they stay?
Coachford committee member told me they have AUL on strings and will have another free weekend after next. If that happens, what's the point in any if it? Imagine this playing out in Shipping League or MSL. Hopefully Grattan do it come May.
fruice
14/01/2024, 3:16 PM
Only 4 games off this weekend.
Cit closed their grounds according to some one here.
2 out of the other 3 games off are on the north side are the pitches that poor they couldn’t be played on?
Loads of games played all over the county this weekend
Jason Bourne
14/01/2024, 5:11 PM
Aulstarboy , the difference between Coachford an everyone else was everyone else didn't come on here after the 1st Grattan game an gloat at the fact they had pulled a fast one .
An did it again.
Knock couldnt use a pitch they didn't have at the start of the season until the City Council got it match ready.
A few knocka heads blew there trumpets ealry doors but results were poor ..back in the box I say . Buy they just been going about there buisness quietly since.
Bubbles burst lads , Coachfords , Grangevales , Castleviews or Knocka's they eventually burst despite all the inflated expectations.
Harsh ref
14/01/2024, 5:54 PM
Castleview bubble won’t bust anytime soon James doing very well Jason you just having dig off then cause they bust yer bubble up in Grattan park in the cup haha bad man ? and as I said months ago grangevale where never going to win that league so know bubble busting there either.
Jason Bourne
14/01/2024, 6:42 PM
Even refs can miss read situations an comments .
I think the View are having a great season.
They won a game on spotters if I'm correct back then.
That's different say to winning a game over 90 or 110 mins.
That's a pot luck situation.
Rvp123
14/01/2024, 7:34 PM
Grattan B big shock loosing 4 1 at home
Jason Bourne
14/01/2024, 8:35 PM
People take what they want out of comments.
There's a junior team , because of a Senior team.
But there's no junior team without a senior team
Ya might not like what i say but its gospel,
2nd teams doing well is great , but there is a line,
greater good is the club, all that matters is the club.
Let's see how this all pans out.
Harsh ref
15/01/2024, 9:23 AM
Gospel you cracks me up Jason but I get your point end of day it’s senior club.
AULstarboy
15/01/2024, 9:39 AM
Aulstarboy , the difference between Coachford an everyone else was everyone else didn't come on here after the 1st Grattan game an gloat at the fact they had pulled a fast one .
An did it again.
Knock couldnt use a pitch they didn't have at the start of the season until the City Council got it match ready.
A few knocka heads blew there trumpets ealry doors but results were poor ..back in the box I say . Buy they just been going about there buisness quietly since.
Bubbles burst lads , Coachfords , Grangevales , Castleviews or Knocka's they eventually burst despite all the inflated expectations.
Knocka we’re told their pitch wouldn’t ready for 4 weeks into the league. We are now about 20 weeks into the season and they still only played 1 league game at home.
As for the bubbles bursting grattans was well and truly burst when they thought they walk the Castleview game and yes penalties are 50/50 but I watched that game and grattan were very lucky to make it to penalties they were bate off the park. And Grattan pulled their own strokes this year to get games off you have a short memory, Let’s hope Grattan don’t bottle it because all I’m seeing here is inflated expectations for Grattan walking the league. Let’s hope they can walk the walk.
Harsh ref
15/01/2024, 11:14 AM
Calm down star don’t think Grattan anything to prove this season all the talk at the start of season were they were to old but last few weeks have proving they can walk the walk thumping everything put in front of um and also was at that game that went to pens thought gratts were so unlucky played fringe players their backline aged 168 between um and still took view to pens there a credit to northside and on knocka they had one league game and 3 cup games at home where they bate all four teams out the gate including the Premier leaders in cup so I’d say aul not to pushed at the moment sending teams up there to get flogged over there confidence but that’s just my opinion.
Mashedpotato23
15/01/2024, 11:21 AM
Huge Wins For Catherderal and Donomore in the premier A. That league is wide open now , besides the view any team can grab second place and any team can be relegated along with Banteer
AULstarboy
15/01/2024, 6:50 PM
I didn’t mention grattans age they have enough experience in that league the majority of them are playing football a long time let’s not forget it’s junior football.
Knocka played strand in the league grangevale and donoghmore in the cup at home if I remember correctly. They did beat them and will prob win the majority of their games at home but my point is the league know the pitch is in poor shape but they played one game in September at home one in October and one in November, they can’t allow games to be called off when it’s anti social behaviour oppose to the weather. If the pitch is being vandalised that’s not the rest of the leagues fault they should be told they need an all weather or another pitch to fulfil the fixtures. Didn’t grattan have to deal with anti social behaviour a few times over the last couple of years, was their games called off?
Harsh ref
15/01/2024, 7:18 PM
220 for pitch and ref to play on all weather and then washing gear another 20 crazy money Aul stated last season and this season they would be booking all weathers so games would be played wondering have they even paid for one game so far.
fruice
15/01/2024, 7:44 PM
I’m all for all weathers but you seriously can’t expect the AUL to pay club’s bills for them?
That’s not fair on both the league and clubs who have put hard work into their infrastructure
Harsh ref
15/01/2024, 8:07 PM
I know fruice but Tom fitz made in clear at Aul meeting that last year few teams brought in to their attention it’s something they should look into over the backlog of games and at the agm that was the main point Tom brought up he said they will be doing it this season and don’t forget theses refs banging out cards for the fun of it costly day out playing all weather ha.
AULstarboy
15/01/2024, 8:32 PM
I know fruice but Tom fitz made in clear at Aul meeting that last year few teams brought in to their attention it’s something they should look into over the backlog of games and at the agm that was the main point Tom brought up he said they will be doing it this season and don’t forget theses refs banging out cards for the fun of it costly day out playing all weather ha.
220 Jesus Christ I remember when mayfield school was brand new it was 135, If both teams want the game on they could go half’s for the all weather pitch and maybe the league cover the ref. It gets the games on and stops the backlog towards the end of the season
TurnTheFullback
15/01/2024, 8:34 PM
Not a lad to ever defend the Aul but I don’t think the backlog is as bad people think ,AOH final always the June bank holiday so still the bones of 20 match weeks to go and then the evening games kick in April too so all teams should rattle off the games they have missed.
Changing the leagues back to just teams playing each other twice has helped with this a lot. .
fruice
15/01/2024, 8:44 PM
To be fair my understanding was they would look into it for cup games if both teams had an opportunity to have home advantage but nothing was set in stone.
Let’s be honest clubs have made use of astors in the city, Fermoy & Banteer.
Without them we would have a lot less games played to date.
Genuinely I couldn’t believe games were called off last weekend when so many pitches were playable they should have at very least been subject to a pitch inspection.
The forecast is poor for the weekend if the rain falls it will set pitches back for two or three weeks.
Cityboy66
15/01/2024, 9:11 PM
UCC beating Grangevale Handy tonight, Good preparation for the big game at weekend for Grangevale.
Jason Bourne
15/01/2024, 10:40 PM
If I'm honest the purest in me wished Grangevale had of won. They burst there balls in fairness week after week trying to be progressive an grow a club for the future , only to be hockeyed by an institution who have more wealth,players and facilities than the entire Cork Football fraternity together yet only at best stick around for a masters. An institution constantly spoilt by the good ol boys club.
You chose your days for games at the start of the season,,,,,,,UCC have the luxury of choosing what suits them when they want .
I think the Aul have opened Pandoras box now in relation to playing fixtures mid week,,,,,time will tell..
I know we have a giggle occasionally but in fairness Grangevale keep going an they have had a tough last 7 days an still I will guess they will be positive about traveling to Galway at the weekend.
Have to respect that in fairness.
goal-achio
15/01/2024, 11:58 PM
Utter garbage.
Mardyke under lights any night of the week, who doesn’t want it. WOW
Harsh ref
16/01/2024, 4:16 AM
Agree with goal on this one no pity on grangevale look at the last few seasons they have no issues changing games and times to Mayfield all weathers midweek to suit them think Ucc and Castleview be cracker in Aoh two teams with so many players to call on should be great game.
AULstarboy
16/01/2024, 8:03 AM
Harsh you seem a bit bitter with teams having players to choose from, every team is equal at the start of the season probably bar UCC, every team is opened to signing players. The couple of castleview lads that get called up senior were the talking point a few weeks back now its UCC having a college to choose from. I never heard you giving out about knocka having senior players on their team, vinnie kinger docker Chris cuff the fella Leonard all played senior what’s you’re opinion on that?
Harsh ref
16/01/2024, 10:10 AM
No problem with ucc at all fella think it’s great to have the luxury that castleview and ucc have any manager would love that knocka just average junior team by looks of result in league no opinion on um to be honest that manager always have knack of signing good players.
Play it out
16/01/2024, 10:34 AM
Who wouldn't want to play in Mardyke on any night? Anyone complaining about that could never be pleased.
Any team playing on astro will have to suit the tenants like Grattan on weekend. I doubt Corkbeg complained either. Whatever the case is, best get games played and play ball.
Would a summer season ever be feasible? This winter lark is tough.
goal-achio
16/01/2024, 10:53 AM
Just to educate ye all
To play for UCC you have to attend UCC
Once you finish college you’re out.
So that means generally you must be between 18 -22
That’s it done
To play for grattan coachford village Castleview boher Shannon Celtic bweeng and every other team you can be a carpenter an accountant a shop assistant or even in college between 17-40.
This carry on of ucc having a pick of players is more garbage. I can’t sign John Corcoran or a Stoat or billy Tabb or Adam Lee Colin Hickey Jamie Donovan or Adam Murphy. It’s all bitter talk lads.
Cityboy66
16/01/2024, 11:40 AM
Think it's mad fellas are giving out about teams playing games mid week and then it's the same fellas giving out if that team cancels a game at the weekend. The day of matches being played should not be relevant as at least they are getting fixtures played.
Ballwasthere
16/01/2024, 6:31 PM
Spoke to a glenthorn lad who watched the village-Springfield game at the weekend, said it was a cracker and that village could have equalised in the 90th minute and Springfield scored from the resulting goal kick, he reckons James Stoat was the difference between them and that in his words he’s handily the best player in the league