View Full Version : 2009 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39

18/03/2009, 5:54 PM
low cut top and make-up?;)

you thought a bit about that did'nt you?;)

Kildare Lad
18/03/2009, 6:00 PM
Kildare charged us 15 into Station road on the last day of last seaosn, into an uncovered stand also!

I think it was only that game and it was to cover for extra stewards and police at the game. Usually €10 in for an adult

Finlay Harp
18/03/2009, 6:01 PM
20 euro is a disgrace. Even for a PD team it would be imo. And Harps aren't exactly providing top class facilities there either. Glad I still have the old student card for when I go up there, because I certainly won't be paying more than a tenner into that **** hole.

Next year we will have better facilities with the new stadium. Tolka will then be the ****hole as you so eloquently put it!

18/03/2009, 6:15 PM
Next year we will have better facilities with the new stadium. Tolka will then be the ****hole as you so eloquently put it!
That assumes they'll still be playing in Tolka next year.

18/03/2009, 7:48 PM
low cut top and make-up?;)

you are awful witty sligoman!!:D

18/03/2009, 7:59 PM
I think it was only that game and it was to cover for extra stewards and police at the game. Usually €10 in for an adult

Would it not have been cheaper with Gardai ?

gufc2000
18/03/2009, 8:44 PM
A look ahead to this weeks games:
Premier:
Bohs v Rovers- 4000
Bray v Galway- 1500
Derry v Cork- 2500
Dundalk v Drogheda- 3500
Sligo v St Pats- 2000

First
Limerick v Athlone- 550
Mervue v Finn Harps- 250
Fingal v Wexford- 600
UCD v Monaghan- 200
Waterford v Shelbourne- 900
Longford v Kildare- 350

That would be my predictions for the games ahead

oriel
18/03/2009, 9:44 PM
Interesting estimates gufc2000, but I think Derry will get more than 2,500, I'd go 3,000 +

all others look to be fairly realistic

18/03/2009, 10:53 PM
A look ahead to this weeks games:

UCD v Monaghan- 200

a bumper crowd expected for this im sure. love if i neatral could get down their with a clicker and count. Q adamstown excurtion for friday night :rolleyes:

18/03/2009, 11:11 PM
Bray v Galway- 1500
Dundalk v Drogheda- 3500

Msaybe Dundalk will get 4000+ first Louth Premier derby in years?
Can't see Bray getting more than 1000.

18/03/2009, 11:13 PM
a bumper crowd expected for this im sure. love if i neatral could get down their with a clicker and count. Q adamstown excurtion for friday night :rolleyes:
If we counted as badly as you write, that might be necessary.

18/03/2009, 11:21 PM
Can't see Bray getting more than 1000.

Hopefully they give Drogs more tickets than they did Bohs, there was plenty of room on the away terrace for more from what I could see. I think 4000+ is a very achieveable figure.

(Cant feckin wait for it!:))

Black and White
19/03/2009, 7:54 AM
You could pay in on the night though so that shouldnt have stopped more coming down. Its the same with tomorrow nights game, you can pay in its an attempt to stop crowd congestion which didnt help as there where hordes of people coming in through the turnstiles 10 mins into the game.

oriel
19/03/2009, 8:40 AM

Maybe so, I think its the first Premier Lge derby since 1996. Might even beat the Dalymount crowd, we shall see.

WindmillWarrior
19/03/2009, 9:28 AM
You could pay in on the night though so that shouldnt have stopped more coming down. Its the same with tomorrow nights game, you can pay in its an attempt to stop crowd congestion which didnt help as there where hordes of people coming in through the turnstiles 10 mins into the game.

How come ticketless Bohs fans were turned away then?
I heard Bohs fans got 520 tickets (100 of those for the stand) and that was it. Seems like its the same for us. Health and safety!

WindmillWarrior
19/03/2009, 9:42 AM
oh and i would have said max 1500 in drogheda on friday... i have seen much bigger crowds up there

Actually thats probably true on reflection. 1,500 max

19/03/2009, 2:44 PM
If we counted as badly as you write, that might be necessary.

well ill leave you college guys to do the writing cos maths clearly isnt your thing. i still say 100 to 120 at the earlier UCD Limerick game

19/03/2009, 2:47 PM

Bohs fans couldn't though. Some had to bribe stewards..

19/03/2009, 5:45 PM
Week 2 update. Usual notes apply.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,000 (2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - 2,800 (1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 3,410 (3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 3,100 (3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 1,600 (1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Dundalk - 4,500 (1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD; 591 FD)
Galway - 1,426 (1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - 2,300 (1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 3,599 (1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 2,000 (1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 680 (387; 670; 421; 316; 291)
Harps - 626 (1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 353 (241; 243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - 526 (517; 670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 600 (406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD)
Mervue - 650 (N/A)
Monaghan - 330 (177; 292; 204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,077 (986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - 666 (688)
UCD - 220 (546 PD; 663 PD; 546 PD; 653 PD; 306)
Waterford - 620 (670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 780 (767; 810)

Premier Division average - 2,634 (1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 595 (641; 722; 570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,521 (1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

corkharps
19/03/2009, 6:13 PM
666 for Fingal! Very interesting!

19/03/2009, 6:14 PM
666 for Fingal! Very interesting!

On Friday the 13th and all!

19/03/2009, 8:00 PM
People actually predicting how many people will turn up at each game.

Worst. Thread. EVER.

oriel
19/03/2009, 10:23 PM
Exactly, its just a bit of craic. :)

There`s enough bad news around

19/03/2009, 10:25 PM
Exactly, its just a bit of craic. :)

There`s enough bad news around

And its great to see the crowds that are being predicted for our games..:D

20/03/2009, 8:25 AM
Have to agree with sligoman.

Plus, it clutters up the thread, making it harder to find actual (or "actual") figures.

oriel
20/03/2009, 9:08 AM
On reflection, Stu is correct here, this thread should be kept for 'past' attendances not future predictions, we can post future estimates in the weekly previews

corkharps
20/03/2009, 9:18 AM
Or we could predict the weather for each match!;)

Lamper.sffc
20/03/2009, 9:36 AM
Or we could predict the weather for each match!;)

Cold. That was easy;)

Umberside
20/03/2009, 2:35 PM
Don't know about Dublin but certainly it's the warmest day this year down here. Should be good for the derby on tv tonight.

Candystripe
20/03/2009, 2:39 PM
Don't know about Dublin but certainly it's the warmest day this year down here. Should be good for the derby on tv tonight.

Derry is the warmest place today in western Europe!

Just heard that on the news.

Seriously warm and not a cloud in sight. It might bump up the attendances at all tonights games.

gufc2000
20/03/2009, 9:09 PM
According to extratime, the attendance at Terryland between Mervue and Finn Harps was 170. Big drop from two weeks ago

20/03/2009, 9:26 PM
I'd say it was more like 1000.

20/03/2009, 9:33 PM
The stand was not full. Loads of empty seat down towards the car park end. It was about 70-80% full, so you're talking 700-800. About 200-300 around the ground.

christo
20/03/2009, 9:35 PM
According to extratime there was less than 100 at the UCD game 15 minutes in

20/03/2009, 9:36 PM
Rehab Bingo stand was full,thats holds 985.
You always have to be very careful about assuming a stand is full. 80%+ full tends to look very close to full, and that's a big margin for error.

EDIT: I see a Bray fan's beaten me to it.

20/03/2009, 9:40 PM
According to extratime there was less than 100 at the UCD game 15 minutes in
I've heard nothing from the lads at the game, but that sounds too low for me. I've very rarely seen it drop much under 200, even for fairly bad games in awful weather clashing with a Leinster game (sort of thing). I've texted Pineapple Stu to see if he can confirm or deny.

christo
20/03/2009, 9:41 PM
I've heard nothing from the lads at the game, but that sounds too low for me. I've very rarely seen it drop much under 200, even for fairly bad games in awful weather clashing with a Leinster game (sort of thing). I've texted Pineapple Stu to see if he can confirm or deny.

I don't think we even ever dropped below that either

EDIT: below 100

20/03/2009, 9:44 PM
It was a good bit smaller than the cup games against Monaghan and Wexford last season, whatever they were. I didn't really check but under 100 probably seems about right.

20/03/2009, 9:51 PM
It was a good bit smaller than the cup games against Monaghan and Wexford last season, whatever they were. I didn't really check but under 100 probably seems about right.
Email reply from Pineapple Stu, verbatim:

160, give or take. Don't know what it is with crowd counting in UCD.

160 would look pretty damn small anyway.

You'd think our good start would have more of the home fans out. I've seen 300 at a bitterly cold, wet, dark Tuesday game against Limerick. I guess last season disspirited a few people.

Actually, I blame TV3's crappy show on Irish soccer hooliganism. It makes about as much sense as the show, but there you go.

kingdomkerry
20/03/2009, 11:00 PM
160 is a disgrace. A junior B team would get that. A team like UCD should never be let in to the premier division.

20/03/2009, 11:00 PM
announced as 626

20/03/2009, 11:10 PM
160 is a disgrace. A junior B team would get that. A team like UCD should never be let in to the premier division.

fully agree. While i appreciate the candour and passion of the UCD fans on this messageboard, that amount of fans is shameful.

How UCD (footie club) cannot appeal to the students there in an effective way is beyond me.

20/03/2009, 11:22 PM
fully agree. While i appreciate the candour and passion of the UCD fans on this messageboard, that amount of fans is shameful.

How UCD (footie club) cannot appeal to the students there in an effective way is beyond me.
Beyond us too. I'm in the US at the moment, and people here are signficiantly more supportive of their university teams. Some horrible cultural difference has us hamstrung.

As for us not being allowed into the Premier, that's pathetic protectionism. If the other clubs can beat us on the pitch (preferably with a squad they can afford), then we'll be in the lower division(s). People talk about small ambitions in this league, but the idea of selecting clubs according to attendence would be met with derision in England.

BillytheFin
20/03/2009, 11:22 PM
Fingal V Wexford
Attendance announced as 456
Extratime.ie has attendance as 542

20/03/2009, 11:26 PM
Beyond us too. I'm in the US at the moment, and people here are signficiantly more supportive of their university teams. Some horrible cultural difference has us hamstrung.

As for us not being allowed into the Premier, that's pathetic protectionism. If the other clubs can beat us on the pitch (preferably with a squad they can afford), then we'll be in the lower division(s). People talk about small ambitions in this league, but the idea of selecting clubs according to attendence would be met with derision in England.

absolutely agree with that John83 but some agressive marketing/advertising/promoting is badly needed in belfield. Have you looked into moving to Thursday nights for home games? I dont know if you have but, in my mind, that combined with some free passes to the SU or sports bar or free beers or a local nightclub or something might get more bodies through the stiles...

20/03/2009, 11:34 PM
absolutely agree with that John83 but some agressive marketing/advertising/promoting is badly needed in belfield. Have you looked into moving to Thursday nights for home games? I dont know if you have but, in my mind, that combined with some free passes to the SU or sports bar or free beers or a local nightclub or something might get more bodies through the stiles...
Yeah, all of it. We've tried Thursday, Saturday, even Sunday afternoons. We're hampered further by the fact that the college has banned clubs and societies from advertising drinks promotions for the past few years. Believe me, we discussed all of this with our last CPO and with club officials before that. A lot of things have been tried. Feck all difference though. Not helped either by the fact that students are subjected to a saturation of advertising for events from every society you can think of.

Buile Shuibhne
21/03/2009, 12:16 AM
No attendance announced at Waterford Vs Shels game.

No idea how they would calculate one anyway.

I drove into the the carpark for which I was charged €30 euro - 2 persons in the car - asked for tickets but told there were none. Maybe 60 to 70 cars in the car park?

Some of our supporters who walked thru the turnstiles were charged either €10 or €15 per adult on an ad hoc basis - again no tickets issued.

No admission charges were on display either.

My own guesstimate attendance would be circa 800

21/03/2009, 1:09 AM
Yawn on the usual BS about UCD.

160 was my rough count in the second half (with many leaving after seeing their offspring play at half time). Sh!t crowd, but we're not the only ones, blah blah blah. Oh, and we're top of the league with those sh!t crowds. Must be doing something right.

21/03/2009, 1:33 AM
Yeah, all of it. We've tried Thursday, Saturday, even Sunday afternoons. We're hampered further by the fact that the college has banned clubs and societies from advertising drinks promotions for the past few years. Believe me, we discussed all of this with our last CPO and with club officials before that. A lot of things have been tried. Feck all difference though. Not helped either by the fact that students are subjected to a saturation of advertising for events from every society you can think of.

fair enough John83, thanks for the clarification.

Pineapple Stu, youre quick to point out the problems of every other club regarding finances etc so im surprised that youre not more gracious or accepting of people pointing out UCD's problems.

Like it or not, a crowd of 160 turning out to see you play, given the amount of bodies in Belfield and surrounding areas, is atrocious and a problem worth highlighting. But i get the impression from your post that as long as UCD are top of the league, youre happy.

21/03/2009, 1:39 AM
You did, I assume, see the bit where I repeatedly called it a sh!t crowd? I'll say it again, if you like. It was a sh!t crowd.

It's somewhat annoying that, when the figures are so low, people can't get within 50% of the figure.

Crowds have nothing to do with whether a club should be in the Premier, though.