View Full Version : 2009 attendances
14/03/2009, 5:17 PM
While still making usual away fans lineOf course. We definitely outnumbered you. ;)
The stand holds 800 was aproximately 3/4 full and there is room for more fans standing down to the left. I thought it was around the 600 mark myself.
Fair enough. I was thinking 500 or so, but it's hard to know what the far end looks like. I think there were no more than 5 or 10 people on the terrace beside the stand BTW.
14/03/2009, 6:40 PM
Of course. We definitely outnumbered you. ;)
I think there were no more than 5 or 10 people on the terrace beside the stand BTW.
Be careful now, remember the old Belfield Park perimeter.;)
HulaHoop
14/03/2009, 6:46 PM
Rovers v Sligo - 3,500
That's the official attendance alright however there was at least a couple of hundred standing on the steps and walkways in the Ultras end. It certainly wasn't one man to a seat in that half of the stand anyway yet all the seats down the other end were full too.
14/03/2009, 6:50 PM
That's the official attendance alright however there was at least a couple of hundred standing on the steps and walkways in the Ultras end. It certainly wasn't one man to a seat in that half of the stand anyway yet all the seats down the other end were full too.
There were some empty seats in the stand in the last 5 minutes or so anyway, just caught the end of the game in the bar after our game. They might have been the people in the steps, I assume few enough left early.
14/03/2009, 6:55 PM
There were some empty seats in the stand in the last 5 minutes or so anyway, just caught the end of the game in the bar after our game. They might have been the people in the steps, I assume few enough left early.
I felt it was definitely over sold by a few hundred. I looked back on it on the television and there are very few spare seats anywhere, despite the fact the steps were filled with people standing in the first 3 sections. It was absolutely jammed in.
How can they over sell a game with tickets issued? (and I'm not saying that didn't hapen either...)
14/03/2009, 7:08 PM
How can they over sell a game with tickets issued? (and I'm not saying that didn't hapen either...)
I'd imagine they sold more season tickets than they realised, the sales were very suddenly suspended on Sunday or Monday with a message saying they would resume later in the week when a full count had been done, this very quickly changed to game sold out and season ticket sales suspended until next Wednesday.
amateur hour... ;)
14/03/2009, 7:44 PM
Dodge - League of Ireland
League of Ireland - Dodge
I'll leave you two to get acquainted.
Perhaps I should introduce you to my brand of sarcasm. I'm fairly sure I have before though...
14/03/2009, 7:50 PM
Yeah, sarcasm's harder to pick up when you're drinking.
Battery Rover
14/03/2009, 8:36 PM
Athlone Town vs Kildare County official attendance 680
harps1954
15/03/2009, 10:40 AM
Finn Harps v Longford Town - Official Attendance 626.
gufc2000
15/03/2009, 11:39 AM
Athlone Town vs Kildare County official attendance 680
Good healthy crowd Battery, and it looks like ye gave them a good performance too
Battery Rover
15/03/2009, 12:14 PM
Good healthy crowd Battery, and it looks like ye gave them a good performance too
It was a good start to the season.
At times during the game both teams played football that was a joy to watch and the whole attendance stayed on the end to cheer the teams off the pitch.
Next up is Limerick and if we manage to get a result there we could possibly add a couple of hundred to that for the Waterford game on the 29th.
dannydundalk
15/03/2009, 6:56 PM
we got 4,500 versus bohs first game
we shoruld get near the same versus drogheda and maybe rovers third game
15/03/2009, 9:01 PM
we got 4,500 versus bohs first game
we shoruld get near the same versus drogheda and maybe rovers third game
The Rovers match is on a Tuesday and clashes with the next round of the Champions League so I don't think we'll get that many.
LeixlipRed
15/03/2009, 11:45 PM
I'd say c.400 for the Mons game too. Majority of them Shels fans of course.
15/03/2009, 11:53 PM
2000 at Bohs v Derry,including about 150 from Derry.
shelsfan1
16/03/2009, 12:16 AM
I know a few lads who were doing the stewarding and were able to let a few mates in that way.
Dalymountrower
16/03/2009, 8:03 AM
2000 at Bohs v Derry,including about 150 from Derry.
The 2,000 estimate seems a bit light to me, hardly 750 empty seats in the Jodi?, 150 from Derry alright.
Umberside
16/03/2009, 8:33 AM
The attendance at Turners Cross was disappointing. A crowd of 3,410 compared to 4,791 at the first home game last year.
16/03/2009, 9:04 AM
I know a few lads who were doing the stewarding and were able to let a few mates in that way.
That's Lawless Ireland for you....
16/03/2009, 9:14 AM
The 2,000 estimate seems a bit light to me, hardly 750 empty seats in the Jodi?, 150 from Derry alright.
End block almost empty, 2nd block no more than half full. Looked pretty full from there down to the school end of the Jodi.
16/03/2009, 9:19 AM
I was in the Jodi doing commentary and the general consensus was between 1750-2000.
As ORA has stated, the shopping centre end of the Jodi was totally empty.
stovelid
16/03/2009, 9:34 AM
I could actually see three empty seats in my immediate vicinity.
People were standing a lot, and it was probably hard for later-arriving fans to spot seats.
Umberside
16/03/2009, 10:01 AM
I could actually see three empty seats in my immediate vicinity.
People were standing a lot, and it was probably hard for later-arriving fans to spot seats.
That happens all the time at Turners Cross. They delayed kick-off for ten minutes because of it.
People are always standing outside the Derrynane Road Stand as well for some reason.
oriel
16/03/2009, 10:08 AM
A little more i would have said. 1750 approx!
1750 sounds a bit high for this type of match, if it is correct thats quite impressive.
ndrog
16/03/2009, 10:42 AM
1750 sounds a bit high for this type of match, if it is correct thats quite impressive.
ah jees thanks man :rolleyes: this is like getting a tap on the head from some patronising git when your a kid :eek:
WindmillWarrior
16/03/2009, 11:08 AM
Impressive? Haha!
Even more impressive lads, it will only cost you a tenner in on friday night in Oriel Pk, are you really charging 20 euro in this season ?
dublinwanderer
16/03/2009, 3:14 PM
The attendance at Turners Cross was disappointing. A crowd of 3,410 compared to 4,791 at the first home game last year.
yeah, the opposition was different though!!!!:P
we always get a crowd when we play in cork!!!!:L locals must like are style of football!!!;)
oh and i would have said max 1500 in drogheda on friday... i have seen much bigger crowds up there
16/03/2009, 7:26 PM
Finn Harps v Longford Town - Official Attendance 626.
what was the story with the twenty euro admission fee plus three euro for a match program at harps? the inconsistency of the clubs is driving me bananas to be honest..
16/03/2009, 8:18 PM
what was the story with the twenty euro admission fee plus three euro for a match program at harps? the inconsistency of the clubs is driving me bananas to be honest..20 euro:eek:...think you were conned there marty.
corkharps
16/03/2009, 11:28 PM
Even more impressive lads, it will only cost you a tenner in on friday night in Oriel Pk, are you really charging 20 euro in this season ?
The upkeep of a grass pitch costs more!;)
16/03/2009, 11:35 PM
what was the story with the twenty euro admission fee plus three euro for a match program at harps? the inconsistency of the clubs is driving me bananas to be honest..
€20 for a First Division match...!?!?
thats madness, with it only being €15 into a lot of premier division matches :eek::confused:
Finlay Harp
17/03/2009, 10:09 AM
Should only have been 15 yo yo's. Even at that its high.
LeixlipRed
17/03/2009, 12:32 PM
Should only have been 15 yo yo's. Even at that its high.
So are you saying he was overcharged or what?
17/03/2009, 1:00 PM
I would say it was the seated area he paid into at €20 as theres only 300 odd seats in there.
Its €15 each for the terrace tickets.
17/03/2009, 3:19 PM
I would say it was the seated area he paid into at €20 as theres only 300 odd seats in there.
Its €15 each for the terrace tickets.
how the feck was I to know that? It actually makes sense now. I just asked how much to get in and I was told 20euros.Whoever the official was was very opportuntisitic as there was no explanation of how much for a ground ticket or for a stand ticket..:(
will be a lot cuter goin in next time around
17/03/2009, 3:54 PM
will be a lot cuter goin in next time aroundlow cut top and make-up?;)
Umberside
17/03/2009, 6:48 PM
Never mind 20 euro, I think 15 is too much.
Still though,€15 for getting into the cross is more reasonable than it is to get into some other league of ireland grounds.
LeixlipRed
17/03/2009, 10:16 PM
20 euro is a disgrace. Even for a PD team it would be imo. And Harps aren't exactly providing top class facilities there either. Glad I still have the old student card for when I go up there, because I certainly won't be paying more than a tenner into that **** hole.
oriel
17/03/2009, 11:21 PM
As much as no player in this county should be earning more than 1k per wk, I think 15 to sit and 10 to stand is just about right.
Umberside
18/03/2009, 4:57 PM
To be honest, I think 12 euro would be the best price. Of course it's different depending on the clubs. I would say Turners Cross is worth 15 euro, but if I was saying places like Finn Park or Station Road it should cost less.
18/03/2009, 5:13 PM
€12 is the maximum really for the first division, 15 for the premier is fair enough.
Black and White
18/03/2009, 5:38 PM
€12 is the maximum really for the first division, 15 for the premier is fair enough.
Kildare charged us 15 into Station road on the last day of last seaosn, into an uncovered stand also!
18/03/2009, 5:39 PM
Worth every penny too.