View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70

KevB76
27/08/2008, 12:48 PM
Watched coonagh play tonight drew nil all wit bruff coonagh deserved yo win just could not get the ball in the net. Bruff keeper was outstanding

Agreed, and he's not even a keeper ! Pulled off some great saves to keep Bruff in it.

Coonagh looked very good alright, had five or six shots just inches wide and one brushed the cross-bar. Late goal disallowed for offside but a good call by the ref.

Bruff did alright for their first full game of the season, a bit rusty but there's better to come from them. The draw was a good result for Bruff considering the amount of chances Coonagh created.

Final Frontier
27/08/2008, 1:04 PM
Agreed, and he's not even a keeper ! Pulled off some great saves to keep Bruff in it.

Coonagh looked very good alright, had five or six shots just inches wide and one brushed the cross-bar. Late goal disallowed for offside but a good call by the ref.

Bruff did alright for their first full game of the season, a bit rusty but there's better to come from them. The draw was a good result for Bruff considering the amount of chances Coonagh created.

They are the best points to get......when you should have been beaten and ride your luck...!!

Agreed all teams will be slow off start but Id fear for Pike this Saturday if Coonagh up it a level and start scoring !!

Any players stand out for you Kev...both sides?

Im going to head to watch Park V Boro...should be a good one...

see's it
27/08/2008, 1:33 PM
Not Sure, but here goes..
M.Purcell,A.Sheehan,T.mc'Inerney,B.Boland,A.Curtis ,A.Healy,J.Sheehan,T.mc'inerney,J.Enright.P.mc'evo y,B.Lawlor,E.o'Donnovan...

now i know why it was 3 nil,boro started with 12 players

Pike B
27/08/2008, 2:09 PM
They are the best points to get......when you should have been beaten and ride your luck...!!

Agreed all teams will be slow off start but Id fear for Pike this Saturday if Coonagh up it a level and start scoring !!

Im going to head to watch Park V Boro...should be a good one...
No disrespect to Coonagh but we have nothing to fear from them. Yes they are a good side, but in my opinion based on the first two games we played, both Park and Cals are as good if not stronger. And we were unlucky not to get maximum points in at least one of those games. So we will travel full of confidence of getting all 3 points.

Pike B
27/08/2008, 2:10 PM
now i know why it was 3 nil,boro started with 12 players
:D :D

leather
27/08/2008, 2:18 PM
could only name 12 off of the panel who were togged out...well spotted

i think that we only started with 11 players......oh no we might have been bold boys...we are hoping to start with 15 on sat night

Spudd
27/08/2008, 2:22 PM
oh no we might have been bold boys...we are hoping to start with 15 on sat night

Ye will need to :p

Pike B
27/08/2008, 2:26 PM
Ye will need to :p
Well Spuddy!! I had a warm cup of soup ready for you after the game Saturday, where did you disappear to so quickly?? ;)

Spudd
27/08/2008, 2:30 PM
Well Spuddy!! I had a warm cup of soup ready for you after the game Saturday, where did you disappear to so quickly?? ;)

We saw few dodgy heads in suits outside club house,so we said we would hold the pints off til we got back to shannon,thanks anyway ill get you back in the knights bar for the returning fixture. :p

Pike B
27/08/2008, 2:31 PM
We saw few dodgy heads in suits outside club house,so we said we would hold the pints off til we got back to shannon,thanks anyway ill get you back in the knights bar for the returning fixture. :p
Super... :D Could be a relegation decider for ye!!!

Spudd
27/08/2008, 2:42 PM
Super... :D Could be a relegation decider for ye!!!

We would want to get things sorted very quick now or you could be right,terrible start to the season,few players out injured but we cant use that as an excuse,just got to work with what we have,hopefully we can get a result saturday to boost the confidence of the lads.

The Kaiser
27/08/2008, 2:45 PM
No disrespect to Coonagh but we have nothing to fear from them. Yes they are a good side, but in my opinion based on the first two games we played, both Park and Cals are as good if not stronger. And we were unlucky not to get maximum points in at least one of those games. So we will travel full of confidence of getting all 3 points.

We will be waiting in the long grass for ye. How good were cals then, any handy players to watch out for

Final Frontier
27/08/2008, 3:16 PM

Philip I see you scored last night....Congrats....

Seems you are reverting to type tho...U said That Coonagh were one of favourites and now are saying Park and Cals stronger without seeing them...surely you cant make that assumption till after Saturday....

Now my plans are all in a mess...is it to be Borro V Park , or Coonagh V Park.....MMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Have you still no idea who Spudd is? Did you not ask them all on the pitch?

Andyryan24
27/08/2008, 3:30 PM
abbey vale im not 100 per cent sure but i think the back four was lipper,white and neary, the keeper was costello,other than that the only other view player i recognised was o donnel,your pal carey started for park.. Should have stayed with star!!

was he that bad scored alot for us in this division last year before he went to star

abbeyvale
27/08/2008, 3:43 PM
was he that bad scored alot for us in this division last year before he went to star

He's decided to sign with Park and try his hand out there, no problem with that from our side, and best of luck to him.
He's always welcome back, and I'm sure he knows that!!!

KevB76
27/08/2008, 5:25 PM

Man of match was definitely Mikey Moloney in goal for Bruff. Most of our lads were a little bit off their usual standard, but there was no lack of effort. A couple of the new lads looked good, our no.7 worked very hard, new centre back (Costelloe I think) did well.

To be honest I wasnt paying much attention to individuals on Coonagh squad so I couldnt single anyone out but as a whole they are very good, well able to pick their passes and quick to break forward. Very unlucky not to have won.

Having seen both Pike & Coonagh over the last few days, I'd fear for Pike too :eek:

Doc Brown
27/08/2008, 9:42 PM
The Knockainey juggernaut continues to roll on. They showed their class at home tonight and justified their title favourites tag with an emphatic 5-1 demolition of Holycross. The Cross had no answers as Knock cut loose and in 17 year old Liam O Shea must have one of the best underage players in the county. Came on for 10 minutes in second half and scored one of the goals of the season (or any season for that matter). Going to take some stopping lads. Other title hopefuls beware! ;)

Just a quick word to this i watched Knock against coonagh they won the game and were desrerved winners but if they are favourites for the league i would not be worried if i was managing a team. I suppose ye will be a force alright in that cabbage patch ye call a soccer pitch suit the long ball game alright.

oscar
27/08/2008, 10:24 PM
borogoing well i suppose they must title contenderrs?:mad:

bit early for that kind of talk,confidence is high and we are playing well,but for the moment we'll take each game s it comes,looking forward to saturdays game against Park,we lined out against Caherdavin as follows
1 M Purcell
2 B Boland
3 A Sheehan
4 A Healy
5 T McInerney
6 M O'Donoghue
7 A Curtis
8 P Franklin
9 J O'Keeffe
10 T McInerney
11 J Sheehan

subs
B Lawlor,J Enright,P McEvoy,N Casey,E O'Donovan

Pike B
28/08/2008, 7:39 AM
We would want to get things sorted very quick now or you could be right,terrible start to the season,few players out injured but we cant use that as an excuse,just got to work with what we have,hopefully we can get a result saturday to boost the confidence of the lads.
Could be your toughest game yet. Boro are supposed to be very strong.

Pike B
28/08/2008, 7:40 AM
We will be waiting in the long grass for ye. How good were cals then, any handy players to watch out for
Cals are strong. Big, phsyical and one of the fitter teams in this division I'd say. They'll be very tough to beat.

Pike B
28/08/2008, 7:42 AM
Philip I see you scored last night....Congrats....

Seems you are reverting to type tho...U said That Coonagh were one of favourites and now are saying Park and Cals stronger without seeing them...surely you cant make that assumption till after Saturday....

Now my plans are all in a mess...is it to be Borro V Park , or Coonagh V Park.....MMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Have you still no idea who Spudd is? Did you not ask them all on the pitch?
Well my assumption was based on Coonagh of last season. They were for me the best team we played last year, but having played Cals and Park I reckon they're both every bit as strong. But you are right, I haven't seen this seasons Coonagh yet. But we will give it 100% and hopefully get something out of the game.

As for Spudd, no clue who the chap is. I didn't speak to one Park player during the game. Not my style. After the game they legged it out to Shannon, so no chance to speak to them in Pike Club..

Pike B
28/08/2008, 7:45 AM
Man of match was definitely Mikey Moloney in goal for Bruff. Most of our lads were a little bit off their usual standard, but there was no lack of effort. A couple of the new lads looked good, our no.7 worked very hard, new centre back (Costelloe I think) did well.

To be honest I wasnt paying much attention to individuals on Coonagh squad so I couldnt single anyone out but as a whole they are very good, well able to pick their passes and quick to break forward. Very unlucky not to have won.

Having seen both Pike & Coonagh over the last few days, I'd fear for Pike too :eek:
Is that a wind up attempt old boy ;)

Pike B
28/08/2008, 7:48 AM
Missing result from Saturday:
Murroe 4-2 Shels

lifegoeson
28/08/2008, 1:18 PM
seems everyones getting hard games from the start.
heres sat matches
Fixtures
Saturday August 30th (Kick Off 6.30)
Shelbourne V Knockainey, 1-3
Murroe V Caherdavin, 0-2
Janesboro B V Park AFC, 2-2
Coonagh United V Pike Rovers B, 1-0
Fairview B V Caledonians,0-0

lifegoeson
28/08/2008, 1:21 PM

mind your business

Jock MIB
28/08/2008, 1:23 PM
mind your business

see you got your user name changed :D

Mercurial Vapor
28/08/2008, 1:27 PM
see you got your user name changed :D

.........and became a Coleraine supporter ;)

lifegoeson
28/08/2008, 1:36 PM
.........and became a Coleraine supporter ;)

well done very fast to cop that. closest jersey i could find.

abbeyvale
28/08/2008, 2:59 PM
Boro Pl 2 / Pts 6
Knockainey Pl 2 / Pts 6
Fairview Pl 2 / Pts 4
Holycross Pl 2 / Pts 3
Cals Pl 1 / Pts 3
Murroe Pl 2 / Pts 3
Caherdavin Pl 2 / Pts 1
Park Pl 2 / Pts 1
Pike Pl 2 / Pts 1
Bruff Pl 1 / Pts 1
Coonagh Pl 2 / Pts 1
Shels Pl 2 / Pts 0

Tue 26/08/08
Murroe 4-2 Shelbourne

Fixtures
Shelbourne V Knockainey,
Murroe V Caherdavin,
Janesboro B V Park AFC,
Coonagh United V Pike Rovers B,
Fairview B V Caledonians,

Sunday August 31st
Holycross V Bruff United, 10.30,

Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
Caherdavin V Shelbourne,
Bruff United V Knockainey,
Park Afc V Murroe,
Pike Rovers B V Holycross,
Caledonians V Janesboro B,
Fairview B V Coonagh United,

holyx
28/08/2008, 5:01 PM
Just a quick word to this i watched Knock against coonagh they won the game and were desrerved winners but if they are favourites for the league i would not be worried if i was managing a team. I suppose ye will be a force alright in that cabbage patch ye call a soccer pitch suit the long ball game alright.

not with knockainey Doc, so pitch comments water off a lough gur duck's back, take it easy :D

Pike B
29/08/2008, 7:47 AM
Prediction Time
Shelbourne 1 V 3 Knockainey,
Murroe 1 V 1 Caherdavin,
Janesboro B 2 V 1 Park AFC,
Coonagh United 2 V 2 Pike Rovers B,
Fairview B 2 V 3 Caledonians,

Sunday August 31st
Holycross 1 V 3 Bruff United, 10.30,

Pike B
29/08/2008, 7:49 AM
not with knockainey Doc, so pitch comments water off a lough gur duck's back, take it easy :D
For a man with Holyx for a signature, you don't half love Knockainey!! ;)

Jock MIB
29/08/2008, 9:51 AM
For a man with Holyx for a signature, you don't half love Knockainey!! ;)

makes a change from loving himself :D sorry holyx couldn't resist...:)

holyx
29/08/2008, 12:27 PM
makes a change from loving himself :D sorry holyx couldn't resist...:)

since you left us jock we have become lovers not fighters (and did you know it's michael jackson's birthday today!)

Jock MIB
29/08/2008, 3:48 PM
since you left us jock we have become lovers not fighters (and did you know it's michael jackson's birthday today!)

i was tapped up by referee society offering me signing on fee plus pair of lovely umbro boots offer i couldn't refuse :D think they just didn't want to hear me given them glaswegian again for the season :D

Raúl Madrid
30/08/2008, 8:12 PM

Coonagh United 3 Pike Rovers B 1

Scorers: Coonagh: J Travis, S O'Gorman (2) Pike B: Arthur ?

Coonagh were relieved to pick up their first win of the season against Pike B this evening. After a very bright start by Coonagh, in which they established a two-goal lead, Pike B came back strongly into the game and got a (disputed) goal before half time. Coonagh were all at sea for about twenty minutes of the second half but scored an insurance goal on the break with about twenty five minutes to go, and held on fairly comfortably after that ...

abbeyvale
31/08/2008, 12:37 AM
Boro Pl 3 / Pts 9
Knockainey Pl 2 / Pts 6
Murroe Pl 3 / Pts 6
Bruff Pl 2 / Pts 4
Coonagh Pl 3 / Pts 4
Fairview Pl 2 / Pts 4
Cals Pl 1 / Pts 3
Holycross Pl 3 / Pts 3
Caherdavin Pl 3 / Pts 1
Park Pl 3 / Pts 1
Pike Pl 3 / Pts 1
Shels Pl 2 / Pts 0

Results
Saturday August 30th
Shelbourne V Knockainey..................NO RESULT YET
Murroe 2-1 Caherdavin
Janesboro B 1-0 Park AFC,
Coonagh United 3-1 Pike Rovers B,
Fairview B V Caledonians...................NO RESULT YET

Sunday August 31st
Holycross 0-3 Bruff United,

Fixtures
Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
Caherdavin V Shelbourne,
Bruff United V Knockainey,
Park Afc V Murroe,
Pike Rovers B V Holycross,
Caledonians V Janesboro B,
Fairview B V Coonagh United,

larrywhite
31/08/2008, 3:14 AM
Coonagh were relieved to pick up their first win of the season a

"Relieved" is hardly the word I would use seeing as we were fully deserving of the win. We were the better team on the night and deserved the win. We played great stuff in the first 20 minutes and were rock solid at the back for the entire game. Things will only improve even more for the next game so I am more than happy.

Pike B....In fairness ye had us under pressure there just before half time and at the start of the second half until we regrouped but I thought we defended well in the main and we are just as comfortable playing on the break.

On one last note before I sign off for the night...NICE GEAR :D. Thats what I want to get for us but we have to live in hope.

larrywhite
31/08/2008, 3:18 AM
Oh yeah....Murroe beat Caherdavin 2-1. No surprise there :D.

The Kaiser
31/08/2008, 11:23 AM
Oh yeah....Murroe beat Caherdavin 2-1. No surprise there :D.

Any other results in yet, great win for the boro and for ourselves too,much needed 3 points.

Did u have a late one last night larry:D,

KevB76
31/08/2008, 11:41 AM
Holycross 0-3 Bruff.

Goal from Ed Hogan about 5 minutes in. Bruff well on top for the first half. Should have had a penalty late in the half but in fairness to the ref he said he wasnt sure if it was a trip or a dive and wouldnt give it if he wasnt sure.

It could have gone either way for most of the second half, until Paddy Moloney scored with a decent strike from the edge of the box with about 10 minutes left. Three minutes later Ed Hogan got his second when he spotted the keeper had come off his line. Should have been 4 a minute later, but the ref blue for an extremely dubious offside.

0-3 it finished, a deserved win for Bruff but they had to work hard for it.

KevB76
31/08/2008, 11:49 AM
Is that a wind up attempt old boy ;)
It wasnt a wind up, honest....

Coonagh United 3 Pike Rovers B 1
...see now do you believe me :)

larrywhite
31/08/2008, 12:14 PM
Did u have a late one last night larry:D,

Too late. :D

abbeyvale
31/08/2008, 12:34 PM
Too late. :D

Table updated above.............anyone have the 2 missing results above????

leather
31/08/2008, 1:59 PM
any report on boro v park

larrywhite
31/08/2008, 2:15 PM
I dont think any Boro lads post in here so up to the Park lads or anyone at it to post a report hopefully.

abbeyvale
31/08/2008, 3:00 PM
I dont think any Boro lads post in here so up to the Park lads or anyone at it to post a report hopefully.

According to a Park player last night, he said Park should have won this game and that the Boro only had one or two chances in the whole game and scored from one.........

This is what I was told, but dont know if its completely accurate (as it may well have been a biased report)!!!

FairBall
31/08/2008, 3:41 PM
Fairview B 2:2 Caledonians

Fairview were one up at half time but didnt seem to get into the game when they came out in the second half. Cals scored an equiliser early in the second half and got a second to take the lead soon after. They seamed to have the game under control at that stage untill Fairview fought there way back into the game scoring from a corner.

Cals played a very fast game with a lot of young players.
Fairview were missing a lot of first team players but seem to have a big squad of good covering players.

studsup
31/08/2008, 6:14 PM
have to say park's start to the season has been absolutely awful...1 point to show from 3 games against 3 B teams is pretty poor

kingofkillteely
31/08/2008, 7:43 PM
have to say park's start to the season has been absolutely awful...1 point to show from 3 games against 3 B teams is pretty poor

True it's not what they hoped for but those 3 B teams are pretty decent. We [Coonagh] had to give 100% to beat Pike last night and Tuesday v Fairview will be no different.