View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention
Ezeikial
25/11/2013, 2:40 PM
No he didn't. He's probably the first player most wanted gone this year. Best of luck to him though.
You are going to need to practice a bit of variation on that retort - there will a lot more to follow him
You're right, what would I know? I only watched every game last season. If you would like a more in-depth analysis of my delight at Byrne's departure: In 2012, we played a 4-4-2 and won 17 league games. In 2013, we brought Alan Byrne into our 11 and sacrificed one of the strikers to accommodate Byrne as a deep defensive midfielder. His desire to hoof everything that came near him (player or ball) coupled with changing formation to fit him in the side played a massive part in us only managing to win 8 games.
The Dundalk contingent's obsession with Drogheda on here really is tiring. Ye have enough to focus on up there.
White Horse
25/11/2013, 4:00 PM
You're right, what would I know? I only watched every game last season. If you would like a more in-depth analysis of my delight at Byrne's departure: In 2012, we played a 4-4-2 and won 17 league games. In 2013, we brought Alan Byrne into our 11 and sacrificed one of the strikers to accommodate Byrne as a deep defensive midfielder. His desire to hoof everything that came near him (player or ball) coupled with changing formation to fit him in the side played a massive part in us only managing to win 8 games.
The Dundalk contingent's obsession with Drogheda on here really is tiring. Ye have enough to focus on up there.
There are posters on our forum who were suggesting we should try and sign Byrne. He seemed to play out of his skin against Dundalk. Personally, I wouldn't have him near a football team, but that is just my opinion.
KeepersBall
25/11/2013, 6:09 PM
He did very well for Drogheda. I'm surprised they let him go.
Most of that squad is going to go, they almost to a man were peed off by what was done to Cooke.
He had a decent season last time around, broke up the opposition play a lot and won his fair share of headers.
Ideal as a defensive midfielder.
Hear Schlingermans off to Athlone as well
A N Mouse
25/11/2013, 6:18 PM
At the risk of Mr A's wrath.
Look everyone it's Robbie Horgan :rolleyes:
25/11/2013, 6:23 PM
Serious dearth of UCD mentions on this thread so far.
Keep up the good work!
There are posters on our forum who were suggesting we should try and sign Byrne. He seemed to play out of his skin against Dundalk. Personally, I wouldn't have him near a football team, but that is just my opinion.
To be fair to those posters, his best game for us was in Oriel park but if they seen a few more games, they'd soon change their mind.
Most of that squad is going to go, they almost to a man were peed off by what was done to Cooke.
He had a decent season last time around, broke up the opposition play a lot and won his fair share of headers.
Ideal as a defensive midfielder.
Hear Schlingermans off to Athlone as well
And yet we've already signed the 2 best players from last year? Time for you to give it up. Yourself and Mini Mourinho are as bad as each other. (Schlingerman will be a loss though)
At the risk of Mr A's wrath.
Look everyone it's Robbie Horgan :rolleyes:
I'm actually a board member!
ATFC-1887
25/11/2013, 6:43 PM
James O'Brien also resigns with us. Only for he only signed in july he would of been our player of the year. Massive things expected of him
KeepersBall
25/11/2013, 7:01 PM
To be fair to those posters, his best game for us was in Oriel park but if they seen a few more games, they'd soon change their mind.
And yet we've already signed the 2 best players from last year? Time for you to give it up. Yourself and Mini Mourinho are as bad as each other. (Schlingerman will be a loss though)
I'm actually a board member!
There is NO WAY we have signed the two best players from last season.
Gavin Brennan, Byrne, Paul O'Connor were right in the mix for that award.
Schlingerman won't be a big loss, neither he or Sava are up to it.
Footballs all about opi ions I guess
There is NO WAY we have signed the two best players from last season.
Gavin Brennan, Byrne, Paul O'Connor were right in the mix for that award.
Schlingerman won't be a big loss, neither he or Sava are up to it.
Footballs all about opi ions I guess
We signed our player of the year and our top scorer (20 goals) - our two best players by a country mile (Byrne and O'Conor were nowhere near any award!)
And I disagree on Schlingerman, he's a solid keeper who doesn't make mistakes. He'll be as good as you get at LOI level if he works on his distribution a bit more.
KeepersBall
25/11/2013, 7:47 PM
Opinions differ. Alan Byrne for me was the mn who broke up more attacks than any other. Gavin Brennam was top class, I accepr Fabio is a top class goal scorer but surely his future is behind him.
And while the standard of goalkeeping at LOI leve is at an all time low, Schlingerman is no Peter Cherrie, Gary Rogers or god between us and all harm, Darragh Quigley.
If he's that good how come it took him so long into the season to tke the first team shirt.
25/11/2013, 9:10 PM
Serious dearth of UCD mentions on this thread so far
Keep up the good work!
Wait 'til Harps manager is in place ;)
25/11/2013, 9:40 PM
James O'Brien also resigns with us. Only for he only signed in july he would of been our player of the year. Massive things expected of him
why Tony Cousins let James go I never know.. I always rated him as a decnt passer..
KeepersBall
25/11/2013, 9:48 PM
why Tony Cousins let James go I never know.. I always rated him as a decnt passer..
He'd be useless on Mastermind then
MiniMourinho
25/11/2013, 9:55 PM
He'd be useless on Mastermind then
Taxi!
..sorry, couldnt resist!
galwayhoop
26/11/2013, 7:47 AM
but surely his future is behind him.
Fabio is going the Marty McFly timebending wormhole route through life.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/11/2013, 9:10 AM
Alan Keane has re-signed supposedly
Presumed that's not the same same James O'Brien that played with Pats then. I thought it was him for a while
26/11/2013, 9:28 AM
He's the same but different.
ATFC-1887
26/11/2013, 11:19 AM
Presumed that's not the same same James O'Brien that played with Pats then. I thought it was him for a while
Yeh i suppose, just because he didnt get much of a chance with Pats,as a 19/20 year old, he must be rubbish....
Fivesilver
26/11/2013, 12:56 PM
Alan Keane has re-signed supposedly
Confirmed officially now. New skipper?
Yeh i suppose, just because he didnt get much of a chance with Pats,as a 19/20 year old, he must be rubbish....
I was just asking the question. Good luck to the lad
Dalymountrower
26/11/2013, 3:11 PM
Serious dearth of UCD mentions on this thread so far.
Keep up the good work!
Craig Walsh to Bohs, centre mid? any use?
26/11/2013, 3:17 PM
He'll do well for ye. Decent shot on him!
ATFC-1887
26/11/2013, 4:49 PM
Aido Collins signed back with us. Things picking up the last few days. Got our 2 out of 3 best players from last season signed.
adamd164
26/11/2013, 5:20 PM
Billy Dennehy signed for us today along with his brother http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/11/26/billy-darren-dennehy-sign/
Battery Rover
26/11/2013, 9:32 PM
Todays signings
Derek Predergast (Drogheda United)
Aidan Collins (Re-sign)
Sean Brennan (Shelbourne)
http://athlonetownfc.ie/mick-cooke-adds-three-more-to-squad/
adamd164
26/11/2013, 11:10 PM
Prendergast is a good signing for you.
ATFC-1887
27/11/2013, 12:56 AM
Peter Hynes set to sign as far as i know! What do the Drogs lads make of him?
And while the standard of goalkeeping at LOI leve is at an all time low, Schlingerman is no Peter Cherrie, Gary Rogers or god between us and all harm, Darragh Quigley.
If he's that good how come it took him so long into the season to tke the first team shirt.
You'd have to ask your good friend Harry Redknapp, but I would imagine it was because Sava had been goalkeeper of the year the previous season and Mick wanted to give him a good chance to recapture that form.
Peter Hynes set to sign as far as i know! What do the Drogs lads make of him?
I always liked him. It would be a strange one though because Mick lost faith in him last year and he played very little football.
Prendergast is a great signing.
Ezeikial
27/11/2013, 8:40 AM
According to Wikipedia he has played for 10 Irish clubs over the last 10 years (2004 to 2013):
Dublin City
Dundalk
Newry
Derry City
UCD (loan)
Sporting Fingal
Shelbourne
Longford
Limerick
Drogheda
I think it fair to say that he made a limited impression all along the way
27/11/2013, 9:00 AM
According to Wikipedia he has played for 10 Irish clubs over the last 10 years (2004 to 2013):
Dublin City
Dundalk
Newry
Derry City
UCD (loan)
Sporting Fingal
Shelbourne
Longford
Limerick
Drogheda
I think it fair to say that he made a limited impression all along the way
When he arrived to us he had an awful reputation for being lazy. We were glad to see he was the exact opposite. He was a workhorse doing all the donkey work up front. He became a bit of a fans favourite amongst most. Had hoped he would re-sign that time. He seemed to do well the following season (2012) then for Drogs.
White Horse
27/11/2013, 9:07 AM
He seemed to do well the following season (2012) then for Drogs.
He produced some good form in 2012 for Drogheda. If he repeats that at Athlone, he'll be a good signing. However, 2012 was his only good season, as far as I can recall.
KeepersBall
27/11/2013, 10:08 AM
When he arrived to us he had an awful reputation for being lazy. We were glad to see he was the exact opposite. He was a workhorse doing all the donkey work up front. He became a bit of a fans favourite amongst most. Had hoped he would re-sign that time. He seemed to do well the following season (2012) then for Drogs.
Correct and right. He alw He alw He alw He always does the DONKEY work.
Decent target man on his day to be fair.
He was lazy with Dundalk.
dejadem
27/11/2013, 1:54 PM
Hynes was excellent the whole way through the 2012 season, he was in the running for our player of the year. He fell out of favour for no obvious reason at the start of 2013 & only ever played a bit part through the season.
L.T.F.C.
27/11/2013, 3:10 PM
Nope... was never good for us. Went missing in even LSC games.
bluewhitearmy
27/11/2013, 3:44 PM
Derek Foran has said in one the papers that he is talking to Limerick.
Dalymountrower
27/11/2013, 3:53 PM
Aidan Price from Pats to Bohs, Delighted with that.
KeepersBall
27/11/2013, 5:17 PM
Come on down the Aidan Price is right
dundalkfc10
27/11/2013, 6:02 PM
Derek Foran has said in one the papers that he is talking to Limerick.
Was decent (in a very poor Dundalk side) 2 years ago, Seemed to start off well at Rovers then fade away
SeanDrog
27/11/2013, 6:27 PM
Cathal Brady confirmed as resigned for drogs.
ATFC-1887
27/11/2013, 8:42 PM
Athlone sign Jason Marks from Drogheda
Trainee
27/11/2013, 9:11 PM
Has Iarfhlaith Davoren been released by Sligo?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/11/2013, 9:25 PM
He won't be there next season it'd be pretty certain to say. As he's out of contract we can't really release him
Michael Rafter to Cork according to Roddy Collins tonight
27/11/2013, 10:42 PM
Has Iarfhlaith Davoren been released by Sligo?
Dav and Ventre refused new contract offers and were told to fornicate off. Since signed Ledwith and Spillane so Dav has no chance and anyway, he's always talking about going to Canada. Ventre shot himself in the foot with his antics at the start of last season and the club don't trust him.
DaveyPats
27/11/2013, 11:36 PM
Performed solidly fot Pats anytime he played last year. All the best to him.
Bohs putting together a good team.
SeanDrog
28/11/2013, 8:04 AM
Schlingermann re-signed (confirmed on drogs site)
White Horse
28/11/2013, 8:20 AM
Bohs putting together a good team.
It doesn't look like relegation will be a worry for them this year.