View Full Version : 2009 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39

12/08/2009, 11:53 AM
Excuse me? Cork City pulling a fast one financially? Never!

Decent crowd at Dundalk-Bray last night, 2,000 plus.

2000 plus ? I wouldn't have though it was quite that much but there was a decent crowd alright and the home fans were excellent, especially in the 2nd half, created a lot of noise and atmosphere. Not much all 15 of us Bray fans could have done to add to it :D

MMVIII
12/08/2009, 12:25 PM
I'd say around 1500 last night in the Showgrounds to watch that embarresment. Around 75 City fans maybe?

red bellied
12/08/2009, 12:36 PM
Alan, around 150 from Derry. Alot of them arriving just before kick off.

oriel
12/08/2009, 5:16 PM
There was at least 1000 Hoops up there. 1250 away tickets sold according to a Drogheda steward and one of the biggest away crowds ever seen in United Park. An idea of what the crowd was like from our forum http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=186082&postcount=106

Overall attendance of 2000-2300 is about right I think.

Ok fair enough, away end did look packed on MNS, reminded me of our cup replay there in 2004, think almost 4,000 at that and the away end was jammers, but woudlnt have thought 1250 could have got into utd park for away fans, as their stand only holds 400 or so ?

Good support all the same, drogs picking up on the crowds and on the pitch too.

12/08/2009, 5:48 PM
Great crowd for a Tuesday night down here, including a very big Rovers crowd, fair play.

Candystripe
12/08/2009, 5:54 PM
Alan, around 150 from Derry. Alot of them arriving just before kick off.

Would be about right.

I'm guessing some Derry fans turned and went home when they got past Ballybofet as the road was closed because of an accident, should be 500+ up for the cup game on Saturday.

Flume
12/08/2009, 5:56 PM
I could say the same about that cow shed ye call a stand/terrace above in Utd Park.

Eh, the away terrace in oriel is the worst in the league by a good stretch.

Is it true that some cork fans have reported coughlan to the fai for messing with the attendance figures?

Black and White
12/08/2009, 6:01 PM
Eh, the away terrace in oriel is the worst in the league by a good stretch.

Is it true that some cork fans have reported coughlan to the fai for messing with the attendance figures?

Its far better than that shed ye have, jays you can barely see down the pitch from there!

12/08/2009, 6:30 PM
should be 500+ up for the cup game on Saturday.

Really Candystripe ?

That'd be an excellent away crowd if there was.

MeathDrog
12/08/2009, 9:58 PM
I could say the same about that cow shed ye call a stand/terrace above in Utd Park. PS how does it feel to be in our shadow YET AGAIN!

Back to topic, Iv heard today that the officla figure for our crowd last night was 2379. Duno if thats right of not?!
We are in nobody's shadow.

ndrog
12/08/2009, 11:50 PM
Thats oh so very true, Iv never seen the away section of Oriel empty so quick like the way they did a few weeks back. Funny too how Rovers outnumbered them in their own ground last week!

can you craptown fans not keep out of posts about Drogheda utd and get a life ffs .And keep your ill informed b@ll**** to yourself . Rovers brought a great crowd to utd pk but didnt by any stretch outnumber the home support .Your still feeling the effects of all those years rotting in the graveyard while your neighbours were winning trophies .Get over it will you :rolleyes:

sfc red
13/08/2009, 12:35 AM
can you craptown fans

This is quite the statement to make, but I believe this to be the most pathetic slagging I have ever seen on foot.ie. I mean 'Craptown'? Come on!

MeathDrog
13/08/2009, 12:46 AM
This is quite the statement to make, but I believe this to be the most pathetic slagging I have ever seen on foot.ie. I mean 'Craptown'? Come on!
It's what they're always called on the Drogheda forums. That or Sh*tsville.

13/08/2009, 2:46 AM
who paid cash at the stiles and were given no tickets so the 3600 official attendance does not include the 400 hoops who didn't get a ticket to scan.

I got a ticket..I still have it..and all 6 in front of me latecomers got one..and another bought a ticket at the opposite end

Although, I wouldn't have said there was 4,000 there anyway

Black and White
13/08/2009, 8:16 AM

Im with you onn that one, it is sad, isnt it!

fionnsci
13/08/2009, 10:50 AM
Dundalk and Drogheda fans kindly shut the **** up. Thank you.

Black and White
13/08/2009, 11:31 AM
How can we shut up when we're not talking, just posting??:confused:

endabob1
13/08/2009, 12:53 PM
How can we shut up when we're not talking, just posting??:confused:

I can still hear you ;)

oriel
13/08/2009, 2:29 PM
Id say there was close on 2200 to 2400 at oriel tonight! About 20 odd Bray fans, mostly "aul" ones!

Dundalk V Bray

I think this is over stated, I heard a figure of 1,730 as close to an official count.

13/08/2009, 3:25 PM
I got a ticket..I still have it..and all 6 in front of me latecomers got one..and another bought a ticket at the opposite end

Excuse my ignorance, but what is the advantage to Cork City for fiddling their attendance figures? Am I right in thinking that tickets are not liable for VAT in the south, unlike in the north?

WindmillWarrior
13/08/2009, 3:40 PM
Jebus what childishness from the Duns fans. As childish as the "craptown" taunts I'd say

13/08/2009, 3:42 PM
Excuse my ignorance, but what is the advantage to Cork City for fiddling their attendance figures? Am I right in thinking that tickets are not liable for VAT in the south, unlike in the north?
The suggestion on the Cork forum is that TNB is maybe pocketing the cash himself. I think similar is alleged to have happened on the last game of Rovers' old regime.

Ezeikial
13/08/2009, 4:29 PM
The suggestion on the Cork forum is that TNB is maybe pocketing the cash himself. I think similar is alleged to have happened on the last game of Rovers' old regime.

Wow - disgruntled fans make unsubstantiated allegations against an unpopular figure!

Dalymountrower
13/08/2009, 4:30 PM
I think similar is alleged to have happened on the last game of Rovers' old regime.

You`ll really have to be more specific than that, Rovers have had more regimes than a 19th Century Latin American Republic.

Conroy
13/08/2009, 4:34 PM
25 Bray fans in Oriel, Not the 15 reported previously :D

13/08/2009, 4:34 PM
Wow - disgruntled fans make unsubstantiated allegations against an unpopular figure!
Indeed. But it's just another possibility which brendy_éire obviously hadn't though of.

13/08/2009, 5:12 PM

Well it's the Rovers fans claiming they didn't get tickets. Our system involves scanning each ticket to give the attendance, so if they didn't all get tickets then it would seem like the attendance given was wrong, for whatever reason.

People can only then speculate on what the reason for not giving out tickets might be.

Candystripe
13/08/2009, 7:37 PM
Really Candystripe ?

That'd be an excellent away crowd if there was.

We always get a great crowd up there for an F.A.I. cup game Steve, so that may even be an under estimate.

We sold 2,000 for the cup semi 3 years ago up there in October time, so after our demolition of them on Tues we should get at least 500.

13/08/2009, 11:48 PM

Eh...nah.

Anyway 1730 was given on our forum for Dundalk V Bray. (Sorry if it's already posted)

14/08/2009, 7:47 AM
http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=187006&postcount=21

Might have to start rounding down those Rovers figures

Dalymountrower
14/08/2009, 8:15 AM
http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=187006&postcount=21

Might have to start rounding down those Rovers figures

Not when you include the two per seat and the step standing strategy which is an integral part of the glittering stellar business model?

gufc2000
14/08/2009, 9:16 PM
I'll hazard a guess of about 600 in Terryland, with 60 from Longford, although according to extratime the attendance in full was 509

Green&whitearmy
15/08/2009, 10:50 AM
terrible crowd at the game last night, max 300 with about 50 up from tralee, and the game was as bad as the crowd, awhful!!

fionnsci
15/08/2009, 11:56 AM
terrible crowd at the game last night, max 300 with about 50 up from tralee, and the game was as bad as the crowd, awhful!!

Irish Times must be well off then! They said 500 with half from Tralee.

oriel
15/08/2009, 5:55 PM
Not the official crowd, but 3,300 has been mentioned from a good club source for Dundalk v Bohs last night. Not as big away support as we thought would be there.

Mr Maroon
15/08/2009, 6:05 PM
I'll hazard a guess of about 600 in Terryland, with 60 from Longford, although according to extratime the attendance in full was 509

I would have said 300-400 tbh.

Dalymountrower
15/08/2009, 7:13 PM
Not the official crowd, but 3,300 has been mentioned from a good club source for Dundalk v Bohs last night. Not as big away support as we thought would be there.

How many did you think would be prepared, for the third time this season, to have to travel to Dalymount mid-week to buy a ticket, then travel to D`dalk , be penned into a corner of the ground where one sideline can`t be seen and then be kept back for 20 minutes after each game?

We sold 400 tickets at Dalymount for the game, a good few Bohs fans bought home tickets for the stand and were able to escape the "cordon".

I would think that you will get smaller and smaller away crowds if you don`t sort out better accommodation and away tickets on sale on the night

oriel
15/08/2009, 7:56 PM
Yep - our away section is a disgrace, I`ve said that many many times before.

I really hope this is improved for next season.

Fair point

brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:38 PM
Not when you include the two per seat and the step standing strategy which is an integral part of the glittering stellar business model?

Didn't they just copy Bohs' stand safety model?

Battery Rover
15/08/2009, 10:30 PM
Sporting Fingal vs Athlone Town

Official Attendance 388

That includes 130 invited kids and parents from a local club, roughly 100 Athlone Town fans

sligofan4ever
16/08/2009, 12:01 AM
Would take a guess and say a little or under or a little over 2000 in the Showgrounds tonight.

16/08/2009, 2:01 AM
Would take a guess and say a little or under or a little over 2000 in the Showgrounds tonight.

There was a lot of Derry fans, over 500 easy.

BTW, we weren't really allocated enough seats. I had stand in the aisle as there was no-where else to go.

16/08/2009, 2:07 AM
There was a lot of Derry fans, over 500 easy.

BTW, we weren't really allocated enough seats. I had stand in the aisle as there was no-where else to go.About 300 fans mentioned on yer forum.

Plenty of room behind the goal for ye too, you didn't have to sit.

red bellied
16/08/2009, 2:11 AM
Dont upset them anymore Sligoman but there was at least 400 Derry whingers.

16/08/2009, 2:13 AM
About 300 fans mentioned on yer forum.

Plenty of room behind the goal for ye too, you didn't have to sit.

Think it was more than that though.

Behind the goal isn't really ideal, it's uncovered.

Do ye's normally use that whole stand? It was just rather cramped. Not a massive issue really mind, no safety issue.

The Lep
16/08/2009, 9:39 AM
Sporting Fingal vs Athlone Town

Official Attendance 388

That includes 130 invited kids and parents from a local club, roughly 100 Athlone Town fans

Why mention the 130 kids? what has that got to do with anything, they are still in attendance.

100 Athlone fans ?:D Ye, of course there was.

You had about 10 lads singing and id say another 20 or so adults around the stand :D
Dont you just love this league :D

GalwayRed
16/08/2009, 11:14 AM
About 400 at Harps-Shels. Im not great at estimating crowds though.

CSFShels
16/08/2009, 11:31 AM
Why mention the 130 kids? what has that got to do with anything
Well I think whats being implied is that there won't be 130 of those kids at your next home game, so that attendance is very worrying, especially as you've hit form again recently, since we beat you.

Battery Rover
16/08/2009, 11:52 AM
Why mention the 130 kids? what has that got to do with anything, they are still in attendance.

100 Athlone fans ?:D Ye, of course there was.

You had about 10 lads singing and id say another 20 or so adults around the stand :D
Dont you just love this league :D

Mentioned the kids as some clubs dont include free entries in their attendances

Bus of 22 about 30 sitting round them and the rest not sitting in the away section. There were away fans sitting in the section where the kids were

GlasnevinRed
16/08/2009, 1:58 PM
Shocking attendance up in Ballybofey last night. Would say no more than 300 with ~100 Shels fans.