View Full Version : 2009 attendances
Dalymountrower
06/04/2009, 2:45 PM
Poor form by Bohs on Friday.
Half the away fans put on the open terrace when raining. Then they were mo ved to the Jodi before Bohs stopped all away fans from getting food at half time. Never seen a single incident between home & away fans in the Jodi so Bohs decision had no merit. Not exactly a way of boosting attendances.
It was ****ing rain, all of you were allowed into the Jodi, despite having paid 5 Euro less for the Connacht side, we are complete *******s alright.
No idea why you werent allowed down at half time and provided with free hot food, what were we thinking?
I saw about 6 of your burbery capped fans coming from the chipper before half time which caused only unrestrained mirth from the Bohs fans, so no problems as far as I could see. Unfortunately it seems to have been a colours only ban. Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?
the Big Bad Bohs B@stards strike again...
Do they charge into matches? Funny how Tullamore get more to a game than UCD. Fair play to them.
Dundalk are charging €5 in anyway.
It was ****ing rain, all of you were allowed into the Jodi, despite having paid 5 Euro less for the Connacht side, we are complete *******s alright.
No idea why you werent allowed down at half time and provided with free hot food, what were we thinking?
I saw about 6 of your burbery capped fans coming from the chipper before half time which caused only unrestrained mirth from the Bohs fans, so no problems as far as I could see. Unfortunately it seems to have been a colours only ban. Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?
:rolleyes: You're right. There could be no detrimental effects to standing in the ****ing rain for 2 hours and then spending 4-5 hours in the soaking wet clothes on the way home...
You only allowed us into the Jodi because of complaints from RTE, if you'd any choice you wouldnt have and your own stupidity cost you the 5 euro from each person.
There was no reason at all bar acting like asses not to leave us into the Jodi straight away, exactly like you have 90% of the times we've been to Dalymount. It's not like their wasn't enough room. You're board thought they'd be smart by throwing away fans in a crumbling uncovered stand for now reason at all and it backfired, the only result being it costing ye money.
Another stellar job done by your board :ball:
06/04/2009, 4:42 PM
how can a reporter estimate the size of the crowd by sitting in one stand, which means he can only see one stand clearly? defo more than that....
Doesn't stop everyone else in this thread in fairness.
Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?
Yeah. I forget how much the refurbishments cost (don't have accounts handy) but they are looking well. ;)
BTW I went into the stand & paid my money there. No chance I was going to stand in the rain ban or no ban.
06/04/2009, 7:23 PM
how can a reporter estimate the size of the crowd by sitting in one stand, which means he can only see one stand clearly? defo more than that....
I get the estimates by looking around the crowd. I have legs, I'm able to walk around the ground and check the crowd. From the pressbox I can see the entirety of the covered stand and those standing up at the bowling alley end. To check the stand on the DART side all I have to do is walk down to the wall and have a quick look around.
My estimates are probably off, but I don't see why you get so upset. Until Bray announce official attendances, we'll never know what the real attendance is.
I've never said my estimates are official but I admit I do round down a bit because eyes do deceive. For instance, the Drogs Bray match on 13 March. All guesses (including yours) were over a thousand.
i would have said max 1500 in drogheda on friday
Drogs v Bray around 1,500
A little more i would have said. 1750 approx!
Yet, the official attendance was under a thousand.
got official att for Drogs v Bray and its a pathetic 900 :eek:
In short, don't bother giving out about my guesses if your's aren't any better.
Don't see the fascination with attendances. We can all see the crowds are rubbish, does the actual figure really matter? Seems to be more of a ****ing contest for some here than anythign else (not everyone of course)
I think its very important to have attendances monitored here. How else could we see if any changes in pattern are taking place. We can hardly rely on the paper media.
I wouldnt be fascinated, but I`d safely say the better the attendance the more healthier the club.
As said many times before, it would make life so much easier if all 22 reported exact figures.
07/04/2009, 2:25 PM
The Liverpool game killed any possible attendence, along with Munster v Leinster.
You mean the game wasn't moved because of the Rugby?! That's a disgrace, where's the consistency? :rolleyes:
Sorry if this has been dealt with before, but is there not a licencing obligation on clubs to provide match tickets these days? None at Sligo on Saturday anyway.
Green&whitearmy
07/04/2009, 4:11 PM
I dont think i have ever seen you leave that box superfrank!!!! And I'M sure alot of people will agree wit me.....
07/04/2009, 4:23 PM
I dont think i have ever seen you leave that box superfrank!!!! And I'M sure alot of people will agree wit me.....
I'm flattered everyone is so obsessed about my whereabouts.
BrayUnknowns
07/04/2009, 4:39 PM
I'm flattered everyone is so obsessed about my whereabouts.
Don't be because he is calling you a liar
Fight! Fight! Fight!
07/04/2009, 5:14 PM
So am I correct in assuming that the only game that the away fans should be opposite the jodi stand is shamrock rovers??
Buller
07/04/2009, 9:00 PM
So am I correct in assuming that the only game that the away fans should be opposite the jodi stand is shamrock rovers??
Yes, in fairness we're the only ones that can even nearly fill it. Think there's 3,000+ seats there? Bloody awful place with no roof, shody seats and no real toilets...
Cork City v Drogheda United - Official Attendance: 2,174.
07/04/2009, 9:36 PM
So am I correct in assuming that the only game that the away fans should be opposite the jodi stand is shamrock rovers??Well we were over there, so who knows. There's no way it passes H&S. No lighting, moss covered steps etc. etc.
07/04/2009, 9:38 PM
Cork City v Drogheda United - Official Attendance: 2,174.Was everyone free or did ye have to charge a tenner in as suggested in another thread?
LeixlipRed
07/04/2009, 9:39 PM
Cork City v Drogheda United - Official Attendance: 2,174.
Success then :o
gufc2000
07/04/2009, 9:42 PM
Extratime has Galway-Bohs down as 750, I'd say about 850-900
Was everyone free or did ye have to charge a tenner in as suggested in another thread?
I think it was free for all but don't know.
I would have guessed crowd of half that if not free due to CL on TV & apparent very heavy rain.
07/04/2009, 10:03 PM
no, 750 would definitely be max.
07/04/2009, 10:05 PM
Sorry if this has been dealt with before, but is there not a licencing obligation on clubs to provide match tickets these days? None at Sligo on Saturday anyway.
Yes it is a licencing obligation and some clubs seem to be ignoring it or are being let away with it. So far in the first ourselves, UCD, Kildare, Athlone and shels ...as ive been and witnessed already this season and from memory both Wexford and longford do tickets
07/04/2009, 10:06 PM
no, 750 would definitely be max. never seen so many boez fans be turned away at the gates, we could have done with their money.....even though some of them were turned away at the gate, AFTER they had bought their tickets !
Maroon 7
07/04/2009, 10:14 PM
Knew we'd have a poor attendance tonight. Tuesday evening game clashing with Man U on the telly and the weather was absolutely brutal. Thought we might scrape 1,000 but obviously not.
longfordjames
07/04/2009, 10:27 PM
why they turned away?
Gaillimh Al
07/04/2009, 10:51 PM
750 was an optimistic estimate, which has since been changed to 695, the official attendance.
07/04/2009, 11:37 PM
Yes it is a licencing obligation and some clubs seem to be ignoring it or are being let away with it. So far in the first ourselves, UCD, Kildare, Athlone and shels ...as ive been and witnessed already this season and from memory both Wexford and longford do tickets
Odd. I don't recall having ever been to a match where we didn't issue tickets.
08/04/2009, 12:40 AM
Odd. I don't recall having ever been to a match where we didn't issue tickets.
Tickets have been issued at every game I've been at this season...but I think he was trying to say that we did.
08/04/2009, 12:53 AM
You may be right, Dman.
08/04/2009, 12:56 AM
Great crowd in Oriel tonight(given the weather and Cl). Wouldnt hazard a guess though...:D
08/04/2009, 1:09 AM
Great crowd in Oriel tonight(given the weather and Cl). Wouldnt hazard a guess though...:D
I would, around the 2800 mark. Having everyone packed into covered areas does throw off guesstimate. Good Rovers support, Shed packed, stand full, and quite a few strange people who chose to stand in the rain:confused:
Some people like the rain...;)
Stand was almost full (1,300) + around 400/500 away support and up to over 1,500 int he shed, I`d go for just over 3,000, mabye 3,200
official figure should be released by dfc soon
08/04/2009, 11:30 AM
Stand was almost full (1,300) + around 400/500 away support and up to over 1,500 int he shed, I`d go for just over 3,000, mabye 3,200
official figure should be released by dfc soon
Capacity of stand is 1200 so almost full, 1000/1100, agree with the rest
08/04/2009, 12:20 PM
Week 5 update.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,667 (2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - 1,767 (1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 2,718 (3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 3,281 (3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Galway)
Drogheda - 1,300 (1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Dundalk - 3,694 (1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD; 591 FD)
Galway - 1,188 (1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Pat's - 2,269 (1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599; 1,882) (missing Derry)
Rovers - 3,500 (1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,600 (1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 652 (387; 670; 421; 316; 291)
Harps - 610 (1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 277 (241; 243; 265; 186; 298)
Limerick - 486 (517; 670; 364; 669; 188)
Longford - 470 (406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD; 1,131 PD)
Mervue - 373 (N/A)
Monaghan - 240 (177; 292; 204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,053 (986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Sporting Fingal - 526 (688)
UCD - 193 (546 PD; 663 PD; 546 PD; 653 PD; 306)
Waterford - 580 (670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD; 1,753 PD)
Wexford - 621 (767; 810)
Premier Division average - 2,304 (1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 499 (641; 722; 570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,370 (1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
Recent matches missing -
Derry v Galway
Pat's v Derry
Battery Rover
08/04/2009, 12:25 PM
Official attendance Athlone Town vs Wexford Youths 622
Posted the night of the game
08/04/2009, 12:28 PM
Think there might be a slight mistake in our figure...
08/04/2009, 12:28 PM
Posted the night of the game
Was wondering where you'd gone alright! Must have missed it, thanks.
Think there might be a slight mistake in our figure...
Nope. :) :o
Both chaged. Dundalk website has 1800 at Sligo v Dundalk.
oriel
08/04/2009, 12:46 PM
Capacity of stand is 1200 so almost full, 1000/1100, agree with the rest
Yeah, I meant capacity in brackets, so 1,100 max in stand, 1,500 max in shed + 100 elsewhere + up to 400 away = 3,100 as my estimate but this is a top figure, wont be far off 3,000 either way.
It was hard to get a proper look as it was such a bad evening, dfc should have figs out today ?
Thx for doing week 5 Stu
08/04/2009, 4:43 PM
sligo crowd v bray was around 800
Why were they turned away?
I believe one of the security guys at the gate was with bohs as he was just pointing them out to the usual security personnal. They had a few drinks on them too, but not enough to refuse entry.
08/04/2009, 10:34 PM
Pats v Derry was 2,0XX (forget the exact number - around the 60 mark)
Pretty good for the day that was in it (CL and torrnetial rain)
Be surprised if half come back after that performance
08/04/2009, 10:44 PM
Pats v Derry was 2,0XX (forget the exact number - around the 60 mark)
Pretty good for the day that was in it (CL and torrnetial rain)
This is true. We felt like members of Scott's exploration team as we left the nice warm pub, with it's big screens and bigger sounds ("It's...Manchester United...versus Porto...and it's coming up...live...! <dramatic orchestral music>") and walked outside into the dusk, the wind and the rain; our red and white scarves flapping behind us like flares sent up for aid. As we passed a group of Arsenal-clad smokers huddled together in the porch I was tempted to remark, "We may be some time."
Buller
08/04/2009, 11:02 PM
This is true. We felt like members of Scott's exploration team as we left the nice warm pub, with it's big screens and bigger sounds ("It's...Manchester United...versus Porto...and it's coming up...live...! <dramatic orchestral music>") and walked outside into the dusk, the wind and the rain; our red and white scarves flapping behind us like flares sent up for aid. As we passed a group of Arsenal-clad smokers huddled together in the porch I was tempted to remark, "We may be some time."
Ahahaha! Dont worry, this time you didn't die - nothing will ever come close to witnessing your football club winning...
dfclilywhite
09/04/2009, 5:47 PM
Official attendance for Dundalk v S Rovers was 2200
Yes just read this as been confirmed now. CL and bad weather was a big factor. Also away support was smallest this season so far.
10/04/2009, 9:03 AM
And some people complain when I take the lowest estimate given!
oriel
10/04/2009, 10:57 AM
Yep, I was totally out on this one, i put my hand up, fair point.