View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention
Louth4sam
10/12/2013, 9:41 AM
Didn't Dundalk pay about 10k on the 2 lads from Mervue 2 years ago? That McCaffrey spoofer may just have been the worst manager the league has ever seen.
Was never actually announced but it was strongly rumoured 10k for three players. Mountney is the only one that is still with us and has the potential to be a top player in this league. We also had to pay compo to two local clubs over past few seasons for Marc Griffin and Johnny Breen. We played each in a friendly and gave them gate receipts.
And yes, yes he was. He tried to justify his poor performance that his wages were a lot lower than Fosters were and even tried to fight a fan during a game. Probably just behind Trever Anderson as Dundalk's worst manager ever
Sligo Hoops.
10/12/2013, 9:52 AM
Ryan and Quigley gone from Tallaght. So much for Rovers fielding a team in the 1st Division. At this rate they'll be lucky to put out a starting 11 ...
10/12/2013, 10:02 AM
Spending the money isn't the problem, its paying the invoices when they come in that's the problem.
Its true, any club, literally any club can start spending money they don't have, its no great feat, the actual noteworthy accomplishment comes afterwards when a club can balance the books and continue to grow. I'd be more impressed if Dundalk were able to double their support year on year for 3-4 years ..... Now THAT would be impressive, that's the achievement that should turn heads.
10/12/2013, 11:01 AM
Trevor Croly turning out to be the best Shams manager The BitoRed ever had.
Louth4sam
10/12/2013, 11:01 AM
I'd be more impressed if Dundalk were able to double their support year on year for 3-4 years ..... Now THAT would be impressive, that's the achievement that should turn heads.
I will be very surprised if our attendances don't drop this season.
Just out of interest why the massive interest in Dundalk's finance? Have Elding, Rafter and Dennehey joined Cork because of their love of Beamish and Clonakilty pudding? Is former Irish international Colin Healy playing for free? Dundalk also couldn't get anywhere close to matching the contract offer to John Dunleavy last year. I'm sure we could go through most clubs and pick out high earners
Sligo Hoops.
10/12/2013, 11:09 AM
Rumour has it Quigley just seen on Church Hill ...
10/12/2013, 11:20 AM
Rumour has it Quigley just seen on Church Hill ...
Barra heading for the N4 toll with 2.90 to get Quigs through.
Nailor
10/12/2013, 11:52 AM
Barra heading for the N4 toll with 2.90 to get Quigs through.
And six cans of Tennants Super for the signing on fee. ;)
CityRebel
10/12/2013, 11:54 AM
Horgan signs back with Cork City!
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/12/10/neal-horgan-signs-back-with-cork-city/
oriel
10/12/2013, 12:10 PM
That McCaffrey spoofer may just have been the worst manager the league has ever seen.
100% agree, and not just for Dundalk, the entire history of the league. I can't think of one worse.
First game of that season I watched from the shed, Pats came and won 2 or 3-0, men against boys, and all I could see was his gut hanging down while sitting on the bench. Nightmare stuff, and it only got better when we won the play off 8 months later, aided by his departure 4 or 5 months previously.
10/12/2013, 12:49 PM
Horgan signs back with Cork City!
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/12/10/neal-horgan-signs-back-with-cork-city/
I see what ye did there :victory:
Ezeikial
10/12/2013, 2:29 PM
Its true, any club, literally any club can start spending money they don't have, its no great feat, the actual noteworthy accomplishment comes afterwards when a club can balance the books and continue to grow. I'd be more impressed if Dundalk were able to double their support year on year for 3-4 years ..... Now THAT would be impressive, that's the achievement that should turn heads.
Doubling support in the manner you suggest is hardly realistic and probably unprecedented.
Starting with a base of 950:
Year 1 - 1900
Year 2 - 3800
Year 3 - 7600
There are reasons to be concerned about paying a compensation fee for Daryl Horgan, but there are also plenty of reasons for Dundalk fans to have confidence in the commitment and abilities of the owners and board, along with belief in Stephen Kenny's judgement.
My concern would be much greater if, for example, Mark Quigley / Eamon Zayed were signed on €1,000 a week
10/12/2013, 2:51 PM
My concern would be much greater if, for example, Mark Quigley / Eamon Zayed were signed on €1,000 a week
If you got them both for a grand you'd be doing alright. :p
Kenny has a bit of history on the convincing a board to overspend front. Especially after a bit of success. I'm sure the Dundalk board are well aware though.
noddy102
10/12/2013, 5:13 PM
Kenny has a bit of history on the convincing a board to overspend front. Especially after a bit of success. I'm sure the Dundalk board are well aware though.
I love how managers always get the blame for overspending. It is no way the managers fault if a club runs into trouble, unless of course they are also on the board of directors! All managers will try and get as much money from their board as possible and it does take a strong chairman or board to say no but it is their say which is final.
I highly doubt double contracts was Kenny's idea!
And I highly doubt he wasn't aware of them. He and the players got off very highly in that whole affair.
Fully agree that the board have responsibility though.
Kenny left us because the board wouldnt give in to his demands of extra money. Held the board ransom by saying gimme more or i'm off, and the board said on your bike
The Lilywhites
10/12/2013, 5:54 PM
Faherty will not be re-signing.
Current Co Galway contingent in OP, is O'Donnell, Hoban, Mountney & Rossiter (who is moving to Galway to live !!) and possibly Horgan if that goes through.
Mountney is from Mayo and Rossiter is from Sligo!
Thats right, Mountney is a Mayo lad not Galway. I knew Rossi was from Sligo but he is moving to Galway to live, going to be some travelling to matches.
Back to player movement to and from clubs, so from today we know both Quigley and Ryan have both left Rovers, one of the Horgans has signed for Cork for 2014, and still no sign of the other Horgan.
10/12/2013, 7:15 PM
That McCaffrey spoofer may just have been the worst manager the league has ever seen.100% agree, and not just for Dundalk, the entire history of the league. I can't think of one worse.
First game of that season I watched from the shed, Pats came and won 2 or 3-0, men against boys, and all I could see was his gut hanging down while sitting on the bench. Nightmare stuff, and it only got better when we won the play off 8 months later, aided by his departure 4 or 5 months previously.
But sure he was an absolute chancer all his time on the international scene, probably left out of sight because Givens was near worse than him. He accomplished nothing at all with the FAI, and the FAI should have been aware of that for ages before he left the position.
10/12/2013, 8:18 PM
But sure he was an absolute chancer all his time on the international scene, probably left out of sight because Givens was near worse than him. He accomplished nothing at all with the FAI, and the FAI should have been aware of that for ages before he left the position.
Sean McCaffrey when he managed Monaghan Utd in loi,how was he thought of in Monaghan from his tenure?
11/12/2013, 7:21 AM
Town have signed Pat Flynn from Shels. Haven't seen much of him lately but he was always a decent enough player, albeit a lunatic at times. Should be well able for the First Division anyway.
11/12/2013, 7:54 PM
Town have signed Pat Flynn from Shels. Haven't seen much of him lately but he was always a decent enough player, albeit a lunatic at times. Should be well able for the First Division anyway.
I saw him play for Shels last season when I went to three of their matches in Tolka.. He was the focal point of their defence.. He was way better than Graham Gartland!he will be a loss to Shels..
Ezeikial
11/12/2013, 8:43 PM
I saw him play for Shels last season when I went to three of their matches in Tolka.. He was the focal point of their defence.. He was way better than Graham Gartland!he will be a loss to Shels..
There's Pat Flynn dammed with faint praise
11/12/2013, 8:52 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/quigley-weighs-up-his-options-after-finalising-hoops-payoff-29827421.html
Confirmation that Quigley has been paid off and that Ryan had a two-year contract with a break clause if he got a club in Canada, which he has with Ottawa Fury.
Ezeikial
11/12/2013, 9:11 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/quigley-weighs-up-his-options-after-finalising-hoops-payoff-29827421.html
Confirmation that Quigley has been paid off and that Ryan had a two-year contract with a break clause if he got a club in Canada, which he has with Ottawa Fury.
The re-signing of Shane Robinson (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/3469-robinson-re-signs) must surely be the calming balm needed after the trauma of losing Ryan and Quigley.
If only Gartland and Bradley would come home to Tallaght............
11/12/2013, 9:13 PM
The re-signing of Shane Robinson (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/3469-robinson-re-signs) must surely be the calming balm needed after the trauma of losing Ryan and Quigley.
If only Gartland and Bradley would come home to Tallaght............
I'm so excited by the re-signing of Robinson I've decided to take tomorrow off work to celebrate.
Ezeikial
11/12/2013, 9:25 PM
I'm so excited by the re-signing of Robinson I've decided to take tomorrow off work to celebrate.
Me too!
11/12/2013, 9:33 PM
Me too!
By celebrate I meant cry deeply. How about you?
Ezeikial
11/12/2013, 10:03 PM
I'm gonna party like it's 1999
11/12/2013, 11:39 PM
Extratime reckoned he'd signed back for the '04 season earlier on. He may have been some addition that year.
CityRebel
12/12/2013, 7:21 AM
Compensation is fairly complicated. It's based on age, wages, length of time with a club etc. That's if it goes to tribunal. Sligo and Salthill will also get a part of this payment (as it's a development fee, and they played their part in his development too)
Didn't Dundalk pay about 10k on the 2 lads from Mervue 2 years ago? That McCaffrey spoofer may just have been the worst manager the league has ever seen.
Are you sure about that? Usually after a player turns pro, compensation is only paid to the previous club after any subsequent transfer when the player is out of contract unless there's a sell-on clause agreed.
PartySaint
12/12/2013, 7:54 AM
I'm gonna party like it's 1999
We won the league that year as well.
bluewhitearmy
13/12/2013, 5:33 PM
Forrester staying at Pats.
PartySaint
14/12/2013, 11:49 AM
Forrester staying at Pats.
And he is joined by Mark Quigley
17/12/2013, 10:56 AM
http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1217:josh-mailey-latest-to-sign-on-for-harps&catid=39:news-from-finn-park&Itemid=101
Harps squad up to 11 with Josh Mailey signing.
cestlavie
17/12/2013, 12:58 PM
Great news for the Harps, Josh Mailey has massive ability & if he fulfills that potential the Club & player will do well. The problem is that Josh can play anywhere, maybe that isnt a huge problem all the same.
17/12/2013, 1:19 PM
Great news for the Harps, Josh Mailey has massive ability & if he fulfills that potential the Club & player will do well. The problem is that Josh can play anywhere, maybe that isnt a huge problem all the same.
I believe Mailey is one of the few players in the Harps squad that would be well able to hold his own in the Premier Division should be fulfill his potential. One of the more exciting players to come to Harps in a long time.
Fivesilver
17/12/2013, 6:54 PM
Djilali back for us - massive.
Ventre gone to Derry - indifferent.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/12/2013, 10:19 PM
Based on the way we played with Ventre and without Ventre last season he'll be a big loss
Not a whole lot going on up our way at the moment but it has been announced that David Cassidy won't be rejoining us because he doesn't feel he can make the commitment required. Horgan also said that one of his targets (Pat Flynn) turned us down because he was offered more by Longford. So we're still on the lookout for that centre back and centre mid.
17/12/2013, 11:02 PM
Flynn might have been offered more at Longford, but as far as I know he still has a day job so training part-time in Dublin was probably the major attraction.
Olander
17/12/2013, 11:03 PM
Flynn might have been offered more at Longford, but as far as I know he still has a day job so training part-time in Dublin was probably the major attraction.
But Longford aren't in Dublin.....oh..... I see what you did there. :) Nice one
17/12/2013, 11:39 PM
But Longford aren't in Dublin.....oh..... I see what you did there. :) Nice one
I think you might be giving me too much credit here as I'm not sure I see what I did there. Longford train in Dublin, as far as I'm aware, while Drogs presumably train in Drogheda. You'd think that would be an important consideration for a guy who has a job and doesn't particularly want to be travelling too much.
18/12/2013, 6:25 AM
Yeah we train in Leixlip I believe.
18/12/2013, 11:23 AM
Roddy Collins had a Q&A session last night. He's off to Britain today, meeting with Celtic about getting some players on loan.
Also interested in a Ghanaian centre half, playing in England at the moment.
He also mentioned a player he was due to pick up on Saturday, bring to the Brandywell, show him where he would be living, etc. The player questioned why he should travel "way up there" to the Brandywell. Told Roddy to "talk money". Roddy told him where to go and he signed for Rovers the next day for €200 extra a week. We assume it was Ryan Brennan.
FYI, Ivan Sproule has moved to Linfield for £1k a week. He was getting £950 in Scotland. Linfield seriously splashing the cash this weather.
18/12/2013, 11:32 AM
Not a whole lot going on up our way at the moment but it has been announced that David Cassidy won't be rejoining us because he doesn't feel he can make the commitment required. Horgan also said that one of his targets (Pat Flynn) turned us down because he was offered more by Longford. So we're still on the lookout for that centre back and centre mid.
Teams always play that 'they offered more money' card when they lose out on a player I'd agree that it has more to do with the fact he has a job and we train in dublin plus he's guaranteed regular game time.
White Horse
18/12/2013, 11:47 AM
Teams always play that 'they offered more money' card when they lose out on a player I'd agree that it has more to do with the fact he has a job and we train in dublin plus he's guaranteed regular game time.
He was guaranteed first team football at Drogheda. In my opinion, he was their best player.
He was offered more money though. That doesn't mean Longford have overstretched themselves, just that we might not have valued him as highly. We train in Mosney, not Drogheda.
He was guaranteed first team football at Drogheda. In my opinion, he was their best player.
I think you're confused. Pat Flynn has never played for Drogheda.
18/12/2013, 8:53 PM
Ruaidhri Higgins off to Dundalk, so the rumours go.