View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09
Pike B
18/02/2009, 4:25 PM
[quote=Pike B;1108040]
Are Coonagh not the current cup-holders? they would be strong at home on their day. Surely relegation is a major worry for ye now???
Relegation is looming large. But a good cup run can stir a team. And yes Coonagh are a very good side especially at home. I've a lot of respect for Larry and the boys, but I just have a sneaky feeling about us.
Lets just see how it pans out.
Optimism is our strength!! :D
lankyboy26
18/02/2009, 4:32 PM
[quote=lankyboy26;1108059]
Relegation is looming large. But a good cup run can stir a team. And yes Coonagh are a very good side especially at home. I've a lot of respect for Larry and the boys, but I just have a sneaky feeling about us.
Lets just see how it pans out.
Optimism is our strength!! :D
Ya in fairness for such a small club and area they do well to hold their own in 1B. Long season to go yet anyway Pike B, 2 wins on the bounce would do ye the world of good. there's always a team that has a bad run at the end of the season, maybe Cals or Bruff. Holycross are gone now i'd say
Pike B
18/02/2009, 4:34 PM
[QUOTE=Pike B;1108061]
Ya in fairness for such a small club and area they do well to hold their own in 1B. Long season to go yet anyway Pike B, 2 wins on the bounce would do ye the world of good. there's always a team that has a bad run at the end of the season, maybe Cals or Bruff. Holycross are gone now i'd say
Agreed.
I honestly think we need to win 5 of our last 10 to have any chance.
We can do it. We just need to get one win from somewhere.
Pike B
18/02/2009, 5:45 PM
[QUOTE=Pike B;1108040]
that lot!!?? Im tryin to figure out where your getting your optimism- ye'r the italians of 1b... And i mean in rugby teams... Live with the big boys for sixty minutes then die away at the end when it matter!!
Very creative.
There you go again proving that not all huns are humourless drones..
I can only say this, when ye come to us, in league and in Cup(if ye beat Holycross)
sparks will fly.... ;)
Final Frontier
18/02/2009, 6:03 PM
[QUOTE=Pike B;1108040]
Are Coonagh not the current cup-holders? they would be strong at home on their day. Surely relegation is a major worry for ye now???
Coonagh are cup holders and I can tell you they dont want to give it up !!! Quality party after winning the last one..!!
As for holding their own in 1B for a small club" i find a tad funny...they are a match for anyone is this division ...home or away...ask Boro..!
no one will want to play them in cup competition..
Pike B
18/02/2009, 7:40 PM
Coonagh are cup holders and I can tell you they dont want to give it up !!! Quality party after winning the last one..!!
As for holding their own in 1B for a small club" i find a tad funny...they are a match for anyone is this division ...home or away...ask Boro..!
Wasn't me who said that, but I see your point.
footymad
18/02/2009, 9:48 PM
quo[te=Pike B;
If we beat the huns, we'll beat Coonagh. I give you my word on that. Do you really think after beating that lot, we'd go and waste it out in Coonagh??
No chance. Watch us for the Cup!! :D[/quote]
If only ye could play like you talk ye'd be class http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon7.gif
abbeyvale
18/02/2009, 9:51 PM
The above website is now updated with all full divisional draws and results to date.
On The Ball
18/02/2009, 10:13 PM
quo[te=Pike B;
If we beat the huns, we'll beat Coonagh. I give you my word on that. Do you really think after beating that lot, we'd go and waste it out in Coonagh??
No chance. Watch us for the Cup!! :D
If only ye could play like you talk ye'd be class http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon7.gif[/quote]
Or he'd be playing with their A team.
Pike B
18/02/2009, 10:18 PM
[quote=Pike B;1108119]
like up in the fairgreen??ah its creditable your trying to up the anty a small bit, but Ye'r barks are much greater than ye'r bites,i cant wait for the league match anyway- make sure now this time ye've no function on this time the previous nit to use as an excuse ;)
We'll all be in bed with warm milk and a story of how the big bad huns won all these trophies years ago, but can't beat our A team any more the night before that game!! :D
But ya, it should be fun... ;)
Pike B
18/02/2009, 10:21 PM
On The Ball
Or he'd be playing with their A team.[/quote]
Confidence in ones ability is essential friend, confidence, not delusion!! :D
lankyboy26
18/02/2009, 11:11 PM
Coonagh are a small club! i wasnt insulting coonagh. how many people live in coonagh??? 200? its a road that lasts 2 miles and goes nowhere!!! :) and i agree with you, they are a good 1B team.
but i find your comment about "asking boro" if coonagh are good or not a tad ridiculous! number 1 : its only 1 result against a team who were in 2A last season! and Number 2: It's Janesboro B team man wake up!!! not exactly slaying a giant there now are we?!
Final Frontier
19/02/2009, 8:25 AM
[quote=Final Frontier;1108128]
Coonagh are a small club! i wasnt insulting coonagh. how many people live in coonagh??? 200? its a road that lasts 2 miles and goes nowhere!!! :) and i agree with you, they are a good 1B team.
but i find your comment about "asking boro" if coonagh are good or not a tad ridiculous! number 1 : its only 1 result against a team who were in 2A last season! and Number 2: It's Janesboro B team man wake up!!! not exactly slaying a giant there now are we?!
Ok lets get this straight...Coonagh have the highest number of underage teams around at present...That little road you go on about must be never ending with the amount of cars out there at weekends..
They have 2 pitches and dressing rooms which others dont !! In Limerick football terms thats a big Club !!!!!!...
Last I looked this was a 1B thread and a result of 4-1 against the league leaders puts thing into perspective...My Friend..
You play in a lower division so concentrate on the posts in that thread...
skill school
19/02/2009, 9:12 AM
this cup draw has really got the blood pressure up . remember lads league form goes out the window . is it true the FAI want the 1B final played in thomond park . :p
van der wheil
19/02/2009, 9:51 AM
[quote=messi;1108204]
We'll all be in bed with warm milk and a story of how the big bad huns won all these trophies years ago, but can't beat our A team any more the night before that game!! :D
But ya, it should be fun... ;)
And the big bad huns will be in bed listening to stories of the most successful junior club in Ireland and why everyone looks on in envy which turns to bitterness and jealousy when you reach the crossagalla side of town.:D
gaiscíoch
19/02/2009, 12:35 PM
Ok lets get this straight...Coonagh have the highest number of underage teams around at present......
That's not true...
That little road you go on about must be never ending with the amount of cars out there at weekends........
They have 2 pitches and dressing rooms which others dont !! In Limerick football terms thats a big Club !!!!!!.
I would have tought it was what you had won/years in the Premier/members etc etc
Last I looked this was a 1B thread and a result of 4-1 against the league leaders puts thing into perspective...My Friend.....
Who leads who in table? You make Coonagh sound like a good cup side. Great for a few games a year average the rest of the time???
You don't play in this division either so "concentrate on the posts in that thread". Which in your case would mean not posting at all:D no one would have to read the rubbish you sprout about Coonagh. I'd say you are not even from there or played for them?
Pike B
19/02/2009, 2:57 PM
van der wheil:
And the big bad huns will be in bed listening to stories of the most successful junior club in Ireland and why everyone looks on in envy which turns to bitterness and jealousy when you reach the crossagalla side of town.
:D:D
You could be on to something there my Dutch sounding friend!!
But we'll never admit it... Oh wait...
lankyboy26
19/02/2009, 3:45 PM
[QUOTE=lankyboy26;1108392]
Ok lets get this straight...Coonagh have the highest number of underage teams around at present...That little road you go on about must be never ending with the amount of cars out there at weekends..
They have 2 pitches and dressing rooms which others dont !! In Limerick football terms thats a big Club !!!!!!...
Last I looked this was a 1B thread and a result of 4-1 against the league leaders puts thing into perspective...My Friend..
I never heard such rubbish in all my life!!! Coonagh this, Coonagh that. what has Coonagh ever won to be a big club??? dressing rooms and 2 "pitches". amazing!!! never been premier have they? Big clubs win things, or have won things in the past and have history i.e. Janesboro, Pike, Fairview, Balla. And people can say what they like on any thread they want "Friend". lots of people don't play soccer at all but voice their opinions. you have the talent of playing and knowing absolutely nothing about soccer at the same time!!! you should become a ref!!!
alwaysblue
19/02/2009, 3:45 PM
wait for what?
for his jokes to get funny i'm guessing.
Pike B
19/02/2009, 3:58 PM
for his jokes to get funny i'm guessing.
Ok, heres a lesson for you and your Fairview chums in the art of subtle humour.
Are you ready??
Ok, the 'oh wait' was in reference to the fact that I had admitted to Pike jealousy of our closest rivals. So have another slow, slow read of what was written, and when you hear a little clang in your head, it's the penny slowly dropping. ;)
Final Frontier
19/02/2009, 3:59 PM
That's not true...
I would have tought it was what you had won/years in the Premier/members etc etc
Who leads who in table? You make Coonagh sound like a good cup side. Great for a few games a year average the rest of the time???
You don't play in this division either so "concentrate on the posts in that thread". Which in your case would mean not posting at all:D no one would have to read the rubbish you sprout about Coonagh. I'd say you are not even from there or played for them?
Oh AXE man...was wondering how long it would take you to get involved...
I do play with Coonagh and know who u are..actually you are on sidelines at present...had a laugh with the lads in the dressing room in trying to guess who this guy was...i admitted it one night as I was getting bored...put it this way we are looking forward to the big PARK club visiting...the club that pays its managers for what !!
I waffle coz i know it winds u up...!!
Who leads who in table??? if ur taking bout Park then games in hand come into play...do the maths.."!!
My play on the "Big Club" thing was aimed at the comment by Lanky Boy...we know we are not in the Fairview Boro league but we hold our own...
As for underage teams count them !!!
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:01 PM
I do play with Coonagh and know who u are..actually you are on sidelines at present...had a laugh with the lads in the dressing room in trying to guess who this guy was...i admitted it one night as I was getting bored...put it this way we are looking forward to the big PARK club visiting...the club that pays its managers for what !!
I waffle coz i know it winds u up...!!
Who leads who in table??? if ur taking bout Park then games in hand come into play...do the maths.."!!
My play on the "Big Club" thing was aimed at the comment by Lanky Boy...we know we are not in the Fairview Boro league but we hold our own...
As for underage teams count them !!!
Ahem, Pike aswell...
Jock MIB
19/02/2009, 4:02 PM
I never heard such rubbish in all my life!!! Coonagh this, Coonagh that. what has Coonagh ever won to be a big club??? dressing rooms and 2 "pitches". amazing!!! never been premier have they? Big clubs win things, or have won things in the past and have history i.e. Janesboro, Pike, Fairview, Balla. And people can say what they like on any thread they want "Friend". lots of people don't play soccer at all but voice their opinions. you have the talent of playing and knowing absolutely nothing about soccer at the same time!!! you should become a ref!!!
Well i assume you were talking about yourself there, if so there is a beginner course starting March 14th your very welcome
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:04 PM
:D:D:D
I thought you were gonna sock him for that Big Man!!!
Sods Law
19/02/2009, 4:10 PM
Lankyboy you stated that Coonagh was a small club (ie catchment area).
Frontier replied and said that they were a big club meaning they had alot of teams from U10 to junior thats all. Plus he said they had good facilities compared to other clubs in Limerick - is that not true.
So Lankyboy dont be taking his response out of context as he was just replying to your statement.
Axeman read the messages before you jump on the band wagon and start slating Coonagh. To be fair if they win their games in hand they will be ahead of Park granted they have to win them.
Now lets leave it at that.
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:12 PM
Frontier replied and said that they were a big club meaning they had alot of teams from U10 to junior thats all. Plus he said they had good facilities compared to other clubs in Limerick - is that not true.
So Lankyboy dont be taking his response out of context as he was just replying to your statement.
Axeman read the messages before you jump on the band wagon and start slating Coonagh. To be fair if they win their games in hand they will be ahead of Park granted they have to win them.
Sods Law:
http://gofuntaiwan.net/columnpage/specol/fifa/image/collina.jpg
Jock MIB
19/02/2009, 4:16 PM
Sods Law:
http://gofuntaiwan.net/columnpage/specol/fifa/image/collina.jpg
As i said there is a beginner course for any baldy italians who wanna do it coming up soon
lankyboy26
19/02/2009, 4:17 PM
Well i assume you were talking about yourself there, if so there is a beginner course starting March 14th your very welcome
no offence intended!!! just jokin with the guy!!! don't have the time to be a ref, work most weekends, and even if i didn't i don't think i could handle it!!!
lankyboy26
19/02/2009, 4:21 PM
i agreed with him about coonagh being a good 1B side! all i said was they are a small club that's just my opinion!!!
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:25 PM
i agreed with him about coonagh being a good 1B side! all i said was they are a small club that's just my opinion!!!
Will you stop man!!
Jock MIB
19/02/2009, 4:34 PM
No this is what you said
If you had said this first it would have got a nicer response
Not to self keep it short and sweet :D
Sods Law
19/02/2009, 4:35 PM
But you stated its small due to playing numbers/catchment area and Its not.
We all agree its not View Boro or even a Pike.
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:47 PM
:D:D:D
lankyboy26
19/02/2009, 4:51 PM
Or an Athlunkard... :) :) :)
Pike B
19/02/2009, 4:54 PM
Or an Athlunkard... :) :)
Lets not be silly now.. ;)
lankyboy26
19/02/2009, 4:56 PM
Lets not be silly now.. ;)
Hee hee!!! i thought you'd find that funny
gaiscíoch
19/02/2009, 5:10 PM
I do play with Coonagh and know who u are..actually you are on sidelines at present...had a laugh with the lads in the dressing room in trying to guess who this guy was...i admitted it one night as I was getting bored...put it this way we are looking forward to the big PARK club visiting...the club that pays its managers for what !!!!!
:D:D
I waffle coz i know it winds u up...!!!!!!!
Well your not doing a good job then :D
larrywhite
19/02/2009, 5:39 PM
I preferred it when we didnt know who Frontier was. The King gave us a good laugh every Sunday with his CSI reinactments and different accusations. :D
Plus, before I could always wave away his bull with the excuse he had nothing to do with us. :D
abbeyvale
19/02/2009, 5:51 PM
As i said there is a beginner course for any baldy italians who wanna do it coming up soon
Even Atillio Lombardo?
Pike B
19/02/2009, 8:12 PM
I preferred it when we didnt know who Frontier was. The King gave us a good laugh every Sunday with his CSI reinactments and different accusations. :D
Plus, before I could always wave away his bull with the excuse he had nothing to do with us. :D
Jaysus Lar!!
Where you been hibernating?? :D
Pike B
19/02/2009, 8:23 PM
Even Atillio Lombardo?
Legend!!!
http://attiliolombardo.interfree.it/images/title.jpg
Pike B
19/02/2009, 9:40 PM
Ouchy indeed. :D
Ive been checking in here alright but kept pretty quiet cos we havent had matches. So far this season we have had games against Murroe called off 4 times and Holycross 3 times so hopefully we get going again this weekend. Pitch is fine so should be on.
Some interesting cup ties there. Would be nice to have an idea of when they are on.
Possible semi meeting with ourselves will keep you up nights eh?? :D
Pike B
19/02/2009, 10:06 PM
carlsberg dont do semi finals... But if they did!
Wouldn't mind a few now..
http://www.carlsbergdraughtmasters.co.uk/img/carlsberg-lager.jpg
Pike B
19/02/2009, 10:34 PM
stay off it til the saturday before the second old firm ;)
Usually wouldn't touch that crap. Guinness man me.
But when your in work any drink looks good.. :D
kingofkillteely
19/02/2009, 10:36 PM
Return of the King...
I want you in the semi:)
gerrard27
20/02/2009, 8:06 AM
We know that Boro are playing the View on sunday.
Any other fixtures?????
Final Frontier
20/02/2009, 8:40 AM
We know that Boro are playing the View on sunday.
Any other fixtures?????
Coonagh V Murroe
abbeyvale
20/02/2009, 10:45 AM
Div 1B P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro B 10 7 1 2 21 12 22
Fairview Rgs B 9 6 3 0 16 8 21
Murroe 11 7 0 4 19 13 21
Park AFC 12 6 2 4 20 14 20
Shelbourne 10 5 1 4 32 34 16
Caherdavin Celtic 10 4 3 3 18 18 15
Knockainey 9 4 2 3 17 13 14