View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

White Horse
16/11/2013, 3:46 PM
Assume this means Kliduff will not be re-joining Cork on loan.

I heard that the only way Kilduff will be leaving is for a fee.

Can any Rovers fans confirm this?

16/11/2013, 3:57 PM
Well he has a year on his contract to run and it would be pretty stupid to let him go to a rival for nothing.

CityRebel
16/11/2013, 4:11 PM
If Elding had re-signed back with Sligo, I would seriously doubt the comments from their fans would be as negative towards him. I think this is a cracking signing for Cork, and will offer them much needed firepower.

Assume this means Kliduff will not be re-joining Cork on loan.
Spot on. Although I wouldn't rule out our interest in signing Kilduff.

wandererfan
16/11/2013, 4:20 PM
id presume elding was on a decent wage in sligo, how are cork able to afford him ??

Acer
16/11/2013, 5:09 PM
Drogheda united have re-signed Mick Daly for the 2014 season. A great start for Robbie Horgan & the club.

redobit
16/11/2013, 6:19 PM
Spot on.

Not really. Elding started the season well but went missing for two thirds of it. Im just back from a tribute game in the Showgrounds and everyone you talked to about Elding pretty much said the same thing ... people would like to have seen him sign for another season but not as the main striker. He'll be fondly remembered here as a hard working player that scored the winner in a cup final but there are other players in last seasons squad you'd prefer to sign back.

Ezeikial
16/11/2013, 7:02 PM
Well he has a year on his contract to run and it would be pretty stupid to let him go to a rival for nothing.

Agreed.

Ditto for signing Zayed and letting Kilduff go on loan to Cork?

oriel
16/11/2013, 8:23 PM
I heard that the only way Kilduff will be leaving is for a fee.

Can any Rovers fans confirm this?

Kilduff is contracted to Rovers until end of 2014. The word is he won't player under Croly, so it appears he either goes on a season long loan, or Rovers accept a transfer fee for him. I heard Dundalk made a bid for him 3 weeks ago, this was a transfer fee and terms for the player. However it also looks like he has other options.

Ezeikial
16/11/2013, 8:47 PM
The word is he won't player under Croly

Do you mean that Croly won't select him, or that Kilduff won't play if selected?

Kilduff has publically expressed reservations about going back to Tallaght to sit on the bench in a recent Indo piece

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/kilduff-considering-future-with-hoops-29717393.html

Kilduff's impressive form caused a stir amongst many Hoops supporters, who feel he should have been given more opportunities under Trevor Croly.
While he has the height of respect for Croly, Kilduff (above) shares that sentiment.
"I have a lot of talking to do with Shamrock Rovers. I had to go out on loan to play this season and, for me, that summed up a lot," he said.
"I'm not bitter towards Rovers but I'm just saying that, on purely football grounds, I don't know if I could go back there and see myself in the same position as I was this year."

so it appears he either goes on a season long loan, or Rovers accept a transfer fee for him.

A further option is that Croly insists he stays at Rovers and takes his chances on being selected regularly over whatever cabal of strikers are assembled for 2014

16/11/2013, 9:19 PM
Agreed.

Ditto for signing Zayed and letting Kilduff go on loan to Cork?
I'm on the record on this forum saying that Kilduff leaving was ludicrous and that he has been badly treated under O'Neill, Kenny and Croly. If it was me - and a lot of Rovers fans agree with me - he would be the main striker in the team. I fully sympathise with him wanting to leave, even with the proviso that his rare appearances under Croly were poor. If he wants to leave Rovers, as he seems to, I will give him 100% backing that he will get much better treatment elsewhere. I honestly think he's the best striker in Ireland and will play for the national team some day.

Ezeikial
17/11/2013, 7:55 AM
I'm on the record on this forum saying that Kilduff leaving was ludicrous and that he has been badly treated under O'Neill, Kenny and Croly. If it was me - and a lot of Rovers fans agree with me - he would be the main striker in the team. I fully sympathise with him wanting to leave, even with the proviso that his rare appearances under Croly were poor. If he wants to leave Rovers, as he seems to, I will give him 100% backing that he will get much better treatment elsewhere. I honestly think he's the best striker in Ireland and will play for the national team some day.

While playing internationally might be a stretch, I agree that Kilduff is one of the top strikers in the league. If signing Zayed and letting Kilduff to on loan to Cork was "ludicrous", would you bet against Croly / Roche making another "stupid" decision?

I suspect that Croly may keep him at Rovers rather then risk further embarrassment of high performance for another club in 2014.

CityRebel
17/11/2013, 7:56 AM
Not really. Elding started the season well but went missing for two thirds of it. Im just back from a tribute game in the Showgrounds and everyone you talked to about Elding pretty much said the same thing ... people would like to have seen him sign for another season but not as the main striker. He'll be fondly remembered here as a hard working player that scored the winner in a cup final but there are other players in last seasons squad you'd prefer to sign back.

He scored more goals per game than any other striker in a Sligo shirt last season. It's difficult to score if you're not on the pitch.

SeanDrog
17/11/2013, 8:01 AM
Daly resigned for drogs - first one for Horgan

patsdad
17/11/2013, 8:56 AM
Re-signed to date at Richmond: Clarke, O'Brien, Browne, Bermingham, Bolger, Brennan, Byrne, Fagan, Hoare, Durrad.

adamd164
17/11/2013, 9:28 AM
I know it's speaking the obvious, but Trevor Croly must be absolutely mental to say that he won't give Kilduff a chance this season. Is it that he's just holding a grudge or what at this stage?

I doubt anyone in the league will pay a substantial figure but he's one of the best strikers in it.

17/11/2013, 10:35 AM

Who actually signed Kilduff?

Ezeikial
17/11/2013, 1:56 PM
but Trevor Croly must be absolutely mental to say that he won't give Kilduff a chance this season.

When did he say that?

17/11/2013, 2:17 PM
Elding comes with problems but I still would have kept him. Cork offered him a 52 week contract and we wouldn't so he's gone now. Can't see him getting 19 goals again next season but I'm not gonna bad mouth him now just because he's gone, he can be very good.

Ventre and Davoren up for grabs, any takers? Hopefully someone comes in for North too.

Battery Rover
17/11/2013, 3:14 PM
Ventre and Davoren up for grabs, any takers?

Wouldn't mind them down with us unless Roddy decides to bring them to Derry

17/11/2013, 3:34 PM
Davoren would be a fine signing for us. Barr Williams we only have two 17 year old left fulls.

D24Saint
17/11/2013, 4:17 PM
Ken Oman,Lee Lynch,Connor McCormack signed for the saints.

oriel
17/11/2013, 6:29 PM
I know it's speaking the obvious, but Trevor Croly must be absolutely mental to say that he won't give Kilduff a chance this season. Is it that he's just holding a grudge

I think it's the other way around. I heard Kilduff won't play under Croly.

17/11/2013, 6:51 PM
Isn't it just a case that Kilduffs chances were limited last year with Rovers and now he wants a move rather than risk another few months on the bench?

poster
17/11/2013, 7:58 PM
Kalen Spillane and Paul O'Conor have been linked with Sligo.

18/11/2013, 8:55 AM

Spillane's a talented young fella, and we had high hopes for him, but the rumours are that his attitude is a problem. If a manager could sort that out though he has a big future.

Acer
18/11/2013, 11:00 AM

O'Conor would be a big downgrade from Lee Lynch.

18/11/2013, 12:50 PM
He'll get his attitude sorted out pretty sharp if he comes to The Showgrounds. Ask Mark Quigley.

White Horse
18/11/2013, 1:35 PM
He'll get his attitude sorted out pretty sharp if he comes to The Showgrounds. Ask Mark Quigley.

There was nothing wrong with Quigley's attitude in Oriel Park before going to Sligo, and he played his best football then too.

18/11/2013, 2:23 PM
There was nothing wrong with Quigley's attitude in Oriel Park before going to Sligo, and he played his best football then too.
Be quiet and listen to your betters. Nobody could possibly be better at Dundalk than they are at glorious Sligo. These lads came third in the league, for god's sake. Dundalk can't compete with that.

18/11/2013, 2:44 PM
Well actually, they won the league with Quigley. And Dundalk won, exactly what, with him?. Anyway, Paul O'Connor and Raf Cretero both signed today.

Fivesilver
18/11/2013, 2:44 PM
Oops - Charlie's making funny jokes about teams' league positions.

18/11/2013, 2:47 PM
I was standing up for Dundalk actually. God knows why, they seem to think they have a rivalry with us for some reason.

Fivesilver
18/11/2013, 3:08 PM
I can't claim any expertise on the loves or hates of Dundalk fans - there's one or two on here who miss few opportunities to launch a bit of bile in our direction and I've no idea what gets them so exercised about us. Most Rovers fans I've heard express an opinion have always had a lot of time for Dundalk and would have been happy to see them win the league.

Bawnville Hoop
18/11/2013, 3:30 PM
I can't claim any expertise on the loves or hates of Dundalk fans - there's one or two on here who miss few opportunities to launch a bit of bile in our direction and I've no idea what gets them so exercised about us. Most Rovers fans I've heard express an opinion have always had a lot of time for Dundalk and would have been happy to see them win the league.

That was my thinking on yourselves and us in 2009..

Fivesilver
18/11/2013, 3:40 PM
Getting nostalgic, eh?

redobit
18/11/2013, 4:31 PM
O'Conor would be a big downgrade from Lee Lynch.

We'll have to see on that one. Rovers fans had high hopes for Lynch. This season he started well but hasn't pushed on what so ever. He may be a talented player but can frustrate the hell out of ya ... he ended up running round in circles for a lot of games and hardly made a challenge all season.

Rover'n'out
18/11/2013, 5:25 PM
Yeah I was a big fan of Lee Lynch in 2012 season and he started well this year. But he definitely lost form in the last two thirds of the season and the manager then seemed to lose patience with him and did not give him as much game time. I think his loss of form coincided with his lay up with a hamstring injury picked up against Limerick in May. I would have liked to have given him a chance again next season but the manager seems to have an idea of what he wants for the forthcoming season so I hope he gets it right. Hard to say how Lee will go from here but he is still very young and has still time to prove himself .... a little like John Russell.

Acer
18/11/2013, 6:04 PM
We'll have to see on that one. Rovers fans had high hopes for Lynch. This season he started well but hasn't pushed on what so ever. He may be a talented player but can frustrate the hell out of ya ... he ended up running round in circles for a lot of games and hardly made a challenge all season.

Ye could be right. I'm basing my opinion on Lee on the time he played for us (voted our player of the year) and the few games against us since then. The time he was with us, I felt there was no doubt that he was a step above the LOI. It will be interesting to see how he gets on at Pats.

My opinion on O'Conor is based on the 2013 season and for me he's not good enough for a team that wants to win the league. He won't tackle, has an awful pass completion rate and was a passenger for the majority of games. He may nick the odd goal now and then though.

18/11/2013, 8:47 PM
.... a little like John Russell.

Sounds alright to me so :D Hopefully we can keep Russell and he doesn't bugger off to Tallaght like Conor Kenna. Good replacement for Kenna (Not sure Oman is that player) and we'll be laughing. Pity about Forrestor, but Kavanagh did well when he came back.

18/11/2013, 9:54 PM
Sounds alright to me so :D Hopefully we can keep Russell and he doesn't bugger off to Tallaght like Conor Kenna. Good replacement for Kenna (Not sure Oman is that player) and we'll be laughing. Pity about Forrestor, but Kavanagh did well when he came back.
If Oman stays fit he'll be terrific for you. He was monumental the season we got to the Europa.

sheao
18/11/2013, 10:44 PM
Danny Ventre to join Cork City , any truth in this ?

SeanDrog
19/11/2013, 7:38 AM
Grimes has now resigned for Drogs

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/11/2013, 7:52 AM
Danny Ventre to join Cork City , any truth in this ?

Could certainly be true. Sounds like we aren't re-signing him anyways.

Fivesilver
19/11/2013, 8:05 AM
Hearing this morning it's confirmed - Dave Barry will be getting the horn. I'm probably in the minority in Sligo but I'm pleased. He had a great season when we won the league, then re-signed without telling the club he'd picked up an injury while trialling in England (do all clubs insist on medicals for returning players? I don't know) and barely played this year. He had a very good game in the Cup semi against Shams, and was then awful in the final. He's very popular with the fans due to his blood and thunder style and could do a job for City as a holding midfielder. You want to be sure you have someone else on playmaking duties though - when Danny occasionally decides he's Iniesta, bad things happen.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/11/2013, 8:18 AM
Apart from the cup final he was excellent once he got back into the team towards the end of the season. Never his biggest fan in the past (when the Forza boys were giving him player of the year cause he came over and clapped them at the end of games.....) but he'll be a big loss as he was certainly a better option there then Conneely or Cawley. Not overly disappointed to see Lynch or Elding leave but I think he'll be a big loss as I think we play much better when he's sitting there. He was also the club captain.

Fivesilver
19/11/2013, 9:06 AM
As with Elding, I'd regard him as a loss but would hope that if we have designs on regaining the title we'd be able to do better - same would go for Davoren. The usual suspects are running around with their hair on fire, but there's been loud predictions of doom following every borderline significant development in the club over the past five years, and I don't think we've done too badly.

19/11/2013, 10:45 AM
Grimes has now resigned for Drogs

http://images2.fanpop.com/image/photos/9400000/Beavis-and-Butthead-It-s-A-Miserable-Life-beavis-and-butthead-9407053-720-480.jpg

sheao
19/11/2013, 11:09 AM
Ventre is a played who always looked good whenever I saw him play for Sligo, be great to have him on board.

Heard also that Kalen Spillane could be heading up to Sligo ? He is currently on the PFAI transfer list.

Fivesilver
19/11/2013, 11:25 AM
Danny could do well for you. He might be more motivated at a new club - I got the feeling he was getting a little too comfortable. I heard the rumour about Spillane as well - how do you rate him?

19/11/2013, 11:33 AM
I heard the rumour about Spillane as well - how do you rate him?

Great player, technically, fitness, speed, ability, could be excellent .... But man he needs to sort his attitude out. If he gets his head sorted out then he could be one of the best in the league. He clearly didn't get on with Tommy Dunne but that went both ways. New manager could see a huge difference, which is why its a pity he is gone from us now that we have Johnny C. Best of luck to the lad, a change of scene could be exactly what he needs.