View Full Version : (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31

06/03/2014, 8:03 PM
All of their childhood dreams now coming to fruition. Warms the heart. Are they actually any use on a serious note?

Ya they are supposed to be very good, especially the midfielder. Man City were about to take the Goalkeeper and midfielder but took a few other lads from the Right to Dream Academy instead. It was Man City that actually tipped Limerick off about coming over to have a look at these lads playing on a tour of England.

06/03/2014, 8:58 PM
It was Man City that actually tipped Limerick off about coming over to have a look at these lads playing on a tour of England.
I was going to make a joke about the banana incident but that would be in poor taste and I have far too much class for that. Interesting though - do City and Limerick have a good relationship? I suppose they're natural bedfellows, both being bankrolled by autocratic billionaires.

06/03/2014, 10:19 PM
I was going to make a joke about the banana incident but that would be in poor taste and I have far too much class for that. Interesting though - do City and Limerick have a good relationship? I suppose they're natural bedfellows, both being bankrolled by autocratic billionaires.

Our millions aside it does seem like there was a good relationship built up when they came over for the friendly. Not sure how much more to it there has been barr telling the club to have a look at the RTD lads.

07/03/2014, 12:39 PM
Tam McManus looks like he is signing for us. Any Derry fans have info on him?

Flexy
07/03/2014, 12:51 PM
Tam McManus looks like he is signing for us. Any Derry fans have info on him?
Tam's a good player getting on a bit, think hes 32/33 yrs of age he scored 8 goals for us in 22 games, hes a busy type of player and is famous for scoring our away goal against Skonto Riga in Latvia. Havent seen him the last couple of years but know hes still in touch with a few of the Derry players

SeanDrog
12/03/2014, 7:05 PM
Drogs signed Stephen maher - confirmed on club site

oriel
12/03/2014, 7:24 PM
He might do a good job. Had a far few injuries but there's no doubt he is a decent player,if he can stay fit.

13/03/2014, 8:55 AM
Danny Murphy has left cork city by mutual consent.

adamd164
13/03/2014, 9:35 AM
It was fairly clear against Pats when we had our starting left back (Dunleavy) sent off and Danny didn't come on, or play against Limerick in the league cup, that he wasn't going to be featuring this season.

He's given a long service to the club though, best of luck to him.

desaintsno.12
13/03/2014, 9:36 AM
delighted for Maher.

Very good signing for Drogs

SeanDrog
13/03/2014, 5:41 PM
delighted for Maher.

Agree .. Looks very interesting and encouraging given our small squad . Horgan has certainly past his test in terms of being able to put a decent squad together given his small budget.

Roll on Bohs tomorrow night 👍

13/03/2014, 10:19 PM
delighted for Maher.

Yeah, would echo that. Maher was very unlucky last year with Pats. Should do well for Drogehda.

SwanVsDalton
20/03/2014, 4:18 PM
Kevin Deery has been released by Derry. He left this message - and a massive swipe at Roddy - on his Facebook. I have a screengrab, and it appears legit, but can't get it uploaded here.

Well that's me officially released with the club I have spent my whole career with. I've had some amazing times with Derry City but all good things have to come to an end. Unfortunately for my self it has come to an end partly through injuries and through a Manager who's without doubt one of the most hateful men I have come across in football thanks to all my fellow players I have played with throughout my time at the club. Good luck

Edit - here's a link (https://twitter.com/rustyltfc/status/446700300997378048/photo/1).

20/03/2014, 4:23 PM
He can't sign for anyone until July, right?

20/03/2014, 4:26 PM
Kevin Derry has been released by Derry. He left this message - and a massive swipe at Roddy - on his Facebook. I have a screengrab, and it appears legit, but can't get it uploaded here.
Now there's a one-club man if I ever saw one. I wonder what happened behind the scenes there. Presumably Roddy has decided Deery is not going to be anywhere near the first team unless there's an injury crisis and Deery presumably doesn't like it.

SwanVsDalton
20/03/2014, 4:34 PM
Now there's a one-club man if I ever saw one. I wonder what happened behind the scenes there. Presumably Roddy has decided Deery is not going to be anywhere near the first team unless there's an injury crisis and Deery presumably doesn't like it.

Ha! Corrected.

Not sure what happened but the harsh truth is the club can't be paying out wages for him to appear four times, like last season. The year before I think he played under half the season.

However, Collins rubbed a few up wrong when the shipped out Higgins and caused a decent bit of acrimony with how he went about it. I dare say he isn't endearing himself to those he sees surplus/older heads at the club.

adamd164
20/03/2014, 9:11 PM
Wow, that's a strong statement... plenty of things people could call Roddy but I wouldn't have thought 'hateful' was one of them!

20/03/2014, 9:29 PM
The Five Stages of Roddy

1: Support
2: Denial
3: Confusion
4: Outrage
5: Relegation

El-Pietro
20/03/2014, 10:59 PM
The Five Stages of Roddy

4(a): Roddy quits/gets sacked
updated

ATFC-1887
20/03/2014, 11:34 PM
Supposedly Ger Doherty is dropped tomorrow following a bust up with Roddy.

21/03/2014, 12:47 AM
Supposedly Ger Doherty is dropped tomorrow following a bust up with Roddy.

He was told he's playing with the Ulster Senior League team this weekend, and Ciaran Gallagher will make his Derry debut against Drogheda. Word on the street is that Doherty has been told to find a new club.

21/03/2014, 2:34 AM
The Six Stages of Roddy

6: Resurrection

Updated.

Louth4sam
21/03/2014, 8:14 AM
He was told he's playing with the Ulster Senior League team this weekend, and Ciaran Gallagher will make his Derry debut against Drogheda. Word on the street is that Doherty has been told to find a new club.

Madness, one of the top keepers in the league.

21/03/2014, 10:50 AM
Roddy obviously trying to root out the old guard. That would leave Barry Molloy as the only remaining 'older' player? I wonder if he's identified a culture problem within the club.

21/03/2014, 11:36 AM

The Doherty thing has been rubbished by Ger himself.

21/03/2014, 12:32 PM

Not to mention he's under contract and couldn't find a new club until July anyway

White Horse
21/03/2014, 12:35 PM
With no game on tonight, there's a bunch of us taking the short trip to Drogheda to watch the Roddy soap opera.

dundalkfc10
21/03/2014, 1:08 PM
With no game on tonight, there's a bunch of us taking the short trip to Drogheda to watch the Roddy soap opera.

Going to this myself, reckon there could be a nice crew from Dundalk at it. Know of a good few, Fridays without a Dundalk game are terrible, need the fix from somewere :)

21/03/2014, 2:21 PM

Honestly, no idea myself. Only going by what I was told by someone who got word from inside the camp. Could all be a terrible game of Chinese whispers, but for me, there's no smoke without fire.

21/03/2014, 2:27 PM
I wonder if he's identified a culture problem within the club.

The problem presumably being that they don't think the sun shines out of his ass?

21/03/2014, 2:34 PM
The problem presumably being that they don't think the sun shines out of his ass?
Haha, probably. I mean that over the past few seasons, Derry have had a tendency to look like worldbeaters at times with loads of class players, but they don't really maintain the performance levels over a season. Maybe Roddy feels the club would be better served with a younger squad, particularly those who weren't around for the double contracts era.

21/03/2014, 2:49 PM
Could all be a terrible game of Chinese whispers, but for me, there's no smoke without fire.

Ye can't believe everything ye hear. Sure the rumours flying over on DerryCityChat have gone into overdrive. Even James McClean has gotten himself involved.
It'll all be grand and blown over in a few days time.

Aaron
21/03/2014, 4:09 PM

Balls it has, I had 2 people who are very close to Gerard tell me the same thing, and none of it is balls

21/03/2014, 5:06 PM
If Ger doesn't play tonight or feature in squad, and then plays in the USL side against Letterkenny on Sunday it'll be the quickest recovery from a hamstring injury ever.

SwanVsDalton
21/03/2014, 7:01 PM
Well Doherty isn't in the squad tonight.

21/03/2014, 7:35 PM
Could be bull as well but have heard Doherty has been told to find another club. I take it a loan job would be the only option there. Only time will tell if it's rubbish I suppose.

31/03/2014, 8:33 PM
I heard a pretty mental rumour today that Damien Duff is to join St Pats in the summer for the rest of the season to aid their European aspirations.

31/03/2014, 8:58 PM
I heard a pretty mental rumour today that Damien Duff is to join St Pats in the summer for the rest of the season to aid their European aspirations.

Well according to RTE today he did say he was going to give league of Ireland a season and that he wants to raise the kids at home.

dundalkfc10
31/03/2014, 9:49 PM

Damien Duff said in an interview the other day, he wanted to play at the Top Level for another few years and would like to end up in Ireland. Cant see St Pats being top level he is talking about

01/04/2014, 1:28 AM
Damien Duff said in an interview the other day, he wanted to play at the Top Level for another few years and would like to end up in Ireland. Cant see St Pats being top level he is talking about

Agreed but Bohs probably can't afford him.

desaintsno.12
01/04/2014, 8:05 AM

eh we're the Galacticos according to Kenny !! Don't know if he's the top player we're looking at.

not sure who we'd drop for him

01/04/2014, 2:30 PM
If Duff moves back to the LOI I''d imagine it will be Wicklow club, even with Devlin leaving. He's a fan and he's looking to live in Bray when he retires. As far as I know he'll be injured for the next few months anyway so might not even be fit for any European campaign.

Eminence Grise
01/04/2014, 4:25 PM
A friend of mine works in the office of the UCD registrar, Dr Olaf Rolpi, (I think that’s the guy's name, but I could be mixing him up) and says he’s seen an application from Duffer for their BComm course... Makes sense when you think about it.

01/04/2014, 4:33 PM
Tried ringing his office but he was finished at 12 today..

atfconline
01/04/2014, 8:03 PM
Mick Cooke hoping to have Stephen Quigley signed ahead of Friday's game against Drogheda.

01/04/2014, 10:38 PM
]]Mick Cooke hoping to have Stephen Quigley [/B][/B]signed ahead of Friday's game against Drogheda.

So Mick has come out at last.

El-Pietro
01/04/2014, 10:41 PM
A friend of mine works in the office of the UCD registrar, Dr Olaf Rolpi, (I think that’s the guy's name, but I could be mixing him up) and says he’s seen an application from Duffer for their BComm course... Makes sense when you think about it.
Russian is he?

01/04/2014, 10:48 PM
Rumours that Daryl Kavanagh has left St. Pat's tonight.

01/04/2014, 11:00 PM
It's not like Daryl Kavanagh to leave a club in the middle of the season.

02/04/2014, 12:12 AM
Rumours that Daryl Kavanagh has left St. Pat's tonight.

Hates Duff apparently.

Also be careful what you read on twitter on April 1st