View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09
gerrard27
14/05/2009, 3:55 PM
kinda like the current team so:p:p:p
Are you the b team manager Oscar
larrywhite
14/05/2009, 7:45 PM
Coonagh v Park was off. A lot of surface water and no sign of rain stopping.
I hear Caherdavin got a walkover from Holycross.
On The Ball
14/05/2009, 8:21 PM
who's gonna stop them??? bruff? hardly
Bruff beat them 6-1 in the cup a few weeks ago.Any team can beat anyone in 1B.When they have the league cup in the pavillion,thats when they'll be up.Assumption,the mother of all **** ups.
manalishi
14/05/2009, 9:14 PM
Janesboro v Bruff Utd
Any result?
The walk overs in the league are a total disgrace, what are the penalties for giving walk overs anyway?
abbeyvale
14/05/2009, 9:38 PM
Janesboro v Bruff Utd
Any result?
The walk overs in the league are a total disgrace, what are the penalties for giving walk overs anyway?
Not sure if there are penalties in place for giving a walk over but a points deduction for the following season would be ideal.
Theres no point in deducting clubs points the same season, coz they are most likely safe and nothing to play for or already relegated so it wouldnt make a difference, but a -3pts deduction for each walk over the following season would put a stop to it.
Grinder64
14/05/2009, 9:52 PM
Not sure if there are penalties in place for giving a walk over but a points deduction for the following season would be ideal.
Theres no point in deducting clubs points the same season, coz they are most likely safe and nothing to play for or already relegated so it wouldnt make a difference, but a -3pts deduction for each walk over the following season would put a stop to it.
Agree with points deuction the following season, but for the moment you are allowed give two walkovers and if you give a third you are thrown out.
abbeyvale
14/05/2009, 9:59 PM
Agree with points deuction the following season, but for the moment you are allowed give two walkovers and if you give a third you are thrown out.
For me if you give a walk over in the league you get a points deduction the next season as I said above, and if you give a walk over in any cup (Lawson, Divisional, Fai & MJC) you should be banned from entering that cup the following season, but the LDMC wouldnt do the latter coz it would mean they would lose money from a team not being allowed enter a particular cup, so therefore only a points deduction the following season is sufficient (whether you give a walk over in the league or cup) and it should be -3pts for every walk over.
Its far to easy for teams to not bother to turn up, especially when they have nothing to play for (ie Holycross tonight), and they probably said to themselves, why should we get players off work, travel all the way into town, when we're already relegated, but I gaurentee you if it meant they would be docked points the following season, then the clubmen (maybe not the players) would care and get a team into play Caherdavin rather than give a walk over......
manalishi
14/05/2009, 10:02 PM
Do ye know how boro got on?
abbeyvale
14/05/2009, 10:07 PM
Do ye know how boro got on?
Id say it was more than likely called off, coz if The boro had won the league tonight then surely one of the lads on here would have been on to tell us about it..........either that or else they were beaten, but more than likely it was Off!!!!
View v Pike in the 1B divsional cup was also called off.
Grinder64
14/05/2009, 10:12 PM
For me if you give a walk over in the league you get a points deduction the next season as I said above, and if you give a walk over in any cup (Lawson, Divisional, Fai & MJC) you should be banned from entering that cup the following season, but the LDMC wouldnt do the latter coz it would mean they would lose money from a team not being allowed enter a particular cup, so therefore only a points deduction the following season is sufficient (whether you give a walk over in the league or cup) and it should be -3pts for every walk over.
Its far to easy for teams to not bother to turn up, especially when they have nothing to play for (ie Holycross tonight), and they probably said to themselves, why should we get players off work, travel all the way into town, when we're already relegated, but I gaurentee you if it meant they would be docked points the following season, then the clubmen (maybe not the players) would care and get a team into play Caherdavin rather than give a walk over......
maybe someone from ldmc will see your suggestion and take it in on board, doubt it though, walkovers happened regularly about five or six years ago and we are still waiting for penalities to be put in place,
Grinder64
14/05/2009, 10:15 PM
[quote=abbeyvale;1160634]Id say it was more than likely called off, coz if The boro had won the league tonight then surely one of the lads on here would have been on to tell us about it.........
They could be out celebrating
leather
15/05/2009, 9:45 AM
Match off due to surface water on both pitches.... this is the 2nd time that bruff have travelled in to play and the heavens have opened up...
manalishi
15/05/2009, 10:00 AM
3 points deduction would be fair enough. Teams that are fighting for promotion getting handed easy 3 points for walk overs is a total farce tho. Every Club knows at the start of the season that they have X amount of games to play so there should be NO excuses. 1B this year is a proper joke.
Bruff beat them 6-1 in the cup a few weeks ago.Any team can beat anyone in 1B.When they have the league cup in the pavillion,thats when they'll be up.Assumption,the mother of all **** ups.
it was 5-1,we had no keeper and the bare 11,nowhere near our starting 11 and 2 of their goals were in the last 5 mins when we were pushing forward and had no one back,in saying that Bruff deserved their win and we wish them the best of luck tomorrow night against Caherdavin
footymad
15/05/2009, 9:50 PM
Hopefully bruff do the view a favour tomorrow and get a draw against caherdavin. They always give their all in fairness.
larrywhite
16/05/2009, 3:18 AM
Hopefully bruff do the view a favour tomorrow and get a draw against caherdavin. They always give their all in fairness.
Its a cup game on Saturday evening.
After beating Knockainey and getting a walkover from Holycross, Caherdavin only have one league match left. Its at home to Pike and if they win they are up.
gerrard27
16/05/2009, 11:38 AM
After beating Knockainey and getting a walkover from Holycross, Caherdavin only have one league match left. Its at home to Pike and if they win they are up.
Cant see that game going ahead today.Pitches will still be waterlogged.
footymad
16/05/2009, 11:42 AM
Thanks for clearing that up
see's it
16/05/2009, 12:38 PM
when you look for favours from other clubs you dont deserve to go up!
gerrard27
16/05/2009, 12:59 PM
Strange things have happened in football:D
lankyboy26
16/05/2009, 1:40 PM
Best of luck to Caherdavin in the last game v Pike
totally agree,if you can't do it on your own you don't deserve to go up
footymad
16/05/2009, 6:54 PM
totally agree,if you can't do it on your own you don't deserve to go up
All we want is teams to compete pike didnt even try against ye tuesday night.
gerrard27
16/05/2009, 7:01 PM
[quote=footymad;1161514]
Totally agree with you.I heard they wanted the ref to blow up with 35 mins to go.
That says enough......
footymad
16/05/2009, 7:17 PM
Bruff are well capable of getting a point against the boro i am sure they wont give in as easy. That would shake the boro up a bit;)
lifegoeson
16/05/2009, 7:38 PM
Bruff are well capable of getting a point against the boro i am sure they wont give in as easy. That would shake the boro up a bit;)
the only thing stopping boro winning the league now is the bloody rain
footymad
16/05/2009, 8:07 PM
the only thing stopping boro winning the league now is the bloody rain
Ha ha good 1http://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon10.gif
oscar
17/05/2009, 12:54 AM
played them twice and lost twice,we'll take nothing for granted and no team lightly
I hear Caherdavin got a walkover from Holycross.
is this confirmed
larrywhite
17/05/2009, 3:16 AM
is this confirmed
Couple of Caherdavin lads told us. They said Holycross didnt have any interest in travelling in.
Boroman
17/05/2009, 12:46 PM
Are you the b team manager Oscar
He is one of them,there is 2 of them involved but from what i hear he is stepping down at the end of the season,is this true Oscar?any truth in the rumour you're going upstairs:D
manalishi
18/05/2009, 9:51 AM
Anyone Bruff posters on here??
oscar
18/05/2009, 11:06 AM
Janesboro V Bruff 10.30 Pearse Stadium
alidiei
18/05/2009, 11:07 AM
Janesboro V Bruff 10.30 Pearse Stadium
just beat me to it:mad:
leather
18/05/2009, 11:28 AM
If your lucky...rain all week...
Ray_F50
18/05/2009, 11:42 AM
Bruff poster here Manalishi. Haven't been on this in a while. Looking forward to the game against the boro on Sunday. Hopefully the weather eases up and the match will go ahead this time.
manalishi
18/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Bruff poster here Manalishi. Haven't been on this in a while. Looking forward to the game against the boro on Sunday. Hopefully the weather eases up and the match will go ahead this time.
Just PM'd you.
Ray_F50
18/05/2009, 12:57 PM
did park and cals play in cup?
manalishi
18/05/2009, 1:36 PM
did park and cals play in cup?
Called off, pitch flooded.
Ray_F50
18/05/2009, 1:53 PM
i doubt many matches will go ahead this week due to conditions thay awful :(
leather
18/05/2009, 1:54 PM
from next season on, all clubs will be required to enter a water-polo team in all competitions...
Ray_F50
18/05/2009, 3:51 PM
haha ya i think so just wana get games finished up anytime soon be nice:)
shelbourne1904
18/05/2009, 7:21 PM
Is it not time this ridiculous business of travelling to matches that have no chance of going ahead is addressed by the people who are responsible for running the league.Is it an actual rule that a match cannot be cancelled without the referee attending and collecting his reduced fee?Other leagues trust the word of the clubs who elect them to advise if matches have no chance of going ahead!!!
footymad
18/05/2009, 8:25 PM
ya its sad we travelled to da boro twice and not a chance of da match been on just to drive bk home and half the time the refs couldn't be arsed to ref in the rain:)
Joke alright but fair play to ye for travelling twice.
abbeyvale
18/05/2009, 9:50 PM
Div 1B P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro B 20 15 1 4 46 26 46
Fairview Rgs B 20 12 5 3 40 19 41
Murroe 21 13 2 6 42 25 41
Caherdavin Celtic 20 13 3 4 37 28 42
Park AFC 20 12 3 5 36 23 39
Knockainey 21 7 4 10 36 35 25
Caledonians 21 8 4 9 41 34 28
Pike Rvs B 21 7 3 11 41 41 24
Bruff Utd 20 5 6 9 29 37 21
Coonagh Utd 20 5 3 12 28 44 18
Shelbourne 22 5 2 15 34 49 17 (Relegated)
Holycross 20 1 4 15 13 58 7 (Relegated)
Fixtures
Tue 19/05/09 @ 18.30
Holycross v Coonagh Utd
Knockainey v Caledonians
Bruff Utd v Park FC
Sun 24/05/09 @ 10.30
Coonagh v Park FC, 10.30,
Janesboro v Bruff Utd, 10.30,
Caherdavin v Pike Rvs, 10.30
Tue 26/05/09 @ 18.30
Fairview Rgs v Janesboro
Thur 28/05/09 @ 18.30
Murroe v Fairview Rgs,
Fairkop
18/05/2009, 10:40 PM
Is it not time this ridiculous business of travelling to matches that have no chance of going ahead is addressed by the people who are responsible for running the league.Is it an actual rule that a match cannot be cancelled without the referee attending and collecting his reduced fee?Other leagues trust the word of the clubs who elect them to advise if matches have no chance of going ahead!!!
canvas other clubs and get it changed at the A.G.M.
Ray_F50
19/05/2009, 10:50 AM
weather holding up ok id say our match with park will go ahead today pitch seems to be holding up well going into this match wit bare 11 as most of our team playing g.a.a tonight:mad: story of our season
larrywhite
19/05/2009, 12:40 PM
Hopefully the Holycross pitch is ok also as we are out there. Weather has been ok today so should be playable.
leather
19/05/2009, 12:49 PM
weather was grand last thursday too untill a heavy "shower" dumped god knows how much rain on top of limerick..one bad shower and the pitches are kaput..