the Janesboro V Bruff cup match will now take place in Bruff tonight at 6.30
gerrard27
01/05/2009, 9:11 AM
the Janesboro V Bruff cup match will now take place in Bruff tonight at 6.30
Why is this game on in Bruff.
Is yer pitch unplayable.
leather
01/05/2009, 9:49 AM
After the last week of crap weather pitch was unplayable on tuesday night..B-Team wanted to bring match fwd to fri night, could not see pitch being playable for friday night . Bruff more than happy to switch, we asked to switch so as to get a match. and low and behold wed and especially thursday perfect weather... cut and rolled pitch last evening ..... a wee bit soft but perfect other wise. match could have gone ahead t-nite but that would be totally unfair after asking for the switch. Bruff had travelled in last sat evening for league match which was postponed.... another few days of rays will do pitch no harn at all.. b-team might even get to play on b pitch before end of season as renovations are flying at the moment..
Roadend
01/05/2009, 10:00 AM
It was bucketing down last night though
leather
01/05/2009, 10:11 AM
missed it slept like a baby probably flooded again so..
kingofkillteely
01/05/2009, 10:30 AM
Murroe v Coonagh on tonight also in the cup.
up front
01/05/2009, 11:44 AM
As iv said on this before if anyone wants to no who i am pm me and il respond in hand,and to reply to your quote i wont be there tonight,nor wil i be in goals when i arrive, i dont play in goals contrary to your wisdom of knowledge.
Your a little firefox,we all know who you are
How in gods name could we miss a skull like that in goals :)
footymad
01/05/2009, 12:55 PM
Your a little firefox,we all know who you are
How in gods name could we miss a skull like that in goals :)
Harsh getting personal.
footymad
01/05/2009, 2:16 PM
they have been given and your table is wrong
Its right where it matters.....
jumping jac
01/05/2009, 3:10 PM
Great result alright for us,taught we battled very well and barret and o donnel were super in withstanding the booming kick out's from stewie,o donnel got a nasty cut for his troubles,accidental though! We knew we'd get nothing easy up there off pike they threw everything at us to get a goal, and im sure we'l get it loads of them again should we meet in the cup this season- best of luck for the rest of the season boys,i dunno what fixtures ye've but after seeing last night ye'r a match for anyone in this league.
Cheers Messi ;) This is the real Jumping jac back online now boys and girls, somebody gave the Old Pike B :rolleyes: a password and he got carried away using this profile, i don't think you'll be hearing for him again for some time lads so i'll like to wish him all the best as well.
Best of luck to ye as well Messi, i seen a bit of banter alright over the last few weeks on this site to the run up to this game, but we tried as hard as we could with 10 men and was unlucky not to get a result in the end.
Anyway, that result puts ye back in with a shot at the league ?
On The Ball
01/05/2009, 5:10 PM
missed it slept like a baby probably flooded again so..
You were crying and up every hour so.
footymad
01/05/2009, 5:13 PM
Cheers Messi ;) This is the real Jumping jac back online now boys and girls, somebody gave the Old Pike B :rolleyes: a password and he got carried away using this profile, i don't think you'll be hearing for him again for some time lads so i'll like to wish him all the best as well.
Best of luck to ye as well Messi, i seen a bit of banter alright over the last few weeks on this site to the run up to this game, but we tried as hard as we could with 10 men and was unlucky not to get a result in the end.
Anyway, that result puts ye back in with a shot at the league ?
Well said
kingofkillteely
01/05/2009, 10:06 PM
Murroe 2 Coonagh 1. Man of the Match Johnny Carey, 6 yellows and 1 red. Not a bad tackle in the game. Enough said, we have heard it all before.
larrywhite
01/05/2009, 11:52 PM
Murroe 2 Coonagh 1. Man of the Match Johnny Carey, 6 yellows and 1 red. Not a bad tackle in the game. Enough said, we have heard it all before.
That was the cup game in case anyone was wondering. And yes, Mr Carey is THE worst ref in Limerick football.
As Oscar said in the premier thread, dont be expecting a result when you get him reffing your game outside town.
gerrard27
02/05/2009, 9:08 AM
Was it a Murroe player he sent off....
Bruff 5-1 Janesboro
this was the worst performance from any Boro team in a long time,with no keeper and the bare 11 we started well and were unlucky not to take the lead,Rafal Dorus crashing a shot against the bar,Bruff took the lead after 25 mins when a short kick out and players fannying about with the ball lead to a Bruff player dispossessing one of our lads and squaring it to a team mate 1-0.
we got back on level terms straight away when a great cross by Jamie Enright was met by the head of Joey Sheehan and he made no mistake,we should of scored more in the first half but it was not to be,we seemed to be making things difficult for ourselves,we played some lovely football at times but instead of playing a simple final ball tried to over elaborate,but going in at HT all square and with the breeze behind us and a strong sun in the Bruff lads eyes we felt confident
we never came out in the second half,their second goal was like their first,one of our lads losing it,5 mins later they got no.3.one of their lads waltzed through 3 of our boys,not one put a challenge in and he toe poked it into the top corner,we had a couple of half chances to score but in fairness done nothing in the second half,we went 3 at the back for the last 15 and were caught on the break twice
i'm not taking anything away from Bruff,they took their chances and gave us a right hiding,they're a nice bunch of lads and we wish them all the best in the next round,have to say the pitch looked in good nick last night
back to the league now for us and Park away this thursday,handy one:D:D:D
forgot to mention the ref,he done a fine job and how he's not doing more premier games is beyond me:D:D:D
the monk
02/05/2009, 2:03 PM
no it was a 2nd yellow but very harsh.
everyone knows not to give out to him as he just wont take it he was bad for both sides but the coonagh lads just kept on and on at him.
good game of ball tho
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 2:15 AM
Lol...yeah right. A second yellow for questioning an offside decision. No foul language, no personal abuse...just a question. But its what I always expect from him. He is as biased as you can get when it comes to country teams v city teams and I could list countless times he has got decisions wrong or the shocking assessors reports on him but everyone who knows him already knows the score. We had the same discussion in last seasons 1B thread and no one had a good thing to say about him. Have a look at the premier thread page 118 for other peoples opinion of him.
Heres something small from the other night. He stopped the game to talk to one of our players while our keeper had the ball in his hands about to kick it out. After talking to the player he restarted the game by telling the keeper he could kick it out of his hands. Thats just plain wrong and Jock MIB will confirm this. If the game was stopped while the ball was in play the game should have been restarted by dropping the ball.
This guy does not have a grasp of the rules of the game and has clearly shown on numerous occasions his bias for certain teams. If I was Pike or Fairview travelling out there for the semi and he showed up I would be very worried.
Oh and he uses only one watch which has no stopwatch and has a tendency to run a few minutes fast when "his" team are winning. :D
/rant over...safe in the knowledge I wont have to ever put up with this idiots antics ever again.
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 2:17 AM
no it was a 2nd yellow but very harsh.
everyone knows not to give out to him as he just wont take it he was bad for both sides but the coonagh lads just kept on and on at him.
good game of ball tho
Damn right we kept on at him. Incompetent twit that he is.
Strange that ye have had him for your last three home games and won all three. :rolleyes:
the monk
03/05/2009, 9:16 AM
Damn right we kept on at him. Incompetent twit that he is.
Strange that ye have had him for your last three home games and won all three. :rolleyes:
we dont get to pick the ref lad and as for being biesed towards us im sure the bruff lads will tel you thats not right we had a man takin clean out of it by the keeper last week and got nothing then to make it worse in the 2nd half of the same match we had a shot that was saved by one of their outfield players good save an all full lenght accross goal and he gave feck all. and larry if ye know what he is like why even question him? dont get me rong i know its very frustrating but ye will get feck all for it. we had a goal ruled out for offside the other night as well and he was well on, a few shouts from the line but none from the players as everyone knows the score with him.
and since when is coonagh a city team?
Final Frontier
03/05/2009, 10:47 AM
we dont get to pick the ref lad and as for being biesed towards us im sure the bruff lads will tel you thats not right we had a man takin clean out of it by the keeper last week and got nothing then to make it worse in the 2nd half of the same match we had a shot that was saved by one of their outfield players good save an all full lenght accross goal and he gave feck all. and larry if ye know what he is like why even question him? dont get me rong i know its very frustrating but ye will get feck all for it. we had a goal ruled out for offside the other night as well and he was well on, a few shouts from the line but none from the players as everyone knows the score with him.
and since when is coonagh a city team?
Coonagh is about 500 meters from Caherdavins pitch in Greenhills...City Team....About 3 KM to city centre....FACT
As for Carey...in all my years playing ball I have never seen a worse ref. He has no knowledge of the rules and speaks to players as if they are 10 years of age...Sending our player off the other night for questioning his decision was just wrong !
He completely ignored a blatant handball in last 5 mins and often his calls were made from halfway line.
Best of luck to Murroe in semi final...On that pitch it will be hard for View or Pike but if Mr Carey happens to be the appointed ref again the away team should just pack up and leave.
lankyboy26
03/05/2009, 10:52 AM
Coonagh is about 500 meters from Caherdavins pitch in Greenhills...City Team....About 3 KM to city centre....FACT
As for Carey...in all my years playing ball I have never seen a worse ref. He has no knowledge of the rules and speaks to players as if they are 10 years of age...Sending our player off the other night for questioning his decision was just wrong !
He completely ignored a blatant handball in last 5 mins and often his calls were made from halfway line.
Best of luck to Murroe in semi final...On that pitch it will be hard for View or Pike but if Mr Carey happens to be the appointed ref again the away team should just pack up and leave.
I thought coonagh was in the parish of Meelick? therefore co. clare!!! you couldn't really call Coonagh a Limerick city team, i don't think the locals would be too happy...
2legged tackle
03/05/2009, 12:36 PM
Knockainey 2-4 Park. Gary Higgins (3) Paddy Canavan (1) for park. Could and should have been more but a good win with a man down. Bring on Caherdavin:cool:
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 2:28 PM
I thought coonagh was in the parish of Meelick? therefore co. clare!!! you couldn't really call Coonagh a Limerick city team, i don't think the locals would be too happy...
It might be in the parish of Meelick but is in Limerick. The address is Limerick. Having lived there I should know.
lankyboy26
03/05/2009, 2:59 PM
It might be in the parish of Meelick but is in Limerick. The address is Limerick. Having lived there I should know.
Yes County Limerick, just about. ye used to play in the Clare league didn't ye, and ye are in the parish of Meelick, Co. Clare??? its all a bit confusing out there...
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 3:57 PM
Yes County Limerick, just about. ye used to play in the Clare league didn't ye, and ye are in the parish of Meelick, Co. Clare??? its all a bit confusing out there...
Not confusing at all if you have any sort of intelligence.
Up until last year Coonagh, Caherdavin and Moyross were all County Limerick. Outside the city boundary. Then the boundary was extended to include all three areas.
http://www.limerickleader.ie/3419/Boundary-move-puts-7000-residents.3838733.jp
Technically clubs like Aisling, Regional Utd and Mungret Regional are all county teams seeing as they are outside the city boundaries. Do you consider them county or city teams?
How about teams that play in Rathuard? Thats in the county. Are Wembley a county team?
If youre going to debate something you really should know what youre talking about first.
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 3:58 PM
so meelick is in limerick now is it:o
Read it properly.
lankyboy26
03/05/2009, 4:10 PM
Not confusing at all if you have any sort of intelligence.
Up until last year Coonagh, Caherdavin and Moyross were all County Limerick. Outside the city boundary. Then the boundary was extended to include all three areas.
http://www.limerickleader.ie/3419/Boundary-move-puts-7000-residents.3838733.jp
Technically clubs like Aisling, Regional Utd and Mungret Regional are all county teams seeing as they are outside the city boundaries. Do you consider them county or city teams?
How about teams that play in Rathuard? Thats in the county. Are Wembley a county team?
If youre going to debate something you really should know what youre talking about first.
thanks for clearing that up. you are clearly far more intelligent than I am. and yes technically regional, mungret and aisling are not city teams because they are not in the city. maybe they should be called Urban teams??? what do you think oh exalted one...???!!!
larrywhite
03/05/2009, 6:01 PM
thanks for clearing that up. you are clearly far more intelligent than I am. and yes technically regional, mungret and aisling are not city teams because they are not in the city. maybe they should be called Urban teams??? what do you think oh exalted one...???!!!
No prob...my pleasure. City teams works for me. ;)
Fairkop
03/05/2009, 6:05 PM
poor coonagh.:rolleyes:i am gutted for ye,sure the refs have been the reason for yer demise this season.
Final Frontier
04/05/2009, 10:34 AM
poor coonagh.:rolleyes:i am gutted for ye,sure the refs have been the reason for yer demise this season.
Presume you are with Fairview??? If im wrong then sorry !!
Ref situation not an issue with us....just last week....as for demise I would say any team with 5 serious injuries from a panel of 16 would struggle...
only 2 games left ...we are safe so we are totally looking forward to the visit of Park to Coonagh...!! They have always been good games and sure we have to try and be fair to all teams !!
Cant wait for next year !!
footymad
04/05/2009, 10:31 PM
Dick Calvert Cup
Fairview 6 Holycross 0
Sean Fitz 3
Roy Mc 1
Dave Mc 1
Jason Lipper 1
abbeyvale
04/05/2009, 11:24 PM
www.limericksoccer.com is now updated with all results, tables and upcoming fixtures.
kingofkillteely
05/05/2009, 10:32 AM
team of the season anyone?out of teams iv seen anyway,tom mac up front from the boro would walk on,davie wall obviously,eddie lee for cal's is a class act too along with jamie in midfield, ralph judge for caherdavin is a class well above this division too imo.
Agreed and Damian Logan and Martin Neary from the view:ball:
larrywhite
05/05/2009, 12:10 PM
Agreed and Damian Logan and Martin Neary from the view:ball:
Murroe keeper has been excellent too and also Davey Wall. Stands out whatever position he plays in.
gazza
05/05/2009, 12:29 PM
martin neary,willie barrett,paudie fitzgerald
agree with jamie and eddie lee thomas mac and davey wall
Mike OŽDonoghue with Boro has had a great season
slim-jim
05/05/2009, 4:09 PM
Mike OŽDonoghue with Boro has had a great season
is that the shaved head heavy fella playing centre-half?
slim-jim
05/05/2009, 4:40 PM
i would agree with alot of what you said but we signed 7-8 players this year,some good players who have played in 1B and higher,i don't think 2A is as good TBH,look at Cals they came up with us and we were both miles ahead of the third place team,they are an average team in 1B,Pallas came up from 2B and are well clear in 2A,we deserve to be top because we work hard and have good players,we mightn't be the fittest but we are where we are from grit and determination,i think there is a big difference between 1A and 1B and should we go up we will have to strenghten our team again as we have this year
how about a bit of credit lankyboy:Di do argee with some of the things your saying, but think you underestimated the lower leagues,pallas came up from 2b and probably now 2a because that team has stayed together from minor(only losing the 2 cosgraves and their keeper to the view}and i think will push next year for promotion, caherconlish and knocklong have been promoted 3 times in 3 seasons and have both beaten premier teams!you also have to remember that 1a and 1b have lots of premier b teams full of players who have just finished being able to play A but would find it very comfortable playing 1b,and having the big club name..Janesboro,Fairview,Pike etc...players are more likely to sign for ye than the likes of Cals, Murroe...and that is the big differnce
Shannonlass
05/05/2009, 7:17 PM
Park 4 - Caherdavin 0
Gary Higgins 3 and Graham Carey 1
BallBreaker
05/05/2009, 7:37 PM
Rsult Park AFC 4 Caherdavin 0, getting interesting at the top...............:ball::)
larrywhite
05/05/2009, 7:56 PM
Big win for Park. A defeat would have given Caherdavin a big lead over them.
Umberside
05/05/2009, 9:21 PM
Wow this is a very interesting league:)
larrywhite
06/05/2009, 12:06 AM
If the Park v Boro game is on Im definitely heading out to watch it. Should be a cracker.
Abbey Road
06/05/2009, 12:29 AM
Rsult Park AFC 4 Caherdavin 0, getting interesting at the top...............:ball::)
The blow in is back!!!
Goals4fun
06/05/2009, 8:11 AM
Park 4 - Caherdavin 0
Gary Higgins 3 and Graham Carey 1
where did gary higgans come from. he seems to be scoring a few goals recently.
leather
06/05/2009, 8:51 AM
the blow in is back!!!
back for thursday are we???