View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

07/02/2014, 4:45 PM
People are going to whinge either way. A team made up of teenagers is not going to be equally good or bad against everyone, so people might as well start getting their excuses in now to save time.

07/02/2014, 10:56 PM
Daryl Carrigy, 17 year old Longford lad who is currently signed with Derby is likely signing with LTFC next week apparently. Played for us tonight v Athlone. Sounds like the club and/or the player are negotiating his release from Derby as he wants to stay home for a while. Played for Harps earlier in pre season but it looks like he'll be joining us.

08/02/2014, 11:57 AM
Dave O'Leary from us to Rovers is the rumour going around.

peterpan
13/02/2014, 2:03 PM
Dave o Leary has signed for cork city this morning, has been training all week and penned a contract today.

13/02/2014, 2:36 PM
Dave o Leary has signed for cork city this morning, has been training all week and penned a contract today.

Do you think he will get many games with ye? Ye seem strong enough in the middle of the park as it is.

peterpan
13/02/2014, 2:38 PM
Ya Dave will play alright, super little player and will only get better playing with the likes of Healy and morrissy.

Cuyahoga
13/02/2014, 4:03 PM
Stephen Mc Phail has signed for Shamrock Rovers from Sheffield Wednesday for the 2014 season.

13/02/2014, 4:31 PM
Delighted with that. Croly seems to have lucked out after letting all his midfielders go and not being able to attract anyone from within the league.

Ezeikial
13/02/2014, 4:55 PM
Has Stephen Bradley signed?

Sligo Hoops.
13/02/2014, 4:57 PM
Rice 30, Chambers 27, McPhail 34. No doubting his experience, but ... At least Kilduff got on scoresheet against Shelbourne. Hopefully Croly has more faith in him this year than last.

13/02/2014, 8:46 PM
I take it McPhail is now The Best Player In The League by default?

SwanVsDalton
14/02/2014, 8:29 AM
Doubtful anyone in the FAI is hearing the *marketing opportunity klaxon* blaring over McPhail and Fahey. Good opportunity to use the pair, with the likes of Finn, Towell and Forrester, before things kick off.

Yossarian
14/02/2014, 8:35 AM
Has McPhail received international clearance yet? I remember we signed Mickey Collins from Newry in Feb 2009 after his contract ended but he didn't get the clearance and had to wait till July to play as he wasn't a free agent at the end if their window. Seems a similar situation here.

14/02/2014, 9:09 AM
Great to see another ex-Irish International signing for a LOI club. As mentioned above this should be pounced on by the FAI and RTE when it comes to advertising the league. I know the guy is 34 but it would be fantastic if even just for publicity to see a few more internationals finishing out the last few years of their careers here if feasible.

Ezeikial
14/02/2014, 5:13 PM
Has McPhail received international clearance yet? I remember we signed Mickey Collins from Newry in Feb 2009 after his contract ended but he didn't get the clearance and had to wait till July to play as he wasn't a free agent at the end if their window. Seems a similar situation here.

Why? In what way do you think McPhail's situation is similar?

14/02/2014, 5:51 PM
It does seem to be different alright. The Irish international window is open until February 19 so as long as his registration has been transferred by then he's eligible.

Yossarian
14/02/2014, 5:54 PM
Why? In what way do you think McPhail's situation is similar?

Well I thought Collins' contract with Newry ended in Feb outside their window and that's why he didn't get the clearance with us until July. I see McPhail's contract with Sheff Weds ends next week, outside their window, so that's where I was drawing similarities. Maybe the reason for the delay in Collins' clearance wasn't this though, but I can't recall if it was.

Yossarian
14/02/2014, 5:56 PM
It does seem to be different alright. The Irish international window is open until February 19 so as long as his registration has been transferred by then he's eligible.

Fair enough then. I wasn't sure of the dates involved for these types of deals.

14/02/2014, 6:13 PM
Well I thought Collins' contract with Newry ended in Feb outside their window and that's why he didn't get the clearance with us until July. I see McPhail's contract with Sheff Weds ends next week, outside their window, so that's where I was drawing similarities. Maybe the reason for the delay in Collins' clearance wasn't this though, but I can't recall if it was.
The only deadline that matters is the new club's. Andrei Arshavin returned to Zenit a couple of years back at the end of February, a month after the close of the English transfer window. I don't think the full details of the Collins debacle ever came out but it certainly wasn't because Dundalk failed to meet the deadline - seems to be some nonsense on the Newry/IFA end.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/02/2014, 8:44 PM
Shams fan has just compared McPhail to Arshavin.........

14/02/2014, 8:52 PM
They're probably about equal in terms of pace :p

15/02/2014, 12:05 AM
Roy O'Donovan has had his contract terminated by Northampton. Set for a return to Ireland?

bluewhitearmy
15/02/2014, 12:23 AM
Roy O'Donovan has had his contract terminated by Northampton. Set for a return to Ireland?

Off to Brunei with Joe Gamble.

15/02/2014, 12:28 AM
You'd have to assume he's terminated his contract now so he can keep his options open. Probably off to Brunei though.

gufcfan
15/02/2014, 5:40 AM
O'Donovan signed for DPMM a few days ago (http://dns.bt.com.bn/sports-national/2014/02/12/dpmm-fc-end-search).

17/02/2014, 10:38 AM
Derry reported to be on the verge of signing Akanni-Sunday Wasiu.

Which is just about the best name for a player in Northern Ireland there's ever been.

17/02/2014, 1:29 PM
One Akanni-Sunday Wasiu, there's only one Akanni-Sunday Wasiu. Right, Phil Coulter, put an air to that.

GCdfc
17/02/2014, 1:59 PM
Akanni-Sunday Wasiu has 30 goals in 141 appearances. Not a very prolific goalscorer.

17/02/2014, 2:48 PM
Wonder how many other ex-Floriana players will turn up at Derry?

17/02/2014, 2:54 PM
Are you suggesting we might see a flurry of former Floriana flunked footballers filling out forms on Foyleside?

17/02/2014, 4:15 PM
As long as they're not fraudulent forms..

18/02/2014, 8:42 PM
Dave Hill has left/been sacked by Cobh. That makes Tony Cousins the longest serving manager in the two divisions now, strangely enough. TC was only appointed in Dec 2009 I think.

22/02/2014, 9:35 AM
Sean Maguire on loan from West Ham to us should be confirmed within the next hour.

gufc2000
22/02/2014, 8:38 PM
Shane McGinty came off the bench for Galway FC tonight against Athlone. Presumably the same fella that was with Finn Harps and Sligo Rovers?

gufcfan
22/02/2014, 8:43 PM
It was.

22/02/2014, 9:38 PM
Good wee player is McGinty. Very small though. With the right attitude and determination he could make a decent First Division player. Height definitely goes against him though.

05/03/2014, 9:22 PM
Prince Agyemang (MID) and Ali Abass (GK) finally leaving Ghana tomorrow and expected to be presented to the crowd at the game Friday.

Prince Agyemang goal at 0:31 http://vimeo.com/80183158

Another video of him in action floating around also but can't seem to find it anymore.

Garbhan Coughlan also to be added to our squad.

05/03/2014, 10:20 PM
Are they the lads you tried to sign in July?

05/03/2014, 11:20 PM
Are they the lads you tried to sign in July?

Ya they were agreed last july pending work permits.

Heard during the off-season that the club put off the work permits till this season because if they signed last July and got work permits that they would have expired mid-season this year.

05/03/2014, 11:36 PM
Ya they were agreed last july pending work permits.

Heard during the off-season that the club put off the work permits till this season because if they signed last July and got work permits that they would have expired mid-season this year.
That would make sense although it's harsh on the players as presumably Limerick aren't paying them to sit in limbo.

Do you have any idea how the work permit system is administered for football in Ireland? I know in England it's all screened by the FA with the UK government having the final say, but presumably here the Department of Justice handles everything.

optimus
05/03/2014, 11:52 PM
Been saving the pennies all year to pay his compensation this time round have ye? :)

just thought id bump this .. you know for posterity..

06/03/2014, 6:50 AM
just thought id bump this .. you know for posterity..

So I was right then? The pennies were saved? ;) It took a little longer than expected. I can only imagine the slew of bucket collections and concerts held in Cork of late to raise the funds to "Free David". :D

El-Pietro
06/03/2014, 8:41 AM
So I was right then? The pennies were saved? ;) It took a little longer than expected. I can only imagine the slew of bucket collections and concerts held in Cork of late to raise the funds to "Free David". :D

apparently not... rumours are that we didn't pay anything for him because Limerick hadn't been paying him for the offseason. He argued that he was on a 52 week contract. I really don't know how true that is though.

06/03/2014, 9:00 AM
apparently not... rumours are that we didn't pay anything for him because Limerick hadn't been paying him for the offseason. He argued that he was on a 52 week contract. I really don't know how true that is though.

Ya I've heard three different stories. Two different reasons no comp was needed and one saying comp was going to be payed.

06/03/2014, 9:32 AM

I can't imagine compensation would be huge in any case, it suits Cork to indicate (officially or otherwise) that he came for free, it suits Limerick to indicate (officially or otherwise) that some money changed hands. I wouldn't be critical of either club (or Dave himself) one way or the other.

Personally I wouldn't want us to keep him for ransom, he's always seemed a decent guy, he's from Cork, he wants to go home, off with him and the best of luck to him. Duggan coming the other way is the other side of the coin.

I don't think he (O'Leary) is the player people thought he might have been either to be honest (not yet anyway), technically he's very good, I find him a bit timid and brittle though and inclined to go missing when there's a real battle in the middle of the park. He'll do well in a team that does well and provides somebody to keep an eye out for him on the pitch.

adamd164
06/03/2014, 9:43 AM
If you told me last November we'd do a straight swap of Duggan for O'Leary, I'd have bitten your hand off.

I'd say Friday's game is too soon for him though by the sounds of things.

06/03/2014, 9:59 AM
Do you have any idea how the work permit system is administered for football in Ireland? I know in England it's all screened by the FA with the UK government having the final say, but presumably here the Department of Justice handles everything.

http://www.djei.ie/labour/workpermits/sportsprofessionals.htm

Work Permits for Sports Professionals are generally issued for the period of the playing season and are non-renewable. However, where the salary of the Sports Professional is over €30,000 per annum, a Work Permit may be considered for a longer period.

The following information must be provided when applying for a Work Permit for a Sports Professional:
• Cover letter indicating that this application is for a Sports Professional
• Fully completed Application Form with all relevant attachments and Fee.
• Applications for Sports Professionals must include a letter of support from the governing body for that particular sport e.g. Football - F.A.I, Rugby - I.R.F.U.
• Copy of the contract between the Club and the Sports Professional
• The normal Work Permit salary requirement of at least €30,000 per annum is not applicable in the case of Sports Professionals. However, wages have to be at least the National Weekly Minimum Wage regardless of the number of hours the player works ( ie: 39 hours multiplied by the hourly national minimum wage)

06/03/2014, 10:04 AM
If you told me last November we'd do a straight swap of Duggan for O'Leary, I'd have bitten your hand off.

I'd say Friday's game is too soon for him though by the sounds of things.

Grass is always greener I suppose.

We have only seen Duggan the odd time so never really saw his weaknesses and vice versa Cork fans only ever really saw Dave against yourselves so haven't seen his weaknesses.

bluewhitearmy
06/03/2014, 2:12 PM
That would make sense although it's harsh on the players as presumably Limerick aren't paying them to sit in limbo.

They have just stayed with Right to Dream training full time until now.

06/03/2014, 4:11 PM
They have just stayed with Right to Dream training full time until now.

All of their childhood dreams now coming to fruition. Warms the heart. Are they actually any use on a serious note?