View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention
redobit
27/12/2013, 2:47 PM
Vinny Faherty, Derek O'Brien and Iarlaith Davoren expected to be announced for Galway FC in the new year.
Davoren would be a very good player in the FD. Better going forward than defending but overall a good player. His trouble is that the last 2 seasons he has been picking up injuries fairly regularly and apparently when fit he cant train for a couple of days when he plays a match.
In 2013: 14 starts and 4 subs appearances. In 2012: 12 starts and 2 sub appearances. Keep him fit and injury free and its a good signing for Galway.
27/12/2013, 4:19 PM
Yeah he was very good for us for the half season he was with us, 2008 I think it was. Played mainly as a left winger.
27/12/2013, 4:54 PM
am glad that waster DOB is gone from us. He was a big disappointment and was consistent only in getting bookings!
bluewhitearmy
27/12/2013, 5:54 PM
am glad that waster DOB is gone from us. He was a big disappointment and was consistent only in getting bookings!
Your best player by a mile in the second play off game i thought, game changed when he was taken off.
wonder88
27/12/2013, 8:56 PM
Faherty and Davoren good signings for Galway. Derek has always been a bit hit and miss and would be around the same level as the Mervue players signed so far. A squad of that standard would not be good enough so it is good to see a better quality of player coming in from premier division clubs (Davoren played in the cup final).
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/12/2013, 10:31 PM
I'm very surprised Dav can't get a premier division team
27/12/2013, 11:24 PM
Can only imagine it's either a fitness issue or else he doesn't want to move to Dublin/Cork. He's obviously talented enough to be a star for any Premier team.
gufcfan
28/12/2013, 12:44 AM
Same as that. It's only a rumour. With Dunne not offering much money and the season being a while away yet, I'd be very surprised if a player of Davoren's quality, injury/fitness problems or not, settled for a contract in the FD and it not even the new year yet.
28/12/2013, 8:34 AM
I would have thought we'd be interested in Davoren but Taylor seems to be happy with Robbie Williams and Colm Murphy for LB, Folan is also a LB so probably feels money could be spent better elsewhere. If Davoren isn't willing to move to Dublin then Cork, Galway and Limerick are about his only options and even at that he probably couldn't commute from Galway to Cork all the time.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/12/2013, 5:51 PM
I would have thought we'd be interested in Davoren but Taylor seems to be happy with Robbie Williams and Colm Murphy for LB, Folan is also a LB so probably feels money could be spent better elsewhere. If Davoren isn't willing to move to Dublin then Cork, Galway and Limerick are about his only options and even at that he probably couldn't commute from Galway to Cork all the time.
He's from Offaly. Would be surprised if he wasn't willing to move to wherever gave him a decent offer. 2 seasons ago he was having trials with Hibs.
28/12/2013, 6:34 PM
He's from Offaly. Would be surprised if he wasn't willing to move to wherever gave him a decent offer. 2 seasons ago he was having trials with Hibs.
Fairly easy to commute to anywhere so meaning travel shouldn't be much of an issue.
wonder88
28/12/2013, 10:23 PM
Davoren is from Offaly ok, but he went to uni in Galway and I have seen him around town a few times in recent years. Limerick would be a good club for him (location wise) and there are two Galway lads there already, so they could share a car down to training etc. Still if Galway pay him a good wage and indicate that they are going to bring in another 4 or 5 decent LoI players he could well be happy to spend a season in the first division.
bluewhitearmy
28/12/2013, 11:18 PM
Davoren is from Offaly ok, but he went to uni in Galway and I have seen him around town a few times in recent years. Limerick would be a good club for him (location wise) and there are two Galway lads there already, so they could share a car down to training etc. Still if Galway pay him a good wage and indicate that they are going to bring in another 4 or 5 decent LoI players he could well be happy to spend a season in the first division.
One lives in Limerick during the season the other is moving here next season as far as i know.
28/12/2013, 11:31 PM
Athlone ser.
he doesn't live with Mam & Dad anymore though !
Apparently he has a good job lined up in Galway so it would be handy for him to play here whilst working here.
29/12/2013, 9:48 AM
Thank God O'Brien is gone what a waster
poster
29/12/2013, 1:05 PM
It's like 2004 all over again.
Thank God O'Brien - from the same part of the world as Goodluck Johnathan?
29/12/2013, 5:53 PM
It's like 2004 all over again.
what was he like in general with ye poster and how long was he with ye? wasnt he part of that sligo team that knocked out shels ten yrs ago in fai cup?
Olander
29/12/2013, 6:21 PM
Longford fans calling O'Brien a waster is hilarious ;). You train in Dublin for feck sake.... I highly doubt Cousins even demanded he trained with your squad. I watched your team in the playoff, it was populated by journeymen so I'm not really sure why you're singling out O'Brien. It doesn't look like Cousins will be changing that trend anytime soon either adding players like Peter Hynes (has more clubs than Tiger Woods) and Pat Flynn. If O'Brien signs for Galway FC he will certainly do a job, he lives locally and is well liked in Galway. He probably has another year in him at First Division level.
Also, asking Sligo fans about O'Brien is a bit of a pointless thing to do. They have a very strange dislike for him for some reason. It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
29/12/2013, 7:16 PM
As far as I'm aware he's being criticised for being pretty much a waste of space in all but one game he played for the club not because of the fact that he's moved around a lot. I wouldn't say anything about him as a person because I don't know anything about the fella.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/12/2013, 10:01 PM
The reason we have a dislike for him is that he was pure useless for us. For some reason he arrived with a lot of people saying he was a great player.
Olander
29/12/2013, 10:50 PM
The reason we have a dislike for him is that he was pure useless for us. For some reason he arrived with a lot of people saying he was a great player.
Cringe.
So you dislike any player that doesn't do well for you? You must dislike a lot of players so..... I could understand if a player flipped off fans or something, but disliking a player cause they didn't play well for you is a bit odd IMO. Anytime we played in the Showgrounds he got jeered and abuse. Still bemuses me.
Town Legend
29/12/2013, 10:51 PM
The reason O'Brien is no loss to us is simple- He was absolutely useless bar half a game he played for us. A waste of space, better off rid of him.
L.T.F.C.
30/12/2013, 12:15 AM
Longford fans calling O'Brien a waster is hilarious ;). You train in Dublin for feck sake.... I highly doubt Cousins even demanded he trained with your squad. I watched your team in the playoff, it was populated by journeymen so I'm not really sure why you're singling out O'Brien. It doesn't look like Cousins will be changing that trend anytime soon either adding players like Peter Hynes (has more clubs than Tiger Woods) and Pat Flynn. If O'Brien signs for Galway FC he will certainly do a job, he lives locally and is well liked in Galway. He probably has another year in him at First Division level.
Also, asking Sligo fans about O'Brien is a bit of a pointless thing to do. They have a very strange dislike for him for some reason. It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
A team of journeymen? With lads like O'Sullivan, Haverty, Gorman and Connolly what else could you call us.
bluewhitearmy
30/12/2013, 12:33 AM
Almost the entire LOI are journeymen ffs.
30/12/2013, 12:44 AM
Thank God O'Brien - from the same part of the world as Goodluck Johnathan?
O'Brien's from Kerry, Jonathan's from Nigeria... neither a hurling stronghold.
30/12/2013, 5:15 AM
Almost the entire LOI are journeymen ffs.
Exactly, the notion that a First Division player especially could come in for stick solely for having played at a few clubs is nonsense. They'll get stick if fans aren't happy with what they do for their club. The fans may be right or wrong but that's all they'll care about.
Darklordsbane
30/12/2013, 8:38 AM
Seasons greetings to all
De town fans know my feelings on O'Brien, I must admit he did play well in the play-off's, that makes it all the more annoying, begs the question where was he for the rest of the half season that player signed up for
O'Brien never had to train once for Longford, as he did all his training with Mervue. How is a player suppose to play well with a team when he only meets up with them a couple of hours before kick off?
30/12/2013, 9:21 AM
That's no excuse for not tracking back when you lose the ball, not playing where your told and berating the younger players around him for his mistakes the man is nothing but a big mouth ego
30/12/2013, 10:44 AM
Ah lads, ye don't need to justify how crap someone is, they're just trying to defend him for fear he's useless for Galway too.
Plenty of lads in the 1st division with ability but the wrong attitude. Maybe he'll be good for Galway, but time isn't exactly on his side anymore, personally won't be fearing him doing any damage to us when we play, so good luck to them.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/12/2013, 1:26 PM
Cringe.
So you dislike any player that doesn't do well for you? You must dislike a lot of players so..... I could understand if a player flipped off fans or something, but disliking a player cause they didn't play well for you is a bit odd IMO. Anytime we played in the Showgrounds he got jeered and abuse. Still bemuses me.
Ah bless him. Did he get a bit of abuse? If he tried a bit when he was with us he'd have been appreciated.
As an aside I don't think he is that hated either. Gary McCabe on the other hand......
poster
30/12/2013, 1:45 PM
what was he like in general with ye poster and how long was he with ye? wasnt he part of that sligo team that knocked out shels ten yrs ago in fai cup?
No, it was the following season he signed. Think he only stayed the one season.
O'Brien was a one trick pony. Ran into trouble, did a step over, pulled the ball back and gave it to the full back behind him to deal with. He was extremely lazy, which was the main reason why he was so disliked.
He reacted to our fans one night in Terryland, a few years later. Think it was the season after Galway's DVD player got them up. Can't blame him for flipping I suppose, considering the stick he got.
Could hit a dead ball though.
Ah lads, ye don't need to justify how crap someone is, they're just trying to defend him for fear he's useless for Galway too.
Plenty of lads in the 1st division with ability but the wrong attitude. Maybe he'll be good for Galway, but time isn't exactly on his side anymore, personally won't be fearing him doing any damage to us when we play, so good luck to them.
ha, O'Brien is probably the most fustrating player you could ever watch and we should know that more so than anyone else. We are just happy to have a team again.
poster
30/12/2013, 1:52 PM
Oh we are Sly-go, Hay-ters.
Oh we are Shly-go, Hay-ters.
fixed that for ya !
oldlegs
30/12/2013, 3:24 PM
Poor man hard enough to make a living in the game in Ireland . And fair play to o Brien for doing so . I played ball with him many years ago and all he every wanted to be was a footballer . And his done that so lay off the guy.
Redzer
30/12/2013, 4:23 PM
It's a bit cringeworthy, to be honest.
THIS!!!!!!!:eek:
Cumann Peile Gaillimh Aontaithe
we are just one of those teams that you see now and then
we often score 6 but we seldom score 10
we beat em at home and we beat them away
we'll kill sligo *******s that get in our way
we are the pride of all connacht, the stars of the west
dont worry bout sligo cos galway are best
and we are United without any doubt
and when we arrive you'll be hearing us shout
GUFC Ole, Ole, Ole
Fivesilver
30/12/2013, 4:27 PM
fixed that for ya !
If only we had the refined accents and sophisticated diction of our neighbours who are going to have another crack at surviving in Division One, we might be able to put together a DVD that would enable us to challenge for trophies.
Honestly lads, save it for when you're actually scheduled to play us a couple of times a year.
Olander
30/12/2013, 4:55 PM
If only we had the refined accents and sophisticated diction of our neighbours
Half of your county has lived here at one stage or another so you should have it down at this stage.
THIS!!!!!!!:eek:
Cumann Peile Gaillimh Aontaithe
we are just one of those teams that you see now and then
we often score 6 but we seldom score 10
we beat em at home and we beat them away
we'll kill sligo *******s that get in our way
we are the pride of all connacht, the stars of the west
dont worry bout sligo cos galway are best
and we are United without any doubt
and when we arrive you'll be hearing us shout
GUFC Ole, Ole, Ole
Fair play to ya.
I don't even know that song.
You must be a closet Galway fan?
30/12/2013, 6:22 PM
All Galway fans are of the closet variety.
bluewhitearmy
30/12/2013, 10:02 PM
That's no excuse for not tracking back when you lose the ball, not playing where your told and berating the younger players around him for his mistakes the man is nothing but a big mouth ego
Well then he has changed massively in the space of an off season.
Flexy
31/12/2013, 10:38 AM
Roddy Collins is having a Look at Leon McSweeney ( Ex Cork ) Tim Clancy ( Ex Hibs ) and Marvin Torvic ( Playing third Tier Finnish football ) during pre season for Derry.
oriel
31/12/2013, 12:20 PM
Kieran Marty Watters has signed for Rovers I think.
Decent player, we were possibly interested. good move for him.
EDIT: See it in Transfers Thread now.
peadar1987
31/12/2013, 12:50 PM
Pish! Bray can't keep relying on unearthing new gems every single year to keep us up!
Dalymountrower
31/12/2013, 1:14 PM
Roddy Collins is having a Look at Leon McSweeney ( Ex Cork ) Tim Clancy ( Ex Hibs ) and Marvin Torvic ( Playing third Tier Finnish football ) during pre season for Derry.
I liked Mc Sweeney when he played for Cork, what club is he at now?
Derry by the look of it !
bluewhitearmy
31/12/2013, 8:44 PM
Carlisle. Contract is up in January.