View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
total hoofball
28/12/2022, 10:46 PM
Lynch got alot of attention at 17 years of age scoring goals for Bray during the COVID season and mostly fell to the bench at Bray but still scored another 6 goals last season, worth a shot for Longford
Shinkicker
29/12/2022, 6:59 AM
i highly doubt he thought he was going to celtic to challenge for a first team spot that soon! hes not even there 12 months
Then why go there? Why not go to a lesser club where he have shone in the first 12 months and competed for first team football. He could have shone at Queen Park but I'd say his head was down from being loaned out. Look at Ross Tierney at Motherwell in and out of the first team but competing for a place and all in less than 12 months.
29/12/2022, 7:20 AM
In fairness, I think it's highly unlikely his "head was down" because he didn't walk straight into the Celtic first team
Competing for a place in the Motherwell team doesn't compare; there's a huge gap between them and Celtic
Loifan_76
29/12/2022, 8:38 AM
Lynch is a great player. Devo wouldn't let him start games for some reason last season (Team selection in general was bizarre). Whenever he came on last season he usually scored or looked like he could score. Promising signing by longford. Could be a great striker.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/12/2022, 8:39 AM
Kenny this time last year was the best young striker in the league along with Whelan so I certainly wouldn’t be writing him off based on what happened since. League is full of players who shine here who had issues across the water. If he gets his form of last year he’ll certainly get lots of games with Shams.
Shinkicker
29/12/2022, 11:12 AM
In fairness, I think it's highly unlikely his "head was down" because he didn't walk straight into the Celtic first team
Competing for a place in the Motherwell team doesn't compare; there's a huge gap between them and Celtic
There is a huge gap between Celtic and Motherwell therfore a huge gap in the quality of player required and he was in no way going to start for Celtic. I'm not saying he's a bad player. I'm saying he could have stayed at Sligo and ended up at Rovers anyway Or attracted attention from another suitor in Scotland or England and competed for first team football.
Jd2793
29/12/2022, 12:16 PM
https://twitter.com/DanGorman_/status/1608190831072092161
bray are a truly hilarious mob all the same. what the hell are they doing at all?
redarmyfaction
29/12/2022, 1:43 PM
Kenny this time last year was the best young striker in the league along with Whelan so I certainly wouldn’t be writing him off based on what happened since. League is full of players who shine here who had issues across the water. If he gets his form of last year he’ll certainly get lots of games with Shams.
The player that he was and the player he is now are two different things, subbed after no more than an hour on his only two starts and few appearances off the bench where he scored no goal, had no assist was not involved in the build up to any goal and I think got one shot off in total at QP.
29/12/2022, 2:17 PM
Ah he'll hardly have changed that much in the past year or so.
That said, I don't think he's a signing that'll help take Rovers to the next level in Europe. Nor is Burt or Power or their other recent signings. Probably the LoI isn't the most attractive of leagues for foreign players (low wages, high cost of living, low success rate of making it in a bigger league), but for right or for wrong, that's how other leagues are pushing on. Look at Fofana, who played for Molde against Rovers and is now going to Chelsea for £8m, for example. He's far from an isolated case too. Signing back LoI players who've failed to make it abroad (Power, Cleary, etc) is a sure-fire way to undermine the transfer value of players here.
Obviously from the point of view of the title, I think Kenny is a solid signing. But if I were a Rovers fan, I'd be a bit underwhelmed at their ambition based on pre-season so far.
Town Legend
29/12/2022, 2:22 PM
Stephen Henderson has made two more signings for us. Stephen Meaney from Athlone Town and Darragh Lynch from Bray Wanderers. According to our website its our 15th signing so far!
I think Meaney played with Athlone in the 2021 season. His las club was apparently some club in Victoria, Australia.
ontheotherhand
29/12/2022, 2:48 PM
Ah he'll hardly have changed that much in the past year or so.
That said, I don't think he's a signing that'll help take Rovers to the next level in Europe. Nor is Burt or Power or their other recent signings. Probably the LoI isn't the most attractive of leagues for foreign players (low wages, high cost of living, low success rate of making it in a bigger league), but for right or for wrong, that's how other leagues are pushing on. Look at Fofana, who played for Molde against Rovers and is now going to Chelsea for £8m, for example. He's far from an isolated case too. Signing back LoI players who've failed to make it abroad (Power, Cleary, etc) is a sure-fire way to undermine the transfer value of players here.
Obviously from the point of view of the title, I think Kenny is a solid signing. But if I were a Rovers fan, I'd be a bit underwhelmed at their ambition based on pre-season so far.
Cleary isn't a great example there Stu. Did just fine in Scotland and came home for personal reasons. Power is fair enough, jury is still out on him. Burt makes sense as we badly needed pace from midfield. Kenny I'm not sure about but we needed to replace Aidomo.
Apparently we are looking in Scandinavia but I haven't heard anything concrete. Why we don't spread a wider net is probably just down to resources? Fofana went to Molde from an Ivorian club. I suppose players would be visible through online scouting systems but Irish clubs don't seem to be in markets like that. Trickier work permits maybe? Or as you say it's just that we can't pay footballers enough to make the cost of living here feasible.
29/12/2022, 2:55 PM
Well ok on Cleary, but there's plenty of other examples, and not just at Rovers. McEleney, Boyle, Hoban and McMillan at Dundalk for example.
I actually prefer a local league to be local - I'd bring back in the three foreigners rule if it were up to me; it'd even European competition in particular out and make things far more interesting in general. But money talks, and money wants open capitalism in football, and sod issues like undermining developing leagues in Africa and stuff like that.
I just don't see Rovers kicking on while signing up the best players from a poor league and none from outside it (bar Serdeniuk of course, who maybe approached Rovers rather than the other way around given his situation, but he hardly worked out). And as I say, Dundalk did the exact same, and Derry are doing the same with their billions so far.
ontheotherhand
29/12/2022, 3:07 PM
Well ok on Cleary, but there's plenty of other examples, and not just at Rovers. McEleney, Boyle, Hoban and McMillan at Dundalk for example.
I actually prefer a local league to be local - I'd bring back in the three foreigners rule if it were up to me; it'd even European competition in particular out and make things far more interesting in general. But money talks, and money wants open capitalism in football, and sod issues like undermining developing leagues in Africa and stuff like that.
I just don't see Rovers kicking on while signing up the best players from a poor league and none from outside it (bar Serdeniuk of course, who maybe approached Rovers rather than the other way around given his situation, but he hardly worked out). And as I say, Dundalk did the exact same, and Derry are doing the same with their billions so far.
Yeah there's not a lot in the league that will help us kick on in Europe and it does get a bit depressing seeing lads go away and have to return...but then again, I've enjoyed watching Jack Byrne and I'm sure Derry and Dundalk would say the same about their returners. If I could poach one player in the league to help in Europe it would be Duffy but he's hardly moving. I was never a big fan of loan moves but maybe that's the route we need to take for a while.
Have UCD strengthened?
29/12/2022, 3:18 PM
There's not too many players within the League of Ireland who'll significantly push Shamrock Rovers onto a higher level.
If they're serious about further progression in Europe, they need to be looking at bigger moves from outside the country. With that though, would bring higher wages and much higher associated costs, so it's a gamble either way.
Key for them is to retain their status at the top of the division first, with any progression through a few rounds in Europe a bonus. But they'll stagnate eventually, or another club will catch up on them.
It's a real catch 22. They probably have enough financial firepower behind them to take a gamble, but without sufficient prize money in Ireland, bigger sponsorship deals, TV money, and further investment in the league as a whole, I'm not sure it's a gamble worth taking in the interests of the long term future of any club, never mind Rovers themselves.
With all that in mind, taking a chance on a promising young player in Johnny Kenny, on a loan deal, is probably a smart move. As suggested, he's probably a direct replacement for Emakhu, so isn't exactly first choice anyway. But, he's proven enough in a short spell in the league before that he has a bit of quality about him. Took the move to Celtic a year or two too early, and was clearly poorly advised in that regard. So, a chance to give himself a boost again is a bit of a no brainer for both player and club.
29/12/2022, 3:20 PM
Yeah there's not a lot in the league that will help us kick on in Europe and it does get a bit depressing seeing lads go away and have to return...but then again, I've enjoyed watching Jack Byrne and I'm sure Derry and Dundalk would say the same about their returners. If I could poach one player in the league to help in Europe it would be Duffy but he's hardly moving. I was never a big fan of loan moves but maybe that's the route we need to take for a while.
Have UCD strengthened?
I think you use the word "enjoyed" there and certainly I'd much rather watch a mostly local team than a bunch of 11 random foreigners who are all either going to be sold or dumped at the end of each season a la Sheriff Tiraspol. That may be minnowist, but it doesn't mean it's wrong, and probably there's a balance somewhere between too.
But I think it's a caveat on the Kenny signing. Disappointing he's back so soon (did I see Rovers have an option to buy at the end of the season?). I think the next step for the LoI is for players to start justifying themselves more abroad. It'll be interesting to see how the recent spate of transfers to the English third tier get on in that regard.
Have UCD strengthened? Hardly, with Lonergan, Whelan, Caffrey and Brennan all gone. As ever, who's coming in is a trade secret. Anyone good in the Rovers B team?
joey B
29/12/2022, 3:31 PM
I think you use the word "enjoyed" there and certainly I'd much rather watch a mostly local team than a bunch of 11 random foreigners who are all either going to be sold or dumped at the end of each season a la Sheriff Tiraspol. That may be minnowist, but it doesn't mean it's wrong, and probably there's a balance somewhere between too.
?
Can confirm watching a team of random foreigners is sh**e , 0/10 would not recommend!!!
ontheotherhand
29/12/2022, 3:54 PM
But I think it's a caveat on the Kenny signing. Disappointing he's back so soon (did I see Rovers have an option to buy at the end of the season?). I think the next step for the LoI is for players to start justifying themselves more abroad. It'll be interesting to see how the recent spate of transfers to the English third tier get on in that regard.
Have UCD strengthened? Hardly, with Lonergan, Whelan, Caffrey and Brennan all gone. As ever, who's coming in is a trade secret. Anyone good in the Rovers B team?
I believe there's an option to buy yeah.
Our u19s do have a few that I've seen a bit of. Cruise and Tetteh could probably use a loan move. Ferizaj will presumably be fully with the seniors now. I'm not that clued in on the youngins though to be honest. The one that looked the most promising is a sad story. Not sure if he ever made a recovery.
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/top-shamrock-rovers-prospect-stood-27821328
29/12/2022, 8:58 PM
I think Meaney played with Athlone in the 2021 season. His las club was apparently some club in Victoria, Australia.
Yeah I stand corrected on that Town Legend.
Bohtastic
29/12/2022, 10:11 PM
That said, I don't think he's a signing that'll help take Rovers to the next level in Europe. Nor is Burt or Power or their other recent signings.
On Burt, I can't see how he won't be a success. Pains me to say it but of all the players that have jumped ship Burt has been the most consistently impressive.
Really hope I'm wrong.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/12/2022, 10:15 PM
The player that he was and the player he is now are two different things, subbed after no more than an hour on his only two starts and few appearances off the bench where he scored no goal, had no assist was not involved in the build up to any goal and I think got one shot off in total at QP.
Hes only 19. Keena hardly pulled up any sticks in his last few seasons in Scotland.
ger121
29/12/2022, 11:50 PM
On Burt, I can't see how he won't be a success. Pains me to say it but of all the players that have jumped ship Burt has been the most consistently impressive.
Really hope I'm wrong.
Have to agree with this. He was good for us bar that period when he seemed to have fallen out with Long and we were ****e in general. If he hit the heights again that he did at Bohs he’ll be a very good signing.
sulywaterfordfc
30/12/2022, 9:58 PM
Is there any particular reason why fans of other clubs are getting there knickers in a twist over Rovers signing Kenny? The Sligo fan reaction on Facebook is hilarious, half the fan base seem to be chewing on lemons.
Good god the chap is essentially a kid. These days it only takes an excellent season or two in the LOI to get noticed and picked up by UK clubs again.
Also if so many people think he won’t get 10 minutes all season why are they so bothered and evidently worried about him signing for Rovers then?
joey B
30/12/2022, 10:41 PM
Is there any particular reason why fans of other clubs are getting there knickers in a twist over Rovers signing Kenny? The Sligo fan reaction on Facebook is hilarious, half the fan base seem to be chewing on lemons.
Good god the chap is essentially a kid. These days it only takes an excellent season or two in the LOI to get noticed and picked up by UK clubs again.
Also if so many people think he won’t get 10 minutes all season why are they so bothered and evidently worried about him signing for Rovers then?
Football fans love a pantomine villan,some Sligo fans have got one now and it'll add a bit of extra spice to the first game back if nothing else,dont really understand what other clubs fans are annoyed at though.....
placid casual
31/12/2022, 5:54 AM
Sligo's biggest rivals are Rovers apparently. Its very much a one way street in that regard, but hey ho whadda you know.
sbgawa
03/01/2023, 1:35 PM
Victor Serdeniuk signed for Longford after his short spell at Rovers.
He looked hopelessly off the pace in the matches he played for rovers , even the last match against UCD.
Maybe with a full preseason he can make an impact at Longford, you could hardly call his preparation ideal before he signed for Rovers
03/01/2023, 2:41 PM
He must have shown some level of ability to get a contract and play a few games. It's fair to say he'll be stepping down a couple of levels so he might be useful for us.
03/01/2023, 3:06 PM
He must have shown some level of ability to get a contract and play a few games. It's fair to say he'll be stepping down a couple of levels so he might be useful for us.
He's played very little first team football and he's 26. Not sure I'm overly excited
03/01/2023, 3:20 PM
I'm too old and jaded to be excited by any signings these days. Plus my expectations for the season are not especially high at the moment anyway. He can't be any worse than some of the lads we've had over the years.
Knocklyonhoop
03/01/2023, 7:31 PM
Thought it was a publicity thing when Rovers signed him and nothing I saw after that changed my o-inion
RealJohn91
03/01/2023, 8:12 PM
Danny McGrath and Nickson Okosun both sign professional terms with Bohs. Not sure how much first team minutes both will see with them being 16 but Okosun is very highly regarded.
Bunny Kelly
03/01/2023, 10:08 PM
With Matt Connor back at Waterford, is that Brian Murphy retired?
placid casual
03/01/2023, 10:57 PM
Whispers of Trevor Clarke coming back to Rovers, but dunno if it'll come to pass.
sbgawa
04/01/2023, 5:55 AM
Based on some of the comments about him from his tosser of a manager in the Press a couple of months ago I half expected at least a rumour if not an actual transfer. Would love that tbh, ready made replacement for Lyons
Bunny Kelly
04/01/2023, 7:22 AM
While it probably makes sense for Clarke to move back to Rovers, given his injuries the last few seasons probably won't be getting back the player you lost though.
Having said that if the wages aren't too high he is prob worth a punt
Jd2793
04/01/2023, 9:31 AM
boylan back to sligo, they must be desperate.
joey B
04/01/2023, 10:51 AM
Signing Boylan would worry you if you were a Sligo fan, decent athlete but not much of a footballer tbh....
ontheotherhand
04/01/2023, 2:44 PM
While it probably makes sense for Clarke to move back to Rovers, given his injuries the last few seasons probably won't be getting back the player you lost though.
Having said that if the wages aren't too high he is prob worth a punt
That'd be the worry alright. I'm not sure he was the same player even after coming back from the ACL injury while he was with us and other issues have occurred since the move. Bristol fans seem to think he did fairly well when he actually played (contrary to their manager to be fair) so maybe he can come back and do a job but we have a fair few injury prone left backs already.
Still, a great player at this level if we can get him fit and we do need cover there. He's a different option to Kavanagh. I'd hate to see him sign for another LoI club.
sbgawa
04/01/2023, 3:09 PM
i cant find it on twitter but Clarke took out Mountney in a match in Tallaght against Dundalk with a "tackle" that had to be seen to be believed , right in front of the benches, both benches were up and both unsurprisingly had different views from "he got the ball" to "call the Guards" :)
That and a couple of great Derby goals put him in my good books.
I suppose if we had him, Farrugia and Kavanagh one of them might be fit at any given time ;)
Would echo ontheotherhand, hate to see him at another LOI club
ontheotherhand
04/01/2023, 3:15 PM
That tackle was.....cough....a throwback to a bygone era. Trev got clattered himself a fair amount but I think he may have taken it all out on Mountney that time. It pops up online once in a while and makes me wince.
sbgawa
04/01/2023, 3:40 PM
That tackle was.....cough....a throwback to a bygone era. Trev got clattered himself a fair amount but I think he may have taken it all out on Mountney that time. It pops up online once in a while and makes me wince.
In fairness to Mountney he got up quick enough and didnt do the 6 rollovers, i'll tyr and find the link again
Philosophizer
04/01/2023, 5:38 PM
Jamie Mullins sings for Brighton from Bohs on 2.5yr deal. Hopefully Bohs got a decent deal.
Shinkicker
05/01/2023, 6:17 AM
Jamie Mullins sings for Brighton from Bohs on 2.5yr deal. Hopefully Bohs got a decent deal.
I read somewhere it was an undisclosed fee, that "usually" means it's lower than however I would guess Bohs will have clauses X number of first team appearances, goals, and possibly international appearances. There will be a sell on clause in there too. I'd say they have champagne on ice the way Evan Ferguson is playing.
Dermobohs
05/01/2023, 8:08 AM
Afaik Ferguson left not under any contract so all we got was development payments, shared with Kevin’s of course, so I would doubt there’s anything else to that move. Mullins was out of contract too I think.
A lot of the young players now won’t sign up in case it damages their deal, on agents advice.
sbgawa
05/01/2023, 8:55 AM
Afaik Ferguson left not under any contract so all we got was development payments, shared with Kevin’s of course, so I would doubt there’s anything else to that move. Mullins was out of contract too I think.
A lot of the young players now won’t sign up in case it damages their deal, on agents advice.
Yes that was my understanding with Ferguson as well, its happened us at Rovers too, Agents basically are 100% against the best young kids signing contracts. the 18 years old thing for the UK has helped though as kids at 16 at lest cant shoot off
Shinkicker
05/01/2023, 10:15 AM
I didn't know that. There was that much hype by Bohs I believed they had a part in the deal/transfer, He's a real find and an asset to the national squad hopefully Mullins will do the same.
Philosophizer
05/01/2023, 11:00 AM
On Varian’s move from Bohs to Cork, I always liked the look of Varian he just never had any luck in front of goal. He works hard, had a decent touch and nice movement, he just couldn’t buy a goal whenever I saw him. I’m sure if affected his confidence as I saw him shying away from shots by the end. If he can some confidence there’s a decent player in there.
ger121
05/01/2023, 12:01 PM
I think we always say undisclosed fee when we do a transfer. Did not realise Mullins was out of contract so would just be a development fee I’m guessing.
05/01/2023, 12:55 PM
Yes that was my understanding with Ferguson as well, its happened us at Rovers too, Agents basically are 100% against the best young kids signing contracts. the 18 years old thing for the UK has helped though as kids at 16 at lest cant shoot off
Which is why Rovers have worked so hard to get Ferizaj, for example, on a pro contract that runs past his 18th birthday. Same with others, it's a struggle though without a doubt. Not to have a pop at Bohs but not having a DoF really hampers clubs when dealing with these issues. I guess that will be Nutsy's role along with recruitment.
joey B
05/01/2023, 2:13 PM
Sligo sign Bogdan Vastsuk from Polish side Stal Mielec, an Estonian International…….
RealJohn91
05/01/2023, 2:37 PM
Guessing we'll be seeing a lot more signings like that over the next few weeks with some clubs desperately trying to fill their squads