View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56

latte2012
25/09/2023, 7:21 PM
So far it’s looking like every team can be beaten on a given day, which makes for an exciting season. Maybe watergrasshill will be an exception.

Ballwasthere
25/09/2023, 8:14 PM
Took in a couple games over the weekend, Friday night Villge were beaten by Douglas hall juniors in the Fai, Village looked the classier outfit in the first half and should have been ahead at the break only for a silly penalty conceded against the run of play, they tired badly in the second half. Adam Gurta is a brilliant player centre half for them
Glenthorn made very hard work of their tie against Carrigtohil, 4-1 up cruising with 20 to go but complacency and some very lax defending meant they had to dig deep, in truth they could have been 7 or 8 up but were lucky not to be taken to extra time in the end winning 4-3, their first win of the season so hopefully they can kick on, Pa Long and Adam Lee for them are super players
Grangevale got past a strong Riverstown side Sunday as well 1-0, they are a menace on the counter, excellent start to the season by them a welcome addition to the premier division

any other games taken in over the weekend?

Ballwasthere
25/09/2023, 8:18 PM
Also the MJL and AUL seem to be a bit closer than in recent years, I always felt the AUL sides were always a decent bit above them but with a lot of the games being very close it seems the MJL has become a bit stronger

Jason Bourne
25/09/2023, 9:51 PM
The MSL junior has improved but it's a fact the Aul has declinded badly from the days of Kinsale , Grattan , Leeside Wilton an Park slugging it out.

That was a different time when any of them could win the league and any of them would give any MSL senior side a good game .

Different time now so it's hard to compare .

But least there's a bit of competition across an ever decreasing selection.

Fair dues.

Harsh ref
26/09/2023, 6:06 AM
Agree with you there think Watergrasshill will go unbeaten in league but team I think will upset a lot of teams is Castleview playing well and having luxury of players dropping down from Msl team will be a big advantage for um and luxury for manager but one thing I haven’t agree with over the years players playing Aul one week senior league next week and back aul again I see that’s happening with castleview and the moment it should really be you either play Aul or Senior league think it will be factor as season goes on with players they be able to call on but that’s the luxury I guess of having two teams.

Ballwasthere
26/09/2023, 9:22 AM
The MSL junior has improved but it's a fact the Aul has declinded badly from the days of Kinsale , Grattan , Leeside Wilton an Park slugging it out.

That was a different time when any of them could win the league and any of them would give any MSL senior side a good game .

Different time now so it's hard to compare .

But least there's a bit of competition across an ever decreasing selection.

Fair dues.

oh it has 100% declined since those days there’s no disputing that, but even 5 years ago when I played I was Glenthorn we were lucky to avoid relegation that year and had Everton in the FAI, they were in the middle of winning it 3 years in a row or something like that and we battered them 6-1, there was a noticeable gap then, and I don’t think the AUL has regressed too much in the last few seasons from what I can see, a few teams went senior but the likes of Grangevale and UCC coming up and the competition in premier A looks like the league is after steadying a bit in quality, Apart from Park and at the time Killereen none of the sides that went senior were too impressive before hand

Average Baller
26/09/2023, 12:37 PM
Agree with you there think Watergrasshill will go unbeaten in league but team I think will upset a lot of teams is Castleview playing well and having luxury of players dropping down from Msl team will be a big advantage for um and luxury for manager but one thing I haven’t agree with over the years players playing Aul one week senior league next week and back aul again I see that’s happening with castleview and the moment it should really be you either play Aul or Senior league think it will be factor as season goes on with players they be able to call on but that’s the luxury I guess of having two teams.

Shandon will have something to say about that. Wouldn’t be writing them off. Watergrasshill without their star striker for the next while afaik. Unsure why but I see he’s playing hurling with Imokilly so that’s probably it.

Harsh ref
26/09/2023, 12:53 PM
That be great to marks a good football man be nice to see shandon putting it up to them

latte2012
27/09/2023, 11:00 AM
That’s a massive advantage alright. What’s the official rule around that do ya know?

Hacker
27/09/2023, 11:22 AM
They have been doing it for donkeys years.

My understanding is that you can only register with one league ie AUL or MSL.

If the AUL adopt the FAI app next season you would think this would help clamp down on this sort of thing

Other teams up around the top of Premier A should be asking questions if I it's not permitted under the rules

Harsh ref
27/09/2023, 11:22 AM
Not certain latte few years back once you played 5 games up senior you had to stay I’m sure was the rule but don’t know now but really think you should only be able to play Msl or Aul with it being different leagues but it’s great for teams that can have the luxury of doing that.

Chips and beans
27/09/2023, 8:43 PM
Another big game for castleview Friday night, if cian white turns up again they will be hard to stop

Harsh ref
28/09/2023, 8:34 AM
Why chips is he shocking for turning up

The Goldfish
28/09/2023, 8:58 AM
Heard the same about castleview players dropping down to play AUL for a game here and there and going back up senior again surley with them in 2 different leagues you should need to transfer or are the AUL gonna turn a blind eye again like what they are after doing with cathedral celtic by playing a player thats suspended for 6 months and knew he was suspended but said nothing and another player in qustion played and he was on system with no club and again the AUL knew this but decided not to act on it.

Broadway Joe
28/09/2023, 10:14 AM
Another big game for castleview Friday night, if cian white turns up again they will be hard to stop

Or Dylan Cambridge since you were rattling on about him a few weeks back after grattan.
Better yet if ye drop down a few seniors again ye will be even harder to stop

Harsh ref
28/09/2023, 11:13 AM
Think castleview will have to much for Banteer tomorrow James greene rolling back the years for um in the middle loves a Meg that fella.

FOMC
28/09/2023, 4:21 PM
Heard the same about castleview players dropping down to play AUL for a game here and there and going back up senior again surley with them in 2 different leagues you should need to transfer or are the AUL gonna turn a blind eye again like what they are after doing with cathedral celtic by playing a player thats suspended for 6 months and knew he was suspended but said nothing and another player in qustion played and he was on system with no club and again the AUL knew this but decided not to act on it.

As far as I know there was no blind eye turned. Apparently Cathedral got called to a meeting with The AUL last night so I'd say there could be something soon on that.

Harsh ref
29/09/2023, 8:19 AM
Lad working with me plays for um said they might be in trouble FOMC they played lad that’s suspended till January in all the games wonder will many games go ahead this week over weather.

Who?
30/09/2023, 11:34 AM
Lad working with me plays for um said they might be in trouble FOMC they played lad that’s suspended till January in all the games wonder will many games go ahead this week over weather.

So there found out now and the cheated ..taken 3 points from knocknaheeny celtic and apparently knocka don't get the points our a game back ..don't know who the real cheaters are dose it not say if a team cheats our plays players that shouldn't be playing..automatically other team should get points that's what I thought but apparently not knocknaheeny celtic down a game and 3 points from other side cheated aul is another level

Jason Bourne
30/09/2023, 1:05 PM
If your going to make accusations at least know the rules .

Read the Aul rule book first an understand the rules for appeal and then understand what the Aul are allowed to do. Its in black an white .

Some of its actually in red.

It's no wonder they shut this thread down with the nonsense posted.

It's supposed to be about actual football in the Aul.

Back on subject, a complete washout today ,,,,,,anything on astro tomorrow

Harsh ref
30/09/2023, 4:04 PM
Just back from Donoughmore knocka game 4 2 home team played in Banteer knocka will be kicking themselves chance after chance went a miss Dockers should of had at least 4 goals but Donoughmore came back to bite them after knocka 2 up great result for lads hopefully they can put run together after this result.

FOMC
30/09/2023, 4:13 PM
Just back from Donoughmore knocka game 4 2 home team played in Banteer knocka will be kicking themselves chance after chance went a miss Dockers should of had at least 4 goals but Donoughmore came back to bite them after knocka 2 up great result for lads hopefully they can put run together after this result.

Quick lodge a complaint!

Harsh ref
30/09/2023, 4:30 PM
Nothing to do with either club FOMC just watching football game great result for home team lad that played with coachford had good game

Broadway Joe
30/09/2023, 5:03 PM
Nothing to do with either club FOMC just watching football game great result for home team lad that played with coachford had good game

Jack Murphy I think his name is.fine player.
Great result for donoughmore

Broadway Joe
30/09/2023, 5:04 PM
So there found out now and the cheated ..taken 3 points from knocknaheeny celtic and apparently knocka don't get the points our a game back ..don't know who the real cheaters are dose it not say if a team cheats our plays players that shouldn't be playing..automatically other team should get points that's what I thought but apparently not knocknaheeny celtic down a game and 3 points from other side cheated aul is another level

Definitely...knocka need all the points they need in their relegation battle?

goal-achio
30/09/2023, 5:42 PM
Jack Murphy I think his name is.fine player.
Great result for donoughmore
Jack Sheehan is the guys name he is a fine player.
Huge result in terms of that league. Castleview seem to be tipping away nicely they might get far enough in front for too much work to do for other teams

Harsh ref
30/09/2023, 9:07 PM
Goal think his name is jack Murphy heard the 4/5 lads playing today that were with coachford last year left cause new coach manager told um he didn’t want gaa players this year

Harsh ref
30/09/2023, 10:21 PM
Being a great football team last couple of years but last 10 years paying players and managers I never think is right way to go Grattan paying player few seasons back to think it’s a joke think even now Grattan and coachford paying manager in aul football not good for club if they need money to do job other lads here might have different opinions that’s just mine.

goal-achio
30/09/2023, 10:28 PM
Every manager should be paid. Not even up for debate.

Harsh ref
30/09/2023, 11:42 PM
Don’t agree think coachford and Grattan pushing there muscle last few seasons paying players and manager even this year coachford grattan city wonders paying managers this year Think and. Just my opinion paying mangers aul football is a disgrace you should really need people who want to do job for right reason and not for money but that’s just my option not fighting wit anyone just don’t agree.

goal-achio
30/09/2023, 11:46 PM
Don’t agree think coachford and Grattan pushing there muscle last few seasons paying players and manager even this year coachford grattan city wonders paying managers this year Think and. Just my opinion paying mangers aul football is a disgrace you should really need people who want to do job for right reason and not for money but that’s just my option not fighting wit anyone just don’t agree.

99% of the time managers have families
100% of the time they have commitments
If you want success you pay for success

fruice
01/10/2023, 7:05 AM
I agree that mangers should be compensated for the time they give up.
The season is long and challenging and ultimately if you want the right type of person you will most likely have to pay for that.

But also I feel if it were to go down the route of the gaa clubs and you start to see a lot of clubs doing it.

The fee should be performance related.

goal-achio
01/10/2023, 7:46 AM
[QUOTE=fruice;2163452]I agree that mangers should be compensated for the time they give up.
The season is long and challenging and ultimately if you want the right type of person you will most likely have to pay for that.

But also I feel if it were to go down the route of the gaa clubs and you start to see a lot of clubs doing it.

The fee should be performance related.[/QUOTE
I disagree if anyone gives up their time they should be paid
Even if it’s only the club paying for a fella to have a weekend away with the wife(accomadation costs)they should get something.
They are the first to every training and match and the last to leave.
Paying players is horse ****

Jason Bourne
01/10/2023, 8:48 AM
Utter ****e an nonsense to be honest ,as to your last rant . Again an again will u stop an give us a rest ..

Coachford an Grattan run their own buisness their way , who are we to judge.

Anything underfoot today lads ,,,,,

Gunnerozil81
01/10/2023, 11:13 AM
Called down to coachford this morning to watch their B team play. Gates closed . Same horse **** again down there

Broadway Joe
01/10/2023, 12:27 PM
Very heavy losses for village and glenthorn today..any match reports there?
No doubt the grangevale social media machine will do a full analysis

Harsh ref
01/10/2023, 12:29 PM
Brilliant performance this morning from grangevale

Eric the King
01/10/2023, 1:15 PM
Grange Vale won well. Too fit and powerful for Village. Up top Tabb with a hatrick. Ran them ragged. Overall Grange Vale were too good for Village. Village kept plugging away to their credit. Both Grange Vale and UCC will make this a competitive division which is great to see.

Eric the King
01/10/2023, 1:21 PM
No doubt it will. Why cant clubs use the FAI NET app. Is it the AUL not giving access ? Even the AOH Cup draw was mapped out last year om League Reoublic, where is it this year? No Oscar Traynor entry ! What are the AUL commitee doing. ? Seems like they have no interest in advancing the league. The CBL cup draws are done live on Facebook for transparency. AUL haven't even thought of that .. Cant even get the draw on website and why 3 websites.? They cant even run one website correctly!.

Ballwasthere
01/10/2023, 4:39 PM
Was at the Glenthorn game, they were asked in Preseason did they want to go down and they should have, pride is costing them. They played okay football but they’re like a sieve at the back, not having a go off anybody just my opinion as I watch them a lot, Adam Lee a huge loss up front.

credit to Springfield though they were solid throughout, that James Stoat was magical again, he’ll be in with a shout for the golden boot this season. Springfield will have a serious say in the title race

Jason Bourne
01/10/2023, 7:33 PM
I'm actually surprised any games went ahead at all

fruice
02/10/2023, 7:54 AM
Called down to coachford this morning to watch their B team play. Gates closed . Same horse **** again down there

You do realise we have had 3 times the normal rainfall for the month of September.

No club would have let games go ahead on their pitches last weekend if they were anyway soft let alone one with a full underage structure.

There is more to clubs than just the adult teams.

Gunnerozil81
02/10/2023, 6:30 PM
It's the same craic every year with 2 or 3 teams , including the mentioned. Unless its water logged games should go ahead

Jason Bourne
02/10/2023, 6:50 PM
Sorry now lads buy I disagree completly.

Clubs in the Aul mostly survive on weekly script or possibly a lotto draw.

Calling games off actually then denys them that opertuinity.

Fellas checkin pitches in junior football, get a life.

Coachford and Grattan actually own there own dressing rooms an grounds.

Fear dues to them for taking care of them.

Gunnerozil81
02/10/2023, 8:21 PM
You disagree with games being called off or not called off ?

fruice
02/10/2023, 8:33 PM
It's the same craic every year with 2 or 3 teams , including the mentioned. Unless its water logged games should go ahead

I don’t agree with that a pitch doesn’t have to water logged for a game to be called off.

If a pitch is soft it will cut up significantly and could a pitch out of action for weeks and a result losing multiple weekends of games.

Where as calling off a game when a pitch is soft might only cost you one weekend.

Jason Bourne
02/10/2023, 8:51 PM
Lads I'm old school an where a game can be played an it dosent pose a safety risk by turning into a mud bath an players get a fighting chance then play.

But common sence has to prevail.

Times are different now , jobs , mortgages, family's all need to take priority over a game on a bog.

There are too many on here who like to make up stories rather than just admit it's every clubs right to take care of what little they actually have.

Be it Coachford or Grattan or anyone , play the game on last Saturday an risk the pitch being wrecked,,,,,,,an 2 sides are goosed then when ya can't play on it the following week.

latte2012
02/10/2023, 9:36 PM
It’s silly moaning about games being called off last weekend with the rain that fell. Good chance the ref would call it after checking the pitch if the clubs didn’t do it in advance and that’s frustrating for all involved when that happens. Imagine the uproar if someone broke a leg playing on a slippery muddy pitch, the club would be the worst in the world for not cancelling.

Gunnerozil81
02/10/2023, 9:52 PM
Look if a pitch is in ****e fair enough , but it's the winter time (almost) , there going to be soft most weekends, if teams are worried about the appearance of the field they shud be booking up astro in advance if the weather is going to be crap . If players are not willing to stump up and extra few euro to help do this , they shouldn't be involved. Just my opinion , and I think it makes sense. Drawing out the leagues into the summer months is not good enough.

Jason Bourne
02/10/2023, 10:59 PM
Folks getting an astro isn't as easy as it used to be . They have all become more expensive because the people who own them know they have clubs by the liathroidis.

Mayfields astro is the best one an that's even hard to get at a decent price nowadays .

Some ridiculous prices being asked for nowadays for an astro for 2 hours