View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention
01/07/2014, 10:13 AM
Galbraith gone from Limerick. Huge loss.
Pablo Escobar
01/07/2014, 10:19 AM
Galbraith gone from Limerick. Huge loss.
Any reason given?
NeverFeltBetter
01/07/2014, 10:27 AM
His contract expired and the club couldn't convince him to renew it.
01/07/2014, 10:31 AM
Massive loss for Limerick. Certainly one of their top performers. Good chance for another club to nip in and pick up a good player for a European run. Would suspect he's looking for a move back across the water though.
01/07/2014, 10:32 AM
http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/07/01/arsenal-set-make-offer-lenihan/
"And Rowley, who discovered the likes of Gael Clichy, Cesc Fabregas and Alex Song for Arsenal was very impressed with what he saw" Ha:p.
How exactly does a club brace itself for offers?
Do they sore up the walls of the office or does everyone just clench or what?
desaintsno.12
01/07/2014, 11:21 AM
and Roy Keane left turners cross "raving" about him. I would love to know how they quantify this and what exactly they heard :p
01/07/2014, 11:33 AM
Wouldnt read too much into last Friday if I was Royston.
He could have been blindfolded chained to the Cork dugout and still dominated our "team"
Sorry to see Danny go. Unlucky with injuries (has been a feature of his career, leading to some questions around him) and when he was available he was often not used properly. Easily one of the most technically gifted players iv ever seen play for Limerick. (which possibly says as much about Limerick as him tbf!)
Sean gavin and Shane mc ginty have left Galway.
patrickccfc
01/07/2014, 6:26 PM
Mark O'Sullivan signs contract extension to the end of 2015 season
adamd164
01/07/2014, 7:35 PM
surely its time for people to start speculatiing that Cork will go belly up if they don't win the league... over spending... we all know their budget etc etc
It's hilarious that a Pat's fan is coming out with this, given the crowds at their home games and the relative budget of their playing squad.
But since you went looking for it: most of our squad are local players earning a fraction of some of the mercenaries around the league, it's bulked up by the likes of Billy Dennehy and now O'Flynn. It's astute spending by a manager who knows the best players in the local scene.
Just because Dermot Keely hasn't mentioned them in the Sun doesn't mean they can't play!
01/07/2014, 8:11 PM
I think the joke might have flown over your head, Adam.
atfconline
01/07/2014, 8:43 PM
Dean Ebbe on his way to Athlone Town, Sexton gone.
01/07/2014, 8:48 PM
Good player but I wouldn't rely on him as a sub keeper.
adamd164
01/07/2014, 8:52 PM
I think the joke might have flown over your head, Adam.
Only too happy to oblige :)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/07/2014, 9:05 PM
Only too happy to oblige :)
Oh the fun we'd have if ye ever got a plastic pitch
Galway FC in: Enda Curran
Drogheda have signed Peter McGlynn. I know nothing about him other than he's Irish and played for San Jose Earthquakes last year.
01/07/2014, 9:36 PM
His twitter bio refers to him as a "crocked athlete". So good luck with that!
01/07/2014, 9:44 PM
Good player but I wouldn't rely on him as a sub keeper.
On a serious note he's fairly mediocre based on his half season with us but he's still young enough I guess.
01/07/2014, 9:46 PM
He looked good in the Mervue game I was at, always looked good for Rovers U19s too but that's a level below FD.
His twitter bio refers to him as a "crocked athlete". So good luck with that!
Apparently he has been training with us for the last 4 months so I hope we've assessed his fitness in that time!
01/07/2014, 10:16 PM
I may be being a bit harsh on Ebbe given it was his first taste of first team football. He showed glimpses of ability. I just wasn't particularly bothered when we didn't resign him and wouldn't have thought he'd make much of an impact in the Premier Division.
shelsfan1
01/07/2014, 10:21 PM
Drogheda have signed Peter McGlynn. I know nothing about him other than he's Irish and played for San Jose Earthquakes last year.
Played for Shels, never really broke into the first team.
Got sent off for pushing a referee when playing for UC Santa Barbara.
01/07/2014, 10:26 PM
I may be being a bit harsh on Ebbe given it was his first taste of first team football. He showed glimpses of ability. I just wasn't particularly bothered when we didn't resign him and wouldn't have thought he'd make much of an impact in the Premier Division.
I think the holiday incident ensured he wouldn't be resigned.
01/07/2014, 10:45 PM
Dean ebbe the man who fu(ked off on holidays before a 2nd leg play off final and then signs for athlone town what an absolute kunt
atfconline
01/07/2014, 10:46 PM
I'm liking him already.
02/07/2014, 4:04 PM
Dean ebbe the man who fu(ked off on holidays before a 2nd leg play off final and then signs for athlone town what an absolute kunt
who has he bein playin for since he left us? I had forgotten he had existed tbh!
02/07/2014, 4:12 PM
Meh he might have had it booked before he even signed for us. I'm sure it would have cost him more to change the flight than we were paying him. It wasn't ideal behaviour but not something I'd get too upset over. As for him signing for Athlone, why should he have any particular loyalty to us after we let him go? Players move between the two clubs all the time.
desaintsno.12
03/07/2014, 8:59 AM
It's hilarious that a Pat's fan is coming out with this, given the crowds at their home games and the relative budget of their playing squad.
But since you went looking for it: most of our squad are local players earning a fraction of some of the mercenaries around the league, it's bulked up by the likes of Billy Dennehy and now O'Flynn. It's astute spending by a manager who knows the best players in the local scene.
Just because Dermot Keely hasn't mentioned them in the Sun doesn't mean they can't play!
Ha, brilliant.
Cork posters have been miiighty crack this season
Bray Head
03/07/2014, 12:38 PM
Bray Wanderers have completed the signings former Republic of Ireland youth internationals Joe Gorman and Gareth McDonagh. The two players have recently enjoyed youth team stints in Scotland – with striker McDonagh (18) returning from Celtic and defender Gorman (19) joining from Inverness Caley Thistle.
04/07/2014, 1:20 AM
Everton looking at Ronan Finn and B team goalkeeper Michael Kelly apparently. Would be a strange one that. I love Finn but he's never looked THAT good and he's having a rotten season. He at least does condition himself for full-time football in England so that might make him a more attractive option for clubs over there.
CityRebel
04/07/2014, 7:10 AM
Ian Turner from City to Limerick (possibly a loan move since he's under contract until the end of the season).
City to sign either Andrew Neville (UCC) or Gavin Kavanagh (Waterford United).
CityRebel
04/07/2014, 7:11 AM
Everton looking at Ronan Finn and B team goalkeeper Michael Kelly apparently. Would be a strange one that. I love Finn but he's never looked THAT good and he's having a rotten season. He at least does condition himself for full-time football in England so that might make him a more attractive option for clubs over there.
I would be amazed if Everton signed Ronan Finn, he's turning 27 this year.
04/07/2014, 1:02 PM
Meh he might have had it booked before he even signed for us. I'm sure it would have cost him more to change the flight than we were paying him. It wasn't ideal behaviour but not something I'd get too upset over. As for him signing for Athlone, why should he have any particular loyalty to us after we let him go? Players move between the two clubs all the time.
I'm not a big GAA fan but how many times a year do you see players cancel honeymoons, holidays etc or cut their holidays short to come back and play in the championship etc, I've even seen underage players do it locally so for someone getting paid to play in what was one of the biggest games of our history to just f*ck off and not bother playing will never be forgiven
donnrua
04/07/2014, 1:17 PM
I would be amazed if Everton signed Ronan Finn, he's turning 27 this year.
Everton from Cork sounds a bit more likely considering how well he's played this season!
I'm not a big GAA fan but how many times a year do you see players cancel honeymoons, holidays etc or cut their holidays short to come back and play in the championship etc, I've even seen underage players do it locally so for someone getting paid to play in what was one of the biggest games of our history to just f*ck off and not bother playing will never be forgiven
Will never be forgiven?Jesus!Think you're completely over estimating the loyalty of some Gaa players, plenty miss matches for holidays etc. The lad obviously booked a holiday for the end of the season and ended up getting loaned out and having to play a couple of games longer. He was only with us for a what, 4 months? I can't imagine we were paying him enough that he'd be able to cancel all the money spent on a holiday. It certainly didn't suit us at the time but won't be condemning the lad, especially when he played so well for us in the last game he did play.
The Insider
04/07/2014, 1:39 PM
I think the main thing that annoyed some supporters about Ebbe was not the fact he went off on hols & missed the 2nd leg v Bray but the fact he told the club he was off to see his aunt in Australia who was very sick. My problem with him was he couldn't tell the truth. I also heard the holiday wasn't booked before he came to us. Didn't Bennion change his plans for the play-off game? I remember hearing something. Open to correction though.
04/07/2014, 2:37 PM
I can see the truthful conversation now:
Ebbe: Mr Chairman I've a holiday booked clashing with the playoff game, if you pay for a new holiday I'll play.
Mr. Chairman: No
Ebbe: But Im a semi pro on 2 and 6 a week, im only at the club a wet weekend, you can hardly expect me to change my personal plans.
Mr Chairman: This is Longford Towns biggest game in years!!
Ebbe: Goodluck with that.
Seriously, if he was a full time pro by all means flog him to death. But some sort of reserve keeper knocking around Longford??
A few grips need to.be gotten I feel.
04/07/2014, 2:40 PM
He's not a keeper by all accounts.
04/07/2014, 2:41 PM
In other EXCITING NEWS we've confirmed the signing of Ian Turner from Cork.
He goes straight into the squad for tonights match against bohs which should boost the attendance from 200 to 203 assuming he has a family.
Pablo Escobar
04/07/2014, 4:03 PM
In other EXCITING NEWS we've confirmed the signing of Ian Turner from Cork.
He goes straight into the squad for tonights match against bohs which should boost the attendance from 200 to 203 assuming he has a family.
Ian had been unlucky with us. He's probably the best athlete in the league and has a great attitude. He'll do well.
04/07/2014, 5:38 PM
I can see the truthful conversation now:
Ebbe: Mr Chairman I've a holiday booked clashing with the playoff game, if you pay for a new holiday I'll play.
Mr. Chairman: No
Ebbe: But Im a semi pro on 2 and 6 a week, im only at the club a wet weekend, you can hardly expect me to change my personal plans.
Mr Chairman: This is Longford Towns biggest game in years!!
Ebbe: Goodluck with that.
Seriously, if he was a full time pro by all means flog him to death. But some sort of reserve keeper knocking around Longford??
A few grips need to.be gotten I feel.
We'd have lost whether he was playing or not anyway given the defence that we ended up with for most of the match. Fair enough being p'ed off with him at the time perhaps but holding a grudge against him forever more is silly. He's not really any great shakes anyway. He's ok.
Briuk
06/07/2014, 11:38 AM
Athlone reports in their website they have done a number of signings this week, any idea who are those guys?
ATFC-1887
06/07/2014, 12:19 PM
John Mulroy, Dean Ebbe, and a couple of young lads I think. Not sure of names.
06/07/2014, 5:40 PM
with Sean Russell officially gone from us wouldnt surprise me to see Sean join ye!
L.T.F.C.
07/07/2014, 12:38 AM
Any word of anyone coming in Marty?
Hulsey
07/07/2014, 9:52 AM
Ryan Coulter is also signing. Mentioned it himself at the bray drogheda game on friday
07/07/2014, 8:09 PM
Any word of anyone coming in Marty?
not a word LTFC! I am not in the loop as much anymore with me working in Dublin FT!
08/07/2014, 11:19 PM
Wicklow club hit with a transfer embargo according to tomorrow's papers. Probably won't affect their activity too much.