View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24
Anyone know if it's true Kanturk,Buttevant and Kilworth all rejoining the Aul,
Horrible away trips but overall good for the league I suppose.
Play it out
12/05/2024, 6:35 PM
Knocka gone after this season.
Harsh ref
12/05/2024, 7:12 PM
Heard that few weeks back but heard Derek is gone but manager already in place to take over so don’t think their going anywhere
One Trick Pony
12/05/2024, 7:45 PM
And they will keep talking about it harsh fair play to them 1 league loss in any league is always a good thing well drilled team will be a force in the premier next year they beat a few of them this season in cups
Harsh ref
12/05/2024, 8:08 PM
I don’t know trick they went of out Aoh and Henry Healy in first round man
Play it out
12/05/2024, 8:09 PM
Talk at Farm was they're gone but a new manager in place would of course keep them going so.
New manager at Cathedral mentioned too.
Castleview will do well next year but like the last two seasons, would expect Coachford and Grattan to be top two. Village will also be very strong, imaging if they win AOH and build from there.
Ballwasthere
12/05/2024, 8:19 PM
Hearing from a few village lads they’ve made some very strong signings ahead of next year already, and that none of them will be guaranteed a game under Leonard if they don’t match the work rate of the current players, won’t mention who as of yet because it could cause drama within clubs but a few of them are very well respected players in the AUL
Harsh ref
12/05/2024, 8:26 PM
That rumour suppose to be thought Ball few Catherdal lads heading up there I heard
One Trick Pony
12/05/2024, 9:21 PM
Only the start of building a great team up in the view heard many of there senior players this season are going down playing junior as can’t commit senior no more with work commitments
Harsh ref
12/05/2024, 9:38 PM
Nothing to do with work commitments few I spoke to made it clear their dropping down cause senior team is going backwards
Jd2793
12/05/2024, 10:01 PM
Nothing to do with work commitments few I spoke to made it clear their dropping down cause senior team is going backwards
a lot will depend on who they get in to manage them next season id say. wolfe was tossed out a few weeks ago , wasnt a happy camp up there. they've some handy players id be shocked if the club let the senior team go completely.
One Trick Pony
13/05/2024, 7:38 AM
Club will never let senior team go completely but can’t keep players there that don’t want to be there and would rather play aul
Harsh ref
13/05/2024, 8:08 AM
Heard ya man Freyne running senior team last few weeks up there so the Senior team will always be first preference up there club not to pushed about AUL team shows when Castkeview sponsor and pub is glenryan and Aul team pulled away to riverlane I was informed
Thought knocka were stuffed as the game went on..no fitness.
The fitter more hard working side were village and deserved it.
Knocka have been pulling fellas off early in games and resting them for certain games lately..personally thought maybe the minutes in the legs might have served a few of them better today
Barry had a different take on the echo today lol !! looks it was only one sided game from he's point of view
Broadway Joe
13/05/2024, 1:22 PM
Barry had a different take on the echo today lol !! looks it was only one sided game from he's point of view
Well that's barry and ref don't like my match reports now so I'm going back to predicting winners and not match reports..haha
fruice
13/05/2024, 1:27 PM
He also said there was only one team capable of taking their chances!!!
Harsh ref
13/05/2024, 1:44 PM
Who as I said sat ye had all the chances in the world but no good to ye if ye didn’t take um if ye did then ye would of being out of sight at ht but ye didn’t it will be same thing Sunday going on last week game ye will probably get plenty of chance again but ye get punished again if he don’t hit the net fact.
Mashedpotato23
14/05/2024, 8:26 AM
Some big games tonight (if they go ahead )
Could see Cathederal go down if they lose. Watergrasshill and Blackpool would expect an easy win for watergrasshill
Harsh ref
14/05/2024, 10:00 AM
Gratts should strengthen their case on title against village to I think tonight
AULstarboy
14/05/2024, 10:11 AM
What’s the chances of the games going ahead some rain falling lads
fruice
14/05/2024, 10:20 AM
Some rain to be fair they won’t become soft after all the dry weather the problem will be the water sitting on top can the pitches drain quickly enough.
Please God we get a few games
If the games where to be played in coachford there be no hope lol pitches should be fine if im honest want to be like that for a week to call games now
Jd2793
14/05/2024, 3:22 PM
crazy rain for may, be lucky to see many games on.
Average Baller
14/05/2024, 3:53 PM
Looking at fixtures for tonight I’d say Village and Watergrasshill are the only places we’ll see a game tonight after this rain..
Harsh ref
14/05/2024, 8:00 PM
Heard from lad here in work Catherdal struggled to get 11 tonight so used rain to call off game surely pitches would of took that rain in my opinion
Cityboy66
14/05/2024, 8:14 PM
Imagine it wouldn’t take a lot to put Fairfield out of action and probably too short notice to get an Astro…you could just be right all the same Glenthorn game pulled also, Hill won and Loc Zarcos putting themselves in pole position for Div 2 glory. Grattan 1-0 win also
Harsh ref
14/05/2024, 9:01 PM
Agree with you City about Fairfield but surely could of got that game on pitch cut yesterday down there see on aul website Grattan had 1 nil win to beat ucc sat that should be enough for them in my eyes
Broadway Joe
14/05/2024, 9:08 PM
Agree with you City about Fairfield but surely could of got that game on pitch cut yesterday down there see on aul website Grattan had 1 nil win to beat ucc sat that should be enough for them in my eyes
Do they still have to play coachford yet aswell?
Not sure what happened with appeal against city wanderers and if they are getting points for that game.
Harsh ref
15/05/2024, 4:40 AM
Yes Ucc sat Glenthorn Tue and coachford and Iv been told that they’ll get points back for Wanderers game so beat Ucc and glenthorn should be enough
Cityboy66
15/05/2024, 6:07 AM
Still have to play Coachford at home ya. As for the points have heard no more about it I assume they would have gotten them by now if they were, as things stand it will come down to the game against coachford. Think your missing a game harsh they have 4 left if im correct
Harsh ref
15/05/2024, 6:55 AM
Definitely getting points City for wanderers game apparently AUL made tgat clear to committee and they have 4 springers be there last game 3 at home 1 away to Glenthorn
Cityboy66
15/05/2024, 7:23 AM
Definitely getting points City for wanderers game apparently AUL made tgat clear to committee and they have 4 springers be there last game 3 at home 1 away to Glenthorn
Thats end of that so league wrapped up
TurnTheFullback
15/05/2024, 7:32 AM
Definitely and apparently in the same sentence Harsh , wouldn’t fill you with too much confidence, aul would need to make a decision soon as it’s been a few weeks since the game.
Harsh ref
15/05/2024, 7:53 AM
Totally agree with you Fullback cause anything this Aul do doesn’t surprise me I find it strange points weren’t giving following week cause start of season knocka committee member told me when they were called in by Aul about their appeal Martin made it clear there and then don’t won’t be getting points so can’t understand how it’s gone on this long
Jason Bourne
15/05/2024, 4:18 PM
Grattan have UCC @ home.
Glenthorn away..
Springfield @ home.
Coachford @ home.
Irrelevant of any 3 points they must be confident.
All Coachford can do is not mess up as well.
Next few days will tell a lot.
Ballwasthere
16/05/2024, 7:55 AM
What might go in grattan favour is the fact coachford have the AOH and will definitely have one eye on that as well, think that grattan are guaranteed 9 point from a possible 12 and will probably want to beat coachford just put there stamp on the league, UCC I feel are too light for them, Springfield away from home are rather hopeless, brilliant down the Astro though, glenthorn couldn’t get points off them when they were good, let alone now
Harsh ref
16/05/2024, 8:25 AM
Spot on Ball they’ll bully Ucc be surprised if Glenthorn field team and as you said springers terrible away from home so it won’t even come to coachford game only thing about that day is they’ll enjoy getting cup against um
Cityboy66
16/05/2024, 8:52 AM
It’s a shame in the leagues this time of year how teams won’t drop points in the run in, it’s nearly looked at more of a positive if a team can fulfill the fixture. Div 1 is the same imagine the only two teams left trying is Hill and Shandon just like in premier. Atleast in Div 1 they must play eachother twice. Div 3 is very interesting 4 in the mix all to play. Div 2 is still a bit interesting not sure who must play who but obviously Loc Zarcos in driving seat. Premier A was all but sealed up early if you want to be honest and the battle for second was entertaining till teams were just conceding games.
Harsh ref
16/05/2024, 7:23 PM
Looking at tonight’s fixtures Grattan win next three games ucc Glenthorn springers league be over before they play coachford
Cityboy66
16/05/2024, 7:46 PM
Shandon lost to Hibs tonight 4-2 that is probably the end of that league now too
Broadway Joe
16/05/2024, 10:33 PM
Shandon lost to Hibs tonight 4-2 that is probably the end of that league now too
Shock result.Watergrasshill still have shandon twice and richmond twice so could possibly drop a few points?
Personally after watching watergrasshill against ucc a few weeks back I can't see them dropping much points
Harsh ref
17/05/2024, 8:09 AM
Big game for gratts tomorrow sun sealed league in my opinion they’ll flake Glenthorn and springers
Average Baller
17/05/2024, 9:31 AM
Looking at latest set of fixtures it looks like mid June before some leagues will be over. None of the top 4 in div 2 down for a game.
Harsh ref
17/05/2024, 2:42 PM
Lads can anyone tell me why it’s taking Aul so long to give points to gratts for wanderes game surely their not looking for loophole to keep coachford in league
Did Grattan appeal the result? Or was it a case The AUL spotted the illegal player? If Grattan appealed and done it right (unlike Knocka with Cathedral) then they should get the points. If The AUL discovered the illegal player then Grattan don't get points, Wanderers will just be docked 3 points.
Harsh ref
17/05/2024, 3:39 PM
Yes appealed it nearly 3 weeks ago now surely decision has to be made think what might catch teams is you have to write letter to club your appealing against to that’s what caught knocka out honestly think it’s one stupid rule I honestly think you should have to tell a team that cheated your appealing against um writing to Aul to appeal surely should be enough
Ah well then absolutely they'll get the points. It's an idiotic rule. But wouldn't surprise if Conlon was trying to find a way of screwing them over. Also, I think that if a team are found to have played an illegal player by The AUL then the game they played in should be awarded to the other team regardless of if they appealed it or not. Knocka should have got the points for that Cathedral game as soon as the AUL said they played an illegal player. Seems they like to have this superiority over everyone, "oh look we spotted this club cheating but you didn't so no points for you"
The fact the leagues will run deep into June is an absolute farce too. I think the divisional cups should be scrapped, serves no purpose when some teams start in the semi final. Obviously years ago before the league was mismanaged and lost over 50 teams they were a great idea. Get rid of the county and city cups too. Create one cup for teams division 1-3, The Mossie for Prem and Prem A and have the AOH for all then. This would reduce the fixtures and get us an end of May finish.
Cityboy66
17/05/2024, 4:08 PM
Not sure I agree on the above point of scrapping cups. Some of the lower leagues team would have nothing to play for early doors, look at the Saxone cup Churchvilla and Moogela two teams who are no where near their Div, Prem A Waterloo and Knocka another example, Presidents Cup Coachford B Vs Strand B.. Strand well down the table, I do get your point but I don’t think scrapping the cups would be a fair idea, there’s a shortage of refs, unfortunate weather this year. Last year premier had 3 rounds of fixtures AOH Mossie and FAI and Munster Junior cup and that ran smoothly, Certain things need to be tightened. Starting with simple things such as FAI Connect, Bringing in something if you call a game off Friday unplayable pitch if reverse fixture still available offer away team to take league fixture, otherwise pitch inspections to take place by ref rather than a simple phone call. Obviously we see weather that there is no brainer for too. Small things like that might sound stupid but it’ll improve things I wouldn’t be looking for a quick fix of scrapping cups at all. The presidents cup is a proud competition going on a number of years for example scrapping it wud not be justified just my own personal view on the suggestion..
Harsh ref
17/05/2024, 4:38 PM
It’s the way cups or run is the problem semi of Henry Healy was 5 months ago play the bloody thing on any pitch get it over way same with mossy going on for months no need at all go back to start of season when everyone on here knows well coachford giving break at start was a joke just shows now when coachford Grattan not playing league game for another 3 weeks in all fairness
latte2012
17/05/2024, 8:39 PM
Will we see any games this weekend? Could be playing games into July at this rate