View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09
abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:54 PM
I take it you dont like the VIEW
Why do you say that????
abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:55 PM
park 2 coonagh 1
good game considering the conditions...dukes scored for park in 1st half then egais scored about 10 mins into 2nd half...coonagh pulled 1 back wit about 10 mins to go..park held out...good win for d.wall should get confidence up now..
Did Graham Carey play any part?
abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:59 PM
Janesboro 7 6 0 1 16 9 18
Murroe 6 5 0 1 15 6 15
Fairview Rgs 7 4 3 0 10 5 15
Shelbourne 8 5 0 3 28 28 15
Knockainey 7 3 2 2 15 11 11
Caherdavin Celtic 7 2 2 3 13 15 8
Pike Rvs 8 2 1 5 18 18 7
Coonagh Utd 7 2 1 4 9 10 7
Caledonians 6 2 1 3 12 11 7
Bruff Utd 5 1 2 2 11 13 5
Park AFC 7 1 2 4 9 12 5
Holycross 7 1 0 6 6 22 3
Results
16/11/08
Caledonians 3-4 Shelbourne,
Fairview Rgs 2-0 Pike Rvs,
Coonagh Utd 1-2 Park FC,
Knockainey 2-3 Janesboro,
Did Graham Carey play any part?
Ya gramham played in goals and had a great game,good hands.
abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 1:02 PM
Ya gramham played in goals and had a great game,good hands.
In goals??? He wont like that!!!
Didnt look bothered about it,if he did have a problem he would have said it to the manager.
3 good points for Boro this morning against a tough Knockainey outfit,not many teams will get points out there,Boro went 1 down after a few minutes but got back on level terms when Adrian Healys deflected shot beat the keeper.Tom McInerney scored soon after to leave Boro 2-1 up at HT.Knockainey pushed for a equaliser in the 2nd half but Mike O'Donoghue and Pa Moloney at centre back were well able,McInerney got his second to make it 3 and Boro could possibly have scored more.Knockainey scored with 10 mins left but Boro held out for the win
Best on the day were Pat McEvoy,Mike O'Donoghue,Pa Moloney and Tom McInerney
did Fairview-Pike go ahead
footymad
16/11/2008, 5:54 PM
View 2 Pike 0
It was a good first half with the view dominating and went in 2 up at the break. Different second half Pike upped their game a bit and it was pretty much even with both teams missing chances, view should have increased their lead towards the finish hitting the woodwork a couple of times.
abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 7:22 PM
View 2 Pike 0
It was a good first half with the view dominating and went in 2 up at the break. Different second half Pike upped their game a bit and it was pretty much even with both teams missing chances, view should have increased their lead towards the finish hitting the woodwork a couple of times.
Table updated above!!!!!
oscar
16/11/2008, 10:45 PM
Park V Cals 10.30
Coonagh V Murroe 10.30
Holycross V Caherdavin 10.30
lankyboy26
17/11/2008, 12:22 AM
Park V Cals 10.30
Coonagh V Murroe 10.30
good win for shels again! they seem like the team to watch at the moment, plenty of goals at both ends, scored 28 and conceded 28!!! must head down to shelbourne park some day soon! good win for janesboro too, did not expect them to win out there. park v cals next sunday, big game for both teams, could be a make or break game for either team. if park win and coonagh lose (or don't play) they'll move ahead of cals, coonagh and pike up to 7th on 8 points
awiseman
17/11/2008, 12:33 AM
dont know what all the fuss was about cals at the start of the season they are average park will beat them handy next sunday
lankyboy26
17/11/2008, 1:24 AM
dont know what all the fuss was about cals at the start of the season they are average park will beat them handy next sunday
i suppose the fact that they got promoted very easily from 2A made people think they'd do well in 1B. sure look at janesboro, they only finished 1 point ahead of cals last season and are top of 1B now. park have better players but cals are a big tall tough side
Pike B
17/11/2008, 8:00 AM
Fairview 2-0 Pike B
Poor result this but not the worst performance by us. We were all a bit weary after the night before and we were caught cold in the first half hour and conceded two pretty sloppy goals. Fairview were the better side and first to everything. We changed it around to 4-4-2 in the second half and made a game of it, but we never really looked like scoring despite good possesion and a lot of effort. But another loss and another 3 points dropped.
gerrard27
17/11/2008, 8:17 AM
Park V Cals 10.30
Coonagh V Murroe 10.30
Are these the only games on this weekend.
Knockmad
17/11/2008, 9:02 AM
3 good points for Boro this morning against a tough Knockainey outfit,not many teams will get points out there,Boro went 1 down after a few minutes but got back on level terms when Adrian Healys deflected shot beat the keeper.Tom McInerney scored soon after to leave Boro 2-1 up at HT.Knockainey pushed for a equaliser in the 2nd half but Mike O'Donoghue and Pa Moloney at centre back were well able,McInerney got his second to make it 3 and Boro could possibly have scored more.Knockainey scored with 10 mins left but Boro held out for the win
Best on the day were Pat McEvoy,Mike O'Donoghue,Pa Moloney and Tom McInerney
i agree Oscar we went one up and immediatly went to sleep and left ye back in too fast. we had a couiple of chances in the second half when we were pushing for the equalizer but we could not take any of them, Ye got three chances and ye took them well that was the main differance. Your centre halves were good and your off the ball movemnet was great to watch. Ye will be well up there at the end of the season and i would be backing ye to win this division. Best of luck to ye but of course i hope ye finish second behind Knockainey......
Buzzer
17/11/2008, 10:17 AM
if that's the case,i predict a tight first half,with the view winning by 2 clear goals,simply by the fact that there sober!!!!!!!!
should have gone to paddy power's
Pike B
17/11/2008, 11:45 AM
were you playin yesterday?tough game,dont think the score line did ye justice.two sloppy goals to concede early done ye,but after that i felt ye dominated the game.
Ya, I was the lone frontman sweating Guiness!! Not one of my better games for sure!
Pegleg5
17/11/2008, 12:01 PM
Was at Cals/ Shels game yesterday. Shels have some very handy footballers and to be honest I feel sorry for these guys and their coaches because all I can say is that I have been watching games for God knows how long now and what I witnessed yesterday from 2 or 3 players, one in particular, was nothing short of blind thuggery and complete intimidation of a referee. Granted, the ref did have a shocker and screwed both sides, a Shels playre head-butted a Cals player- the number 9 in Midfield (Bald Lad) blatantly shouted to the referee "If you ignore me again you'll know what you'll get." The referee stood there and took abuse that you wouldnt give to a dog and I reckon was so afraid he would'nt send him off. It was a shame because they have some handy players.
shanman2
17/11/2008, 1:13 PM
Was at Cals/ Shels game yesterday. Shels have some very handy footballers and to be honest I feel sorry for these guys and their coaches because all I can say is that I have been watching games for God knows how long now and what I witnessed yesterday from 2 or 3 players, one in particular, was nothing short of blind thuggery and complete intimidation of a referee. Granted, the ref did have a shocker and screwed both sides, a Shels playre head-butted a Cals player- the number 9 in Midfield (Bald Lad) blatantly shouted to the referee "If you ignore me again you'll know what you'll get." The referee stood there and took abuse that you wouldnt give to a dog and I reckon was so afraid he would'nt send him off. It was a shame because they have some handy players.
a couple of good players. thats the usual with shelbourne 8/9 players excludin the line who are on reputation worse. dont feel sorry for them they should tell those people to **** off. they have no business playing year after year same problem. no one even talks about it even more its that commen place:mad::eek:
Monster
17/11/2008, 1:21 PM
Have to agree with this - was at the game and couldnt believe what i was seeing - there is going to be a major incident involving this shelbourne team before the season is out no doubt.
leather
17/11/2008, 1:46 PM
what are ldmc and the ref's doing about this???
Pegleg5
17/11/2008, 1:59 PM
what are ldmc and the ref's doing about this???
Does'nt look like much. There was at stages before Shelbourne got the winner where Cals were clean through and the ref blew for offside, everytime Shelbourne shouted for smeting at the end he gave it, was too terrified to go agains them. however, thats not to say that Shelbourne did'nt deserve the win....... Was talking to one of the Cals lads this morning who told me the ref told them BEFORE the game not to react to the number 9. He said that if your man kicked off, he'd deal with it. By the end it was the Shels player reffing the game when he should have been sent off 30 minutes before.
Is it true that there are a few of these lads who were involved with the Lisnagry team a few years back who got in trouble with the LDMC??
leather
17/11/2008, 2:16 PM
ldmc are too busy trying to extort money from football clubs for international match tickets that the clubs did not even ask for..
larrywhite
17/11/2008, 3:11 PM
Unfortunately for Shels they always seem to have one or two on and off the pitch who do the club no favours. If that referee was intimidated then his report should say so and it can be dealt with from there. If he doesnt put down anything in his report then hes doing himself, his fellow referees and other clubs an injustice. They cant complain about abuse on one hand and then do nothing about it when they get the chance.
Pegleg5
17/11/2008, 3:46 PM
Who was the ref?
I thinkm and I might be wrongnow, John Carey
larrywhite
17/11/2008, 3:51 PM
Lol...enough said.
I could go on and on about him and the things I have seen him do and heard him say over the years.
i suppose the fact that they got promoted very easily from 2A made people think they'd do well in 1B. sure look at janesboro, they only finished 1 point ahead of cals last season and are top of 1B now. park have better players but cals are a big tall tough side
not all of them are tall and since when has being tall made you a good footballer?as for tough...well they weren't tough enough yesterday,they were bullied off the field ....and that was said by their players and manager
Are these the only games on this weekend.
ya thats it FAI this weekend so Boro,Fairview and Pike won't be playing and i think Bruff are still in it
abbeyvale
17/11/2008, 5:57 PM
Janesboro 7 6 0 1 16 9 18
Murroe 6 5 0 1 15 6 15
Fairview Rgs 7 4 3 0 10 5 15
Shelbourne 8 5 0 3 28 28 15
Knockainey 7 3 2 2 15 11 11
Caherdavin Celtic 7 2 2 3 13 15 8
Pike Rvs 8 2 1 5 18 18 7
Coonagh Utd 7 2 1 4 9 10 7
Caledonians 6 2 1 3 12 11 7
Bruff Utd 5 1 2 2 11 13 5
Park AFC 7 1 2 4 9 12 5
Holycross 7 1 0 6 6 22 3
Sun 23/11/08
Park FC V Caledonians, 10.30, O Hayes
Coonagh Utd v Murroe, 10.30, Coonagh K O’Driscoll
Holycross v Caherdavin, 10.30, M Kiely
abbeyvale
17/11/2008, 5:58 PM
good win for shels again! they seem like the team to watch at the moment, plenty of goals at both ends, scored 28 and conceded 28!!! must head down to shelbourne park some day soon! good win for janesboro too, did not expect them to win out there. park v cals next sunday, big game for both teams, could be a make or break game for either team. if park win and coonagh lose (or don't play) they'll move ahead of cals, coonagh and pike up to 7th on 8 points
To head down to Shelbourne Park unless you really had to, you'd have to be a very brave man or a very stupid man...............either way, best of luck.
kingofkillteely
17/11/2008, 7:06 PM
ya.. agree,johnny is mad!
No not mad, dangerous. I stopped laughing at that idiot a long time ago. Was the Park/Coonagh game on in Park yesterday?
lankyboy26
17/11/2008, 7:07 PM
not all of them are tall and since when has being tall made you a good footballer?as for tough...well they weren't tough enough yesterday,they were bullied off the field ....and that was said by their players and manager
i never said that "being tall" made anyone a good footballer. why don't you read more carefully. if i said janesboro were a small skilfull side would you turn around and say you don't have to be small to be skillful???!!! all i said was that cals were a big physical side. our A team beat them 3-0 last season (athlunkard), they were fightin with each other on the pitch, easy to upset them
larrywhite
17/11/2008, 8:06 PM
No not mad, dangerous. I stopped laughing at that idiot a long time ago. Was the Park/Coonagh game on in Park yesterday?
Yeah King it was out there. Pitch held up well considering the dreadful weather. Ours is a bloody joke.
i never said that "being tall" made anyone a good footballer. why don't you read more carefully. if i said janesboro were a small skilfull side would you turn around and say you don't have to be small to be skillful???!!! all i said was that cals were a big physical side. our A team beat them 3-0 last season (athlunkard), they were fightin with each other on the pitch, easy to upset them
wouldn't call them a big physical side,they have a few tall players but they're a bit soft if you ask me
Pike B
18/11/2008, 7:50 AM
wouldn't call them a big physical side,they have a few tall players but they're a bit soft if you ask me
Not so much soft as just a bunch of nice guys. No badness about them, which sometimes you need in this league.
Rocco
18/11/2008, 10:44 AM
Shelbourne were always a good bunch of lads until recently when the distillery manager took over and brought his own players in.The no.9 ye are talking about is byrnes from castleconnel and he was on the lisnagry team that were in trouble.all the old shelbourne lads are on the B team we played them recently and are a nice lads.They play good football and are the best team in the league.
Pegleg5
18/11/2008, 3:09 PM
Shelbourne were always a good bunch of lads until recently when the distillery manager took over and brought his own players in.The no.9 ye are talking about is byrnes from castleconnel and he was on the lisnagry team that were in trouble.all the old shelbourne lads are on the B team we played them recently and are a nice lads.They play good football and are the best team in the league.
Well, hopefully for the sake of their club they do something about it because as somebody said earlier something major will happen one day. If something happens it would be a shame to those people who work hard behind the scenes who make the club work. Every club is more than just the 14 or 15 players on the team and in this case 2 or 3 players are on the verge of destroying the club just because they want to use playing ball as a guise to behave like thugs.
the only 1
18/11/2008, 4:56 PM
heard boro b got a new manager anyone comfirm this+who?
lankyboy26
18/11/2008, 6:17 PM
ya i'd agree with you there about shelbourne, always had a nice bunch of lads playing for them down through the years. i know 2 of the lads who work behind the scenes and one guy in particular (who i won't name) said its embarrassing being involved with the A team sometimes. the carry-on of some of the players on the pitch is a disgrace, threatening players and referees. shels were never like that
shelbourne1904
19/11/2008, 12:01 AM
An unconvincing easy win against a poor Coonagh team maybe the start of of Park resurgance under Davy Wall.What a poor performance by a terrible referee.
Abbey Road
19/11/2008, 1:07 AM
An unconvincing easy win against a poor Coonagh team maybe the start of of Park resurgance under Davy Wall.What a poor performance by a terrible referee.
Is Davy playing and managing???
Pike B
19/11/2008, 8:20 AM
An unconvincing easy win against a poor Coonagh team maybe the start of of Park resurgance under Davy Wall..
They should kick on from here I'd say.
hespax
19/11/2008, 8:59 AM
i agree with all the comments about shelbourne, but would there be as much talk about them if they were loosing all their games just because a team in this leauge put a few results together everyone starts bad mouting them. It's all down to the ref's if these guys were punished for their behaviour on the pitch and let the rest get on with their game of ball it would be end of story but the ref's don't seem to be punishing their behaviour, as was said in a previous post it's going to take something serious to happen with this shelbourne team before the LDMC take action.
Pike B
19/11/2008, 9:29 AM
i agree with all the comments about shelbourne, but would there be as much talk about them if they were loosing all their games just because a team in this leauge put a few results together everyone starts bad mouting them. It's all down to the ref's if these guys were punished for their behaviour on the pitch and let the rest get on with their game of ball it would be end of story but the ref's don't seem to be punishing their behaviour, as was said in a previous post it's going to take something serious to happen with this shelbourne team before the LDMC take action.
We played Shels a few weeks ago and the number 9 in the middle was booked and should have walked. But it was for tackles rather than abusive behaviour. The rest of their team got stuck in aswell, and there was one or two confrontations but nothing too serious. It is a man's game after all lads..
lankyboy26
19/11/2008, 10:15 AM
ya i'd agree with you there about the refs. they should get the red card out for bad tackles and abusive behaviour. yes it's a man's game but we're not professionals. we all have to go to work monday after a match on sunday. somebody could get badly injured then everyone's in trouble, the club, player, ref and the ldmc
old git
19/11/2008, 11:28 AM
We played Shels a few weeks ago and the number 9 in the middle was booked and should have walked. But it was for tackles rather than abusive behaviour. The rest of their team got stuck in aswell, and there was one or two confrontations but nothing too serious. It is a man's game after all lads..
yeap it is a man's game ... you are allowed to tackle and get stuck in
here is some tall / small / medium men who know all about a man's game and giving 100 %
Buzzer
19/11/2008, 11:34 AM
yeap it is a man's game ... you are allowed to tackle and get stuck in
here is some tall / small / medium men who know all about a man's game and giving 100 %
aahh,nice one old git!!!!!!!!!!
Pegleg5
19/11/2008, 2:31 PM
Have never had any issues with lads being booked or even sent off (in some cases) for getting stuck in. God knows, given my ability (or lack of) it was the getting stuck in bit that got me a game most weeks. However, head-butting other players or personally threatening the referee is not on. If a team were top of the premier or being hammered week in week out in Division 4b, it wouldn't change my opinion on thuggery on the pitch. The referee's and the LDMC can't stand by and let people perform acts of assault on a pitch under the guise of playing ball.
Now with that off my chest, Munster to play the All- Blacks every 3 years!!!!!