View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

White Horse
18/12/2013, 9:32 PM
I think you're confused. Pat Flynn has never played for Drogheda.

I was talking about Cassidy, but replied to the wrong post. I wonder who he will go to. A really good player.

White Horse
18/12/2013, 9:33 PM
Ruaidhri Higgins off to Dundalk, so the rumours go.

Where are they getting the money?

Acer
18/12/2013, 9:59 PM
I was talking about Cassidy, but replied to the wrong post. I wonder who he will go to. A really good player.

Cassidy was not our best player - we wasted him by sticking him on the wing. He'll be a great signing for someone who will play him through the middle. Bundles of talent.

Ezeikial
18/12/2013, 10:55 PM

That's almost an annual rumour at this stage.

Kenny is an admirer and was interested last year. Foster was in talks with him previously and had actually agreed a deal with him before Bohs came in for him in 2010.

19/12/2013, 8:32 AM
That's almost an annual rumour at this stage.

Difference this time though is that Higgins isn't renewing his contract with us.

19/12/2013, 9:12 AM
Roddy Collins had a Q&A session last night. He's off to Britain today, meeting with Celtic about getting some players on loan.
Also interested in a Ghanaian centre half, playing in England at the moment.

He also mentioned a player he was due to pick up on Saturday, bring to the Brandywell, show him where he would be living, etc. The player questioned why he should travel "way up there" to the Brandywell. Told Roddy to "talk money". Roddy told him where to go and he signed for Rovers the next day for €200 extra a week. We assume it was Ryan Brennan.
The predictability of this makes me chuckle. Roddy ALWAYS has a story about a prospective signing he dropped for lack of commitment early in his tenure at a club. It's one of his things.

19/12/2013, 9:51 AM
Yep. He'll say someone is looking for mad money and then offer Ventre more than Cork and Rovers did

Quayman
19/12/2013, 10:16 AM

Jaysus, a battle between us and Pats to see who can sign the most midfielders! He was close to joining Glentoran last night.

Fivesilver
19/12/2013, 11:25 AM
Ventre having a go in the Mirror. One might suggest he has a bit of a cheek going on about loyalty after the stunt he pulled this time last year.

He has his diehard fans in Sligo, but he has no business going on about how he loves the place and in the next breath trying to undermine the club in the media.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/transfer-news/danny-ventre-takes-parting-shot-2941408

oriel
19/12/2013, 11:33 AM
Well to be fair, if he was given the impression that a contract was going to be offered, then to be told it wasn't, he would be entitled to feel let down.

I think this is a great signing for Derry.

disgruntled
19/12/2013, 12:07 PM
Ventre having a go in the Mirror. One might suggest he has a bit of a cheek going on about loyalty after the stunt he pulled this time last year.

He has his diehard fans in Sligo, but he has no business going on about how he loves the place and in the next breath trying to undermine the club in the media.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/transfer-news/danny-ventre-takes-parting-shot-2941408

"He’s (Roddy) laying solid foundations at the club and I feel wanted. There’s incentive bonus structures in place at the club and if you do well, you’ll be rewarded, but Sligo wasn’t like that.”

He says he feels wanted.
I'd say the underlined bit had a lot to do with how much he felt wanted ;)

Fivesilver
19/12/2013, 12:07 PM
Entitled my backside. Teams and players discuss the future all the time - the impression he took is his business. He spent most of the off-season last year trying to get a deal in England.

There are Rovers fans who'll disagree, but he's a very limited player - albeit effective enough when surrounded by quality - who owes a lot of his popularity in Sligo to a rapport with the fans. If Derry are expecting him to be anything more than an adequate defensive midfielder, good luck to them.

19/12/2013, 2:01 PM
Fivesilver sums it up adequately. He was never in anyone's plans for this season - he burned all bridges with his behavious at the start of last season. Can be brilliant and can be pure ****e . Semi against Shams brilliant, final against Drogs, ****e. If Roddy fires him up, he'll spend most of next season suspended. BTW, Roddy has a fantasy about talks with us re job. Most of the season tickets at the club would not be renewed if he ever set foot in the home dug out,

poster
19/12/2013, 2:31 PM
Well to be fair, if he was given the impression that a contract was going to be offered, then to be told it wasn't, he would be entitled to feel let down.

He was offered a deal after the cup final.

As has been pointed out, I find it hilarious that he should be the one talking about commitment given the amount of offering himself about that he did last year.

seand
19/12/2013, 3:52 PM
Glad to hear Roddy's building solid foundations again. Like he did at Monaghan. And Cork. And Rovers. And Dublin City. And Carlisle. Lucky Derry.... did you not know he turned down Sligo to go there? And Bohs. And Barca. And ManU.

bluewhitearmy
19/12/2013, 4:00 PM
Glad to hear Roddy's building solid foundations again. Like he did at Monaghan. And Cork. And Rovers. And Dublin City. And Carlisle. Lucky Derry.... did you not know he turned down Sligo to go there? And Bohs. And Barca. And ManU.

Discovered Derry didn't he?

oriel
19/12/2013, 6:52 PM
He was offered a deal after the cup final.

As has been pointed out, I find it hilarious that he should be the one talking about commitment given the amount of offering himself about that he did last year.

Well that changes things obviously, plus I do recall now he tried to punt himself about to lower league clubs in UK last pre season?

redobit
19/12/2013, 7:20 PM
Whoever signed Ventre realises they are taking a gamble, a pretty big one too. The recurrence of a Stress Factor is fairly high I'm told .. Ventre had a stress factor in his shin twice last season! He only started 8 games for us last season and a sub 7 times.

Best of luck to him all the same. He really enjoyed playing for the club and will go down as a Rovers legend. No captain has lifted as many trophies at the club as him.

Fivesilver
19/12/2013, 8:07 PM
I've a lot of time for Danny. During most of his time with Rovers he was massively committed. I was very annoyed at him slagging off the club, but don't want to give the impression he was being deliberately sneaky - that wouldn't be fair on him given what he put in over the years.

At the same time, I think the club's decision to let him go was absolutely the right one.

20/12/2013, 12:31 AM
]He was offered a deal after the cup final[/B].

Just for the record, he was not.

Fivesilver
20/12/2013, 7:29 AM
This thread is coming together nicely just in time for the pantomime season.
#ohyeshewas

poster
20/12/2013, 10:49 AM

It was pittance compared to his last deal, but the offer was there.

20/12/2013, 11:37 AM

Oh yes he was....

Oh no he wasnt...

come on now lads get into the spirit of things

damn only saw fivesilvers post there

20/12/2013, 1:36 PM
He's behind you!

poster
21/12/2013, 1:12 PM
Gary Twigg is talking to Rovers.

Bawnville Hoop
21/12/2013, 2:48 PM

That time of year again. May aswell throw in Motherwell, Aberdeen and Hibs

Fivesilver
21/12/2013, 4:05 PM
What's he talking to us about?

poster
21/12/2013, 4:06 PM
What's he talking to us about?

Algebra.

22/12/2013, 10:43 AM

Giving advice on how to push an manager out of a club?

cobhlad
22/12/2013, 7:32 PM
Any Cobh news? Been very quiet recently. With City releasing a good few, they should take some of them. Big blow with Kynan leaving.

bluewhitearmy
22/12/2013, 8:09 PM
Any Cobh news? Been very quiet recently. With City releasing a good few, they should take some of them. Big blow with Kynan leaving.

Was talking to one of your players and he was saying players have heard absolutely nothing from the club. Bit worrying.

22/12/2013, 11:38 PM
Keith Fahey to pats?

23/12/2013, 2:11 AM
until June apparently.

White Horse
23/12/2013, 9:33 AM
until June apparently.

Pats are spending some serious cash.

23/12/2013, 10:11 AM
Pats are spending some serious cash.

Haven't you heard? The recession is over. Champions League here we coooooommmmmeee!

marinobohs
23/12/2013, 10:19 AM
Keith Fahey to pats?
trying to get his fitness back after a couple of bad seasons. Was at Sheff Utd on trial but again injury probably stopped him getting a contract. Still a big Pats fan and attends Richmond when he is home.

23/12/2013, 10:25 AM
Would think his wages wouldn't be too high either as it's not like he currently has a contract. 6 months LOI and his fitness back up should surely get him some kind of a contract in the uk.

23/12/2013, 10:31 AM
Would think his wages wouldn't be too high either as it's not like he currently has a contract. 6 months LOI and his fitness back up should surely get him some kind of a contract in the uk.

It's closer to 3 months too. Short term deal helps him prove his fitness and gives Pats a good bit of PR.

EDIT; if it happens. We all know these rumours and their likelihood of happening

oriel
23/12/2013, 11:00 AM
If it does happen, I would say it strikes more of desperation from the guy. Why cant he get fit and present himself back to his own club and let them judge him on his performances.

Would seem a very odd route to take, back to championship.

23/12/2013, 11:07 AM
If it does happen, I would say it strikes more of desperation from the guy. Why cant he get fit and present himself back to his own club and let them judge him on his performances.

When his contract was up Birmingham didn't want to renew it so went their seperate ways. I don't think they have any interest in re-signing him even if fit.

23/12/2013, 12:55 PM
St Patrick's Ath ‏@stpatsfc (https://twitter.com/stpatsfc)20m (https://twitter.com/stpatsfc/status/415113389497929728)
Welcome home to @Keith_Fahey (https://twitter.com/Keith_Fahey) who re-joins the club prior to the 2014 season. Merry Christmas Saints fans!

El-Pietro
23/12/2013, 1:45 PM
It's closer to 3 months too. Short term deal helps him prove his fitness and gives Pats a good bit of PR.

EDIT; if it happens. We all know these rumours and their likelihood of happening
I don't think it's possible to sign a contract for half a season in the LOI. The standard player contract is always to the end of the season. Though they could input a clause to allow him to be released should he have an offer from across the water

oriel
23/12/2013, 1:57 PM
Unbelievable Jeff !!!

Ezeikial
23/12/2013, 3:34 PM
I don't think it's possible to sign a contract for half a season in the LOI. The standard player contract is always to the end of the season. Though they could input a clause to allow him to be released should he have an offer from across the water

That's right - short term contracts are not accepted by the league (with or without release clauses). Club and player can have an unofficial "gentleman's agreement" of course.

23/12/2013, 3:59 PM
When his contract was up Birmingham didn't want to renew it so went their seperate ways. I don't think they have any interest in re-signing him even if fit.

Not with lee Clarke as manager anyway. he was injured too

marinobohs
24/12/2013, 10:40 AM

Released by Birmingham when his contract ended ( last year or so ruined by injuries ). been looking for a new club and spent some time recently on trial at Sheff Utd, but again interrupted by injury.

Was talking to him a few months back and he was just hoping to get a run injury free. When he played for Pats he was the stand out player in the League ( despite Bohs brilliance ;))

Smashing player and wish him all the best ( EXCEPT against Bohs )

Dalymountrower
24/12/2013, 1:07 PM
Smashing player and wish him all the best ( EXCEPT against Bohs )

Agreed, he`s a decent individual as well who has never forgotten his roots. Hopefully his short spell at Pats can motivate him to give it another go on the other Island.

Pablo Escobar
25/12/2013, 8:13 AM
I'd imagine you'll be looking at some of our U-19's from last year that we don't sign. There's a superb group there as we've had every year.

27/12/2013, 9:00 AM
Vinny Faherty, Derek O'Brien and Iarlaith Davoren expected to be announced for Galway FC in the new year.

oriel
27/12/2013, 11:26 AM
Vinny Faherty, Derek O'Brien and Iarlaith Davoren expected to be announced for Galway FC in the new year.

Good luck with him, scored a cracking goal v Derry in the league, and did nothing for the rest the season. Def a decent player in his day, and I think he actually joined us as first choice striker, but was unfit for most of 2013.

Davoren would be a good signing, not so sure on O'Brien.

Galway seem to be moving fast building a new squad. Best of luck to them.