View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Town Legend
25/10/2013, 12:39 AM
Weren't the Athlone boys very interested in our budget earlier in the season??? And now when we comment about theirs they throw a hissy fit and the moderators are working overtime warning Roddy offenders!! :cool:

ATFC-1887
25/10/2013, 2:09 AM
Difference is we never said ye owed players money haha Ye are claiming we do without any facts

disgruntled
25/10/2013, 7:57 AM
Not a fan of either Athlone or Longford although they are both fine towns but does anyone have any proof that Athlone own players money or is it just the usual hearsay/rumor ?
No axe to grind with anyone just an interested football fan.

poster
25/10/2013, 10:32 AM
Gavin Peers and Gary Rogers have re-signed for Rovers for 2014.

Connolly's VW have also renewed their sponsorship of the club for another three seasons.

White Horse
25/10/2013, 10:40 AM
Dundalk have announced that Peter Cherrie has re-signed for 2014.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/peter-cherrie-confirmed-for-2014/

desaintsno.12
25/10/2013, 12:53 PM
Bolger, Clarke and Byrne signed up again for Pats

Bosco
25/10/2013, 1:46 PM
We don't owe money so that can be knocked on the head straight away. As for O'Callaghan we had that bluffer already a few years ago. It would be almost impossible to find a supporter who would want him back.

Ironic that seeing as a crowd of your fans are coming down to support Mervue tonight..

25/10/2013, 1:56 PM
Robert Reid was right on Twitter some of them have an unhealthy interest in us. If I was them I would be more worried about trying to beat Mervue.

As Bosco said that is extremely ironic.

ATFC-1887
25/10/2013, 3:41 PM
Ironic that seeing as a crowd of your fans are coming down to support Mervue tonight..

We are actually just going to watch a game of ball. Not to support anyone. And there isnt many of us going haha

cobhlad
25/10/2013, 9:37 PM
Heard a rumour of Kevin Murray to Cobh? Doubt it though

CityRebel
25/10/2013, 9:57 PM
Heard a rumour of Kevin Murray to Cobh? Doubt it though

If he can get himself fit for next season I'd say most people would like him to stay, he's been really unlucky with injuries the last two seasons.

25/10/2013, 10:34 PM
Outs for us (rumours)

Stephen Bradley as he wants to play for a Dublin side as handier for him
Joe Gamble to Cork
Dave O'Leary on trial in the UK
Axel Bossekota back to Belguim with some interest in him from the UK
Jeffrey Judge back to junior

At least 12 players out between being released or retiring.

CityRebel
25/10/2013, 10:39 PM
Outs for us (rumours)

Stephen Bradley as he wants to play for a Dublin side as handier for him
Joe Gamble to Cork
Dave O'Leary on trial in the UK
Axel Bossekota back to Belguim with some interest in him from the UK
Jeffrey Judge back to junior

At least 12 players out between being released or retiring.

Yeah, the Duggan - Gamble rumour is out there once again.

25/10/2013, 10:42 PM
Yeah, the Duggan - Gamble rumour is out there once again.

Was never a runner before if you ask me with both being under contract but now both are out of contract I can see it happening.

Gamble not happy with what he was offered from what I hear and if he plays with cork it means no more travelling up and down.

Bosco
26/10/2013, 11:23 AM
We are actually just going to watch a game of ball. Not to support anyone. And there isnt many of us going haha

Oh,sorry my mistake,i've obviously picked this up wrong,hope ye enjoyed the game so lads,great entertainment for a tenner,

disgruntled
26/10/2013, 11:33 AM
Gamble was at the Cork City v Pats match last night.

bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 6:17 PM
Joe is gone from Limerick now too so that opens it up even more. Pity he is leaving tbh.

bluewhitearmy
27/10/2013, 2:16 PM
Was told today that we are talking to some Scottish lad Steven Lawless. No idea who he is tbh

27/10/2013, 2:35 PM
Was told today that we are talking to some Scottish lad Steven Lawless. No idea who he is tbh

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Lawless

Sounds like a decent signing to be honest. Only 21 with plenty of SPL experience.

Pablo Escobar
27/10/2013, 4:49 PM
From what i gather, Roddy has asked for x amount and Athlone wont give it to him. He will be offered a budget soon and if he rejects it he wont get anymore than what we offered and he will go elsewhere. Mick Cooke is the main name rumoured to get offered the job should Roddy leave. Hearing strong rumours saying Roddy will be Cork manager next year.
There is not a hope of him being our manager next season. There would be a revolt of never before seen proportions if it happened.

horton
27/10/2013, 5:40 PM
Declan Devine has left Derry.

http://www.derrycityfc.net/2013/10/derry-city-and-declan-devine-part-ways/ (http://www.derrycityfc.net/2013/10/derry-city-and-declan-devine-part-ways/)

White Horse
27/10/2013, 5:48 PM
Declan Devine has left Derry.

http://www.derrycityfc.net/2013/10/derry-city-and-declan-devine-part-ways/ (http://www.derrycityfc.net/2013/10/derry-city-and-declan-devine-part-ways/)

Sorry to hear that. Always struck me as a decent football man.

horton
27/10/2013, 6:06 PM
He was also a genuine DCFC fan as well which I doubt his replacement will be. Hard to see why he was let go, hopefully more info will emerge in next few days.

27/10/2013, 6:35 PM
This is really bad news for Finn Harps. Their number one target, Sean Connor, will now put himself in the frame for the Derry job.

27/10/2013, 8:15 PM
Met Declan Devine a few times he's an absolute gentleman and I would have given him another year as I feel if he could keep his main players this season and add some quality they'd be bang up there for the title next season. For a club in the first div a few years ago their aim should be stability and European football year in year out.

28/10/2013, 3:18 AM

Garry O'Connor and David Van Zanten in the frame as well

Flawless
28/10/2013, 4:01 AM
Garry O'Connor?.. Surely his wages would still be out of reach even though his career has seen more turns and washouts than the Shannon?

poster
28/10/2013, 9:53 AM
He was also a genuine DCFC fan as well which I doubt his replacement will be. Hard to see why he was let go, hopefully more info will emerge in next few days.

Came across as a bit of a spoofer who wasn't ready for a big job. Some Derry fans will be happy enough to see him gone I'd say?

Ezeikial
28/10/2013, 9:55 AM
This is really bad news for Finn Harps. Their number one target, Sean Connor, will now put himself in the frame for the Derry job.

No problem -Seannie could manage both of them.

dcfc_dee
28/10/2013, 10:15 AM
Collins to be announced new derry manager with John Cunningham and Paul Kee on backroom team

horton
28/10/2013, 10:25 AM
^Confirmed by the FAI?

http://inform.fai.ie/Statsportal/ClubDetails.aspx?TeamID=1398&ClubID=1311&CompID=8&lang=en

28/10/2013, 10:53 AM
Sorry to hear that. Always struck me as a decent football man.
Seemed like your standard moany LOI manager to me, with the usual oddly-jointed fingers that point in every direction except at their owners.

28/10/2013, 12:00 PM
^Confirmed by the FAI?

http://inform.fai.ie/Statsportal/ClubDetails.aspx?TeamID=1398&ClubID=1311&CompID=8&lang=en

Well now. That is interesting.

IrishRossi
28/10/2013, 12:12 PM
didnt take roddy long to get a new job,
id say its a relief to some cork fans

White Horse
28/10/2013, 12:22 PM
So Roddy, what attracted you to the Derry City job?

http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2013/10/22/4350693/derry-city-to-benefit-from-government-funding-as-brandywell

ATFC-1887
28/10/2013, 12:26 PM
Roddy has said he hasnt even spoken to Derry. Supposedly that thing on the loi site is a "template mixup" as suggested on twitter. He has said he has spoken to Cork only. And has a meeting with Athlone in the coming days and his preferance is still to stay with us. Ah sure ya wouldnt know what to believe.

Pablo Escobar
28/10/2013, 7:29 PM
Roddy has said he hasnt even spoken to Derry. Supposedly that thing on the loi site is a "template mixup" as suggested on twitter. He has said he has spoken to Cork only. And has a meeting with Athlone in the coming days and his preferance is still to stay with us. Ah sure ya wouldnt know what to believe.
He's using us as leverage so. He knows that he will not be entertained here.

28/10/2013, 10:58 PM
He's using us as leverage so. He knows that he will not be entertained here.

Unfinished business for Roddy in Cork after his last spell there.

29/10/2013, 10:30 AM
Unfinished business for Roddy in Cork after his last spell there.

More than finished as far as I'm concerned, and hopefully our board too!

bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 11:26 AM
We have now signed Shane Duggan.

29/10/2013, 12:21 PM
Good signing for us. A local lad coming back with LOI experience and still young.

Is Lee Lynch still under contract above in Sligo?

Fivesilver
29/10/2013, 2:19 PM
Baraclough quoted as showing interest in the Notts County job. Timing's not great, but the club have been dragging their feet on offering him a new contract, so I find it hard to blame him.

http://m.nottinghampost.com/articles/news/article/20000881

poster
29/10/2013, 2:36 PM
Is Lee Lynch still under contract above in Sligo?

No, out of contract next week and is expected to sign for Limerick shortly after.

29/10/2013, 3:35 PM
No, out of contract next week and is expected to sign for Limerick shortly after.

I hope your right. We would have two good replacements for Gamble and Bradley in nice and early.

29/10/2013, 4:58 PM
Very good signing for Limerick if so. Always thought he looked tidy for Sligo and given enough responsibility could be one of the dominant midfielders in the league.

Ezeikial
29/10/2013, 5:04 PM
Baraclough quoted as showing interest in the Notts County job. Timing's not great, but the club have been dragging their feet on offering him a new contract, so I find it hard to blame him.

http://m.nottinghampost.com/articles/news/article/20000881

Hard to blame him?

With his contract due to expire, he would have to be absolutely bonkers not to be looking elsewhere

DRDoc
29/10/2013, 6:58 PM

true, but as a general rule, dont believe most of what Roddy says

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/10/2013, 9:15 PM
Hard to blame him?

With his contract due to expire, he would have to be absolutely bonkers not to be looking elsewhere

Expires after the cup final along with all the rest of our players, except Peers and Rogers who re-signed last week

29/10/2013, 9:29 PM
Any reason why Sligo aren't resigning players at the same rate as Dundalk and Pats? Certainly, if the board had confidence in Baraclough (first and second in in two seasons suggests they'd be mad to lose him) they should have tied him up at this stage, unless he is actively courting clubs in the UK.

Dillonman
29/10/2013, 10:19 PM
Rossiter is gone from us. wasnt offered a new deal surprisingly. heard he could be off down south with work. could end up at cork or limerick!