View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

05/11/2013, 4:11 PM
Yeah Josh has had some excellent games for us considering his age. Peterborough have watched him several times and there's been other clubs linked too. He's understandably raw but he's got a lot going for him, pace, strength, aerial ability, good shot on him. Lacks a bit of composure at the moment but you'd imagine that'll come with experience.

IrishRossi
05/11/2013, 6:14 PM
we need to discover a few more like josh

05/11/2013, 7:21 PM
we need to discover a few more like josh

awful pity matt britton is no longer with us as he was him that discovered Josh for us along with Sully and a few others!

06/11/2013, 11:12 AM
Shaun Kelly signs for next season with Limerick.

06/11/2013, 11:27 AM
Shaun Kelly signs for next season with Limerick.

Excellent news.

I was worried we werent going to bother keeping him.

cobhlad
06/11/2013, 10:28 PM
Rumours hotting up now. Heard Conor Meade back to Cobh. Could be possible

PartySaint
07/11/2013, 7:44 AM
We are close enough to full time as it is, we train during the day and only 1 or 2 of our players work outside of football. I'd say our budget is at 9 or 10,000 a week, apparently we are very strict when it comes to our wage structure and budget and this wont change for anyone.

galwayhoop
07/11/2013, 7:47 AM
400-500 a week into a player's hand is almost double that by the time all tax, PRSI etc is paid.
No it isn't. Nor is it anything close.

The 40% tax band doesn't kick in till over €32k (€615 pw in 52 wk year but €888 in 36 wk yr). Therefore they would be taxed at 20%.

Even adding in the USC and prsi contributions and deducting tax credits you are talking about €500 gross to net €400.
Link to tax calculator:
http://www.hookhead.com/Tools/tax2013.jsp?srt=20.00&trt=41.00&prsi=4.00&lusc=2.00&musc=4.00&husc=7.00&musct=10036.00&husct=16016.00&src=32800.00&gross=25000.00&newgrossmonth=0&newgross=0.00&bik=0.00&ss=0.00&pensionpc=0.00&credits=3300.00

€800 indeed to net €400. Your boss must be giving you a tub of Vaseline instead of a wage slip.

Louth4sam
07/11/2013, 10:23 AM
No it isn't. Nor is it anything close.

The 40% tax band doesn't kick in till over €32k (€615 pw in 52 wk year but €888 in 36 wk yr). Therefore they would be taxed at 20%.

Even adding in the USC and prsi contributions and deducting tax credits you are talking about €500 gross to net €400.
Link to tax calculator:
http://www.hookhead.com/Tools/tax2013.jsp?srt=20.00&trt=41.00&prsi=4.00&lusc=2.00&musc=4.00&husc=7.00&musct=10036.00&husct=16016.00&src=32800.00&gross=25000.00&newgrossmonth=0&newgross=0.00&bik=0.00&ss=0.00&pensionpc=0.00&credits=3300.00

€800 indeed to net €400. Your boss must be giving you a tub of Vaseline instead of a wage slip.

Part time players would more than likely be on the higher tax band as they have other jobs as well.

SeanDrog
07/11/2013, 10:25 AM
Not like Shams to re-sign a former player.

No, they usually just shop at the show grounds 😂😂😂😂

galwayhoop
07/11/2013, 10:50 AM
Part time players would more than likely be on the higher tax band as they have other jobs as well.
We're talking about Pats going full time and the budget required. Therefore other job is irrelevant in this instance.

07/11/2013, 11:10 AM
Well no, because if the players give up their other jobs then their tax liability falls, and since clubs traditionally pay tax for players this does make a difference. But then Pats players don't generally have other jobs so you're correct that's not so relevant in their particular case.

Edit- just saw galwayhoop's earlier post- you may well be right, I was going on stuff said to be by directors probably a decade ago at this stage- and it certainly would have been based on players having other work that absorbed their tax credits plus other costs like insurance.

ger121
07/11/2013, 3:27 PM
Well Baraclough won't be the new Notts County boss anyway..

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9013007/derry-hangs-up-his-boots

adamd164
07/11/2013, 3:35 PM
That's good news for Sligo and the league. Top manager.

Pat Sullivan to us is doing the rounds.

07/11/2013, 4:08 PM
No, they usually just shop at the show grounds ��������Yeah and turn our good players into muck.

ATFC-1887
07/11/2013, 10:12 PM
Was told tonight that Davy O'Sullivan is signing for Bohs. Dunno how true it is.

07/11/2013, 10:50 PM
Dunno if there's any truth in it either but if he's leaving us a part time Dublin based side makes the most sense for him. Works in Bank of Ireland in Dublin. Still have some slim hope that'll he stay with us. I'd say we could match what Bohs can offer him. Except Premier Division football :(

L.T.F.C.
07/11/2013, 11:03 PM
Contract says otherwise lads!

08/11/2013, 6:58 AM
As of a couple of weeks ago he hadn't signed anything according to himself

Green&whitearmy
08/11/2013, 9:18 AM
Well i heard chris lyons might be moving on from bohs so they will be looking to replace him with someone.

PartySaint
08/11/2013, 10:56 AM
Conor Kenna looks a done deal to Shams

Oman looks certain to be coming the other way

Also mentioned today is Sheppard to us and a swap deal with Fagan going to Shams and Kilduff coming to the Champions

White Horse
08/11/2013, 10:59 AM

Also mentioned today is Sheppard to us and a swap deal with Fagan going to Shams and Kilduff coming to the Champions

Why not just merge the two clubs and be done with it.

oriel
08/11/2013, 12:32 PM
I think Dundalk may have made a bid for Kilduff a few weeks ago, as in a transfer fee bid. No idea if this is true or the amount, but I believe he is considering his options between DLK, Pats & Sligo, but not with Rovers. I know Cork are also interested, so that makes 4 clubs plus his current contracted one. Some dilemma.

DLK dont normally 'do' transfers, so will be interesting to see what happens with him.

DRDoc
08/11/2013, 1:30 PM

Would prefer Kenna over Oman every day of the year

bluewhitearmy
08/11/2013, 1:31 PM
If that did turn out to be true Pats wouldnt be doing too badly. Kilduff far better then Fagan imo.

08/11/2013, 7:11 PM
Contract says otherwise lads!

dont get you LTFC:confused:

count cambi
09/11/2013, 7:47 AM
dont get you LTFC:confused:

O'Sullivan didnt sign a longer contract with longford lads,thats not to say he wont decide to stay but he has to weigh up his options.

09/11/2013, 5:46 PM
O'Sullivan didnt sign a longer contract with longford lads,thats not to say he wont decide to stay but he has to weigh up his options.

Pretty much how I understood things too. He'll have a few offers I'm sure. Until he signs for someone else there's still a chance he'll stay!

cestlavie
09/11/2013, 6:54 PM
If Roddy Collins becomes the next Derry City manager he is looking for Enda Curran to join him from Athlone. Roddy has said to prospective players that he is going to Derry.

Connors also looking for the gig & has lined up an Ex English/Scottish premier league player to be his assistant. All I can say at this point is that he is also a former Welsh International.

09/11/2013, 9:11 PM
If Roddy Collins becomes the next Derry City manager he is looking for Enda Curran to join him from Athlone. Roddy has said to prospective players that he is going to Derry.

Connors also looking for the gig & has lined up an Ex English/Scottish premier league player to be his assistant. All I can say at this point is that he is also a former Welsh International.
Who that?

10/11/2013, 3:06 PM
I heard Enda Curran to Longford is a done deal.

10/11/2013, 6:05 PM
no, he's going to SD Galway........I mean Galway FC, Oops!

10/11/2013, 6:22 PM

Who that?

Strongbow10
10/11/2013, 10:55 PM
Athlone supposedly invited applications for the job before sitting down with Roddy. According to Roddy that is. During the week he makes a passionate plea to the board that he wants the job urges the board to get in touch.

Transpires that he had spoken to BBC foyleisde telling them how Athlone understand he has desires to challenge for the league title in the next couple of years with a bigger club and Derry is a "hotbed".

Athlone have supposedly refused to budge on their projected budget for their first season back in the premier, and Roddy is stirring the pot telling supporters hes heard nothing. Reality is he wants more money, money beyond Athlone's means.

Talk of Mick Cooke being interested in the job. If Athlone could tie that up quickly it could be a real coup for them.

Roddy is a busted flush at Premier level

Town Legend
10/11/2013, 11:11 PM
Roddy looking for money that the club don't have?? Never!! Fair play to Athlone on not budging. If they get Mick Cooke that would be a good appointment for them.

10/11/2013, 11:17 PM
There's a strange sense of irony here.

Roddy Collins asks for more money at Athlone and is shown the door.

Mick Cooke asks for more money at Drogheda and is shown the door.

Athlone approach Mick Cooke about the vacant job.

Let's hope Roddy goes to Drogheda too.

NeverFeltBetter
10/11/2013, 11:44 PM
Typical of him. Don't know how any club can stand his presence.

ATFC-1887
11/11/2013, 1:13 AM
Roddy did originally, as far as i know, ask for double of what our budget was going to be. Which would be up there with the top teams in Ireland if we gave it to him. He then (supposedly) told Athlone he would stay on for what was originally offered, and has since not been offered a deal. Mick Cooke has applied for the job. So if Roddy is re-appointed i am praying Cooke gets it Johnny Glynn is a good coach and all but isnt proven in them Premier. Needs to be sorted asap and i hope the board stand by what they said, and have an appointment announced this Friday.

11/11/2013, 8:36 PM
Typical of him. Don't know how any club can stand his presence.

Its mad, he puts in the graft and gets Athlone up, and fair play but jebus wept at least get up and cut your teeth in top flight and then start calling the shots. He had a chance to redeem himself and show he can turn it around for teams but this has undone all that, clubs can afford to take the gamble on it anymore, chrνst another thread is debating the fact the first div needs another team in to just survive.

White Horse
11/11/2013, 8:56 PM
i am praying Cooke gets it.

I hear that he will be bringing O'Brien, Prendegast, McNally, Byrne, & Schlingermann with him if he gets it. That will strengthen your squad a fair bit. A great manager and half a team, not a bad deal.

wandererfan
11/11/2013, 8:56 PM
Bohs fans seem to think Gary Dempsey and Jason Byrne are off to them, Dempsey will be with Bray if he decides not to retire, and byrne said devlin has first refusal

11/11/2013, 9:02 PM
I hear that he will be bringing O'Brien, Prendegast, McNally, Byrne, & Schlingermann with him if he gets it. That will strengthen your squad a fair bit. A great manager and half a team, not a bad deal.

O'Brien? Who's already said he wants to stay at Drogs and wants to finish his career there?

White Horse
11/11/2013, 9:13 PM
O'Brien? Who's already said he wants to stay at Drogs and wants to finish his career there?

He has said a lot of things down the years. More than most players :)

bluewhitearmy
11/11/2013, 9:22 PM

And Neale Fenn said he was retiring.

11/11/2013, 9:27 PM
And Neale Fenn said he was retiring.

Neale Fenn? Who's retired?

11/11/2013, 10:36 PM
Neale Fenn? Who's retired?

Whooosh!

12/11/2013, 1:45 AM
Whooosh!

http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20131011130113/psi/images/f/fe/Facepalm-1-.jpg

ATFC-1887
12/11/2013, 1:53 AM
Yeh i was told Alan Byrne and Schlingernan were coming with Cooke alright. Told Schlingerman is coming even if cooke doesnt come. Starting to think id prefer Cooke to Roddy.

MiniMourinho
12/11/2013, 6:48 AM
Starting to think id prefer Cooke to Roddy.

You might regret that!

prince20
12/11/2013, 8:46 AM
Roddy did originally, as far as i know, ask for double of what our budget was going to be. Which would be up there with the top teams in Ireland if we gave it to him. He then (supposedly) told Athlone he would stay on for what was originally offered, and has since not been offered a deal. Mick Cooke has applied for the job. So if Roddy is re-appointed i am praying Cooke gets it Johnny Glynn is a good coach and all but isnt proven in them Premier. Needs to be sorted asap and i hope the board stand by what they said, and have an appointment announced this Friday.

Hopefully.