View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

patsdad
21/11/2022, 3:54 PM
Great news about Jamie. The two key signings we’ve all had fingers crossed for were him and Cotter - hopefully that gets over the line too. With Forrester, Redmond, Grivosti, Breslin, Curtis, Eoin Doyle and Atekayi all on contracts into 2023 that would be 9 of last seasons best 11 tied down, as well as Barrett, Brockbank, McCormack, Timmermans and Mark Doyle. Plus a raft of Ireland under-age internationals.
There’ll probably be an exodus of quite a few players who have struggled for game time. Apart from sorting out the goalkeeping position (presumably Odumusu will stay and a backup will be signed) the two key requirements will be a replacement for Adam O’Reilly in midfield and one more reliable goalscorer.
It’s great to be able to stand back from the annual scramble to rebuild squads. That really cost us this year (thanks, SOD).

2 Year Contract
21/11/2022, 4:07 PM
Danny Lafferty announced by Sligo. Surprised Derry are letting him go, good replacement for Kirk for Sligo

ontheotherhand
21/11/2022, 4:15 PM
Yeah, I'd have thought he'd stay at Derry. Really liked him at Rovers but maybe he just wants to be first choice and doesn't have long left for it. Played 26 times for Derry last year though and at his age you'd have thought that'd be ideal. Derry must have someone lined up.

Jack B
21/11/2022, 5:52 PM
Great news about Jamie. The two key signings we’ve all had fingers crossed for were him and Cotter - hopefully that gets over the line too. With Forrester, Redmond, Grivosti, Breslin, Curtis, Eoin Doyle and Atekayi all on contracts into 2023 that would be 9 of last seasons best 11 tied down, as well as Barrett, Brockbank, McCormack, Timmermans and Mark Doyle. Plus a raft of Ireland under-age internationals.
There’ll probably be an exodus of quite a few players who have struggled for game time. Apart from sorting out the goalkeeping position (presumably Odumusu will stay and a backup will be signed) the two key requirements will be a replacement for Adam O’Reilly in midfield and one more reliable goalscorer.
It’s great to be able to stand back from the annual scramble to rebuild squads. That really cost us this year (thanks, SOD).

Believe Odumosu signed a two-year deal.

21/11/2022, 9:13 PM
Danny Lafferty announced by Sligo. Surprised Derry are letting him go, good replacement for Kirk for Sligo

DL wasnt involved in cup final at all for derry. Was he even in their matchday squad?

mcgonigle
21/11/2022, 9:16 PM

Let it go Gareth, nobody believes you. He just didn't love you anymore.

How's the court case going?

joey B
22/11/2022, 11:13 AM
Evan Caffrey joins Shels from UCD…

Loifan_76
22/11/2022, 11:18 AM
A shame to lose Caffrey, a good signing by shels. That goal from distance he scored against harps was a thing of beauty.

The Bowler
22/11/2022, 3:59 PM
I think I predicted here a few weeks ago that Caffrey would end up at Shels, with his cousin there and a historical association with Duffer from his time at Rovers underage. BTW, a fantastic player, has all the tools. Also, the key fact that he is not actually a student in UCD, so nothing tying him to the place. But this is the problem now at the college, so many of the players are not students, so they have no loyalty and no intent to hang around, so they are just using it as a place to get first team ball until they can jump to a better gig. That ultimately damages UCD. They might stay have stayed up, but there is now zero depth in the squad compared to prior years, and fairly sure now that they will be regretting the loss of all the lads that left mid year to play elsewhere in LOI. Dylan Duffy next out the door. Another Rovers product. But as they seem to be making themselves an outlet for Rovers academy product, no doubt a few more non students on the way in

ontheotherhand
22/11/2022, 4:23 PM
I think I predicted here a few weeks ago that Caffrey would end up at Shels, with his cousin there and a historical association with Duffer from his time at Rovers underage. BTW, a fantastic player, has all the tools. Also, the key fact that he is not actually a student in UCD, so nothing tying him to the place. But this is the problem now at the college, so many of the players are not students, so they have no loyalty and no intent to hang around, so they are just using it as a place to get first team ball until they can jump to a better gig. That ultimately damages UCD. They might stay have stayed up, but there is now zero depth in the squad compared to prior years, and fairly sure now that they will be regretting the loss of all the lads that left mid year to play elsewhere in LOI. Dylan Duffy next out the door. Another Rovers product. But as they seem to be making themselves an outlet for Rovers academy product, no doubt a few more non students on the way in

You mentioned Duffy to Lincoln? Is that still the case?

RealJohn91
22/11/2022, 4:33 PM
I assume Lonergan is another one of those players? Have to think all the other Dublin clubs and probably Dundalk will be in for him if he's free to move.

The Bowler
22/11/2022, 5:22 PM
Haven't heard specifics about Lonergan, but it was a real surprise when he started college in September, so that may at least give him a decision to make, but I'd be amazed if he is still there next season. Last i heard Duffy was still going to Lincoln, its starting to look possible that Whelan will stay until June to get himself back up to full match fitness in advance of a move (assuming he can get back to form and nail down a move) Duffy not in college, so no no ties to the place, so his departure expected.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/11/2022, 5:24 PM
DL wasnt involved in cup final at all for derry. Was he even in their matchday squad?

Was on the bench. Good, experienced replacement for Kirk

ToberonaTornado
22/11/2022, 6:30 PM
Dundalk FC are eyeing up a move for UCD’s teenage striker Thomas Lonergan, The Argus can reveal.

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/dundalk-fc-offer-deal-to-ucd-striker-thomas-lonergan-42164395.html?fbclid=IwAR1bRfm-8u7p0Fc9ZIPfu9n9tRWUJ23ym_jUI5LOsLGpwrum5Sa0jOkuZE I

23/11/2022, 1:07 PM

On the bench.

Expected him to be away, Sligo is probably a good club for him.
He can produce real touches of brilliant at times, but he was inconsistent and went missing during many games.

joey B
23/11/2022, 2:34 PM
Chris Lyons signs for Bray…

The Bowler
23/11/2022, 7:15 PM
Harry Groome Wexford to Bray, was really good at Wexford last season. Ryan going to pillage the best young talent from Wexford, decent chance Eoin Farrell and Thomas Considine to follow

oriel
23/11/2022, 8:47 PM
Let it go Gareth, nobody believes you. He just didn't love you anymore.

How's the court case going?

Not very well one would expect, since it appears no evidence was found that SOD signed an extension to any contract he had at Pats in 2021, honestly thought most Pats fans were over this by now.

oriel
23/11/2022, 8:51 PM

I`m almost sure Ben McCormack's contract is up at Pats, end of 2022.

Shearer
24/11/2022, 2:27 AM
The first Kerry update here - Billy Dennehy stated in an interview with Radio Kerry that Matt Keane attended the first senior training session this week, and he'll become a free agent on the 1st of December.

Link?

culloty82
24/11/2022, 10:14 AM
Link?

https://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/structure-in-place-for-kerry-fc-to-hit-the-ground-running-306014

culloty82
24/11/2022, 10:22 AM
As for the Seán mentioned, the only current LoI player with that name from Kerry would be Seán McGrath of Cobh Ramblers.

Town Legend
24/11/2022, 10:23 AM
Stephen Henderson appointed Longford Town manager.

Shearer
24/11/2022, 11:28 AM
https://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/structure-in-place-for-kerry-fc-to-hit-the-ground-running-306014
Cheers I ended up finding it!

Good to see local lads returning. Matt Keane was brilliant for Treaty and would surely be the talisman of that Kerry side.

24/11/2022, 11:31 AM

Not unhappy with that. He tries to play a decent type of football and likes working with young players so he should be a good fit given we won't have a big budget again. An enthusiastic guy as well.

ger121
24/11/2022, 5:06 PM

Good man Hendo!

24/11/2022, 8:27 PM
Good man Hendo!

His uncle Paddy Henderson played for Longford Town as GK in 59-60 season. Stephen got in touch with me on facebook a while back lookin for info about his uncle. Thats how I know! Delighted with the appt.

trevy
25/11/2022, 8:16 AM
Good appointment for Longford.
He did a decent job with Waterford over 10 years ago before things turned sour near the end. You'd imagine if he is coming back into LOI that there will be a reasonable budget to tempt him back.

25/11/2022, 9:59 AM
His uncle Paddy Henderson played for Longford Town as GK in 59-60 season. Stephen got in touch with me on facebook a while back lookin for info about his uncle. Thats how I know! Delighted with the appt.

Was Paddy Henderson not his father? Unless he had a brother also named Paddy who was also a goalie!

RealJohn91
25/11/2022, 12:27 PM
Bohs are favourites to sign Sam Todd from UCD but he's going to stay there till the summer window according to Dan McDonnell

culloty82
25/11/2022, 12:44 PM
Wexford sign Aaron Robinson from Longford Town:

25/11/2022, 1:43 PM
Pity to lose him. Good player who was one of our better players last season.

2 Year Contract
25/11/2022, 4:07 PM
Tommy Lonergan announced by Pats on a multi year contract. Delighted to have him back

25/11/2022, 4:22 PM
What's with the current trend of announcing "multi year" contracts? It's not like other clubs won't find out how long your players' contracts are, if they want to. How many years counts as multi year anyway? Two, technically?

joey B
25/11/2022, 4:25 PM
Tommy Lonergan announced by Pats on a multi year contract. Delighted to have him back

Great signing that,a real talent,I take it Tunde won’t be back at Pats next season?

Jack B
25/11/2022, 4:50 PM
What's with the current trend of announcing "multi year" contracts? It's not like other clubs won't find out how long your players' contracts are, if they want to. How many years counts as multi year anyway? Two, technically?

I feel like Bohs started it as a common occurrence and other sides have followed suit. I know Breslin, Doyle and Redmond signed 3-year deals with us last season so it isn't 2 in every case anyway.

Great signing that,a real talent,I take it Tunde won’t be back at Pats next season?

Yeah he's more or less confirmed as such, which isn't a surprise at all given he was essentially relegated to just being a chaotic option off the bench as the season went on. Has the qualities to be a really effective player but I don't think he suits being a starter at all for the better sides in the league. Happy with Lonergan as a replacement for him.

total hoofball
25/11/2022, 4:52 PM
Yeah most of these "multi" year contracts in the LOI are turning out to be 2 years

ger121
25/11/2022, 6:56 PM

That’s a good signing. Would have liked him at Bohs.

RealJohn91
25/11/2022, 6:59 PM
I get the impression they're deals with an optional year at the end the clubs can use.

25/11/2022, 8:48 PM
Was Paddy Henderson not his father? Unless he had a brother also named Paddy who was also a goalie!

Sorry you are right. It was only after my post last night that I realised it was his dad that played for us!

25/11/2022, 10:00 PM
Robinson a huge loss, very worrying sign of what may be to come in terms of departures. Seems to be plenty of money washing around the division

oriel
25/11/2022, 10:44 PM

Don't get this myself, easier to say 2 or 3 but I think its 2 years+ 1, the plus being an option. Dundalk had this on Shepperd, 1 + 1 year deal, not sure I fully get it, but seems the advantage was with DFC and he is signed for 2023 (I think) !!!!

oriel
25/11/2022, 11:00 PM

Dundalk had offered him a contract, disappointing to have lost out, but to be fair he was with Pats season before last.

He's a good player, but that's football.

joey B
26/11/2022, 9:19 AM
Brendan Clarke signs for Galway......

2 Year Contract
26/11/2022, 9:29 AM
Brendan Clarke signs for Galway......

Good signing, Galway have definitely got the better end of the stick getting Clarke from Shels and giving them Kearns

Demesne Lad
26/11/2022, 11:09 AM
Adam O'Reilly "is out of contract this summer and North End will hold talks over his future next week, with the player and his representatives. The PNE boss was asked about O'Reilly recently and explained that he wants the Irishman to continue playing football". " 'Adam has gone to St Pat's and had a fantastic time, playing really well and got rave reviews so fair play to him for doing that. It would have been easy to just sit around, but that's what you want when young lads go out on loan, you want them to play and perform.' "(Ryan Lowe, PNE manager, quoted on Lancs Live, 23 November).

Jd2793
26/11/2022, 11:15 AM
id be pretty surprised if lowe saw him as a real option. if i was o'reilly id look to get out of their and get another loi season under his belt. another impressive season and he'd have plenty of options come 2024.

Jack B
26/11/2022, 11:28 AM
Surely Shels are going to look to bring in another keeper, otherwise that looks like quite a strange move. I'd have had Clarkey back at Pats to be honest.

Lowe's quotes in the full article kind of suggest that O'Reilly won't figure in first team plans so given his age I'd be surprised if he managed to get a new deal there. He brings incredible energy but can be a bit questionable in possession so I can't see him making it at Championship level. He seemed to love it at Pats so hopefully that gives us more of a leg up to make it permanent if he does end up being available, although even if it happened I still think we could do with another midfielder in.

Jd2793
26/11/2022, 11:32 AM
yeh defo i think hes a good loi player, maybe with a bit of luck on his part he could work in scotland but hed need more to his game on the ball. conor kearns is poor IMO , shels fans better hope duff has something better up his sleeve.

culloty82
26/11/2022, 12:57 PM
Wexford raid Longford for the second time in 24 hours: