View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24
fruice
05/03/2024, 2:11 PM
Let’s wait and see is it true 1st.
But let’s be clear it’s the AULs money and they can see to invest where they feel appropriate.
If they go to the club’s looking for more money thats a different story.
They AUL won’t invest unless they are given guarantees.
latte2012
05/03/2024, 5:01 PM
Let’s wait and see is it true 1st.
But let’s be clear it’s the AULs money and they can see to invest where they feel appropriate.
If they go to the club’s looking for more money thats a different story.
They AUL won’t invest unless they are given guarantees.
I’ll believe this when I see it. Why would the AUL invest in all weather for one club in the northside? Would it not make sense to include other clubs in the area. If the AUL have money to invest in clubs there’s plenty of clubs out there could do with a few bob to upgrade their facilities to make them even just a basic standard.
fruice
05/03/2024, 5:18 PM
I’ll believe this when I see it. Why would the AUL invest in all weather for one club in the northside? Would it not make sense to include other clubs in the area. If the AUL have money to invest in clubs there’s plenty of clubs out there could do with a few bob to upgrade their facilities to make them even just a basic standard.
I would imagine it will have to work for both parties.
Castleview have the ground it will benefit all clubs.
For the AUL to do this on their own would take years and for a much larger price.
As much as one club is the main beneficiary Castleview must also put up some capital and give their ground away for a set period of time each week.
What other AUL club could offer this opportunity to the AUL?
As I said earlier the women’s league and Casement have entered into a similar deal.
It works and will get a better chance of funding as it can show it’s not just for one club but multiple clubs will get the use of it.
Dr. football
05/03/2024, 6:23 PM
Maybe on the old central pitch and use of Castleview dressing rooms?
Anything else would be strange move by AUL
KevinJBarry
05/03/2024, 6:25 PM
You’re some man to find a negative.
Castleview are an AUL club you would have to go outside the city to find another AUL club for them with a similar set up to invest in.
They are an MSL club with an AUL team . They have twice as many teams in the MSL as the AUL . As for being some man to find a negative , how about this one , I am positive if the AUL were to do this it would be a massive mistake.
Wouldnt be the first time the AUL were swindled out of money ;)
fruice
05/03/2024, 6:31 PM
They are an MSL club with an AUL team . They have twice as many teams in the MSL as the AUL . As for being some man to find a negative , how about this one , I am positive if the AUL were to do this it would be a massive mistake
Why would it be a massive mistake?
KevinJBarry
05/03/2024, 6:41 PM
Why would it be a massive mistake?
I haven't got the time or patience to explain it to an AUL Committee "Fanboy" like yourself
fruice
05/03/2024, 7:28 PM
I haven't got the time or patience to explain it to an AUL Committee "Fanboy" like yourself
In other word you haven’t a bulls notion what you are talking about.
05/03/2024, 7:46 PM
Lads,keep it civil,I'm done giving out warnings.
Play it out
05/03/2024, 8:03 PM
AUL have 100K
Astros will cost 400K + would they?
If AUL put in 20K, thats a small portion. What rights do you think they'd get? While in meantime that's a lot of money that other clubs won't see.
After he money lost, €210,000, I think clubs should have a say in this and what alternatives AUL money can be spent on.
Bring nack delegate meetings and a bit of transparency. The Mossie Linnane Semi was drawn twice ffs, get house in order.
fruice
05/03/2024, 8:36 PM
AUL have 100K
Astros will cost 400K + would they?
If AUL put in 20K, thats a small portion. What rights do you think they'd get? While in meantime that's a lot of money that other clubs won't see.
After he money lost, €210,000, I think clubs should have a say in this and what alternatives AUL money can be spent on.
Bring nack delegate meetings and a bit of transparency. The Mossie Linnane Semi was drawn twice ffs, get house in order.
Speculating on the numbers and what each side is giving is meaningless.
If this project is happening it will be done with the help of government funding the most used source of funding of this size is the sport’s capital fund which offers up to 90% of a a grant if they AUL offer up 100k they will get 90k back ( probably slightly less but close enough) it’s a no brainier if they get the correct access to the facility.
Give it socks
05/03/2024, 9:50 PM
Jesus lads only a few weeks back ye were saying the Aul is gone next year now there building an astro ffs.
There is talk of an astro been built up in knocka but it will be to do with the new regional park they want to put in there up by grattan and the old reservoir.
Plans are in very early stages though.
Regarding Castleview building an all weather's aren't they building new dressing rooms so can't see how they could get 2 capital sports grants for two big projects like tht straight away.
If they do then fair play to them .
Harsh ref
06/03/2024, 7:41 AM
What have I started Danzo warning talks in all so let’s get back to the present raining again today football not looking good I’m hearing from me buddy in Cobh springers and gratts going ahead on all weather Sunday so at least we’ll have one game so far
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 11:01 AM
In other word you haven’t a bulls notion what you are talking about.
Ok I will try and explain it to you, I didn't want to have to do this but here goes. The AUL committee to be fair and polite wouldn't contain the sharpest knives in the drawer. I wouldn't trust some of them to run a bath let alone a massive investment. They didn't even realise in the past that a massive sum of money went missing. If this were to go ahead this will be Castleviews astro on Castleviews land . Castleview whose main focus is and rightly so will always be their SENIOR team
Danzo
06/03/2024, 11:34 AM
What have I started Danzo warning talks in all so let’s get back to the present raining again today football not looking good I’m hearing from me buddy in Cobh springers and gratts going ahead on all weather Sunday so at least we’ll have one game so far
hahaha wait until they find out how much the AUL are putting forward, Castleview will make a fortune from the other clubs. Grattan will get a 50% discount as one of their players is on the committee.
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 11:46 AM
Fruice did you ever go to an end of season AUL awards, ever wonder why there are so many Castleview people there even when they arent getting any awards?
fruice
06/03/2024, 11:51 AM
Fruice did you ever go to an end of season AUL awards, ever wonder why there are so many Castleview people there even when they arent getting any awards?
I’ve been to a few of them wouldn’t have a clue of lads clubs to be honest.
Whilst the issue with the money going missing obviously is wrong if it’s going to be used against them forever progress will never be made.
If the agreement is strong it will work for all parties the devil will be in the detail.
What other club in the AUL would be suitable for such a venture there isn’t many.
Rossum
06/03/2024, 11:52 AM
hahaha wait until they find out how much the AUL are putting forward, Castleview will make a fortune from the other clubs. Grattan will get a 50% discount as one of their players is on the committee.
I know the fella your on about he’s after pulling a few strings already
Danzo
06/03/2024, 12:18 PM
I know the fella your on about he’s after pulling a few strings already
Heard it was his idea about the astro and brought the AUL and the club to the table. I wonder is he getting something from this. Couldn’t be up to that fella.
Harsh ref
06/03/2024, 12:23 PM
And Danzo he’s a good Center back to isn’t that right Ros
Chips and beans
06/03/2024, 12:49 PM
Castleview yet again grabbing northside football by the scruff of the neck and making it better, what a club
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 12:58 PM
Castleview yet again grabbing northside football by the scruff of the neck and making it better, what a club
Why not get the MSL involved too and have one big love in . Maybe 2 Astro turf pitches ?
Chips and beans
06/03/2024, 1:04 PM
Maybe they will who knows, no interest in what the MSL side does to be honest, AUL is the heart of northside football.
Harsh ref
06/03/2024, 1:13 PM
Exactly Chips forget Msl Chips your grabbed the game by scruff of the neck I heard on sat
Chips and beans
06/03/2024, 1:19 PM
Felt good to be involved in a game like it, huge win and a great advertisement for the AUL
fruice
06/03/2024, 1:33 PM
How many full Astros in Cork.
Lakewood,
Mayfield x 2,
Tramore Athletic,
Douglas Hall,
Passage,
Carrigaline x 2,
Crosshaven,
Park Utd,
Leeside,
Cobh,
Charleville,
Banteer,
Fermoy,
That’s 15 I know there is smaller ones owned by both clubs and Communities.
To be honest Mayfield and Banteer are the ones that are only really rented out to outside clubs you would see the odd game in different Astros.
We could definitely do with a few more!!!
Jd2793
06/03/2024, 2:27 PM
if right was right the council should be looking into a site that would have 4/5 astros, similar to AUL complex in dublin. rent it out during the season to clubs for training + matches. takes the burden off the clubs to get the mega money together for their own astro while also keeping their home grass pitches. it would be a shame to see everywhere go fully astro.
not relevant to aul but Ramblers should never have been allowed turn colemans into an astro, a real backward step for the league of ireland.
AULstarboy
06/03/2024, 4:53 PM
Why not get the MSL involved too and have one big love in . Maybe 2 Astro turf pitches ?
The money the AUL are throwing towards this they must have some say over fixtures. Hearing figures of 70-80,000 and with grants etc Castleview are getting a brand spanking new all weather for about 20-30,000. That explains why you always seem representatives from the view at meetings when they arent getting awards. But no other club in the AUL could provide the land and money Castleview have. The Council could do something with Knockas pitch. Throw an astro there and a community centre that'll benefit the community Knocka/Grattan and whoever could share it.
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 4:58 PM
What about the old North End pitch next to Grattans pitch , isnt there still goals on that? Couldnt an astro go in there and be for use by everyone? The AUL could run it then , might keep Salt n peppa busy and out of Coachford ;) I don't think the old Central pitch would be wide enough for a full astro pitch anyway . Im POSITIVE it wouldnt be wide enough FRUICE before you ask
Play it out
06/03/2024, 5:05 PM
If the AUL are throwing that kind of money then it's a last hurrah from the ageing committee members to go out on an extravagant manner.
As members of the league, all teams should be consulted in this out lay. There are many other clubs who can do similar with their ground with that kind of support.
AULstarboy
06/03/2024, 5:17 PM
Don’t Castleview own that pitch Central played on or am I mistaken? There’s no harm in the astro being built it’s badly needed. Clubs will benefit from it I couldn’t see many objecting unless they’re objecting on the grounds of being jealous it’s not theirs. What other club could offer what Castleview are offering?
Chips and beans
06/03/2024, 5:41 PM
Some fellas in here really couldn't write what they know about football on the back of a stamp.
An astro around the northside is brilliant for every team and castleview have the best facilities for it simple as that, castleview will benefit no doubt but don't Mayfield and Springfield benefit from there's? Joys of having the grounds to do it.
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 6:05 PM
Some fellas in here really couldn't write what they know about football on the back of a stamp.
An astro around the northside is brilliant for every team and castleview have the best facilities for it simple as that, castleview will benefit no doubt but don't Mayfield and Springfield benefit from there's? Joys of having the grounds to do it.
I doubt you even know what a stamp is lol . Difference is Larry , Curley and Moe didnt pay for Mayfield and Springfields one. If i was a committee member at a club I would definitely be checking if the AUL have any right to give that money to one club
Great for Castleview , I just dont really see what benefit the AUL would get from it
Chips and beans
06/03/2024, 6:10 PM
The fai paid for it, do ya think they did a fast little whip around or what?
local clubs needs a hand with these things of course they do in what world do you think script and memberships pay for better facilities that barely keeps the lights on.
If it happens which won't be anytime soon everybody will benefit from it and its hopefully a start of better things to come for around the place football wise
Play it out
06/03/2024, 6:19 PM
I'd be delighted for Castleview. I hope it gets done, would be brillant for the kids and all the teams.
It's just the AUL money, that's the thing that needs to be discussed. And how it came about, why AUL are on board, etc.
KevinJBarry
06/03/2024, 6:34 PM
So let the FAI pay for Castleviews astro then! I just had a whip around and i have 420 for you Chips and beans
fruice
06/03/2024, 7:51 PM
Lads,
The FAI won’t help with anything they don’t have any money.
It will be up to the local parties to find an agreement any how to fund it.
If people are suggesting the aul are coughing up 70 to 80k you would expect at least 60k to come back if they are getting adequate use of the Astro in the long term.
20k contribution is nothing that’s only around €500 per team in the league which is nothing.
No city club could offer what Castleview are offering.
Of the country clubs left Coachford or Rathcoole could offer similar land
Play it out
06/03/2024, 8:00 PM
€500 each, nothing. What response would your club have if I emailed asking for €500?
Grants, findraising, loans and donations are how other clubs have funded theirs.
This seems a new venture that I wouldn't trust.
What are Castleview offering?
AULstarboy
06/03/2024, 8:20 PM
€500 each, nothing. What response would your club have if I emailed asking for €500?
Grants, findraising, loans and donations are how other clubs have funded theirs.
This seems a new venture that I wouldn't trust.
What are Castleview offering?
Castleview are paying the 20 and obviously their land if what I heard was true.
AUL giving them 70k for winning the premier A
Jason Bourne
06/03/2024, 10:10 PM
There was a recent announcement on the Echo that the 5.5 million set to one side for the new amenities on the site of Father Callaghans and the old Northvilla Park land had been released.
It's gone out for tender.
Full size astro with lights.
2 full size grass pitches.
Walk way
Local amenities etc etc.
Those that seem a bit more believable.
Very similar to the set up out in Tramore Valley Park , to cater for lots of sports.
But I only think I heard it ?
Harsh ref
07/03/2024, 6:31 AM
Jason you crack me up man course you heard it your cover was blowing weeks back haha that plan has falling to pieces not enough money to do it ffs there’s a row of houses on the kilmore rd next to Fr Callaghans pitch that were build 5 years ago on a bog still sitting idle that needs to be knocked down and their saying the council have no money to do it so the plan on amenities site we’ll never see in our lift time.
The Goldfish
07/03/2024, 3:44 PM
If the astro pitch does go ahead on Castleview view land will the Cork aul committee have the rights over who uses it and when its been used like block book it from Thursday-sunday and leave Castleview seniors dictate the other 3 days
Harsh ref
07/03/2024, 4:52 PM
See that’s the problem now I have fish is Aul invest should it not be for Aul use why would senior have any say at all get Msl to invest if that’s in case secondly all the talk on here last few weeks every tine junior players played senior I and more were told they should play it’s a senior club so I can say I think Castleview committtee will be licking their lips new pitch for their senior team haha Aul will get scraps id say haha
KevinJBarry
07/03/2024, 5:56 PM
See that’s the problem now I have fish is Aul invest should it not be for Aul use why would senior have any say at all get Msl to invest if that’s in case secondly all the talk on here last few weeks every tine junior players played senior I and more were told they should play it’s a senior club so I can say I think Castleview committtee will be licking their lips new pitch for their senior team haha Aul will get scraps id say haha
Wow Harsh Ref , how dare you say Castleview are a senior club , how dare you be negative
Harsh ref
07/03/2024, 6:13 PM
No no no Kevin I mean nothing bad there point I’m making dogs on street know Castleview committee only concerned about Senior team but if Aul invested when fixtures being made will Aul teams have first privilege all the time course if my source is right the new Astro won’t affect the senior pitch above that’s still staying there
KevinJBarry
07/03/2024, 6:25 PM
No no no Kevin I mean nothing bad there point I’m making dogs on street know Castleview committee only concerned about Senior team but if Aul invested when fixtures being made will Aul teams have first privilege all the time course if my source is right the new Astro won’t affect the senior pitch above that’s still staying there
haha I wasnt having a go at you really , was just pointing out that I was told I was negative and other stuff when I said it was a bad idea. When I said Castleview are a senior club my buddy Fruice corrected me and said they were an AUL club . Maybe their senior team have disbanded and I missed it?
I think its a great idea for Castleview , I personally think they should do it with the MSL seeing as they are a senior club . How is that for being positive :)
Harsh ref
07/03/2024, 7:16 PM
A lads for the love of god fixtures down for next Sunday Paddies day the Aul is the give that keeps giving town be shut down for parade lads be driving all over the city to find route home parade at 1 o clock no thought at all for lads with young kids that will want to bring them to parade they be more relationship broke up next Sunday thanks to Aul hahahaha
Average Baller
07/03/2024, 9:39 PM
Well said ref i came on here to say the exact same thing and I’m not even involved anymore. Absolute joke the one day of the year that there should be no games and they manage to make a ****up of it.
GerCork
07/03/2024, 9:51 PM
Will probably p*** down and the games will be off anyway
Harsh ref
07/03/2024, 10:09 PM
This Aul committee needs complete over haul no common sense at all they’ll be sitting at home nice and warm having their dinners paddies day while fellas driving around looking for route home something seriously needs to be done it’s like the rules or being made up as we go have a look at Grattan they travelled to conna last week no pitch line should of been awarded game home team team wearing same colour as Grattan no change of game should of been awarded game and to top it off the pitch was unplayable so they try play in under 8 pitch alongside it Ref was having none of it pitch way to small called game and Aul have Grattan down to play um next week no walk over what’s going on at all.