View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Acer
28/11/2013, 10:19 AM
Athlone sign Jason Marks from Drogheda

Again, that's an odd one. Mick only started him 5 times in 2 years with us. I always thought he looked lively enough when he played though.

Cathal Brady confirmed as resigned for drogs.

Schlingermann re-signed (confirmed on drogs site)

Delighted with both of these.

28/11/2013, 11:04 AM
We just signed Mick Leahy.

thomas72
28/11/2013, 11:16 AM
We just signed Mick Leahy.

UCD captain???

Must say don't know much about him

28/11/2013, 11:22 AM
UCD captain???

Must say don't know much about him

Ya, fine player. Wouldn't think it would have been hard for him to find a club.

Fivesilver
28/11/2013, 3:03 PM
Ventre to Shams? That could be a wee bit awkward for his fanclub in the Showgrounds.

28/11/2013, 3:50 PM
Josh O'Hanlon looks like he's off to England

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/united-on-trail-of-longfords-teen-striker-ohanlon-29789999.html

Acer
28/11/2013, 6:38 PM
Drogs have announced the re-signing of Alan McNally. Great news for us!

White Horse
28/11/2013, 6:49 PM
Drogs have announced the re-signing of Alan McNally. Great news for us!

Horgan appears to be doing his job quietly and effectively.

placid casual
28/11/2013, 7:50 PM
Rovers are rumoured to be in for Ventre & Davoren from sligs and Morrisey & Horgan from Cork.
also talk of 3 guys from Malmo

KeepersBall
28/11/2013, 9:23 PM
Hear Peter Hynes has gone from Drogheda to Longford

28/11/2013, 9:23 PM
So we're swapping Sligo Ledwith for Davoren? On what planet is that ever a good deal?

28/11/2013, 9:34 PM
Hear Peter Hynes has gone from Drogheda to Longford

Do you mean Athlone by any chance? I'd be a bit surprised if he ended up back with us.

28/11/2013, 9:38 PM
Morrisey & Horgan from Cork.

Yeah, Johnny C said ye've made the 2 lads good offers, and he expects them to decide by early next week.

dong
28/11/2013, 10:56 PM
So we're swapping Sligo Ledwith for Davoren? On what planet is that ever a good deal?

How come?

I know nothing about Ledwith is why I ask.

28/11/2013, 11:01 PM
How come?

I know nothing about Ledwith is why I ask.
Well I know it's not a swap-swap, but they're both players who play in defence and midfield but for my money Ledwith has more potential and Sligo have got the better deal from their signing than we would if we signed Davoren. Ledwith is obviously young but any time I've seen him play, he just looks like a perfect Croly player - can play anywhere on the left and in the middle, and has the creativity to unlock teams. I remember him destroying Bray (I think) early last season. I think Davoren is a very good player but I'd rather have both than just him.

adamd164
28/11/2013, 11:08 PM
According to Caulfield in his Extra Time interview, there's a "marquee" signing to be announced in the coming days for us. I'm praying it's Kilduff but might be hoping for too much.

28/11/2013, 11:48 PM
According to Caulfield in his Extra Time interview, there's a "marquee" signing to be announced in the coming days for us. I'm praying it's Kilduff but might be hoping for too much.

Rafter from Derry.

Fivesilver
29/11/2013, 7:04 AM
Ledwith sounds like a decent bit of business for us Charlie. Dav's a decent player but is currently undergoing one of those surges in popularity in which players suddenly improve dramatically when they leave. According to a certain cranky faction of our support, himself, Ventre and Elding are suddenly world-beaters.

Dav's biggest problem has always been a lack of positional awareness - for a perfect example, look at Drogheda's Cup final goal, with our left-full ball-watching and blissfully oblivious to the presence of O'Conor. You'll get loads out of him going forward, and he'll work his socks off, but you need an alert centre-half to keep him on his toes.

PartySaint
29/11/2013, 7:36 AM

George O'Callaghan?

Dalymountrower
29/11/2013, 8:01 AM
Rovers are rumoured to be in for Ventre & Davoren from sligs and Morrisey & Horgan from Cork.
also talk of 3 guys from Malmo

A few Swedish keepers hopefully

HughL
29/11/2013, 11:48 AM
Boh's are giving a trial to Lionel Angé Lago - an 18 year old Ivorian U-20 Left Winger who played in the U-17 world cup in 2011 in the next few weeks. He comes from the Aspire Academy in Qatar.

Pablo Escobar
29/11/2013, 1:22 PM
A few Swedish keepers hopefully

3:08

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wB4bHI_u9Zg

29/11/2013, 1:33 PM
Jansson made a few howlers, especially at the start of the season, but he was terrific for the second half of the year.

L.T.F.C.
29/11/2013, 3:21 PM
Ah not again...

29/11/2013, 3:40 PM
Ah not again...

Speaking of "ah not again" Enda Curran has apparently signed for Derry

29/11/2013, 3:48 PM
Gamble off to Brunei. Must be a handier commute than Limerick.

Interesting move though in fairness.

NeverFeltBetter
29/11/2013, 4:34 PM
What!? Brunei? How is that closer to the family?

Stephen Folan was wishing Curran good luck on Twitter a while ago, so I assume that rumour is true.

CityRebel
29/11/2013, 4:37 PM

Stephen Folan was wishing Curran good luck on Twitter a while ago, so I assume that rumour is true.
It's far easier to commute from the People's Republic to Brunei than to Limerick.

29/11/2013, 4:39 PM

Presumably because his family will come with him.

29/11/2013, 4:41 PM

That's Enda Curran that has signed for Derry.

bluewhitearmy
29/11/2013, 4:41 PM
Trial was set up by George O Callaghan its his old team in Brunei, money on offer is supposedly ridiculous.

29/11/2013, 4:45 PM
Trial was set up by George O Callaghan its his old team in Brunei, money on offer is supposedly ridiculous.

Most certainly worth uprooting if what has been mentioned is what he is getting.

peterpan
29/11/2013, 5:10 PM
20grand a month...I'd go for that!!

SeanDrog
29/11/2013, 5:11 PM
Drogs sign Paul Crowley (confirmed on drogs site)

29/11/2013, 5:43 PM
Hmm, maybe there's something in this Peter Hynes back to LTFC talk, he's just started following the Town on Twitter this evening. Could be a coincidence but rumours have started on less!

patrickccfc
29/11/2013, 7:09 PM
Cork City FC ‏@CorkCityFC (https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC)1h (https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/406488938358927361)
Another player signs up! We will have news on the latest signing for 2014 on CorkCityFC.ie in the morning pic.twitter.com/DRT1IAR69K (http://t.co/DRT1IAR69K)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BaQjiSOCQAAvjGE.jpg:large
(https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/406488938358927361/photo/1/large)

wonder who this could be?

IrishRossi
29/11/2013, 7:19 PM
tony cousins has confirmed peter hynes is signing with longford

29/11/2013, 7:22 PM
Link to Hynes confirmation. Not sure what to make of it tbh. Cousins must have been happy enough with him first time around if he's signing him back. Him and Davy could be good together up front.

http://ltfc.ie/index.php/peter-hynes-returns/#more-5188

MiniMourinho
29/11/2013, 7:59 PM
Id describe Hynes in four words...decent but unfit and lazy.

ATFC-1887
29/11/2013, 8:10 PM
Thats 5 words.

MiniMourinho
29/11/2013, 8:12 PM
:-) wink wink!

29/11/2013, 8:18 PM
:-) wink wink!

TC should know what he's getting having had him a few years ago. I'd share the concerns about his attitude but he does improve our striking options and should be a good First Division player if and when he's in the humour.

MiniMourinho
29/11/2013, 8:35 PM
The reason he didnt ever start or get his place this year was he came back after the offseason overweight and unfit. Despite the pre preseason fitness regimes players were given. After finishing second in the league you'd imagine he'd be motivated but no. His attitude makes him a first division player at best. Unfortunate really becaue in 2012 when fit he was a great asset.

29/11/2013, 9:42 PM
TC should know what he's getting having had him a few years ago. I'd share the concerns about his attitude but he does improve our striking options and should be a good First Division player if and when he's in the humour.

Josh must not be signing back for us now which is a pity. I suppose thing with Hynes he has a lot of experience over the yrs frm his various clubs..

29/11/2013, 10:03 PM
Josh must not be signing back for us now which is a pity. I suppose thing with Hynes he has a lot of experience over the yrs frm his various clubs..

I'd assume Josh is off to one of the English clubs after him considering he already has at least one offer from them. Best we can hope for is a few quid for him.

IrishRossi
30/11/2013, 12:09 AM
Best we can hope for is a few quid for him.

wonder how much we can get for him?

30/11/2013, 12:42 AM
wonder how much we can get for him?

No idea what the situation is with his contract I'd assumed he was out of contract but Tony was quoted in the paper as saying the club would consider whatever offers were received and that they'd already got one which suggests they still have some bargaining power. It won't be big anyway, I'd say it'd be hard to turn down 10-15k realistically.

CityRebel
30/11/2013, 8:50 AM
John Kavanagh re-signs for City. Great stuff.

http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/11/30/john-kavanagh-signs/

legendz
30/11/2013, 8:57 AM
What's the general consensus on Cork's signings so far?

30/11/2013, 9:01 AM
Barry Ryan and Barry Sheedy both re-sign for limerick. Great to see a few of last years players now signing on. Could be the start of a few more re-signing.