View Full Version : Limerick Division 1B 2008/09
mundener
31/08/2008, 8:28 PM
I agree, park have been unlucky in there first three games, not making there chances count....... but the old saying is goals win matches. Long season ahead. dont rule them out.
any report on boro v park
Park dominated for most of the game but could not put the ball in the back of the net,boro are a tough outfit and very good in the air,boro had tops 2 chances there goal came from a corner,player tapped in from back post,we have had a terrible start to the season but still long way to go,we have trained very hard and getting no luck on the pitch with goals,we just gotta go forward now and not dwell on first 3 games.
Sods Law
01/09/2008, 8:08 AM
<FONT size=3><FONT color=#000000><FONT face="Times New Roman">Errea Sport League Division 1B
Final Frontier
01/09/2008, 8:14 AM
Park dominated for most of the game but could not put the ball in the back of the net,boro are a tough outfit and very good in the air,boro had tops 2 chances there goal came from a corner,player tapped in from back post,we have had a terrible start to the season but still long way to go,we have trained very hard and getting no luck on the pitch with goals,we just gotta go forward now and not dwell on first 3 games.
Saw the second half of the game and I have to agree with you Spudd...how ye did not score was unbelieveable..Well impressed with the Boro midfield though ...they are a good side with a mix of young and old....some start. They might find the going tough soon enough tho...
Reckon though if ye continue playing like that ye will come good...Long and funny season ahead..
abbeyvale
01/09/2008, 8:52 AM
Boro Pl 3 / Pts 9
Knockainey Pl 3 / Pts 6
Murroe Pl 3 / Pts 6
Fairview Pl 3 / Pts 5
Bruff Pl 2 / Pts 4
Coonagh Pl 3 / Pts 4
Cals Pl 2 / Pts 4
Holycross Pl 3 / Pts 3
Shels Pl 3 / Pts 3
Caherdavin Pl 3 / Pts 1
Park Pl 3 / Pts 1
Pike Pl 3 / Pts 1
Results
Saturday August 30th
Shelbourne 3-2 Knockainey
Murroe 2-1 Caherdavin
Janesboro B 1-0 Park AFC,
Coonagh United 3-1 Pike Rovers B,
Fairview B 2-2 Caledonians
Sunday August 31st
Holycross 0-3 Bruff United,
Fixtures
Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
Caherdavin V Shelbourne,
Bruff United V Knockainey,
Park Afc V Murroe,
Pike Rovers B V Holycross,
Caledonians V Janesboro B,
Fairview B V Coonagh United
larrywhite
01/09/2008, 10:01 AM
Results
Saturday August 30th
Shelbourne ship 8 goals in first 2 games and then beat Knockainey???? Anyone at it?
limericksoccer
01/09/2008, 10:54 AM
Tables now on website
holyx
01/09/2008, 12:01 PM
Holycross 0-3 Bruff.
Goal from Ed Hogan about 5 minutes in. Bruff well on top for the first half. Should have had a penalty late in the half but in fairness to the ref he said he wasnt sure if it was a trip or a dive and wouldnt give it if he wasnt sure.
It could have gone either way for most of the second half, until Paddy Moloney scored with a decent strike from the edge of the box with about 10 minutes left. Three minutes later Ed Hogan got his second when he spotted the keeper had come off his line. Should have been 4 a minute later, but the ref blue for an extremely dubious offside.
0-3 it finished, a deserved win for Bruff but they had to work hard for it.
think 1st half incident was a penalty! 3 good goals and could have been more, a bit of effort and bruff could be there or there-abouts at the end of the season. For da cross it looks like a season of struggle ahead. What's new!:)
Obe1Kenobi0
01/09/2008, 12:46 PM
Shelbourne ship 8 goals in first 2 games and then beat Knockainey???? Anyone at it?
Well Larry...good win for ye at the weekend...fair play :) Nice to get the first win under the belt. Going on whats being said in this forum there could be 6 or 7 teams realistically looking to get promoted. Tough season ahead! :eek:
larrywhite
01/09/2008, 1:37 PM
a bit of effort and bruff could be there or there-abouts at the end of the season.
Cant see that happening. They are very young and dont keep the ball enough. Middle of the table more like.
larrywhite
01/09/2008, 1:40 PM
Well Larry...good win for ye at the weekend...fair play :) Nice to get the first win under the belt. Going on whats being said in this forum there could be 6 or 7 teams realistically looking to get promoted. Tough season ahead! :eek:
Yeah good win. Will be interesting to hear Pike Bs views when he comes on. Must be off today or on evenings this week.:D
I dont know about 7 being in the race but definitely 4 or 5. Very early yet and once matches go to Sundays and sqauds/teams settle down for the winter you will get a better idea of who is going to be in the shake up.
The Kaiser
01/09/2008, 2:56 PM
Must be one of the new recruits maybe:D, had ye full team out on tuesday against the boro spud.
We played the boro saturday,we had a strong team out yes but still missing 4 very good players,we were bit weak up front butler was on his own with the formation we started off with,if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot. :ball:
Pike B
01/09/2008, 3:14 PM
Coonagh 3-1 Pike B
No complaints, or excuses here lads, we were well beaten. 2 down before we even got started and had to take drastic step of taking off a player and bringing in Declan Considine to steady the midfield, ten minutes before half time, which he did well.
At 2-1 down we rallied a little, even hitting the bar, but in truth Coonagh always looked like they could up a gear and so they did killing off the game with twenty to go.
Without a doubt our worst performance so far and I myself was very poor on the night. But we'll pick ourselves up and get ready for Holycross Tuesday.
In fairness to the lads we've played three very good teams and hopefully our next few games might see us get that first win.
Well done Coonagh. Looking strong again and no doubt you'll get a run going after this result.
And thanks for the compliment on our new gear Larry. Fair play to the Club for supplying us with a top class gear for the season and now we just need to do it justice!!
The Kaiser
01/09/2008, 3:17 PM
We played the boro saturday,we had a strong team out yes but still missing 4 very good players,we were bit weak up front butler was on his own with the formation we started off with,if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot. :ball:
yeah saturday i meant to say, interesting yer boss went for 5 in midfield with butts up front on his own. Did it work at all or did ye change it during the match. long shift up front by yourself no matter how good a player is.
Roadend
01/09/2008, 3:40 PM
if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot. :ball:
You can't expect to get goals with Butts plugging away up front on his own.
larrywhite
01/09/2008, 3:50 PM
What were Boro like lads? What would you think are their strong points? Or just strong all over the pitch?
Pike B
01/09/2008, 3:53 PM
What were Boro like lads? What would you think are their strong points? Or just strong all over the pitch?
Their strong pints are in the bar!!;)
larrywhite
01/09/2008, 3:59 PM
Their strong pints are in the bar!!;)
Boom boom. :D
Pike B
01/09/2008, 4:01 PM
Boom boom. :D
Ya, they have a jukebox too..
Pike B
01/09/2008, 4:21 PM
Boro Pl 3 / Pts 9
Knockainey Pl 3 / Pts 6
Murroe Pl 3 / Pts 6
Fairview Pl 3 / Pts 5
Bruff Pl 2 / Pts 4
Coonagh Pl 3 / Pts 4
Cals Pl 2 / Pts 4
Holycross Pl 3 / Pts 3
Shels Pl 3 / Pts 3
Caherdavin Pl 3 / Pts 1
Park Pl 3 / Pts 1
Pike Pl 3 / Pts 1
Results
Saturday August 30th
Murroe 2-1 Caherdavin
Janesboro B 1-0 Park AFC,
Coonagh United 3-1 Pike Rovers B,
Fairview B 2-2 Caledonians
Sunday August 31st
Holycross 0-3 Bruff United,
Fixtures
Caherdavin V Shelbourne,
Bruff United V Knockainey,
Park Afc V Murroe,
Pike Rovers B V Holycross,
Caledonians V Janesboro B,
Fairview B V Coonagh United
Excuse me sir, but on Goal Differance Caherdavin are bottom. A Statto like you surely knows that!! ;)
pearse4t3
01/09/2008, 6:06 PM
Excuse me sir, but on Goal Differance Caherdavin are bottom. A Statto like you surely knows that!! ;)
Goal difference isnt used in Limerick, its done in alphabetical order.
Pike B
01/09/2008, 6:17 PM
Goal difference isnt used in Limerick, its done in alphabetical order.
Humour me bud will you?? ;) I'm after a silver lining here!!!
pearse4t3
01/09/2008, 6:22 PM
Humour me bud will you?? ;) I'm after a silver lining here!!!
Haha, theres along way to go, this looks to be the most interesting league in town, well so far anyway.
Pike B
01/09/2008, 6:25 PM
Haha, theres along way to go, this looks to be the most interesting league in town, well so far anyway.
It is by far. There are no bad teams, and I mean that none. There will be five teams scrappin for the title I reckon, with another 3 possibly there aswell. Picking a winner in this division is near impossible. But ya, long way to go.
Spudd
02/09/2008, 12:18 PM
Lovely weather again for tonights games. :mad:
KevB76
02/09/2008, 12:39 PM
Cant see that happening. They are very young and dont keep the ball enough. Middle of the table more like.
Dont underestimate them. They still have 8 players who were in the squad promoted to 1A in 05/06 and finished 3rd in 1A 06/07.
Agree they dont keep the ball enough, that would defintely be their main downfall on their off days.
That, and not being able to field their main starting 11 for a lot of matches (right full v Holycross was well into his forties).
dodgy knees
02/09/2008, 1:12 PM
Larry, Boro were good up front, Thomas Mc ( I think is his name) is a fine player. They are also strong at the back, quite physical and good in the air. The right winger is quick.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 3:11 PM
Predictions
Caherdavin 3V2 Shelbourne,
Bruff United 1V1 Knockainey,
Park Afc 4V1 Murroe,
Pike Rovers B 3V2 Holycross,
Caledonians 2V1 Janesboro B,
Fairview B 2V3 Coonagh
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 3:15 PM
Dont underestimate them. They still have 8 players who were in the squad promoted to 1A in 05/06 and finished 3rd in 1A 06/07.
Agree they dont keep the ball enough, that would defintely be their main downfall on their off days.
That, and not being able to field their main starting 11 for a lot of matches (right full v Holycross was well into his forties).
From reading the 1A thread last season though they were doing fine until Xmas and then went into freefall after a few players left and they havent come back from what I read on here. All in takes is 2 or 3 vital players to leave to make a huge difference to a team.
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 3:16 PM
Larry, Boro were good up front, Thomas Mc ( I think is his name) is a fine player. They are also strong at the back, quite physical and good in the air. The right winger is quick.
Cheers Dodgy. Going to see them up close anyway now on Saturday as we are down to play them.
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 3:19 PM
Predictions
Caherdavin 3V2 Shelbourne,
Bruff United 1V1 Knockainey,
Park Afc 4V1 Murroe,
Pike Rovers B 3V2 Holycross,
Caledonians 2V1 Janesboro B,
Fairview B 2V3 Coonagh
Optimistic of plenty of goals this evening? :D
Some of them are very hard to call again but I do think yourselves and Park will both win this evening.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 4:01 PM
Some of them are very hard to call again but I do think yourselves and Park will both win this evening.
I think that defences in this division aren't bad but there are some very good attacks and I see tonight being no exception. Goals Galore!!
As for my picks, I reckon Park are due to give someone a hidin and Murroe could well suffer. Ourselves and Holycross is already a big one with both teams in need of a confidence boost and 3pts.
I see ye edging the View due to their Goalkeeping crisis and the fact that ye got a good result Saturday.
The rest of the games are close to call but I fancy Cals to beat the Boro. Just a feeling.
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 4:05 PM
I think that defences in this division aren't bad but there are some very good attacks and I see tonight being no exception. Goals Galore!!
As for my picks, I reckon Park are due to give someone a hidin and Murroe could well suffer. Ourselves and Holycross is already a big one with both teams in need of a confidence boost and 3pts.
I see ye edging the View due to their Goalkeeping crisis and the fact that ye got a good result Saturday.
The rest of the games are close to call but I fancy Cals to beat the Boro. Just a feeling.
Are you working tonight or is Abbeyvale giving you a long lunch? ;)
I will post up result when I get back.
Pike B
02/09/2008, 4:09 PM
Are you working tonight or is Abbeyvale giving you a long lunch? ;)
I will post up result when I get back.
Working but getting off for game. Abbeyvale is supervisor on other shift so it's not down to him at all. Though he'd have you believe it was!! ;)
husteled
02/09/2008, 4:59 PM
As a bruff player i no whats going on.. wit our gaa club still in nearly everything we will struggle until its finished and i no this is a similar case 4 knockainey.. so if we stay in hunt until thats over then we will hav a real shot.. we missin 6 tonight cause of u-21 hurling.. but i'm sure knockainey will b missin some as well.. and our right bak was well into his 40's.. well in..
Pike B
02/09/2008, 7:40 PM
Well the Planet of The Apes we have running our city football struck again tonight. We were fully togged out and ready to go when shock horror, no ref. A quick phone call later to the head Ape and it turns out our ref is in Dublin. Try as he might he just couldn't ref it from up there so we and our guests Holycross had to call it off and head away. Typical from the LDMC.
They released this photo and statement:
http://scienceblogs.com/islandofdoubt/monkeys.jpg
Hoo hoo....
the quiet 1
02/09/2008, 8:08 PM
Caherdavin beat Shelbourne tonight. The score was 4-2 or 5-3 to Caherdavin..
Pike B
02/09/2008, 8:14 PM
4-2 or 5-3??? Were you watching it with your eyes closed or what?? ;)
the quiet 1
02/09/2008, 8:18 PM
4-2 or 5-3??? Were you watching it with your eyes closed or what?? ;)
I was only talking to one of the lads who were out watching it... I was not there at the match myself....
Pike B
02/09/2008, 8:20 PM
I was only talking to one of the lads who were out watching it... I was not there at the match myself....
Ha ha... Figured that alright. Caherdavin needed that win. Shels sinking fast.
Grinder64
02/09/2008, 8:22 PM
it finished 5.3 and ger myles came on and scored the fifth a cracker from 25 yards. shels are a good side, strong upfront but the shels keeper had an off day and add to that Darragh Purtill and Pa Hall were outstanding. If they keep playing like this they will be a tough side to beat,also they had a few missing
The Kaiser
02/09/2008, 8:24 PM
Fairview 2:1 Coonagh,
Coonagh totally dominated the game and went one nil up. From then on we could have bagged numerous goals but they never came.
The view equalised from a corner and another soft goal saw them take the three points, pushed hard for equaliser but just would not fall our way.
Same old story as the bruff match not taking our chances when they come, our luck in front of goal has to change someday:ball:
Raúl Madrid
02/09/2008, 8:28 PM
Predictions
Fairview B 2V3 Coonagh
Score from the Fairgreen: Fairview B 2 Coonagh 1
Coonagh will be very disappointed to have lost this game. They started brightly for the second game running and took an early lead with a header from a corner (Dave McCarthy). Coonagh should have tacked on two or three more goals in a dominant spell before the break, and paid the price in the second half. Fairview equalised with a header of their own from a well-taken corner, and then scored a very soft winner. One of the Coonagh defenders had ample time to make a clearance but scuffed it ten yards to one of the Fairview midfielders who said 'Thank you very much' and advanced 10 yards before unleashing a powerful shot past the Coonagh keeper. In a frantic finale, Coonagh had a goal disallowed (wrongly, in my view) and also created several good chances, none of which they could convert. Coonagh will rue the error(s) that cost them valuable points in this game ...:mad:
footymad
02/09/2008, 8:33 PM
Fairview 2:1 Coonagh,
Coonagh totally dominated the game and went one nil up. From then on we could have bagged numerous goals but they never came.
The view equalised from a corner and another soft goal saw them take the three points, pushed hard for equaliser but just would not fall our way.
Same old story as the bruff match not taking our chances when they come, our luck in front of goal has to change someday:ball:
Result is all that matters. Fair play to the view who are looking very strong this year.....
Cals 1-2 Boro
Cals were unlucky not to draw but Boro held on for 15 nervy minutes,2 second half goals from Paul O'Donoghue and Tom McInerney gave Boro a 2-0 lead only for cals to pull one back,a fine save from M Purcell and some last ditch defending gave the Boro 3 more points
Big Red
02/09/2008, 8:49 PM
Cals 1 - 2 Boro. No score at half time, boro went 2 up with goals from paulie o donoghue and thomas mc, cals pulled one back with 15 to go but the boro held on for a finish. Another good result for the boro.Big one now saturday at home to coonagh.
larrywhite
02/09/2008, 8:57 PM
Well the Planet of The Apes we have running our city football struck again tonight. We were fully togged out and ready to go when shock horror, no ref. A quick phone call later to the head Ape and it turns out our ref is in Dublin. Try as he might he just couldn't ref it from up there so we and our guests Holycross had to call it off and head away. Typical from the LDMC.
They released this photo and statement:
http://scienceblogs.com/islandofdoubt/monkeys.jpg
Hoo hoo....
Ha ha...excellent. Its a right pain in the ass when that happens. And whats the story with next week and kick offs and 6.15. Madness.
Whats up with Shels? Let in 13 goals in 3 games and can beat Knockainey!!!
KevB76
02/09/2008, 9:10 PM
Knockainey 3-3 Bruff Utd.
Knockainey were first to score. Bruff (stand-in) keeper called for it, but the strong wind held the ball in the air longer than normal so he missed it and Knockainey scored.
Bruff got back in it with a well taken free kick from about 30 yards out, taken by Ed Hogan, then went ahead shortly after with another sweet free kick again from Hogan. To be fair to the keeper Shane Barry, he was looking directly into the sun, and the 2nd free was inch perfect, right by the edge of the post.
Knockainey equalised minutes into the second half, an underhit back-pass was pounced on and scored. Game got very messy for most of the second half, a lot of reckless tackles and that sort of thing. Knockainey got ahead late in the half after Bruff keeper left his goal to collect the ball, but it hit off one of the defenders, and landed in front of the striker with an open goal.
Bruff got another free late on - ref said it would be the last kick of the game. Up stepped Ed Hogan to make it 3-3 :D :D :D
Pike B
02/09/2008, 9:11 PM
Ha ha...excellent. Its a right pain in the ass when that happens. And whats the story with next week and kick offs and 6.15. Madness.
Whats up with Shels? Let in 13 goals in 3 games and can beat Knockainey!!!
Still more evening games next week?? I'm going to have to come up with a whole lot of Planet of The Apes sketch's before this season is out... Bad result tonight, for ye. And with Boro Sunday. It aint gettin any easier Larr..